Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.8
251 Reviews
5
88% (220)
4
8% (21)
3
2% (5)
2
2% (5)
1
0% (0)
98% Recommend this product (247 of 251 responses)
By Tony
Michigan
Over rated
May 3, 2023
I don’t get it. It’s a $35 6’ piece of lasso/piggin string. I did a 20min sideXside comparison with my GSP (2x 10min each) between the wonder lead and my spregner pinch w/QR on a Jaeger lead. My 8mo old dog already knows how to heel & whoa on lead so this an eval on a partially conditioned dog. The wonderlead encouraged some minor pulling, my dog kept waking into the lead and drifting in front of my left leg requiring repeated correction. The wonderlead is not as fast or responsive as popping the spregner pinch. The biggest difference is in whoa while walking—my dog freezes at whoa with the pinch, then i can walk out front/around/behind him & he stays put solidly fir as long as i ask him. I tried the same thing with the wonder lead and the results were sloppy. The spregner is a better tool, more versatile, and gets quicker results.
Pros
  • Lightweight .
Cons
  • Too expensive for what it is. No explanation or instructions on what the red plastic disk is for. Results are no better than what other tools can do.
By Shane
Plain, Wisconsin
Training aid that is easy to use
May 2, 2023
Added this to my tools for training and it works great. Puppy would always pull on leash. Not anymore.
Pros
  • It works. Simple but effective. Don
Cons
  • Wish I had known about it sooner.
By Craig
SE Detroit
Amazing Results Right From the Start
April 26, 2023
I had seen the reviews and had to try the Wonder Lead. The reviews were very accurate, my stubborn 4 year old Lab started heeling right by my left knee with very little pull on the stiff lead. We've been working on this command and for once I'm seeing positive trends.
Pros
  • Quick results as advertised.
Cons
  • None.
By Mike C.
Helendale, Ca
Wonder how I lived without it!
April 20, 2023
It has changed they way my dogs walk at heel. It is a total game changer in my training program now. Have ordered a second one to insure I have one around. My wife or son can also handle a dog when we are together much much easier now. I absolutely Love the Wonder Lead and recommend it to everyone! No matter what you do for your training program a Wonder Lead will only improve it!!
Pros
  • Easy to use.
  • Dogs are responsive to the point of contact
  • Such a simple tool to use improve training
Cons
  • Must wear gloves when first handing dogs on the Wonder Lead
By Danny B.
Amite County SW Mi
Easy training
March 25, 2023
My pup responded very well and quickly too. Great tool
By JA
Kennewick, WA
Good Quality Product - Mixed results
March 23, 2023
No issues with the lead. Not getting the results with my current puppy that I expected. Reviewed instructions and DVD just to make sure. May wait until this puppy is past the worst stage of teething and try again.
Pros
  • Lead is exactly as advertised
Cons
  • None
By Jim H.
Ringoes NJ
A staple of training
March 19, 2023
Had one for 20 years and lost it. Immediately bought another one from gun dog supply. They never disappoint!
By Vern
McMinnville, Oregon
Wonder Lead
February 22, 2023
Fast shipping and it looks like it will last forever. Fair price and American made.
By Mark A.
Colorado Mountains
The Winder Lead
February 22, 2023
I’m pretty ‘old school’ have trained dogs for the better part of 50+ years. I did a lot of reading and watching hung you tube about techniques for teaching dogs to heel, as I have a very energetic field cocker and didn’t want to use the ‘traditional’ choke chain. So I purchased the Winder Lead and was SHOCKED at its effectiveness. In two short sessions my cocker is healing nicely and very focused on me. The ability of the lead to apply pressure that is IMMEDIATELY released when the dog responds properly truly is a wonder - I’m a total believer! Great product!
Pros
  • Easy to use, allows a positive response from the dog.
Cons
  • None.
By Larry
Batavia, IL
Amazing
February 22, 2023
I rarely review products unless they are very good or very bad. This leash is very very good. The control over the dog without any pain to the dog is the best I've ever experienced. I would strongly recommend it to anyone who is training a dog to heel.
Pros
  • Ease of use
  • doesn't hurt the dog/pup
Cons
  • None
By Tom
Harwood, MD
Better Than I Expected
February 21, 2023
This is an amazing product. Prior to having it I was getting pulled along by my Curly Coated Retriever whenever he was on-leash. The Wonder Lead got his attention immediately and without having to keep him under tension. A quick, short snap with the lead and he was right back to heel. I’d highly recommend it to anyone working on heeling their dog or getting pulled on while walking their dog on a leash.
Pros
  • -gets the immediate attention of the dog
  • -no more getting pulled on walks
  • -very effective in teaching the heel command
  • -absolutely humane
Cons
  • -none
By TWoods
Texas
Works like a charm
January 18, 2023
My dog has been to training but was not healing like I thought he should on a regular lead. Read up on and got this wonder lead and he is a whole new dog. Leads like he should which makes it easy to go on walks now.
Pros
  • Just the right length and stiffness with a good rubber stop for sizing.
Cons
  • None yet.
By Joe L.
West Chester, Pa.
Wonder Lead
November 30, 2022
... fast service and high quality product! GDS will be my first choice for all of my dog supplies ... Thank you.
By Lacey
Lincoln al
God sent
November 28, 2022
This was recommended to me by Kyle and it changed my dog completely we go no where without it! If your on the fence about it just buy it
By Rich
CT
Wonder Lead is amazing!
November 12, 2022
Was told about this lead by a friend and how well it worked on his out of control dog. Well he was right, after only using it a couple times, my pup is walking at heal, sometimes without the leash already! Great product and well made.
Pros
  • Light, easy to take on and off and it works as described!
Cons
  • It's hard on the wife's hands when correcting but as GDS recommends, she should be using gloves.
By John S.
Columbia Illinois
What I wanted
October 18, 2022
I have not watched the video yet but the lead is exactly what I was looking for
By Robert
Seligman Missouri
Great product
September 18, 2022
I have a 90lb Dogo Agentina. Dragged me when we went walking. Bought this and after watching the DVD instructions he was walking properly in minutes. Doesn't jump on people anymore. I recommend this to everyone.
By Mike
Hudson Valley, New York
Works great!
September 16, 2022
Great description, great price, great ship time . Would recommend product and company! The lead itself is built well . Looking forward to having this tool in the tool bag for a long time.
By Jack
Oklahoma
Cheaper
August 22, 2022
Just Buy a pigging string for $8 at Atwood’s. It’s the same thing
By Anna
Cornelius, Oregon
Love This Product
August 19, 2022
Truly the Wonder lead. Works great for leash training. Material is durable for field work. Love the notch hold that actually stays in place.
By Joel
Steamboat Springs, CO
Immediate Attention!
July 26, 2022
I was skeptical when my wife showed me our new training leash. But after the second time I put it on our 6 month old golden retriever, I could tell there was something special going on with this. Every time we get the leash out he sits and anticipates the leash going on and is immediately in training mode. This lead has truly made healing and sit/stay commands easy and fun to train.
Pros
  • Video tutorials on training were very helpful
Cons
  • None
By Jake
NC
Wonder lead
July 6, 2022
Started with a normal leash for heeling training and it worked but was taking to long and needed refinement so I figured I would give the wonder lead a shot. Just buy it. it works. the feed back the dog gets is perfect and limits the handlers mistakes. read the instructions, watch the video and apply. Also Gun dog Supply was great as always!
Pros
  • Works!
Cons
  • None
By Mac
Seattle, WA
Wonder lead
June 24, 2022
The wonder lead is a nice product. However, I have had a difficult time adjusting the lead to fit my dog's neck. He has a slender neck, and the lead continually slips off of the correct position as shown in the instructions. To remedy this problem, I have to tighten the lead leaving very little slack. Once this is done the lead works as advertised, but I worry that the lead is too tight. The other comment is that all of the videos I have seen use a dog that has been trained and responds to the lead. I wish the wonder lead people would show a first time use of the lead on a dog not trained to heel. That would really help.
Pros
  • Well made, will last a life time.
Cons
  • Challenging to adjust to a smaller dogs neck, would help if videos showed first time use of lead vs. well trained large dogs.
By Tara
Wilmington NC
Delmar Smith Wonder Lead
June 17, 2022
I am very pleased with the Wonder Lead. After watching the video tutorial, I felt comfortable controlling my dog! It’s easy to use and is quite effective!
Pros
  • The lead material is durable
  • The honda seems durable as well
By dennis f.
north dakota
product
June 16, 2022
product is great!
By Tim
South Carolina
Highly recommended
June 11, 2022
My friend, a professional dog trainer, recommended this leash to me. He says it's all he uses for teaching leash obedience. It just works!
By John G.
Klingville, Michigan
Calms my Drahthaar
June 9, 2022
I saw the email marketing on this and was intrigued. A week or two later, I attended a totally unaffiliated workshop that included bird dog training and the instructor praised this lead. I tried his on my dog and really liked how it worked, so I ordered one when I got home. It is very easy to use in training and helps so much in developing a "heel" style walking pace with my dog, despite her intense nature.
Pros
  • Easy to use. High quality. Impact on dog can be in just an hour or less.
Cons
  • Stiff and not comfortable to handle without gloves. A little pricey for the materials that are used, but the cost is worth the outcome with one's dog.
By John
Frederick, Maryland
The Wonder Lead shipped and arrived promptly. It seems to work as noted in instructions and the CD tutorial.
May 28, 2022
Gun Dog Supplies has become my go-to for supplies and support for my hunting dogs.
Pros
  • See above
Cons
  • N/A
By Jerry
Erie Pa
Wow breeder trainer was right the way my dog responds to using this training tool
May 27, 2022
Response was as soon as we started using it
Pros
  • Simple no
Cons
  • Must follow training DVD
By BG
FL
Good addition to the tack room!
May 19, 2022
If you train as many dogs as I do you will want to own one. If you are in my classes you will get one. If you train on your own you might want to check it out!!!
Pros
  • Worth owning.
Cons
  • None
By Rick
Michigan
Wonder Lead
March 25, 2022
I have trained dogs for 40 years and never used this lead for training to heel. Much easier to control than the traditional choke collar or pinch collar. Wish I bought one years ago. Wear gloves if you have office hands. :-)
Pros
  • Dog responds very well. Learns to heel in half the time. Simple to use and built to last the rest of my training days.
Cons
  • Should wear gloves if you are doing an extended walk or training session.
By Thunder K.
Lenoir City, TN
Great training tool
March 8, 2022
This is the perfect tool to use for training. The included DVD gives tips on other ways to use it. Great product!
By Samantha
North Carolina
Wonder Lead
February 27, 2022
The wonder lead makes you wonder why you waited so long to get anything else. Should have been our first and only leash. Guess that's why it’s called Wonder.
By Dave S.
Brownsville, Oregon
Love this training tool
February 24, 2022
You guys and gals score again! Delmar Smith's Wonder Lead is the perfect training tool for my rambunctious Toy Aussie. He has learned to heel, sit, stay, and lay down without fighting and distraction in no time with the Wonder Lead and training video. You've got a customer as long as I have a dog! Dave Swarbrick
Pros
  • Everything
Cons
  • Nothing
By Scott B.
Rochester, NY
Excellent Product!!
February 8, 2022
Works great as a training tool for my puppy lab.
By Joe
Lebanon,NJ
Wonder Lead
January 25, 2022
We’re very pleased with the lead. Works great!
By TonyU
Wausau, WI
Easiest way to train heal period
January 18, 2022
Love this thing € unreal how well it works versus choke collars.
Pros
  • Easy, get immediate results.
Cons
  • Notta.
By Jerry N.
OR
Wonder Lead
December 30, 2021
Needs to be used with gloves as the lead is rough on the hands. The loop black stop guard fell off and disappeared after second day. Need a new one.
Pros
  • Works well. The loop backs off of the dogs neck when tension is released. That is a good thing.
Cons
  • The black stop guard that keeps the loop in place fell off after the second or third day and disappeared. I need a new one.
By Rich
NJ
Excellent
December 9, 2021
Seems like an excellent product. Only have had a few sessions so far.
By Doug R.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Wonder lead purchase
December 9, 2021
Still learning how to use it properly so will know more later.
By Jane
PA
Works great for training family pets
December 2, 2021
Product was recommended by trainer for our family pet, an Old English Sheepdog who was a bit much on walks. This has helped tremendously! It does exactly as promised. He is now a pleasure to walk. This is not complicated at all to use. Easy!
Pros
  • Very easy to use. Great video showing instructions and how quickly you get response from dog.
Cons
  • There was a little red cap (?) included in the packaging. It is shown in the intro on the video. It is never mentioned anywhere what it is for and it isn't shown in the video what to do with it.
By Thomas F.
Natchez, Mississippi
Wonder lead
September 6, 2021
Very nice lead
Pros
  • Dogs really pay attention to it . It works
Cons
  • None ,
By Ray
Boerne, Texas
Best lead I have used
August 29, 2021
I have a five month old puppy weighing 48 pounds. I bought the Wonder lead and the dog responded almost immediately to the healing training. It minimises the pull reflex in the dog and is so much easier to use than any lead I have ever used. The DVD is also very helpful to people who try to muscle their dog to heal. I have all ready recommended it to friends.
Pros
  • slips on easily and gives great control
Cons
  • none
By BA
Texas
Great Product
August 29, 2021
Great Product
By Derek
Mobile, alabama
Great training tool!
August 29, 2021
I use this lead in combination with an e collar and it works great.
Pros
  • Easy to use and dog responds great to it.
By THOMAS B.
WV
A #1
August 21, 2021
money well spent
By jeff a.
CA
Wonder lead
August 13, 2021
Indespensible...This is my second, the dog did a number on it...bad owner!
By Ron
MA
This Lead works better than advertized!
August 3, 2021
This Lead works better than advertised! I am not sure why but the increase in control begins instantly and without the need for forced corrections. The DVD does not explain this but I expect the repeated use will translate into "good" learned habits that will transition into use with all leads. I will continue to use this more in casual settings and in holding blinds to create long term behaviors.
Pros
  • Easy to use and no specialized knowledge needed for amateurs.
Cons
  • Just a bit more difficult to hang around your neck or stuff into pocket when off the dog, truley a minor issue.
By Heather S.
NC
Amazing!
July 28, 2021
This is the best training piece. My girl learning so fast. Really easy for owner to use and dog to learn!
Pros
  • Easy to use!
Cons
  • None
By Will B.
Richmond, Va
Wonder Lead
July 19, 2021
I have noticed a significant improvement in pulling while using the wonderlead. I am combining the lead with a weekly Huntsmith seminar which is even more helpful. The lead is useful for shaping the dogs behavior but the training changes yours.
Pros
  • Almost instant response from your dog.
Cons
  • Be prepared by having gloves if you have a large, strong, or intense dog.
By James
Athens,Ga
Works
July 8, 2021
Really appreciate the instructions as much as the lead itself.
By Tim
Michigan
Wonder Lead
July 2, 2021
I am new to bird dog training and have a very energetic 3 month old Brittany. I was able to literally have him heeling cleanly by my side within 20 minutes of incorporating this lead. In fairness, I had worked on having him heel on a few different sessions with a traditional collar; however, he would not stay in the "zone" and didn't respond that well to the tugs on his lead with the regular collar. When I used the Wonder Lead, it stays right where you need it so puppy can't bite and play with it and is easy to give quick pressure on-pressure off corrections.
Pros
  • Quick response time on the lead relaxing after a corrective tug.
  • I like the stiffness that allows you to keep it relaxed while also keeping it in position above the dog.
Cons
  • None
By Reed
South Carolina
Great shipping, great product and customer service!
May 31, 2021
The Wonderlead shipped quickly and beat everyone else's price. The customer service team even responded to a note I left in my order to assist me with a future purchase for something that was out of stock at the time. Will be shopping with this team again in the future!
By Rick
SC
Best way to a correct heel!
May 9, 2021
Love these leads! When putting my 6 month old lab in training, their first comment was that it was obvious he'd been on a retractable lead. After learning how to use it, I borrowed one for our first time we brought him home for a weekend. He's off lead now (perfect heel), but I still use this in public areas. Never going back to a retractable lead.
Pros
  • Immediacy of correction.
  • Durability
  • He knows it means it's time to work
Cons
  • Won't fit in a pocket.
By Customer
Wrightsville Beach, NC
Awesome product
April 27, 2021
Very satisfied. Great training tool.
By Thom
not suburbia, North Carolina
A gentler way to get the
April 23, 2021
This is money well spent. The quick release of tension provides positive, voiceless reward. Easier on the trainer and the dog. A constant hacking used to correct behavior is greatly reduced. Wonder lead has allowed me to work in close proximity while conditioning to a given set of commands. Being able to walk a dog at heal through a yard full of chickens has impressed a number of landowners who have just given my permission to hunt. You don't necessarily need to teach a dog to hunt but you must teach it manners.
Pros
  • Easy to master.
Cons
  • Haven't used it long enough to determine.
By Rocky
Pgh. Pa.
Wonder lead
April 22, 2021
Bought this to reinforce my dog to heel. Other dog owners told me it's the best and easiest way to do that training. I have not used it yet because of a upcoming Hunt Test. Now that is behind us, l will start the heeling training.
Pros
  • Looks like it will be the perfect side to teach my dog the heel command.
By Jessee
Virginia
Works great
April 22, 2021
Worked on my dad’s boxer he was basically yanking him down when we were camping. He started healing almost immediately!
Pros
  • Easy to use
By David
Sanford, NC
It works!
March 20, 2021
The Wonder Lead works as advertised. My two GSPs are wheeling and moving with rather than trying to pull me around..
Pros
  • Dogs respond quickly.
Cons
  • No real negative but I suggest hanging it up to let the curl relax.
By John F.
Sacramento, Ca
Amazing Product.!
March 19, 2021
Put simply... If your self training your dog, the Wonder Leash is the best leash training product on the market. It will change everything. It will be the best $30 you spend. Do yourself a huge plus, buy this Wonder leash today. Giving it 5 stars doesn't give it enough credit. Amazing product.
Pros
  • Everything about this product by Delmar Smith is a Pro.
Cons
  • Zero cons... Perfect product.
By Alan
Pittsburgh, PA
Game Changer
March 9, 2021
This simple design is efficient and well made. I'm no stranger to training field dogs, but my recent pup is very smart and stubborn. All her obedience training had been going well, with the exception of the heel command. The wonder Lead got us on track on day one and continues to be a valuable tool for maintaining and refining the heel command.
Pros
  • Simple, effective, and easy to clean. The design and materials pretty much guarantee that it will be used by generations in your outfit.
Cons
  • Gloves are recommended, but they should be mandatory when using this tool.
By Pete
NYS
Wonder lead
January 23, 2021
Awesome, instant obedience with very minor training
Pros
  • Immediate adherence
Cons
  • Wear gloves
By Aaron W.
Michigan
Amazing tool
January 22, 2021
Just started the pup and the 2 year old weim on the lead. It is an amazing tool.
By robert s.
SC
Wonder lead is great
January 18, 2021
although I would have preferred a shorter lead, you can certainly shorten it yourself if you want. the stiffness of the lead allows immediate correction and release making communication to the dog great--they get it. I would highly recommend this product, despite the cost.
Pros
  • excellent communication with the dog
Cons
  • expensive
By John C.
Coeur D'Alene, Idaho
The name says it all!
January 13, 2021
The Delmar Smith wonder lead is legit! The most handy lead and training tool in my arsenal!!!!!
Pros
  • Everything about this lead has Pros.
Cons
  • None!
By Bob
Michigan
Fantastic tool for teaching a stubborn healer
January 3, 2021
This is a fantastic tool for healing a stubborn (to Smart) pet. First found about it form a trainer of bird dogs and figured what the heck so I purchased one to train my Bernedoodle with and we are both a lot happier.
By Jim M.
Florida
Top of line training tool
December 2, 2020
I have been using one of these for years, pointers, labs or just teaching dogs to walk at heel. It make either right action easy and wrong action difficult. Will continue to use nad recommend.
Pros
  • Quality, price, easy if use, success!
Cons
  • I wish it came in longer sizes.
By Jason
Montana
The Wonder Lead is Awesome!
October 1, 2020
This lead is perfect for my 6 mos. old GSP. She is much more aware and mindful of where I am on a walk than with a check cord or regular leash and she is developing good habits as a result. I also used it on my 9 yr. old GSP and it had the same effect...great product!
By CVNflyer
Clovis, NM
It is a Wonder!
September 3, 2020
I have been training dogs for over 50 years and this is one of the best training devices I have used. It works a advertised and is more effective than a standard choke collar. My only concern is that it is not as comfortable to hold as a nice leather leash.
Pros
  • Very effective on active puppies.
Cons
  • Not comfortable to hold.
By James C.
Grand Haven, MI
Great tool
September 2, 2020
We had an uncontrollable Brittany, and, now, she can be walked by my daughter. It has taken some time to get the dog to this state, but we were making NO progress with other methods
Pros
  • Excellent response to training, durable construction
Cons
  • Hard on your hands, early in the training
By David
Fairbanks, AK
Great Product
September 2, 2020
The Wonder Lead has been instrumental in leash training my 100 lbs Labrador Retriever (yes, he is 100% Lab). I feel confident he will mind when on outings and there are multiple distractions around. If there is a drawback, it is that the lead must be placed exactly where the instructions indicate.
Pros
  • Achieves desired results.
Cons
  • The learning curve (although small)
  • The rope can burn your hands if the dog lunges, etc.
By Customer
Wisconsin
It works
September 2, 2020
My puppy responds to it perfect no complaints here!
By Don M.
ID
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
November 8, 2018
Once the dog got used to it, all I have to do is put it on her and she pays close attention to where I am and watches my every move and moves with me.
By Bernice D.
NC
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 23, 2018
Easy to use !!!
By John D.
CT
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 21, 2018
Greatly improved my ability to control my puppy.
By Bryan F.
IL
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 18, 2018
By Steve R.
MA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 18, 2018
By Steve R.
MA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 18, 2018
By Bill W.
AK
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 18, 2018
Great training tool. I feel it speeds up the heeling process considerably.
By Myron K.
VA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 18, 2018
Great tool for teaching a dog to heel. Very quick learning response from a young dog. The video could have been longer and covered more.
By Jonathan
WI
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 16, 2018
By Anthony V.
NJ
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 15, 2018
By Erik N.
WA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 12, 2018
By Jim B.
NJ
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 11, 2018
Great product , my 4 month old GSP adapted to almost instantly. Followed the instructions on the video, and great success with healing obedience!
By Michael O.
NC
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 11, 2018
Simple to use, and the video explained all that I needed to know. I will soon have a six year old Llewelyn setter that I can enjoy walking with.
By GM
MI
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 15, 2016
Problem lab with no manners was given to us. Unruly, but smart fellow learned heel within a very, very short time using Wonder Lead. Good instructions with lead and videos on GDS website/YouTube channel. Highly recommend.
By Steve R.
CT
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 11, 2016
It's working great! I wish I had bought it sooner.
By Jeff B.
OH
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 9, 2016
The lead is an answer close to a solution.
By Terry P.
ME
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 9, 2016
Works great! My pup really pays attention!
By Michaela F.
FL
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 8, 2016
Excellent! Duck responded quickly to coming into heel position.
By Maria
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 6, 2016
This was recommended by my dog trainer and it has vastly improved my handling.
By Jon P.
OH
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 29, 2016
Works incredibly well, very impressed
By Aaron C.
NY
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
August 31, 2016
Stopped pulling immediately. Easy to use and recommended by my trainer. Excellent tool for training all dogs to walk without pulling.
By Tracy R.
MN
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
August 30, 2016
Fantastic company and products. Didn't know what a wonder lead was till a friend introduced me to it. Great product, great results. Easy to use.
By Daniel M.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
August 30, 2016
Perhaps the best training tool I've ever used!!! I slipped this on my lab, and in a matter of seconds she understood the heel command. I am amazed at how well this product works, and my 5 year old lab doesn't pull me around anymore.
By Greg T.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
August 21, 2016
A must have! Great for teaching heel and early stages of quartering. Dogs really learn to come with you and walk proper with this tool. Wear your gloves while using it.
By John B.
OH
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
August 21, 2016
Great product. Great value. Excellent service.
By Larry A.
MN
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
July 21, 2016
This is a fine lead. Kind to my dog, easy for me, and excellent for training. I highly recommend it!
By Philip G.
AZ
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
July 10, 2016
it works!
By John
AL
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
June 7, 2016
The name really fits the product.
By Jim G.
SC
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
June 6, 2016
The lead is really a wonder! Very effective. I would definitely recommend this lead.
By Robert T.
KY
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
May 12, 2016
Works great on my Lab and Pointers.
By Chuck R.
WV
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
May 7, 2016
Easy to use and stops older dogs from pulling. It's a little too much grip for younger dogs.
By Charles
Tx.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
May 5, 2016
A must have tool for training dogs.
By Darren D.
CA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
April 29, 2016
The most convenient lead I have owned. The dog responds like magic. It has sped up the obedience training 10 fold.
By Annet A.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
April 19, 2016
Works wonders. Really helps my dog during his training. Very sturdy and durable which is great because he's only getting bigger and stronger.
By Stephen R.
LA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
April 14, 2016
Wearing gloves is probably a good idea.
By Justin G.
MN
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
March 25, 2016
Great product. Both of my young pups responded to it right away. Heel training is going much easier now.
By Cindy C.
WA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
March 21, 2016
My dog was fighting her collar until I put the wonder lead on her and she relaxed and seemed to almost enjoy being on the leash. I would recommend this for sure.
By Todd L.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
March 2, 2016
The Wonder Lead is a great training tool for teaching a dog to properly heal. Quality product that should last years of use. Gun Dog Supply has shown the best customer service I've experienced in a long time.
By Christine J.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
February 24, 2016
Love it for our dog.
By Charles V.
CO
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
February 18, 2016
Very good product. Effective with my pups. I would recommend it to help with training.
By Jim R.
CA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
February 16, 2016
Works great! Easy to put on and take off. 8 month old and 7 year old Brittany walking at heel very nicely.
By David M.
CO
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
February 9, 2016
It's made a huge difference in how she handles. No more pulling!
By Steve L.
Ab
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
February 6, 2016
A must have piece of training equipment for getting dogs started. Learning to give to pressure is a fundamental, and the wonder lead is the perfect tool for the task.
By Peter B.
MN
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
February 3, 2016
Great training tool but you need to use it for it to work.
By Grant H.
OK
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
February 1, 2016
My Brit is 12 years old, never could get him to heel very well, put this on him in the house and he responded right away, with a little work in one week. When I give him the command to heel, he stays right beside me, who said you can't teach an old dog a new command. My setter is 5 months old, still much a pup but she has no problem heeling when I put is on her. This thing really works. No b.s. here. Just follow the instructions on placement of the rope and how to hold it and it will do all the work, it will blow you away.
By Chuck A.
MO
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
January 17, 2016
Great tool for silent heal and sit.
By Annet A.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
January 17, 2016
We were struggling so bad with his training and getting him to follow commands or listen to us. The Wonder Lead did a total 180 on him. He now follows almost all commands and doesn't fight against us anymore. I love my dog and the Wonder Lead.
By William P.
MI
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
January 15, 2016
Recommended by a pro trainer. Works great.
By Ronald M.
CA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
December 23, 2015
Don't know. I haven't received them yet.
By Gene D.
OK
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
December 16, 2015
It works better than choke collars by far. Only used twice, and it made a difference with 90 seconds without getting rough in any way.
By William J.
KS
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
December 5, 2015
For a 25 pound pup, my French Brittany would pull like a train on a lead. She was being hard headed about heel training. Within 5 minutes, the Wonder Lead had her showing manners with much less pressure than a lead and standard collar. Wish I had this for my previous dogs.
By Ashton
AL
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
November 23, 2015
My dad already had one. I just ordered one for myself. We LOVE them.
By Sharon L.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
November 23, 2015
It stops the dog from jumping on me when I walk.
By WILLIAM S.
FL
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
August 18, 2015
Better made than the old one I lost.
By Dave P.
CA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
August 11, 2015
It was recommend by a friend with years of training experience . Yes, this is a great product.
By Robin P.
Al
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
August 10, 2015
Every Boykin owner needs one of these.
By Greg O.
AL
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
August 5, 2015
Excellent product!
By Willem L.
MS
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
August 5, 2015
Every dog trainer/owner needs one.
By James H.
La
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
August 4, 2015
After a seminar on dog training, several of us bought one of these items. I have yet to hear anything negative about it. Sure straightened up my 7 mo old lab that was pulling on her lead prior to this.
By Amanda W.
IN
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
August 1, 2015
Very effective. I like the stiffness of it. Gives a constant connection to the dog, so it can anticipate your movements.
By Bonnie S.
NC
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
July 21, 2015
This has been an awesome training tool for our puppy. Wish we had had it with our older airedale!
By Justin V.
WI
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
July 17, 2015
Great tool for teaching heal and sit. Have been using them for years, and they are great.
By Jason T.
AR
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
July 12, 2015
Durable. Works great.
By ALAN C.
SD
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
July 11, 2015
It is a great training aid for young dogs learning to heel and basic obedience. They respond to it very well?
By Jon
MN
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
July 7, 2015
This lead works as advertised. My six month old puppy almost instantly healed and was under control using the Wonder Lead.
By Osvaldo R.
NY
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
July 3, 2015
Great. Enough said!
By Craig R.
TX
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
July 2, 2015
Works great! Within a few FEET he was already starting to heel. Amazing product.
By Jean-Marc H.
QC
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
June 14, 2015
It seems ok. I am going to try it for some week.
By Kamiar M.
MI
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
June 13, 2015
Worked the first time I put it on her. Never seen anything working this well. Highly recommended.
By Langdon S.
TN
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
June 5, 2015
Training at 3 months old with her. 2 days / 10 min straight line walking. She understands what the wonder lead is all about. We have progressed to just holding it in my hand, and she respects it. Great product...
By Robert K.
WI
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
June 4, 2015
Great tool.
By Debra H.
NC
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
June 2, 2015
Almost magical! On my first use, the rope quickly allowed my dog to self-correct her heeling problems. No lagging, no forging, and lots of attention! I didn't need a glove, the rope and Maggie did all the work. I wish I had this when she was a pup...life would have been much more peaceful.
By Michael
IL
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
May 8, 2015
I don't always use this, but when I do my dog responds quickly, and it makes her heal right away.
By Greg B.
VT
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
May 4, 2015
I have used this lead before on other dogs, and it works. At 8 weeks, my little one will have to wait a few weeks for this phase. Great product that works.
By Robert P.
VI
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
April 28, 2015
Same lead our trainer used.
By Roxane L.
Or
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
April 9, 2015
My vizsla doesn't like my roommate leashing him, so wonderlead keeps roommate from getting bitten, and my dog gets out. I have used a wonderlead in the past when I worked at a boarding kennel. There were several dogs who were very head shy. I used a wonderlead to take them from their kennel to the fenced exercise area. I didn't get hurt, and the dogs felt safe with me. A regular slip lead wasn't stiff enough to be able to get them without my getting hurt. The wonder lead let me get them!! Also had a few dogs who pulled, and the wonder lead solved that situation.
By Alex
MD
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
April 6, 2015
Wonder lead is a great durable product. My GSP is great off-leash, but needed some work on the leash close to me. Almost instantly I could see my dog reacting when he pulled, and he would adjust. He almost has a different mindset and focus when I get the wonder lead out for a walk. Great product.
By Gina E.
MN
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
April 3, 2015
This lead works better than any other I have used. Thank you for providing a great product!
By Hugh C.
TN
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
March 23, 2015
This lead by Delmar Smith does what it's supposed to do. My GSP quickly accepted and responded to this lead with very little need for pressure. Instructions that come with the lead are fool proof.
By William C.
MN
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
March 18, 2015
The wonder lead has worked very well for me. It gives me a great tool when working close with my young dog.
By Donald B.
NC
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
March 17, 2015
This lead does work. I recommend it highly.
By Scott S.
AL
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
March 14, 2015
I may not have the shoulder and elbow problems that I now have, if I had owned a couple of these 30 years ago! Wonder Lead, indeed! Thanks!!
By Ryan A.
MO
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
March 3, 2015
Great product.
By Wendy S.
NC
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
March 2, 2015
Works as advertised. I think it will be even better once it wears in a little bit.
By C M.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
March 1, 2015
Needed this lead for a long time ago, just didn't realize how effective it would be. I have enjoyed working my dogs with this lead. They react positively and respond accordingly. Other leads that I have tried does not compare to the Delmar Smith Wonder Lead.
By VICTOR
VA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
February 28, 2015
My dog is very responsive when I use the Wonder Lead. It has helped in his steadiness during walks and training sessions.
By Ben M.
MA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
February 25, 2015
This lead is awesome. Completely lives up to expectations. I have only had it few weeks, and it has already proved to be very useful.
By Roberta B.
WA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
February 16, 2015
Nick blows off the cloak chain. He doesn't respect it at all. This lead seems to get his attention without the constant pressure. He is responding to this lead. I really like how the pressure releases immediately because of the material.
By MICKY H.
MT
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
February 16, 2015
Works well when positioned high behind the ears where it is intended, but it is hard to keep it up there. If you have a ranch store in your area, it is the same as a child's practice rope (lasso). Which will be cheaper than this. Works well, but not instant heeling without some work and time. Glad I have one.
By Susan S.
FL
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
February 2, 2015
This product works great. Love it. I will be sharing this with all my friends.
By Deb F.
SC
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
January 28, 2015
I'm a stickler for well behaved dogs on leash. My daughter in law brought her 1 year old mixed breed to me. The pup had never seen a leash. 2 sessions with the Delmar smith wonder lead, and the dog walks like he was leash trained by a professional. Love this tool. It goes on the top of my dog training tool kit!
By Robin J.
AZ
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
January 26, 2015
Great lead to have for training.
By Gaurang B.
VI
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
January 10, 2015
This lead is used by trainers and hence we bought it for our pooch. It does wonders the instant you put it on the dog. No more pulling while in training, and him listening to our commands -- what's not to like. Definitely recommend it for training.
By ROBERT K.
OH
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
January 8, 2015
Works great. Use it every day.
By Kyle
NE
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
January 8, 2015
It works exactly as described. An absolutely fantastic training tool!
By JK S.
IA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
January 5, 2015
Made easy work of teaching 'heel'. My pup now walks next to me without the use of a lead.
By Richard W.
MO
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
January 4, 2015
Expensive, but really works. My dogs worked well the first time out. They have been excited every time I get it out. Like Steve says in his video, wear gloves.
By George A.
MI
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
December 30, 2014
These leads are used from day one in training. When the lead goes on, it's time for business. They work!
By TOM M.
AL
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
December 29, 2014
simple and easy to use, dog responded to this lead nicely.
By Walter K.
NY
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
December 26, 2014
I use it, but the dog doesn't react any differently than from a regular choke chain collar.
By Monica A.
TX
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
December 11, 2014
It took my dog 1 walk on this lead to learn to walk in a heel position and not want to pull on the leash to pee here and there and everywhere. He walks more focused-like when walked on the wonderlead.
By Monica C.
OH
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
August 16, 2014
Works great.
By Dan P.
MN
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
August 13, 2014
Great training tool and very effective.
By Mike
NJ
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
June 17, 2014
Worked right out of the package. No more pinch collar for the red head. I wish I had this collar from the beginning.
By Sam C.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
June 9, 2014
Young dog that wants to pull me on walk. Improvement within minutes with the Wonder Lead.
By Scott K.
PA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
June 8, 2014
I think it is a very good product. My only criticism is that they tell you that you should go purchase a part at a hardware store to replace a part on the product that will likely go bad over time. In my opinion, given the price I paid, they could have easily included that. Other than that, I'm very satisfied.
By Mike G.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
June 4, 2014
Maybe it's not what this lead was originally designed for, but my wife and I have found it to be perfect for walks and other outdoor excursions since our easily excited lab tends to be a bit of a puller.
By Macy G.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
May 27, 2014
I personally think this is a must have when teaching your dog to heel. It's stiff, so you don't have to worry about it getting tangled up in your dog's legs. Awesome product!
By Frank L.
NJ
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
May 6, 2014
After attending a Smith seminar, I purchased my first wonder lead. Used it until it got misplaced. Was lost without it in training until I ordered a new one for new pups. Makes training simple and enjoyable.
By Reba G.
NY
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
May 2, 2014
Heard a lot of good things, and so far it has worked well, but only did 2 sessions. Might be a little harsh for a sensitive pup.
By Mark L.
MI
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
March 17, 2014
I am still having a little trouble with my Beagle trying to hang himself, while using the Wonder Lead. I think I need more time to truly evaluate.
By Robert H.
SC
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
March 8, 2014
Works really well. My dog will stop and listen just by showing him the coiled up leash. This leash will tame the most stubborn dog. I tried all kinds of training leads, but this one works the best. It is good for training, not for everyday use. The ones like this made of soft nylon do not work as well, but are good for everyday use.
By Tanner R.
GA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
March 5, 2014
I have two leads, and they have both been chewed apart each time. I can't afford another one. Is there a way it can be repaired?
By Darlene H.
OH
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
March 2, 2014
With the weather the way it's been, I haven't really got to use the Wonder Lead on my German Shepherd yet. I have used one in the past on my Lab, and it was wonderful!!! Thank you.
By Roy F.
TX
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
March 1, 2014
This thing is awesome. It was always a struggle to walk my Brittany, even with a choke chain. Within minutes of using the Wonder Lead he acted like a different dog. Now he heels great and we can take him walking around the neighborhood without it being a struggle the whole way. Great product.
By John H.
MO
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
February 27, 2014
The lead works great in getting the attention of my dog during training sessions.
By Michael B.
IL
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
February 25, 2014
I love using the wonder lead. It has helped me as a new bird dog hunter train a new puppy. It's worth giving it a try. My dog took to the lead very fast, and I am very please with the progress. By the way, my pup is 12 weeks old today.
By Kevin S.
MI
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
February 21, 2014
I didn't know what to expect after watching the videos and reading other peoples reviews. This simple lead is amazing. My young Golden has responded incredibly well, and I would definitely recommend it.
By Charles G.
GA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
December 20, 2013
Wonder Lead is a very efficient training aid. I use is several times each day. Even if this one is the second one that I've purchased. My Boykin ate the first one.
By Tom G.
AL
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
December 17, 2013
A must have. The BEST product I have found. It is cheap compared to most things. It is easy to use, and the dog instantly responds to your guidance. It is the simplest way to enforce high quality training, even if you personally have little training experience. Buy the product, follow the simple instructions, and get great results. It is that simple. The dog learns who is alpha quickly, and it does not hurt them for no reason. It's the INSTANT corrective feedback that provides the dog with a high yield learning experience.
By Larry H.
WI
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
December 13, 2013
I am giving one to everyone in my training group. They truly are a wonder in training.
By Brian B.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
December 3, 2013
Very smart way to train heel. Dog learns through self inflicted discomfort.
By Stephen D.
GA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
December 1, 2013
This is an essential training tool. As a trainer I recommend it to all owners who desire better obedience from their four-legged companion.
By Charles G.
GA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
November 29, 2013
VERY efficient training aid. Working my seven month old Boykin pup 2-3 times daily (15-20 minute sessions) with the lead. We are communicating much better with the lead.
By Jeff C.
OH
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
November 27, 2013
Steve Great product. My trainer showed me how to use it on my shorthair. Boy did it change things quick. I now put it on him before going out. Just as a touch up. You really have some neat stuff Thanks Jeff Cooper
By VERNE O.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
November 26, 2013
Tried it on a 4 month old Brittany pup who was apparently too young and small. The techniques on the video did not work as the loop would not stay in place and either slipped off her head or slipped down and became a noose. Went to a pinch collar which worked. Will try again when she is larger.
By Alan
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
November 23, 2013
I've trained 3 competition dogs using the William Kohler Method, and a choker for AKC obedience trials. It works well for me. What I like best about this tool is that it is super effective on dogs that push ahead forward when heeling. The other feature I like is when used correctly it fine tunes every part of the heel exercise with instant feedback to the dog do to the quick correction then release. This tells the dog instantly where the correct heel position is to be. For competition, I use it to perfect Right & Left turns, figure 8's and about turns. Another big feature is characteristics of the rope where it tightens and loosens instantly with no lag. Not to say you can do the same thing with a choker and an experienced trainer, but it takes a lot more skill. Totally satisfied with this product. It solve a problem with my head strong lab wanting to walk 2 steps in front of me. Now he is one of the dogs people admire. One caution: this tool is to use it lightly, meaning more like quick, light pulls. Otherwise the dog will develop poor healing habits.
By Brian J.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
November 20, 2013
Rubber stopper could be improved to last more than a few times on the dog. Consider a different compound that is stiffer and wouldn't slide as easily. The little plastic thing doesn't help much. Concept is great just needs a new engineered stopper.
By Randy H.
ON
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
November 10, 2013
Works as advertised. Hard on hands, so wear gloves. I have a stubborn dog who likes to pull. So we are still working with it.
By Bruce H.
ON
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
November 7, 2013
In the short time we have had this lead, I can see that it enables much better physical communication with my dog. The improvement in heel in particular was immediate. Looking forward to attending a Rick Smith seminar and learning more about how to use the WonderLead.
By EL B.
NC
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
November 6, 2013
Very easy to use, and does exactly what it was designed for. There is a big difference when I use it on my pup. Thank you for a great product.
By Matthew B.
IN
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
November 4, 2013
Have not used very much
By Mike
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
November 4, 2013
Easy to use and effective. Great product.
By Kim W.
SC
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 31, 2013
The lead is a good tool, works as described. Will continue to utilize as needed on those who need it.
By Brad S.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 30, 2013
Good product. Well made. Allows for more positive and direct control of the dog, as compared to a leash. 20 bucks for a piece of rope seems silly, but it's worth it.
By Steven
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 29, 2013
A Pro Trainer recommended it to me, and I'm recommended it to you. Control, control, control. Start off using it with your pup, review as necessary.
By Richard P.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 22, 2013
Great training tool
By Robert K.
MN
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 20, 2013
Great item. Came recommended by another dog trainer. Tried it, and it works well for my dog.
By John G.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
August 15, 2013
I purchased the Delmar Smith Wonder Lead. This may be the single best piece of dog training equipment ever devised. Had pup calmly walking at heel in less than ten minutes. Even better finally allowed my wife to take a dominant position to the pup with little effort. With her new confidence pup is responding to her commands. I cannot recommend it enough.
By Kevin S.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
October 21, 2011
The lead works great getting dog use to the pressure point. You can have your dog heeling in just a few sessions.
By Jordan
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 16, 2011
It certainly works at getting the dog to respond to the lead. I felt that it was beneficial in instilling the heel command in several of my dogs. However, I did not like how quickly the rubber stopper wore out on the lead. The piece of rubber is supposed to keep the loop small enough that the loop won't slip down the dog's neck, but instead will stay nicely up behind the dog's ears. This worked well for a little while, but within a couple of months, the inside of the rubber was worn down and there wasn't enough friction to keep it in place. Other than that I like the product.
By Marne W.
MI
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 13, 2011
The wonder lead worked the minute we put it on Remmie our German Shorthaired. Taking her on walks is now a relaxing expeience for the both of us.
By Kenneth H.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 6, 2011
I train single and dual purpose dogs. Good manners are a must. I've used the lead in the past. Frankly, I had forgotten how well it worked. I am happy to have one again. It works. Try it. Delmar Smith had it right.
By Roger H.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 5, 2011
I like them very much. I use them during training and when teaching seminars. I refer all of my customers to your website for their dog products. Roger hess Tailgunner kennel Www.tailgunnerkennel.com Www.deepcanyonpreserve.com
By Dave H.
GA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 5, 2011
Ease of use. Doesn't hurt or scare the pup at all. Has worked fine for the Brit and a Fox Red Lab. Thanks for asking
By Dee
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 5, 2011
Quick and easy to use, and it works.
By Steve M.
CT
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 4, 2011
I have had and used this lead for the past two years. It is a tool that should be in every Dog Owners possession. I was very impressed with the immediate attention and focus I received from my dawgs with this training lead. Gonna see if it helps on my Wife next if I can get the courage up to put it on her
By Jerry H.
CO
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 4, 2011
With the narrow head profile of the English (female), I found it very difficult to keep the lead up near the ears and impossible to use it over one or both ears. The lead is very stiff (I think a little too stiff) and she tended to pull forward on the heal training. The lead always ended up down the neck where she is very comfortable pulling me around.
By MM
KS
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 4, 2011
This lead works well, and my dog reacts to just the lightest tension applied. Very good product.
By Rick Y.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 3, 2011
My wife works for a professional gun dog trainer. The wonder lead was recommended by him. Cuts training time in half. Especially good if a dog tends to pull.
By Michael W.
TX
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 3, 2011
The wonder lead was an excellent tool for teaching the heal command to my youngest pup. In no time the pup quickly associated how to relieve the pressure by properly obeying the heel command
By Bob
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 3, 2011
Wow! My dog really, really pays attention when she has this on!
By Seth
WA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 3, 2011
The Wonder Lead has worked well for me in teaching heel. It is easy to put on and take off, and delivers a quick, effective and humane correction.
By Brian J.
NJ
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 3, 2011
Works great Rubber stopper wears out quickly
By Brenda R.
AL
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
It has worked out very well for us. Our Heidi is 1 year old and very stubborn, so we were in need of something that would get her attention, and the wonder lead is great. It was a little difficult for me to grasp the concept, but my husband has it down to a tee. Heidi doesn't like it at all, and is very submissive as soon as it goes around her head!
By Matt C.
IN
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
I bought the wonder lead as a replacement for the prong collar. I had great success with the prong collar. However, my dog has a low amount of hair around the neck and stomach area. Therefore, the prong collar was leaving marks that I did not enjoy. The wonder lead is a good alternative. Great quality, nice and easy to apply, and a low cost/high quality product that has a lot of upside. If I only had some more specific training from the Smith family, I am sure it would even be better!
By Edward L.
CA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
Great lead, just as effective as a pinch collar. Lightweight, always with me in the field.
By Edwin C.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
Have 2 and have had them for 4 years. Can't train without them. Still in the same shape as when I got them, just a little dirtier. Will buy another if either of these ever wear out!
By Garry
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
This lead made a really big difference in heel training. I still today use it, mainly as a leash. My only complaint would be that the rubber piece that is meant to keep loop around your dogs neck from getting too "relaxed"; wears out very quickly, and is pretty much useless after that. Overall good product, I would recommend to anyone serious about training.
By Terry G.
PA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
I love this lead. It worked great for teaching heel. No more pulling and corrections are quick and effective. I learned how to use it at one of Rick Smith's clinics, and I was impressed at how quickly I got results with my unruly pup. It is however, rough on your hands and gloves are a must. Terry
By Tyson T.
TX
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
It's a great training tool, but the rubber washer always gets too loose to adequately control the hoop size after only a few uses. This doesn't diminish the overall usefullness of the lead, but it certainly makes it tougher to use.
By Edgar
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
Great product. Within days my dog learn to heel and follow my lead.
By Karl B.
MN
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
The wonder lead works very well at getting the dogs attention without being too harsh. It has helped me get 2 dogs trained quickly and easily for basic obedience. I have suggested this lead to several others and I am very satisfied with the results I have seen from using it.
By John G.
MI
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
Durable. Use it to heel and whoa train all our dogs and customer dogs.
By Kip
IL
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
Purchased the Huntsmith training videos and found plenty of helpful training techniques mastered Delmar Smith and honed to prefection by Ronnie and Rick Smith. (Highly recommend their videos). The Wonder Lead is one of the most effective training practices Huntsmith has to offer. With full understanding and proper training of Wonder Lead, this could be the must effective tool in your training bag. Enjoy the 2011 hunting season my fellow hunter!!!
By Whitney T.
DC
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
Coming from a western family that always has had black labs; I've always wanted one of my own. So finally I bit the bullet and have a 7 month old pup named Woodley in the big city. Unlike the farm dogs we've had, Woodley has to function as a city dog and trusted friend in the field and water, which means total manners and obedience. I've always shied away from choke chain collars so when my colleague suggested the Wonder Lead I was intrigued. It may look like a lasso on these city streets, but boy does it work. At the moment, Woodley is small enough that his pulling isn't too hard on my hands, but I think if he was a bigger dog I may wear gloves when using the Wonder Lead as the instructions suggest. I've also not had to wrap the lead around one ear for more control; I think he may be too small for that. But overall I'm pleased about my purchase and solution as it's very affordable and gives me much more control over my dog. It's a great training tool!
By John M.
TX
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
It is a great tool to use for teaching a dog to heal. My dog has worked extensively with Ronnie Smith, Delmar's nephew, and a well known trainer in his own right. Ronnie uses the wonder lead and has worked with me on it's use as well. It really, really works. It is like powersteering for your dog.
By Evan T.
LA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
Only thing I don't like is that I need a new one! Great product. Couldn't do what I do without one.
By CHARLES F.
LA
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
I have found that the most aggressive pulling dog will give to the wonder lead after 1 maybe 2 experiences. It is really a "wonder" as to how quickly it works! Great product!!
By Tanner
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
Great device. Easy to use and works great.
By Trent
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
If you're serious about real bird dogs, Delmar's Wonder Lead is definitely what you need!
By Scott K.
IL
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
Lead is stiff giving excellent control. I use a second wonder lead on the belly for whole training.
By Ryan H.
IN
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
Awesome training lead! Way better than a choker chain. Doesn't have the noise associated with a chain that may startle some dogs.
By Greg P.
OR
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
As long as I keep the lead up against his ears, my dog heels perfectly. However, if the rope slips down his neck, he goes back to pulling.
By Mark S.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
Like they say...I wonder how I would have trained my dog without it
By David B.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
Amazing product
By Steve D.
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
Easy device anyone can use to quickly teach your dog to heal!!
By Rachelle B.
WI
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
The wonder lead is simple to use and easy to maintain. The directions and photo illustrations included in the packaging are clear to understand. The wonder lead has been an indespensible training tool which I use for yard work, prior to conformation showing, field work, and indoor training on manners. I have used the wonder lead on several of my former rescue Brittanys and have recommended it to their adopters. I have also demonstrated it to family, friends, co-workers, and random strangers I see struggling to walk their dogs. Every time I bring out a wonderlead, all of my dogs get excited, line up shoulder to shoulder, sit or stand, then smile as they drop their heads slightly to accept the lead, as they anticipate something fun is going to happen, be it a simple walk or bird work.
By Orville L.
IN
Review for Wonder Lead by Delmar Smith -- 7 1/2 ft.
September 2, 2011
I bought this when my girl was still young. Like most GSPs, she had a real problem with pulling. However, the rope texture was so rough it hurt her and frightened her to have it on. Quite frankly, it hurt my hands to use it as well. If she had been an 80 pound bully dog, and I had been willing to pull on a set of welding gloves, this might have been just the ticket. I've not tried it on her again, as the problem has resolved itself using other means. The leash is hanging somewhere in the barn and will probably remain there until I notice it one day and toss it out. We've been fostering GSPs, and this might come in handy if we ever get one that can't be handled any other way. This was just one of those pretty good ideas that didn't quite work out.

Page 1 of 1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2023, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions