Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+

You are here:  > 

4.4
34 Reviews
5
68% (23)
4
12% (4)
3
15% (5)
2
3% (1)
1
3% (1)
91% Recommend this product (31 of 34 responses)
By Steve H.
Wisconsin
Rugged dog boots/ great buy for our family dog
February 2, 2023
These dog boots are well made and do stay on our dog's feet. She is still getting used to them but does not move when we put them on. We live in northern Wisconsin and the below zero weather has definitely made it important to have the boots. Now she can enjoy the cold weather and snow! They were true to size and the 2 bands have held them on, even in deep snow.
By N H.
Shoshone County, Idaho
Ultra Paws dog boots - great protection for your working dogs feet!!
February 10, 2022
I hunt waterfowl in habitat that is impacted by flooding every spring that over years has left much debris that contains rusted wire, broken glass and wooden construction material containing nails and spikes. I have always been concerned about my labs' feet. After purchasing a set of Ultra Paws dog boots I no longer worry. These boots are very rugged and well made. Delivery was prompt and service exceptional. I would highly recommend this product to anyone worried about their best companions' foot welfare!
Pros
  • Quality and durability of materials and construction.
By Dan
Hurley, New Mexico
Happy desert dog!
January 22, 2022
Since retiring and moving to the high desert of New Mexico our dogs have had a lot of trouble with their feet due to all the sharp and pokey things they encounter on the trails (mostly goat heads). We’ve tried a couple styles of booties, but they either wear out quickly or come off. These booties from Gun Dog Supply have not come off and are holding up really well in our conditions here! 100% happy and will be buying more for the other 2 dogs we have and a couple spares!
Pros
  • Solid construction, they don't come off, look pretty cool, shipped/arrived quickly.
Cons
  • Haven't found any cons yet.
By David R.
TX
Rugged Dog Boots
January 18, 2022
I really love this product because I hunt north Texas, and there are a lot of stickers, and these boots really hold up in the field and gorilla tape around the velcro. Thank you.
Pros
  • Easy to put on.
By Peter W.
North Carolina
Tough, durable booties
November 30, 2021
Easy to put on, hard to slip off booties. Affordable boot with 2 velcro straps and foam padding at the closure area. Straps close in opposite direction for added security. Heavy nylon on top of the toe area helps prevent toenail punctures.
Pros
  • 2 velcro straps
  • Foam padding at the closure area helps prevent rubbing
  • Wider side openings help with putting on and taking off the boots
  • Durable toe area
Cons
  • Velcro straps - still recommend a strip of duct tape to help prevent the boot from coming off
By Inshallah T.
New Hampshire
Sizing is an Issue
May 21, 2021
Measured according to instructions provided. Doubted what it suggested but ordered accordingly. Way too small. Would suggest upsizing from the official measurements which don't seem to allow for the volume of the dog's paws, just the horizontal (flat) measurement. Had to return (more expense and trouble). We'll see if the next size up works.
By Brenda
Altavista, VA
Nice!
May 8, 2021
I ordered these for protection of a wounded paw after the Wound Boot worked its' magic. We still wrap her paw lightly with gauze, put on a boot sock and this little boot keeps her paw protected while allowing the wound to breathe.
By Eric S.
Central Point, OR
Great Shoes
December 22, 2020
Took our lab into the snow to get our tree and these boots worked awesome.
By Bill H.
TX
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
November 17, 2016
Velcro tags seem to catch a lot of debris . Boots worked good in the stickers but larger thorns will go through the boots. be sure and check to bottom of the boots often. Will start taping the velcro tags down
By Janis T.
MI
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
July 15, 2016
Bought these boots to complete my dog Annie's cowgirl outfit for our local Frontier Days Dress-up contest. They are perfect and stay on well. Thanks so much!
By Robert W.
FL
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
April 25, 2016
Our Boykin kept wearing his rear toenails down to the quick when retrieving in our pool. We put a pair of these on his rear feet and he's been good to go without a hitch. Thank you Steve and Gun Dog Supply!
By Peter B.
MN
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
February 3, 2016
They are okay, a little hard on my dogs nails. I found a lot of rubbing and chaffing. I would recommend socks if you do purchase these.
By Michael U.
WI
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
January 26, 2016
I used these boots on an older dog whose feet are cold sensitive. I was happy with the way the boots stayed on, and they seemed to work well in snow during a short outing.
By Joy B.
TX
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
January 16, 2016
First time boots for our gun dog. Excellent fit, no wear spots, and great coverage.
By Lawrence M.
FL
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
January 6, 2016
These were the best things for our dog. We're in Texas, and the sand spurs are terrible! The boots have saved his feet and my fingers!!
By Michael P.
TX
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
November 30, 2015
The boots just do not hold up to tough terrain.
By Claudia B.
TX
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
August 10, 2015
My dog wears them, and I bought these for ease of putting on, but they can fall off just as easily. Just be careful on how tight you get them and use duct tape if need be.
By Tom L.
NE
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
July 17, 2015
I have a hard charging dog and when roading him down the gravel road I used these dog boots to protect his pads. He wore holes through them the first 3.5 miles. Brought the trex boots, and those have held up so far.
By Bobette H.
MA
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
March 12, 2015
Could be a little higher on the leg but works quite well. Needed it for an injured paw.
By Erica H.
IN
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
March 11, 2015
Took my dog on an 8 mile run in the snow and salted roads and the protected her feet really well and stayed on the whole time.
By Markie W.
KY
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
February 18, 2015
We are going on a family vacation to Florida this summer, so we wanted to get shoes for Leesi to protect her feet from the heat and the shells at the beach. They have come in handy at home recently in KY with all the snow as well. They keep the snow from clogging up between her paw pads. They fit fairly well, but the second Velcro strap must be wrapped fairly tight for the Velcro to attach. Overall a great product, maybe we just should've ordered a larger size.
By Erin K.
WI
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
January 29, 2015
We purchased these boots after one too many pad injuries on our young Brit. They seem well made and he's taken to them quite well. He loses some traction going downhill in the snow, but overall the boots haven't slowed him down. Working in the field and the obedience ring means he doesn't have the chance to toughen his pads on the concrete, so this is our best solution. Just like he knows his training collar means he's headed to the ring, he knows these boots mean he's going for a run. Fast shipping as well.
By Ron J.
NC
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
January 1, 2015
Here are a few hints. Cut the excess strap material so it doesn't catch on brush when hunting. It's also good to put a wrap of duct tape around the straps, so they don't come loose. It's easy to cut off after the hunt. Finally, break your dog in with the boots. They ride high on the dog's leg and in 2 or 3 hours they will rub a raw spot on the dog's leg. Let the dog get accustomed to the boots by breaking them in.
By Dennis M.
TX
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
December 31, 2014
Not very durable. Stay on reasonably well, but showed significant wear in only two days of hunting CRP and stubble.
By Dave L.
CO
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
November 30, 2014
Lost one on the first day and ended up having to duct tape the Velcro straps on the others, so the boots would not come off. The Velcro straps came loose once they got wet or dirty. Worst boots I've ever had.
By Michael C.
FL
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
October 16, 2014
I Purchased these for my pointer because one of the fields we hunt is full of sandspurs. It was quite entertaining to see the dog walk around with the boots on for the first time at the house. However once in the field there was no slowing her down. She did not mind them at all. No more sandspurs in her pads. Problem solved.
By Ronald B.
CA
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
August 25, 2014
They are very well made and should last a very long time. We are very pleased with them. They arrived earlier than scheduled, and the price is right. Thank you very much.
By Amie W.
IN
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
March 5, 2014
Our PekiPom loves to be out in the snow, but his little feet would freeze when he got ice balls in the hair between his pads. With the height and double-securing straps, the boots stay on so he is able to romp, play, and enjoy the cold weather without frozen paws.
By Amy B.
MN
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
February 10, 2014
These boots are fabulous! So is this vendor...I ordered these boots to protect my doberman's cracked and bleeding feet. We live in MN, and this winter has been horribly cold. The dobe's pads have been cracking and bleeding all over my floors. It has been so cold that he is refusing to go out to potty! You can imagine the mess. I checked with local pet stores, they were all sold out, but said these boots stayed on the best of any brand they sold. So, I went online and found this website. Yes, they were more expensive online, but holy cow, my dobe now goes outside and runs around with his belgian malinois brother and comes in with intact feet! The double velcro is the key. These stay on even when running through belly deep snow! Worth every penny! Now, about the vendor...I wasn't expecting it, but I received my order in 2 days! Right before another cold snap saved my dobe's feet. I haven't had any problems. So from a customer service perspective, I can only say....I didn't have any problems! Sizing is always an issue when buying online. It would be nice if in addition to paw size, they included ankle size. We got mediums for my 70 pound Dobe (I heard they run big and to get a size very close to their paw size), but the he has thicker ankles, and the set of velcro closest to the paw is barely long enough and sometimes comes undone. Having said that...the boots have never come off until we take them off. Can't say enough!
By William H.
TX
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
January 26, 2014
I really like them, but my dog lost two of the boots. I had them taped on as well, but she pulled them off.
By Ashley M.
MT
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
December 30, 2013
These boots are AWESOME. My dog runs next to my bike, to and from work and school, averaging about 7-10 miles a day. These boots protect his paws. They stay on really well and seem super comfy for my dog. So bad ass! I would recommend these boots to anyone. Thanks Steve!
By Terri A.
IA
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
December 29, 2013
These were just what was needed for my daughter and her boyfriend's dog. She loves to go pheasant hunting, but since she really is not a hunting dog, and they live where it is snowy and cold and frozen ground, her paws would get built up ice in them. These work perfectly, and she doesn't mind them on!!
By Michael W.
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
December 3, 2013
Very well built. Your dog will look like a scuba diver out of water at first but put them on a bird and they forget they are wearing them. They stayed on well.
By Kevin S.
TX
Review for Rugged Dog Boots by Ultra Paws -- Set of 4 -- RED
October 31, 2013
I really like double velcro straps. It's an excellent idea to have them wrap in opposite directions. There is a soft foam rubber pad in the inside that makes it so that the straps don't cut into the dogs ankles as badly as they could. The shortcoming is the rubber coated bottom and toe guard. It's not stuck to the cordura like you would think that it should be. Once it cracks or tears (which it will), it fills up with sand between the rubber layer and the cordura layer. I have made mine last much longer by using shoe goo to make repairs in the torn rubber bottoms. The are not as good as they could and should be, but they are much better than most boots out there. I hunt in serious sand burr country, and I have tried them all.

Page 1 of 1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2024, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions