Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


4.7
270 Reviews
5
79% (212)
4
17% (47)
3
2% (6)
2
2% (5)
1
0% (0)
98% Recommend this product (265 of 270 responses)
By Owen S.
NC North Carolina
Fantastic Product, Fantastic Service
January 18, 2022
Fantastic product and delivered early with a personal note from the owner of the company.
By Klaus H.
Ellensburg, Washington
Works for me
January 15, 2022
We have two large Anatolian/Akbash guardian dogs that watch the livestock. They have free run of the farm and sometimes get out in the road. I tried the vest on the young one. Itā€™s plenty tough and the visibility is excellent. He took to wearing it in a few days. Iā€™m buying a second vest for my big guy. As always, a good value and quality product. Keep it up.
By Joshua G.
Smith Mountain Lake Virginia
Good addition to field gear
January 13, 2022
I purchased a Vest for each of my two bird dogs after a trip to Maine. We had a great time but both of my boys got several cuts and minor injuries. I have been very pleased with the vest's protection from injuries, quality, and durability. I like that they are made in the USA. They also make it easier to see my dogs working the cover. Steve -- thanks for the great product. You will not be disappointed if you add this Vest to your field gear lineup.
Pros-Protection from injuries, quality, and durability. -Made in USA. -Easier to see my dogs working the cover.
ConsHaven't found any - honest.
By Hiker 9.
Denton, TX
Saves dog from burrs
January 1, 2022
This is my second Sylmar vest. The old one lasted many years. My dog is used to having it on when in the field, whether hunting or just getting some field exercise. Once you get the size correct, you need to cut off the excess strap. I will burn the end to keep it from unraveling. The color is bright and it's easy to pick out the dog in all types of terrain. We train and play in the lake with it on and it stands up to all kinds of abuse. Over time, the old one faded. Now we have a nice bright new one. I don't know how many hours I've saved in picking out cockle burrs and other stuff after our fieldwork is finished. Of course, the vest only protects the chest and underside of the dog, so I still have to clean off the rest of the dog. I like that it saves me time.
ProsWell built and bright colored. Can be adjusted to fit the dog. Saves time with dog clean-up after fieldwork. Keeps some of the burrs and stuff from sticking to the fur. Durable.
ConsI can't think of any.
By Jerry L.
California
Good product, needs adjustment
November 30, 2021
Seems to be well made and durable and lightweight too
ProsLightweight and durable
ConsNeed to do some adjusting as holes for front legs rubbed the hair off my dog. Guess I need to tighten it up some without restricting movement
By Bessie
Clifton Township, Pa.
Nice piece, Dog vest.
November 30, 2021
Feels sturdy, nice color, fits great. All OK.
ProsI like it.
By Allen
PA
Works as advertised.
November 30, 2021
Overall, pleased with the vest. They may be sized a bit on the big side in my experience. And the service at Gun Dog Supply is top notch. I'll be ordering again.
By Thor's d.
Central WI
Made in USA!
November 26, 2021
The quality of this vest is excellent. Originally, I ordered a Large, but it was too long for my smallish Lab; it covered a critical area of his anatomy! I replaced it with a Medium, which fits fine. The heavy-duty fabric is very protective. It was stiff at first, but tumbling it in the dryer with wet clothes helped soften it. The folks at Gun Dog Supply are so friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful! I will always check with them first for dog needs.
By John
Evansville Indiana
Awesome
November 24, 2021
Works great. Able to see my Boykin in tall cover
By Thomas Y.
New Jersey
Well made vest
November 24, 2021
First off, I purchase all my gundog needs from this company. The service and pricing is fair and the products are good. I’ve purchased two of these body guard vests over the last 10 years. The vest are very well made and can handle the many hours in the field. My 50 pound Brittany wears a medium..
ProsWell made
ConsSometimes tricky finding the correct size
By RAD
Wisconsin
Quality and correct size
November 17, 2021
I have a big Laborador. Sizing was as described. Vest worked well on a 5 day upland hunting trip. No cuts or scratches in the areas covered and no abrasions or rubbing from the vest itself. Hi-vis yellow set him apart from other dogs.
ProsFit, sizing, protection, visibility. When the material runs against heavy brush it can sound like a bird getting up! Adds to the excitement of the hunt. :) Seems to be a good product.
ConsNone yet.
By Larry S.
Eloy Arizona
Great, durable product with fast shipping
November 16, 2021
I have only used the vest once but was more than satisfied. Just in the short time we used it, she tore through some heavy brush without any issues. The material is thick and all of the stitching seems heavy duty. I was skeptical about the sizing but I measured twice and ordered once and the vest fit perfectly. Best part was the incredibly fast shipping, faster than Amazon.
ProsHeavy duty Fast shipping Good visibly
ConsI wish there was a flap that covered the back.
By Mike
Maryland
Sylmar Vests did the job on my cocker and brittany
November 15, 2021
The two Sylmar medium vests fit the dogs well and made them easy to see. I did trim the excess off the ends of the adjustable straps, but had no problems. Easy to put on and take off.
By Troy F.
Illinois
Jagd terrier
November 14, 2021
No more scratches all over my Jagd terriers belly. She's 14lbs and she's a Freakshow in the wood and the vest holds up excellent.
By Jeremy
East Tennessee
Just as described! A+ (Size Med.)
November 3, 2021
This body guard dog vest was just as described. It fit my Brittany wonderfully and has lasted through some really tough stuff! Briar thickets, saplings, ect. I would recommend this product. Warning go by the weight chart when picking out size.
ProsTough, well built and easy on/off
By gator
spokane
better than most ive tried, still rubs dog's armpits.
November 2, 2021
I'm going to cut the arm holes bigger to see if that works. Tried that on other vests and no good. Looks like this one may have a chance
By Tom
Iowa
Great dog vest
November 2, 2021
I’ve had 3 of these. They are very good vests. They are easy to put on, have high visibility in the field good chest protection. The only problem I’ve had was a plastic snap breaking on the first vest. I have 2 GSHs that weigh 70-80 pounds and the large adjusted well. Highly recommend. T
ConsOne plastic buckle broke
By Brian
MA
Great vest, but product runs big
October 26, 2021
This vest is very well constructed and excited about using it to protech my GSPs. Both my dogs are 48-55# and 22 and 23 inch tall. I ordered the Medium but feel its too large for both the dogs, so returned and ordered a Small. Haven't received the Small yet, but expect it should fit very well.
Proshighly constructed product.
Conssizes seem to run too big for accurate desrcription.
By Wes
Midwest
Great dog vest..!
October 23, 2021
I measured my dog and this is bigger than I thought it would be. I had to pull all the straps all the way up. I probably could have used the next size smaller instead? But, it should work OK.
ProsPlenty large enough! Good material which should last several years in the field.
ConsIF you need a MED, best order a SMALL... This runs big in size.
By John
Utah
Very good vest
October 23, 2021
I have used these vests for several years. They protect very well and I have never had a problem with them.
ProsVery durable and easy to put on.
ConsI have seen no cons.
By Hen
Massachusetts
Perfect protection in the woods
October 23, 2021
I have 2 pointers that love hiking in the woods, and running through everything. This body guard is perfect to protect them from getting hurt and to be seen during hunting season. There was a getting use to period but after one hike they didn’t seem to mind wearing it at all (and it didn’t slow them down).
ProsGood protection Color Easy to put on
ConsN/A
By Cat
Wisconsin
Great product.
October 20, 2021
Well made product. Covers chest well and offers three way adjustment so that it can grow with my puppy.
By MJH
Oklahoma
Bright & Breathable
October 20, 2021
Purchased this vest for my Lab for our pheasant hunt in South Dakota. It was lightweight and breathable which came in handy for the abnormally warm temperatures of 80*+. The adjustable straps allow for a wide range of body sizes. My lab's size was right in between the large and medium. To be safe, I purchased the L which was WAY too big and I returned it for the M. If you are on the fence about size I would go with the size smaller because the straps allow for a lot of room. I also took other reviewer's advice and washed it multiple times on delicate to soften it up. After 2.5 days of her wearing it I did not see any rubbing around the legs or chest.
Pros-Bright -Breathable -Adjustable Straps -Durable
Cons-Very stiff out of the box
By Renee
Georgia
Body Guard dog vest
October 13, 2021
Great quality and fit. I'm anxious to use it in the field. It will make visibility so much easier and protect my most valuable "hunting component". It goes on very easily.
By Jeff L.
Brookfield, WI
Loved this vest for my dogs first time in the woods
October 13, 2021
I was taking my dog up to the Wisconsin north woods for the first time for him to tag along with us for some upland bird hunting. He is a smaller dog (38 pounds) and was not bread for hunting. He has a lot of energy and a strong scent drive. I wanted to keep him safe and visible. Also hoping that he would be able to be out there with us the whole time keeping him protected was important as well. Fit and function were also a key for my. I like to be able to get it on an not have to worry about it flopping around or coming loose. It performed very well and I can't wait for him to get out there more with us.
ProsI measured my dogs girth before ordering and it fit perfect. Easy to adjust and it stayed in place well while out in the woods.
Consnothing really
By updateCategoryParent
Wisco
Solid upland vest
October 6, 2021
Great fit, and very adjustable. My Brittany loves it!
By John
WI
Dog Vest
October 1, 2021
Nice vest. Easy on and off. Confident it will protect my shorthair from hidden obstacles. Easy to keep track of my solid liver dog.
By Lance
Bryan, Texas
Vest
September 28, 2021
It was exactly what we were looking for. Fits great and is durable.
By Chris
IL
Nice Vest
September 24, 2021
Very nice product.
ConsDidn't fit my dog's body conformation
By Steve
Oak Island, NC
Tough Vest
September 24, 2021
Sylmar vests hold up for years, nothing better!
ProsVery visible Tough material Easy to clean
ConsNone
By Micromiem
Oregon
Super dog!
September 17, 2021
I bought this vest for my 2 y.o. pudelpointer for upland hunting, hoping to get her more protection on her chest and belly since she doesn't have much hair there. She has wore it a couple times now. Before this vest she has always been timid to go deeper into brushy spaces. After her first venture into the bushes with this vest she's become much more brazen and gleefully charges through tall grass, corn, trailing blackberry/elderberry brambles. She had a couple rub wounds on her chest, but I'm not 100% sure they were from the vest. This is also the first vest she's had that sits properly on her, and I think this is due to it clipping on top and the wider coverage. She is 42-45lbs and the medium barely fit her (it was too big).
ProsDurability when going through pokey vegetation.
ConsDidn't quite align with the size range. Arm holes might be a bit snug for a larger weight/size dog.
By Ron E.
Arlington WA
Really good quality vest
September 9, 2021
Bought this vest for Penny our 80lb yellow lab. Fits very well and offers much needed protection for a dog with no fear. Really like this vest
ProsHeavy duty fabric High visibility Secure fasteners
ConsNone
By David
Nevada
Pop
September 1, 2021
Looking for a code pops on the mountain side other than blaze orange
By Bering
Alaska
Sturdy, yet comfortable vest
August 27, 2021
I have all sizes of this vest, to have the one the fits best available at any given time. Currently, the size M just took over from the size S on my 5 month old Deutsch Drahthaar.
By Jeff P.
Pelican Rapids, Minnesota
Excellent Dog Vest
August 24, 2021
I ordered the Sylmar Dog Vest and am very happy with the style, fit and functionality of it. My dog doesn't mind wearing it at all. His first experience with it was a 4 mile training walk with multiple retrieves in varying tough cover. He had no issues at all where the vest was concerned. I was pleasantly surprised to hear on KFAN Outdoors that both radio hosts will not go afield without first putting the SYLMAR Dog Vest on all of their dogs.
ProsFast turn around time for ordering from Gun Dog Supply. Excellent quality dog vest. Appears tough enough to prevent puncture and abrasion wounds.
ConsNothing so far.
By Josh
Mora mn
Best vest for the money
July 8, 2021
I wouldn't drop my tailgate in the fall without strapping these on! Lightweight east to use and great protection. Too many close calls with sharp sticks. Also excellent when in the raspberry bushes or burrs.
ProsSolid!
ConsA bit stiff when new but typically breaks in after a few wears and washes.
By Don
Minnesota
All-around great vest
July 6, 2021
The Sylmar Body Guard vest is: 1) bright and easy to see, 2) uses a durable fabric and protects dog, 3) cut for athletic dogs, 4) it’s easy on/off, and 5) this vest allows me to use the flag harness on dog ( the flag can go out the top of the vest). Hunting in the northwoods near the Canada border-- this vest is a must have for our dog. Visibility of dog through the timber is great!
ProsUses buckles vs zipper or velcro
By Don
Cadillac, MI
Good quality
June 29, 2021
Well made product!! I’ve used for years so I knew what I was getting!!
By MontanomanEugene
Eugene, Oregon
Cure for Chest/Belly Irritation
June 27, 2021
I started using this vest when my GSP/Labrador cross started having skin irritation from our daily retrieving drills in heavy cover. It took a minimal amount of time for her to get used to it and adjusted well to accommodate her unique frame.
By Jerry H.
Wisconsin
Body Guard Dog Vest
June 18, 2021
Seems to be a quality product. I like the way it fits and looks. Have not had the opportunity to use it hunting yet. Will update survey after the fall Bird hunting season.
By Customer
Northeast Colorado
Maggie tested Maggie approved
May 19, 2021
Good stuff!!
ProsGreat color, fits well and the print is very Legible
ConsNone
By Kevin
Michigan
Great protection
April 25, 2021
This vest is well built and provides great protection around the chest and belly area. The orange is very bright and helps me keep an eye on my shed hunting dog who is brindle and blends into the woods very well. It’s a little stiff and noisy at first but softens up a little as you break it in.
ProsBright orange Sturdy Fits well Provides chest and stomach protection.
ConsStiff Noisy
By Robin N.
Burnsville, MN
Great protective vest for hard-charging dogs
April 23, 2021
This protective vest has been very helpful for our springer spaniel, Obi. Obi has injured himself multiple times in the woods and fields near our cabin in Northern Minnesota. He would catch his skin on a tree branch or another object and tear his skin, requiring stitches. Since he has been wearing this vest, he has not injured himself. We love the color, also, as it is easier to see him in the woods.
ProsEasy on/off
ConsNone
By SteveM
WMass
Great Fit and Function
April 22, 2021
Bought the yellow one to rotate with my orange Sylmar Vest depending upon field conditions. The orange vest has held up well for three hunting seasons and I feel the dog is pretty well protected when hunting thick cover up in New England, plus I can find him on point when the bell stops!!
ProsQuality of construction and fit.
ConsDoes become less bright with hard use even when washed.
By Howard
Sutton, Massachusetts
Great Vest
April 10, 2021
Great vest. Made in America. Made of rugged material, very good stitching, looks & feels great on the dogs,(Ben Lab & Gracie Springer). Keeps both dogs protected both for visibility & underbelly cuts & scraps. I have used these vests for multiple seasons. The springer is going on the 4th season. The Lab's is new because of growth. We hunt upland, with briers, brush, thick under growth, both dogs & vests hold up well. You won't be disappointed with the Sylmar Vest or Gun Dog Supply if return is needed.
ProsMade in America, sturdy, looks & feels great on to dogs. Multiple seasons of wear with the Sylmar, highly recommended
ConsNone
By BK
Sergeant Bluff, IA
Best I have found.
April 9, 2021
These Sylmar vests cover more area than any of the others I have found. My springers run hard, and these vests definitely cut down on the number of cuts and pokes at the end of the day.
ProsCoverage area, durability.
By HeBeGeeBee
Genoa, Ohio
BestVest
March 24, 2021
Excellent quality and coverage. Had one previously for an older dog, bought another for a new pup. Always interesting to see a dog react to new vests or boots.
By Anton
New Jersey
Nice vest
March 18, 2021
Only had a chance to use this product once this season, seems to fit well .like the fact it has several straps for adjusting for different size dogs.Most likely a good idea to run your dog with it before your season starts to have time to adjust it properly .
By LMB
Northern MN
Visible Dog vest
March 18, 2021
Easy on/off, great visibility when off in woods or ahead on trail. Great purchase!
By Matt
MI
Small fits 38lb French Brittany well
February 3, 2021
I ordered a small and medium for my 10 month old French brittany thinking he may need a medium as he fills out. The small fits him well now, and there is adjustment room available as he fills out. So returning the medium.
ProsOverall quality is good, sturdy material, seems like it will last awhile.
By Robert
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Dog Vest
January 29, 2021
Excellent dog vest! Very well built and adjusts to fit the dog perfectly. Paw openings are just the right size for the dog to wear comfortably for hours at a time. Highly recommend this dog vest.
ProsGreat price, very tough material, comfortable for the dog to wear all day long, easy to adjust.
ConsNone. Works great!
By PAUL N.
New Mexico
Sylmar Vest
January 28, 2021
Fits well, softens with a wash on gentle cycle. Covers chest and belly. Dog gets excited when I take it out.
ProsFits well.
ConsA bit stiff when new, but washing on gentle cycle softens it up.
By Stewy
Pa
As described
January 26, 2021
All in all I am happy with this vest I have not used it yet but it is of much better quality than other vest I’ve bought for the same price. I expect this to perform wonderfully. It seems extremely durable. Last but not least it fits our male gsp perfectly. The size guide on the web site is 100% on.
ProsFit Perceived durability (haven't used yet) Price Sizing guide
ConsTook a little while to get Is a bit stiff but I have no doubt it will break in with use
By Dennis M.
Beecher, Illinois
Fits great
January 22, 2021
Seems well made, fits her great.
By Barry D.
South Carolina
Great protection!
January 16, 2021
Just returned home from five day hunting trip to Kansas and Sylmar Body Guard vest worked great, protecting my shorthairs belly. Quality and fit also great no problems with staying in place through out the day.
By Boyd G.
Nebraska
Best vest on market
January 13, 2021
There are other chest protectors and I have tried most of them. Others have to much room around front leg opening and will rub the front 2 tits on a female. Always come back to sylmar body guard.
ProsProtects tits, light weight and seems to mold to dog with the 3 straps
By Jason P.
Butlerville, Arkansas
Great fit and good chest protection from barbwire and thorns.
January 6, 2021
My Boykin Spaniel was getting beat up by barbwire fences and thorns/briars. She normally wears an orange vest that covers her shoulders and back. It provides good visibility, but little protection underneath where most cuts occur. This new vest provides protection and visibility.
ProsGood fit, protection, and visibility.
By Stephen
Arkansas
Quality Vest
December 31, 2020
This item is well made! It is little big for my 30 lb. Brittany and I ordered size small. I had to adjust the straps all the way in so it fit. I had to cut the excess off the straps I do recommend this American made vest Thanks Gun Dog Supply!
ProsSturdy material (Orange)
ConsJust a little big for my Brit. But works.
By Greg
Minneapolis
Quality dog vest
December 30, 2020
Very well built and offers great protection
By Bob S.
Madison Wi.
Great vest
December 29, 2020
Just what I wanted.
ProsGreat visibility
ConsMake sure it fits your dog correctly (snug)...hard to adjust in the field
By Andrew
Wyoming Michigan
Dog vest
December 25, 2020
Love it sure works good keeps the dog from getting all scratch up
ProsVery easy to get on and adjust to fit
ConsIt takes the dog a little time to get use to it
By rachel
lafayette, OR
durable vest
December 23, 2020
use our vest for upland hunting in SD. very durable and fits well
By Bert B.
Montana
Great dog vest!!!
December 23, 2020
I have purchased a number of dog vests over the years and this is the best quality and value of all of them. Easy to adjust to fit my dog and excellent quality of materials and design.
By Nate S.
Johnston, Iowa
The best dog vest on the market!
December 23, 2020
I’ve tried many vests on my three vizslas, and all but the Sylmar rubbed their ‘armpits’ (under front legs) raw. These cheaper vests did far more harm than good. This has never been the case with the Sylmar vest. I use medium vests for both my male and female vizslas. We hunt upland game (primarily pheasant) in Iowa. The vest design is of quality, and holds up in nearly all conditions. The orange color is additionally helpful for locating the dogs in taller grass. Highly recommend.
ProsFit, quality, color. Gun Dog Supply customer service is also great.
ConsMore expensive than many other vests, but deservingly so. Worth the investment.
By Customer
Belle Plaine Iowa
GREAT VEST
December 21, 2020
Great vest fit is perfect I like the way it comes up the side not only for more protection but it gives you more room to adjust . I have had others and this one is the best by far.
Prosgreat build, great fit, more protection, price is right in the ball park
Consnone
By Mike
Grapeview, WA
Protect your dogs underside and chest.
December 21, 2020
We purchased one for our Braque pointer and another for the lab, both females. Pleased with the level of protection we seen. Very good quality , I would recommend. The lab tangled with some downed barb wire this weekend and the vest helped keep the damage to a minimum! She would have been in the vet office, had she not had the vest on.
ProsTrue sizing, good quality all around and ease of getting on the dog.
ConsNone at this point.
By George
Wisconsin
Good quality
December 21, 2020
Very well made, looks like it will last. I had a cheaper vest with velcro straps that would get junk in it. These snaps are much better. Doesn't bother the dog at all and makes her much more visible to other hunters.
By Sam
Kansas
Good vest, but must have been redesigned
December 21, 2020
Vest works well, but doesn’t fit as well as one I have from about 3-4 years ago. I can only assume it was redesigned and made to fit heftier dog breeds. I ordered the same vest and size as my older one and the new one fits much looser. Still works well!
By Robert
Welcome, NC
Safety First
December 21, 2020
Deer season in NC can be a dangerous time to have your dog running through the woods, even if it is around your property line. This vest protects Remi from the briars and brush piles she finds while keeping her visible for the hunters in the woods. The blaze orange also gives me the comfort of knowing I can easily spot her on her runs. I love the fit and the easy on-and-off clips. We have used it over a month now everyday and with a quick rinse it still looks like new.
ProsWide fit range Bright color Durable
ConsA bit pricey but concluded it's worth it Straps too long but allows for wider fit range. I had to roll them up and duct tape them so they don't flap around
By Dan B.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Great vest
December 21, 2020
I have owned several different brands of vests. I own both orange and green. Easy to see, easy to put on, easy to clean. Very rugged. Protects my dog well.
ProsEasy to put on. Fits my dog well.
By Rusty O.
Southwest Missouri
Good for protection and visibility on my GSP
December 20, 2020
I have been hunting with this vest this season, and I have been pleased with the fact that my 50lb GSP has not had any rubbing or chafing. That said, the fit (M) is a bit big and gaps on the front. I purchased the vest primarily to help with briars, but I have really pleased with how it helps me keep up with your in the tall grass when hunting pheasants. Overall, good vest and worth the money.
Pros- durability - visibility - easy to get on
Cons- fit
By Tracy K.
OK
good vest
December 20, 2020
Good vest I can see my dog better. Only comment is be aware of the buckles across the back and barbed wired my dog got hung up on a fence first day she had it on. She has since figured it out and likes wearing it.
By Dkn
Idaho
Good protection for your dog
December 20, 2020
This vest does a great job to protect the under side of my brittany. The only thing I would change is to add some kind of fleece or softer material the the high friction points because it really irritated my dog's skin. It did very very well at protecting my dog's underside. May work better on harrier dogs.
ProsWell built, great protection Fits as measured
ConsRubs sores on skin Things get stuck between vest and dogs skin and cause irritation
By Matt
PA
So far so good
December 20, 2020
The landscape in Pa is rough, bird hunting is rough as well....needed a hard working vest for a hard working dog from a hard working company
ProsSeems to be holding up quite nicely
ConsI ordered one size to big....but we are making it work
By Curr
Yankton, SD
Great for Goldens
December 19, 2020
I brought my Golden duck hunting and there were a ton of cockle burrs around us she was covered with them. I was going pheasant hunting the next week and new I had to get something. I bought one for my golden and for my lab. It really helped with their bellies being rubbed raw to. They worked great and they really didn’t mind them at all. Great product!
By Tom S.
Cincinnati, OH
Solid Vest!
December 19, 2020
Works perfect for my Wirehaired Pointing Griffon. Added bonus is week seed protection making it much easy to brush my dogs out after our hunts.
ProsSimple Lightweight Durable
ConsSlightly loose around the upper chest
By Matt
MI
Works perfectly
December 19, 2020
After my Field Cocker took a few minor nicks and abrasions on our first hunt together I picked up this vest. It works great. Did a quick "get used to it" session in the yard and off we went. Easy on, easy off. Easy to clean. She runs great with it, acts completely the same and she doesn't get scratched up grouse hunting.
By Les
New stanton pa
Good vest
December 19, 2020
English cocker has outgrown xs vest and replaced with a small vest. It has protected her well for 2 years and is still in great shape. Highly recommend.
ProsChest protecttion
ConsStraps collects burrs.
By John
Klingville, MI
Good fit and visible.
December 19, 2020
This is the 2nd one I purchased. The first one lasted about a year. Although I don't hunt my dog a lot, she wears a vest often around our farm, for visibility and chest protection. The old one was pretty faded due to use and after one of the snaps pulling loose on a bird hunt this fall, the old vest was peeled off later in the hunt and lost. The large fits my 65-lb draht perfectly and has adjustment capacity to fill out if needed (she is on the lean side). The new one is highly visible. The minor stiffness of the new fabric causes a little chafing still, but it is more of a post-hunt issue and does not hinder her during the hunt. In addition to visibility and chest protection, it provides the dog "handles" for things like vet visits. Other than the strap failure on the first one (again, after a year of usage), I like everything about the vest, and so does the dog. She knows when it gets pulled out that she is going to run some woods and fields, maybe even hunt. Picture shows the new one and the old one from this past summer and fall, just before replacing it.
ProsFabric seems protective High visibility Very good fit
ConsDurability is probably about a year or so, as such the price is significant. Will fade with use. It will likely be well faded before straps give out.
By Marty
Verona, WI
Worth it!!
December 18, 2020
This is a great product! Well priced. Made very well! I needed an extra dog bodyguard jacket for an upcoming hunt in another state. This product was extremely easy to get on and off and did not slow my dog down whatsoever. The high visibility color was excellent and protected my dogs underbelly when hunting very thick grass and other nasty terrain. I ended up running into another hunter in that state I went to who’s dog had the exact same jacket so I thought to myself that was pretty cool! True story!
ProsEase-of-use, great visibility, very well-made, fit dog great, well made!
ConsCan't think of any. Just make sure to follow the measurement guidelines.
By Sue
Morrison, Illinois
Great protection
December 17, 2020
Use this on my hard running GWP. Offers great protection and still allows movement. She gets very excited when I pull out her vest as she knows what it means.
ProsLong lasting, durable even with washing
By Mike
Iow
Sylmar vest
December 13, 2020
Durable vest that protects the dogs chest. Use it on my female springer with no issues.
ProsDurable Highly visable Easy to put on
ConsHard to keep clean Stains easily Needs to be longer
By Tim S.
Shakopee, MN
BUY IT
December 11, 2020
The dog vests I was finding in retail stores were all such garbage so finally I talked to my cousin who has a hunting dog and he recommended the Gun Dog Supply vest. I wanted something to help other hunters and me see my dog more clearly in the field and something that would protect her chest from possible injury. A friend of mine actually lost a dog from it getting stabbed in the chest by a sharp stick while hunting. I bought the medium for my small, slim red lab and it fits her great. She's about 52 pounds. I can't tell you how awesome it is to feel like she is protected in the field and I feel like she actually likes putting it on, kind of like her game day uniform. Anyway, I'd highly suggest that you buy this vest. It's a superior gun dog product.
ProsAdjustable, visable, protective, comfortable
ConsThe 3 straps on the top don't need to be so long.
By Jonah
Oregon
Better than most
December 9, 2020
I got this vest for my bordercollie/golden retriever mix. I bought a large anticipating he would grow more, however he topped out pretty small. The nice thing was all I had to do was cut the straps shorter. It fits him great, helps keep burrs out of his fur and allows me to see him at distance. We bird hunt and shed hunt and it comes in handy especially through thick brush. The labrador has a different vest I bought from a pet store and it has not held up nearly as well as the Sylmar dog vest. Hers will be upgraded to one of these when it fully wears out.
ProsLight, quiet, visible
By Customer
Boston
Decent
November 22, 2020
I’ve tried many vests ..... none of them fit well. This one I had to cut it up to fit. I gave it 2 stars because belly protection is good.
By Louis
Hudson, zNy
Indispensable
November 21, 2020
Important item to protect your hard working dog in thick cover. This vest takes a beating and saves todos one in exchange. Also excellent to spray it with permethrin on exterior side to protect your dog from tics. I won’t hunt my dog without one
ProsSturdy and highly visible Easy to put on and take off Well tolerated by dog
ConsNone
By Pete
Magnolia, TX
Very tough and protects belly, but chafes my labs elbows badly.
November 20, 2020
Tough as nails. Maybe too tough. Great protection but badly chafes my lab after only a half day of use so cannot use on upland trips. Have tried on 2019 trip and on recent 2020 trip. May be good for different build of dog.
ProsProtects underside of dog well. Easy dry and clean up. Tough as nails
ConsChafes dogs elbows
By Devan s.
Iowa
Great vest for my gsp's
November 17, 2020
Love the fit and the durability. Great for all day hunts in thick nasty brush. Also very nice for keeping my dog visible when hunting in large groups or thick cover! Does rub slightly on the inside of the front legs but after a few hunts they callus up.
ProsVisibility. Durable. Fit.
ConsOrange fades a little after a couple seasons. And little rubbing on front legs.
By Nate
Edwardsville, KS
Great product and great service
November 13, 2020
I've only used it once so far, but this is a great product. It is well made. I ordered the wrong size initially, but Gun Dog Supply swapped it out for the correct size with no issues. I would caution you to measure carefully. I didn't get a great measurement on my Shorthair's chest, but he weighs 60 pounds so I ordered the large. It turns out that he needed a medium. My one critique would be to suggest that the belly strap be attached lower on the vest. My GSP is skinny in this area and the strap is still a touch loose when fully tightened.
ProsWell built Heavy duty straps and buckles
Consbelly strap location
By John F.
Bay City Michigan
Built For The Uplands
November 12, 2020
This is my 2nd Sylmar vest. My first one was 20 years old and still had the original straps and buckles! It had some tears in it from years of hard use and was faded. This new vest seems every bit as good and should last just as long. Plus, it is bright and I can see it in the thick brush.
ProsGood material, easy to put on and take off.
ConsI really don't have any cons. I wash them by hand with a small amount of laundry detergent when they are new to soften the material and get some of the fresh coloring out.
By Mike
North Carolina.
Vest
November 11, 2020
Very pleased.
ProsGood quality
ConsNone
By Gary H.
Kansas
Great vest, great quality
November 11, 2020
ordered this vest years ago for my upland lab. She has since died and it now belongs to my new upland lab. Not a single rip or tear anywhere, i was a little skeptical about the plastic buckles holding up in harsh Kansas conditions, but they're good thick plastic and have held up for years now with no problems. A few frayed edges and stuff on the vest here and there but that's it!! Its nice cordura material so it keeps the burs, thorns, and sharp grasses from hurting my dog. Will never use a different vest, if anything ever happens to this one, i'll immediately purchase another just like it.
ProsGreat quality and longevity
ConsFront leg holes sometimes rub on the dogs legs and give them raw spots after long days in the field.
By Ron
Montana
Well Made
October 17, 2020
The vest is well made. Our dog, however, was right on the boundary between the medium and large size. We ordered the large and and it was a bit big for him. We used it for a recent pheasant hunt in very brushy habitat and it did a great job of keeping the burrs off the dog and with the exception of one seam that started to pull loose it held up well. Since the vest was a bit too big, it did cause some significant rubbing and irritation with hair loss on both the front legs. My wife had ordered the medium size before we left on the hunting trip to see if it would fit better, but it did not arrive before we left (it was ordered late, so it wasn't a surprise). We tried it on the dog when we got home and it was actually too small and would likely cause rubbing as well. I don't think the problem is with the vest, it is the fact that our dog is right on the bubble between the sizes. We sent the medium vest back and will try to adapt the large one to make it fit better.
ProsWell made and tough. It provides good visibility in heavy cover. Made in the USA.
ConsDoesn't quite fit a dog that's in between sizes.
By Charles H.
PA
Meets or exceeds my needs/expectations
October 16, 2020
Very good quality and easy to adjust. My Lab got used to wearing it very quickly! I would buy it again and recommend it to others.
By Billy
Washington
Fits nicely on my brittney!
October 7, 2020
Ginger put it right on and had no problem wearing it. Didn’t hinder her in anyway. All she needs now is pheasant season to start!
By Grant
Northern MN
Amazing
October 4, 2020
This is by far one of the best vests I have found for my dogs. Big box companies charge double the price for a lower quality vest. I highly recommend this to anyone wanting to protect your dogs underside and keep them visable.
ProsVery Durable
By MN H.
Minnesota
Great vest for protection in warmer weather
October 1, 2020
Fits my Lab well. Great protection that won't overheat my dog. Both my dad & I use these on our dogs while pheasant, grouse & rabbit hunting
ProsLightweight
ConsNone
By Randy
West Central Illinois
Fits like a glove
September 28, 2020
I got the small & it fits my 5 month old 30 lbs GSP pup perfectly, with plenty of strap left to grow into it.
ProsFits well and looks good. Seems like durable fabric. And best of all, it is made in America.
ConsN/A
By John E.
Massachusetts
Highly visible and protective-good value
September 25, 2020
I bought this vest for my Drahthaar. I wanted a light weight, highly visible vest that would also protect her from the the large variety of thorny flora where we train daily. We hunt in the fall in New England's thick backcountry where bird hunting season overlaps with big game seasons and coyote hunting. I looked at a number of vests from various suppliers. I called Gun Dog Supply support and we discussed requirements. This USA-made vest best fit my requirements at a reasonable price. It's very well made, bright orange up the sides and has a double "skid" plate for extra protection at chest and underside. Easy on and easy off. It broke in quickly without chaffing and my Drahthaar doesn't know its there. I bought based on chest measurement and not weight and it fits perfectly with room to grow. For me it is a great value. Highly recommend.
ProsHighly visible with bright blaze up dog's sides. Great visibility at dawn and dusk. Double layer skid plate at vulnerable chest and underside. Sheds thorns with ease. Easy on, easy off Plenty of adjustment with strap configuration. Broke in quickly without chaffing or discomfort.
ConsIn high heat, the coverage could be a concern.
By John
Vermont
Quality product
September 24, 2020
Nice fit and finish. Size large fit my 62 pound GSP well.
ProsFit, visibility and coverage.
By Neal S.
Caribou, Maine
Great so far!
September 23, 2020
Been using for over a week on our 5 month, went with a size small based on the chart and is spot on. I actually upsized it slightly in anticipation of her growing and still works great. She doesn’t mind wearing it, not nearly as stiff as other reviewers indicated, completely satisfied.
ProsQuality
ConsNone
By Jay
Brockway, PA
Best vest out there!
September 23, 2020
I have owned 3 of these vests. They work great protecting my dogs' chests and keeping them visible in the brush. I've never had any issues with it chafing my dogs' skin and it stays put once on! Highly recommend!
By Customer
Lake geneva wi
good
September 15, 2020
Great protection and visibility with this vest !
By Pete
Tri-Cities, TN
serves the purpose of higher viz and chest protection
September 14, 2020
I bought this vest for my 2 year old 58 lb female Golden in preparation for taking her quail and pheasant hunting this fall. Per the advice in other comments, I vigorously hand-washed the vest four times in Sport Wash and liquid fabric softener which did result in making it softer and bleeding out quite a bit of orange dye. My Golden didn't like wearing the vest the first time but has gotten used to it after several training sessions. The front leg holes do seem to hinder her movement a little but she can run OK while wearing the vest. Perhaps enlarging or elongating the leg openings a bit would help.
Pros* provides chest protection * increases visibility which should make it safer for the dog while afield * easy to put on the dog and adjust fit * quick release buckles * lightweight
Cons* leg openings are a little restrictive (but the dog has adjusted to them) * the vest design is a little long for my dog but softening the vest has allowed it to fold forward for a more comfortable fit
By Douglas P.
KS
Seems durable
September 4, 2020
I havent had a chance to use it in the field yet, but it fits well and looks like it will take some tough use.
By Zeket
Pa.
Pretty good vest for the money.
September 2, 2020
I have had one of these on my beagle for a couple years and it seems to hold up well to thorns, etc. It doesn't seem to rub the dogs legs (if you choose the right size for your dog.)
ProsDurable Great Visibility Easy on and off
ConsGets dirty easy and needs cleaned often. I have tried scotch guard but dirt still sticks to it.
By Matt
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 19, 2018
Sizing chart is accurate, very durable and works great protecting the dog in the woods or in the field
By John H.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 15, 2018
Great fit, easy to get on/off, wears nicely in tough conditions to prevent injury and wear on the dog. Only downside is that it isn't all orange and the chest/belly of the vest is black and dog isn't as visible when bouncing through thick cover. Great product.
By JOHN K.
IN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 12, 2018
By Howard W.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 12, 2018
Great vest, fits my Springer Lab nicely. This vest is well built & rugged. Protects these two rascals through brush, briars & thick underbrush, when flushing pheasants. Well Worth the money, will last for many hunting seasons. Order the vest, you won't be disappointed.
By Dale P.
OR
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 11, 2018
Love these for my Irish Setters. The size Large fit them well, with plenty of strap to make adjustments. Both dogs took to them quickly.
By Ralph S.
NJ
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 11, 2018
Works as advertised seems to be built strong and tough I think it will last throughout the long bird season at the club! 6 months of hunting 1-2 times per week.
By Phil W.
KS
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 11, 2018
By Stephen
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 11, 2018
Actually the Dog liked it from the start. No issues wearing it.
By Chris
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 1, 2017
The vest fits perfectly on my springer (55lbs), and he didn't mind it a bit. Shipping was lightning fast so I am very happy all the way around.
By Anthony S.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 20, 2016
Fits like a glove, with no chafing.
By Arnold O.
WI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Vest -- Yellow
November 20, 2016
Size recommended by weight was accurate.
By David B.
WI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 18, 2016
Fits great and great protection on long hunts.
By Alvin B.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 12, 2016
Fit great, allows dog to slip through cover easier, gives me a little more peace of mind for dogs safety.
By JAMES C.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 12, 2016
My black lab is small for the breed at 50 lbs. Pheasant hunting in cover presents issues with visibility to other hunters and this vest is wonderful. Not only is it visible to hunters it also protects her stomach and chest from getting raw hunting in heavy cover. If you love your dog this is highly recommended.
By Rick H.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 9, 2016
The vest is great its hard to found a vest for a pointer that doesn't rub or pinch them. I recommend the product and I highly recommend Gun Dog Supply.
By Diana B.
CT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 6, 2016
This was the third vest we bought and this one was the keeper!
By Mark C.
ID
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 4, 2016
She really didn't like it at first when I put it on her, but she's gotten used to it, and it really does help protect her. And the bright orange color does help me keep track of her. I may have to get the one with legs though, because she still gets pretty scratched up on the fronts of her legs.
By Jamie K.
WI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Vest -- Yellow
October 31, 2016
Got here quick. Very durable product that held up well in the grouse woods.
By James G.
CA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 31, 2016
These vests are a great weight and breathable. My dogs were getting overheated when they worked in their old vests that did not allow air flow.
By Hiker 9.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 17, 2016
The vest is lightweight and my dog wears it well. I ordered a medium and the straps were too long so I cut them off and taped the new ends. The medium covers farther up on his sides. A small would not have worked as well. It's easy to put on. With all our stickers here in North TX this year, it has really cut down on my time to remove them. Works good.
By Ann F.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 17, 2016
I have just started to use the vest and it has protected their coat from collecting twigs ferns.
By Patrick C.
QC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 15, 2016
Good quality, the vest fit perfectly!
By Johan B.
NH
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 14, 2016
The vest is very durable. Which shows the quality of the workmanship put into it. The only problem I see with it is the buckles. My dogs work some really thick stuff to get at the birds. I have noticed them get hung up in the brush. Causing them to have to back up to unhook themselves. They are adjusting their hunting style to compensate for the vest. All in all the dogs end the day with a lot less cuts and scrapes. So it's worth the trade off.
By Craig W.
IL
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 12, 2016
This is my third one of these vests. I bought the first one 15 years ago for my first dog. I go on two weekend grouse hunting trips per year and the vest lasted the dog's whole life. I had to purchase a second one for my second dog 12 years ago because she was bigger. And this one is for my third dog because she was bigger still. I should try to get the right sized dog, because the original vest is a little ragged but still in good shape and would still protect the dog. I also like the vest because it is light weight and provides high visibility in the woods, protection from sticks and branches, and doesn't overheat the dog. Even when we go in January, this is the vest I use. The dog never seems cold while running through the woods all day. I recommend the vest.
By Phill M.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 12, 2016
Awesome, it keeps her from getting cut up! The best thing is, she loves wearing it!!!
By Scot S.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 4, 2016
Excellent product! It fits well and protects my dog from the under brush.
By Tim R.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
September 27, 2016
So far so good! No complaints.
By Karen R.
NV
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 13, 2016
Best vest I've owned for our dogs. It is sturdy, easy to put on and to adjust. The lesser quality ones in the past tend to rip on barbed wire. I like the chest and under belly protection. What I like best is the quality material used in this vest. Our dogs like to crawl under barbed wire fences and often the lesser vests rip/tear, but not this one. It is well worth the money to buy a quality vest like this!
By Lisa D.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
June 26, 2016
All I hoped for and more!!
By Alain P.
QC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 12, 2016
Good protection in dense field. Dog moves easily with it.
By Tyler F.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
March 28, 2016
Great quality and easy to fit.
By Allan L.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
March 3, 2016
This vest is easy to put on and take off the dog. Very durable compared to others we have tried. Our dog had an injury to her chest and this vest does a great job of protecting that area from further injury.
By Patricia B.
MO
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
March 3, 2016
The vest is sturdy and easy to put on. I would definitely buy another one.
By Paul E.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
February 29, 2016
The chest portion is too wide at the top. It does not breath so he sweats a lot on his lower chest area. It does provide good protection. No cuts from barbed wire.
By Stephen L.
OH
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
February 16, 2016
A small vest is hard to find. The fit was just right, it stays on her very well when she is hunting. Good stuff!!
By Kevin J.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Vest -- Yellow
February 15, 2016
The vest fits perfectly with plenty of space on the front latch in order to mount a Gopro camera, good construction to protect his chest while flushing Pheasant and Chucker in heavy cover. I got the Yellow/ Tan due to the other Cockers having the orange/ black, now I can tell who's pup is doing all the work.
By Larry W.
SC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
February 12, 2016
Great service by Gun Dog Supply.
By Edward A.
TX
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
February 11, 2016
Ordered size small for my 34lb boykin and it fit great. Easy to locate her running in the field and through the brush. Does a good job of protecting her from thorns. Would purchase again! I have ordered numerous items from Gun Dog Supply and have always been impressed with their products/selection/service.
By Bruce D.
VI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
February 4, 2016
A great vest! Good materials and good fit. I can pick my dog up with it! I use it around floribunda and briars so she doesn't get shy of going in hard. The sizing chart is a little tricky to use. My dog is 22 inches around the chest. I went for Extra Small because of that measurement and had to exchange it for a Small to get good body coverage. That size was correct on the chart according to her weight. Spaniels are on the small end of sporting dog world and their proportions are different from the larger dogs, so take care.
By Mike Y.
GA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
February 3, 2016
The buckles should be like a collar instead of plastic, and should also have velcro along the seam.
By Jesse B.
TN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 27, 2016
Great product. Fits my dog perfectly. Gives great protection and does not conflict with my dog. He likes to wear it, gets excited.
By Dustin L.
TX
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 7, 2016
The vest has been fantastic in protecting my dog in the Cactus and briars found all over Texas. The service from gun dog has been exceptional as well!
By Arion V.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 7, 2016
This is a great dog vest and has saved my LM from multiple barbed wire incidents. I would highly recommend this to others. It is easy to put on her and the orange sides are great to help see her in tall North Dakota prairie grasses.
By Steve S.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 4, 2016
The order was shipped quickly, and I received the vest very fast. I will order dog supplies in the future because it was fast and easy.
By Jeff S.
UT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 1, 2016
It's good. I do like it, but the reason it is not excellent is the buckle gets snagged on branches in the thick stuff.
By VICKY M.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 27, 2015
It would be nice if it was all orange.
By Brian M.
MT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 27, 2015
I have a lot of fences that I have to cross, and the buckles catch when she goes under the fence sometimes. Other than that I like the vest a lot.
By Robert N.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 22, 2015
Just received the vest. I needed to return the small in exchange for a medium, but the new one fits great.
By Michael M.
NC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 21, 2015
Fits great, and now my dog gets excited when he sees it because he knows he is going hunting.
By John W.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 18, 2015
The Sylmar body guard dog vest is by far the best vest I've had. The protection it provides for my dogs and high visibility surpasses any of those I had before. Very durable and cleans up easily. Easy to put on and very easy to take off with clips. I highly recommend it.
By Neil K.
ND
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 17, 2015
Got it to protect my dog after he got stitches on the side of his brisket. Fits and works great and will prevent further injuries for sure.
By Angela Z.
OR
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 17, 2015
Fits my dogs perfectly, and they both love the vest!
By JOSEPH W.
AK
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 27, 2015
High visibility. Protected Molly's core from burs and seed pods. Will check it out on cactus in a week.
By Myron S.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 10, 2015
However, I need to send it back and get a bigger size.
By Mary W.
NE
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 9, 2015
Ordered a large which fits perfectly right now, as our dog is only 10 mos old and still filling out. There is some room to grow into. I read some reviews where the complaint was front drooped open a bit and scooped up dirt and brush. We did not have that issue. I'm thrilled that we now can see him through the tall grass.
By Bruce W.
MO
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 9, 2015
It fits and works reasonably well. It would work better on my dog particularly if she had heavier coat. She is thinly haired and the vest will chafe her some on hunts more than a couple of hours long, but that is her, not the vest.
By Don L.
NE
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 8, 2015
It had a large tear within the first hour on a barbed wire fence. But it fits good. I got it patched up, and we are good to go. There is no tougher test than a good hunting dog on opening weekend!
By James S.
NC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 2, 2015
Steve, My male wirehaired had an encounter with a nutria, the nutria ultimately lost, but not before leaving 14 stitches in our males front shoulder. The vest worked great for keeping the wound protected, and I will continue letting both of my dogs wear this vest throughout the hunting season. Great fit and apparently comfortable to the dogs as neither seem to even notice it. Eddie Stocks, Madoc Farms, Tarboro, NC
By Tim C.
WI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 1, 2015
LOVE IT!!!!!! Very durable.
By William K.
OH
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 25, 2015
Just got back from hunting Grouse and Woodcock in Michigan for a week. Vest did it's job protecting my dog, plus great visibility.
By Scott G.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 23, 2015
I really like these vests. We have been hunting the thick brush with a lot of thorns and thickets. The vest are sturdy and have great visibility. They are easy to put on and adjustable.
By Rebecca J.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 22, 2015
Stood up well to fences, brush and wetlands (gumbo mud) in SD. Tossed into washer on gentle cycle with Tide and look new. Fit well, and dogs weren't restricted by them. Excellent product!
By Stephen G.
IL
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 19, 2015
These vests are by far the best for protecting a dog while hunting, and they can handle years of use without tearing to pieces. The different colors available allow me to easily identify the dogs in the field.
By Steve
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 15, 2015
Took my German Shorthaired Pointer about 2 minutes to get used to. It fit perfect. Easy to see in the field.
By Laura T.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 14, 2015
Fits great. It's hard to find things for a hard running 28lb dog. He doesn't even notice it is on really. We did start with it in the mowed back yard playing fetch and doing agility exercises before we went in the field. Lots fewer scrapes and burrs. It does need a bit of breaking in as the instructions state.
By Heidi S.
NJ
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 12, 2015
My Vizsla female runs hard in the field, and this vest protects her chest and undercarriage from scrapes and scratches. Love it.
By Mark K.
IA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 11, 2015
Best vest on the market.
By Dean W.
VT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 30, 2015
Fits great.
By David C.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 22, 2015
Good protection, easy to apply, good visibility, lightweight and allows dog to be cool.
By Jeff E.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 19, 2015
Sizing was easy. Vest good construction. Gets softer with use. Use it with the dog early, so it gets used to it. Very good product. Thanks Steve.
By Robert K.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 6, 2015
I can't comment on the Sylmar vest without commenting on its predecessor, the Skid Plate. I bought the SkidPlate a year ago for my young dog and in one of her first hunts she was badly injured. She impaled herself on a fallen branch and severed a pectoral muscle. She was laid up for part of September and all of October. I believe that the scoop neck of the vest guided the branch into the dog and prevented it from slipping off the dog. I modified the vest by sewing a piece of canvas across the front and had no problems for the remainder of the season. The Skid Plate's coverage was also a little sparse across the chest and belly. The Sylmar has better coverage in those areas but also has a scoop in the neckline that could cause the same problem I had with the Skid Plate. I sewed a tuck in the upper front to lessen it. It is also slightly harder to put on the dog.because of the leg holes. I think both products need to be improved before I would feel comfortable using them.
By Peggy P.
CA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 13, 2015
Love the vest, and it fits great.
By PAUL L.
NY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 7, 2015
After other Chinese vests, this is superior.
By Bill Y.
WI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
March 30, 2015
After losing 10 days of shed hunting due to a barb wire injury, and $350 due to surgical stitching, vast is perfect. Easy to put on, durable, and exceptionally visible. I should have spent the money on the front end! Shipping was fast, inexpensive, and the customer service was fantastic.
By Cathy C.
AZ
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
March 17, 2015
This is one of few dog vests that protects the upper chest area of our dog. Great product!
By Grigor F.
HI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
March 16, 2015
Fits well, and looks sturdy and comfortable (he hasn't complained). It seems that it will keep him from getting hurt most of the time from a boar, and that's all I can hope for.
By Thomas M.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 28, 2015
Fits great and durable.
By James V.
TX
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 27, 2015
Best place to buy for products, price and superior shipping.
By Joshua L.
WA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 21, 2015
Vest doesn't seem to slow him down one bit. The fit is great, and the material seems to be tough.
By JWG
CT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 17, 2015
Order a size larger than the chart indicates. It would be nice if it were a bit longer to protect more of the back end of the dog.
By David S.
VT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 11, 2015
Great. I feel more comfortable watching him run thru the woods. The only modification I will make is adding Velcro at the top of the front chest. It looks like a scoop and could cause trouble. The Velcro should work, but it cannot be the glue on type need to sew on. Other than that it is great and love the service. My dog is a field type and has large chest small waist; used a medium.
By Jeffrey S.
IL
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 4, 2015
Helps protect my dog, and it never slowed him down. It is very durable.
By William G.
TX
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 3, 2015
Fits good and protects from thorns and briars. Best vest I have found.
By Rifle M.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 3, 2015
Works well, but taking a while to break in. You can't hunt in it very long yet.
By Anthony G.
NY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 2, 2015
Ok, this rating is rated on the use of the vest on my dog. I have a beagle we run rabbits with, was tired of picking thorns so I tried this vest. The material holds up to the briars and thorns, however, being that my beagle is running in and under bushes she seemed to get hung up a lot on the straps and buckles at the top, in doing so she would pull to get out and on 2 occasions pulled her leg inside the vest and had to limp back to me on 3 legs. Also she had a lot of chaffing in the pits of her arms and front of legs. It's like wearing a wool sweater on a run with no undershirt. I will probably cut the material up and make my own vest for her.
By Danielle C.
CA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 30, 2014
I purchased this for high-visibility in the field. Good fit for my little Brittany. She is 25 lbs and fits the X-Small.
By Ron C.
TX
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 30, 2014
I thought it would pick up light and glow in the dark. Like safety vests.
By Joe D.
WARSAW
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 28, 2014
Perfect fit, lightweight, and built well. Dog didn't like it at first, but is great with it now.
By Adrian G.
NJ
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 21, 2014
This vest has good adjustability and is sized as stated. While it did reduced the number of large scrapes and cuts on my dogs underside, it does chafe my dogs underside and armpits pretty badly. The material is very strong and rip proof, but I think it would chaff less if it was a softer material. At least in the inside and armpits.
By Bruce W.
MO
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 16, 2014
Sadie took only a few minutes to adjust to wearing it. She's only 9 months old. It does a terrific job of enhancing her visibility and shedding the briars and old fences that she encounters. Too bad there's not one for her tail feathers! At least her front and sides are protected, which is about as good as can be and still have the mobility needed to be a field dog. She's had no rashes even though she is lightly haired around the leg openings.
By Laura
NY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 14, 2014
My dog loves to run through brambles and briars, and her chest and belly were all scratched to pieces. One day she ran into a sharp stick and impaled herself, needing a trip to the emergency clinic to get stitched up. This never would have happened if she were wearing this vest. The material is tough, and the buckles stay closed, so she can't lose the vest in the woods. It fits great, and she doesn't seem to mind having it on. Plus the blaze orange is visible from a long way off. It couldn't be better.
By David
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 6, 2014
Great Quality, Held up well in the thick thorny hedges we have here in this part of PA. It could use a little trim from his leg holes up to the first strap and he is a larger "American" not "English" lab about 88 muscular lbs. I got the XL and I think the L would be to small because it fits perfect in other areas. the only complaint the dog has is he said it makes him look fat ;)
By STEVE
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 5, 2014
Perfect fit and protection.
By Dennis B.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 4, 2014
Excellent product for protection in the field and apparently as well as in the lake, as he jumped in! Extremely well made and made in the USA.
By Kevin B.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 1, 2014
Good material, fits well.
By Ray F.
WY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 28, 2014
Works good. Had a smaller size from another dog and bought a larger size to better fit the present dog. Great for visibility and protects the dogs chest and belly from stubble and cockle burrs.
By Cory F.
KS
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 28, 2014
Prefect for hunting brush , milo and corn stalks .
By Larry P.
Pa
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 25, 2014
Too noisy!!!! My dog's not used to the noise that vest makes. Maybe she'll get used to it?
By Douglas R.
NH
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 21, 2014
My setter is a highly motivated hunting dog who covers a lot of territory, regardless of cover conditions. I worry that he'll run into a sharp object. The Weims operate more methodically until a bird is shot, a which time they'll charge through rough cover to make the retrieve- thus for peace of mind and my dogs' protection I ordered these protective vests. During my career a kevlar vest deflected a bullet to my chest so I know the value of protection - my loyal dogs deserve the same protection and I'm very satisfied with these vests - they do not interfere with the dogs' running and the dogs are easy to spot in cover- particularly when they are on point. Also, I bird hunt during deer season and the Weims in particular benefit from the hunter orange.
By Bob R.
KS
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 21, 2014
Exceptional customer service!
By Adam W.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 13, 2014
A little tight around the front shoulders and elbows of my dog, but once she got used to it she does alright. I think it limits her top speed though, which is actually a good thing for me.
By FromAnna J.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 10, 2014
This is a quality vest. Definitely worth the money. Your service was excellent also. We received the vest in two days.
By Erich H.
OR
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 6, 2014
The vest is great. It's not too hot for my dog, and she hunted all day in it in moderate temps. She was much more visible in the thick stuff, and it really protected her belly. The top latches are good, but they do catch on fences when she scurries under. I am having to train her to wait at fences for help getting through.
By Anthony H.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 6, 2014
My dog is extra small, 22 lbs., and this is the first and only hunting vest that caters to her size.
By Laura T.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 6, 2014
I didn't break it in enough before he wore it all day. He rubbed some sores in his armpits a bit. That said, it fit great. He didn't notice it, and the number and severity of scrapes and burns was way down. The XS fit great. It is nice to find a protective garment that will fit a 30lb hunting dog.
By Derick W.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 3, 2014
Great vest and protects my dog well. It's a bit stiff when you first get it, but softens up over time.
By Scott V.
VT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 1, 2014
Fits my dogs very well and is well made. It's nice that it's made in the U.S. too. I have a C*****'s one for my other dog, but this one is better by far. I will probably get another for her.
By Mike C.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 30, 2014
Great vest! Fits our dog perfectly! Very pleased with Gun Dog Supply. Excellent company! Would recommend the vest and Gun Dog Supply to anyone!
By Ryan M.
NC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 25, 2014
The Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest works great. It was a perfect fit. Thank you.
By Chuck J.
CO
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 24, 2014
The Body Guard Vest worked great while pheasant hunting in Montana. We have a fancy show dog, and my wife was concerned that our fancy boy might come back scratched up after hunting. The Sylmar Body Guard Vest worked great. Our Weimaraner is ~70lbs (big chest, skinny waist), and the size large vest fit perfectly. -Chuck
By Michael G.
CO
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 14, 2014
I have one of the Sylmar vest that I purchased at least 12 years ago and it is still in use. I really like the new colors.
By Steve C.
NY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 12, 2014
An excellent vest. After a week hunting grouse in Maine, it still looks brand new. My setter is 75 pounds, and I picked him up with the straps on more than one occasion without ripping them off. Very well built.
By Bird H.
TX
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 4, 2014
Works great in briars and brush. I used one of mine to protect a chest wound to keep bandages in tact.
By J O.
UT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 3, 2014
Durable. Perfect fit. Will buy again if this one ever wears out.
By Chris D.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
September 28, 2014
Thanks for the question. I didn't know how it would fit since of the unique deep chested body of my dog. But it does fit and makes my invisible dog visible (grey ghost). Cookie just has to get used to wearing the vest. If you want, I can send a picture of her in it. Cheers
By Josh
ND
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
September 25, 2014
Fits the dog and seems very durable.
By Matt S.
MT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
September 8, 2014
I hunt areas with a lot of barb wire fence. This keeps his belly safe when he runs through a fence after a bird. It has also been effective in keeping off cockleburs and needle and thread grass.
By Charles S.
NE
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
September 6, 2014
Great vest, but it could be better by back protection. We hunt a lot of fence lines since the farmers take out all the shelter belts these days. The dogs jump through the fence a lot.
By Pam P.
BC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 29, 2014
His chest is deep, so had to get a large. Had to cut back the material (and re-trim it with soft material) in front of his sheath to prevent rubbing and irritation. Other than that, seems great. Will be using it soon for grouse season.
By Jason F.
WI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 18, 2014
I bought a vest in size large for my 2 year, 62 lb lab. The vest fits and looks great, but the leg opening are way too small. The dog trots when she wears it because the leg opening are too restrictive. If you want your dog to run while wearing this vest you'll need to cut the leg openings so the dogs legs can have full movement. You would think the manufacturer could figure this out??
By Steven G.
NJ
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
June 13, 2014
Not purchased for hunting... We needed something bright and light for the summer months. Our pet is grey, and we cannot see him when he ventures out into the back yard. This jacket is perfect for our needs.
By Christine L.
WA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 7, 2014
I bought the vest for my young, rambunctious GWP to wear when he accompanies me mountain biking here in the woods of the Pacific Northwest. My vet and I were both worried he would impale himself on a branch or stick as he tears wildly through the brush. This vest is perfect, fits well, and he doesn't seem to mind it. It gives me peace of mind knowing he is wearing himself out in a fairly safe manner. Thanks!
By Matt K.
OH
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 5, 2014
Heavy duty. Fits well (purchased a medium for my 50 lbs Vizsla), and cleans up nicely. The material is quite stiff when new, but loosens up a bit after washing a few times. I'd like an even lighter version when the temperatures get warmer. This one is a bit too heavy for summer time.
By Mark C.
NY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 2, 2014
This is an excellent vest to protect your dog in the brush. It covers neck, chest, and sides. The fabric is tough, and the vest is well made.
By Julie R.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 1, 2014
Prior to purchasing the Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest, our GSP acquired a nasty laceration on her chest while out in the field. We used the Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest to protect her injury while it healed, prevent her from licking or scratching it, and look forward to continued use out in the field to prevent any other injuries. It is very easy to put on and take off, especially with a high-energy, excitable dog and breathable for warmer temperatures. Very pleased with this product.
By Kathy P.
IL
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 19, 2014
We have purchased a variety of hunting vests in the past. They didn't last long and didn't protect the way the Body Guard Dog Vest does. This is the end of pheasant season here, and the vests look like new. For the first time the Setters and Wirehaired actually still have hair on there chests and aren't torn up. Highly recommend this vest.
By Lynne W.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 15, 2014
The vest provides great protection to the dog when he is in the thick cover, and also allows me to keep track of him. Material is easy to keep clean.
By Gerald W.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 14, 2014
My dog loves it. He thinks he is one of the hunting guys when he wears florescent orange. :)
By Colin M.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 13, 2014
My dog gets cut up on a regular basis in the heavy brush of upland hunting. The vest I had on her this season was a "hand-me-down" from a previous, but much heavier Irish Setter. This vest worked for him and now is working for her in reducing the seriousness of these cuts and scratches. The vest I purchased this Christmas fits my new young lady perfectly. On top of all this it makes her "visible" to other hunters. For safety, health and peace of mind I'd recommend this tough little vest.
By Mike
VA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 10, 2014
Bought for 10 month old GSP. First 10 minutes, she tried to figure out how to get it off. After that she layed around in it and wore it for about an hour. Fits great and really helps to see her in heavy cover and protect her chest and underbelly from briers.
By David D.
SC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 8, 2014
Lightweight but tough. Did not bother dog at all. And cut down on briars and burrs. Very happy with the product.
By Denise S.
GA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 8, 2014
Love it, and the customer service was outstanding.
By Edward H.
ND
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 4, 2014
Construction design makes a lot more sense. It covers the full under belly and chest. The material is much heavier than some of the inexpensive vests. I haven't gotten a chance to try it out in the field yet, but I'm convinced that it will be excellent.
By Edward C.
WA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 27, 2013
My 7 month old German Shorthair tore a 4 inch gash in her chest while hunting in the brush. I bought the Sylmar body guard vest to protect her underside. It has worked great. Plus the orange color makes her much more visible. The straps on the back make good handles for lifting her over a fence. The only problem I've had is the straps on the back getting hooked on barbed wire.
By Allan W.
NY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 24, 2013
Made well and in the USA...XL fits the chest ...but too long .
By Christine P.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 17, 2013
Quality is good. Full chest protection is good. Durable material. Fits way better than the neoprene, but still needed lots of alteration to fit. The armholes are too small, but at least it is shaped generally like a dog. Since I can't buy a insulated vest for a really big outdoors dog, I lined this one with insulated fleece. Was pretty conducive to that.
By Steve
IA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 14, 2013
I've only had the vests for 2 weeks so I can't say how they hold up on the long run. The straps and buckles make the vests very adjustable. They protect the dog's throat and chest, as well as the upper portions of the front legs. They are also very visible. They are a little noisy in below freezing conditions but the dogs adjusted to them in just a few minutes.
By Juliana V.
CA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 13, 2013
This vest is very noisy when the dog moves, and it rubs her elbows. It scared her so much to wear it that she was trembling. After about 5 minutes of wearing it, I took it off. I need something that won't rub her elbows, is quiet, and perhaps somewhat stretchy so it fits better.
By Douglas H.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 9, 2013
Great vest! Very durable materials with large, sturdy buckles. Holds up to the elements. The vest is a little tight in the chest but my lab is heavily built in the front. The buckles just needed to be loosened a little. Over all I well made product
By Kelli Y.
IA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 2, 2013
Works great! It was hard for us to find a vest small enough for our dog, and this fit him perfect! We have had no problems in the field with the vest whatsoever, and our dog doesn't mind having it on one bit. It definitely gives us peace of mind since he has cut his chest open on barbed wire previously. Thanks for making a great product available for the smaller dogs!
By Ronald K.
CO
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 27, 2013
Just field tested on my black lab on a 3 day pheasant hunt in South Dakota. It did rub his front legs pretty good. It may be that I need to adjust the straps better. Overall it is a really good product and protects well. Just need to figure out why it is rubbing his legs.
By Jim J.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 26, 2013
Great product. I have 2 EP, and hunt some really thick brush early in the year. Kept their belly from getting raw and scratched up by running through the tall weeds. I also have a GWP. Bought one for him and really helped out with the cockle-burs from sticking to him. And great for visibility. Great buy for the money.
By Mark B.
OH
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 26, 2013
Excellent product. Fits and protects my Brittany well. Does not pull up or bunch when used in heavy cover. Beats pulling burs and stickers for hours after the hunt.
By William S.
OH
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 26, 2013
After two hunts with this vest I do believe it is indestructible. The length and fit around the chest are the best of any vest i have seen. But I should have gone with my first thoughts and bought the vest with the sleeves. The leg openings are so big that after a days hunt my dog has no hair left on his chest where exposed. I have ordered the Cordura material and found myself trying to sew a pair of sleeves for the remainder of our Pheasant season.
By Gene H.
KS
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 25, 2013
This vest did the two things I was hoping for. It protected the dog's underside and made him highlly visible in the field. Thanks for sending this item so quickly. Gene
By William K.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 22, 2013
Very well made and adjustable fit. This vest would have prevented the significant injury to my GSP had he'd been wearing one. A Must have. I have used other types of vests, and this is the best for protection and fit. No risk of it coming off of a short tailed dog, like other designs I have used.
By JOHN C.
NY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 21, 2013
Very happy with this vest. Once Gaby got use to it, she was able to move just as freely as before. The double lining on the chest is a great idea. Well designed product.
By Walt B.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 21, 2013
Very good. Tough. I have to modify it a bit so it doesn't chafe my dog's shoulders.
By Cody P.
KS
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 20, 2013
This thing works great. It will not fold down in the middle like other vests.
By Tom I.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 18, 2013
Vest works great. Doesn't irritate the dog or make her too hot. And beside protection from sharp objects, the blaze orange helps everyone to be able to locate the dog.
By Nick C.
KS
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 17, 2013
Great product! Fit great. Was just what was advertised!
By Scott J.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 15, 2013
Got the vest in mail. SUPER FAST shipping. Great heavy duty protective vest, and nice and bright. The staff were great to work with, and seemed to go out of their way to ensure I got what I needed. Thanks
By Tony C.
MT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 13, 2013
Works great. Love it.
By JIM Z.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 5, 2013
Made in USA. Top quality. Watched a cheaper import tear apart on the first snag. Mine still look like new.
By Jeff G.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 3, 2013
I love the vest! And I'm sure my dog would tell you the same when he gets into all the green briars and thickets. I like the bright orange. It's real easy to pick him out when hunting the taller fields of grass or off at a distance in the grouse woods. <p> The only thing that was off was the size measurements. I measured my dog and bought the correct match for his size, but it was too tight across the chest. I went to the next size up, and it was almost perfect -- no rubbing on the legs, shoulders, or belly. If I had to say one thing I don't like about it, it's across the front of his chest. It acts as a scoop for debris to collect in there. So what I will do is pinch it a little to take the belly of material out across the chest and have it sewn there for a custom fit. But I can't blame the manufacturer for that, since like people, dogs are not all the same size and build. <p> BUT the one thing that I will give a 110% satisfaction on is the customer service! When I received this item it did not fit. I made a call and sent it back. In no time I had a new one at my front door, the day before I needed it to go hunt him. I told them on the phone that I would really like to have it before the opening day of pheasant (it was 3 days away), and they did it with no extra charges!!! AWESOME. You got yourself a new customer for all my dog hunting needs for sure. <p> Thanks again Steve. You're a good man!
By Stephen V.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 29, 2013
I had to hoist all 56 pounds of her over a barbed wire fence and used the front and rear straps to do so. It worked perfectly. Both my friend and I have this vest on our dogs and we are both happy with them. PS We got our limit of pheasants in SD.
By Christopher A.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 25, 2013
Used for squirrel hunting. Also bought a smaller one for my Boston Terrier. Fits well. Does not seem to limit mobility. Highly visible.
By Kurtis F.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 25, 2013
Worked great on my thin-skinned GSH pointer in rugged South Dakota brush hunting pheasant!
By David E.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 22, 2013
Just returned from bird hunting trip in the Mid West and the vest fit was excellent for my dog and provided great protection from the brush. I have purchased this brand in the past for my dogs. This vest is very durable.
By Tyler S.
ND
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 21, 2013
Works as advertised. I have a 3-year-old and 1-year-old. Ordered mediums for both. Perfect on the old dog with only a slight adjustment. Young dog is still growing, so I bought a size larger than suggested and it still fit him fairly well. Nice, bright orange made both far-ranging dogs easy to spot, plus even after a full day of hunting: NO chaffing! Mighty impressed.
By Julia F.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 18, 2013
My dog at 123 lbs. needed an XXL. It works great. No burrs in his fur, and when he goes through thick brush, no injuries to his skin. He is a large game retrieval and tracking dog.
By Jodie F.
NL
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 18, 2013
Would recommend it to anyone.
By Brian T.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 18, 2013
Finally a vest for a small dog! Works Great!!
By David M.
OR
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 18, 2013
Fits well, and my dog moves easily in it.

Page 1 of 1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2021, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number: