Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.7
299 Reviews
5
78% (234)
4
16% (49)
3
3% (10)
2
2% (6)
1
0% (0)
97% Recommend this product (291 of 299 responses)
By Heidi S.
NJ
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 12, 2015
My Vizsla female runs hard in the field, and this vest protects her chest and undercarriage from scrapes and scratches. Love it.
By Mark K.
IA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 11, 2015
Best vest on the market.
By Dean W.
VT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 30, 2015
Fits great.
By David C.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 22, 2015
Good protection, easy to apply, good visibility, lightweight and allows dog to be cool.
By Jeff E.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 19, 2015
Sizing was easy. Vest good construction. Gets softer with use. Use it with the dog early, so it gets used to it. Very good product. Thanks Steve.
By Robert K.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 6, 2015
I can't comment on the Sylmar vest without commenting on its predecessor, the Skid Plate. I bought the SkidPlate a year ago for my young dog and in one of her first hunts she was badly injured. She impaled herself on a fallen branch and severed a pectoral muscle. She was laid up for part of September and all of October. I believe that the scoop neck of the vest guided the branch into the dog and prevented it from slipping off the dog. I modified the vest by sewing a piece of canvas across the front and had no problems for the remainder of the season. The Skid Plate's coverage was also a little sparse across the chest and belly. The Sylmar has better coverage in those areas but also has a scoop in the neckline that could cause the same problem I had with the Skid Plate. I sewed a tuck in the upper front to lessen it. It is also slightly harder to put on the dog.because of the leg holes. I think both products need to be improved before I would feel comfortable using them.
By Peggy P.
CA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 13, 2015
Love the vest, and it fits great.
By PAUL L.
NY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 7, 2015
After other Chinese vests, this is superior.
By Bill Y.
WI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
March 30, 2015
After losing 10 days of shed hunting due to a barb wire injury, and $350 due to surgical stitching, vast is perfect. Easy to put on, durable, and exceptionally visible. I should have spent the money on the front end! Shipping was fast, inexpensive, and the customer service was fantastic.
By Cathy C.
AZ
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
March 17, 2015
This is one of few dog vests that protects the upper chest area of our dog. Great product!
By Grigor F.
HI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
March 16, 2015
Fits well, and looks sturdy and comfortable (he hasn't complained). It seems that it will keep him from getting hurt most of the time from a boar, and that's all I can hope for.
By Thomas M.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 28, 2015
Fits great and durable.
By James V.
TX
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 27, 2015
Best place to buy for products, price and superior shipping.
By Joshua L.
WA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 21, 2015
Vest doesn't seem to slow him down one bit. The fit is great, and the material seems to be tough.
By JWG
CT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 17, 2015
Order a size larger than the chart indicates. It would be nice if it were a bit longer to protect more of the back end of the dog.
By David S.
VT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 11, 2015
Great. I feel more comfortable watching him run thru the woods. The only modification I will make is adding Velcro at the top of the front chest. It looks like a scoop and could cause trouble. The Velcro should work, but it cannot be the glue on type need to sew on. Other than that it is great and love the service. My dog is a field type and has large chest small waist; used a medium.
By Jeffrey S.
IL
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 4, 2015
Helps protect my dog, and it never slowed him down. It is very durable.
By William G.
TX
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 3, 2015
Fits good and protects from thorns and briars. Best vest I have found.
By Rifle M.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 3, 2015
Works well, but taking a while to break in. You can't hunt in it very long yet.
By Anthony G.
NY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 2, 2015
Ok, this rating is rated on the use of the vest on my dog. I have a beagle we run rabbits with, was tired of picking thorns so I tried this vest. The material holds up to the briars and thorns, however, being that my beagle is running in and under bushes she seemed to get hung up a lot on the straps and buckles at the top, in doing so she would pull to get out and on 2 occasions pulled her leg inside the vest and had to limp back to me on 3 legs. Also she had a lot of chaffing in the pits of her arms and front of legs. It's like wearing a wool sweater on a run with no undershirt. I will probably cut the material up and make my own vest for her.
By Ron C.
TX
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 30, 2014
I thought it would pick up light and glow in the dark. Like safety vests.
By Danielle C.
CA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 30, 2014
I purchased this for high-visibility in the field. Good fit for my little Brittany. She is 25 lbs and fits the X-Small.
By Joe D.
WARSAW
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 28, 2014
Perfect fit, lightweight, and built well. Dog didn't like it at first, but is great with it now.
By Adrian G.
NJ
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 21, 2014
This vest has good adjustability and is sized as stated. While it did reduced the number of large scrapes and cuts on my dogs underside, it does chafe my dogs underside and armpits pretty badly. The material is very strong and rip proof, but I think it would chaff less if it was a softer material. At least in the inside and armpits.
By Bruce W.
MO
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 16, 2014
Sadie took only a few minutes to adjust to wearing it. She's only 9 months old. It does a terrific job of enhancing her visibility and shedding the briars and old fences that she encounters. Too bad there's not one for her tail feathers! At least her front and sides are protected, which is about as good as can be and still have the mobility needed to be a field dog. She's had no rashes even though she is lightly haired around the leg openings.
By Laura
NY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 14, 2014
My dog loves to run through brambles and briars, and her chest and belly were all scratched to pieces. One day she ran into a sharp stick and impaled herself, needing a trip to the emergency clinic to get stitched up. This never would have happened if she were wearing this vest. The material is tough, and the buckles stay closed, so she can't lose the vest in the woods. It fits great, and she doesn't seem to mind having it on. Plus the blaze orange is visible from a long way off. It couldn't be better.
By David
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 6, 2014
Great Quality, Held up well in the thick thorny hedges we have here in this part of PA. It could use a little trim from his leg holes up to the first strap and he is a larger "American" not "English" lab about 88 muscular lbs. I got the XL and I think the L would be to small because it fits perfect in other areas. the only complaint the dog has is he said it makes him look fat ;)
By STEVE
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 5, 2014
Perfect fit and protection.
By Dennis B.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 4, 2014
Excellent product for protection in the field and apparently as well as in the lake, as he jumped in! Extremely well made and made in the USA.
By Kevin B.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 1, 2014
Good material, fits well.
By Cory F.
KS
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 28, 2014
Prefect for hunting brush , milo and corn stalks .
By Ray F.
WY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 28, 2014
Works good. Had a smaller size from another dog and bought a larger size to better fit the present dog. Great for visibility and protects the dogs chest and belly from stubble and cockle burrs.
By Larry P.
Pa
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 25, 2014
Too noisy!!!! My dog's not used to the noise that vest makes. Maybe she'll get used to it?
By Douglas R.
NH
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 21, 2014
My setter is a highly motivated hunting dog who covers a lot of territory, regardless of cover conditions. I worry that he'll run into a sharp object. The Weims operate more methodically until a bird is shot, a which time they'll charge through rough cover to make the retrieve- thus for peace of mind and my dogs' protection I ordered these protective vests. During my career a kevlar vest deflected a bullet to my chest so I know the value of protection - my loyal dogs deserve the same protection and I'm very satisfied with these vests - they do not interfere with the dogs' running and the dogs are easy to spot in cover- particularly when they are on point. Also, I bird hunt during deer season and the Weims in particular benefit from the hunter orange.
By Bob R.
KS
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 21, 2014
Exceptional customer service!
By Adam W.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 13, 2014
A little tight around the front shoulders and elbows of my dog, but once she got used to it she does alright. I think it limits her top speed though, which is actually a good thing for me.
By FromAnna J.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 10, 2014
This is a quality vest. Definitely worth the money. Your service was excellent also. We received the vest in two days.
By Laura T.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 6, 2014
I didn't break it in enough before he wore it all day. He rubbed some sores in his armpits a bit. That said, it fit great. He didn't notice it, and the number and severity of scrapes and burns was way down. The XS fit great. It is nice to find a protective garment that will fit a 30lb hunting dog.
By Anthony H.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 6, 2014
My dog is extra small, 22 lbs., and this is the first and only hunting vest that caters to her size.
By Erich H.
OR
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 6, 2014
The vest is great. It's not too hot for my dog, and she hunted all day in it in moderate temps. She was much more visible in the thick stuff, and it really protected her belly. The top latches are good, but they do catch on fences when she scurries under. I am having to train her to wait at fences for help getting through.
By Derick W.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 3, 2014
Great vest and protects my dog well. It's a bit stiff when you first get it, but softens up over time.
By Scott V.
VT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 1, 2014
Fits my dogs very well and is well made. It's nice that it's made in the U.S. too. I have a C*****'s one for my other dog, but this one is better by far. I will probably get another for her.
By Mike C.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 30, 2014
Great vest! Fits our dog perfectly! Very pleased with Gun Dog Supply. Excellent company! Would recommend the vest and Gun Dog Supply to anyone!
By Ryan M.
NC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 25, 2014
The Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest works great. It was a perfect fit. Thank you.
By Chuck J.
CO
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 24, 2014
The Body Guard Vest worked great while pheasant hunting in Montana. We have a fancy show dog, and my wife was concerned that our fancy boy might come back scratched up after hunting. The Sylmar Body Guard Vest worked great. Our Weimaraner is ~70lbs (big chest, skinny waist), and the size large vest fit perfectly. -Chuck
By Michael G.
CO
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 14, 2014
I have one of the Sylmar vest that I purchased at least 12 years ago and it is still in use. I really like the new colors.
By Steve C.
NY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 12, 2014
An excellent vest. After a week hunting grouse in Maine, it still looks brand new. My setter is 75 pounds, and I picked him up with the straps on more than one occasion without ripping them off. Very well built.
By Bird H.
TX
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 4, 2014
Works great in briars and brush. I used one of mine to protect a chest wound to keep bandages in tact.
By J O.
UT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 3, 2014
Durable. Perfect fit. Will buy again if this one ever wears out.
By Chris D.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
September 28, 2014
Thanks for the question. I didn't know how it would fit since of the unique deep chested body of my dog. But it does fit and makes my invisible dog visible (grey ghost). Cookie just has to get used to wearing the vest. If you want, I can send a picture of her in it. Cheers

Page 5 of 6
5





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number: