Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.7
299 Reviews
5
78% (234)
4
16% (49)
3
3% (10)
2
2% (6)
1
0% (0)
97% Recommend this product (291 of 299 responses)
By Diana B.
CT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 6, 2016
This was the third vest we bought and this one was the keeper!
By Mark C.
ID
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 4, 2016
She really didn't like it at first when I put it on her, but she's gotten used to it, and it really does help protect her. And the bright orange color does help me keep track of her. I may have to get the one with legs though, because she still gets pretty scratched up on the fronts of her legs.
By Jamie K.
WI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Vest -- Yellow
October 31, 2016
Got here quick. Very durable product that held up well in the grouse woods.
By James G.
CA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 31, 2016
These vests are a great weight and breathable. My dogs were getting overheated when they worked in their old vests that did not allow air flow.
By Ann F.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 17, 2016
I have just started to use the vest and it has protected their coat from collecting twigs ferns.
By Hiker 9.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 17, 2016
The vest is lightweight and my dog wears it well. I ordered a medium and the straps were too long so I cut them off and taped the new ends. The medium covers farther up on his sides. A small would not have worked as well. It's easy to put on. With all our stickers here in North TX this year, it has really cut down on my time to remove them. Works good.
By Patrick C.
QC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 15, 2016
Good quality, the vest fit perfectly!
By Johan B.
NH
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 14, 2016
The vest is very durable. Which shows the quality of the workmanship put into it. The only problem I see with it is the buckles. My dogs work some really thick stuff to get at the birds. I have noticed them get hung up in the brush. Causing them to have to back up to unhook themselves. They are adjusting their hunting style to compensate for the vest. All in all the dogs end the day with a lot less cuts and scrapes. So it's worth the trade off.
By Craig W.
IL
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 12, 2016
This is my third one of these vests. I bought the first one 15 years ago for my first dog. I go on two weekend grouse hunting trips per year and the vest lasted the dog's whole life. I had to purchase a second one for my second dog 12 years ago because she was bigger. And this one is for my third dog because she was bigger still. I should try to get the right sized dog, because the original vest is a little ragged but still in good shape and would still protect the dog. I also like the vest because it is light weight and provides high visibility in the woods, protection from sticks and branches, and doesn't overheat the dog. Even when we go in January, this is the vest I use. The dog never seems cold while running through the woods all day. I recommend the vest.
By Phill M.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 12, 2016
Awesome, it keeps her from getting cut up! The best thing is, she loves wearing it!!!
By Scot S.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 4, 2016
Excellent product! It fits well and protects my dog from the under brush.
By Tim R.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
September 27, 2016
So far so good! No complaints.
By Karen R.
NV
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 13, 2016
Best vest I've owned for our dogs. It is sturdy, easy to put on and to adjust. The lesser quality ones in the past tend to rip on barbed wire. I like the chest and under belly protection. What I like best is the quality material used in this vest. Our dogs like to crawl under barbed wire fences and often the lesser vests rip/tear, but not this one. It is well worth the money to buy a quality vest like this!
By Lisa D.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
June 26, 2016
All I hoped for and more!!
By Alain P.
QC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 12, 2016
Good protection in dense field. Dog moves easily with it.
By Tyler F.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
March 28, 2016
Great quality and easy to fit.
By Allan L.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
March 3, 2016
This vest is easy to put on and take off the dog. Very durable compared to others we have tried. Our dog had an injury to her chest and this vest does a great job of protecting that area from further injury.
By Patricia B.
MO
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
March 3, 2016
The vest is sturdy and easy to put on. I would definitely buy another one.
By Paul E.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
February 29, 2016
The chest portion is too wide at the top. It does not breath so he sweats a lot on his lower chest area. It does provide good protection. No cuts from barbed wire.
By Stephen L.
OH
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
February 16, 2016
A small vest is hard to find. The fit was just right, it stays on her very well when she is hunting. Good stuff!!
By Kevin J.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Vest -- Yellow
February 15, 2016
The vest fits perfectly with plenty of space on the front latch in order to mount a Gopro camera, good construction to protect his chest while flushing Pheasant and Chucker in heavy cover. I got the Yellow/ Tan due to the other Cockers having the orange/ black, now I can tell who's pup is doing all the work.
By Larry W.
SC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
February 12, 2016
Great service by Gun Dog Supply.
By Edward A.
TX
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
February 11, 2016
Ordered size small for my 34lb boykin and it fit great. Easy to locate her running in the field and through the brush. Does a good job of protecting her from thorns. Would purchase again! I have ordered numerous items from Gun Dog Supply and have always been impressed with their products/selection/service.
By Bruce D.
VI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
February 4, 2016
A great vest! Good materials and good fit. I can pick my dog up with it! I use it around floribunda and briars so she doesn't get shy of going in hard. The sizing chart is a little tricky to use. My dog is 22 inches around the chest. I went for Extra Small because of that measurement and had to exchange it for a Small to get good body coverage. That size was correct on the chart according to her weight. Spaniels are on the small end of sporting dog world and their proportions are different from the larger dogs, so take care.
By Mike Y.
GA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
February 3, 2016
The buckles should be like a collar instead of plastic, and should also have velcro along the seam.
By Jesse B.
TN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 27, 2016
Great product. Fits my dog perfectly. Gives great protection and does not conflict with my dog. He likes to wear it, gets excited.
By Dustin L.
TX
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 7, 2016
The vest has been fantastic in protecting my dog in the Cactus and briars found all over Texas. The service from gun dog has been exceptional as well!
By Arion V.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 7, 2016
This is a great dog vest and has saved my LM from multiple barbed wire incidents. I would highly recommend this to others. It is easy to put on her and the orange sides are great to help see her in tall North Dakota prairie grasses.
By Steve S.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 4, 2016
The order was shipped quickly, and I received the vest very fast. I will order dog supplies in the future because it was fast and easy.
By Jeff S.
UT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 1, 2016
It's good. I do like it, but the reason it is not excellent is the buckle gets snagged on branches in the thick stuff.
By Brian M.
MT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 27, 2015
I have a lot of fences that I have to cross, and the buckles catch when she goes under the fence sometimes. Other than that I like the vest a lot.
By VICKY M.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 27, 2015
It would be nice if it was all orange.
By Robert N.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 22, 2015
Just received the vest. I needed to return the small in exchange for a medium, but the new one fits great.
By Michael M.
NC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 21, 2015
Fits great, and now my dog gets excited when he sees it because he knows he is going hunting.
By John W.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 18, 2015
The Sylmar body guard dog vest is by far the best vest I've had. The protection it provides for my dogs and high visibility surpasses any of those I had before. Very durable and cleans up easily. Easy to put on and very easy to take off with clips. I highly recommend it.
By Angela Z.
OR
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 17, 2015
Fits my dogs perfectly, and they both love the vest!
By Neil K.
ND
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 17, 2015
Got it to protect my dog after he got stitches on the side of his brisket. Fits and works great and will prevent further injuries for sure.
By JOSEPH W.
AK
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 27, 2015
High visibility. Protected Molly's core from burs and seed pods. Will check it out on cactus in a week.
By Myron S.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 10, 2015
However, I need to send it back and get a bigger size.
By Bruce W.
MO
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 9, 2015
It fits and works reasonably well. It would work better on my dog particularly if she had heavier coat. She is thinly haired and the vest will chafe her some on hunts more than a couple of hours long, but that is her, not the vest.
By Mary W.
NE
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 9, 2015
Ordered a large which fits perfectly right now, as our dog is only 10 mos old and still filling out. There is some room to grow into. I read some reviews where the complaint was front drooped open a bit and scooped up dirt and brush. We did not have that issue. I'm thrilled that we now can see him through the tall grass.
By Don L.
NE
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 8, 2015
It had a large tear within the first hour on a barbed wire fence. But it fits good. I got it patched up, and we are good to go. There is no tougher test than a good hunting dog on opening weekend!
By James S.
NC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 2, 2015
Steve, My male wirehaired had an encounter with a nutria, the nutria ultimately lost, but not before leaving 14 stitches in our males front shoulder. The vest worked great for keeping the wound protected, and I will continue letting both of my dogs wear this vest throughout the hunting season. Great fit and apparently comfortable to the dogs as neither seem to even notice it. Eddie Stocks, Madoc Farms, Tarboro, NC
By Tim C.
WI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 1, 2015
LOVE IT!!!!!! Very durable.
By William K.
OH
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 25, 2015
Just got back from hunting Grouse and Woodcock in Michigan for a week. Vest did it's job protecting my dog, plus great visibility.
By Scott G.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 23, 2015
I really like these vests. We have been hunting the thick brush with a lot of thorns and thickets. The vest are sturdy and have great visibility. They are easy to put on and adjustable.
By Rebecca J.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 22, 2015
Stood up well to fences, brush and wetlands (gumbo mud) in SD. Tossed into washer on gentle cycle with Tide and look new. Fit well, and dogs weren't restricted by them. Excellent product!
By Stephen G.
IL
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 19, 2015
These vests are by far the best for protecting a dog while hunting, and they can handle years of use without tearing to pieces. The different colors available allow me to easily identify the dogs in the field.
By Steve
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 15, 2015
Took my German Shorthaired Pointer about 2 minutes to get used to. It fit perfect. Easy to see in the field.
By Laura T.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 14, 2015
Fits great. It's hard to find things for a hard running 28lb dog. He doesn't even notice it is on really. We did start with it in the mowed back yard playing fetch and doing agility exercises before we went in the field. Lots fewer scrapes and burrs. It does need a bit of breaking in as the instructions state.

Page 4 of 6
4





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number: