Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.7
299 Reviews
5
78% (234)
4
16% (49)
3
3% (10)
2
2% (6)
1
0% (0)
97% Recommend this product (291 of 299 responses)
By Curr
Yankton, SD
Great for Goldens
December 19, 2020
I brought my Golden duck hunting and there were a ton of cockle burrs around us she was covered with them. I was going pheasant hunting the next week and new I had to get something. I bought one for my golden and for my lab. It really helped with their bellies being rubbed raw to. They worked great and they really didn’t mind them at all. Great product!
By Tom S.
Cincinnati, OH
Solid Vest!
December 19, 2020
Works perfect for my Wirehaired Pointing Griffon. Added bonus is week seed protection making it much easy to brush my dogs out after our hunts.
ProsSimple Lightweight Durable
ConsSlightly loose around the upper chest
By Matt
MI
Works perfectly
December 19, 2020
After my Field Cocker took a few minor nicks and abrasions on our first hunt together I picked up this vest. It works great. Did a quick "get used to it" session in the yard and off we went. Easy on, easy off. Easy to clean. She runs great with it, acts completely the same and she doesn't get scratched up grouse hunting.
By Les
New stanton pa
Good vest
December 19, 2020
English cocker has outgrown xs vest and replaced with a small vest. It has protected her well for 2 years and is still in great shape. Highly recommend.
ProsChest protecttion
ConsStraps collects burrs.
By John
Klingville, MI
Good fit and visible.
December 19, 2020
This is the 2nd one I purchased. The first one lasted about a year. Although I don't hunt my dog a lot, she wears a vest often around our farm, for visibility and chest protection. The old one was pretty faded due to use and after one of the snaps pulling loose on a bird hunt this fall, the old vest was peeled off later in the hunt and lost. The large fits my 65-lb draht perfectly and has adjustment capacity to fill out if needed (she is on the lean side). The new one is highly visible. The minor stiffness of the new fabric causes a little chafing still, but it is more of a post-hunt issue and does not hinder her during the hunt. In addition to visibility and chest protection, it provides the dog "handles" for things like vet visits. Other than the strap failure on the first one (again, after a year of usage), I like everything about the vest, and so does the dog. She knows when it gets pulled out that she is going to run some woods and fields, maybe even hunt. Picture shows the new one and the old one from this past summer and fall, just before replacing it.
ProsFabric seems protective High visibility Very good fit
ConsDurability is probably about a year or so, as such the price is significant. Will fade with use. It will likely be well faded before straps give out.
By Marty
Verona, WI
Worth it!!
December 18, 2020
This is a great product! Well priced. Made very well! I needed an extra dog bodyguard jacket for an upcoming hunt in another state. This product was extremely easy to get on and off and did not slow my dog down whatsoever. The high visibility color was excellent and protected my dogs underbelly when hunting very thick grass and other nasty terrain. I ended up running into another hunter in that state I went to who’s dog had the exact same jacket so I thought to myself that was pretty cool! True story!
ProsEase-of-use, great visibility, very well-made, fit dog great, well made!
ConsCan't think of any. Just make sure to follow the measurement guidelines.
By Lisa S.
Wisconsin
Great vest.
December 18, 2020
Excellent product for protection and visibility .
By Sue
Morrison, Illinois
Great protection
December 17, 2020
Use this on my hard running GWP. Offers great protection and still allows movement. She gets very excited when I pull out her vest as she knows what it means.
ProsLong lasting, durable even with washing
By Mike
Iow
Sylmar vest
December 13, 2020
Durable vest that protects the dogs chest. Use it on my female springer with no issues.
ProsDurable Highly visable Easy to put on
ConsHard to keep clean Stains easily Needs to be longer
By Tim S.
Shakopee, MN
BUY IT
December 11, 2020
The dog vests I was finding in retail stores were all such garbage so finally I talked to my cousin who has a hunting dog and he recommended the Gun Dog Supply vest. I wanted something to help other hunters and me see my dog more clearly in the field and something that would protect her chest from possible injury. A friend of mine actually lost a dog from it getting stabbed in the chest by a sharp stick while hunting. I bought the medium for my small, slim red lab and it fits her great. She's about 52 pounds. I can't tell you how awesome it is to feel like she is protected in the field and I feel like she actually likes putting it on, kind of like her game day uniform. Anyway, I'd highly suggest that you buy this vest. It's a superior gun dog product.
ProsAdjustable, visable, protective, comfortable
ConsThe 3 straps on the top don't need to be so long.
By Jonah
Oregon
Better than most
December 9, 2020
I got this vest for my bordercollie/golden retriever mix. I bought a large anticipating he would grow more, however he topped out pretty small. The nice thing was all I had to do was cut the straps shorter. It fits him great, helps keep burrs out of his fur and allows me to see him at distance. We bird hunt and shed hunt and it comes in handy especially through thick brush. The labrador has a different vest I bought from a pet store and it has not held up nearly as well as the Sylmar dog vest. Hers will be upgraded to one of these when it fully wears out.
ProsLight, quiet, visible
By Customer
Boston
Decent
November 22, 2020
I’ve tried many vests ..... none of them fit well. This one I had to cut it up to fit. I gave it 2 stars because belly protection is good.
By Louis
Hudson, zNy
Indispensable
November 21, 2020
Important item to protect your hard working dog in thick cover. This vest takes a beating and saves todos one in exchange. Also excellent to spray it with permethrin on exterior side to protect your dog from tics. I won’t hunt my dog without one
ProsSturdy and highly visible Easy to put on and take off Well tolerated by dog
ConsNone
By Pete
Magnolia, TX
Very tough and protects belly, but chafes my labs elbows badly.
November 20, 2020
Tough as nails. Maybe too tough. Great protection but badly chafes my lab after only a half day of use so cannot use on upland trips. Have tried on 2019 trip and on recent 2020 trip. May be good for different build of dog.
ProsProtects underside of dog well. Easy dry and clean up. Tough as nails
ConsChafes dogs elbows
By Devan s.
Iowa
Great vest for my gsp's
November 17, 2020
Love the fit and the durability. Great for all day hunts in thick nasty brush. Also very nice for keeping my dog visible when hunting in large groups or thick cover! Does rub slightly on the inside of the front legs but after a few hunts they callus up.
ProsVisibility. Durable. Fit.
ConsOrange fades a little after a couple seasons. And little rubbing on front legs.
By Nate
Edwardsville, KS
Great product and great service
November 13, 2020
I've only used it once so far, but this is a great product. It is well made. I ordered the wrong size initially, but Gun Dog Supply swapped it out for the correct size with no issues. I would caution you to measure carefully. I didn't get a great measurement on my Shorthair's chest, but he weighs 60 pounds so I ordered the large. It turns out that he needed a medium. My one critique would be to suggest that the belly strap be attached lower on the vest. My GSP is skinny in this area and the strap is still a touch loose when fully tightened.
ProsWell built Heavy duty straps and buckles
Consbelly strap location
By John F.
Bay City Michigan
Built For The Uplands
November 12, 2020
This is my 2nd Sylmar vest. My first one was 20 years old and still had the original straps and buckles! It had some tears in it from years of hard use and was faded. This new vest seems every bit as good and should last just as long. Plus, it is bright and I can see it in the thick brush.
ProsGood material, easy to put on and take off.
ConsI really don't have any cons. I wash them by hand with a small amount of laundry detergent when they are new to soften the material and get some of the fresh coloring out.
By Mike
North Carolina.
Vest
November 11, 2020
Very pleased.
ProsGood quality
ConsNone
By Gary H.
Kansas
Great vest, great quality
November 11, 2020
ordered this vest years ago for my upland lab. She has since died and it now belongs to my new upland lab. Not a single rip or tear anywhere, i was a little skeptical about the plastic buckles holding up in harsh Kansas conditions, but they're good thick plastic and have held up for years now with no problems. A few frayed edges and stuff on the vest here and there but that's it!! Its nice cordura material so it keeps the burs, thorns, and sharp grasses from hurting my dog. Will never use a different vest, if anything ever happens to this one, i'll immediately purchase another just like it.
ProsGreat quality and longevity
ConsFront leg holes sometimes rub on the dogs legs and give them raw spots after long days in the field.
By Craig
Wisconsin
Rubs legs raw
October 20, 2020
Vest seemed to fit fairly well and was fine for a couple runs but when I went and hunted the dogs, the vest rubbed the fur off the front of the front legs. Bit disappointed since the vest doesn't pick up stickers, they just brush off.
ProsHeavy duty material
ConsPoor fit Rubs fur off fronts of legs.
By Ron
Montana
Well Made
October 17, 2020
The vest is well made. Our dog, however, was right on the boundary between the medium and large size. We ordered the large and and it was a bit big for him. We used it for a recent pheasant hunt in very brushy habitat and it did a great job of keeping the burrs off the dog and with the exception of one seam that started to pull loose it held up well. Since the vest was a bit too big, it did cause some significant rubbing and irritation with hair loss on both the front legs. My wife had ordered the medium size before we left on the hunting trip to see if it would fit better, but it did not arrive before we left (it was ordered late, so it wasn't a surprise). We tried it on the dog when we got home and it was actually too small and would likely cause rubbing as well. I don't think the problem is with the vest, it is the fact that our dog is right on the bubble between the sizes. We sent the medium vest back and will try to adapt the large one to make it fit better.
ProsWell made and tough. It provides good visibility in heavy cover. Made in the USA.
ConsDoesn't quite fit a dog that's in between sizes.
By Charles H.
PA
Meets or exceeds my needs/expectations
October 16, 2020
Very good quality and easy to adjust. My Lab got used to wearing it very quickly! I would buy it again and recommend it to others.
By Billy
Washington
Fits nicely on my brittney!
October 7, 2020
Ginger put it right on and had no problem wearing it. Didn’t hinder her in anyway. All she needs now is pheasant season to start!
By Grant
Northern MN
Amazing
October 4, 2020
This is by far one of the best vests I have found for my dogs. Big box companies charge double the price for a lower quality vest. I highly recommend this to anyone wanting to protect your dogs underside and keep them visable.
ProsVery Durable
By MN H.
Minnesota
Great vest for protection in warmer weather
October 1, 2020
Fits my Lab well. Great protection that won't overheat my dog. Both my dad & I use these on our dogs while pheasant, grouse & rabbit hunting
ProsLightweight
ConsNone
By Randy
West Central Illinois
Fits like a glove
September 28, 2020
I got the small & it fits my 5 month old 30 lbs GSP pup perfectly, with plenty of strap left to grow into it.
ProsFits well and looks good. Seems like durable fabric. And best of all, it is made in America.
ConsN/A
By John E.
Massachusetts
Highly visible and protective-good value
September 25, 2020
I bought this vest for my Drahthaar. I wanted a light weight, highly visible vest that would also protect her from the the large variety of thorny flora where we train daily. We hunt in the fall in New England's thick backcountry where bird hunting season overlaps with big game seasons and coyote hunting. I looked at a number of vests from various suppliers. I called Gun Dog Supply support and we discussed requirements. This USA-made vest best fit my requirements at a reasonable price. It's very well made, bright orange up the sides and has a double "skid" plate for extra protection at chest and underside. Easy on and easy off. It broke in quickly without chaffing and my Drahthaar doesn't know its there. I bought based on chest measurement and not weight and it fits perfectly with room to grow. For me it is a great value. Highly recommend.
ProsHighly visible with bright blaze up dog's sides. Great visibility at dawn and dusk. Double layer skid plate at vulnerable chest and underside. Sheds thorns with ease. Easy on, easy off Plenty of adjustment with strap configuration. Broke in quickly without chaffing or discomfort.
ConsIn high heat, the coverage could be a concern.
By John
Vermont
Quality product
September 24, 2020
Nice fit and finish. Size large fit my 62 pound GSP well.
ProsFit, visibility and coverage.
By Neal S.
Caribou, Maine
Great so far!
September 23, 2020
Been using for over a week on our 5 month, went with a size small based on the chart and is spot on. I actually upsized it slightly in anticipation of her growing and still works great. She doesn’t mind wearing it, not nearly as stiff as other reviewers indicated, completely satisfied.
ProsQuality
ConsNone
By Jay
Brockway, PA
Best vest out there!
September 23, 2020
I have owned 3 of these vests. They work great protecting my dogs' chests and keeping them visible in the brush. I've never had any issues with it chafing my dogs' skin and it stays put once on! Highly recommend!
By Customer
Lake geneva wi
good
September 15, 2020
Great protection and visibility with this vest !
By Pete
Tri-Cities, TN
serves the purpose of higher viz and chest protection
September 14, 2020
I bought this vest for my 2 year old 58 lb female Golden in preparation for taking her quail and pheasant hunting this fall. Per the advice in other comments, I vigorously hand-washed the vest four times in Sport Wash and liquid fabric softener which did result in making it softer and bleeding out quite a bit of orange dye. My Golden didn't like wearing the vest the first time but has gotten used to it after several training sessions. The front leg holes do seem to hinder her movement a little but she can run OK while wearing the vest. Perhaps enlarging or elongating the leg openings a bit would help.
Pros* provides chest protection * increases visibility which should make it safer for the dog while afield * easy to put on the dog and adjust fit * quick release buckles * lightweight
Cons* leg openings are a little restrictive (but the dog has adjusted to them) * the vest design is a little long for my dog but softening the vest has allowed it to fold forward for a more comfortable fit
By Douglas P.
KS
Seems durable
September 4, 2020
I havent had a chance to use it in the field yet, but it fits well and looks like it will take some tough use.
By Zeket
Pa.
Pretty good vest for the money.
September 2, 2020
I have had one of these on my beagle for a couple years and it seems to hold up well to thorns, etc. It doesn't seem to rub the dogs legs (if you choose the right size for your dog.)
ProsDurable Great Visibility Easy on and off
ConsGets dirty easy and needs cleaned often. I have tried scotch guard but dirt still sticks to it.
By Matt
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 19, 2018
Sizing chart is accurate, very durable and works great protecting the dog in the woods or in the field
By John H.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 15, 2018
Great fit, easy to get on/off, wears nicely in tough conditions to prevent injury and wear on the dog. Only downside is that it isn't all orange and the chest/belly of the vest is black and dog isn't as visible when bouncing through thick cover. Great product.
By JOHN K.
IN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 12, 2018
By Howard W.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 12, 2018
Great vest, fits my Springer Lab nicely. This vest is well built & rugged. Protects these two rascals through brush, briars & thick underbrush, when flushing pheasants. Well Worth the money, will last for many hunting seasons. Order the vest, you won't be disappointed.
By Dale P.
OR
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 11, 2018
Love these for my Irish Setters. The size Large fit them well, with plenty of strap to make adjustments. Both dogs took to them quickly.
By Asher P.
MI
Review for SAVE 20%! -- Scratch & Dent Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest - Orange
October 11, 2018
Love them.
By Stephen
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 11, 2018
Actually the Dog liked it from the start. No issues wearing it.
By Phil W.
KS
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 11, 2018
By Ralph S.
NJ
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 11, 2018
Works as advertised seems to be built strong and tough I think it will last throughout the long bird season at the club! 6 months of hunting 1-2 times per week.
By Chris
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 1, 2017
The vest fits perfectly on my springer (55lbs), and he didn't mind it a bit. Shipping was lightning fast so I am very happy all the way around.
By Arnold O.
WI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Vest -- Yellow
November 20, 2016
Size recommended by weight was accurate.
By Anthony S.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 20, 2016
Fits like a glove, with no chafing.
By David B.
WI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 18, 2016
Fits great and great protection on long hunts.
By Alvin B.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 12, 2016
Fit great, allows dog to slip through cover easier, gives me a little more peace of mind for dogs safety.
By JAMES C.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 12, 2016
My black lab is small for the breed at 50 lbs. Pheasant hunting in cover presents issues with visibility to other hunters and this vest is wonderful. Not only is it visible to hunters it also protects her stomach and chest from getting raw hunting in heavy cover. If you love your dog this is highly recommended.
By Rick H.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 9, 2016
The vest is great its hard to found a vest for a pointer that doesn't rub or pinch them. I recommend the product and I highly recommend Gun Dog Supply.

Page 3 of 6
3





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number: