Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.7
299 Reviews
5
78% (234)
4
16% (49)
3
3% (10)
2
2% (6)
1
0% (0)
97% Recommend this product (291 of 299 responses)
By Micromiem
Oregon
Super dog!
September 17, 2021
I bought this vest for my 2 y.o. pudelpointer for upland hunting, hoping to get her more protection on her chest and belly since she doesn't have much hair there. She has wore it a couple times now. Before this vest she has always been timid to go deeper into brushy spaces. After her first venture into the bushes with this vest she's become much more brazen and gleefully charges through tall grass, corn, trailing blackberry/elderberry brambles. She had a couple rub wounds on her chest, but I'm not 100% sure they were from the vest. This is also the first vest she's had that sits properly on her, and I think this is due to it clipping on top and the wider coverage. She is 42-45lbs and the medium barely fit her (it was too big).
ProsDurability when going through pokey vegetation.
ConsDidn't quite align with the size range. Arm holes might be a bit snug for a larger weight/size dog.
By Ron E.
Arlington WA
Really good quality vest
September 9, 2021
Bought this vest for Penny our 80lb yellow lab. Fits very well and offers much needed protection for a dog with no fear. Really like this vest
ProsHeavy duty fabric High visibility Secure fasteners
ConsNone
By David
Nevada
Pop
September 1, 2021
Looking for a code pops on the mountain side other than blaze orange
By Bering
Alaska
Sturdy, yet comfortable vest
August 27, 2021
I have all sizes of this vest, to have the one the fits best available at any given time. Currently, the size M just took over from the size S on my 5 month old Deutsch Drahthaar.
By Jeff P.
Pelican Rapids, Minnesota
Excellent Dog Vest
August 24, 2021
I ordered the Sylmar Dog Vest and am very happy with the style, fit and functionality of it. My dog doesn't mind wearing it at all. His first experience with it was a 4 mile training walk with multiple retrieves in varying tough cover. He had no issues at all where the vest was concerned. I was pleasantly surprised to hear on KFAN Outdoors that both radio hosts will not go afield without first putting the SYLMAR Dog Vest on all of their dogs.
ProsFast turn around time for ordering from Gun Dog Supply. Excellent quality dog vest. Appears tough enough to prevent puncture and abrasion wounds.
ConsNothing so far.
By Josh
Mora mn
Best vest for the money
July 8, 2021
I wouldn't drop my tailgate in the fall without strapping these on! Lightweight east to use and great protection. Too many close calls with sharp sticks. Also excellent when in the raspberry bushes or burrs.
ProsSolid!
ConsA bit stiff when new but typically breaks in after a few wears and washes.
By Don
Minnesota
All-around great vest
July 6, 2021
The Sylmar Body Guard vest is: 1) bright and easy to see, 2) uses a durable fabric and protects dog, 3) cut for athletic dogs, 4) it’s easy on/off, and 5) this vest allows me to use the flag harness on dog ( the flag can go out the top of the vest). Hunting in the northwoods near the Canada border-- this vest is a must have for our dog. Visibility of dog through the timber is great!
ProsUses buckles vs zipper or velcro
By Don
Cadillac, MI
Good quality
June 29, 2021
Well made product!! I’ve used for years so I knew what I was getting!!
By MontanomanEugene
Eugene, Oregon
Cure for Chest/Belly Irritation
June 27, 2021
I started using this vest when my GSP/Labrador cross started having skin irritation from our daily retrieving drills in heavy cover. It took a minimal amount of time for her to get used to it and adjusted well to accommodate her unique frame.
By Jerry H.
Wisconsin
Body Guard Dog Vest
June 18, 2021
Seems to be a quality product. I like the way it fits and looks. Have not had the opportunity to use it hunting yet. Will update survey after the fall Bird hunting season.
By Customer
Northeast Colorado
Maggie tested Maggie approved
May 19, 2021
Good stuff!!
ProsGreat color, fits well and the print is very Legible
ConsNone
By Ron
Moses Lake , washington
for English Pointer bitch
May 7, 2021
wont use until this fall ; but the fit seems to be perfect
By Kevin
Michigan
Great protection
April 25, 2021
This vest is well built and provides great protection around the chest and belly area. The orange is very bright and helps me keep an eye on my shed hunting dog who is brindle and blends into the woods very well. It’s a little stiff and noisy at first but softens up a little as you break it in.
ProsBright orange Sturdy Fits well Provides chest and stomach protection.
ConsStiff Noisy
By Robin N.
Burnsville, MN
Great protective vest for hard-charging dogs
April 23, 2021
This protective vest has been very helpful for our springer spaniel, Obi. Obi has injured himself multiple times in the woods and fields near our cabin in Northern Minnesota. He would catch his skin on a tree branch or another object and tear his skin, requiring stitches. Since he has been wearing this vest, he has not injured himself. We love the color, also, as it is easier to see him in the woods.
ProsEasy on/off
ConsNone
By Doug
Central Oregon
Fills the bill
April 22, 2021
Just what we needed for our re-homed GSP. This guy is a dozer. He piles into everything.
ProsGood coverage, especially in the upper chest area. No sign of chaffing in the under leg after 2 hours. Double layered with ripstop on the business side. Should stop most everything here where we live.
ConsNot a con, but at 65 lbs I bought the large but have it tightened all the way to the buckles.
By SteveM
WMass
Great Fit and Function
April 22, 2021
Bought the yellow one to rotate with my orange Sylmar Vest depending upon field conditions. The orange vest has held up well for three hunting seasons and I feel the dog is pretty well protected when hunting thick cover up in New England, plus I can find him on point when the bell stops!!
ProsQuality of construction and fit.
ConsDoes become less bright with hard use even when washed.
By John
Greenfield. Indiana
Vest for a GSP
April 14, 2021
fits well haven't had a chance to use it but I think it will do the job.
Proswell made. fits well. good snaps instead of velcro straps
Consneeds a elastic strap on the front to keep out debris
By Howard
Sutton, Massachusetts
Great Vest
April 10, 2021
Great vest. Made in America. Made of rugged material, very good stitching, looks & feels great on the dogs,(Ben Lab & Gracie Springer). Keeps both dogs protected both for visibility & underbelly cuts & scraps. I have used these vests for multiple seasons. The springer is going on the 4th season. The Lab's is new because of growth. We hunt upland, with briers, brush, thick under growth, both dogs & vests hold up well. You won't be disappointed with the Sylmar Vest or Gun Dog Supply if return is needed.
ProsMade in America, sturdy, looks & feels great on to dogs. Multiple seasons of wear with the Sylmar, highly recommended
ConsNone
By BK
Sergeant Bluff, IA
Best I have found.
April 9, 2021
These Sylmar vests cover more area than any of the others I have found. My springers run hard, and these vests definitely cut down on the number of cuts and pokes at the end of the day.
ProsCoverage area, durability.
By HeBeGeeBee
Genoa, Ohio
BestVest
March 24, 2021
Excellent quality and coverage. Had one previously for an older dog, bought another for a new pup. Always interesting to see a dog react to new vests or boots.
By Anton
New Jersey
Nice vest
March 18, 2021
Only had a chance to use this product once this season, seems to fit well .like the fact it has several straps for adjusting for different size dogs.Most likely a good idea to run your dog with it before your season starts to have time to adjust it properly .
By LMB
Northern MN
Visible Dog vest
March 18, 2021
Easy on/off, great visibility when off in woods or ahead on trail. Great purchase!
By Matt
MI
Small fits 38lb French Brittany well
February 3, 2021
I ordered a small and medium for my 10 month old French brittany thinking he may need a medium as he fills out. The small fits him well now, and there is adjustment room available as he fills out. So returning the medium.
ProsOverall quality is good, sturdy material, seems like it will last awhile.
By Robert
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Dog Vest
January 29, 2021
Excellent dog vest! Very well built and adjusts to fit the dog perfectly. Paw openings are just the right size for the dog to wear comfortably for hours at a time. Highly recommend this dog vest.
ProsGreat price, very tough material, comfortable for the dog to wear all day long, easy to adjust.
ConsNone. Works great!
By PAUL N.
New Mexico
Sylmar Vest
January 28, 2021
Fits well, softens with a wash on gentle cycle. Covers chest and belly. Dog gets excited when I take it out.
ProsFits well.
ConsA bit stiff when new, but washing on gentle cycle softens it up.
By Stewy
Pa
As described
January 26, 2021
All in all I am happy with this vest I have not used it yet but it is of much better quality than other vest I’ve bought for the same price. I expect this to perform wonderfully. It seems extremely durable. Last but not least it fits our male gsp perfectly. The size guide on the web site is 100% on.
ProsFit Perceived durability (haven't used yet) Price Sizing guide
ConsTook a little while to get Is a bit stiff but I have no doubt it will break in with use
By Dennis M.
Beecher, Illinois
Fits great
January 22, 2021
Seems well made, fits her great.
By Customer
Minneaapolis Mn
Question excess strap
January 18, 2021
After fitting the vest what is the best way to deal with excess length after buckle is fastened?
By Barry D.
South Carolina
Great protection!
January 16, 2021
Just returned home from five day hunting trip to Kansas and Sylmar Body Guard vest worked great, protecting my shorthairs belly. Quality and fit also great no problems with staying in place through out the day.
By Boyd G.
Nebraska
Best vest on market
January 13, 2021
There are other chest protectors and I have tried most of them. Others have to much room around front leg opening and will rub the front 2 tits on a female. Always come back to sylmar body guard.
ProsProtects tits, light weight and seems to mold to dog with the 3 straps
By Jason P.
Butlerville, Arkansas
Great fit and good chest protection from barbwire and thorns.
January 6, 2021
My Boykin Spaniel was getting beat up by barbwire fences and thorns/briars. She normally wears an orange vest that covers her shoulders and back. It provides good visibility, but little protection underneath where most cuts occur. This new vest provides protection and visibility.
ProsGood fit, protection, and visibility.
By Stephen
Arkansas
Quality Vest
December 31, 2020
This item is well made! It is little big for my 30 lb. Brittany and I ordered size small. I had to adjust the straps all the way in so it fit. I had to cut the excess off the straps I do recommend this American made vest Thanks Gun Dog Supply!
ProsSturdy material (Orange)
ConsJust a little big for my Brit. But works.
By Greg
Minneapolis
Quality dog vest
December 30, 2020
Very well built and offers great protection
By Bob S.
Madison Wi.
Great vest
December 29, 2020
Just what I wanted.
ProsGreat visibility
ConsMake sure it fits your dog correctly (snug)...hard to adjust in the field
By Andrew
Wyoming Michigan
Dog vest
December 25, 2020
Love it sure works good keeps the dog from getting all scratch up
ProsVery easy to get on and adjust to fit
ConsIt takes the dog a little time to get use to it
By rachel
lafayette, OR
durable vest
December 23, 2020
use our vest for upland hunting in SD. very durable and fits well
By Bert B.
Montana
Great dog vest!!!
December 23, 2020
I have purchased a number of dog vests over the years and this is the best quality and value of all of them. Easy to adjust to fit my dog and excellent quality of materials and design.
By Nate S.
Johnston, Iowa
The best dog vest on the market!
December 23, 2020
I’ve tried many vests on my three vizslas, and all but the Sylmar rubbed their ‘armpits’ (under front legs) raw. These cheaper vests did far more harm than good. This has never been the case with the Sylmar vest. I use medium vests for both my male and female vizslas. We hunt upland game (primarily pheasant) in Iowa. The vest design is of quality, and holds up in nearly all conditions. The orange color is additionally helpful for locating the dogs in taller grass. Highly recommend.
ProsFit, quality, color. Gun Dog Supply customer service is also great.
ConsMore expensive than many other vests, but deservingly so. Worth the investment.
By Jeff
Berks County, PA
Good hunting vest
December 22, 2020
So far this has been a great hunting vest for my Lab. Seems very durable but it does not effect my dog’s performance. However, he was a little unsure of it the first time I put it on him.
By Customer
Belle Plaine Iowa
GREAT VEST
December 21, 2020
Great vest fit is perfect I like the way it comes up the side not only for more protection but it gives you more room to adjust . I have had others and this one is the best by far.
Prosgreat build, great fit, more protection, price is right in the ball park
Consnone
By Mike
Grapeview, WA
Protect your dogs underside and chest.
December 21, 2020
We purchased one for our Braque pointer and another for the lab, both females. Pleased with the level of protection we seen. Very good quality , I would recommend. The lab tangled with some downed barb wire this weekend and the vest helped keep the damage to a minimum! She would have been in the vet office, had she not had the vest on.
ProsTrue sizing, good quality all around and ease of getting on the dog.
ConsNone at this point.
By George
Wisconsin
Good quality
December 21, 2020
Very well made, looks like it will last. I had a cheaper vest with velcro straps that would get junk in it. These snaps are much better. Doesn't bother the dog at all and makes her much more visible to other hunters.
By Sam
Kansas
Good vest, but must have been redesigned
December 21, 2020
Vest works well, but doesn’t fit as well as one I have from about 3-4 years ago. I can only assume it was redesigned and made to fit heftier dog breeds. I ordered the same vest and size as my older one and the new one fits much looser. Still works well!
By Robert
Welcome, NC
Safety First
December 21, 2020
Deer season in NC can be a dangerous time to have your dog running through the woods, even if it is around your property line. This vest protects Remi from the briars and brush piles she finds while keeping her visible for the hunters in the woods. The blaze orange also gives me the comfort of knowing I can easily spot her on her runs. I love the fit and the easy on-and-off clips. We have used it over a month now everyday and with a quick rinse it still looks like new.
ProsWide fit range Bright color Durable
ConsA bit pricey but concluded it's worth it Straps too long but allows for wider fit range. I had to roll them up and duct tape them so they don't flap around
By Dan B.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Great vest
December 21, 2020
I have owned several different brands of vests. I own both orange and green. Easy to see, easy to put on, easy to clean. Very rugged. Protects my dog well.
ProsEasy to put on. Fits my dog well.
By Rusty O.
Southwest Missouri
Good for protection and visibility on my GSP
December 20, 2020
I have been hunting with this vest this season, and I have been pleased with the fact that my 50lb GSP has not had any rubbing or chafing. That said, the fit (M) is a bit big and gaps on the front. I purchased the vest primarily to help with briars, but I have really pleased with how it helps me keep up with your in the tall grass when hunting pheasants. Overall, good vest and worth the money.
Pros- durability - visibility - easy to get on
Cons- fit
By Tracy K.
OK
good vest
December 20, 2020
Good vest I can see my dog better. Only comment is be aware of the buckles across the back and barbed wired my dog got hung up on a fence first day she had it on. She has since figured it out and likes wearing it.
By Dkn
Idaho
Good protection for your dog
December 20, 2020
This vest does a great job to protect the under side of my brittany. The only thing I would change is to add some kind of fleece or softer material the the high friction points because it really irritated my dog's skin. It did very very well at protecting my dog's underside. May work better on harrier dogs.
ProsWell built, great protection Fits as measured
ConsRubs sores on skin Things get stuck between vest and dogs skin and cause irritation
By Matt
PA
So far so good
December 20, 2020
The landscape in Pa is rough, bird hunting is rough as well....needed a hard working vest for a hard working dog from a hard working company
ProsSeems to be holding up quite nicely
ConsI ordered one size to big....but we are making it work
By Jim
SW pa
Too big
December 19, 2020
Seems to rub under the dogs front arm pits. Keeps the briers from their coats
ProsEasily seen
ConsRubs under legs

Page 2 of 6
2





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number: