Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


4.7
226 Reviews
5
77% (175)
4
19% (42)
3
2% (4)
2
2% (5)
1
0% (0)
98% Recommend this product (222 of 226 responses)
By Howard
Sutton, Massachusetts
Great Vest
April 10, 2021
Great vest. Made in America. Made of rugged material, very good stitching, looks & feels great on the dogs,(Ben Lab & Gracie Springer). Keeps both dogs protected both for visibility & underbelly cuts & scraps. I have used these vests for multiple seasons. The springer is going on the 4th season. The Lab's is new because of growth. We hunt upland, with briers, brush, thick under growth, both dogs & vests hold up well. You won't be disappointed with the Sylmar Vest or Gun Dog Supply if return is needed.
ProsMade in America, sturdy, looks & feels great on to dogs. Multiple seasons of wear with the Sylmar, highly recommended
ConsNone
By BK
Sergeant Bluff, IA
Best I have found.
April 9, 2021
These Sylmar vests cover more area than any of the others I have found. My springers run hard, and these vests definitely cut down on the number of cuts and pokes at the end of the day.
ProsCoverage area, durability.
By HeBeGeeBee
Genoa, Ohio
BestVest
March 24, 2021
Excellent quality and coverage. Had one previously for an older dog, bought another for a new pup. Always interesting to see a dog react to new vests or boots.
By Anton
New Jersey
Nice vest
March 18, 2021
Only had a chance to use this product once this season, seems to fit well .like the fact it has several straps for adjusting for different size dogs.Most likely a good idea to run your dog with it before your season starts to have time to adjust it properly .
By LMB
Northern MN
Visible Dog vest
March 18, 2021
Easy on/off, great visibility when off in woods or ahead on trail. Great purchase!
By Matt
MI
Small fits 38lb French Brittany well
February 3, 2021
I ordered a small and medium for my 10 month old French brittany thinking he may need a medium as he fills out. The small fits him well now, and there is adjustment room available as he fills out. So returning the medium.
ProsOverall quality is good, sturdy material, seems like it will last awhile.
By Robert
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Dog Vest
January 29, 2021
Excellent dog vest! Very well built and adjusts to fit the dog perfectly. Paw openings are just the right size for the dog to wear comfortably for hours at a time. Highly recommend this dog vest.
ProsGreat price, very tough material, comfortable for the dog to wear all day long, easy to adjust.
ConsNone. Works great!
By PAUL N.
New Mexico
Sylmar Vest
January 28, 2021
Fits well, softens with a wash on gentle cycle. Covers chest and belly. Dog gets excited when I take it out.
ProsFits well.
ConsA bit stiff when new, but washing on gentle cycle softens it up.
By Stewy
Pa
As described
January 26, 2021
All in all I am happy with this vest I have not used it yet but it is of much better quality than other vest I’ve bought for the same price. I expect this to perform wonderfully. It seems extremely durable. Last but not least it fits our male gsp perfectly. The size guide on the web site is 100% on.
ProsFit Perceived durability (haven't used yet) Price Sizing guide
ConsTook a little while to get Is a bit stiff but I have no doubt it will break in with use
By Dennis M.
Beecher, Illinois
Fits great
January 22, 2021
Seems well made, fits her great.
By Barry D.
South Carolina
Great protection!
January 16, 2021
Just returned home from five day hunting trip to Kansas and Sylmar Body Guard vest worked great, protecting my shorthairs belly. Quality and fit also great no problems with staying in place through out the day.
By Boyd G.
Nebraska
Best vest on market
January 13, 2021
There are other chest protectors and I have tried most of them. Others have to much room around front leg opening and will rub the front 2 tits on a female. Always come back to sylmar body guard.
ProsProtects tits, light weight and seems to mold to dog with the 3 straps
By Jason P.
Butlerville, Arkansas
Great fit and good chest protection from barbwire and thorns.
January 6, 2021
My Boykin Spaniel was getting beat up by barbwire fences and thorns/briars. She normally wears an orange vest that covers her shoulders and back. It provides good visibility, but little protection underneath where most cuts occur. This new vest provides protection and visibility.
ProsGood fit, protection, and visibility.
By Stephen
Arkansas
Quality Vest
December 31, 2020
This item is well made! It is little big for my 30 lb. Brittany and I ordered size small. I had to adjust the straps all the way in so it fit. I had to cut the excess off the straps I do recommend this American made vest Thanks Gun Dog Supply!
ProsSturdy material (Orange)
ConsJust a little big for my Brit. But works.
By Greg
Minneapolis
Quality dog vest
December 30, 2020
Very well built and offers great protection
By Bob S.
Madison Wi.
Great vest
December 29, 2020
Just what I wanted.
ProsGreat visibility
ConsMake sure it fits your dog correctly (snug)...hard to adjust in the field
By Andrew
Wyoming Michigan
Dog vest
December 25, 2020
Love it sure works good keeps the dog from getting all scratch up
ProsVery easy to get on and adjust to fit
ConsIt takes the dog a little time to get use to it
By rachel
lafayette, OR
durable vest
December 23, 2020
use our vest for upland hunting in SD. very durable and fits well
By Bert B.
Montana
Great dog vest!!!
December 23, 2020
I have purchased a number of dog vests over the years and this is the best quality and value of all of them. Easy to adjust to fit my dog and excellent quality of materials and design.
By Nate S.
Johnston, Iowa
The best dog vest on the market!
December 23, 2020
I’ve tried many vests on my three vizslas, and all but the Sylmar rubbed their ‘armpits’ (under front legs) raw. These cheaper vests did far more harm than good. This has never been the case with the Sylmar vest. I use medium vests for both my male and female vizslas. We hunt upland game (primarily pheasant) in Iowa. The vest design is of quality, and holds up in nearly all conditions. The orange color is additionally helpful for locating the dogs in taller grass. Highly recommend.
ProsFit, quality, color. Gun Dog Supply customer service is also great.
ConsMore expensive than many other vests, but deservingly so. Worth the investment.
By Customer
Belle Plaine Iowa
GREAT VEST
December 21, 2020
Great vest fit is perfect I like the way it comes up the side not only for more protection but it gives you more room to adjust . I have had others and this one is the best by far.
Prosgreat build, great fit, more protection, price is right in the ball park
Consnone
By Mike
Grapeview, WA
Protect your dogs underside and chest.
December 21, 2020
We purchased one for our Braque pointer and another for the lab, both females. Pleased with the level of protection we seen. Very good quality , I would recommend. The lab tangled with some downed barb wire this weekend and the vest helped keep the damage to a minimum! She would have been in the vet office, had she not had the vest on.
ProsTrue sizing, good quality all around and ease of getting on the dog.
ConsNone at this point.
By George
Wisconsin
Good quality
December 21, 2020
Very well made, looks like it will last. I had a cheaper vest with velcro straps that would get junk in it. These snaps are much better. Doesn't bother the dog at all and makes her much more visible to other hunters.
By Sam
Kansas
Good vest, but must have been redesigned
December 21, 2020
Vest works well, but doesn’t fit as well as one I have from about 3-4 years ago. I can only assume it was redesigned and made to fit heftier dog breeds. I ordered the same vest and size as my older one and the new one fits much looser. Still works well!
By Robert
Welcome, NC
Safety First
December 21, 2020
Deer season in NC can be a dangerous time to have your dog running through the woods, even if it is around your property line. This vest protects Remi from the briars and brush piles she finds while keeping her visible for the hunters in the woods. The blaze orange also gives me the comfort of knowing I can easily spot her on her runs. I love the fit and the easy on-and-off clips. We have used it over a month now everyday and with a quick rinse it still looks like new.
ProsWide fit range Bright color Durable
ConsA bit pricey but concluded it's worth it Straps too long but allows for wider fit range. I had to roll them up and duct tape them so they don't flap around
By Dan B.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Great vest
December 21, 2020
I have owned several different brands of vests. I own both orange and green. Easy to see, easy to put on, easy to clean. Very rugged. Protects my dog well.
ProsEasy to put on. Fits my dog well.
By Rusty O.
Southwest Missouri
Good for protection and visibility on my GSP
December 20, 2020
I have been hunting with this vest this season, and I have been pleased with the fact that my 50lb GSP has not had any rubbing or chafing. That said, the fit (M) is a bit big and gaps on the front. I purchased the vest primarily to help with briars, but I have really pleased with how it helps me keep up with your in the tall grass when hunting pheasants. Overall, good vest and worth the money.
Pros- durability - visibility - easy to get on
Cons- fit
By Tracy K.
OK
good vest
December 20, 2020
Good vest I can see my dog better. Only comment is be aware of the buckles across the back and barbed wired my dog got hung up on a fence first day she had it on. She has since figured it out and likes wearing it.
By Dkn
Idaho
Good protection for your dog
December 20, 2020
This vest does a great job to protect the under side of my brittany. The only thing I would change is to add some kind of fleece or softer material the the high friction points because it really irritated my dog's skin. It did very very well at protecting my dog's underside. May work better on harrier dogs.
ProsWell built, great protection Fits as measured
ConsRubs sores on skin Things get stuck between vest and dogs skin and cause irritation
By Matt
PA
So far so good
December 20, 2020
The landscape in Pa is rough, bird hunting is rough as well....needed a hard working vest for a hard working dog from a hard working company
ProsSeems to be holding up quite nicely
ConsI ordered one size to big....but we are making it work
By Curr
Yankton, SD
Great for Goldens
December 19, 2020
I brought my Golden duck hunting and there were a ton of cockle burrs around us she was covered with them. I was going pheasant hunting the next week and new I had to get something. I bought one for my golden and for my lab. It really helped with their bellies being rubbed raw to. They worked great and they really didn’t mind them at all. Great product!
By Tom S.
Cincinnati, OH
Solid Vest!
December 19, 2020
Works perfect for my Wirehaired Pointing Griffon. Added bonus is week seed protection making it much easy to brush my dogs out after our hunts.
ProsSimple Lightweight Durable
ConsSlightly loose around the upper chest
By Matt
MI
Works perfectly
December 19, 2020
After my Field Cocker took a few minor nicks and abrasions on our first hunt together I picked up this vest. It works great. Did a quick "get used to it" session in the yard and off we went. Easy on, easy off. Easy to clean. She runs great with it, acts completely the same and she doesn't get scratched up grouse hunting.
By Les
New stanton pa
Good vest
December 19, 2020
English cocker has outgrown xs vest and replaced with a small vest. It has protected her well for 2 years and is still in great shape. Highly recommend.
ProsChest protecttion
ConsStraps collects burrs.
By John
Klingville, MI
Good fit and visible.
December 19, 2020
This is the 2nd one I purchased. The first one lasted about a year. Although I don't hunt my dog a lot, she wears a vest often around our farm, for visibility and chest protection. The old one was pretty faded due to use and after one of the snaps pulling loose on a bird hunt this fall, the old vest was peeled off later in the hunt and lost. The large fits my 65-lb draht perfectly and has adjustment capacity to fill out if needed (she is on the lean side). The new one is highly visible. The minor stiffness of the new fabric causes a little chafing still, but it is more of a post-hunt issue and does not hinder her during the hunt. In addition to visibility and chest protection, it provides the dog "handles" for things like vet visits. Other than the strap failure on the first one (again, after a year of usage), I like everything about the vest, and so does the dog. She knows when it gets pulled out that she is going to run some woods and fields, maybe even hunt. Picture shows the new one and the old one from this past summer and fall, just before replacing it.
ProsFabric seems protective High visibility Very good fit
ConsDurability is probably about a year or so, as such the price is significant. Will fade with use. It will likely be well faded before straps give out.
By Marty
Verona, WI
Worth it!!
December 18, 2020
This is a great product! Well priced. Made very well! I needed an extra dog bodyguard jacket for an upcoming hunt in another state. This product was extremely easy to get on and off and did not slow my dog down whatsoever. The high visibility color was excellent and protected my dogs underbelly when hunting very thick grass and other nasty terrain. I ended up running into another hunter in that state I went to who’s dog had the exact same jacket so I thought to myself that was pretty cool! True story!
ProsEase-of-use, great visibility, very well-made, fit dog great, well made!
ConsCan't think of any. Just make sure to follow the measurement guidelines.
By Sue
Morrison, Illinois
Great protection
December 17, 2020
Use this on my hard running GWP. Offers great protection and still allows movement. She gets very excited when I pull out her vest as she knows what it means.
ProsLong lasting, durable even with washing
By Mike
Iow
Sylmar vest
December 13, 2020
Durable vest that protects the dogs chest. Use it on my female springer with no issues.
ProsDurable Highly visable Easy to put on
ConsHard to keep clean Stains easily Needs to be longer
By Tim S.
Shakopee, MN
BUY IT
December 11, 2020
The dog vests I was finding in retail stores were all such garbage so finally I talked to my cousin who has a hunting dog and he recommended the Gun Dog Supply vest. I wanted something to help other hunters and me see my dog more clearly in the field and something that would protect her chest from possible injury. A friend of mine actually lost a dog from it getting stabbed in the chest by a sharp stick while hunting. I bought the medium for my small, slim red lab and it fits her great. She's about 52 pounds. I can't tell you how awesome it is to feel like she is protected in the field and I feel like she actually likes putting it on, kind of like her game day uniform. Anyway, I'd highly suggest that you buy this vest. It's a superior gun dog product.
ProsAdjustable, visable, protective, comfortable
ConsThe 3 straps on the top don't need to be so long.
By Jonah
Oregon
Better than most
December 9, 2020
I got this vest for my bordercollie/golden retriever mix. I bought a large anticipating he would grow more, however he topped out pretty small. The nice thing was all I had to do was cut the straps shorter. It fits him great, helps keep burrs out of his fur and allows me to see him at distance. We bird hunt and shed hunt and it comes in handy especially through thick brush. The labrador has a different vest I bought from a pet store and it has not held up nearly as well as the Sylmar dog vest. Hers will be upgraded to one of these when it fully wears out.
ProsLight, quiet, visible
By Customer
Boston
Decent
November 22, 2020
I’ve tried many vests ..... none of them fit well. This one I had to cut it up to fit. I gave it 2 stars because belly protection is good.
By Louis
Hudson, zNy
Indispensable
November 21, 2020
Important item to protect your hard working dog in thick cover. This vest takes a beating and saves todos one in exchange. Also excellent to spray it with permethrin on exterior side to protect your dog from tics. I won’t hunt my dog without one
ProsSturdy and highly visible Easy to put on and take off Well tolerated by dog
ConsNone
By Pete
Magnolia, TX
Very tough and protects belly, but chafes my labs elbows badly.
November 20, 2020
Tough as nails. Maybe too tough. Great protection but badly chafes my lab after only a half day of use so cannot use on upland trips. Have tried on 2019 trip and on recent 2020 trip. May be good for different build of dog.
ProsProtects underside of dog well. Easy dry and clean up. Tough as nails
ConsChafes dogs elbows
By Devan s.
Iowa
Great vest for my gsp's
November 17, 2020
Love the fit and the durability. Great for all day hunts in thick nasty brush. Also very nice for keeping my dog visible when hunting in large groups or thick cover! Does rub slightly on the inside of the front legs but after a few hunts they callus up.
ProsVisibility. Durable. Fit.
ConsOrange fades a little after a couple seasons. And little rubbing on front legs.
By Nate
Edwardsville, KS
Great product and great service
November 13, 2020
I've only used it once so far, but this is a great product. It is well made. I ordered the wrong size initially, but Gun Dog Supply swapped it out for the correct size with no issues. I would caution you to measure carefully. I didn't get a great measurement on my Shorthair's chest, but he weighs 60 pounds so I ordered the large. It turns out that he needed a medium. My one critique would be to suggest that the belly strap be attached lower on the vest. My GSP is skinny in this area and the strap is still a touch loose when fully tightened.
ProsWell built Heavy duty straps and buckles
Consbelly strap location
By John F.
Bay City Michigan
Built For The Uplands
November 12, 2020
This is my 2nd Sylmar vest. My first one was 20 years old and still had the original straps and buckles! It had some tears in it from years of hard use and was faded. This new vest seems every bit as good and should last just as long. Plus, it is bright and I can see it in the thick brush.
ProsGood material, easy to put on and take off.
ConsI really don't have any cons. I wash them by hand with a small amount of laundry detergent when they are new to soften the material and get some of the fresh coloring out.
By Mike
North Carolina.
Vest
November 11, 2020
Very pleased.
ProsGood quality
ConsNone
By Gary H.
Kansas
Great vest, great quality
November 11, 2020
ordered this vest years ago for my upland lab. She has since died and it now belongs to my new upland lab. Not a single rip or tear anywhere, i was a little skeptical about the plastic buckles holding up in harsh Kansas conditions, but they're good thick plastic and have held up for years now with no problems. A few frayed edges and stuff on the vest here and there but that's it!! Its nice cordura material so it keeps the burs, thorns, and sharp grasses from hurting my dog. Will never use a different vest, if anything ever happens to this one, i'll immediately purchase another just like it.
ProsGreat quality and longevity
ConsFront leg holes sometimes rub on the dogs legs and give them raw spots after long days in the field.
By Ron
Montana
Well Made
October 17, 2020
The vest is well made. Our dog, however, was right on the boundary between the medium and large size. We ordered the large and and it was a bit big for him. We used it for a recent pheasant hunt in very brushy habitat and it did a great job of keeping the burrs off the dog and with the exception of one seam that started to pull loose it held up well. Since the vest was a bit too big, it did cause some significant rubbing and irritation with hair loss on both the front legs. My wife had ordered the medium size before we left on the hunting trip to see if it would fit better, but it did not arrive before we left (it was ordered late, so it wasn't a surprise). We tried it on the dog when we got home and it was actually too small and would likely cause rubbing as well. I don't think the problem is with the vest, it is the fact that our dog is right on the bubble between the sizes. We sent the medium vest back and will try to adapt the large one to make it fit better.
ProsWell made and tough. It provides good visibility in heavy cover. Made in the USA.
ConsDoesn't quite fit a dog that's in between sizes.
By Charles H.
PA
Meets or exceeds my needs/expectations
October 16, 2020
Very good quality and easy to adjust. My Lab got used to wearing it very quickly! I would buy it again and recommend it to others.

Page 1 of 5
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2021, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.