Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


4.4
98 Reviews
5
60% (59)
4
26% (25)
3
10% (10)
2
2% (2)
1
2% (2)
96% Recommend this product (94 of 98 responses)
By Lynn
Yorktown, Virginia
Awesome Bright Lights
January 3, 2021
I have purchased 4 of these now. The first was amber which lasted several years. This time I ordered green, blue and red. I find the green to be the brightest. The control button on these is much easier to push than the first one purchased years ago. I use them daily to keep track of the dogs while out at night. Totally recommend this product Lynn P
ProsBright Easy to change modes
ConsDoesn't slide onto a collar wider than the e-collar and have to use clip
By annie
Roberts, Montana
Perfect collar for labs at hunting camp
December 27, 2020
know where your dog is easily with this light
By Patrick
Rumford, RI
Good product, difficult to turn on and off
December 7, 2020
I use this light regularly with my Brittany. Lasts a long time, waterproof but the on/off button is very small. It also is so slightly raised that it is diffcult to find the correct pressure. I end up taking my glove off and using the point of my keys to switch on/off. Could be a better design..... P.S. I am 63 y/o, good eyesight, but not perfect. Overall, very satisfied with GDS products and service.
By John
Oklahoma
Good product
September 25, 2020
Very bright, met my expectations. Only complaint is the on/off button. Rather hard to operate. Not a deal breaker for me though.
ProsVery Bright Stays on collar
ConsHard to operate the on/off switch
By Dean
Massachusetts
Great light
September 16, 2020
Nice light. Very bright. The only drawback for me is it’s hard to turn on and off, I have to use a pointed instrument to get the button to work, not a deal breaker for me as I carry a pocket knife anyway. Happy with the light.
By Denis S.
WI
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
October 18, 2018
I just love it - using it often, works great, good battery life. Easy to install and operate. I can see my dog in dark far away. For those who do walk late in dark, specially when there is no light on the street and your dog is darker skin - perfect protection - not just YOU see the dog - but the unexpecting driver does too. Tracking at night in woods another good use. I use 2 on 1 collar at 10 minutes to 2 positions. I also purchased this for friends (also few for breeder of my pudelpointer in Czech republic) - everybody loves it. Great present.
By Elizabeth W.
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
October 12, 2018
The visibility of the light for tracking the exact location is ideal for early morning , dusk and at night. Our GSP is brown so he is difficult to see. Good safety beacon too. On/off button a bit of challenge. Good product- purchased three.
By JOHN K.
IN
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
October 12, 2018
By Jeff H.
MA
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
October 11, 2018
As usual, everything from GDS is top of the line. I use this when Jasper(GSP) and I go out just before sunrise so I can keep track of him in low light. Plenty bright and has never failed, even after days of swimming.
By James E.
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
October 23, 2016
To hard to turn on and off
By Pamela D.
MI
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
October 17, 2016
Difficult to activate.
By Chad B.
MS
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
October 16, 2016
I can see my dog real easy when hunting at night with these lights on his collar.
By Patrick C.
QC
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
October 15, 2016
Very bright! I would have liked it better if it could fit on every collar, and if it could be rechargeable with USB connection.
By Hal T.
VA
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
August 10, 2016
Great especially for the 0430 walks before work. I used carabiner to attach the light to his lead, and I've had drivers comment that the flashing is even more visible than my reflectorized vest.
By Cindy M.
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
August 7, 2016
works as advertised Only problem is too hard turning it off and on
By Shannon H.
IL
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
July 22, 2016
We are running at night during the summer to beat the heat. We run around some public roads. Not only do I feel my dogs are safer now, but I can easily tell now when my dogs cross first lol. One time dogs crossed a bean field at just over a mile according to the Garmin. Could still see these lights pretty well!
By Lyle M.
IL
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
July 15, 2016
Light is very bright, and the strobe feature is nice. The on/off switch seems difficult to find and push for the off/on and strobe modes.
By Jen P.
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
June 10, 2016
I added this light to my new Garmin 70. With both lights on his collar he is very visible at night. I love it.
By Kent J.
WI
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
June 7, 2016
Excellent visibility. On/off switch is a bit difficult to work. Other than that it's great!
By George W.
MI
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
March 22, 2016
I bought three of these and they work well. The only negative is that two of the three are sometimes hard to turn off.
By David C.
PA
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
March 18, 2016
The light fits perfectly on the shock collar that we bought before here. The light shines really bright and can be seen at least a half mile away. The two modes work both extremely well, but preferred the constantly on.
By Zach
NY
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
March 10, 2016
So far these lights have been great. I recently purchased the Garmin Delta XC e-collar and these have been a great addition. When I am out running/training my dog at dusk or in the dark these make her extremely visible. I purchased two and position them on each side of the e-collar so I can see here from either side. I read the reviews complaining that they are hard to turn on and off but I like the buttons and their difficulty. They are not going to turn on/off by themselves.
By Kent R.
NH
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
February 21, 2016
I wish I had a couple of these things years ago. They really do make your dog visible and safer at night.
By Kathy M.
OH
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
February 15, 2016
I gave it 5 stars even with the power button not being the easiest thing to maneuver. Once we figured it out we were better but it would be nice if they come up with an easier way to turn it on and off. I have to use a thumb nail to hold that tiny little button in. That is the only issue I have with it. You won't find a brighter light! We have 1 1/3 acres and he cannot hide at night when this thing is lit! It's great! If it is snowing hard we switch it to strobe light and he is easily visible. It does tend to slide down his shock collar but it hasn't slid off so we are careful. I love it and will probably end up getting a second color.
By Paul B.
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
January 29, 2016
Bright white light. Seems to work better hanging from the fob that comes with the light otherwise the fur seems to block it out. Works great.
By Philip G.
ON
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
January 27, 2016
I've been using a blue locator beacon for about a year now and my black lab has tested it thoroughly. Crashing through the the bush, swimming, and wrestling with other dogs. It's still running on the original batteries. I bought the green one for a few reasons. When the light was on the side away from me I wasn't sure where my dog was and at times (ears cover the light sometimes) wasn't sure if he was coming at me or away from me. My dog and I have almost been hit a few times by cars at a four way stop so two light makes us more visible. With two different color lights I know what direction he is going. I recommend this beacon to all my friends who own dogs.
By Barbara M.
PA
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
January 19, 2016
The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because the light goes out after a few minutes when it is cold outside.
By Cynthia P.
NY
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
January 9, 2016
These are great for keeping track of my girls when they are in the woods at night. They respond when I call them, but sometimes I just like to let them run, and these lights let me keep track of where they are.
By Randy N.
AR
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
January 4, 2016
Great product. Gives confidence when blood trailing at night.
By David F.
MO
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
January 4, 2016
This is an excellent product. I can see my dogs at night when I take them for my morning walk. If I had to hunt at night. This would be visible for a long distance. Love the product. I've already suggested it to a friend, and they love theirs too.
By Joe
CT
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
December 23, 2015
This light is great. It straps onto the collar, so it can't fall off. Had a similar version from another dog catalog that starts with O and ends with vis. It was junk for more money. It just clipped on and was gone in a month.
By Ray (.
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
December 6, 2015
These lights are awesome! They are bright and easy to see in the dark. I take my dog out in the dark, and these are fantastic and easy to see across a 2+ acre field. I'd happily recommend these to anyone wanting to see their dog in the dark.
By BRIAN S.
VA
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
November 25, 2015
Very nice and bright.
By Kathleen W.
NY
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
November 13, 2015
I am very happy with the brightness of the light, but I find it very difficult to turn on and off.
By Randy B.
MN
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
September 15, 2015
Works well. Nice for early morning walks.
By Steven D.
FL
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
September 10, 2015
Great light and so far water proof too.
By Kenneth J.
NC
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
August 31, 2015
Going to order another one in the next few days.
By Robert P.
OR
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
August 16, 2015
We live on 10 acres of farmland and neighbors with livestock. I can see where my dog is and isn't with just one of these locator Beacons. Great product! I use it with one of Gun Dog Supply's reflective collars every night while checking sprinklers etc...
By Frank Y.
NY
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
August 10, 2015
Came with dead batteries.
By DANIEL B.
VA
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
August 8, 2015
This is a very bright light, and I especially like the strobe feature, which makes it very easy to see my dog in the woods at night.
By Benjamin B.
WY
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
July 1, 2015
I bought one last fall for keeping track of my Lab while I set up for ducks in the dark. I hunt mostly public land, and mostly by myself, so I usually have to carry my gear long distances from the truck and make several trips. I let him run around during this time to burn up some energy, and the light really helps me keep tabs on him. I liked the light so much that I just bought two more (one to hang on my truck, and one to put on my gear), so I can go straight from one to the other easily in the dark.
By Karen B.
OH
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
May 15, 2015
Product is good, but I can't use it because it interferes with his boundary collar.
By Ann H.
OH
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
March 1, 2015
Light itself is wonderful. But on/off button is a nightmare to operate, and I don't have arthritic hands!
By James M.
TX
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
February 12, 2015
Light is large and bright. A much smaller LED would have been sufficient for locating the dogs. A smaller light would take less collar space while extending battery life.
By Michael R.
NY
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
February 7, 2015
Good product, but frustrating ON/Off button.
By SDH
TX
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
January 15, 2015
Shipping was very fast and products are first rate.
By Jeremy D.
WV
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
January 15, 2015
Brightest locator beacon I have found!!! Great product.
By Ashley Y.
KS
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
January 5, 2015
Works great have not had any problems with it yet. A worry about these lights is that if the dog hits a tree wrong, the light might come unscrewed. It is a very simple twist that makes the battery compartment come apart which would cause the light to fall apart.
By James B.
OH
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
December 26, 2014
The opening to slide the collar through could be opened up a little more. Had to modify with a file to get it to slide through.
By James M.
MN
Review for SportDOG Locator Beacon Dog Safety and Location Light
December 24, 2014
Bright and light.

Page 1 of 2
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2020, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.