Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


Review Summary
4.7
118 Reviews
5
78% (92)
4
14% (17)
3
7% (8)
2
0% (0)
1
1% (1)
99% Recommend this product (117 of 118 responses)
By Stuart
Minneapolis, MN
skid plate review
January 27, 2021
I have an earlier skid plate just like this one that I have used for two years while hunting pheasants. It has worked great, easy to put on, rugged material and protects the dog well. A good addition to your hunting supplies. I like it a lot.
By ERIC
VERMONT
GREAT PRODUCT
January 4, 2021
Great visibility and added protection for my GSP, without adding much weight and nothing to over heat the dog
Prosvisibility adjustability Very easy to put on great protection for the dogs chest and belly
Consnone yet
By Tony
Connecticut
The best
December 30, 2020
Very happy with the protection the vests provided to my griff. Super strong and looks like it'll last for years. After wasting money on flimsy vests I am now set and have confidence this will protect my baby.
ProsLight Strong Blaze orange is very bright
ConsNone
By Mark M.
Missouri
Visibility and protection
December 30, 2020
I initial bought this to provide some safety for my mostly white GSP in the snow. She's very difficult to see with a collar alone. I was worried about her overheating with some of the other designs, which seem to favor duck hunting. I had also previously used a similar vest to this to help with visibility in the snow, but it used velcro to attach so it didn't stay on well when hunting really brushing cover. The Mendota is the ticket with it's buckle strap closures, minimal but sufficient design and tough material. If you have big running upland dogs, this is the best designed dog vest I've seen.
ProsI chose this product for the buckle closures, tough fabric, and that it won't overheat the dog like other designs.
ConsMy only improvement would be to have the waste buckle (closest to tail) attach on the side of the dog, because the plastic buckle sits on top of the high point of the spine. I adjusted the straps to help the buckle sit to the side to prevent rubbing, but it's not perfect. Having the strap on one side designed to be longer than the other side would easily solve this problem by making the buckle close on the dog's side. My finger is on my dog's spine in the photo below to help show this.
By jeff a.
CA
A good investment!
December 28, 2020
After an unfortunate incident in the field and a substantial vet bill it seems hindsight is always 20/20. So I purchased this item on several recommendations and am happy with my puppys' comfort and my piece of mind. Easy to adjust and easy to place on my dog.
By Randy
Cedarville, MI
Well made protector
December 26, 2020
This has worked well. Easy to put in and adjust. My setter is about 35 lbs with a deep but narrow chest. Small fits well.
ProsEasy to put on and adjust. Seems well made and durable
ConsNone
By John
Northern IL
Mendota Skid Plate
December 23, 2020
Would recommend this product wholeheartedly! Easy to use and protects our Braque Franciase's underbelly wonderfully.
By Rich
St. Michael, MN
Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
December 22, 2020
Excellent fit for my black lab. Second one I've purchased as he outgrew his first. The skid plate offers great protection in heavy brush and also protects against barbwire fences. Would highly recommend for your dog!
ProsEasy on and off. Washable. Great protection for the dog.
ConsNone
By Bob
Burlington WI
Good Product
December 21, 2020
I ordered this for my French Brittany (in standard) and it is a good product but, even made as small as possible it is still to large. While hunting, 3 times she came back to me with a front paw hobbled thru the neck space. Wish they made it in Extra Small for the smallest hunting breeds but understand that they would not sell a bunch of them.
ProsWell built, extra layer of cordura to help prevent abrasions and increase durability.
ConsCannot be made small enough for the smallest of the hunting breeds.
By Anthony B.
Pennsylvania
Mendota Skid Plate
December 21, 2020
Nice fit. One change I had to make was a notch/cut out so my male dog did not urinate on the bottom/skid plate. Dog is a male Lab average size. Well built just a tad long on the bottom.
By JAMES H.
WY
Skidplate
December 20, 2020
Its working good, and appears to be durable enough to hold up.
ProsThe fluorescent orange color makes it easier to find my short, mostly black dog in the sagebrush.
By Brian
Charles City, Iowa
Good product
December 19, 2020
This product has good quality and I can expand it as my yellow lab grows. I would recommend this product for anyone
By Dave D.
Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Excellent product!
December 15, 2020
I bought the Mendota Skid Plate Vest for my 2 setters after trying a hook and loop style that didn't fit well and kept coming off. The adjustable straps on the Mendota vest allowed me to custom fit them for each dog and the open design prevented overheating on those warmer fall days. With 50 plus days in a variety of terrains in the grouse and woodcock woods of Michigan's Upper Peninsula the Mendota vest protected my dogs bellies and the handle on the back was great for correcting the dogs during training.
ProsEasily adjustable straps, durable material, highly visible orange color
ConsNone
By Jeff
Virginia
Very happy with size L(Large)
November 29, 2020
Very happy with high vis and protection Purchased for my English labrador, black. She's 9mos, solid 65lbs. I purchased for visibility during dear season and as prep for getting pup used to neoprene vest. I really like this vest. She's a waterfowl dog and I like to be able to see her when we are in the brush and field training. I should have purchased long ago.
ProsVisibility Fit Adjustments
ConsNone
By #uplandqueen
Southwest Michigan
Better then expected
October 13, 2020
Bought this to help my 10 month old lab when she's running grouse and woodcock. Got it fit to her and haven't looked back. Must have for any upland running pup.
ProsTrue to size Light weight Good adjusting
ConsA little tough to clean but who really cares.
By Whiskey B.
Wyoming
Exactly what we wanted for our adventurous Bully
October 11, 2020
Believe it or not our athletic English Bulldog loves to grouse hunt with her Chocolate Lab sister. She is a bulldozer through the brush, but her belly was getting beaten up. As her chest is so big versus her length, we got a medium and cinch the back 2 straps together to stop the back strap falling over her hind end, but it is still perfect. It has worked really well.
By Thompson T.
In the Smokey Northwest
A Tank
September 18, 2020
My puddlepointer loves it. She’s a tank in the brush. Have friend that did have a puddlepointer but lost it because of stick in the chest. I don’t want that.
ProsAll pros
ConsNo cons
By Kurt S.
Iowa
Mendota Skid Plate
September 4, 2020
appears to be well built but at this time have not put it to the test.
By Justin
Albertville, MN
Nice Fitting Vest
September 2, 2020
Fits as expected! Sizing guide was very helpful and better than what i found on Mendota's site. Vest holds up well to abuse and is doing a good job keeping my chocolate lab protected!
By Patrick F.
SD
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
October 11, 2018
By S H.
TX
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
October 10, 2018
Don't like the orange color.
By Kenneth J.
IL
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
November 24, 2016
We hunt in Montana and Kansas, it saves the dogs belly from the grass and brush. I wouldn't send my dogs out without one.
By CORY C.
Ut
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
November 18, 2016
Great product saves the breasts and tits from injury when hunting in thick brush. Light enough that won't cause overheating
By Brian
MN
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
November 10, 2016
Adjustable, custom fit won't chafe your dog.
By Robert R.
WI
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
November 5, 2016
The skid plate was perfect for my Brittney. We hunt some aspen stands for grouse and woodcock with a heavy blackberry understory. I can quickly put it on and Jaz goes right to work with great protection and noticeably less irritation from all the thorns. Very good product.
By Steve A.
MN
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
October 25, 2016
Have used it several hunts now. Fits great no rubbing or chafing. I ordered a small, very happy with the fit. Also the harness is great for lifting the dog up.
By Brendan S.
Mi
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
October 22, 2016
Fits great! Definitely holds up to the elements encountered in the field.
By Mark
MN
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
October 22, 2016
I have a older female dog and it could have been a couple of inches longer, to provide protection on one of her teats. It would be nice to have a model that's a couple of inches longer.
By Joseph E.
PA
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
October 17, 2016
Works and fits as advertised. I included the measurements with my order and was surprised to receive a response back almost immediately. The Skid Plate is good and I like it.
By Jim B.
MA
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
October 16, 2016
The best one there is, the only one our older lab hasn't trashed in less than a season. Hers is three years old and just got another for the pup.
By Daniel B.
IL
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
September 20, 2016
To short for long body of Irish Wolfhound.
By Alan N.
ON
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
July 31, 2016
It is still early for this piece of gear. That said, it improves visibility (main reason for purchasing) and also seems to not overheat my pooch. So far it is meeting/exceeding expectations.
By William L.
VT
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
April 9, 2016
Holds up well and very adjustable.
By Mike S.
IL
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
March 17, 2016
Fits well. Easy to put on and take off.
By Paul C.
NE
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
February 2, 2016
Just wanted to say that the dog vest is good quality material. Works very very good, just want to say thanks.
By Jo S.
IL
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
January 7, 2016
Great for hiking free leash. Had problems with belly skin allergies and infection. So far good.
By Richard S.
OK
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
December 21, 2015
My dog is allergic to grass and has lost all the hair on her stomach. This allows me to hunt her without her stomach becoming all torn up. She is a 40lb dog, and I probably should have gotten a M instead of a S. There is not any adjustment left in the straps.
By Aaron O.
AR
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
December 17, 2015
Follow measurements for a perfect fit. Straps are now high vis orange. Even the buckles are American made and super strong. Way better than expected.
By Jeff B.
MN
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
December 10, 2015
Works great. Really protects the underbelly great. I really like the orange straps. They add a lot of visibility to the dog in heavy cover. Good product for the price. Jeff
By Margo L.
MI
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
December 9, 2015
The small fits our 30 lb Britanny well.
By Magdalena
KS
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
December 5, 2015
Works great. No chaving. Could've probably went a size up for our 60 lbs GSP. But he's hard to fit anything because of his large chest and petite body.
By Douglas K.
CO
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
November 30, 2015
hunted several days with this. It stays on (my dog has jumped out of the armholes on a neoprene vest), does not chafe under his forelegs, and stops much of the chest wear. Works great.
By Jim D.
ID
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
November 28, 2015
Great product. Well made, and it fits him very well.
By THOMAS D.
IL
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
November 28, 2015
Helps protect my GSPs chest and belly area from the wear and tear of heavy cover. They seem to actually like wearing it. Not at all confining.
By Lindsay L.
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
November 24, 2015
What a saver in the field!
By Jim N.
MN
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
November 20, 2015
Sizing isn't completely accurate for the German Shorthaired Pointer with deep chests. Tight at openings around front arm (leg?) pits causes chafing. Could really use larger leg openings or a softer material to prevent this.
By CRAIG S.
OR
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
November 16, 2015
This is well-made, does what it's designed to do, and I expect it to last for some time.
By Dale W.
PA
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
November 14, 2015
Quality skid plate for rugged wear. Good fit.
By James B.
MA
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
November 13, 2015
After going through countless other brands, this one works, stays on the dog and is built to suit her aggressive personality when on scent. Stop messing around and get this one!
By Brian G.
MA
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
November 6, 2015
my dog does not even notice he is wearing this skid plate. He is much less hesitant to really dive through the thick brush and he doesn't come home covered in scratches and cuts. so far it is holding up great and size was perfect. As someone else mentioned, the straps are orange not black which makes more sense for visibility.

Page 1 of 3
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2020, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.