Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


4.7
42 Reviews
5
83% (35)
4
12% (5)
3
2% (1)
2
0% (0)
1
2% (1)
95% Recommend this product (40 of 42 responses)
By Customer
Newnan ,Ga.
sd 425x
July 20, 2021
So far so good. Only used it once so far been on vacation.
By Lisa D.
Canton ct
Two Labs
July 10, 2021
Great collar for training...we have two labs ..got one for one dog liked it so much we decided to purchase another one.....Your products and customer service A+
ProsAll pros!!!
By McKenzie
Wisconsin
Great Training Collar!
July 2, 2021
This collar is exactly what I was looking for to train my 1 year old German Shepard. He is very sensitive to e-collars so the option for Vibrate/Tone is perfect for him. However, it does go up to a level 7 if needed! I loved that it came with a DVD and information packet if you are new to e-collar training. Shipping and communication were excellent as well!
By Ted
Brandon, MS
Replaced a SportDOG I had for 4 years.
May 27, 2021
Works fine, liked the previous button for sound only without turning the knob.
ProsThe range of shock is great, I rarely need to use the collar and then at a barely noticeable level.
ConsFeel I must test on mysefl every time as I find the different level settings not easy to remember. Like the mild setting.
By Will
Mississippi
Great collar
May 13, 2021
This is my 2nd one 1st one still works great just needed another. A+ product, and Gun Dog Supply is always 1st class.
By Customer
Wausaukee Wisconsin
E collar observations
May 7, 2021
This is a great choice for smaller hunting dogs like my Brittany. Some I have tried are just too bulky and heavy for a 30 pound dog. Love this one. Simple to use too.
ProsGood size for my Brittany.
ConsThe contacts are a bit long, in my opinion, but dog I'd doing ok with the. I would like to see a shorter option with the setup.
By Matt
Wisconsin
Great Product
April 20, 2021
This training collar helped with Blaze's training so much. He did great on leash, but once he was off leash, it was a big of a struggle. We followed the tips that came on the training DVD and they work great! Blaze does not mind the collar at all and gets excited when we get it out to put it on. He knows he is going to get to run and work.
ProsEasy to use, easy to follow instructions, battery life. Great training DVD.
By Terry
NJ
Steve's Recommendation
April 17, 2021
Steve at Gun Dog Supply recommended this for my needs. It fits perfectly. I like the smaller box/receiver as a have a smaller breed. Remote is easy to use. The option of only using tone/sound is a feature I was looking for. I think it's a nice collar at a very reasonable price.
ProsChecks off all my needs
ConsNone so far
By Laura
W. Oregon
Very Happy with this product
April 14, 2021
Bought this on my brother's recommendation for a 2 yr old english shepherd who had decided he enjoyed visiting the neighbors (and their livestock) without adult supervision. With three weeks of daily training with this remote training collar his recall is now 100% and he stays on the farm. We can now walk off property off leash with confidence, and he is living his best life as a free range hole diggin' squirrel chasin' farm dog. We are all much happier (especially the neighbors).
ProsEasy to use and I thought the video was super helpful. You can return the collar if this system doesn't work for you.
ConsI was not a fan of the written training directions-but very happy once I watched the video-and if you have a hairy dog you need to make sure the points are in contact with the dogs' skin.
By Bubba
Castaic, CA
"Peace" of mind
April 14, 2021
I am not cheap but, hate to spend needlessly, buying something thar is overkill. I was hesitant and sweating to buy this SD 425X (spending this much money) however, after I had it in hand and used it on my dog, I was at peace in my mind with getting it! Able to customize buttons and control over intensity level, you are able to coordinate how you train and what will work on the dog. Not heavy or cumbersome, perfect for the pup I have (GWP).
ProsThe collar fits all neck sizes and very user friendly
ConsYou HAVE to read the manual...
By John K.
Michigan
Great Product
March 28, 2021
We have owned Gun Dog products before and have been very happy with their products. This training collar is easy to use and works well. We did have a difficult time with it at first, as we did not put the collar on tight enough. Our other Gun Dog collar we had worked well with being looser on our dog's neck. Once we realized it needed to be tighter, we had no problem and it worked very well. Highly recommend this collar.
By michael r.
Dubois, pa
sportdog 425
March 24, 2021
meat and exceled my expectation my golden is now controlled with just a few hours of training. Thank you .
By Bill
Albany, Oregon
Sport dog e-collars
March 24, 2021
The Sport Dog e-collars really are “gear like we would have designed.” Our English Setter is always busily birding when we are outside. The e-collar let’s us call her in when we can no longer see or hear her. Rarely do we need to use more than the tone button as she is well trained with these collars. We also use an e-collar for our Golden to discourage him from approaching everyone we meet while walking. (He thinks everyone wants to pet a Golden). We only use the tone on him—he learned quickly to return at the tone even even though he was six before we introduced him to the collar.
ProsThese collars are waterproof and appear to be comfortable for our dogs.
ConsWe have discovered that salt water and packed sand can-after three plus years of such abuse-cause the collar to "die."
By Audra
Texas
Customer Service
March 21, 2021
I love this company. I’ve purchased 3 sportdog collars from them and they’ve been great. The best part is the customer service, let’s face it you can order anything from anywhere, however can you call up and get a live person or the owner himself? I have had numerous consultations with them walking me through all my questions. You simply do not get that service anywhere now, they are a gem.
By runner515
washington the state
the best
March 18, 2021
like having various levels of attention getters, love the beep button, all i have to use after my dog required a couple of attention reminders, and really love the two hour recharge battery.
Prosall of the above
Consnone
By linbud
Polson, MT
Works well for us
February 12, 2021
After borrowing a different model from a friend we purchased this one since we did not the range the other offered. Once we got used to the different model we found this one to meet our needs. It is easy to use- I like the size of the transmitter and the range is sufficient. Our dog learns quickly and we rarely need to reinforce our commands. We adopted our lab a few months ago (she is about 3 yo) She ran wild in the woods behind our house when let loose, but now stays with us. We are also able to take her XC skiing and ice fishing and my husband is looking forward to pheasant season. The collar was also effective when training her to stay and wait.
ProsSize of transmitter.
ConsThe only con as compared to another model is that the tone button is not accessible without turning the levels dial. It would be nice to have its own button.
By Chad
Kentucky
Everything it's supposed to be.
January 24, 2021
This collar is perfect for trading around the house and yard. Perfect size for my 25lb Boston Terrier. All the features on this collar resemble that of the more expensive collars I've used training far ranging field trial bird dogs. For the price this collar cannot be beat.
ProsSize Ease of us Number of features Well rounded construction
ConsNone
By Jake
Ms.
The SD-425x functions as advertised. It is instant and has a good range. I am pleased.
January 21, 2021
Although I have not used the collar extensively, it has functioned as I needed. I will use it only after the dog knows my commands and then only when she refuses or delays too much. Having corrective control at a distance is a good way to avoid or correct problems of failing to obey when I am sure the dog knows what is expected.
By Dan
Milwaukee, WI
Very happy with the purchase
January 19, 2021
We found the website helpful, informing us to make an informed choice as to which training collar to try out. And "try out" was fantastic with the 30-day trial period, giving us confidence to see if this would help. It didn't take long and we were sold. This collar worked great for our cattle dog. She came to us as a rescue dog with some ongoing, deeply ingrained behavioral issues. We put in some good work before getting the collar and she was making progress, but there seemed to be a wall that was difficult to push through. The accompanying instructional dvd was helpful to get us started right away. She is now doing great in so many ways and guests visiting us regularly comment how much different of a dog she is, as it is apparent she simply enjoys being a dog. Thanks for the help!
By Emily
Vermillion, MN
Very good all-around training collar
January 17, 2021
We have used Sportdog ecollars to train our dogs for years for indoor and offleash obedience, hobby sports, and focus and attention training around our chickens and other animals. I recently purchased the Sportdog Field Trainer SD-425X system for our 6 month old Siberian husky pup, and it has made all the difference in our focus training and obedience. The wide range of stimulation levels along with a vibration/tone setting allow us to use just the right level to get his attention without scaring or hurting him. He is learning to focus on us when we give a direction, and he is happy to do it! He is swiftly mastering obedience in high distraction environments and has mastered offleash recall from a distance. The collar system came with a training dvd and long-line which were also helpful in offleash recall training, whether you have experience like we do or are new to using ecollars. This is a solidly made but lightweight, comfortable collar that our pup doesn't object to wearing. He knows when the collar comes out, he gets to have fun! It is everything we hoped for and come to expect from a Sportdog collar and worth every penny.
Pros-Compact -Lightweight -Fast charging -Long collar band adjustable to nearly any size dog -Wide range of stimulation settings -Good reciever range -Durable
By Neal
Atlanta, GA
Great training collar
January 15, 2021
It's easy to use with great instructions for the novice trainer.
By Jennifer F.
Orlando, FL
My Brittany is finally listening!
January 13, 2021
My girl is a pet dog but has the need for speed. I take her off leash in my neighborhood and on trails or the beach. I started with a cheap collar off Amazon but she would get too excited and ignore it. I can turn this collar up when needed and get her attention. It’s always a risk off leash, but I’ve learned these bird dogs need the exercise or they’re destructive. This collar provides a safe alternative.
By Customer
washington
SportDOG SD-425X
January 2, 2021
ordered shipped received good product, if everything in life worked like this life would be really different thank you gun dog supply and sport dog
Prosnone
Consnone
By Nancy G.
Creswell, Oregon
Great for rural pet management
December 30, 2020
I purchased this collar to replace a "pet park & yard"- grade collar that was not powerful enough for our needs. Our dog Callie is both a skilled fence escape artist and an enthusiastic varmint-chaser. Too often, we'd discover she'd escaped the yard and was free-ranging our ten acres or the neighbors' pastures with no way to call her back as the collar we had was either out of power or beyond range. This collar is perfect for our needs; it holds power for more than a day's use, withstands mud and rain, recharges in a couple of hours, and is powerful enough to call Callie home even through trees.
ProsLong-lasting, quick to recharge, works in rain and mud, easy to set up and use.
ConsThe charging cords do not fit snugly in the collar and handpiece slots making it tricky to position the cords so that they don't fall out of the equipment while charging.
By Thom
Western NC
Unforeseen value in a small package
December 30, 2020
A broad stimulus range which is easily adjusted and covers all the situations we needed it for.
ProsThe transmitter is small enough to be worn around the neck and there for the grabbing. Having vibration or tone options is nice. The Sportdog videos are outstanding and worth the cost of the SD-425X itself.
ConsThe activate button on receiver is a bit on the soft side. Other than that I am too impressed with the 'Pros' to think of any 'Cons' at this point.
By Noah
Whatcom County, Wash.
Great unit, nice and small/lighweight
December 22, 2020
The Sport Dog 425X is perfect for what we wanted. We've been using our Garmin PRO 550 plus GPS tracker for 2 years and I love it for upland and waterfowl hunting. But the controller is way too large and heavy for my lil' wife to haul around on her early morning runs with the dog. The 425X controller is tiny and lightweight, fits into the palm of my hand. My wife loves it. Also is simple and easy to understand and use.
ProsSmall, lightweight. Easy to use.
ConsAsk me in two years.
By Jennifer
Tucson AZ
Easy and effective
December 21, 2020
This training collar is very effective and easy to use. It allows for different options to be used for optimal behavior patterns from our dogs.
By Sarah
Gilford NH
Remote training collar
December 20, 2020
Excellent product. Easy to use ‘
By Eric K.
MN
SD425X
November 30, 2020
Gun Dog Supply was fast shipping, great store and I continue to support Steve's site. However, this SD425X is garbage. I purchased SD425X for our small, in house dog, collar is always dead and when transmitter is on level 4 collar decides to beep instead of stimulate. I also tried the 1875 Upland which was also.... not for me. Stick with TT / Garmin, they can't be beat in my opinion. Years ago I started with the Pro100 and currently have Pro550 Upland and couldn't be happier, beeper durability is another topic as I go through a beeper every year but transmitter and collar work flawlessly EVERYTIME.
ProsSmall
ConsUnreliable, transmitter too small
By Melanie
Dolores, Colorado
Excellent
November 22, 2020
This collar is easy to operate and has a variety of settings, making it usable for any dog. I also like having the sound, vibrate, or nick options. Though I don't totally agree with the training methods advocated by the makers of the collar, it is handy to have a professional's view of how to properly use and set the collar.
By David R.
Wisconsin
Belt clip
October 30, 2020
collar receiver spot on, 3yr old Brittany never ranges. Didn't realize transmitter sold without belt clip, miss that. My bad, but surprised it's not standard. Gundogsupply always on the ball!
By Bev
Placitas, NM
Great product and great customer service
October 20, 2020
We've only had this product a couple of months but so far, we are very impressed with it. The transmitter has many settings to make it very versatile for a wide range of dogs. That is helpful because even our puppy, who has been so responsive to training, has his moments when he is so distracted that he refuses to respond to our attempts to get him under control. It's great to be able to easily and quickly increase the amount of stimulus he receives, to get his attention once again. The unit is also submersible. That was great in that I didn't have to remove the collar before letting our dog play in a river. We could still call him back when his playing took him too far away. We had a slight problem with the strap of the collar but customer service replaced it immediately. That was great. We're glad we bought this unit from this company, especially since there are so many companies from which to choose, and it's hard to know which one to trust..
ProsGreat range of levels of correction. Quality construction -- It looks very durable. Waterproof/submersible Great customer service
ConsHaven't found any yet.
By Tracey
Catawba Virginia
Compact & Adjustable
October 14, 2020
I like the small size of the transmitter along with the different adjustments the collar offers.
ProsWaterproof Lightweight Compact transmitter Adjustable settings
ConsHaven't found one yet
By Susan
South Carolina
Perfect collar for our Australian Shepard
October 7, 2020
Our Aussie, Darby, is very smart and has been easy to train. I really like this collar as it is sturdy and very easy to put on. The collar and buckle stay in place when put on per the instructions (snug). I have the remote set to 1 and my dog reacts (flicks his ears) to the low 1 stimulus; I only have to use the 1 medium stimulus if he is extremely distracted as the medium 1 stimulus gets his attention immediately. I love the lanyard for the remote which keeps me hands-free if we are using a leash. I'm very impressed with the product overall and I really enjoyed the training CD. Great product and I highly recommend it. We visit the beach often and will see how well this remote collar holds up after exposed to salt water. We will follow the guideline to wash with clean water after each exposure. Our previous remote collar did not hold up to the salt water exposure. The result of this exposure will certainly impact our overall review of this remote training collar.
ProsThe collar is very well made and the buckle is easy to put on our dog. I trimmed the collar length once I was sure of the size and fit. The small remote is easy to use and I really like the raised button on the medium stimulus - easy to find by touch. The lanyard has been great for me as I am hands-free with the remote when we walk our dog (Darby) on a leash. I am very happy with this remote collar and its accessories. Thank you Steve for the informational training CD and your follow up. I have been extremely impressed with your company.
ConsI do not have any Cons at this time.
By Rex
Sunset, SC
Training new Lab puppy
October 7, 2020
I’ve been training my new lab puppy -Stella for the last 3 months. We got her at 8 week old and at 5 months she had all the basic commands understood. I followed Dokkens hunting puppy training DVD. At this point I purchased Sportdog field trainer to reinforce those learned commands - heel, sit, down, come, place. At this point Stella is very good at all commands with a 50 ‘ check cord. Over next few weeks I’ll be removing check cord and lease and I’m confident I’ll have well trained lab at the 6 month point! Everyday is an adventure with Stella but so far so good!
ProsCompact Easy to use Good Battery life Water proof
ConsDon't have any
By T W.
Castalia, Ohio
Appeared to work well initially...until lost!
September 21, 2020
After going through the collar set up process detailed in the manual, i then proceeded out to the field with my beagle to put it to the real test. I first started her out in an open field where I could observe her reactions to the collar (mild stimulation) ...appeared that it was going to perform as expected. Then we headed to the thicket. Totally unexpected, that was the last I was to see my new collar! I'm not sure how it came off ...was attached properly, plenty tight enough, but inevitably was no match for the thicket my beagle was running in. I took a quick look for it, however being the 'jungle' that it was, it would have been like finding a needle in a hay stack. Seeing as how the collar is not equipped with a 'tracking' feature, at the very least my suggestion to the company (or future buyer) would be to somehow design/equip the collar to be "reflective", where one could possibly locate it after dark with a light. Without that feature...a $160 lesson in life for me!
ProsFor the money, I don't believe you'd be disappointed in the SportDog SD 425-X. This remote and the collar allowed for an appreciable range of settings to fit the temperament of any dog, from just needing a little stimulation for correction or enough to 'jolt' them out of their stubborn tendency.
ConsOne major downside, the chance that it can somehow becoming detached from the dog much too easily! By the time I had caught back up to my beagle on a hot rabbit trail, I saw that the collar was missing, this within the first 10 to 15 minutes. And the collar was not attached loosely either! That's the only reason I would not recommend this collar as it is, without some type of way (reflective tape, etc.) to retrieve it. It is a gut-dropping feeling when you finally encounter your furry hunting partner minus the collar. I realize there are other products that have the GPS tracking feature, but you're going to pay considerably more.
By Customer
Pa
Works as advertised
September 17, 2020
I like the included DVD and instruction manual. Works well.
By Mindy
Cincinnati, OH
Its a miracle
September 17, 2020
This product has been amazing for us! We got a rescue dog, a large hound, at about a year old. He is not an aggressive dog, but he is big and loud and was hard to control. Sometimes he would have barking fits and it was overwhelming. He knew some commands like sit, but would not perform them with consistency. He got out a couple times and it was terrifying because we live in a semi urban area with traffic, and we could not catch him. We were having second thoughts about keeping him, even though he is a sweet dog when calm. An e-collar was recommended so we purchased this product. I watched the enclosed DVD and got started right away with the method from the video. I'm not kidding when I say that within 2 training sessions, he was sitting, coming, staying, heeling (sort of) with consistency. I only used the beep function and the lowest shock, which feels sort of like when you touch your tongue to a battery, but less intense. Now, after a week and a half of a couple 15 min sessions each day, he obeys most of the time just seeing the transmitter. Sometimes he needs the beep, and sometimes the shock, especially when having a barking fit, but mostly he just needs to see the transmitter. Before, at walk time, it was nearly impossible to get the leash on because he would bark insanely and jump up on me. Now, with the e-collar, he will sit and stay while getting the leash on. He will sit and stay on a walk when we see another dog. Even my kids are doing training sessions with him and he is obeying our 10 year old. It is so awesome! I could not be more satisfied.

Merchant Response:Mindy, Thanks for the review! I'm glad to hear SportDOG SD-425X has made such a difference. Give us a call at 1-800-624-6278 and one of our Product Specialists can help out with any questions you have about the system's operation. Thanks, Ben
ProsEasy to charge, easy to use. The charge lasts a few days (I think). The strap/lanyard that comes with it makes it easy to keep the transmitter with me. The low shock level clearly does not cause him any pain.
ConsThe info on the DVD and in the written manual are contradictory regarding training strategy, so that is a little confusing. I have only used the side button, and I don't really understand the difference between the 3 buttons. It isn't obvious to me when the battery is getting low.
By LGD M.
Ligonier, Pa
Great product
September 17, 2020
I have a very stubborn dog who likes to do things at her pace, and on her own terms. We purchased this to work on recall and other basic commands such as leave it...and she has really changed her while learning ways around! Great product, and now my dog listens, and recall is getting much better!
ProsEasy to use, works as it should
By Howard L.
Avon, CO
Excellent Support
September 3, 2020
While setup was not as intuitive as it could be, and printed instructions a bit confusing, the live support was phenomenal. They waked me through, step by step with explanation of options and were very patient. they didn't rush me and let me follow up with several more questions afterward. So far, so good. Now it's time to get my hound used to it and field test as hunting season begins.
ProsCompact and light with lots of flexibility and relatively affordable. Excellent online live support.
ConsConfusing setup for the uninitiated. Not very intuitive beyond factory settings.
By Eric
Venice, CA
Top Notch Product
September 2, 2020
Our dog trainer recommended this model for our Rottweiler puppy. The simplicity of adjusting the settings, along with its durability are the main reasons he urged us on this collar. Thus far we are very happy with it.
By Dan F.
SW Michigan
Perfect training collar for me... and my Lab
September 2, 2020
I have trained two Labs as grouse dogs using this collar. Neither dog was prone to get too far out, so the rage of this SportDOG 425X model is more than ample. The tone/vibrate setting is all I have to use now that the dogs are trained... and I rarely even have to use that. Actually, this is my second 425X... I somehow managed to lose the controller for the first one (Duh!)

Page 1 of 1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2021, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number: