Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.3
48 Reviews
5
60% (29)
4
23% (11)
3
10% (5)
2
2% (1)
1
4% (2)
92% Recommend this product (44 of 48 responses)
By GROUSEKING
Milaca, Mn.
Most durable dummy launcher
June 28, 2022
In the past I have used the canvas dummies for my launcher but they wear out easy. This new one flies farther and is very durable and hard for the dogs to chew up.
ProsDummy travels farther because it is heavier and more aerodynamic.
By Big J.
N.E. Ohio
Durable
April 27, 2022
This dummy shoots really far and has the benefit of being compact enough to force the dog to search for it in the landing area.
ProsVery durable
ConsSo small that it's hard for the dog to mark when shot at low angles
By Jerry
Shaefferstown, PA
Tougher than any other launcher dummies I've found yet.
January 20, 2022
Our dog, Ginger, is a 1 year old Rhodesian Ridgeback/Labrador Retriever mix that is far from perfect (got her 6 months ago as a rescue with a rough puppy life)). So, she has more hound than retriever in her. I have taught her to retrieve the dummies to some extent (far from any professionally trained retriever), but she does it and loves the game that wears her out so we have some peace in our lives. The problem is that she chews and shakes the dummy while bringing it back to me. Then doesn't always want to just drop it. Probably the Ridgeback in her. But, anyway, this white plastic dummy by Retriev-R-Trainer is a bit more durable than the orange hard foam ones she eventually chews apart. Same with the hard cloth dummies, get ripped apart and fall apart. I use silicone sealer to help them last a bit longer but still doesn't last long. So, we have used this new plastic dummy by Retriev-R-Trainer for two weeks now. So far only a couple small tooth holes in it. My guess is it will eventually break apart too but will take her much longer to destroy. If you can come up with something even tougher and more indestructible, we would be all for it in our situation with a hound. (Ginger is certainly not a bird dog. Had a lab and 2 weirs that were) We have plenty of groundhogs around, but no game birds that want to get her teeth into it while retrieving!!!
Pros- Much stronger and tougher than any other trainer dummies I've tried so far. - Flies farther than the hard cloth dummies, even when starting to get holes in it.
Cons- Still potentially able to be destroyed. - Can it come in the color orange? (almost lost it in the snow the other day)
By HD T.
Lake Fork
Great Launcher Dummy
December 17, 2021
These dummies travel farther and hold up much better than the canvas ones.
By Ed M.
Clayton, GA
Poor plastic dummies
September 15, 2021
This dummy fell apart after about 50 shots. I have bought numerous dummies with the same results. The dummy material needs to be improved.
By Lou
New York
Excellent product!
May 26, 2021
Sturdy and easy to apply and hold scent for training. Highly recommend!
ProsSturdy and floats for water retrieves.
ConsNone
By Frank
Texas
Longer Launches
March 30, 2021
I ordered the red foam and white plastic dummies together with the CCI red blanks. The red foam definitely flies farther than the white plastic dummy. I will be ordering more of these today.
ProsLong launches and they appear to be well made and holding up well.
Consnone
By Susan J.
Montana
Great Launching Dummy
January 28, 2021
You get excellent distance
ProsDistance
By TramOhio
Ohio
Just as stated
January 13, 2021
Exactly what we expected and came quickly
By Greg D.
Roseviile, Ca
Launcher Dummy
December 19, 2020
Great product durable
ProsDurable, high visibility, great range
ConsGoes really far. Make sure you have canvas dummies as well for close work.
By Tom M.
OH
COMAPNY IS A-1+
December 19, 2020
I have purchased items form this company through Gun dog supply for years. Anytime I have had delivery or product concerns the company has been fantastic in their response. No issues, product preforms well.
By D W.
Minnesota
A Good Training Dummy
September 2, 2020
This is a quality product and is fairly durable. I've owed three or four of them and only one has been destroyed, and it probably went through 300 or so yellow loads before it blew apart. It flies a long way on a yellow load (100 yards?). I've never used a red load, so I cant comment on those. Flies way, way farther than the canvas dummy
ProsDistance and durability seems good.
By Lisa
Nashville TN
Does not go as far as previous round plastic bumpers
August 20, 2020
I bought a similar Red Plastic Bumper years ago that flies! It is falling apart so I bought this one. I like the foam feel. Much easier to grip for the dog but the added weight puts it in the same category as the standard canvas bumpers. I would like to order a replacement Plastic Bumper that is light weight and will fly!
ProsBetter grip for dog. I had to add surgical tape to my original one for the dog to grip.
ConsDoes not go any further than the canvas bumpers.
By Peter L.
CA
Review for
October 13, 2018
Flies far and appears well built.
By James M.
AZ
Review for Black and White Plastic Launcher Dummy by Retriev-R-Trainer
August 30, 2016
So far it has held together well. Flies well off the Lucky Launcher.
By David F.
Review for
August 25, 2016
I like the distance I can get with medium loads. I chose red to make retrieve harder to see. It seems to hold duck scent OK. Floats well.
By Bob O.
MN
Review for
May 1, 2016
So far they are holding up well.
By Ken Z.
AB
Review for
April 2, 2016
The durability of the dummy is absolutely great. Flies very well even in strong winds. Easy to see and my dog tracks it very well. However according to my young pup the chew-ability leaves a bit to be desired. I left my dog and she found the dummy, only the really durable metal liner was left. So I ordered 3 more, hopefully they won't be a chew toy. Great product!
By Gregg B.
MN
Review for
February 18, 2016
Last one was great! Got lost in the 12 inches of snow! I'll find it in the field before it gets Plowed under! Bought a replacement just in case. Original one was 3 years old. Had a lot of launches with it. Both on land and water! Haven't had time to use the new one. This weekend?
By Eric J.
NJ
Review for
October 17, 2015
Works OK, but the foam is not as solid as old launcher dummies.
By Marshall H.
LA
Review for
September 2, 2015
Light, goes a long way with green loads. May come apart sooner than others.
By Barbara M.
WV
Review for
June 21, 2015
Love this launcher. Great color for retrieving.
By Barbara M.
WV
Review for
June 21, 2015
Great product. Good exercise for my dog.
By Virgel S.
MS
Review for
June 1, 2015
Shot further than stock part.
By Caylyn B.
OK
Review for
April 27, 2015
Love the weight, but not durable at all. This thing was torn up the first day. Way too expensive to have it torn up this quick.
By Paul
ID
Review for
April 4, 2015
Lightweight and flys well. However the surface is easily punctured.
By Tony E.
TN
Review for
March 6, 2015
Good quality.
By Tony E.
TN
Review for
March 6, 2015
Flies way out there. The best way for your dog to get those long retrieves is to practice long retrieves.
By Piotr B.
CT
Review for
March 6, 2015
My dog is going crazy after it. Best thing ever.
By James
AZ
Review for
February 1, 2015
These last a long time and retain their shape better than the older ones with the metal tube that extended out of the tip. They fly erratically and can go 70+ yards with red loads and then bounce farther.
By Mark
Review for
January 27, 2015
Does not hold up real well with a lot of use. Like the long distance retrieves with it.
By William L.
VA
Review for
January 14, 2015
Use these dummies almost every day that I train my dogs for all their activities (hunting, competition).
By Eric J.
NJ
Review for
December 1, 2014
A lot lighter. Does not shoot as far as previous model. Dog can chew up and break this model much easier while retrieving.
By Darryel R.
OK
Review for
November 10, 2014
I suppose the soft plastic is to produce a better "mouth feel", but the dummy is not very durable as a result.
By CA
Review for
September 22, 2014
I haven't used this yet, and the design is very different from the older versions I have had and used. That said, I like the metal collar and metal tube a lot. The plastic body is fairly large and light, which may decrease the distance it can be shot from a Retriev-r-Trainer. The non-use is the only reason I haven't been able to rate it higher. The red, yellow and green boxes of blanks I have used before, and they are great. Once in awhile you may find a dud, but store them carefully, and that shouldn't be a major problem.
By Curtis K.
IL
Review for
September 3, 2014
Really like the white and orange dummy launchers. They get great distance. Really like buying from Gun Dog Supply. Quick delivery, and the price is usually better than most places.
By Matthew B.
SC
Review for
June 19, 2014
She didn't really like the smooth material at first. After a few shots and roughing up the surface, she seemed to take to it much better.
By John C.
RI
Review for
June 12, 2014
I already wrote to you about this product. All 4 dummies are showing serious stress cracks and one has split. Also, the product is so light you lose control of the flight with the r-launcher. The old product which I have used for years was much better.
By Douglass A.
MI
Review for
May 30, 2014
It is lighter in weight than the other ones, which decreases its accuracy. So far it is holding up alright.
By Jason R.
WY
Review for
May 15, 2014
I have been training labs for over 25 years. This is the most durable 'football' dummy I have ever used.
By Bruce C.
MI
Review for
April 11, 2014
My retriever loves to chase this. She grabs me by the sleeve at training time and pulls me to the door to go out. This is her reward for good performance on drills.
By Bruce C.
MI
Review for
April 11, 2014
Harder to locate than the white one, which makes for some good training. She works harder to mark this one as it goes down.
By Stanley F.
LA
Review for
January 12, 2014
A+ very durable
By Ken C.
CA
Review for
December 8, 2013
I really like this dummy for two reasons: 1) it shoots a "mile" (seems like it...more like 250-300'), and, 2) being red I can find it easier in the rare case when the dog can't because we see red, dogs see gray.
By Bert B.
NC
Review for
October 31, 2013
Very nice. Has not busted yet like the white one.
By Frank F.
Review for
October 29, 2013
The new aluminum barrel inserts represent a great improvement over the previous steel tubes. The plastic dummies take a considerable beating upon firing, and tend to overcompress and come apart sooner than I think they should.
By Frank M.
FL
Review for
October 29, 2013
My rating is pretty much the same as for the white plastic dummy launcher. The new aluminum barrel tube is a real improvement over the old steel ones. They don't rust, and seem to be more durable. The red plastic part of the dummy seems to still overcompress, and starts coming apart sooner than I believe it should. Nevertheless, I've been using the retriever trainer and dummies since about 1972, and these are significantly better than any that have come before.
By Tyler M.
MS
Review for
October 18, 2013
Awesome distance with this dummy

Page 1 of 1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number: