Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.8
138 Reviews
5
79% (109)
4
19% (26)
3
1% (2)
2
0% (0)
1
1% (1)
99% Recommend this product (137 of 138 responses)
By Dean D.
Massena, Iowa
Great folks with great products my old Lucky Launcher is over 30 years old! and I use both every day
July 26, 2023
If you have Retrievers this is a must have tool!
Pros
  • All good!
Cons
  • I seem to always run low on 22 blanks! Dogs love this tool
By Tracy C.
Texas/Montana
Lucky Launcher Training
June 17, 2023
Awesome training tool.
Pros
  • You get the sound of gunfire to Simulate real hunting situations. Great for steadinesses drills as well as for improve marking.
By Aric
Florence, Vermont
Exceptional Launcher
May 10, 2023
Very satisfied with the Lucky Launcher! My Chesapeake Bay Retriever gets a good workout using this great tool. Highly recommend it to anyone doing retriever training or just someone trying to save their arm.
Pros
  • Distance and ease of use.
Cons
  • Would like a sling and vest that accommodates multiple launch dummies, ammo pouch, a couple bumper pockets , kibble pocket and two cord pockets; I know I'm asking for a lot but if the can build it I would be a buyer
By Thomas l.
15 Bethany court nj
Had a little trouble with the o ring work it out going out sat to try out
April 21, 2023
Thanks for helping out with the problem and service great job
By CJ
Waldorf, Md
Great Training Tool
March 7, 2023
Great tool for training, if you have a dog that breaks on the shot and doesn't when hand thrown bumper this is your tool coupled with E-Collar. I will say that you will only need the light loads to launch unless you get the uber large bumper which I haven't tried. The normal size bumper goes 100+ yards with medium loads.
Pros
  • One hand operation so other hand can be on collar remote.
  • Launches further than hand thrown to condition your dog with exercise.
Cons
  • Don't know of one.
By Julio
Florida
Excellent
October 15, 2022
High quality product, very fast response and shipping. Definitely the best experience I ever have buying something on line, professional service in very high quality.
Pros
  • Fast response, fast shipping, high quality product
Cons
  • No at all
By Derek
North Idaho
Awesome
October 13, 2022
Really enjoy this thing and so does my dog. It shoots a lot farther then you’ll expect at first.
By Brian
Missouri
Duck launch dummy poorly made
August 6, 2021
I bought one last year for my new lab. I hve had some trouble with some loads but that trouble went away when I started keeping all my loads in plastic zip locks to prevent ANY moisture. The duck dummy launcher i ordered with the kit did not last more than 20 shots. The pressure from the shot opened up a small hole in the foam near the neck. This loss of pressure does not allow the duck to fly more than 10 yards I should have returned it last year when it happened but just got busy then the next thing you know a year has gone by, you know how it goes. I also had some issues with the packaging when I first received the launcher(the loads had come loose and were all over the box thee package sounded like a rattle.) The customer service was exemplary they immediately sent more loads. Overall the launcher works well and yes definitely wear hearing protective while using. And keep the orange bolt handle tight(it loosens up) keep a little Vaseline handy for the o ring. They should include an extra o ring. Most importantly my dog loves it!
Pros
  • one hand operation
  • Customer service from GDS
  • Does what its supposed to.
Cons
  • duck dummy poorly made.
By Ed
WA
Good, but not perfect
May 12, 2021
The Good: The Lucky Launcher II launches the provided bumper a distance of 50 to 60 yards (measured) with the medium power loads that came with it. Right now, I'm using it to drill my dog on steadiness. The one-hand operation is important because it leaves my other hand free to hold her collar. The load report mimics the sound of a shotgun, adding to the stimulus. (The warning to wear ear protection should be taken SERIOUSLY.) In the near future, I plan to use it to create longer retrieves over varied terrain, including water, and the range will make this possible. Power loads are reliable. I've used about 1/3 of the 100 that came with it with no misfires. The Not-So-Good: The provided canvas bumper has a smoother surface than other canvas bumpers and my dog sometimes struggles to keep a hold on it. I have already ordered a compatible bumper from another manufacturer. The recoil is surprisingly heavy. It feels about like my 12 gauge O/U shooting 3" goose loads. Since it doesn't generate nearly the momentum of a 12 gauge, I attribute the felt recoil to the light weight and the rudimentary stock. I've taken to wearing a PAS recoil pad when I shoot it. Cleaning it is problematic. A bore snake will not go through it. Neither will a .22 pistol cleaning rod and patch. I got one stuck in the bore and had a time getting it out. I've taken to cleaning it with an aerosol bore scrubber and compressed air and lubricating/preserving it with a spray lubricant. Not as effective as I'd like but it works. Also, I only get about 10 launches before enough residue builds up in the chamber to make chambering a new blank difficult.
Pros
  • Reliable
  • Good Range
  • One-handed Operation
Cons
  • Heavy recoil
  • Bumper difficult for dog to grasp
  • Difficult to clean
By Kyle c.
Iowa
Lucky launcher II
January 26, 2021
Solid product I have only used with medium loads so far. It doing what I needed. The trigger and shooting from the hip is awesome
Pros
  • The hand grip and trigger makes it easy to use.
  • The shell kick out is a lot nicer than the older hand helds
  • I'm able to run doubles easy do to the easy of loading and unloading
By John T.
York PA
Buy it!
December 21, 2020
Great product, I’m not sure who likes it more me or the dog! It’s a great training aid and tons of fun. Buy extra O rings. They are only 40 cents and if your dog likes it as much as mine does it’s good to have some on hand.
Pros
  • Great product for a active dog
Cons
  • It's got some kick for a 22
By Greg
Roseviile, Ca
Dummy Launcher
December 19, 2020
Shoots far. Easy on wrist with stock.
Pros
  • Launches far.
By Customer
MT
Must Have
October 2, 2020
Training alone this is a must!!
By Stuck G.
God Forsaken, MT
Launcher is great
September 4, 2020
It works well but the charges are almost never the same distance. Some don't get off the launcher, some go 10 feet and others might fly 200 with the medium charges.
Cons
  • Definitely is a punch to your leg
By Jim
Ottertail Lake, Minnesota
Lucky Launcher II
September 4, 2020
Wish I had ordered one of these years ago. Have used the hand held launchers for some time. The recoil from them has been harder to handle as I get older and I get more arthritis in my hands and wrists. The stock on this allows you to place it on your thigh to absorb the recoil. Very nice product and works as it should. I received a box of green (low) loads with the launcher but have had quite a few “duds” even after making sure things are dry. Would recommend the yellow loads which I believe are medium.
By Rick
Somerset KY
Lucky Launcher ll
September 2, 2020
Nice product haven't gotten to that stage of training yet, so I can't comment on usability. Will review more at later time
Pros
  • N/A
Cons
  • N/A
By John H.
Pa
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
October 19, 2018
Works well so far. Had one years ago and the firing pin wore out, but it saw a lot of use.Great training tool.
By Robbie F.
TX
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
October 19, 2018
Works very well! It's easy enough that my son who is 7 is able to launch the dummies for me while we are working our dog. Great training tool for both of my young hunters.
By Albert B.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Deluxe Gun Dog Kit
October 18, 2018
By Dennis S.
CT
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
October 18, 2018
I use the Launcher all and at this point, I never had an issue with this or had to replace the O ring! Despite having a few acres I can't shoot a gun on my property! However, this mimics a gun and is legal! Love it!
By Thomas F.
CA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Deluxe Gun Dog Kit
October 16, 2018
By Kent H.
CO
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
October 11, 2018
Good product but trigger return spring only worked for a short time. The launcher still works but I haven't had the time to trouble shoot the problem.
By Robert M.
TX
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
October 11, 2018
By Sandy M.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
November 8, 2016
Love this trainer! My dog loves it too. :)
By JAY H.
MS
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
September 30, 2016
Works great! Helps to have a free hand. My wife feels like she trust this one the most and will choose this over others.
By Jacob
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
August 20, 2016
Great tool for training. I wish I would have got one sooner. It has really helped with steadying and marking. I also like the distance it shoots.
By Robert B.
PA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
August 8, 2016
Sometimes it is very hard to remove the shell casing. Beside that it is very handy and gets the dog use to the gun noise. Bob
By Alan W.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Deluxe Gun Dog Kit
August 1, 2016
Great for one person training.
By Zachary F.
IN
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 24, 2016
Works great! Easy to use! The dog loves it!
By Bob W.
ON
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 4, 2016
Many misfires with 22 blanks. I do not know if this is due to my blanks or the launcher set. When the launcher shoots well the dummy goes for a long ride. Retrieves in the 60 yard range are common. Great training tool when it works well. My dog is improving his breaks at sound of shot. Long retrieves and a tired but still excited lab at end of session is a bonus.
By John D.
MS
Review for Lucky Launcher II Deluxe Gun Dog Kit
July 3, 2016
Works great and is easy to use.
By Corey F.
KS
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
June 18, 2016
The Lucky Launcher is a great tool for training your retriever on long marks. I have not had any issues with this launcher and would recommend this product to anyone.
By Richard G.
FL
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
May 29, 2016
I had to use a throwable dummy to begin with but now use the shoulder dummy launcher. When I take it out my dog goes crazy wanting to retrieve the dummy. This product is great for fine tooling my dog. Great product. Very well made!!
By Single C.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
May 27, 2016
Easy to use. I purchased teal and dummies with streamers. All great products!
By Tom M.
IL
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
May 4, 2016
I have a DT Systems launcher but takes 2 hands to operate. Besides that I really like it. Bought the Lucky Launcher so I would have one hand free to operate shock collar etc... Lucky works okay, dummies fit to snug on it which I think contributes to the fact it kicks like a Missouri Pack Mule. It is very loud compared to the DT Systems as well. I cringe every time I pull the trigger knowing I am going to get the snot kicked out of me.
By Brian H.
AK
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
May 2, 2016
Doesn't work once any moisture comes into contact with the dummy or launcher.
By David B.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
April 24, 2016
Excellent quality and throws it out a long ways.
By Darin H.
FL
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
March 19, 2016
I use this product to shot throw line over steep and high roofing systems for roof access.
By Louie
Review for Lucky Launcher II Deluxe Gun Dog Kit
February 28, 2016
I don't have any dogs, I use this for launching lines into trees for doing tree trimming and taking down trees.... These launchers have many uses. Your service and expedience in shipping is great, thanks!!!
By John D.
CA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Deluxe Gun Dog Kit
February 20, 2016
So far this is a great product. I can also use it for steady work and for bringing in the gun.
By William R.
MI
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
February 10, 2016
I have a Lab that is a little gun shy. What a great tool to overcome this problem. It is not as loud as a gun but does fill the place. We went from hiding to retrieving. Marley is coming along very nicely.
By Neal H.
PA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
January 5, 2016
Easy to use. Louder than expected.
By Robert F.
LA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
December 22, 2015
Once my dog got used to the noise she loves it. Start jumping the minute I bring it out.
By Jo S.
WI
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
December 20, 2015
My dog loves it, but hard on my thigh. Black and blue after shooting it 7 times. I have padding on it, but guess I will need more.
By Bird H.
KY
Review for Lucky Launcher II Deluxe Gun Dog Kit
December 17, 2015
This was my first launcher, and it works great. It had everything I needed to get started, and it was for a reasonable price. No issues yet. Easy to use. Wear ear protection.
By Brett M.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Deluxe Gun Dog Kit
December 8, 2015
Love it, Great training tool.
By STEPHEN M.
LA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Deluxe Gun Dog Kit
December 1, 2015
Great training tool for the single handler.... Impressive launch distances with the medium loads....After reading some of the comments by previous purchasers I was somewhat concerned about the durability of the dummies after extended use. I can report that I have experienced no such problems... More than satisfied, great product, great service as always. Steve M.
By TN B.
IN
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher
October 23, 2015
Works great. Medium loads are plenty. They aren't kidding about the need for ear protection. Helps to launch from thigh to get away from ear.
By William B.
PA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher
August 30, 2015
Launcher works great! Thanks for such friendly and speedy service!
By MIKE G.
GA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 25, 2015
Works great. Very loud. Shoots way out there. Easy to use. Hard to get shells out after they have been shot.
By Dinah H.
MN
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 10, 2015
The set is excellent.
By KRISTY F.
IA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
June 26, 2015
I bought this item for my husband for father's day, and he absolutely loves it! I was reading all the reviews on the product, and they were exactly spot on.
By Heath M.
SC
Review for Lucky Launcher II Deluxe Gun Dog Kit
June 18, 2015
Excellent launcher, very good range. Might need to try the low power blanks if you don't have a wide open space to train your dog.
By C B.
Louisiana
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher
May 26, 2015
Having only been out with it once, I am impressed with the performance of the green loads. The plain dummy and the dummy with streamers shot at least 200 ft.The report is very similar to a shotgun. Hearing and eye protection are a necessity. Recoil was mild with the stock on my thigh. I believe that this launcher will help prepare a dog for the sound and action in the duck blind, and give it an excellent workout.
By Susan S.
WA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
May 25, 2015
Everything we expected. Excellent product. Company handled everything perfectly. Will use them again.
By Ed S.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
May 10, 2015
This launcher is awesome. My 5 month old Lab is moving ahead quickly thanks to the Lucky Launcher. If I had it to do over again, I would have bought this launcher first.
By Johan L.
MN
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
April 26, 2015
As real as it gets for training long retrieves. My dog loves it and is really attentive waiting for the shot and keeps looking forward to mark the retrieve. After 3 uses of 10 shoots each I made sure to clean with gun cleaner and lubricate. Especially the spring can gunk up and jam easy to it won't shoot or fire off around when pushing the trigger.
By Scott S.
MI
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
April 20, 2015
The blank does not eject itself, so I have to carry a little putty knife with me to remove the shell after firing. This is not a cleaning issue because I clean the unit after each use.
By Tommy B.
MN
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
April 11, 2015
This is the cat's meow. It gives me a free hand if needed to hold the dog and the other hand can work the launcher. I would only say, for the price it should've come with the cleaning kit or another bumper (orange or oval plastic bumper). Even so, it is a GREAT product. My neighbor is thinking of dumping his hand launcher and getting one of these.
By Linda W.
Tx
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
March 13, 2015
Great
By Eric B.
LA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
February 27, 2015
Great product, decent price, worth the money though.
By Joshua M.
WI
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
February 26, 2015
Only issue I had was not having a tail on the white bumper. This resulted in me losing the white bumper in the snow. Not good. Now I have to buy another bumper to use with the lucky launcher.
By Thomas M.
IN
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
February 20, 2015
The launcher is much louder than a .22 caliber rifle. Use hearing protection. With yellow loads it launches the canvas dummies 75 yards easily. The smaller plastic dummies go much further and are lightweight and hard to keep within 75 yards. Perhaps some green loads would help with younger dogs. I can't imagine using the red loads. The extension handle and passed but plate are great. This is a great tool to extend retrieves and dog handling.
By Charles P.
NC
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
February 12, 2015
Just what I expected: Works great, and you certainly need the added stock. Kick is equated with a 10 ga. about 1/2 inch off your shoulder... But she launches dummies 60-75 yds with the light Green charges. Would buy again w/o reservation... especially after using the older, hand-held model with yellow charges.
By Christopher M.
TX
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
February 2, 2015
Anyone who has a bird dog needs this launcher. It serves as a great simulation for an actual hunt as well as an excellent workout for the pup. Having your lab execute 100yd water retrieves will whip them into shape in no time! Paired with the loud pop of the .22 blank and some added dove or quail scent to the dummy, I don't see how you could get any closer to the real deal.
By Jamie93 S.
KY
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
January 18, 2015
Item is great for training my young pup on long retrieves. I am unable to throw a dummy as far as I used to, and this has greatly helped.
By Lance N.
AB
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
January 15, 2015
This is a great piece of equipment for training. My dog loves chasing dummies that go much further than I can throw. I would highly recommend this product.
By Lynn P.
NM
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
January 7, 2015
Solid, easy to use, and consistent firing distance.
By Beth R.
GA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
December 27, 2014
Works great! Would recommend this to somebody else.
By Daniel H.
PA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
December 26, 2014
Works great! Easy to operate. Launches dummy a very good, but reasonable distance for retrieving. Also used it to introduce my dog to gunfire - which worked perfectly. Excellent product and supreme experience at Gun Dog Supply.
By Michael F.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
December 24, 2014
Works perfectly and fits my needs exactly as I hoped it would.
By Jerry L.
IN
Review for Lucky Launcher II Deluxe Gun Dog Kit
November 13, 2014
The most fun we have had since we started training. Works well and well made.
By Harriss C.
Tx
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
November 5, 2014
Great product, and easy to use.
By Brandon C.
ID
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
October 19, 2014
Works really well. My dog loves it, and the gunshot gets them used to guns pretty quick.
By Jeremy W.
WI
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
August 25, 2014
Seems to work good, but plastic grip seems a bit cheap.
By Tim L.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
August 8, 2014
The Lucky Launcher II really works as advertised. Keeping the o-ring and shaft covered with a very light coat of grease (Rig) helps to give a strong launch with green and yellow power loads. Greens give me 40yds and yellow at least 50. The report is sharp and an effective traing aid.
By Mark B.
NY
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 14, 2014
A great training aid. My dog loves it.
By Keith A.
SD
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
June 5, 2014
Great product, especially for the waterfowling dog. You can work on steadiness to shot, marking and long distance retrieves with one person (and one hand). One warning, you might want to make sure you have some tool (knife, needlenose, etc.) as the spent casings stick sometimes and are a little difficult to get out. A small inconvenience at times, but pales in comparison to all the great things about this product.
By Jason W.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
May 15, 2014
When steadying young dogs, or tune ups on older dogs who might be getting a little sloppy, the ability to fire the launcher with one hand while having the other free for any necessary corrections has resulted in rock steady performance from my dogs. It also allows my father, who has had a stroke, to assist me in training. He can be 2-5 hundred yards away, and we do long marks. He would be unable to assist me if it were not for the ability to fire the launcher one handed.
By Franklin J.
TX
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
May 3, 2014
This is doggie "crack". My dogs just love the launcher. I think that the Lucky Launcher II is better than the original. I've owned 2 of those. One was wore out, and one is still in use. I gave it to my brother.
By Archer
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
March 25, 2014
Very good for training by myself. Sometimes goes a little too far. Have to angle it up higher, so it lobs and falls closer.
By Ty F.
IN
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
March 23, 2014
Empty shells are hard to get out.
By Leon R.
WI
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher
March 19, 2014
How about doing a video on training collar use. Always happy to shop here.
By Mike H.
CA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
March 17, 2014
Seems to be well made. A little tight getting the fired casings out. Hopefully it will loosen up after more use. Really launches the dummies well.
By Bruce S.
TN
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
March 14, 2014
The set is exactly what I wanted/expected. Works great!
By Clinton S.
AR
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
February 21, 2014
Choc Lab pup, Bourree, was a little gun shy around the report of the 12ga last season; working with the the .22 blank post-season eased his fear.... 12ga noise no prob now. Boy, he loves to work!!
By William C.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
November 29, 2013
This Launcher with yellow loads is blowing out my dummies
By Brad E.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
November 26, 2013
Works great. Great distance. Only problem is it's way too loud. Dog flinches when firing.
By David M.
VT
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
November 11, 2013
My dog loves it. When I get it out to work with him he goes nuts as soon as he sees it. The one hand operation is nice as I still need to steady him on the stay with my free hand.
By Dan P.
MO
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
November 1, 2013
It launched great! Being shoulder fired makes it more realistic working with the dog from a blind. The only problem is I have to carry a leatherman with me as the expended blanks stick in the launcher after being fired. They are too dificult to remove by hand.
By Matt M.
WI
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
October 31, 2013
Launcher works well. Well designed stock and trigger makes it easy for all to shoot as I often have my kids help with training. Only reason I did not give 5 stars is that the spent cartridges are occasionally a little difficult to get out as they expand when fired.
By Charles M.
NC
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
October 31, 2013
Great launcher. We'll worth the cost. The green light loads are perfect over our small pond. Also no hand "spray" with the light loads that I was getting with the yellow loads. While not painful, it is irritating. A glove is recommended. The only mod I suggest is applying some blue thread locking adhesive to the cocking knob is it may work loose.
By David C.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
October 30, 2013
Great for one hand operation and made in USA
By William P.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
October 29, 2013
This launcher works great
By Garrott B.
LA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
October 27, 2013
Finally something to wear my girl out! She just loves it!
By Monte T.
CO
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
October 20, 2013
The launcher works great. I've used the medium loads with the canvas and plastic dummies. My dog loves it.
By Lisa L.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
May 10, 2013
Love this thing!! Yes, it kicks hard even on the light loads, and with the factory applied rubber padding, but quite doeable from the hip especially with heavier clothes. I also found the empty casing impossible to remove at first, and thought I was only going to get one shot out of it. However I discovered that if you put the dummy back on the shaft, it will only go part way on, then open the breech and the shell flies out. Not possible to police your brass however as it is gone! Possibly that is how it is supposed to operate? Nothing in the manual about it. Only other problem I have had is with the dummies...the one with streamers lost the streamer the first flight, and the other one is already showing a padding tear at the top after only two sessions...Still it is a great tool and my dog is crazy about it! :)
By JIll
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher
November 3, 2012
This launcher works quite well so far. Easy to operate. I suggest you practice opening and closing it a few times before actually using it to get used to where to best position your hands (so as to not get your fingers pinched!) I used the yellow loads, and the kickback is pretty hard. The stock offers little to no protection against the impact (I leaned it on my thigh and was limping for about an hour or so afterwards.) I would recommend using a bird bag slung over your shoulder, filled with canvas bumpers (or some other padding) and resting on your thigh and then putting the stock on your thigh to lessen the impact. I have not yet tried the red loads. WEAR EAR PROTECTION!!! If you hold with two hands, it also will help to absorb some of the impact.
By Christopher
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
April 30, 2012
Overall this product is great. After firing, the blank always has to be pried out by a knife or screwdriver. I found that a small flat head is the most convenient. The shoulder pad needs to be beefed up a little otherwise that little .22 cal blank is going to put a beating on you if you use it to train a number of dogs at a time. Lithium grease on the o-ring is a must and clean out the cores of the dummies before each launch so the dirt doesn't wear everything down.
By D P.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
March 16, 2012
Well worth the investment! Easy to use and very effective. One handed shooting capability makes holding young dog at side much easier. Already fired at least 100 blanks through it with no issues at all. This is a must have for your training kit.
By MARK
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
March 15, 2012
This launcher works great. I love shooting bumpers over a small hill, so the dogs get the vertical exercise. Also work great in the surf. Put some plumbing foam and duct tape on the handle.
By Paul
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
February 23, 2012
I train alone and have found the Lucky Launcher II to be an outstanding tool for training on marks. I started using it a year ago with my now 2 year old lab. I run 2 to 3 launches per session. We now hand throw a single bumper (memory bird) and launch a second bird (go bird) for training doubles. The Lucky Launcher II has never failed to function correctly. However, the launching dummies don't always have such a long life. The plastic ring at the base tend to shatter [typically] after a couple month's of use.
By Charles B.
TX
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 29, 2011
Dependable have had it over a year used to many times to count. f
By Shane
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 28, 2011
this is probably the best hand held launcher made. i just didnt like the plastic construction and it dosent kick out the empty shells completely.
By Jason
TN
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 27, 2011
The Lucky Launcher II is a great product! IT really saves your arm and can get the dummy way out there so your dog can get a real work out. Different strength blanks can be ordered: green (low load), yellow (middle load) and red (high load). Yellow is a bit strong and goes a bit too far so I use the green loads. I also find it's helpful to launch from my hip. The kick is a bit too much for repeated firing from my shoulder. Buy one and have fun with your gun dog! Jason
By Ellen J.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 27, 2011
I bought this for my husband and he has shot over 500 rounds on it. He is now going to make a few comments: Very happy with the product only two concerns 1. the exhaust port is deteriorating/expanding and 2. we purchased a teal launch dummy from you and the bore seems to be too large as it will only launch about due to lack of seal/compression That said its best gift my wife has giving me in a long time..sure beats bird feeders
By MARK
NC
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 27, 2011
Works great. Doesn't hurt your hand like other kinds of Launchers
By Jason J.
TN
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 27, 2011
The Lucky Launcher II is a great product! IT really saves your arm and can get the dummy way out there so your dog can get a real work out. Different strength blanks can be ordered: green (low load), yellow (middle load) and red (high load). Yellow is a bit strong and goes a bit too far so I use the green loads. I also find it's helpful to launch from my hip. The kick is a bit too much for repeated firing from my shoulder. Buy one and have fun with your gun dog! Jason
By Charles W.
NC
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 27, 2011
Excellent for training. Shoot long distances for dogs with lots of energy or can be used for shorter distances by varying the bullets used. I would recommend to anyone.
By Aaron G.
VA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 27, 2011
My dog gets really excited when she sees me get the lucky launcher out. Makes more like a hunting circumstance with the gunfire. Plus, it keeps the dog from just working the short distance that you can throw a bumper. A must have!
By David C.
TX
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 27, 2011
Great Product.
By Jason
IL
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 27, 2011
Awesome training aid. Great for marking long shots. Dokken's dead fowl launcher dummies add even more realism to the training. Wrapped the round tubing stock with a piece of thick foam pipe insulation and electrical tape, now the recoil is a lot less noticable. As far as distance/range, I havent noticed much of a difference between the medium and heavy loads.
By Jim F.
KY
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 27, 2011
No problems to date very simple to use. The ejector for the blank should be spring loaded this would make it easier to remove the empty casing.
By Marty
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 27, 2011
The Lucky Launcher II has proved to be extremely helpful in the training of my retrievers. I have found that the dummy travel distances listed as in the specs for the launcher were surprisingly conservative. With the red load, using the standard dummies, I have found the travel distance to be much closer to 100 - 110 yds (especially with any wind at your back). The lighter loads will launch the standard dummies 70 yards. This is a great product and has proven very effective for training regiments.
By Ewallace
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 27, 2011
Needs a better ejector for empty blanks. Make multiple falls difficult. I added a crutch pad to the shoulder stock to prolong the number of shots I can take. Shoulder firing is equivalent to 3" mag 12 gauge.
By George H.
MA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 26, 2011
The dog loves it. However it does produce a tremendous kick for the load. It should have adequate padding which I added with foam pipe insulation.
By Matthew W.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 26, 2011
Great Product! No complaints on this end!
By Kelly T.
TX
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 26, 2011
I wish it had a lighter power level blanks that propelled the dummy a shorter distance than the current lightest level load. Also, 1 out of 6 - 8 shots typically result as a dud shot.
By James H.
OK
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 26, 2011
I like the ease of one handed use,far more comfortable for me to use than other launchers. It does recoil more than I expected, but some foam bike grips on handle solved that. P.S. My dog absolutely loves it. Other than live birds, she gets more excited about training with this than anything else.
By Adam B.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 26, 2011
The Lucky Launcher 2 work just as I had hoped. It was a great asset in the training of my Lab. One note, I added a piece of foam rubber pipe insulation to the stock to cushion the recoil on my shoulder, the steel T bar alone was a little harsh. All said, I let a few friends borrow it and have reccomended it to many others.
By RxRatedLabs
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 26, 2011
I've only used the product once but was pleased with it. Shot the bumper pretty far and made a nice loud shot. Don't really care for the kick as it kicks PRETTY HARD- harder than my 12 guage. I purchased a couple bumper boys and have been using those but may use the LL2 again when it comes time for more triples.
By William G.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 26, 2011
I love it and that it allows me to have one hand free.
By Darren
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 26, 2011
This is a great tool for getting your dog to follow the barrel and watch you movement. It is a must have if you train by yourself.
By Theodore L.
OR
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 26, 2011
Great device. Easy to change distance predictably by controlling angle of launch No more injured hands
By Alan G.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 26, 2011
You can bounce the dummy, lob it, or shoot it over objects to replicate many hunting scenarios. The dog sees it coming and acts as he does when he sees the shotgun come out of the case. There are a great variety of dummies that all have their time and place. Excellent product, gives the dog a great workout.
By Stephen B.
TX
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 26, 2011
It is a handy tool if you don't always have training birds available. My dog's marking has improved. It works best for me with the "stock" on the ground rather than from the hip or shoulder. It is easier to control than the hand held models and it's also good for practicing longer line-steady water retrieves.
By Roger H.
MN
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 26, 2011
Functions every time, and fires consistently in terms of distance and direction, but anyone who puts the metal "stock" to their shoulder will not be pitching a game the next day. I always use the ground as a base, but then must kneel to make sure to avoid injury. Wearing a life jacket, you can tolerate shooting this from the shoulder.
By Michael D.
LA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 26, 2011
Works great but kicks like a mule. The neighborhood kids are thrilled to shoot me off a mark at first, but say no thanks for a repeat.
By Brook
CA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 26, 2011
Great product and support...I train a lot in salt water and this launcher has held up well, just remember to remove the dummies when not in use. Great for helping dogs get used to gun noise and getting dummies out past throwing distance.
By Eddie K.
LA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 15, 2011
I have used it several times already and i really like it... Had thought of getting a mobile launcher but the cost for me was too much -- it gives me so much more realism in my training. The only problem are the duck like launchers i got with the canvas, they are great but i would prefer larger to be more lifelike in size. Other than that i am very well pleased.
By Tony E.
TN
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 7, 2011
I really like the launcher but wish it had a pad on the butt since it kicks pretty hard when you don?t have a jacket on. Abby loves it because she likes to hear the gun shot before the chase.
By Joe W.
NC
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
June 24, 2011
I was amazed at the amount of recoil produced by the small 22 cartridge. It does state in the directions however that this is the case. It is a great product and the dog loves it. I would not only recommend it to a friend but also a necessity for training any kind of field retriever.
By Jeremy B.
TX
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
June 21, 2011
It is awesome. It will shoot a long ways and if you want more distance you can oil the shaft. That thing kicks harder than a 12 gauge though.
By Danny D.
AB
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
March 1, 2011
This unit is very portable, and is excellent to use at any time out in the field. It is great at simulating a gun and fallen bird. This action is great at teaching the dog to be steady at a gun shot, and retrieve upon command. I am very happy with this unit!
By Scott D.
NY
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 7, 2010
This is a very easy to use utility for the young dog, when getting him/her used to the sound of gunshot and following the dropping target. I highly recommend this as one of your early stage tools when training your retriever. My yellow lab Harley is an outstanding retriever, thanks to many of the useful items I?ve purchased through Gun Dog Supply.
By Dennis
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
April 30, 2010
What you liked: Easy to use. Get great distance from this launcher. Starter pistol sound helps condition your dog to the sound of a gun.
By JW
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
August 24, 2009
Realistic Dog Training at it's best. Having shot over my dog numerous times, I was unsure of how he would react. I kept him in the bed of the truck at a distance to start. I had only fired it 2 times before he was jumping over the tailgate to heal by my side for the retrieve. Very good training device. It should be noted that these device are noisy and have a little recoil. If possible get away from the city to use this device.
By Jim
AZ
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
April 17, 2008
Love it. Use it all the time to train my dogs, both previous and current. Can throw the dummy out so far that it is a real swimming challenge even for a big healthy Chessie (none better!). You can also use weaker blanks and not throw it too far for training exercises. Great for getting the dog used to a gunshot and to watch for the fall. The only thing that I don't like is that it doesn't fold up somehow. It doesn't fit in my dog duffel or any I can find, and so it gets separated and lost. Other than that it is great, wouldn't be without one.
By Jeff J.
WA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
May 23, 2007
I really like my Lucky Launcher. It performs its job quite well. I've added some tube foam to the stock for padding. My only complaint, and it's not the launcher, but the loads can really be hit or miss. There's no real uniformity to them, and at times there can be quite a few duds.
By Shaun S.
CA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
May 8, 2005
It is reliable. Throws great marks! The dog learns right away about following the gun, gunfire, and area of the fall. This simple tool ties it all together. I'd recommend it to EVERY serious dog trainer.

Page 1 of 1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2023, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions