Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.6
67 Reviews
5
78% (52)
4
12% (8)
3
7% (5)
2
3% (2)
1
0% (0)
97% Recommend this product (65 of 67 responses)
By Logan
Eastern Montana
Tie an Extra Knot in the Rope
June 14, 2022
Great dummies. Had a few ropes fly off after the factory knots tightened up and slipped through the hole. Otherwise great dummies.
ProsGreat quality
ConsKnots shrink after a dozen throws, allows rope to slip through hole. Easy fix.
By Steve
New Mexico
Worked well initially
March 21, 2022
The product worked as needed initially… until my dog tore the material in two days and the internal sand fell out. Without the weight of the sand, the product could no longer be tossed away at any real distance. I won’t be buying again due to the lack of durability.
ProsGood looking, does it?s job when not broken.
ConsBroke within two days of use.
By Heath
Tennessee
Very nice bumpers
March 8, 2022
I’ve always used white rubber bumpers. I didn’t realize how different size/color bumpers would impact my dog. I’m glad I purchased these because it allows me to throw different size, weight and color to keep retrieving interesting.
By Marc B.
Rapid City South Dakota
A good dummy.
February 1, 2022
Good dummy! Well made, holds scent well, and best of all, it's made in America not china! I've decided I will not buy anything further that is made in china!
By Sue
Durham NC
Good product
August 18, 2021
Love this dummy. Blends into the terrain so my dog has to really seek it out.
ProsGood size, weight, and color.
ConsNot good if you need the dummy to stand out to your dog visually.
By Sue
Durham, NC
excellent quality
August 18, 2021
I have bought several of these dummies for work with my gundog. He loves the feel of canvas and the size prevents him from picking up 2 or 3 at once (which he can do with plastic dummies).
ProsSturdy, good rope for throwing, nice size and weight
ConsNone
By Adam
Bay City, MI
Great Product
July 30, 2021
I have several dozen of these. They’re very durable and have a nice weight to them. I use these a lot for anything from pile work, casting drills, marking concepts, blind retrieves and more. So they get a lot of use around here. Excellent product.
ProsDurable, great size, can add scent easily, very versatile, natural feel.
ConsThey're canvas style dummy. So they do require minor care. If they're wet you need to store them in a dry environment so they don't rot or mildew.
By Dave
Florida
The Very Best
June 2, 2021
I have tried many different brands over the years and this is by far the best throwing dummy I have ever used.
ProsThrowing distance, bounce and overall quality of the product.
ConsNone
By John D.
San Carlos, CA
Nice, but . . .
May 24, 2021
This is a solid training dummy and the streamers add a nice touch that stimulated some curiosity in my Lab. It's durable for sure, but a little on the heavy side, which makes good, long throws a bit difficult. Other than that, it's a great buy for the money.
ProsDurable and interesting for the dog.
ConsA tad too heavy for really long tosses.
By Texas B.
Central Texas
Two thumbs up
April 14, 2021
Works as intended. Expect good wear looks well made. I used a flame to melt the knots on the rope so they stay knotted. Thanks
By Denny
Omaha, NE
Great dummy
February 5, 2021
Have never used canvas before and needed one with a substantial core. This is it.
By Matt B.
Colorado
Nice weight
February 3, 2021
I recently purchased 6 of these training dummies to work with my Lab. I was having some issues with delivery of the rubber bumpers. She has been holding these bumpers much better and delivering to hand. I chose these bumpers based on cost and added weight. They throw well and seem to be holding up well.
ProsCost per unit. Durable Weight Comes with throw rope
ConsNone yet
By steve d.
California
These bumpers are great !!
January 29, 2021
I use these to work with my dog everyday. They hold up great. Highly recommend.
By Tom K.
Minnesota
Great bumper
January 24, 2021
I use these for winter training and they are the beat I have found.
By Leonard G.
Burlington, WI
3" Black/ white weighted condura bumper
January 22, 2021
During the winter I switch to canvas bumper. I like the black/ white bumpers to show contrast.
ProsThey throw a long distance. The black/white stand out on the cloudy days with snow on the ground. The price is reasonable for the great bumper you receive.
ConsI need to buy more.
By Jude
LA
great product
October 14, 2020
Love the product
ProsLove the product, They always have the best, and you cant beat the prices and i dont like to deal with big box stores.
ConsN/A
By Jude
LA
great product
October 14, 2020
great throw dummy
ProsYou cant get a better product for the price.
ConsN/A
By Natalie
KY
Quality product
September 24, 2020
Good quality canvas bumper
By Karen
MARYLAND
Perfect Fit!
September 23, 2020
Bought the 2" and 3" orange bumper; my boy prefers the 3". We use it for therapy swimming and general exercise. Well made and dries quickly.
ProsPerfect size for my CBR Dries quickly Toss rope included with the bumper Seems to be well made which should lead to a long life (if we don't lose it) Orange color is for me - my favorite!
ConsNone
By Bobby
Pearl, MS
Good quality dummy
September 5, 2020
Good quality dummy for training. Maybe a little big and heavy for my 6month old lab, but she can grow into it. I will definitely pick up more if needed.
By pete
Minnesota
Visibility
September 3, 2020
A good bumper to throw/launch when greater visibility is desired. Streamers are attention getting.
ProsCordura more durable than canvas. Seems to hold scent well
By Maple's t.
Connecticut
Best training dummy I've found
September 2, 2020
Well made, sized right, and heavy enough to throw, and to give the dog a good feel
ProsGood materials, quality construction, good weight
ConsNot a one
By Jason
MD
Review for
October 18, 2018
By Anthony B.
TN
Review for 3" White Weighted Cordura Throw Dummy with Streamers by RRT
October 12, 2018
By Chris V.
IL
Review for 3" White Weighted Canvas Throw Dummy with Feather Strap by RRT
October 12, 2018
Usable plug for training puppies. Great durability, Long lasting.
By Cynthia B.
OK
Review for 3" White Weighted Cordura Throw Dummy with Streamers by RRT
October 11, 2018
By Jay P.
NY
Review for 3" White Weighted Canvas Throw Dummy with Feather Strap by RRT
September 26, 2016
Chessies are notoriously tough dogs and are very rough on equipment and handlers. This works so much better than just strapping a wing to the typical dummy. It gives the dog the feel and taste of real feathers, and they learn to hold on to the bird and not crush it. I have two and they are the only ones I use. I wish I thought of this design.
By James L.
NY
Review for 3" Black/White Weighted Cordura Throw Dummy by RRT
August 26, 2016
I use canvas bumpers primarily for cold weather training when plastic bumpers become too hard and uncomfortable. Sure, a decent retriever will still fetch a rock hard bumper, but I like to enhance the experience by changing to canvas for working in sub-freezing temperatures. These bumpers are a great size, shape and weight, and seem very well made. I haven't used them yet because of the above mentioned intended purpose.
By Clint D.
CA
Review for
August 25, 2016
I am not a trainer but this is what I was looking for as far as durability, texture, and pliability. My dog is five and is incredibly intelligent and she gets very excited when I take it out to work with her. I wish I had seen the dove trainer and would have got that first, had I seen it. She is doing fine with this. It's what I was looking for when I bought it. Price is fair, shipping quick. Good deal.
By Roger C.
AL
Review for
August 19, 2016
Good training dummy.
By Terry E.
WI
Review for
August 1, 2016
These are very high end canvas dummies . Tks, Terry
By Thomas Y.
NJ
Review for
July 19, 2016
This is the perfect dummy for my 1 year old Britt. The overall quality is excellent. You can tell it was made in the USA.
By Barbara M.
WA
Review for
July 18, 2016
She loves the canvas dummy. It's a great training aid. Just the right weight and size for her to confidently retrieve!
By Neil L.
CA
Review for
July 16, 2016
Just like the rest of the products I have purchased from Gun Dog, it's excellent.
By Jonathan D.
VA
Review for
June 20, 2016
Dog loves it.
By Tom L.
GA
Review for
June 14, 2016
I have used Hallmark (excellent) and Remington (not so good). The RRT dummies are as good as the Hallmark. As all of our retrieves are water based, they float well and throw well.
By Daniel W.
CA
Review for
May 27, 2016
Durable.
By Andy J.
WI
Review for
April 15, 2016
Very sturdy. Excellent product!
By Collin G.
MI
Review for 3" Camo Weighted Cordura Throw Dummy by RRT
February 5, 2016
It works really well in the snow. The snow doesn't stick to it and it doesn't get hard or cold like the rubber dummies. My favorite so far.
By Eric B.
Review for
November 25, 2015
This dummy is durable and a great weight for the young dog.
By CW
Review for 3" Orange Weighted Cordura Throw Dummy by RRT
November 13, 2015
The dummy is great. Her adult teeth have just come in, so this was a good 'teething' gum toy for the last few weeks. Lightweight, durable fabric, and endurable fabric! Good mouthing toy as well. Excellent replacement for tennis balls and other toys not good for teeth. Best thing is it is so safe for her to chew, nothing breaks off. Excellent!
By Ben O.
DE
Review for 3" Orange Weighted Cordura Throw Dummy by RRT
November 10, 2015
It could be a little heavier for further throwing distance, and the throw rope is too small diameter. The rope is so small even with the knots in it. Will pull through the eyelet. I ended up making my own rope which is larger diameter.
By Ben O.
DE
Review for
November 10, 2015
It could be a little heavier for further throwing distance. The rope is too small diameter. It's so small even with the knots in it, will pull through the eyelet. I ended up making my own rope which was larger diameter.
By Daniel J.
Review for
November 7, 2015
As expected, good quality bumper.
By Kathleen Y.
TX
Review for
September 4, 2015
We're training our pup to retrieve. Being a medium sized breed, we were unsure what size dummy to order. This one is perfect, and she LOVES bringing it back. Now let's hope we can transition to birds easily.
By Chris V.
WI
Review for 3" Black/White Weighted Cordura Throw Dummy by RRT
August 27, 2015
Has good weight to it for throwing. Good construction, holding up well.
By Martin S.
NJ
Review for
August 8, 2015
Good sturdy construction. Gets dirty.
By Martin S.
NJ
Review for 3" Orange Weighted Cordura Throw Dummy by RRT
August 8, 2015
Sturdy construction. Throws well.
By Aileen T.
VA
Review for 3" White Weighted Canvas Throw Dummy with Feather Strap by RRT
July 16, 2015
This canvas dummy is perfect, exactly what I needed, and the extra bonus was the speedy delivery and wonderful customer service.
By Merri O.
IL
Review for 3" Red Weighted Cordura Throw Dummy by RRT
April 7, 2015
I purchase three colors of the canvas dummies for three different bird smell in hunt training for my German Shorthaired Pointers. They will retrieve them every time. Quality products!!! Well worth the price!

Page 1 of 2
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number: