Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+

You are here:  > 

4.6
118 Reviews
5
76% (90)
4
16% (19)
3
3% (4)
2
3% (3)
1
2% (2)
97% Recommend this product (114 of 118 responses)
By Leland K.
Wise RIver, MT
Just as Advertised
September 30, 2023
I haven't had a chance to use it yet, but all in good condition, instructions well documented. Dogs are excited about the dummies. Can't wait to get out with it an give the Griffs a workout
By Nick
Indiana
A great tool
September 24, 2023
This has been a great tool, easy to use, reliable. It’s help my pup with not just her retrieving, but make sure she was comfortable with gun fire.
Pros
  • Simple, reliable, compact
Cons
  • Until your pup is fully trained to not leave on the shot, you really will need a friend with you.
  • I havent found a way to make sure she doesn;t break, and be the one firing it.
By Alexander K.
Mason TN
good equipment
July 6, 2023
This Launcher arrives with clear instructions and is easy to use. Solid built and capable of heavy field use, have found this manufacturer to be very responsive to inquiries,
Pros
  • easy to use.
Cons
  • none
By Mark A.
Des Allemands
Great Quality
June 7, 2023
This product is made extremely well and really helped my dog get over the loud sounds of gun shots while rewarding him with a retrieve. My dog gets excited everytime I pull the launcher out now
By Mark
Texas
Retrieve R Trainer
May 23, 2023
Not as user friendly as old model. Grip is rough and if you don’t invert your hand to hold it, you can cause injury.
Pros
  • Firing mechanism
Cons
  • Grip
By Alex G.
Picayune
Great Dummy Launcher
May 20, 2023
This has been a great tool we’ve added to our tool bag. We use green loads and it sends the bumpers very good! Only reason I didn’t give it 5 Stars is because when you shoot it a couple times you will definitely feel in in your hand…
Pros
  • Works great!
Cons
  • Slips through hand a little when shooting it and after a couple times you will feel it in your wrist
By C H.
Illinois
Works good
March 1, 2023
Did have an issue with shipping but customer service was spot on and shipped another right away to avoid a delay. Like the response. Product works well.
By Andy
N/E Ohio
Retriev-R-Trainer Launcher
November 11, 2022
This works very well, I really like the re-designed latch for loading and un-loading the blanks, easy to use I am well pleased
Pros
  • Love the new re-designed latch, easy to use either by hand or with the shoulder stock. Yes I recommend this product
Cons
  • None
By Sam
Lexington, Ky
Retriever training alone
July 5, 2022
I can throw a dummy about 30 yards , which is not nearly far enough to train a gun dog . The Retriev R Trainer allows me to launch a dummy 150 yards . My personal rule of thumb , is you need to train at twice the distance you plan your dog to work in a real hunting environment . Your product allows me to be effective by myself . I find your product as a “ must have “
Pros
  • Well built , reliable , simple to use
Cons
  • Ships without a shoulder mount handle . Without that addition it is almost impossible to use without injury to your wrist . It should not be sold without this add on .
By Galen
NJ
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
July 13, 2021
I bought to add another to my Versa Launcher and these work great. Makes training alone much better.
By Joe
Minooka Il
RRT dummy launcher
April 16, 2021
Outstanding product made in the USA. Been waiting months to replace my old launcher that finally failed. Knew I wanted a RRT dummy launcher and during this pandemic it's been trying, finally able to seal the deal,. Quality dummy launcher built solid! Kudos to gundog supply,fast shipping and great service! Steve you have fantastic people working for you !
Pros
  • Built in the USA, quality 3 year warranty
Cons
  • None
By Mike
MN
Retrev-R-Trainer
January 2, 2021
I bought the Retrev-R-Trainer , because in the past I've also owned the other brands along side the Retrev-R-Trainer. They simply didn't hold up . This was a replacement for my old one which was Forty years old & it went though 1000's of rounds. I never worried about it blowing apart like one of the other brands did in my hand. thank goodness no damage.
Pros
  • Great piece of equipment well machined. Never worried about it coming apart.
By Stewart
Utah
Dummy launcher
December 20, 2020
Works great so far.
By Rick
Walla Walla WA
Dummy Launcher
November 29, 2020
Great product works as advertised! The service from Gun Dog supply was outstanding.
By Mike
Connecticut
Nice product. Does what you need it to do.
September 14, 2020
I bought this dummy launcher in the spring and am just getting around to using it with my young dog. Everything you need is in the kit, I added only the lower powered, "green loads" to the purchase. The launcher will send the dummies about 30-35 yards with the green loads, and the dummy 1/2 way inserted. With the dummy fully seated it's probably going about 50 yards. The manual that comes with it does explain how to adjust, shorten, the range, by not fully inserting the launcher into the dummy. The yellow loads will send the dummy probably 75+ yards, but that's out of shotgun range on upland birds in New England. It's still fun though. Once the dog gets more used to it, we may use the yellow loads for water work.
Pros
  • Small, light weight, easy to use and control. Not much recoil at all.
Cons
  • None. It works just they way it is advertised.
By Customer
Fargo
Thicker projectile rod makes dummies not go as far
September 3, 2020
The launcher's projectile rod is much thicker than my previous one. It makes the dummies a lot harder to put on, thus making the dummies not launch as far because of the friction.

Merchant Response:We had the manufacturer reach out to the customer to check on this one. He just needed to put a little oil on the O-Ring, now the dummy slides on perfectly.
By David B.
ID
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 22, 2016
Great tool for working on steady to shot and getting the dogs tracking airborne dummies for long distance
By B W.
TX
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
July 1, 2016
I purchased one of these units many years ago, and it was perfect. This unit seems cheaply made. Plus the yellow loads are too much. I'm not hunting on the moon you know. The unit should be shipped with the green rounds.
By Brian C.
BC
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
July 1, 2016
Very easy to use and no kick.
By Jill
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
June 30, 2016
Zeke loves the dummy launcher, both on the lake and in the field. A great product!
By Eli A.
ND
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
June 18, 2016
The launcher is the first one I bought. It is easy to use, and my puppy really likes it. Keeps her on her toes. It is a bit louder than I thought. The kit is great. Has everything you need to get started.
By Joe
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
June 13, 2016
I've only shot about six or eight rounds through it but so far it's perfect.
By Philip D.
CA
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
June 2, 2016
Surprised by the loud report with the medium load. Also amazed by the distance of the launch.
By S H.
TX
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
May 11, 2016
Launcher works great but dummies take a beating. Plastic dummy came apart after only a few launches.
By Garrett R.
TX
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
April 15, 2016
It works real good on training, just sometimes the shells gets stuck. But other than that, it works like a charm!!
By Lori S.
ME
Review for Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher (only)
April 1, 2016
Great product! Helps in ramping up the training process. Thumbs up.
By TED M.
CA
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
March 16, 2016
My dog loves this thing. She has been gun shy but is getting over it.
By Austin H.
MN
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
March 10, 2016
Thoroughly impressed with how much my dog loves this launcher. Anytime I pull it out for him, he goes wild.
By Frank M.
FL
Review for Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher (only)
February 21, 2016
I've used Retriev-R-Trainer launchers for over 40 years and they are hard to beat. The one I just purchased replaced one I bought at the BX annex at the Pentagon in 1968 or 1969. I've got two others, one of which goes way back also. The one I replaced was still functional except for wear on the firing pin which resulted in inconsistent firing. The grip designs were different back then I couldn't figure out how to replace the firing pin, so I replaced the whole thing.
By Charles H.
WI
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
January 2, 2016
After a few launches, my lab started getting excited whenever I brought it along on our daily walk. Trained to sit with one toot of my whistle. I just have to look at her, and she sits trembling with anticipation. While I tell her to stay, upon launch she launches too and runs at warp speed for the retrieve and brings it back immediately for more.
By Brian M.
PA
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
December 27, 2015
Great product. Great price. Very happy!!
By Tom A.
AL
Review for Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher (only)
December 24, 2015
Perfect training tool for any retrieving gun dog!
By James L.
OH
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
November 16, 2015
It is everything advertised. A great training tool.
By Troy K.
TX
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
October 19, 2015
My dog loves the dummy launcher. The pop of the blank adds to the excitement and so does the distance and speed the the dummy is launched. The only down side is your hand will take a beating from the kickback so wear a thick glove, cold weather glove.
By Bren H.
Tx
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 26, 2015
Love the launcher. The only problem is that the load on the blanks shoots the dummy much further than I prefer. Other than that it's a great training tool.
By Brian S.
IL
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 17, 2015
Lots of fun. Great service, and quick delivery.
By Swayne H.
TN
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 16, 2015
Case hard to shut. Cleaning kit should include a oil rag in it.
By Michael M.
Nv
Review for Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher (only)
July 12, 2015
Newer version of an old one I've had for many years. Stored the old unit with a dummy on the launcher. Moisture got in and rusted the two together permanently. Great unit for solo training. Great service from Gun Dog Supply!
By Ralph H.
MN
Review for Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher (only)
June 29, 2015
The best tool there is for teaching steady to shot. I have 4 Reriev-R-Trainers that I use for multiple marks.
By Marvin O.
SC
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
May 11, 2015
Dog can't get enough of this thing. Very sturdy construction, simple design. Green charges fly much further than I expected.
By Paul G.
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
April 16, 2015
Perfect for training my lab. The launcher throws the dummies out far enough to challenge marking and give a realistic hunting experience. My pup is learning to use his eyes first and nose to locate. It's like having a training partner with you anytime.
By Robert W.
IA
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
March 30, 2015
Everything works great. Shoots much farther than I anticipated.
By Janice M.
AZ
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
March 24, 2015
Giving it to my grandson for his birthday on Saturday.
By Jeff S.
NC
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
January 30, 2015
This is a great tool. It took a few tries to get the routine and then it was off to the races.
By Joseph
NJ
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
January 9, 2015
Works great. Both dogs love it. Also my lab was gun shy before I got the thrower, and after a week playing with her she's a totally different dog.
By Elizabeth D.
CO
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
December 29, 2014
Our dog is nuts about this product. Best gift anyone in our family received. So very fun!
By Roxanne G.
IL
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
December 27, 2014
I got this for my father in law for Christmas, and this thing is awesome! He just lit up when that thing shot for the first time! The dog loves it and it's a great way to wear him out!
By Art F.
NJ
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
December 14, 2014
A great product at a great price.
By James B.
Nm
Review for DELUXE Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
November 3, 2014
Works excellent for a hunting retriever.
By Doug W.
TX
Review for Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher (only)
November 2, 2014
Have used launcher multiple times since I received it and it works very well.

Page 1 of 3
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2024, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions