Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


4.6
38 Reviews
5
71% (27)
4
21% (8)
3
3% (1)
2
5% (2)
1
0% (0)
95% Recommend this product (36 of 38 responses)
By Philip D.
CA
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
June 2, 2016
Surprised by the loud report with the medium load. Also amazed by the distance of the launch.
By Garrett R.
TX
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
April 15, 2016
It works real good on training, just sometimes the shells gets stuck. But other than that, it works like a charm!!
By Charles H.
WI
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
January 2, 2016
After a few launches, my lab started getting excited whenever I brought it along on our daily walk. Trained to sit with one toot of my whistle. I just have to look at her, and she sits trembling with anticipation. While I tell her to stay, upon launch she launches too and runs at warp speed for the retrieve and brings it back immediately for more.
By Marvin O.
SC
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
May 11, 2015
Dog can't get enough of this thing. Very sturdy construction, simple design. Green charges fly much further than I expected.
By Jeff S.
NC
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
January 30, 2015
This is a great tool. It took a few tries to get the routine and then it was off to the races.
By Art F.
NJ
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
December 14, 2014
A great product at a great price.
By Judd M.
MN
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
October 16, 2014
For the first use, it worked quite well. Seems to be well made. Proper hand position is important. Time will tell on how much I like it after years of use.
By Ronnie F.
LA
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
October 13, 2014
Gun Dog Supplies services and delivery of items ordered was excellent. Order the retrieve-R-trainer dummy launcher set with a couple of throw dummies late one afternoon. All items were delivered as promised with 24 hrs. Great service and great products.
By Josh C.
KS
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
September 28, 2014
Simple and effective. I've noticed already that you'll really need to clean after each use. The loads have a lot of residue. However, being able to make 80-100 yard marks training solo is amazing. Thanks again!
By Jim H.
TN
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
September 11, 2014
Works great. Love the product.
By Dusty B.
LA
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
July 27, 2014
Good quality and very useful for proper training. I strongly suggest purchasing a stock for this piece. When you begin to train at longer distance the hand shock can be brutal.
By Stan J.
TN
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
May 30, 2014
Quality product that was a value at the price. Very easy to use.
By James C.
LA
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
May 23, 2014
Very pleased with the service. Order was processed and expedited very timely
By Harold M.
IL
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
May 4, 2014
I bought one of these many years ago and used it extensively until I wore it out. Just purchased a new one, and noticed its much improved design. Dogs love it.
By Zach S.
TN
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
January 13, 2014
Shoots great. It's hard to get the empty casing out after firing.
By Rick P.
AZ
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
January 5, 2014
Have used it several times now and works great. It's a great training aid.
By Terry C.
TN
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
December 3, 2013
Surprising on how well it launches and the distance it will throw, definitely recommend.
By Richard M.
LA
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
October 31, 2013
Launcher works great.
By Dylan
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 22, 2013
let me tell you this thing kicks a$$ with the medium loads it came with shot probably 250ft my newest dog is 6months and although the report was louder than i thought she handled it well and her excitement about it is off the hook definitely worth the 80bucks
By Alan P.
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
February 25, 2012
very fast service arrived right on time and it works great the medium blanks really send it.VERY pleased
By Robert P.
LA
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
September 1, 2011
Like all.
By Lisa
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 31, 2011
Handy, light, excellent tool. However, basic launcher dummies aren't that good. Plastic plate in the bottom breaks easily in winter. Also I have had some minor difficulty with wet dummies - insetad of loud bang thre is only soft puff. Anyway, I'm very satisfied for it's performance.
By Kevin C.
IL
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 31, 2011
The launcher shoots the dummy a long way. The first time I used it I was amazed, not knowing what to expect. I got the combination of knowing whether my dogs were gun shy and training them to retrieve the dummy on land and water. I like it alot. I recommend it to anyone who wants to train their hunting dogs or even just for fun watching their dog retrieve in water or land.
By Richard K.
WA
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 31, 2011
If you have to train alone, the Retriev-R-Trainer is a valuable tool in the steadying process. Our traing group also uses them for re-enforcing steadiness by lining up our steady dogs and sending one at a time while the others stay seated (hupped) during the retrieve. This process is repeated until all dogs get atleast one retrieve.
By Matt B.
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 30, 2011
Good tool. Never had a problem with it after several years and hundreds of rounds. Suggest getting a shoulder mount with it as the recoil will get to your hand and wrist.
By Baine S.
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 30, 2011
shell won't eject, I have to use knife or key to pull the used shell out
By Peter R.
WA
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 30, 2011
It works great. The only issue is if you use the largest load it is very hard on your wrist but other loads don't hurt.
By Michael B.
CA
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 30, 2011
I really like this product to add distance and excitement to training. It is not the best for marking work as the bumper is being launched from the line and is not being thrown out in the field. But for someone that is training by them selves, as I do most of the time, it is a great item to have.
By Austin
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 30, 2011
This product has been excellent for getting my dog use to the gun shot along with retrieving the dummy. Great product I would recommend to anyone, even dog owners who dont use their dog for hunting.
By Richard E.
Fl
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 30, 2011
I don't recall seeing a warning about how strong these things are, but it had been about 13 years since I last used one of these. The first time I tried to test it out it came out of my hand and I lost the dummy. This is purely a user error. Definitely loud, and very strong. Only use this where you have 100+ yards of clear area to train in.
By Genevieve V.
CO
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 30, 2011
They love it. We launch from our deck and they run BACK through the house to retrieve them from the pasture...works smoothly perfectly every time. No quibbles or issues.
By Keith A.
LA
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 30, 2011
Well, the first three times I used this launcher, the training was great. I used the yellow .22 blanks, and took proper care of the launcher and launcher dummies. However, the fourth time I took the launcher out for training, I launched 3 dummies. On the fourth shot, nothing happened. I checked the launcher and blanks thoroughly and could not find any problems.
By Sean
GA
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 30, 2011
Works well and fires the dummy alot higher and farther than I could possibly throw it. The sound when it's fired is REALLY loud. My dog doesn't have any trouble standing next to me when I fire my shotgun. However, when I fire this he always tries to back away a few feet. We'll see if he gets used to it but it's alot louder than I expected from a .22 cal charge. Overall it serves it's purpose and works well for launching dummies.
By Scout
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 30, 2011
great tool for training
By Jeremy L.
LA
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 30, 2011
Pros: Better than throwing dummies by hand all the time. Adds sound and distance. Cons: Once dummy gets wet, launcher does not shoot it as far as when dry. Warning: the launcher does have some kick to it even though it is only a 22 blank, don't take it for granted.
By Lott L.
AL
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 30, 2011
I like the concept but it actually shoots too far and its very powerful in the hand. a lighter load or something that can be shot pain free multiple times would be great
By Scott
MS
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 30, 2011
This is a great training aid. It really helps stretch out the dogs. Great price and fast shipping.
By Frank G.
OH
Review for BASIC Retriev-R-Trainer Dummy Launcher Kit
August 30, 2011
Overall nice product! Excellent quality and reliable

Page 1 of 1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2020, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.