Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


4.6
62 Reviews
5
73% (45)
4
19% (12)
3
3% (2)
2
3% (2)
1
2% (1)
95% Recommend this product (59 of 62 responses)
Expert Review
Drew Blackwell
Product Specialist
Mathiston, MS
Works great! Easy install!
July 27, 2020
I bought this a few years ago and it's still working great.The hardest part is finding the right spot to put the transmitter so you have the best coverage. I ended up putting it in my storage shed in the back yard and running an extension cable to it. I have a small yard and the 1/2 size is just right. I was surprised at how fast my dog got use to the system. The flags are a must for a visual perimeter for the dog. She had it figured out in an hour or so. Great value and peace of mind knowing my dog won't leave the backyard!
ProsEasy Install. Inexpensive.
ConsOnly provides so much coverage. Homeowner's with big yards probably need an in-ground fence system. (We recommend the Sportdog SDF-100A).
By Whitney H.
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
March 10, 2016
The petsafe wireless electric fence works amazing. I was worried that our cars would set the collar off, it did when we set the radius to go through the area where we park. We just expanded the fence to go out further and no longer have that problem. Now my dog can go into the neighbor's yard a little bit, but we placed the flags so that my dog would think he couldn't go in their yards. So far so good.
By Joseph H.
PA
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
January 31, 2016
Absolutely love it.
By Sarah D.
OH
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
January 18, 2016
Love this system. So simple to install, and I never have to worry about my dog getting out again! The training was easy and very effective.
By Monica G.
TN
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
August 26, 2015
She trained so easily on the device. Such a relief for her not to be running into the road or chasing the neighbor's cats. Don't know what took me so long to get the wireless fence. So glad I did.
By Christine B.
OR
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
August 23, 2015
I have not used this fence as of yet. It was purchased so when I visit friends homes without a fence it could be used there. I will begin the training process shortly. I am sure this product is as great as all that I have purchased from you.
By Caleb
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 19, 2015
Our dog learned his boundary in about 4 days. This product works great, and keeps him safe . Thanks again Gun Dog Supply.
By Ryan
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
April 29, 2015
This product worked great! My dog instantly learned the boundaries with the use of the flags! Only had 1 correction on timid setting, and now he will run all around the yard without me having to worry! Well worth the money!
By Sharon M.
FL
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
April 3, 2015
An excellent concept. Easy to set up. Unfortunately, the building code in our area requires a lot of rebar and concrete, so consistency and range are issues.
By Lori W.
AR
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
March 2, 2015
It only reaches 100 feet. That is not far enough. We need something 2 or 300 yards.
By Cody R.
GA
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
December 26, 2014
I love it!! I showed her the boundaries, and that was it.
By George I.
TN
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
November 26, 2014
Great product. Works very well.
By Larry M.
NC
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
October 10, 2014
Only problem was with the test light, and they sent out a new one. Everything is working great, and the dog learned the boundary in about three days.
By Sherry C.
NC
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
September 11, 2014
Disappointed. The signal seemed intermittent at times. He broke through the line twice and didn't seem to be phased at all. Was hoping it would work better.
By Hamilton D.
AL
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
August 11, 2014
Easy setup, and fast shipping. Works great and gives both of us more freedom.
By Heather S.
NC
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
June 13, 2014
Our dog is very nervous over some things, so we only have it set on 2, and she won't even go out as far as her limits. We need to work on that, but I am pleased with the fence performance.
By Robert G.
NM
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
February 12, 2014
Set up quick and easy. Dogs adapted very quickly, and we are very pleased.
By William C.
MS
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
January 22, 2014
I've had the system for years. I recently added a second transmitter to allow for more space for the dogs. Once the dogs are trained to stay in the safe zone, you can set the collar so it just peeps, and they will not challenge the barrier.
By Michael M.
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
November 12, 2013
Works great and does the job.
By Catherine B.
MA
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
October 18, 2013
My husband trained our son's dog, and it works like a charm. We feel really relaxed; confident that Brie will stay within her boundaries . The bell sound is enough to scare her. This has changed our lives. We just clip the collar on Brie, let her out the door and know that she is safe . Now we really have fun playing, running, jumping and chasing without her being attached to a lead. Best $ 279.00 we ever spent. We gave it to our son to take home with him but when we dog sit for him again he will bring Brie's collar and the receiver for us to use. That is the beauty of system. It is transferable. Buy it! You will love it!
By Kat
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
April 22, 2012
SAVED MY DOG'S LIFE. My male husky would run off at every opportunity and take the lab with him. He has ended up in doggy jail twice and gotten hit by a car once. In a last effort to keep my husband from taking him to the pound I bought this wireless fence system. My Lab caught on the first day, but I worked with my stubborn husky for four days, showing him the perimeter and letting him hear the tone as the instructions said. On the fifth day I turned on the shock to level 3 and let him run with no leash. He immediately tested the barrier, received his correction and came right back to the porch. It actually took me another week to get him to come off the porch without a leash on, and he has not tested the perimeter since. We even take it with us camping and plug it into the RV and set up some flags. I can feel safe letting both my dogs play in the yard without worrying that they are going to run off. Thank you so much.
By Beth
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
December 2, 2011
Works great! Dogs know where the boundary is. We don't even have to use the actual collar on the Schnauzer anymore. He knows where the boundaries are and stays in line.
By CONNIE
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
November 13, 2011
This product is EXCELLENT!! We had an electric fence company give us an estimate and they wanted $2,600 to wire our yard + said we would require extra training lessons for our rescued severely abused dog. We bought this product for $279.99 over 2 years ago and it works like a charm. Even our rescue dog was trained within a few days.
By Buyer
Northern NY
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 16, 2011
I'm so glad I purchased the Petsafe instant fence. My dog no longer goes into the road, bothers the grandchildren when they are playing baseball or chases our beef cattle. Love that fence.
By Angela B.
MO
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 16, 2011
We have an average size home and yard, and the unit is placed in the garage. Her collar can alert her at random places in the yard. We followed the manufacturer's recommendations, and the largest metal object is the garage door near the unit, but it's not the best training tool for a new pet b/c the boundaries can change surprisingly.
By Brad G.
IN
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 14, 2011
Easy to set up. Price is right.
By Jarid
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 13, 2011
Like product. It works well. I am dissatisfied with the battery life, maybe two weeks. Also wish there was a larger radius to signal, but I do like the ability to combine sending units. However, that is expensive.
By Brandy
AL
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 12, 2011
The fence works great as long as the battery to the collar is not dead. However, the batteries only work for about 3 weeks before going bad. The company says they should last at least 3 months, but I have replaced them several times and they all only last around 3 weeks.
By Dawn M.
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 12, 2011
The fence works great, even when the neighbor\'s ducks are hanging out in my yard just out of range. The only complaint I have is the plastic clip broke on the collar. Luckily, we noticed it right away.
By Judith R.
MI
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 10, 2011
Love this fence. Just a little training, less than a week, and my bassets were staying where I wanted them to stay. No digging! Wish the range could be a bit larger, but for the ease of the unit, it is still a five star product.
By Sharon
NC
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 10, 2011
Though we live in a very rural area, I have to keep my dog away from the neighbors. They all have cats, and he very much sees cats as prey! Petsafe has worked great. Have used it for over four years now with no problem at all. Very effective.
By Eugene B.
NY
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 10, 2011
Works great for the 2 Labs, the 14 yr old Beagle will still muscle through the pain determined to get the rabbits and squirrels.
By Kelly C.
AB
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 9, 2011
Needs a larger coverage area
By Ed B.
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 9, 2011
Works well. Keeps dogs on my property. Very easy to set up. Couple of drawbacks. It can be challenging to find the right location for the main unit. The field it creates is a perfect circle, so I ended up having to put the unit in my kitchen to create the desired perimeter. Also the battery life for the collar is pretty short (less than 90 days). Probably the biggest issue I had was that both collars had to be replaced within the first year. Since the manufacturer replaced them both free of charge as it was still within the one year warranty, it wasn't that big of a deal. From information that I've found on the internet, it's pretty common to have to replace the collar every year. All of that said, it does work as advertised.
By Richard H.
NC
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 9, 2011
The system has worked great for me at several locations. I did have to encapsulate the receivers in ABS plumbing elbows with holes 3/8" diameter drilled to accommodate extra long probes. The dogs being together all the time would chew each other's receiver into an unusable state. The elbows keep the receivers in a brand new condition because I wrap them with electrical tape. This does put more wear on the probes' sockets taking them out to change the batteries every 90 days. I had one to break but Pet Safe sold me a replacement at a discount. The only con is the system does not keep the dogs out of flower and shrub beds contained within the perimter. My neighbor would have purchased a system but went with the underground to keep her dog out of her plantings.
By Jack A.
AL
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 9, 2011
It keeps my dog in the yard when the battery is fresh, but he is smart and tests the limits. When the battery dies, he bolts. Able to keep him in the yard by replacing the battery every couple of months.
By Rhonda C.
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 9, 2011
We have used this fencing system for well over a year now and it has been great! Our pup was 6-8 months old when we purchased this fence, the training instructions included were easy to follow and understand. Within 2 weeks we no longer had to worry about her taking off or roaming the streets. Fast forward a year...even if she goes outside without her collar on she will not leave the boundary area! One of the things I really love about this unit is the portability. We love to go camping in the summer but hate having to keep the dog chained, but with the converter kit we can now take our fence with and it doesn't take long to establish the new boundary. My online ordering experience and the helpfulness of Gun Dog Supply staff was absolutely AWESOME! Not only were they able to answer all my questions (and hesitations) my product shipped quickly and arrived 2 days before expected! I will order from Gun Dog Supply again when the need arises, until then I look forward to reading their monthly newsletters.
By Tom R.
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 9, 2011
With the PetSafe wireless fence system, I can let my GSP roam loose without any worries. On top of that, the time it took to train my dog to the system was effortless. A couple of sessions and that was it. Plus, there are no wires to accidentally cut... A great product...
By Kim S.
NY
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 9, 2011
I am in my fifties now and have had dogs all my life, and this is the best dog product I have ever owned. I recommend this wireless fence to all my friends and family. Love it and so does my dog Zoe!
By Ron C.
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 9, 2011
The only issue I have is the cheap plastic collar closure. I've had to move the transciever to another collar. As far as how it works and your dog learning their limits, you can't beat it
By Daniel S.
MI
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 9, 2011
This product was very easy to set up the perimeter. The negatives are with the collars. I have had to replace both collars, and they are pretty costly. I have had 4 collars so far, and all of them have lost the beeping function. Therefore, my dogs do not get the warning tones prior to being shocked if they get too close to the boundary.
By Rebecca B.
NY
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 9, 2011
The fence works extremely well. Our dog learned her boundaries quickly and knows not to get close to it. We have had to replace the batteries in her collar 3x, which I feel is a bit much. The other thing is we've had to replace the collar a few times because the sensor has worn through and fallen off. Otherwise it is a good product and keeps our dog safely in the yard.
By Sheldon H.
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 9, 2011
Our dog has respected the fence from day 1. Works outstanding.
By Tuan N.
MI
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 9, 2011
Great product. Great price. Thanks Steve
By Trent L.
MT
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 9, 2011
I was sent a defective transmitter. Waiting for new unit from Petsafe.
By Happy O.
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 9, 2011
We've had our wireless pet fence now for about 5 years. We've had to replace a few collars. They are not chew proof to young dogs. The wireless fence works great. The unit allows us to create the perfect sized perimeter, so that our dogs are not in the street and not in the pastures with the horses. The dogs are so familiar with their boundaries that most of the time we can just leave the collars on without their batteries, and the dogs know where they can and cannot go.
By Kathleen T.
NH
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 9, 2011
I find this "instant fence" very flexible. It is used at both of my homes and the boundaries can be easily adapted for the individual footprint of each property. Great product!
By Arnold Z.
IA
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 9, 2011
PetSafe instant fence works great & was easy to set up. I love having our dogs be able to run around our property, and I don't have to worry about them running off.
By Jennifer M.
KY
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 9, 2011
I live on 2 acres, and I didn't want him chained up every day. This was the ideal solution. I am very satisfied with this product. Would recommend it to others. It really works.
By Tayvi E.
Review for Petsafe Instant Fence - Wireless Dog Fence PIF-300
May 9, 2011
My husband and I were living in a neighborhood with houses very close to each other. Our backyard was a little over an acre and with two labs. They were constantly trying to get out. They did managed to escape several times. We tried everything including other electric fences and nothing seemed to work. They even began chewing and ripping holes into our wooden fence. A friend of mine told us about the Petsafe Instant Fence and I could not be more satisfied. It was very simple and easy to set up. Our dogs were very quick to learn their limits and were not able to leave the backyard since!

Page 1 of 2
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2020, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.