Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


4.5
33 Reviews
5
61% (20)
4
30% (10)
3
9% (3)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (33 of 33 responses)
By Charles T.
Front Royal Virginia
Outstanding Videos
April 8, 2021
Easy to follow, knowledgeable content. Easy to relate to, great range of dog personalities, bought these videos for new pup, but can use on our older dog as well.
ProsEasy to follow and understand, quality and info good. Great service from Steve Snell and staff/Gun Dog Supply.
By Michigan S.
Michigan
Great so far
March 18, 2021
As others have commented, the production quality was somewhat dated. The audio has a bit of wind interferance, and the video is grainy. Also, one of the disks came loose in delivery, and there was some scratching on it. I noticed other reviewers encountered the scratching too. That said, the actual training material has been good so far. Yes, the DVDs are "expensive," but not if you are able to apply the material to your pup's education. It's a bargain considering the alternative of paying someone else to do it for you. I've found there is no "one" way of educating yourself on dog training: you have to keep studying the subject using as many reliable sources as you can find.
ProsRealistic scenarios Addresses dealing with dogs of various temperaments
ConsAudio and visual quality need updating
By Birdman
South Jersey
Dog training
March 17, 2021
Excellent information and proven results trainer
By Matt
Montpelier, Idaho
Poor Packaging
August 6, 2020
I purchased three sets of DVDs, The Perfect Start, The Perfect Finish and The Perfect Retrieve. All three of the sets had damaged cases on the DVDs. All three sets had DVDs loose in the cases. The case of the perfect start had come open in the shipping box and one of the disks was severely scratched. I would give Gundog Supply 5 stars for the way they handled the problem. The damaged set was replaced the same day I contacted them.
Merchant Response:Thanks for the feedback. I checked and Mekenzi replaced the Perfect Start on 7/30. We'll make sure we pack these better in the future, and check existing copies so other folks don't have the same issue. Sorry for the trouble! --ROB SNELL
ProsGreat customer service from Gundog Supply
ConsPoor packaging
By Ryan J.
Texas
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
October 18, 2018
By Roger K.
NE
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
November 5, 2016
We are working on the perfect start. Things are going well. Looking forward to the perfect finish.
By Jessica R.
UT
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
April 1, 2016
It has good information but it's all recorded as a home video. Bad picture quality and looks like it was made back in the 80s. Wasn't impressed for how expensive it is, really needs to be updated.
By Don F.
Il
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
March 15, 2016
Excellent information. Older footage but the content is still relevant. Not a series where you bring a puppy home for immediate training. Easy to follow and easy to use directions.
By Jason C.
OK
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
March 14, 2016
Simplest videos with the greatest results. I recommend these DVDs to beginner trainers and even trainers that have been doing it for years. Best out there by far.
By Jeffrey B.
UT
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
February 29, 2016
So far the content of the DVD's has been good. I was introduced to bird dog training via the George Hickox method and still prefer some of his puppy introduction to birds and guns methods. However; the Hann's do a much better job at filling in a lot of the blanks and questions a new trainer will have. They seem to do a good job at giving a lot of information. My biggest issue with these DVD's, and the reason I gave them a good rating, is the overall video quality. These are fairly recently made videos within the last decade as they reference valid websites in them, but the video quality of these seems to be recorded on a 1980's circa VHS home camcorder. For the money I spent on these I really was hoping for some better video quality. Is that a deal breaker for me, and would I discourage someone from buying these because of that? NO - the info is good and useful. I am just a very visual learner as much as I am a listener and the video quality of these is very sub-par for the price I paid. Thankfully they are using external body attached microphones, the saving grace of these films, so you can clearly hear them explain what is going on and what you should be doing. Overall I am pleased with my purchase and that people have taken the time to put so much time and attention into a training DVD so that those of us who don't have the time, or can't afford the training boot camps, or professional trainers can still produce and have good hunting dogs.
By Kent P.
OK
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
February 26, 2016
Very informative.
By LAURIE B.
SC
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
January 11, 2016
Very easy to follow training method. Remi is just 8 weeks old, but have already watched 1st 1/2 of the Perfect Start. Will keep ya'll posted.
By Craig R.
TX
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
January 7, 2016
I thought it was a very good dvd set. The quality was outdated, but the lessons and techniques were clear and straight forward. A good set for the DIY trainer.
By Derek A.
Ohio
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
December 23, 2015
These dvds are great for training a bird dog. They start with teaching commands and continue with how to introduce birds and keep it fun. I can't wait till my pup is a little older to get started.
By Diane B.
MI
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
November 30, 2015
Very good information. Going to his Clinic is even better. The technical quality of the video could be better, but the information is excellent.
By William T.
TX
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
August 25, 2015
Pricey - but worth it! I've trained two GSPs prior to my current pup, but I'm still learning. Improved my pup's fetch a lot. That's worth the price in itself. Very good step by step instructions. Highly recommended!
By Adam U.
Canal Fulton Ohio
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
August 24, 2015
While I had some reservations about these videos, I took Steve's recommendation and purchased them. After the first 30 mins I can say my doubts were gone. This is a terrific series of DVD's. The methods used are straightforward and demonstrated in real time with dogs of many ages, temperaments and breeds. You get see how to respond to dogs in a calm and even manner when things don't go as you planned, which is lacking in other videos and hard to envision in many books. These DVD's, while 6 hrs in duration, are easy to watch and are somewhat addictive because they address almost all questions you may have while working with your dogs. Very informative! Thank you for the great recommendation.
By Kenneth H.
TX
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
August 22, 2015
Very helpful. I have always bought a dog that has been fully trained. I am enjoying using the DVD as we learn together.
By Jared F.
TX
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
June 18, 2015
It is good and to the point. Could stand to be updated.
By Jaime
NJ
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
April 20, 2015
Excellent videos. Great for helping to train your hunting companion, straight forward and very informative.
By Evan D.
NS
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
April 11, 2015
Low production (old recording) but great content. Snapped around training with live pigeons only.
By Scott J.
NE
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
April 9, 2015
For us, this video series is the best that we have run across. The temperament displayed and the terminology used is excellent. By temperament, I mean that they enjoy working with the dogs and it truly comes off that way. They are relaxed, show patience, and yet display a loving firmness. My son is undertaking his first puppy. I wanted this to be the model for all of this dogs work. I have worked with GSPs, Brittanys, Lab, Vizslas, and now a Small Munsterlander. This series is by far the best approach for dogs who are to be companions and not hunt club kennel dogs. I feel that this approach insures within the dog a level of willingness to hunt for the hunter and enhances their desire to associate hunting with fun rather than a job. I have had dogs they were trained to be methodical robots who followed every command as trained. Very good dogs, but all personality was wiped away. In our circumstance we wanted a dog that trusted and loved us obediently while hunting efficiently. This series enhances all of this better than any other training program I have ever used. I am very grateful for it.
By Summer B.
NM
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
March 9, 2015
Easy to understand. Teaches how to work with and make it fun.
By Timothy H.
NE
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
February 2, 2015
Excellent start to building the chain one link at a time!
By Paul B.
PA
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
January 3, 2015
Great product. Slow shipping
By Cesare B.
AB
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
December 2, 2014
Great disks. Very informative.
By Aaron A.
IL
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
November 17, 2014
Image quality is not good. Circa early 90's like.
By AMBER D.
GA
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
November 11, 2014
Very helpful videos. I recommend them for anyone looking for a positive reinforcement method of training their pointing dogs.
By Reid B.
WI
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
September 30, 2014
I have not finished viewing the materials. So far I am pleased.
By Kevin S.
CO
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
August 17, 2014
I have only viewed the perfect start since my pup is only 14 weeks old. However, I really like the tips and the fact that they work dogs that are not trained dogs yet. Some of the dogs in the video are very shy and they show you how to work them through their shyness. One training book I own says that some dogs are not trainable and these videos show that with patience and hard work all dogs are trainable.
By Fred H.
ON
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
June 9, 2014
The video content is 100%. I have done a lot of reading, and watching the video shows that keeping things simple and using the dog's natural ability and instincts is the way to go. It gives a clearer picture than just books alone can do. As far as the video goes, an overdub on the sound to remove the wind noise would make it better. I'm not sure if the numbers showing the run time are from my DVD player, but I didn't seem to get rid of them. They sometimes interfered with some of the written pop up comments.
By Charity M.
UT
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
April 22, 2014
I'm so glad I got this set. So far I have learned a ton of things just from the first disc that will help me. When I ordered the set it came quickly :)
By Cody S.
TX
Review for The Perfect Start / Perfect Finish 5-Disc DVD Set
March 7, 2014
Great DVD set, easy to understand for a beginner like myself. They teach you what to do from having your puppy in the beginning all the way to the end.

Page 1 of 1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2021, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.