Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


4.8
163 Reviews
5
85% (138)
4
12% (19)
3
3% (5)
2
1% (1)
1
0% (0)
99% Recommend this product (162 of 163 responses)
By updateCategoryParent
Minnesota
The best
August 6, 2021
This is the best automatic water dispenser, now all you need is to make one for food and it has to be metal. Why? Because we the people want it. Now go and make it, so you can make more money. Believe me, we want it. A gravity fed kibble dispenser made out of the same metal that can be securely mounted on a wall or fence. You can thank me later.
By Phil
Tucson AZ
After 10 years still working great.
July 22, 2021
I was hesitant to spend $150+ about 10 years ago when I purchased this watered. I must say it’s money well spent. I had Mount plastic ones in the past and they never held up, dogs chewed them and were difficult to clean. The only thing I have had to do was replace the float once and that was only about $10. Once a week I quickly remove the bowl and throw it in the dishwasher along with 5 stainless steel food bowls. If you want to buy a water that will be trouble free and last a lifetime you can’t go wrong with the Nelson 1200. Why leave feedback after 10 years, because it’s rare you purchase an item that actually performs and exceeds you expectations. Phil in Tucson.
By Jeff
Indiana
A Must Have Dog Bowl!
May 11, 2021
Excellent Quality! Easy to install. I have two GSP and this watering system is perfect! Only regret is I wished I would have bought it sooner.
By Mike
Fruita, Colorado
Waterer
May 4, 2021
Received and after a easy install the waterer is working well. I thought at first that the bowl was on the small side - but after installing and filling with water - perfect size.
Prosself serve waterer for the dogs - easy detachment of the bowl to clean - floating device works well
ConsCan't think of any concerns at this time
By Terry T.
LA.
Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer
April 25, 2021
Great looking product , Very well built , fast del.
ProsAll stainless except for float
ConsAssembly arrived with a uncomplete part , contacted Gun Dog Supply and was sent a new part. Awesome !!!
By Skip
Sulphur Springs, Texas
My Dogs Haven't Been Happier
April 22, 2021
I’ve always balked at spend this much money for an automatic water bowl. We’ve used everything from constantly refilling bowls to finally installing an automatic watered from a different manufacturer. That old unit worked well until the stoppers on the float wouldn’t work and then I would have a mini flood in the yard. It also was made of painted steel which constantly would turn green with algae, but hey it was better than filling bowls constantly. When the automatic algae bowl started leaking I said I’m going to get the Nelson 1200. When I first saw the box I thought, “man this is a small bowl”. But after installing it and seeing how deep it is, I love it and I know my dogs love it. Almost a month, no floods and no algae! And when it comes time to clean it, slide the release and take the bowl inside the house for cleaning, I think you can even run it trough the dish washer. It ain’t cheap but as my Daddy said, buy one cry once.
ProsNo algae so far. (But easy to removal the bowl to clean) High quality product, especially the float compared to similar products. Easy installation, but remember to get lag/toggle bolts or anchors.
ConsNot a con but the provided hose is only 12" long. So you must install relatively close to your spigot or buy a longer hose.
By Jason
California
Smaller than expected, but works well
April 16, 2021
The one I previously had was REALLY small for three 45lb+, very active pitbulls. This is larger, easy to install and flotation device works, so no worry of wasting water
ProsEasy install
ConsPricey
By Melisa
Orange County, CA
Worth the money!
March 18, 2021
This was the perfect water bowl to put outside for our dog. I used to have a large plastic waterer. We’d fill it and it would provide water for about 5 days, but it was a pain to fill (you’d fill it and then have to lift it and turn it over to place on the bowl), a pain to clean (the opening was very small and there were ridges in the plastic that we could never really scrub) and there was so much water in it that would inevitably get warm. With this new automatic waterer, the container is super easy to remove and clean and the dish is small enough that it gets fresh water more often. Very happy with this purchase.
ProsEasy to clean. A good size.
ConsNone that I've noticed so far.
By Becky
Northern Utah
Great solution to water dish problem
December 21, 2020
My dog had a terrible habit of spilling her water and then playing with the bucket. This water bowl system fixed the problem. Because it is winter, I don’t have it hooked up to the hose, but I am excited to use that feature once we get warm weather again. If you don’t want the automatic water feature, you could just purchase the dog dish version and be fine. The bowl unfastens easily (but remains secure while being used). The photo show how I attached it to my run.
ProsLess than on Amazon. Fast shipping.
By James N.
TX
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
October 19, 2018
Watered has worked great, stainless supply line has deterred my lab puppies from chewing it.
By Gottabebigdogs
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
October 11, 2018
Outstanding virtually all stainless steel construction (exception: brass fittings, valve float is sturdy plastic). Superb design---bowl slides off, can be cleaned by fingers in the small stream coming from an open valve that rests in the bowl, bowl slides back on, valve continues to fill the bowl, no need to turn off water or bring bowl somewhere to clean. Sturdy, very quiet, the dogs took to it IMMEDIATELY....we call it their fountain. Well worth the money---and I read reviews on many as I shopped around, before choosing this fountain. We now have four of them. Happy dogs!
By Craig D.
GA
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
November 1, 2016
This is a quality product. Easy to install.
By Karen C.
PA
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
October 3, 2016
I have others of this product from Gun Dog and love it. We just extened our puppy kennel and needed another one. Lasts forever and no problems with it.
By Michael H.
NC
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
August 28, 2016
Works great!
By Ellen O.
GA
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
July 22, 2016
I had one of these before and was thrilled to find them again on this site for a great price. These are the best automatic waterers you can own. Easy to install and easy to keep clean, best part, made in the US!
By Robert T.
TX
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
July 19, 2016
Works well. I added a drain to it for easier cleaning.
By Sherri H.
LA
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
July 19, 2016
I love the automatic waterer. It's so hot, and I don't have to worry about my dog running out of water.
By William S.
ID
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
July 13, 2016
Works really well. Only improvement is add bolts to secure to wall as well as pole. Make hose six inches longer. Great product.
By Daniel W.
AZ
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
June 27, 2016
Easy install, simple to cleaning, quality made. Best thing I have bought in a while.
By Karen W.
NM
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
May 31, 2016
Our dogs kept chewing up any bowl we attached to the outside wall. Because this water bowl is metal and all the hardware is metal, they don't even try to chew on it or pull it off of the outside wall where it is attached.
By Nathaniel W.
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
May 26, 2016
Well designed, easy to put together, and works fine. I am very pleased with it.
By Mark D.
NE
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
May 25, 2016
Good product! Works well and was easy to assemble! Bolts were too short to mount to my kennel pole but that's an easy fix!
By Cathy L.
CA
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
May 25, 2016
We just finished our dog run and put this automatic dog water bowl in.. Love it!! And so do the dogs. No mess in the house anymore, always fresh and my silly pup can still shove his face down in the bowl happily. I no longer have to lay 3 beach towels out and constantly wipe the wood floors! Everyone's happy!
By Craig W.
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
May 22, 2016
It should include lag bolts for attaching to a wall or wood post. The pole mount is limited and difficult to attach.
By Robert S.
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
May 7, 2016
Sturdy, as advertised. Easy to install.
By Van C.
TX
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
May 5, 2016
It works great. Before, she played in her water bowl and made a mess; with the waterer mounted on the wall, she is able to drink from it easily but cannot splash and play in it. It is the best purchase we have made for her; it makes our life so much easier.
By Burton P.
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
May 4, 2016
Great product. Great service. Great Seller.
By Les O.
MN
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
April 29, 2016
This item works great. I love it and the dogs have fresh water all the time! Thanks.
By Steve C.
NC
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
April 20, 2016
The crimped fitting for the hose adapter leaked, so I had to do a lot of plumbing work to replace it.
By Scott N.
CA
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
April 12, 2016
I would give it 4.5 stars. The only complaint that I have is with the carriage bolts that hold the unit to the pipe clamp in the back (they rusted out). They should be stainless nuts and bolts. I learned this from my old unit and replaced the new bolts with stainless ones from the hardware store. Otherwise, it is a fine unit (this is my 2nd). The 1st one gave me many years of reliable service.
By Ellen J.
NC
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
April 9, 2016
We got these to replace some old waterers because they were so difficult to clean. These are great because you can easily take the bowls off to clean them.
By SANDY K.
NC
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
April 4, 2016
Our dogs drink a lot of water and this eliminated the need for refilling their water buckets everyday. Plus they have fresh water at all times! Our dogs took right up drinking out of it as soon as my husband installed it. He said it was very simple to install. This has been a great time saver plus I feel better knowing our dogs have fresh water any time they want it. Love it!
By Stephen R.
CA
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
April 3, 2016
I have 1 Labrador Retriever and 3 teacup Chihuahuas. The Nelson automatic dog waterer Installed easily on my stucco walls with not provided concrete screws. I installed it low enough for my teacup chihuahuas to drink from. The unit comes apart easily to clean. After buying the cheap dog waterers I can appreciate the Nelson stainless steel dog waterer.
By Erin C.
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
February 17, 2016
We love this dog waterer. Living in Southern California we often worry about our dogs running out of water in the heat of summer. This is going to make sure our pups never go thirsty, and relieves me of having to check multiple times a day that the bowls are full.
By Sandra
CO
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
January 29, 2016
I love this watering bowl because it is easy to take off to clean and it doesn't leak like other brands that we have had in the past. I also like mounting it to the wall and the extra floor space we now have in our garage.
By Jason M.
Puppywood Pet Resort
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
December 17, 2015
I have 6 of these automatic water bowls at our pet resort. They are easy to install. Note that the short connecting hose is specific to these bowls and another will need to be purchased if it gets chewed on. If you could hook them up directly with a regular hose I would give them 5 stars. Aside from that they have held up very well in a high use environment with a 60-70 dog average per day.
By Desmond M.
AB
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
December 14, 2015
An overflow tray with a drain tie in assembly for indoor installation would be a great option for this product, especially for Canada during winter.
By Ralph K.
HI
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
November 16, 2015
I finally found a automatic waterer that is of solid construction and DOESN'T LEAK!!
By Edward E.
GA
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
October 7, 2015
My pups love it!
By James H.
CA
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
October 1, 2015
My 2 labs chewed up the plastic automatic watering bowl after about a month. It held on for a while and put up a good fight, but when they chewed the plug at the bottom underneath it began to leak...a lot! The Nelson is awesome as the bowl removes for cleaning instead of a drain plug. It installed in a jiff, and I couldn't be happier. Durable and easy to clean.
By Sandy N.
CA
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
August 31, 2015
It's great. We bring our 4 dogs inside and like them to have water. It was pain to continually have to fill the water bowl. This is a great solution, even inside. We drilled a hole in our wall and plumbed it to the hose bib outside. Works great and is a good looking addition to the house. Thanks, Steve.
By Jerry D.
LA
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
August 11, 2015
Very nice product and simple to setup.
By John W.
AZ
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
July 12, 2015
Exactly what we were looking for. Never again will we worry about our dogs running out of water during the Arizona summers.
By Russell H.
CA
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
July 9, 2015
Could you make the water connection fitting out of metal? Seem like it will be very fragile and prone to cross threading if not careful. So far no problem, but it the plastic seems like a potential problem.
By Shawna D.
TX
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
July 6, 2015
It was super easy to install and the dogs love it. I was worried about my rottie as she can be skittish around noises, but the refill feature was quiet, and she didn't even notice it.
By Hervey L.
MS
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
June 22, 2015
We have been using Nelson 1200 waterers since 2000. We take in and socialize rescued dogs (foster care) before they go to their forever homes.
By Jeff
CA
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
May 19, 2015
Works great and was easy to install. The stainless steel construction is very nice and easy to clean. Quality Product!
By William A.
CA
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
May 18, 2015
Easy to install, easy to clean, worry free. This is the only stainless unit I could find with the features I wanted and needed. If you love your dogs this is the unit you want to use, PERIOD. Thanks Gun Dog Supply.
By Elmer P.
GA
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
May 12, 2015
Great product.
By Lee
Review for BESTSELLER: Nelson Automatic Dog Waterer 1200
April 12, 2015
High quality. Love it!

Page 1 of 4
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2021, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number: