Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.7
136 Reviews
5
78% (106)
4
13% (18)
3
7% (9)
2
1% (1)
1
1% (2)
97% Recommend this product (132 of 136 responses)
By Jim
Woods of Pa
better fit
December 3, 2022
This worked better than the other style, it does not rub on the front legs.
ProsVery adjustable, I have labs They can have different body shapes,
ConsThe harness can get twisted up before you put it on. Can take a little time to figger it out.
By John
New England
Rugged and functional
December 1, 2022
I got this for my lab to wear when we're out in the brush after upland game. He's medium size but very athletic build and a size large fits his chest perfectly. It's a bit loose around his belly, even with the straps cinched in. The good news is he doesn't mind wearing it for several hours and it's cut so that it doesn't rub around his armpits like his last vest. We've only had it out 3 times, but it appears to be holding up well against the brambles and brush. So far I have no complaints.
By Lorene D.
Dayton Nevada
Great product
November 24, 2022
This skid plate is as advertised and was recommended to me for my Brittany hunting. They have great customer service.
By Pete
CT
Mendota Skid Plate Chest Protector
September 29, 2022
Second skid plate - first he outgrown. Easy to apply, made of durable but flexible nylon and easy to clean. Covers the vital areas in the event the dog crashes a fence or runs through heavy briars. Most importantly, its lightweight so he doesn't overheat.
ProsLightweight to reduce overheating yet durable for protection.
ConsBuckles could be off center of backbone for greater comfort to dog.
By Allen
Idaho
Best protection I have found
September 28, 2022
This chest protector is of good quality and well engineered. My lab is under 80# but required an XL size because of his deep muscular chest. It fits great, would not run this aggressive hunting dog in the sage brush without it.
ProsGood fit when sized right
ConsNone
By Jeff
McCook Nebraska
Well made
March 26, 2022
This vest is well-made and adjusts to nicely fit my lab. She has worn it for a couple of training runs and it seems tough and comfortable.
By Andy
East Tennessee
Rubbed the front under arms raw
March 2, 2022
I purchased this chest protector for two reasons: chest protection from briars and sticks, and the other reason was for a little more visibility. Yes, it saved the chest but at the cost of raw and now hairless front legs. We only used it once for fours hours.
By birddogkc
Kansas
I like it. Dog likes it
February 19, 2022
New dog and needed a chest protector. I've previously used Filson, but those are not available. These are and work great. Durable with decent protection and most importantly, no rubbing or irritation under the front legs. Medium was a good fit for my 45 pound setter.
By Tom O.
WA
Skid plate chest protector
January 13, 2022
Fits well. Appears to be well made. Haven't had a chance to use it yet.
ProsFits well. Well made
By Taylor
Georgia
Great protection
December 5, 2021
This is our second skid plate we have purchased because our GSP outgrew the first one, so we bought the next size up. Love the adjustable straps and it covers the upper and lower chest well, which is sometimes hard to find in products with how deep GSPs chests are. The blaze orange is great for high visibility in brush while hunting. It seems to be comfortable on our dog and not rub her wrong in any places. Highly recommend!
ProsAdjustable, high visibility, comfortable, fits wells
By Larry
Elk River, MN
Orange Dog Vest
November 16, 2021
Vest is very durable and goes on easily! Protects my dogs chest and belly. Helps to keep my dog safe from being accidentally shot. Highly recommend!
By Keith
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Lightweight protection
October 19, 2021
This is my second purchase of the skid plate. It provides protection for my females, keeping them from rubbing their teats raw. Good warm weather vest as it has more ventilation.
By Shelby
Maine
Causes sore spot and hair loss on front shoulders
September 20, 2021
Vest fits as advertised but the neck yoke where it attaches to skid plate is rough and it cause a sore spot and hair loss on both of Buckshot's front shoulders. He wore four times for about and hour each time. Contacted Gun Dog and they suggested hand washing. Will know results soon.
By Kevin
Iowa
Excellent
September 16, 2021
I couldn’t find this kid played anywhere else. Then dog supply had it in stock and it only took two days to get to me
ProsIf it?s my dog perfect exactly the protection my dog needs
ConsI haven?t found any
By Cathy
the Green Mtn. State
Excellent
March 19, 2021
Does what it needs to do...protects your best friends chest/belly.
ProsMultiple adjustment. Easy on/off.
Conswish there was a little cushioning on part that fits close to chest/between front legs - to prevent rubbing.
By Wes
MS
Great Product
March 17, 2021
After some adjusting, the vest worked well. Quality workmanship. Protects dog well. Lots of adjustment which you'll need to make it fit properly and prevent it from moving around.
ProsWorks well
ConsNone so far
By Cory
Minnesota
Solid item
February 18, 2021
Easy to put on and off protecting belly great for upland
ProsEasy to adjust, visible, good in hot and snowy cold weather, long lasting in the woods or prairie lands
By Jeremy
Traverse City, MI
Turns your dog pink when wet
February 15, 2021
Quality of materials (buckles, fabric, and stitching) used to construct this vest is good, but when the material gets wet it turns my English setters coat pink (which doesn’t come off). This isn’t a problem when the material is dry. Glad I had it on my dog to protect his chest when he jumped through a barbed wire fence this weekend.
ProsGood protection and freedom of movement.
ConsNot color fast. Turns your white dog pink when wet.
By Stuart
Minneapolis, MN
skid plate review
January 27, 2021
I have an earlier skid plate just like this one that I have used for two years while hunting pheasants. It has worked great, easy to put on, rugged material and protects the dog well. A good addition to your hunting supplies. I like it a lot.
By ERIC
VERMONT
GREAT PRODUCT
January 4, 2021
Great visibility and added protection for my GSP, without adding much weight and nothing to over heat the dog
Prosvisibility adjustability Very easy to put on great protection for the dogs chest and belly
Consnone yet
By Tony
Connecticut
The best
December 30, 2020
Very happy with the protection the vests provided to my griff. Super strong and looks like it'll last for years. After wasting money on flimsy vests I am now set and have confidence this will protect my baby.
ProsLight Strong Blaze orange is very bright
ConsNone
By Mark M.
Missouri
Visibility and protection
December 30, 2020
I initial bought this to provide some safety for my mostly white GSP in the snow. She's very difficult to see with a collar alone. I was worried about her overheating with some of the other designs, which seem to favor duck hunting. I had also previously used a similar vest to this to help with visibility in the snow, but it used velcro to attach so it didn't stay on well when hunting really brushing cover. The Mendota is the ticket with it's buckle strap closures, minimal but sufficient design and tough material. If you have big running upland dogs, this is the best designed dog vest I've seen.
ProsI chose this product for the buckle closures, tough fabric, and that it won't overheat the dog like other designs.
ConsMy only improvement would be to have the waste buckle (closest to tail) attach on the side of the dog, because the plastic buckle sits on top of the high point of the spine. I adjusted the straps to help the buckle sit to the side to prevent rubbing, but it's not perfect. Having the strap on one side designed to be longer than the other side would easily solve this problem by making the buckle close on the dog's side. My finger is on my dog's spine in the photo below to help show this.
By jeff a.
CA
A good investment!
December 28, 2020
After an unfortunate incident in the field and a substantial vet bill it seems hindsight is always 20/20. So I purchased this item on several recommendations and am happy with my puppys' comfort and my piece of mind. Easy to adjust and easy to place on my dog.
By Randy
Cedarville, MI
Well made protector
December 26, 2020
This has worked well. Easy to put in and adjust. My setter is about 35 lbs with a deep but narrow chest. Small fits well.
ProsEasy to put on and adjust. Seems well made and durable
ConsNone
By John
Northern IL
Mendota Skid Plate
December 23, 2020
Would recommend this product wholeheartedly! Easy to use and protects our Braque Franciase's underbelly wonderfully.
By Rich
St. Michael, MN
Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
December 22, 2020
Excellent fit for my black lab. Second one I've purchased as he outgrew his first. The skid plate offers great protection in heavy brush and also protects against barbwire fences. Would highly recommend for your dog!
ProsEasy on and off. Washable. Great protection for the dog.
ConsNone
By Bob
Burlington WI
Good Product
December 21, 2020
I ordered this for my French Brittany (in standard) and it is a good product but, even made as small as possible it is still to large. While hunting, 3 times she came back to me with a front paw hobbled thru the neck space. Wish they made it in Extra Small for the smallest hunting breeds but understand that they would not sell a bunch of them.
ProsWell built, extra layer of cordura to help prevent abrasions and increase durability.
ConsCannot be made small enough for the smallest of the hunting breeds.
By Anthony B.
Pennsylvania
Mendota Skid Plate
December 21, 2020
Nice fit. One change I had to make was a notch/cut out so my male dog did not urinate on the bottom/skid plate. Dog is a male Lab average size. Well built just a tad long on the bottom.
By JAMES H.
WY
Skidplate
December 20, 2020
Its working good, and appears to be durable enough to hold up.
ProsThe fluorescent orange color makes it easier to find my short, mostly black dog in the sagebrush.
By Brian
Charles City, Iowa
Good product
December 19, 2020
This product has good quality and I can expand it as my yellow lab grows. I would recommend this product for anyone
By Dave D.
Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Excellent product!
December 15, 2020
I bought the Mendota Skid Plate Vest for my 2 setters after trying a hook and loop style that didn't fit well and kept coming off. The adjustable straps on the Mendota vest allowed me to custom fit them for each dog and the open design prevented overheating on those warmer fall days. With 50 plus days in a variety of terrains in the grouse and woodcock woods of Michigan's Upper Peninsula the Mendota vest protected my dogs bellies and the handle on the back was great for correcting the dogs during training.
ProsEasily adjustable straps, durable material, highly visible orange color
ConsNone
By Jeff
Virginia
Very happy with size L(Large)
November 29, 2020
Very happy with high vis and protection Purchased for my English labrador, black. She's 9mos, solid 65lbs. I purchased for visibility during dear season and as prep for getting pup used to neoprene vest. I really like this vest. She's a waterfowl dog and I like to be able to see her when we are in the brush and field training. I should have purchased long ago.
ProsVisibility Fit Adjustments
ConsNone
By #uplandqueen
Southwest Michigan
Better then expected
October 13, 2020
Bought this to help my 10 month old lab when she's running grouse and woodcock. Got it fit to her and haven't looked back. Must have for any upland running pup.
ProsTrue to size Light weight Good adjusting
ConsA little tough to clean but who really cares.
By Whiskey B.
Wyoming
Exactly what we wanted for our adventurous Bully
October 11, 2020
Believe it or not our athletic English Bulldog loves to grouse hunt with her Chocolate Lab sister. She is a bulldozer through the brush, but her belly was getting beaten up. As her chest is so big versus her length, we got a medium and cinch the back 2 straps together to stop the back strap falling over her hind end, but it is still perfect. It has worked really well.
By Thompson T.
In the Smokey Northwest
A Tank
September 18, 2020
My puddlepointer loves it. She’s a tank in the brush. Have friend that did have a puddlepointer but lost it because of stick in the chest. I don’t want that.
ProsAll pros
ConsNo cons
By Kurt S.
Iowa
Mendota Skid Plate
September 4, 2020
appears to be well built but at this time have not put it to the test.
By Justin
Albertville, MN
Nice Fitting Vest
September 2, 2020
Fits as expected! Sizing guide was very helpful and better than what i found on Mendota's site. Vest holds up well to abuse and is doing a good job keeping my chocolate lab protected!
By Patrick F.
SD
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
October 11, 2018
By S H.
TX
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
October 10, 2018
Don't like the orange color.
By Kenneth J.
IL
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
November 24, 2016
We hunt in Montana and Kansas, it saves the dogs belly from the grass and brush. I wouldn't send my dogs out without one.
By CORY C.
Ut
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
November 18, 2016
Great product saves the breasts and tits from injury when hunting in thick brush. Light enough that won't cause overheating
By Brian
MN
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
November 10, 2016
Adjustable, custom fit won't chafe your dog.
By Robert R.
WI
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
November 5, 2016
The skid plate was perfect for my Brittney. We hunt some aspen stands for grouse and woodcock with a heavy blackberry understory. I can quickly put it on and Jaz goes right to work with great protection and noticeably less irritation from all the thorns. Very good product.
By Steve A.
MN
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
October 25, 2016
Have used it several hunts now. Fits great no rubbing or chafing. I ordered a small, very happy with the fit. Also the harness is great for lifting the dog up.
By Brendan S.
Mi
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
October 22, 2016
Fits great! Definitely holds up to the elements encountered in the field.
By Mark
MN
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
October 22, 2016
I have a older female dog and it could have been a couple of inches longer, to provide protection on one of her teats. It would be nice to have a model that's a couple of inches longer.
By Joseph E.
PA
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
October 17, 2016
Works and fits as advertised. I included the measurements with my order and was surprised to receive a response back almost immediately. The Skid Plate is good and I like it.
By Jim B.
MA
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
October 16, 2016
The best one there is, the only one our older lab hasn't trashed in less than a season. Hers is three years old and just got another for the pup.
By Daniel B.
IL
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
September 20, 2016
To short for long body of Irish Wolfhound.
By Alan N.
ON
Review for Mendota Skid Plate - Orange
July 31, 2016
It is still early for this piece of gear. That said, it improves visibility (main reason for purchasing) and also seems to not overheat my pooch. So far it is meeting/exceeding expectations.

Page 1 of 3
1





privacy policy | terms & conditions


1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions