Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+

You are here:  > 

4.8
145 Reviews
5
79% (115)
4
19% (27)
3
1% (2)
2
0% (0)
1
1% (1)
99% Recommend this product (144 of 145 responses)
By Chuck C.
Ottumwa Iowa
Lucky launcher kit
May 29, 2024
This launcher greatly helps with dogs that when training don’t break, but on gun shot they do. It also helps with getting your dog to run longer retrieve. I was throwing dummies and my lab was getting used to stopping about 30 yards out before you had to start casting here.
By Kurt
Iowa
Very nice unit
March 27, 2024
This is much easier to use than the handheld style.
By Tony R.
Omaha, NE
Great training tool in multiple ways.
March 27, 2024
Using with new pup to get her introduced to guns. Loves chasing and retrieving dummies as puppies do!
Pros
  • Great quality
  • Multiple uses in training
Cons
  • None
By Sabot
Charleston, SC
Great trainer for distance and control
March 21, 2024
Great trainer from shot to bird fall and retrieve. Supports steady on shot and back commands. Medium yellow blank is more than enough. Adjust launcher angle for distance. I had to thoroughly clean and lube all parts of launcher and dummies before use.
Pros
  • Sturdy, quality, range, altitude, blank eject mechanism
Cons
  • O ring is unseating on only 2d use about 15 shots. The large metal ring at base of dummy can cause damage to dog teeth or gums. O ring lube is a must. A plastic cleaning rod for dummy well should be included.
By David
Paducah, ky
Lucky Laucher II Dummy Launcher Set
February 19, 2024
This is a replacement for my 20+ year old Lucky Launcher, I'm very pleased with the improvement made to this model, manly the shell ejector. Easily removes medium load empty cases, haven't tried heavy loads. Quality of material is very good, better than my orginal launcher. Medium loads work great, haven't had any light loads or miss fires.
Pros
  • better case ejector, larger hinge latch are huge improvements
Cons
  • Havent' found any yet
By ADT
NJ
Excellent retriever training kit
November 16, 2023
My versatile dog loves retrieving from this on land and water. The egg is a little harder for her to pick up, but she goes bonkers at the sight of the launcher. The case can fit more dummies so you can interchange while you wait for the others to dry. I find using the green or yellow ammo are suitable enough for distances. Definitely need ear protection when firing this off.
Pros
  • Great training tool
  • Easy to operate
By Dan M.
Indiana
Perfect
October 20, 2023
My other launcher is 15 years old; still works, but this gives us the chance to work multiple retrieves. I'm confident this one will get us through the next 15 years.
By Dean D.
Massena, Iowa
Great folks with great products my old Lucky Launcher is over 30 years old! and I use both every day
July 26, 2023
If you have Retrievers this is a must have tool!
Pros
  • All good!
Cons
  • I seem to always run low on 22 blanks! Dogs love this tool
By Tracy C.
Texas/Montana
Lucky Launcher Training
June 17, 2023
Awesome training tool.
Pros
  • You get the sound of gunfire to Simulate real hunting situations. Great for steadinesses drills as well as for improve marking.
By Aric
Florence, Vermont
Exceptional Launcher
May 10, 2023
Very satisfied with the Lucky Launcher! My Chesapeake Bay Retriever gets a good workout using this great tool. Highly recommend it to anyone doing retriever training or just someone trying to save their arm.
Pros
  • Distance and ease of use.
Cons
  • Would like a sling and vest that accommodates multiple launch dummies, ammo pouch, a couple bumper pockets , kibble pocket and two cord pockets; I know I'm asking for a lot but if the can build it I would be a buyer
By Thomas l.
15 Bethany court nj
Had a little trouble with the o ring work it out going out sat to try out
April 21, 2023
Thanks for helping out with the problem and service great job
By CJ
Waldorf, Md
Great Training Tool
March 7, 2023
Great tool for training, if you have a dog that breaks on the shot and doesn't when hand thrown bumper this is your tool coupled with E-Collar. I will say that you will only need the light loads to launch unless you get the uber large bumper which I haven't tried. The normal size bumper goes 100+ yards with medium loads.
Pros
  • One hand operation so other hand can be on collar remote.
  • Launches further than hand thrown to condition your dog with exercise.
Cons
  • Don't know of one.
By Julio
Florida
Excellent
October 15, 2022
High quality product, very fast response and shipping. Definitely the best experience I ever have buying something on line, professional service in very high quality.
Pros
  • Fast response, fast shipping, high quality product
Cons
  • No at all
By Derek
North Idaho
Awesome
October 13, 2022
Really enjoy this thing and so does my dog. It shoots a lot farther then you’ll expect at first.
By Brian
Missouri
Duck launch dummy poorly made
August 6, 2021
I bought one last year for my new lab. I hve had some trouble with some loads but that trouble went away when I started keeping all my loads in plastic zip locks to prevent ANY moisture. The duck dummy launcher i ordered with the kit did not last more than 20 shots. The pressure from the shot opened up a small hole in the foam near the neck. This loss of pressure does not allow the duck to fly more than 10 yards I should have returned it last year when it happened but just got busy then the next thing you know a year has gone by, you know how it goes. I also had some issues with the packaging when I first received the launcher(the loads had come loose and were all over the box thee package sounded like a rattle.) The customer service was exemplary they immediately sent more loads. Overall the launcher works well and yes definitely wear hearing protective while using. And keep the orange bolt handle tight(it loosens up) keep a little Vaseline handy for the o ring. They should include an extra o ring. Most importantly my dog loves it!
Pros
  • one hand operation
  • Customer service from GDS
  • Does what its supposed to.
Cons
  • duck dummy poorly made.
By Ed
WA
Good, but not perfect
May 12, 2021
The Good: The Lucky Launcher II launches the provided bumper a distance of 50 to 60 yards (measured) with the medium power loads that came with it. Right now, I'm using it to drill my dog on steadiness. The one-hand operation is important because it leaves my other hand free to hold her collar. The load report mimics the sound of a shotgun, adding to the stimulus. (The warning to wear ear protection should be taken SERIOUSLY.) In the near future, I plan to use it to create longer retrieves over varied terrain, including water, and the range will make this possible. Power loads are reliable. I've used about 1/3 of the 100 that came with it with no misfires. The Not-So-Good: The provided canvas bumper has a smoother surface than other canvas bumpers and my dog sometimes struggles to keep a hold on it. I have already ordered a compatible bumper from another manufacturer. The recoil is surprisingly heavy. It feels about like my 12 gauge O/U shooting 3" goose loads. Since it doesn't generate nearly the momentum of a 12 gauge, I attribute the felt recoil to the light weight and the rudimentary stock. I've taken to wearing a PAS recoil pad when I shoot it. Cleaning it is problematic. A bore snake will not go through it. Neither will a .22 pistol cleaning rod and patch. I got one stuck in the bore and had a time getting it out. I've taken to cleaning it with an aerosol bore scrubber and compressed air and lubricating/preserving it with a spray lubricant. Not as effective as I'd like but it works. Also, I only get about 10 launches before enough residue builds up in the chamber to make chambering a new blank difficult.
Pros
  • Reliable
  • Good Range
  • One-handed Operation
Cons
  • Heavy recoil
  • Bumper difficult for dog to grasp
  • Difficult to clean
By Kyle c.
Iowa
Lucky launcher II
January 26, 2021
Solid product I have only used with medium loads so far. It doing what I needed. The trigger and shooting from the hip is awesome
Pros
  • The hand grip and trigger makes it easy to use.
  • The shell kick out is a lot nicer than the older hand helds
  • I'm able to run doubles easy do to the easy of loading and unloading
By John T.
York PA
Buy it!
December 21, 2020
Great product, I’m not sure who likes it more me or the dog! It’s a great training aid and tons of fun. Buy extra O rings. They are only 40 cents and if your dog likes it as much as mine does it’s good to have some on hand.
Pros
  • Great product for a active dog
Cons
  • It's got some kick for a 22
By Greg
Roseviile, Ca
Dummy Launcher
December 19, 2020
Shoots far. Easy on wrist with stock.
Pros
  • Launches far.
By Customer
MT
Must Have
October 2, 2020
Training alone this is a must!!
By Stuck G.
God Forsaken, MT
Launcher is great
September 4, 2020
It works well but the charges are almost never the same distance. Some don't get off the launcher, some go 10 feet and others might fly 200 with the medium charges.
Cons
  • Definitely is a punch to your leg
By Jim
Ottertail Lake, Minnesota
Lucky Launcher II
September 4, 2020
Wish I had ordered one of these years ago. Have used the hand held launchers for some time. The recoil from them has been harder to handle as I get older and I get more arthritis in my hands and wrists. The stock on this allows you to place it on your thigh to absorb the recoil. Very nice product and works as it should. I received a box of green (low) loads with the launcher but have had quite a few “duds” even after making sure things are dry. Would recommend the yellow loads which I believe are medium.
By Rick
Somerset KY
Lucky Launcher ll
September 2, 2020
Nice product haven't gotten to that stage of training yet, so I can't comment on usability. Will review more at later time
Pros
  • N/A
Cons
  • N/A
By Robbie F.
TX
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
October 19, 2018
Works very well! It's easy enough that my son who is 7 is able to launch the dummies for me while we are working our dog. Great training tool for both of my young hunters.
By John H.
Pa
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
October 19, 2018
Works well so far. Had one years ago and the firing pin wore out, but it saw a lot of use.Great training tool.
By Albert B.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Deluxe Gun Dog Kit
October 18, 2018
By Dennis S.
CT
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
October 18, 2018
I use the Launcher all and at this point, I never had an issue with this or had to replace the O ring! Despite having a few acres I can't shoot a gun on my property! However, this mimics a gun and is legal! Love it!
By Thomas F.
CA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Deluxe Gun Dog Kit
October 16, 2018
By Kent H.
CO
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
October 11, 2018
Good product but trigger return spring only worked for a short time. The launcher still works but I haven't had the time to trouble shoot the problem.
By Robert M.
TX
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
October 11, 2018
By Sandy M.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
November 8, 2016
Love this trainer! My dog loves it too. :)
By JAY H.
MS
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
September 30, 2016
Works great! Helps to have a free hand. My wife feels like she trust this one the most and will choose this over others.
By Jacob
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
August 20, 2016
Great tool for training. I wish I would have got one sooner. It has really helped with steadying and marking. I also like the distance it shoots.
By Robert B.
PA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
August 8, 2016
Sometimes it is very hard to remove the shell casing. Beside that it is very handy and gets the dog use to the gun noise. Bob
By Alan W.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Deluxe Gun Dog Kit
August 1, 2016
Great for one person training.
By Zachary F.
IN
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 24, 2016
Works great! Easy to use! The dog loves it!
By Bob W.
ON
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
July 4, 2016
Many misfires with 22 blanks. I do not know if this is due to my blanks or the launcher set. When the launcher shoots well the dummy goes for a long ride. Retrieves in the 60 yard range are common. Great training tool when it works well. My dog is improving his breaks at sound of shot. Long retrieves and a tired but still excited lab at end of session is a bonus.
By John D.
MS
Review for Lucky Launcher II Deluxe Gun Dog Kit
July 3, 2016
Works great and is easy to use.
By Corey F.
KS
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
June 18, 2016
The Lucky Launcher is a great tool for training your retriever on long marks. I have not had any issues with this launcher and would recommend this product to anyone.
By Richard G.
FL
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
May 29, 2016
I had to use a throwable dummy to begin with but now use the shoulder dummy launcher. When I take it out my dog goes crazy wanting to retrieve the dummy. This product is great for fine tooling my dog. Great product. Very well made!!
By Single C.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
May 27, 2016
Easy to use. I purchased teal and dummies with streamers. All great products!
By Tom M.
IL
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
May 4, 2016
I have a DT Systems launcher but takes 2 hands to operate. Besides that I really like it. Bought the Lucky Launcher so I would have one hand free to operate shock collar etc... Lucky works okay, dummies fit to snug on it which I think contributes to the fact it kicks like a Missouri Pack Mule. It is very loud compared to the DT Systems as well. I cringe every time I pull the trigger knowing I am going to get the snot kicked out of me.
By Brian H.
AK
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
May 2, 2016
Doesn't work once any moisture comes into contact with the dummy or launcher.
By David B.
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
April 24, 2016
Excellent quality and throws it out a long ways.
By Darin H.
FL
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
March 19, 2016
I use this product to shot throw line over steep and high roofing systems for roof access.
By Louie
Review for Lucky Launcher II Deluxe Gun Dog Kit
February 28, 2016
I don't have any dogs, I use this for launching lines into trees for doing tree trimming and taking down trees.... These launchers have many uses. Your service and expedience in shipping is great, thanks!!!
By John D.
CA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Deluxe Gun Dog Kit
February 20, 2016
So far this is a great product. I can also use it for steady work and for bringing in the gun.
By William R.
MI
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
February 10, 2016
I have a Lab that is a little gun shy. What a great tool to overcome this problem. It is not as loud as a gun but does fill the place. We went from hiding to retrieving. Marley is coming along very nicely.
By Neal H.
PA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
January 5, 2016
Easy to use. Louder than expected.
By Robert F.
LA
Review for Lucky Launcher II Dummy Launcher Set
December 22, 2015
Once my dog got used to the noise she loves it. Start jumping the minute I bring it out.

Page 1 of 3
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2024, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions