Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


Review Summary
4.9
383 Reviews
5
90% (343)
4
9% (35)
3
1% (5)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (382 of 383 responses)
By Erica
Fort Worth, Texas
Safe, effective and easy to use!
June 11, 2021
This system came highly recommended by our dog trainer. It is very easy to use and our dog has become so much more well-behaved.
By Mike
Pittsburgh, PA
Great Product
June 9, 2021
Great product, like the fact it has 3 options, tone , vibrate and stimulation. In training my new puppy, vibration is as far as I need to go.
Pros3 options, excellent DVD, complimentary 15 foot leash
By Linsey
Massachusetts
It works amazing!
June 2, 2021
My dog is a hound/terrier mix (I know help me). I wanted to be able to let him run free in fields but learn to stay in eye sight. He would just shake off standard shock collars on tone, vibration and shock! I looked into hunting collars as he could be used for hunting and wow I saw such a huge difference. Even on vibe, he coming back when called. I highly recommend getting the DVD as well as it has influenced the way I train with the collar so much, in a good way of course! My boy can sometimes have the deep hound howl or the high pitch cry of a terrier. The bark limiter on the collar works to help keep the noise to minimum because I do allow my dogs to bark and cry a little bit as they are dogs and that is how they can communicate with us.
By Jamzm
Western PA
Works great
June 1, 2021
This unit is easy to learn and operate. Many times, you can skip the electrical zap and using the tone or vibration features. Made a big difference in the way our possessed aussiedoodle behaves during a walk. At times, the devil dog ignores the tone and/or vibration and does his own thing. That's when you try the zapper. Luckily, the amplitude of the signals can be adjusted. And there is always some level of amplitude that gets his/her attention. You just need to be sure and put the collar unit on snugly. There are many devices like this on the market, but the ones I've seen just don't have all the features or don't work as well. The quality and durable appearance gives you confidence that if you follow use and care of the device, you really can't go wrong.
ProsVery effective Quality construction Easy to get familiar with the operation Available one cent video to learn the basics
ConsSome getting used to is expected Not sure about the effects of water on the collar or control unit You would think that the collar needs to be water tight Don't let the attached image fool you. He's a wild animal who is now mostly controllable.
By Anne
Pendleton,Oregon
Excellent training tool
May 29, 2021
Our dog was a runner and wouldn’t listen outside of our yard. This collar has been awesome. In 2 days our dog was behaving! We only need to use the vibrate button now. The Garmin Sport Pro is easy to use and we are very happy that our dog obeys. We can now travel with him and feel confident that he won’t run away.
ProsEasy to use!
By Adam
Cedarville, Ohio
Great product and price.
May 26, 2021
This is my first training collar. After a much research I decided to purchase this one and was not disappointed.
ProsTone and vibrate buttons
ConsNone yet
By Lea A.
Webbers Falls, Oklahoma
Great, easy to use e-collar
May 22, 2021
This e-collar is easy to use and I love the fact that I don’t have to choose tone OR vibration like lots of other models. Both are accessible from the remote. The remote is the perfect size, not too bulky or too heavy.
ProsVibration and tone both accessible Long range Perfectly sized remote Light on collar so easy to see my dog at night Long battery life....used for 2 weeks, everyday training sessions for one dog and haven't charged it yet.
By Craig
Platte City, MO
Works perfectly for my two dogs.
May 22, 2021
Good range, audible beep can be heard easily, if you can't see your dog. Headlights on the collar is very nice to have at night. Especially when you live in the country!
By Sheila H.
Meeteetse, WY
Works as it should
May 20, 2021
I've not used it a lot yet as the weather has been very wet and thunder-y, but when I did, it worked better than any other I have purchased and my 100 pound not-a-year-old-yet Mastweiller responded well to it.
ProsDoesn't take much to get results.
ConsDon't have any yet.
By John
Cheney, WA
Garmin Tri-Tronics Sport Pro E-Collar
May 20, 2021
I have had it a couple of weeks and haven't used it much. I'm going slow in training my black Lab puppy. I have had the exact same device for our 11 year old black Lab, and it has worked great!
By Brenda G.
7266 Goodwood Ave Baton Rouge La 70806
Excellent collar
May 16, 2021
The Garmin is excellent. Only issue is an explanation on the toggle switch positions and more details in the instructions manual on the different options. Discussed the operations with a technician it was very positive.
ProsVarious options are nice
ConsMore detailed instructions with accompanying photos
By Tim
Coeur D Alene, ID
The perfect training collar system for the techno challenged.
May 8, 2021
I wanted a training collar without all the bells and whistles that I could control without constantly having to fumble for multiple controls and look at a screen. The Pro Sport hits the mark. I have no problem controlling the unit with one hand while maintaining visual contact with my dog. I was initially concerned that ten levels of stimulation may not provide an acceptable level of gradation. That has not been an issue for my dog. The tone feature has worked great for controlling how far my dog ranges out from me. I can't speak to long term durability but my initial impression is quite favorable.
ProsLight weight, compact and easy to use. The running lights are a nice touch.
ConsNone so far.
By GLEN C.
NOWTHEN MN
GARMIN SPORT PRO
May 3, 2021
WORKS GREAT. KINDA WISH IT HAD A LED ON THE REMOTE TO TELL WHEN ITS ON OR OFF. THE LED LIGHTS NEED TO BE ON THE BACK SIDE OF THE COLLAR RECIEVER FACING FORWARD. MY DOGS FUR IS TO LONG AND IF THEY ARE UP OR DOWN THEY DON'T SHINE ON THE GROUND. BUT AT LEAST I CAN SEE WHERE HE IS AT IN THE DARK.
By Amy G.
Lakeside in Colorado
Such a great feeling
April 25, 2021
Well i got another gundog, not to hunt but because I love the personality and intelligence of these dogs. Jasper is 8 months old and knows most commands and is training well but as the spring comes and the ducks and geese on our lake show up we have been having a issue with running away. I understand his drive, but I am nervous about not having him in eyeshot. The Garmin collar has been a great addition to training and he seems to understand what i want from him. Our walk by the lake on Saturday was amazing. He stopped when he got on point and felt my gentle zap and command “come.” I really had a hard time going to a training collar but it was a great decision. The ease of use with the buttons and quick change in levels in one hand was very well designed. I would recommend this to anyone, it is not a punishment collar, it is a training tool. Thank you Garmin, you made a winner. Steve made it a good price, great video and website info.
ProsEase of use, waterproof and floats
ConsNone yet.
By Sam
Kansas
Excellent Product
April 24, 2021
This is a great training tool for dogs. My dog is very responsive to it. Only have to beep her now and she lays down.
By Mike
Fruita Colorado
2 dog garmin collar
April 21, 2021
Both collars are light weight and we'll made. Easy to select the different collar to activate and the options of sound and shock levels are more than enough to be effective . Great training tool
ProsMany intensity levels, easy to handle, easy to read
ConsToo soon to say- will have to see how long the batteries stay charged
By Andy
North Dakota
Garmin Pro Sport
April 20, 2021
Bought this unit to replace an older version of the Tri-tronics. Gun Dog Supply has great information for anyone looking for a training collar from many of the major companies. They so have great pricing and speedy delivery. I would and have recommended Gun Dog Supply and the Sport Pro to several people since my purchase.
By Steve
Pittsburgh
Good product
April 17, 2021
Love the 3 dog capabilities, The shock and tone work well. The vibration alert is on weak side. Most of the dogs do not even notice. Older Dogtra collar was much better. Rarely had to shock ,only vibrate with Dogtra. This coller is good but not great. A good concept but Might be better suited for smaller dogs.
Pros3 dog capability, size and one hand operation
ConsWeak overall on power and vibration. Charging cords need simplified.
By DR
Omaha, Nebraska
Just Right
April 15, 2021
Used for Springer in training. Easy to set up and easy to use. I just ordered additional collars so I can use same control on several dogs...perfect.
By Mike
WV
Works great
April 14, 2021
Before the e-collar our puppy was training well and then at 9 months he developed his own will :-) We had to stop our off leash walks through the woods and letting him run free on the farm. Deer carcasses and other distractions were more commanding of his attention than our calls. The collar training has gone well and given him the ability to run free off leash. The included training video is very good.
Prosreliable, great range, versatile strength of correction, several correction options with tones/vibration/shock
Consremote is just-a-touch large for pockets and small hands. If I didn't need the range I would have considered one with a smaller remote
By Allan
ga
great and easy to use training tool
April 14, 2021
Even better than promised. Easy to use and very effective. The folks at gun dog supply are super to work with.
Proscompact size and design of handheld. light weight units and secure collars for the dogs.
Consnone
By Karem
Richmond, VA
Great training tool
April 14, 2021
Extremely pleased with this purchase!! Item was delivered very fast! Highly recommend!
ProsIf following the technique it is a very clear training device.
ConsCould be used recklessly so proper training for handler is highly recommended
By Jacob
Massachusetts
Great product and customer service
April 13, 2021
The collar is very responsive and intuitive. It has some nice safety features, for example when it is locked it must cycle through 2 clicks before it gets to the lowest level of stimulation, and then it has a length limit-- no accidental queueing to worry about. The buttons are intuitive and and the auxiliary functions for lights and "barklimiter" is a nice bonus. As always Gun Dog Supply has great service, the folks are kind and helpful and it arrived very promptly, even in this era of delayed covid shipping.
By Noah
North Carolina
Well built, easy to use
April 13, 2021
The collar and dog device are very sturdy and waterproof as advertised. They are fully charged in 2hrs and I’m going on two weeks without charging but I don’t use the bark limiter function.
ProsQuality, easy to use
ConsCharger is multiple pieces
By Nick
South Jersey
Great Product Great Company
April 10, 2021
Collars came quickly and in nice packaging. All the info to set them up and charge them was there.
Pros3/4 mile range Works well in wooded area(live in woods) Flashlight on collars is a great bonus Easy to swap from collar to collar Battery life is long, I've gotten 5 days before it flashes yellow
ConsDidn't buy these collars earlier
By MjHeydel
Michigan
Nice unit
April 9, 2021
Very easy to use! Big buttons that make since. Well built and water proof. Its great for my field dogs and they respond well. It has a bit more juice then my old one which my dog learned to ignore. I would never sagest putting this one on #10 power. I tried #10 while holding it in my hand. Lets just say I'm glad I don't have a pacemaker. Because it put me (6'2" 340lbs Man) on my knees!! Unlike my old brand the buttons don't get stuck and there are four different buttons for 4 different transmissions. Plus a clear power wheel. So you can see easily which power setting you are on. The only draw back I found is the it did not come with a lanyard. So be careful not to loose it in the field.
ProsLarge easy to read and use buttons. Water proof. 10 power settings. and 10 means STOP!!! Well built. well worth the money. I think this one will last a long time.
ConsNo lanyard.
By Jeb
Alabama
A great product
April 9, 2021
This product has great features for training your dog. I bought the collar for a barking dog. My wife said curb the bark or lose the dog. It worked perfectly. Highly recommend.
ProsCompact. Powerful. Differing levels of stimulation.
ConsNone
By BRENDA
Northern MI
Best collar out there
April 8, 2021
I have had many collars and this one is the best . I have 2 Brittany's and I like the tone button and the ease of use to click the lever up and down to switch dogs and no led screen. We have only had to use the tone button and the dogs come back immediately. My dog was at a fast and determined run and I hit the tone , he stopped and came right to me. Best collar ever worth the money!!
ProsOne thumb click to use between two dogs I like having a tone and vibrate I like the light so at night I can see my dogs Easy to use not complicated
ConsNone yet
By Justin L.
Gray, Georgia
Garmin sport pro
April 6, 2021
As a dog trainer I recommend this system to each client. It’s an easy to use system and doesn’t break the bank.
ProsEasy to use and garmin provides a great product.
ConsDoesn't provide the low, medium, and high nick options as the more complex models.
By Kristine
Oregon
Garmin sport pro
April 6, 2021
Love it!
By Peter
New Hampshire
Excellent Collar, Excellent Company
April 1, 2021
We've had a series of training collars for our various dogs and all have been found wanting, for reasons varying from reliability to effectiveness. After a good deal of research, we settled on the Garmin SPORT PRO offered by Gun Dog Supply. GDS is a first class company and has a very helpful and easy to navigate website. Ordering was quick and easy; delivery was prompt. The SPORT PRO is perfect for our high drive German Shepherd. All in all, oustanding service and product.
ProsHigh quality Intuitive layout and controls Rugged Good battery life Works!
ConsNone identified thus far
By CT
Howell, MI
It's great so far
April 1, 2021
I recently purchased the Sport Pro for my large sporting dog. I have been greatly impressed with the function and ease. I was debating between this and the SportDog, and I am happy I chose this one. Our trainer is a big SportDog fan, but she really liked the updated version of the Sport Pro. She said it was a great collar. My dog doesn't seem to mind wearing the collar and has responded well to training. I haven't watched the dvd yet (since our trainer uses e-collars), but I plan to.
ProsEase of use. The buttons and functions are easy to figure out. It has an LED light than can be turned on, so I can see where he is at night...also if I happen to misplace the collar or if the collar comes off, I hopefully will be able to spot it with this feature. It has a bark feature. I haven't needed it, not sure if I will use it, but I like that I have the option. I haven't been able to try out the range, since I just began using the collar, but I like that it has a large range for the price. Good battery life. With training it has remained well-charged for several days.
ConsThe only con so far is that the collar has a light that occasionally flashes to let you know if you need to charge it (green if it has a good charge, yellow if it has less than 50%, red--need to charge). The light is bright enough to be a little distracting for me (the dog doesn't care), but I'm sure I will get used to it. I wish it only flashed when a charge is needed, but maybe there is a reason for it working the way it does.
By Duke
Cedar Park, TX
Garmin Sport Pro
March 30, 2021
We needed a collar to train our young Irish Setter for Dove hunting. This product is perfect for obedience training and hunting training purposes. The LED light allows us to see our dog as the sun is setting and amongst tall grasses. It also contains enough features to allow us to choose how to train our dog! Would recommend this product for anyone with an energetic breed.
ProsContains many features and an LED light for nighttime.
ConsTraining CD that comes with it was scratched.
By Ed
Alexandria VA
Great Improvements
March 30, 2021
Traded up for latest model of sport pro. Very happy with ease of use and added features.
ProsIntegrated light Less buttons to change options
ConsReceiver larger
By Tony
Middleburg, FL
Sport Pro
March 29, 2021
We have never used e-collars previously. Purchased this product after explaining my dogs issues and goals with a Gun Dog Team Member who recommended the Sport Pro. He was very helpful in explaining all the features as well as making sure I did not over purchase for something I didn't need. The quality is top notch as you would expect from Garmin. My dog has responded well and is already doing much better with the off leash issues we where targeting. After minimal training time in the first week, we are already confortable with walking off leash while maintaining control. To our surprise, we only have to use a small level (2 & 3) of stimulations for positive results / response. Have used the Tone option in conjunction / simutaneously with stimulations and he is already starting to respond positively to tone only. The lighted collar is great as we live in country where its very dark at night and when we let him out at night, I can visually keep track of him. Very happy with the product and the free video that comes with it is very good in getting you started with e-collar basics.
ProsFits in hand well with easy one handed operation of all controls. Great long distance signal for recall. Lighted collar is great at night for knowing exactly where the dog is in dark.
ConsNone
By Leon R.
McLeod, Montana
It worked on a terrorizing terrier
March 27, 2021
We adopted a 30 pound young terrier from a shelter. The first couple of weeks we kept him on a leash when he went out but then tried him without the leash. 45 minutes later we were able to round him up - this happened twice. Since we live in an area that has, as our vet said "The real deal" for predators (mountain lions, grizzly and black bears and coyotes) we decided that we could not take the risk of having him blast off into the unknown on the trail of something that could easily result in him becoming dinner. We put the collar on him and went for a walk. He was fine for about 50 yards then off he went. I tried the tone - he kept running. I tried the vibration - he kept running. I then went to the single shock - he kept running (and yelped). I then went to continuous shock at maximum intensity and, since he was well out of sight, I could him him yelping continuously. When I got back to the house, he was under a brush. I took him in and removed the collar. He was uninjured by the collar but the point had been made. Now he goes out with the collar and all it takes is the tone to get his attention.
ProsEase of use - one hand. Three attention getting levels - tone, vibration and shock. Excellent range.
ConsNone that I have discovered.
By Scott
Atlanta
Lot of features in a solid E-collar
March 27, 2021
I've owned one for years and purchased a 2nd one for a younger dog. I prefer it over others for the tactile controls vs digital. Easy to operate, very durable and has a decent range. Read the instructions or watch Steve's video to understand how to properly operate the bark feature. I have 2 Brittany's so would like to see a smaller/lighter collar at some point.
ConsLittle heavy/large for smaller, medium size dogs
By Judith
Ohio
Cure for the easily distracted dog!
March 26, 2021
Best training tool,ever. I was reluctant to take the plunge into electronic collars but my english setter 1 year-old is as stubborn as I am and just too darn inquisitive sometimes. After one day of training with the collar, he listens better and responds every time to “come,” which was my biggest concern!
ProsSee above
ConsNone. Easy to use but instructions could be better Garmin!
By kevin
Jersey City, New Jersey
Happy Hunter
March 26, 2021
Collar was as advertised. Like the collar with the light set up. Good when you may have to walk your dog when the area is not well lit. Controls are nice size and fit in your hands nicely. Easy to charge. Very satisfied with this purchase. Did not receive the training cd. Would recommend this product to a friend. Very satisfied with the merchandise that I have purchased from this company.
ProsNice size controls. Lights on collar for dark areas. Timely shipping. Item as advertised.
ConsNo CD.
By Joan
Minnesota
Great Product and Great Service
March 25, 2021
I purchased the Sports Pro for my 4 1/2 month old German shorthair pointer who has boundless energy. After watching the video I was able to put the Sports Pro to use immediately. I live on three acres with close neighbors so it was essential that she be trained immediately and correctly to remain on my property. Thus far the Sports Pro has kept her where she needs to be. She had already learned to sit, lay down , come and stay so the Sports Pro was very effective in reinforcing the commands in the event she failed to heed my direction.
ProsThe video directions are excellent and informative. The first video I received was defective and I called Gun Dog Supply. The gentlemen I spoke with was most responsive and put one in the mail that day. Great service.
ConsThe various parts were in separate plastic bags. It would have been helpful had they been labeled. It took me a while to figure out what each piece was.
By Ak
Rocky Mountain region
Great Product
March 24, 2021
Very satisfied with the E-Collar, very intuitive user controls and simple.
ProsEasy of use Range Battery charging Customer Service is great
ConsInstructional CD malfunctioned
By Brian
Steerling, PA
works great
March 20, 2021
Bought this for my two labs. We recently moved and dont have a fenced in yard anymore. With a few acres the dogs like to run into the woods and sometimes dont listen. I only used the beep and vibrate so far and they both listen real well to that. Range seems pretty good. It didnt come with a lanyard for the remote, not a big deal but i ended up getting one later down the road.
Merchant Response:Brian, I apologize, we like to include a lanyard but were out of stock for several months. I'll get one headed your way. Thanks, Ben
Proseasy to use easy to setup has sound and vibrate options can connect up to 3 collars water resistant small, light remote
Consno lanyard included
By Vincent
Alexandria, MN
Great
March 20, 2021
I bought this Garmin Tri-Tronic for my dog and it works exactly as Steve demonstrated in his video.
ProsEasy connection between hand held device and collar.
ConsNone
By Becky Q.
Lindstrom MN
Garmin Sport Pro
March 19, 2021
Recently purchased a Garmin Sport Pro E collar from Gun Dog Supply. Along with the collar I received Robin MacFarlane Basic Obedience E collar Training DVD and a long lead. The extra penny was well worth it. Being new to using an e collar, the DVD was an excellent resource. I watched it a number of times so that I could use the same techniques demonstrated in the DVD. My dog has done amazingly well after only one week of training with the collar. The collar also has a vibrate button and a tone button which I have used frequently and my dog responds very well. I use the tone button when he was 100 yards away and he heard the tone from the collar, turned around and came when called.
ProsWorks amazingly well to get my dogs attention. The collar has a momentary stimulation button along with a continuous stimulation button. I have the collar set at a very low detection and my dog responds well. The collar also has a tone button and a vibrate button which I have used which my dog also responds to very well. This product is great. It gives you four options to get your dogs attention.
ConsNone
By Pryde
Hammond,Indiana
Helped me with the extra I needed
March 19, 2021
Love this set up. Had one with my other chessie and you could not adjust the setting enough. Also this unit has vibration and beeps, that help, if you use the vib before, zapping works great. Only had to hit her with the shock once. She learn no to ignore the vibs
ProsGreat price and versatility Tones and vibs
ConsHaven't found any
By Vic
Somerset, NJ
Germain Tri-Tronic Sports Pro
March 19, 2021
The training system actually helped us with our golden doodle. He is 14 months old and was extremely playful, stubborn and get distracted easily. We saw major improvement after 5 training sessions. He is our first dog, so we don't have a great deal of experience with dogs. Our success was attributed to the educational training DVD that was included.
ProsEffective. Solid built quality. Battery life
ConsNone
By Cathy
MN
Communication is the key
March 19, 2021
I adopted a 4 year old, 80# lab that had not been leashed trained. After working with her for 2 months I felt I needed a better way to get her attention when highly distracted outside and pulling. This collar is filling that void. I have been using it about 2 weeks and see improvement each day. I wanted vibrate, tone and stimulation. Currently using tone and low level stim. Worked well with leave it command for squirrel and passing car! It also has an anti barking feature I have not tried yet. Charging is easy. The receiver fits nicely in my hand and is easy to operate. The DVD taught me the basics and they replaced it when it would not play. Thanks.
By Denise
Carmel, MY
Great training device
March 19, 2021
We just got a new puppy- German Shorthair Pointer, and this device is so great in assisting with her training. We’ve used them before on 2 hounds, but this is our first Garmin and we really like it. Holds a charge well and we love the video instructions. Have recommended it to several friends already.
By Joe
Ohio
Good solid product
March 19, 2021
This is the third set of these I’ve purchased. I am happy with the quality, we use them daily on our mountain Curs. The only issue we had this time is there was no lanyard included like the other sets. Since the controller has no belt clip the best way to carry is a lanyard. At this price it would be nice to include it...If you don’t have one order it separately. Overall it is a good unit for us.
By SJ
KY
easy to use
March 19, 2021
I was hesitant to order an e collar but so far the conditioning has been going well and my dog isn't scared of it. The handler really needs to condition the dog to understand the e collar and not just use it as a punishment. My dog and I are still learning with it but it has already greatly improved his recall in just a few days. FYI, my dog DOES hate the vibration mode so I don't use that. Some dogs are more sensitive to that. The Garmin Sport Pro is very easy to set up and understand. It has some flexibility in different settings but it's not overwhelming trying to figure the settings out (no barking, vibration, lights, etc.) Gun Dog Supply has been really responsive with customer service when I had questions and needed to exchange an order. I wish they had a bigger selection of pet dog stuff because I would definitely order everything from them instead of big box stores.
Proseasy set up

Page 1 of 8
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2021, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.