Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


Review Summary
4.9
498 Reviews
5
0% (0)
4
0% (0)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
99% Recommend this product (494 of 498 responses)
By Dave
South Central Kentucky
Garmon Sport Pro
November 1, 2022
Great collar. Simple to use. Like having all 3 functions without having to reprogram like his previous collar. Mostly just use tone and vibrate, but 3rd option is always there. The light is an added bonus for night walks.
Pros3 functions in your hand at all times.
ConsLanyard not included.
By Clint
WI
Great product. Simple remote.
October 31, 2022
I just got back from a week long ND pheasant hunt using this remote/collar. I am a first time e-collar user and was completely satisfied with the operation. The remote was simple to use. I like the small size of the remote. One thing to be aware of is the remote did not come with a lanyard or belt clip. I had to order those separately.
ProsCompact remote Simple operation
ConsDoes not come with lanyard or belt clip.
By Alissa
Scottsdale, AZ
Satisfied with purchase
October 21, 2022
I would recommend this product. Bought it to aid in training of my two dogs - an Akita and a Catahoula. We hike every day and it works great for fine tuning their off leash listening skills.
ProsEasy detailed instructions for first time use. Handheld device small, comfortable to hold, and is easy to toggle back and forth between dogs. 10 levels are enough to manage the range needed for various circumstances.
ConsNot easy to get positioned, even with longer contacts, on my Akita due to her undercoat. Going to clip a small section of hair to resolve the issue. Would love it if there was a remote option for multiple dogs that allowed for individual intensity levels to be set.
By Castle
Texas
Must Have
October 16, 2022
Recently replaced the older model we had for 16 years. I’m loving the extra features on this newer model. I love the vibrate option and the beacon light. I REALLY love that the beacon light is activated from the controller & not the collar. That way you can turn the light on to see where your dog is in the dark.
ProsHelpful training tool Gives my dog more freedom to wander without the fear of loosing him. Controller fits comfortably in hand Lanyard
ConsI haven't found any
By Annie
Ohio
Game changer!
October 11, 2022
Really loving this collar. We don't hunt but are always outdoors. eCollar training has given our GSP the freedom to fully and safely enjoy all of our adventures together. The collar is very reliable and the charge lasts a long time. The beacon lights are great for exercising in the fall/winter as it continues to get dark earlier. Customer service was helpful answering all my questions as I tried to narrow down which collar was best for us.
Proswater proof, reliable, easy to use, lots of features, beacon lights, room to grow if we add more dogs to our family.
Consi wish it came with a lanyard
By Doc
Medina ohio
Sweet!!!
October 7, 2022
More than I wanted to spend but worth every penny!
ProsToo many to list
ConsWish it came in orange
By LD
Louisiana
Great functioning collar
August 24, 2022
I had a tritronics collar in the mid 90's for coonhounds . I love the simple functions of this collar . You can easily train off of beep, and vibrate buttons without looking with minimal hands on with controller .Money well spent I couldn't be more happy so far , not sure about range as I 've not had any issues as beagle stays within 300 yds.
ProsEase of use from functions on controller.
ConsI haven't found an as of yet
By Grace
Harbor Springs, MI
Best collar!
August 17, 2022
Will definitely be getting another one for our other dog when she’s old enough!
By Harold
Russell Springs, KY
Garmin E-Sport Pro
August 10, 2022
I love the Garmin ESport Pro collar and handlheld controller. Very durable and weather proof, very simple to use, able to control more than one collar at a time via a simple switch at the top of the controller, and very versatile. I’ve used these collars for dozens of pet clients. And currently use it with my narcotics patrol K9. As a trainer and a handler keeping it simple most often works best. The controls are so simple children can understand them. So if the kids are with the dog, and proper training and teaching has been conducted, you can effectively teach children to train, maintain and control their pet very easily. The stem is unique as well, as it’s not staticky, more of a pulse like tins unit. With an easy dial that is simple to go up or down, and my personal favorite are the headlights, as I call them. The collar is equipped with 2 LED lights that allow you see your dog quickly at night as well as provide the dog with light to see. All in all, the Garmin E Sport Pro, is an around e collar, for pets, service dogs, hunting dogs, sports or working dogs. Small, lightweight and simple to use. Can’t ask for more than that.
ProsLightweight. Portable and concealable. Multiple collars controlled from one remote. Easily switched into a bark collar. Durable. Weather and dropped proof( I haven't seen one break yet) LED lights on collar which aid in locating your dog, or providing light to see for the dog. Simple to use.
ConsI genuinely can not think of anything wrong with it. That's why I like it so much.
By Randy
Western WI
Garmin Sport Pro
August 1, 2022
Simple to use. Relatively small receiver (fits my 45lb WPG perfectly). Fair price for the features included.
ProsSimple to use Size Features for price
ConsNone so far, battery life TBD...
By Al K.
Rock Springs, Wyoming
Hesitant but desperate
July 6, 2022
We’ve got a Great very smart and precious six month old Black Lab. She’s very eager to please however, when it came to jumping on people, young and old 🥴 and not good at leaving things she shouldn’t get into. Shock collars seemed to an abusive way to get her to mind, but we didn’t want her to injure an infant or elderly person. We have previously purchased a Bizzie Bed from Gun Dog Supply and were very impressed with it’s quality, so thought we would try a satisfaction guaranteed E-collar. The DVD was very helpful, and we began by trying the tone and vibrate mode. Got her attention and briefly worked, but found shock setting three really caught her attention without being too traumatic. Long story short, we’ve taken down our carpet protection barriers and she stays on the designated areas in our house. When we tell her to leave something we don’t want her to be messing with indoors and outside, she MINDS! Absolutely a great tool and can be used with gentleness, compassion and kindness. Highly recommended but like any other tool, there is a learning curve.
ProsWorks Great
ConsCould be misused or abused, but in the right hands with kindness and patience it is an invaluable tool
By Julie
Finger Lakes, NY
Just what he needed!
July 5, 2022
I bought this for my son and his dog. Device was great, quick turnaround. No problems with the product to date. He’s loving the progress he is making with his pup.
ProsQuick shipping and great communication!!
By Dan M.
Michigan
Bella Gives Her Seal of Approval !
June 24, 2022
Simple to use, effective, love having three types of alerting: tone, vibrate, and stimulus. Great range and having the lights is a plus. Our Vizsla, Bella, quickly learned just based on tone. Love the product and would highly recommend.
ProsSimple to use, effective, love having three types of alerting: tone, vibrate, and stimulus. Great range and having the lights is a plus. Our Vizsla, Bella, quickly learned just based on tone. Love the product.
ConsWill need to get into a regular habit of recharging, do that and you are good to go!
By David
Maryland
Excellent training collar and controller
June 17, 2022
I got instant results with the Garmin Pro Sport collar with my 7 month old lab. He used to pull us down the street when we used a retractable leash but when we put on the Garmin collar, he quickly stopped and now walks side-by-side with us, a huge improvement. And he responds to the "vibrate" setting as well, so we don't need to zap him. One criticism is that the user instruction pamphlet is not great - but after a few tries, both collar and controller work great.
By Paul S.
UT
Good
June 8, 2022
I am currently begining the initial collar conditioning. We are moving from sit to the know commands step by step. I like the easy button features and simple 1-10 stimulation adjustments. The dogs are being trained for avalanche recovery using the same program a waterfowl or upland hunter uses.
ProsSize easy to operate
ConsStay tuned
By Steve
Aberdeen, South Dakota
garmin sport pro 3 dog combo
June 6, 2022
the collars work great, very user friendly and good range
Proseasy functionality
Consnothing yet
By Kim C.
North Carolina
Worth the money
June 3, 2022
When the trainer looked at the cheap collar I had and said I could toss it and suggested this one, I thought there can't be that big of a difference. Well, I was wrong. Our girl Gemma responds better with this Garmin collar. An added bonus, the LED light for nighttime!!!
By Mike
Magee, Mississippi
Love the 3 options of operation
May 31, 2022
I am very pleased with the options of shock, vibrate or tone. Along with the bark eliminator settings.
By Jim
Maplewood,MN
Real Help
May 25, 2022
This is a fantastic unit and really helped with our English Setter. Would like to see more information on the pitfalls of training with an e-collar. Would recommend this product to anyone issues with training. Product is great and Gun Dog Supply is the best company to work with in my opinion.
ProsWith a little thinking outside the box there are to many pro's to list for this unit.
ConsNone
By Mike
upstate NY
Garmin sport pro
May 18, 2022
I like the compact size of trans mitter and easy acess to controls
ProsLoud tone
Consnone
By Tricia
Michigan
Garmin Tritronix sport collar
May 15, 2022
I love this collar and controller for at home use and really beyond! We use the 550 plus out training for hunting since our pup is young and still learning to be sure we can have gps on here and longer range in case but this collar is perfect for close range at home. Controller fits in hand perfectly and easy to use without looking at it if needing to change what doing. The collar I love because it’s smaller less bulky and the antenna isn’t bumping around on everything. I’m not sure if this is true, but it seems this collar isn’t as powerful as the 550 plus which has more settings but it has what we need.
ProsSmall Easy to use
ConsMight not be as powerful but definitely works for what we need.
By Sandy
New York
Great for running multiple dogs!
April 30, 2022
I love this unit - so easy to switch back and forth between dogs, and buttons/toggles that you can feel easily underneath gloves. The handheld controller is conveniently small, unlike some of the other multi-dog units.
ProsSmall size Easy to toggle between dogs Buttons that can be felt even with gloves
ConsHave not found any yet!
By Donna R.
Houston Te as
Better than the rest
April 28, 2022
This is my third purchase of E collars and by far this is beyond the best! Worth the money
By Steven M.
Cantonment, Fl
Great Product
April 24, 2022
This is a great product so far. I have a 6 month old male lab that I'm working with and the collar works great. The DVD helped me get an idea on how to get started. Great remote functions and level 1 is all it takes to get his attention
ProsStrength, easy to use, multiple functions, distance, quality
ConsNon yet
By Candice
California
Great Product and Customer Service!
April 11, 2022
So far, this product has been an amazing training tool for our pups! At first, I was unable to pair the second collar with the remote, but once I received other instructions from Drew (who called and emailed - great service by the way!) I was able to pair the second device. Thank you @GunDogSupply for the great product and amazing customer service!
By BOB
ERIE PA
HAPPY
April 10, 2022
Great customer service took the time to answer all my questions.
By Tom
Indiana
Garmin Tri-Tronics Sport Pro is a great collar
April 8, 2022
I have been buying products from Gun Dog Supply for years. Everything that I have purchased has met or exceeded my expectations. I have had several training collars over the years. But, I like this one the best. It is much easier to use. I run my dogs several time daily. I have deer, turkeys, geese, squirrels, and pet ducks on the property. My wife frowns upon the dogs chasing her pet ducks. This collar has been an effective tool in training my dogs.
ProsVery easy to set up and use. Steve has several videos online that explain how to use the various features. Since this collar performs a lare number of tasks the videos were very helpful even to an experienced person who has used them for decades. The best thing is the new user interface. You can use most ot the common functions without taking your eyes off of your dog. This is much better than the last one I had. Also, there are separate buttons for tone and vibrate. The last one I had only allowed you to use one or the other a time. You had to look at the device to change from one to the other. I prefer using the tone as a first option. Then I use vibrate if the dog does not respond. Neither of these hurts the dog. As a last resort I use momentary or continuous shock.
ConsI have not encountered any yet.
By Anne H.
Holmen, Wisconsin
Excellent Product
April 2, 2022
It has really helped with the training of our new puppy!!
ProsThe vibrate and tone option are awesome!!
By daniel b.
Milwaukee. wi
I like it
April 1, 2022
No lanyard with this one . You can skip the training leash , it is too light . The control dial is poorly marked , try fumbling around with it in the dark !
ProsIt works so far. Very lightweight .
ConsOperating in the dark is a pain . Dial should be redesigned
By Paxton
Louisiana
Easy to use
March 26, 2022
Used it a few times , easy to use, simple instructions. Effective in training with options.
ProsHandy , easy to hold one handed and operate one handed .
ConsNone yet
By Bob R.
Roche Harbor,WA
Great Tool
March 26, 2022
I really like the sport pro, It is a big improvement over my last one.
Prossmall, easy to use, has vibrate and even a light.
ConsNo drawbacks
By Danita
PA
Awesome Ecollar that gets the job done.
March 26, 2022
The only reason I did not give this product a 5 out of 5 is that it does not come with at least a basic clip to clip the remote to yourself in some manner. And to purchase this "accessory" seems excessive. Other than that, its battery seems to last forever and it is responsive. It also covers the distance it claims to cover. The training video and lead line that it comes with are fantastic and very helpful in getting started. I would recommend this to anyone. It has gotten wet and continued to function correctly! Basically, I love this product.
ProsThis product can be used like a portable fence at over half the cost! It has a predictive response in regards to time and distance. The battery lasts forever.
ConsThe remote does not come with a way to clip it to your body. However, easily fixed with a ribbon and a D ring.
By BZ
Wisconsin
Works Well for that Gentle but sometimes Stubborn Dog
March 25, 2022
Living near a marsh, a puppy/dog has a lot of distractions, and a lot of opportunity to get lost in the marsh. The Garmin is waterproof has a large range of settings for the times your dog listens and when not so much. It also has a tone button and a vibrate button when training and the puppy is listening. The video gives great tips in how to use the product correctly
By Bob
Lakeside, MT
Worth the higher price
March 17, 2022
We have been pleased with this training collar. We had a cheaper one previously and the response time was too long and the battery life too short. It has been very effective in training our golden doodle in the basics. Just a quick, low level pulse is adequate and it is certainly not cruel at all €”just an attention getter.
By Dave G.
Bokeelia, FL
Like multiple features....but
March 9, 2022
I've used Tritronics collars on my last 4 labs with great results and they have lasted for years. This collar has multiple features and they are useful. However, the collar strap itself is very narrow and the receiver "flips" over, often making it useless, particularly when using the extended points. The wider strap used on previous collars never did this. Also, the transmitter seems to run down pretty fast. I think it may have something to do with the "bark limiter" mode, but nonetheless, it becomes a problem.
Prosmultiple features easy to use
Conscollar flips over because of narrow strap transmitter seems to run down fast
By Ron
Minnesota
Works great
February 26, 2022
I am so glad I got this. It is a big help reinforcing obedience training and specifically in recall. I am training my third retriever but since my last one lived 11 years it’s been a while working with a puppy. I had never used an e-collar before, but the folks I got the dog from recommended this one. It came w a DVD, and I did some further reading to make sure I didn’t set the dog back by using it poorly.
ProsEasy to set up and use. Adjusting correction levels is super easy. Great range of corrections. (Hard to imagine anyone ever needs the upper ranges but I guess they are there for a reason). Control seems well designed overall and is comfortable to hold (see con note).
ConsThe collar device is heavy and tends to flip over when I am putting the collar on so the prongs are pointed away from the neck. A better strap, maybe wider, would help this. Not thrilled overall with the narrow strap. I set the toggle to pair my control with toggle in down position. Sometimes inputting control in my vest the toggle gets bumped up and then of course no control. An issue until I discovered what was wrong but now just something to be aware to check. Maybe I will re-pair using a side setting.
By Lance
Utah
Garmin Sport Pro
February 22, 2022
So far this has been a great collar for my Brittany. We switched to this one from the base model with our lab. I love the light feature for when we are our before or after sunrise. Just wish it was a little smaller in size.
ProsHeadlight Ease of use with button placement Multi level stimulation Range of use
ConsTransceiver and receiver is a little bulky for what I am used to.
By Cathy
Sperryville, VA
Easy To Use & It Works!
February 15, 2022
I've used an Alpha 100 for years when I was hunting my Beagles and loved the features, however both of my darling girls have passed away. I have a young Doberman now and since she is not a hunting breed and stays much closer to me when we hike out, I decided I wanted an e-collar that was easy and simple to use. After some research and watching a few of Steve's video reviews, I felt that the Sport Pro was exactly what I needed. I am not disappointed in this product.
ProsNo touch screen More compact and less complicated Does not need to be recharged frequently
ConsNone
By Chris
Spanish Fort, AL
Outstanding product!
February 8, 2022
This is the same product my trainer used and it works amazing. Long battery life and my dog responds to much lower settings than the old training collar I was using. Shipping was fast and customer service was outstanding! Thank you all for the great product!!
By Kurt
Minnesota
Really like this Sport Pro
February 6, 2022
I’ve owned several e-collars over the years, and all but one were Tritronics or Garmin. This Sport Pro is by far the best! Very well designed.
ProsTransmitter and Collar: 1) 4 button control 2) Use of tone and vibration without turning another dial 3) Lightweight and durable case 4) Positive thumbwheel control 5) Use as a bark collar 6) Turns on LED night light on collar 7) Replaceable batteries 8) Long battery life after charge 9) Collar has a lot of adjustment holes 10) Can't go wrong with the price
ConsNothing yet.
By Marsha
PA
Gave us a well behaved dog!
February 5, 2022
I first tried to skimp with a no-name brand with just 4 settings and got horrible results - it was so inhumane. After watching Steve's video I ordered the Garmin Sport Pro and I'm so glad I did. The results have been fast and noteworthy! First, the collar is incredibly humane - inching the level up a notch at a time enables you to fine-tune just where your dog will respond without terrorizing them (no yelps or cries necessary). The controller is easy to learn - easy to use wearing gloves, true one-handed operation. The video series is well worth your time to watch, even if your dog isn't a puppy anymore or already has some basic training. After allowing some of his training to slide, I've now got my beautiful, intelligent sport dog back and he and I had so much fun while leveraging the collar as a tool together with positive encouragement and attention. I highly recommend this product.
ProsIt's got lights! Controller is one-hand operation and easy to learn Can operate with gloves on Collar is humane to the animal (true stimulation without frying them) Easy to avoid yelps and cries Fine tune the stimulation level to match the circumstances Collar is well made with micro-adjustments for perfect fit Video series makes training easy Bark suppressor looks promising (haven't used it, but based on other operation of the collar it should put the decision whether or not to bark firmly back on your dog) Controller has rubber around parts of it - will survive being dropped
ConsDoes not come with a wrist strip - for the price seems like Garmin could have chipped in 10" worth of paracord.
By BOBBY F.
Idaho
Sport Pro
February 3, 2022
easy to work, made a big difference with my catahoula, 90% of the time just have to hit vibrate button
By Hunter B.
Mississippi
Everything I needed.
February 3, 2022
Great product, great service, fast delivery.
By Steve
Lake Orion MI
Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
February 3, 2022
Item was backorder from impacts w/COVID. GUN DOG SUPPLY notified me that orders would be in by mid-January. Item shipped and received per their timing. Great training collar have used it several times now. Watched video first so that I had a basic understanding of how to use an e-collar and it couldn't have been any easier. Great product, directions and service from GUN DOG SUPPLY!!
ProsEasy to use Easy set-up Well made
By Mary C.
Thompson CT.
Garmin sport pro
February 2, 2022
I'm very pleased with my new Garmin Sport pro collar and receiver, I can safely run two dogs on their daily run, with complete control from other walkers. The additional Sport XC allowed me to pair the two collars, to be able to run two dogs. I can also confidently use the Pro for Field training my Boy for Master. Customer Service is also great, for any advice on the correct equipment, or use of their product.
By Jeff
Wisconsin
Simple, reliable and quality
February 2, 2022
Perfect for any dog owner.
ProsQuality unit and collar.
ConsNone
By John
South Carolina
Lab training
February 2, 2022
I purchased this for my year old lab for some fine tuning in her training. I wish I would have purchased before. She is sensitive but now goes out 100 yards and obeying on command with now only a beep. The sensitivity control is the best in providing a gentle reminder. Now she walks beside me without a leash.
ProsEasy control dial and set up. Holds charge for a week.
ConsNone other than the plastic collar you have to be sure is warm so it fits correctly and snug.
By Mike D.
West Bend, WI
Why no lanyard?
February 2, 2022
Overall a great product. Far better than my old Garmin. I was surprised to find that they do not include a lanyard for the hand controller.
ProsDial settings allowing quicker and easier setting changes, light on the collar, louder tone, and longer prongs all make this a better product. Garmin combined easy-to-use features with their field design and durability making this a very sound and useful product.
ConsNo lanyard for hand controller.
By Kenneth K.
Bozeman Montana
Game Changer
February 1, 2022
I have a 4 month old Wirehaired Pointing Griffon that has a mind of his own but just a reminder on level 2 brings his attention right back to the task at hand. The lighted collar is super useful at night when we're out by the camp fire or on a n evening walk. 5 STARS on the Garmin Sport Pro and 5 STARS for the customer service at Gun Dog Supply!
ProsA must have for training a young bird dog. 3/4 mile range 10 level of corrective power Tone Vibrate Bark inhibiter Lights for night use Expands to use with 3 dogs ease of use is outstanding
ConsDoes not come with a lanyard for hand held controller
By JOHN
PALM COAST, FL
SIMPLE, TOUGH, EASY TO USE
February 1, 2022
NOTHING COMPLICATED. WELL-MADE, RUGGED, WATER-RESISTANT, EASY TO USE AND EFFECTIVE. WORTH THE MONEY.

Page 1 of 10
1





privacy policy | terms & conditions


1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions