Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


Review Summary
4.9
498 Reviews
5
0% (0)
4
0% (0)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
99% Recommend this product (494 of 498 responses)
By Joseph D.
WI
Review for Garmin Sport PRO 2-dog Combo
October 11, 2018
Easy to use controls I use two collars never mess up what dog I am correcting I love the lights on the collars makes it very easy to keep track of the dogs on night walks. An battery life seems great Would highly recommend to new buyer
By Knighton S.
LA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 10, 2018
Simple to use.
By Matthew C.
OH
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 10, 2018
By Gary N.
SC
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 10, 2018
Simple, charges both TX and collar simultaneously, controls are simple. Works as well as I could have hoped. Use it in saltwater, then rinse and no issues yet... I am pleased.
By Josh M.
SC
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 10, 2018
By TOM B.
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
January 10, 2018
The biggest complaint is that the "60" hour run time is nowhere near what I get, which is around 32 to max 34. Second, the plastic collar is very narrow and thinner compared to my Tritronics Sport 50. It is showing a crack on the edge and some rough spots, indicating it will tear in the semi-near future. I also have to keep it up high or it will not stop my alpha dog from "aggressive behavior." He is in attack mode, but is nowhere near strong enough, after the start of aggression. Granted, this is an ALPHA, ALPHA, male from East German other border protection lines, so it is very hard. When in drive, he is something else. But, I had hoped this would provide the needed stim and durability. So, I know that my use is probably harder on the device since it's on 16 hours a day, but rarely is it used to stim since the verbal command is usually good to this well-trained dog - unless it is - not! Then it's not hot enough. Should work well for about any other dog though! So my grade is for me, not necessarily what it would be for you.
By Rick K.
KY
Review for Garmin Sport PRO 2-dog Combo
January 24, 2017
There are several positives about this system: - range is more than adequate for my purposes - the lighted collar makes finding a dog at night simple - I really appreciate this feature - the control is pretty intuitive, I don't even look at the buttons anymore - I have not had any issue with water. We live on the water and the dogs are in the water every day. The collars have had no issue yet. (this was the apparent failure mode of the 2 other brands of collars I used before buying the Garmin) I have also found some concerns for this system: - On multiple occasions a button on the controller has stuck resulting in continuous toning and in one case continuous shocking. I could not turn the shocking off and had to remove the collar from the dog. This issue worries me every time I use the controller - The dual charger that came with the base system does not consistently charge both the collar and the controller simultaneously. I often have to charge each collar on the dedicated collar charger received with the second collar. This requires longer charge times and longer times the dogs go without the collars. -
By Chris B.
MS
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 21, 2016
My Boykin Spaniel retriever chases deer and I bought the collar to stop him. It says the range is 3/4 mile but in the woods it does not have much range. I haven't measured the range but my feeling is maybe 200 yards, then it has no effect.
By Michael J.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 18, 2016
Had this unit for two weeks. The response is very good so far.Much better than the 325 unit I bought first.Great customer support from Gun Dog Supply.Took the first unit back and applied purchase toward new unit without any questions or delay.Thanks everyone! Mike Jackson
By Robin W.
NC
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 18, 2016
My husband and I love rescuing failed hunting hounds (gun shy, retired, etc). However, in order to keep our most recent addition safe from having her nose take her away, it became obvious we needed something to 'turn' her when she found a scent. I trained her that the beep function is a treat/positive clicker sound and it has worked perfectly. I love all the functions on this collar and especially that I've never needed to actually use any other function on it! Also excited about the LED function with a mostly black dog.
By Kelly J.
NJ
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 17, 2016
Use responsibly! And have fun!
By Lara B.
AR
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 16, 2016
This product is sweet. Very effective in aiding the process of basic training.
By Robert P.
TN
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 10, 2016
The Garmin Pro is very easy to use. The only thing that I have to play with is making the contacts connect through the dog's hair. I have changed to the longer contacts and it helps, but still either I have to tighten collar more or turn up the dial on the transmitter at times. He usually reacts to a dial between 2-4 depending on skin contact.
By Gary G.
IN
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 9, 2016
My dog was very responsive to this training device on a low setting. The quality is good and it is extremely easy to use and change settings.
By Bertram B.
KY
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 8, 2016
Works great! The light feature is a plus, also!
By Bob F.
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 5, 2016
I have only been using it for a week or so. I watched the Robin MacFarlane video. My dogs seems to respond well with very low stimuli, 1-2 range as a reminder rather than a punishment.
By Meredith P.
NJ
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 31, 2016
We are working with a rescue boxer who is dog aggressive on leash. After learning how to use this collar properly by a professional trainer the dog is doing great within three weeks of training.
By Jim J.
Ca
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 28, 2016
This is my first ecollar. I've never used one before. The video that came with it on how to use it was a big plus. One short training session and my dog understood the here command!
By PA
UT
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 16, 2016
By Casey L.
TN
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 15, 2016
Great product !
By Brittany B.
CO
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 14, 2016
Great collar. The tone is much louder than the previous collar I owned. I haven't experienced any issues with this collar.
By Craig B.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 14, 2016
Works as advertised with a few extra features.
By Mike S.
WI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 1, 2016
It is very easy to use and is a high quality product.
By Nancy T.
VA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
September 24, 2016
This product is easy to set up, easy to use, and has many features for training. I especially like the sound and vibrate functions and have been able to primarily use that in my training. The no bark feature and the light for night time walks are a great bonus! The remote is set up in a way that is easy to hold and easy to use without looking at it. I highly recommend this training collar.
By Susan E.
VA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
September 21, 2016
I was hoping for more range, but given the tree density and hilly terrain where I live, the effective range went down to less than 1000 feet quite a bit less than the three-quarter mile advertised. That said, the unit operates well. I like the flexibility and especially the beacon, since I walk after dark.
By Eric G.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
September 19, 2016
The Garmin Sport PRO is absolutely great for us and our pitbull application. We have a tough little gal to work with, so we needed something that was effective, reliable, but also easy to use. There are so many of these devices even if you do a lot of research, like I did, I still did not have a good understanding of what I needed. In my research, I noted that Gun Dog Supply had a serious amount of training info and short videos of Steve describing the products they sell. These videos are easy to watch, and I was able to narrow it down to the features that I needed for our dog breed and those that I just wanted. The Garmin Sport PRO had all, including the trusted Tri-Tronics technology that has been around for a very long time. The device I wanted needed to be simple to use and be built rugged for outdoor use. The information given by Steve in the videos enabled me to compare features as well as designs of both the collar and the hand held transmitter. In some devices, there are so many bells and whistles to use, which in reality are not going to be used correctly or even at all in my opinion. The Garmin Sport PRO has just the right balance of features, some of which are overkill, but overall the Garmin Sport Pro is really easy to setup and start working with it right out of the box. It also feels sturdy and handles well in your hand which is critical when your attention needs to be placed on the training. Thanks again to Steve and the great staff at GDS for fast friendly service and helping dog owners understand that we need training just as much, usually more, than they our dogs do! Thank you again. Eric Glaude from TX
By William A.
MI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
September 18, 2016
Easy to operate. Rugged quality.
By Garrett S.
WI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
September 14, 2016
The light on the collar is great. You can keep him in sight at night. Good choice.
By David
CO
Review for Garmin Sport PRO 2-dog Combo
September 12, 2016
Great Product. Have had the Tri Tronics Pro 500 in the past, but love the addition of the bark limiter on the Sport Pro 200.
By D B.
MS
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
September 12, 2016
Works great. I wasn't wild about the narrow collar, but after using it for several weeks I do not see any problem with the collar. I do like that the tone and vibration buttons are at the bottom of remote. Very easy to distinguish them from the two e-stimulus buttons. The headlights on the collar are neat, but for me are not necessary. If I could change anything I would make the center red/green light not as big or as bright. I would purchase this model again and also would be glad to give it the Black River Bloodline stamp of approval. Sincerely, D. R. Bozeman www.bozemanfarms.com Black River Ziva Black River Jep
By MICHELLE A.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
September 3, 2016
I had to get used to the new button placement (which I disagree with - I rarely use the shock, but I use the tone to reinforce voice commands or to send the dogs a behavior reminder) but other than that, I like it. I walk 15 dogs out on the trail and I am recommending it to anyone starting out or needing to replace their collars.
By John L.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
August 31, 2016
I think the collar is not very substantial. The buckle and tongue are very loosely fitted and are somewhat sloppy. Other than that I like the collar especially it's weight.
By Peter B.
TN
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
August 26, 2016
The best electronic trainer with settings so low that the dog was not harmed.
By Gustavo A.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
August 25, 2016
My dog trainer said to get a collar with GPS and correction so I returned it. The Gun Dog Supply people were real nice about accepting the return, even though I had already charged the collar. (It never got used but they didn't care.) This kind of service creates loyalty.
By Jim S.
NY
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
August 22, 2016
Great unit, easy to use, compact, all in all very happy
By Greg L.
OR
Review for Garmin Sport PRO 2-dog Combo
August 20, 2016
Great collar and control. Would love to see Garmin make it easier to attach our own lanyards. Also, stimulation wheel is easy to adjust, but would be better if device remembered last setting for each dog rather than have to flip selection toggle and turn stimulation dial when correcting multiple dogs. Battery life is good and collars are rugged and water right. GDS is great to buy from. Good stuff, fair prices, fast shipping, great service!
By Hung L.
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
August 20, 2016
Overall very nice product. Well built and very solid. The bark limiter has been very effective in curbing barking. Dog still barks, but he knows not to push it.
By Joel D.
MN
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
August 19, 2016
Great training collar. I love how it doubles as a bark collar. The battery life seems to be very good. And I use the led lights on the collar much more than I thought I would when walking my dog early in the morning. I thought the tone button seemed to stick on after releasing at first, but after using it a bit, seems to be working fine now.
By Paul K.
UT
Review for Garmin Sport PRO 2-dog Combo
August 18, 2016
Love the various options other than shock therapy, like the tone and vibration.
By Martin G.
MT
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
August 15, 2016
Glad they finally went back to a lower end collar for the average owner that is simple to use.
By Mikki M.
MO
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
August 12, 2016
This was an upgrade from my 10 year old Tri-Tronics collar. WOW! It is awesome! They said you could use the handheld controller and not look at it and focus on your dog, and IT'S TRUE!!!! Every function is easy, and the different levels are effective for different distractions. Best training tool ever for my dog. I'm very happy and have an obedient happy dog :):)
By Mel T.
WA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
August 9, 2016
Our boxer is 6 months old and before we got the Sport Pro we could not let her off leash as she would just take off. Now she comes when called, sits on command. This is all within two weeks of using the sport Pro. Usually I only need the vibrate mode to get her attention. The collar is simple to use and very effective. I would definitely recommend this collar to anyone with a dog with a attention problem.
By Kelum F.
MO
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
August 8, 2016
High quality, easy and straightforward to use.
By Kimberly G.
PA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
July 31, 2016
Very happy with this unit. I would buy another one.
By Marilyn E.
MI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
July 30, 2016
Has worked well on 2 dogs, the auto. Bark mode worked well on our small yappy dog and really helped her to to sit longer. Our wondering lab /hound mix now comes when called!
By RICHARD H.
WA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
July 30, 2016
I live in the country so I let my new puppy out to pee and poop in the mornings. It's getting darker now and he's black, so I turn on the LED lights and I can see where he's at. He knows what come means but as a puppy his attention span is short. I use the vibrate to get his attention when I say come. It seems to work for now. This is my first e-collar. It is user friendly and there are not a lot of buttons to get confused over. I would have given it a 5 but I don't have any experience with other collars.
By Tony S.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
July 29, 2016
This is a good collar! I like the way it is designed. The functions are user friendly.
By Robert J.
CA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
July 27, 2016
I like it. The bright lights and the vibration function are nice. I haven't dropped the transmitter in water yet, but I will one day. I hope it's h2o proof. I would buy another.
By CSD
CA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
July 25, 2016
This product is a game changer with my 6 month old Brittany. He had basic training but was starting to take off and I could not control him even with treats. The e-collar changed this quickly, in one day. I now have complete control over the dog and I rarely have to go over level 2. He responds 80% of the time with no reminder. I highly recommend this collar to anyone with a high energy dog that they want to work with off leash. This dog will also be used for hunting, but is mainly a pet.
By Bret H.
TX
Review for Garmin Sport PRO 2-dog Combo
July 25, 2016
Great features for the money! I like the ability to control 2 collars with one control as well as turn on lights, bark collar, vibration and tone! All around, great collars!

Page 7 of 10
7





privacy policy | terms & conditions


1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions