Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


Review Summary
4.9
498 Reviews
5
0% (0)
4
0% (0)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
99% Recommend this product (494 of 498 responses)
By Shannon
Norton Shores, MI
Great collar for a GSP
September 3, 2020
I purchased the collar to replace an older Sport Upland G3 and I am not disappointed. The range is good, and for my headstrong follow-my-nose 8 year old GSP, I never have to go above a 5 on the STIM dial. A nice upgrade from my old collar is the vibe and tone, which is usually all I need to get his attention. The ability to turn the lights on and off from the remote control is especially handy.
ProsVibe and tone functionality, along with the lights on the collar.
ConsMy older collar came with a 1 inch collar that feels much more durable.
By Zach C.
Gordonville, Texas
Great product
September 3, 2020
This is a fantastic product it has made dog training so much easier. The ability to turn power up and down with a dial one handed is perfect. Being able to turn bark mode on without having to take the collar off it also extremely handy. Bright LED light are useful if u need them. Battery lasts about 3 days on the collar unit with only shutting it off for 8 hours a day and the controller lasts 6-9 days.
ProsGreat range Great battery life No delay on stimulation Waterproof Easy power dial Ease of use
ConsNo lanyard comes with the controller
By Nick
Nevada
By far the best!
September 3, 2020
I was a professional police K-9 handler and trainer for close to 10 years and we only trusted Tritronics/Garmin for our service dogs. Now that I am retired and only working hunting dogs, I decided to try out the Garmin sport products. This collar is awesome and by far the best on the market for the money. I have tried and owned a handful of Dogtra products over my years, but their batteries and chargers seem to break often. If you want a high quality product at an affordable price, this collar is for you.
ProsPrice Battery life LED lights at night
ConsNone yet
By Kristina
Ennis, MT
I love this collar
September 2, 2020
I had never trained with tone before, only with shock. I can’t believe how effective the tone is! When my dog would get on a deer while I was horseback riding she would often ignore the shock from my older training collar. This collar is so effective. It takes one mid range beep to get her to stop in her tracks and come right back to me. The remote is very easy to use, lightweight and a good size. I felt like I got my money worth after only an hour of using this collar.
ConsI do wish the remote had a leash on it so I could hang it around my neck.
By Tony
Leinard, Michigan
Great reinforcement for recall and other known commands.
September 2, 2020
Easy to use & carry without distractions, after a few days of using it becomes second nature without having to search for keys or power mode ... easy to charge & charges quickly, l never worry about running out of power while in the field.
ProsEasy to use, long standing charge, and built to withstand any environment my dog will encounter.
ConsNone I can think of.
By WCH
Kingsport, TN
As expected
September 2, 2020
Great collar- exactly what we needed!
ProsIntuitive layout and can run 3 different collars
By Liv
MT
Easy to use and effective
September 2, 2020
Like the straight forward easy control. Collar has been working great in all situations. Live the running lights. Seems to hold the charge well. Definitely worth the money! We use it on our hyper bird dog.
ProsEasy remote
ConsHaven't found any yet
By Breezy
Iowa
Recommend
September 2, 2020
User friendly, works as described, have seen a noticeable difference in behavior without adverse effects
By Donna
Anderson SC
Garmen tri-tronic sport pro
September 2, 2020
A great product from Gun Dog Supply.
By Jerry
Fairfax VA
Works as advertised, dog complies
September 2, 2020
has turner our dog into a nice companion to be around vs a nuisance. DVD made the difference in purchasing this product. Thanks for the bundle.
ProsIts all good
Consonce dog is off collar seems to revert back to being untrained. Guess this is a matter of persistence on my part and not really a con of the product.
By Doug
Newington, NH
Works Well
September 2, 2020
This is next generation collar for my English Setter and Weimaraner. Have had 3 other vintages over the years and this unit has improved in most areas, (lighter weight, range, battery status indicator, and usb recharging of collars and transmitter.) Collar light is a nice feature. One downside is that the collar is narrower, and on one or two occasions the collar unit has flipped upside down while on the dog, thus making the prongs useless. I have used these types of collars for over a decade and this has never happened before. While some will say collar was too loose, my response would be that my dogs have never had issues such as this with previous collars, and previous collars worked as advertised, with no abrasion injury to dog’s neck. This is not a big deal and I am making the collar tighter in light of the narrower width of the collar. I haven’t had to use shock, as both dogs, ages 13 and 8, respond well to the tone, based upon their previous experience with these type of collars. I would recommend this collar. However, the only reason I purchased this collar is because replacement batteries were not available for my previous collars, and rechargeable batteries have a life span.Thus I hope that when the time comes, the manufacturer offers replacement batteries, as these units are expensive and fully capable of continued service with just a new battery.
ProsUSB recharging, collar light, range, light weight, battery status indicator
ConsNarrow collar conducive to unit flipping over, disabling effectiveness of prongs, particularly with hunting dogs going through heavy cover.
By Xander V.
Owensboro KY
Perfect collar
September 1, 2020
From training to actually hunting it’s the perfect all around collar to have. Simple and easy to operate.
By Jediah
(Maryland)
Gun dog supply for life
September 1, 2020
My experience with gun dog supply and the new Garmin Tri-Tronics Sport Pro Have both been awesome. Steve makes it easy to shop with his website and generous nature. I love the new collar and so does Ruger. Thanks Steve, you’ve got a customer for life. As to the new collar? Garmin has a new son as of today. I’ve experienced them and all and bought them all. If you want a professional collar with a reputable back bone, look no further. My friends tire of hearing me sing the Garmin Tri-Tronics Sport Pro’s praises, but you get what pay for. Quality.
ProsLed lights Tone Vibrate 3 dog capacity Bark limiter
ConsDoesn?t come with clip on remote
By the d.
Somis, Ca
built for me!
August 7, 2020
I am a waterfowl hunter/trainer dog owner. I love a few of the features on this sport Pro. Keep in mind...I have only had this two days. The LED lights are going to be great for lighting up my dog before sunrise. The four button design puts the controls right there for you. The transmitter fits in the palm of your hand. All-in-all...I love this thing so far. PS...I added a lanyard and belt clip. I like both of those, also.
Proslightweight/small...LED lights...four button design....good range (I think)
Consnot sure of any drawbacks for me yet
By Brien S.
MO
Review for Garmin Sport PRO 2-dog Combo
November 28, 2018
By Drew S.
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 16, 2018
No Joke. This thing has been a complete game changer in terms of enjoying time with our boy! I belabored spending more than $100 for something I wasn't sure we'd get value from but am glad I followed the solid advice on Gundog Supply and went with Steve's Pick. When we first got it, the dog was oblivious, so I called gun dog and Steve suggested snugging it up and making sure it rides high on his neck. Did that and BINGO... the dog responded instantly to the vibrate and quickly got the hang of it. Of course, he also started to figure out the vibrate isn't much but adjusting the correction level to even 3 would instantly get his attention. He's since gotten a bit more bold and will sometimes take a 6 if he's really wanting something, but without fail comes running back. I've shocked myself with it to see how bad it is and it's just like a good static pop from an old television set..but plenty to get his attention and we haven't had to go beyond 6 Furthermore, the boy HATES wearing a leash and loves putting this thing on because he knows he's going to have freedom. We live in the burbs and I don't hunt but we take him to woods, etc and he cuts loose swimming etc and loves it. This has changed my relationship with our dog and both of us enjoy not being tethered to a leash. Few Things on the device - waterproof and battery life/charge have been great. I just get in habit of putting on the charger once a day at some point - range is awesome. He's been almost mile away in woods and comes running - at first I thought the material on the collar was a bit strange but it had held up awesome in mud, river water, you name it! - the old school analog dial and simple buttons €”LOVE IT. Can be -10 and I don't have to take it out of pocket and I know exactly where it's tuned. If I forget, I back the dial without looking to the stop and then count the clicks up. Simple and works great without having to pull it out of pocket and look. - we haven't used the two dog feature but it's great to have even with one dog because you can toggle the switch down and not worry about your dog getting zapped if you sit on it with it in your pocket. Bottom line - Would highly recommend you stop the search and worry about if it's inhumane to use something like this on your pup. YOU have all the control you need and it's about getting the dogs attention, NOT €œshockingly them. I'm a firm believer that if you use this properly it'll be a game changer for you and your dog. I know Willy would give two paws up as well. I can't recommend this thing enough to anyone and Gun Dog support was fantastic. Their price was excellent too but II'd personally pay More here for their support than some bozo that doesn't know anything about it on amaz on or elsewhere. Stop thinking about it and GET IN THERE!! Drew S. St Charles IL
By Timothy D.
MI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 1, 2018
I love the range. Never have to worry about the dog getting too far away.
By Stephen D.
CA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 22, 2018
Very easy to use, long lasting charges on batteries, very durable, a good E-collar, you can't go wrong with this collar.
By Richard A.
NY
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 21, 2018
Great range and holds a charge for weeks. The vibrate mode is what I use the most. the audible could be a little louder and the collar could be improved by adding a snap together type clip (quicker on/off). All in all a great training tool, it's like a very long leash.
By John G.
FL
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 19, 2018
The Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO is a great training collar. The only issue I had was with the power supply for charging the collar and had unit. It is somewhat disjointed with a few cables that must be plugged together, and the charging unit that came with the system was intermittent. That was solved since Steve and Gun Dog Supply replaced it right away. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE.
By Charles A.
FL
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 19, 2018
working with 1 year old male Lab puppy. I purchased my pup when he was 16 weeks old with some bad habits he acquired from his home life. He is some what difficult walking at heal and trying to control hand held leash. " Chester" has a strong desire to be our pack leader. The E collar does help in control situation. It fits easily into the hand and shirt pocket. I have difficulty determining the charge I need to set for control.
By Kyle
PA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
I like it. It does everything I need and keeps my beagle in check.
By Jonathan C.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
Really happy with this unit, ability to turn bark control and lights on and off from the remote is awesome. So far battery life has been great and have been using the just about every day.
By Paul Z.
OR
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
By George M.
PA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
I love the simplicity of it after using it a short while I hardly have to look at it ! I can actually hear the tone when I check it , it is a perfect unit for my beagles I recommend it highly , my last collar was good but not the collar this is and harder to use ! I wouldn't change a thing !
By WILLIAM Z.
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
Meets standards.
By Theriot
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
By Marjorie S.
PA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
Works well; has a decent range. Easy to use.
By Cynthia B.
IN
Review for Garmin Sport PRO 2-dog Combo
October 18, 2018
By Curt G.
OR
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
Really like this collar because it's easy to use and has just enough settings!!!
By Elizabeth E.
WA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
First time using an e collar. Using it for recall on a KBD and it seems to work very well . I really like all the setting options.
By Joe
CA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
This is a great product. We use the tone for recall and vib for direction change. That fact it can double as a bark collar is just a bonus. Also can't beat the price or service from GDS.
By David S.
WI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
Works great.
By Betsy S.
MA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 12, 2018
Our Garmin Sport Pro is key in our training! Buttons and options and easy to use especially in quick corrections. Love the recharging set up so we don't lose power or have to deal with batteries. Only question is can you use tone during bark mode?
By Karen C.
GA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 12, 2018
By Allen R.
PA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 12, 2018
Really easy to use, Great product. Built-in lights are awesome and everything it seems built to last.
By Karen F.
IL
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 12, 2018
Having a 70 pound 8 month puppy can be challenging . He can be stubborn and sometimes needs a little push.
By Lewis M.
NC
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
By Jeff
MI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
This e-collar is a strong performer. Battery life is great and it holds up to all weather conditions. Not my first e-collar but definitely my favorite. Well worth trying.
By Mark M.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
This dog hunts. What do I like: Service from GunDogSupply is always awesome. This was not my first purchase from them, they always process and ship my orders quickly. The dial is easy to manipulate, low settings for low distraction situations, easy to dial in higher pulse when distractions are most challenging. Almost everything you need is included. The dials are easy to use without looking at them. Water-resistance has worked flawlessly. Used it for over a month, everything is working perfectly. What could be improved: Collar width is narrower than I'd like, would prefer the 1" wide collar. The collar seems to rotate around on my dog's neck, doesn't stay in front where its supposed to be, easy to move, but I have to keep watching it. Even with long probes my Yellow lab with a thin flat coat is very rare but often enough to make me write about it, losing connection so pulses do not transmit to the dog (turning it up does not elicit a response while tone, lights, and vibe are all working). Making the collar tighter will help, but then she can't breathe....wider collar could help.
By Mark R.
CA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
I love everything about this product.
By MaryAnn G.
MN
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
So easy to use - much less pressure needed with the new fresh collar! My results are immediate with just one intermittent correction! Great tool!
By Erik H.
ID
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
I have a Garmin Alpha for use in the woods and fields but I got this collar as a second collar to use for exercising our dog in the foothills around our city. I am particularly happy that the controls are a bit more accessible for my wife to use than the controls on the Alpha, particularly adjusting the stim level up or down depending on distractions (e.g., other dogs, rattle snakes, coyotes, etc.). It is also great that it has stim, tone and vibrate as we use all three for various training purposes. It does not have a tracking function so it does not take the place of my Garmin Alpha for hunting in the mountains but I think it could easily be my primary hunting collar for open fields.
By Art K.
WI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
Very good product. Battery life is excellent. Most like the vibrate, tones, and stimulation modes. Many options to work with.
By Martin R.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
Love this product, very glad I was turned on to gundog supply.
By Jacqueline S.
NE
Review for Garmin Sport PRO 2-dog Combo
October 11, 2018
This collar is everything Steve said it was. Excellent and easy to use. Love it.
By Fred N.
CO
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
Easy to use has a nice light for the early mornings so yo can see your dog
By Arthur W.
AL
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
Easy to use. Nice features. The training video was a fantastic addition!
By Scott J.
WI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
Sucks that I lost the collar after a week or two. Pissed me off.
By Anthony J.
IA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018

Page 6 of 10
6





privacy policy | terms & conditions


1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions