Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


Review Summary
4.9
498 Reviews
5
0% (0)
4
0% (0)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
99% Recommend this product (494 of 498 responses)
By MTC
Alabama
Lots of Features
February 1, 2022
This unit is compact & fairly simple to operate.I would purchase again. Some improvements would be some way to attach a lanyard & the instructions included could be clearer. However, there are good videos on YouTube that clarify usage. The Bark Control feature is excellent & the lights on the collar are an interesting feature.
By Patrick
Buffalo
Dog collar
February 1, 2022
Only complaint is nowhere to connect collar to a lanyard.
By Bill S.
Central California
Garmin sport pro
February 1, 2022
I preordered.. was well worth the wait.. simple to use and feature packed. My go to collar for at home training and while hunting.. very useful for my younger lab..
ProsSimple to use.. many features..
ConsI have not experienced any cons
By Bonnie L.
West Branch
Great Product
January 21, 2022
We recently purchased a Garmin unit for our six-month-old Lab. He was very smart but had a mind of his own. Help was needed! With just the aid of the alarm buzzer, he is a new pup and a joy to be around.
By Valerie
Michigan
Very durable.
January 15, 2022
I bought the Garmin Tritronics Pro collar for my GSP in 2016. Just now it’s starting to lose its charge quickly after almost 6 years of daily use. I just bought another one today to replace it. I’d highly recommend this collar!
By Lucia S.
Redwood City, CA
This has boosted recall training to a new level of success!
December 19, 2021
Love the way it fits in my hand and the night light to see my dog wherever she runs in the dark. Would LOVE if the scale instead of 0-10 was 0-100 for finer tuning of stimulus but overall, no complaints!
ProsLightweight, waterproof, ergonomic, good stim/vibration/audio control, uncomplicated
ConsScale could be improved if 0-100 vs 0-10 for finer control of stimulus; this is just a friendly suggestion
By Kirby
Medina, TN
It works
December 14, 2021
Purchased this training collar for my young Aussiedoodle. He’s about as hard headed as they come. Will not listen if he’s got his mind on something else. After getting the right prones on the collar, he decided that I was the boss and not him. Very satisfied.
ProsIt works great.
ConsNone
By Nick
O'Fallon, MO
Performs as advertised
December 11, 2021
The collar is smaller than some of the others I have owned and does not seem to bother my dog from day one. The remote fits nicely in the hand and buttons are easy to find. I would give 5 stars if it was not for the charging system on the collar. Has three cords you connect and then clips on the collar rather than one cord that plugs into a water tight charging port.
ProsSmall size. Has lights on collar to see dog at night if you let him roam around a bit. Affordable for all its functions.
ConsThe collar charging system has way to many connection cords.
By Tom
PNW
Perfect tool to make our dog even a better pet
December 10, 2021
I purchased the Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO by Garmin based on the excellent information available on Gun Dog Supply's website. I have used all of the features of the Garmin except bark control. The night lights are great for keeping track of dog in the dark while she explores our 2 acre property. The included instructional DVD deserves a 5star rating as well! Our dog wags her tail when I take out the collar as she knows it is time to play!
By Mitch
Leedey, OK
Best of the Best
December 9, 2021
After doing quite a bit of research and watching too many review videos to count, I decided that THIS was the perfect collar for me. Good price, fast delivery. The multi collar function was very important to me, and this controller can operate up to 3 collars at once, which is perfect for me. I will, and have already, suggest this collar to anyone who is looking for an outstanding e-collar.
ProsUp to 3 collars on one controller Range Simplicity Multiple settings Beeper Vibrate
ConsSecond collar on backorder
By Jan P.
Camas WA
BEST VALUE ON THE MARKET
December 6, 2021
The Sport Pro by Garmin is the best dog training collar value out there. As an outfitter for a nationwide retailer I sold all the major brands of collars to a diverse group of clients. I never once got negative feedback regarding the Sport Pro. As a consumer I have bred hunting dogs and had dogs as house pets and I choose sport pro because it works. Total range has never been an issue. Ten control settings is all anyone really needs, I started with 3, ended with 3. The bark limiter is a handy tool, I used it to train my dogs not to bark when someone comes to the door. The light is a great safety tool and good visual locator for low light conditions. My collars have proven themselves with years of dependable use. This Tri Tronic original, Garmin picked up and kept has been around a long time. There are other good products out there but this one is without question the best value. It only lacks the GPS tracking ability but since I don't hunt cats or coons and I know where my dogs are (most of the time) I don't need the expense of GPS. My hard-headed Griffon responds better to just the tone alone with no need for stimulation correction. This device just works.
ProsDurable. Waterproof. Shock resistant. More than adequate range. plenty of correction setting lights for location and safety right size to slip into a pocket or hang off a belt loop up to 3 dogs for one hand held Bark limiter and counter Tone and Vibe control without need for correction
ConsNo GPS (If needed)
By Scott
CA
Great little device!
December 6, 2021
Simple to understand operation. Handheld device feels natural in hand. Allowed me to integrate into puppy's continued upland bird training on his first day in the field. Have not needed to setup the bark collar function, (Luckily). Ability to turn on a bright light on collar could be real useful at some point, maybe while camping? No complaints at all!
ProsEasy to understand functions. Great controls for one hand, 'no-look' operation.
ConsDoes not come with a belt clip or lanyard. That would be useful in the field.
By Bill H.
Katy, Texas
Rebel Control
December 4, 2021
The Garmin Sport Pro is compact and powerful. The tone and vibrate features offer an alternative to the electric stimulation. The dog pays attention when they know that the tone and vibrate is a precursor to the electric stimulation. Recommend this fully. Easy to charge and can supplement the collers with different colors.
ProsCompact and powerful Easy to use Has the tone and vibrate feature Includes a light on the collar.
By Hugo
Turlock, California
Strong and Easy to Use
November 23, 2021
Both the collar and the controller are very well made. The controller fits well in your hand and is easy to use.
ProsWell Made Easy to Use
ConsNone
By Robert L.
Williston, FL
The Tri-Tronics Sport Pro works great!
November 22, 2021
I am in the process of training my lab puppy for basic obedience and retrieving. I’ve owned and used Tri-Tronics in the past and loved it. This Sport Pro is the quality that I expect from Tri-Tronics but at a more affordable price.
Pros- Quality and predictable transmissions. - High quality and worth the cost over so many cheaper units on the market.
By Scott
Wisconsin
Great Product
November 20, 2021
Very easy to use. Range of collar is great.
ConsOnly 1 level of vibration.
By Lauren
Andalusia, Alabama
Seems perfect
November 18, 2021
Everything seems perfect! Haven't had a chance to use it yet due to our dog being in training at the moment, but we received it a lot faster than expected, and was packaged very well. Overall we are very pleased with the product.
By Joe
Kodiak
Great collar
November 17, 2021
This collar has a ton of features, one of my favorite is the light you can turn on when it’s dark. The rest of the tone, vibrate, and tone functions work as expected. I think it is one of the best values in terms of features and price.
By Clay
Louisiana
A lanyard would have earned 5 stars
November 17, 2021
The collar works great and is simple to use however it’s I didn’t realize Garmin doesn’t include a lanyard for the remote. That’s a slap in the face when spending over $200 on a product and having to buy a lanyard separately.
ProsEasy to set up and use
ConsDoes not include remote lanyard, and momentary and continuous shock buttons feel the same. Would be nice if Garmin had a bump on one of the buttons so you can know what button you're pressing without having to look.
By Raya
Minnesota
My Favorite E-Collar
November 15, 2021
For my first hunting dog, I bought the basic Garmin Delta collar. It worked great, but when I got my second hunting dog I knew I wanted this collar to handle both dogs. The Garmin Sport Pro is everything and then some. I love the ease of it for both dogs and the beacon lights are a bonus as my black lab mixes are hard to see at night. Great product and from my experience with my previous collar it will last a long time.
ProsTone Vibrate 3/4 mile Range Easy to use and control levels of stimulation Beacon Lights
By Dick
Schellsburg, PA
Tri-Tronics Sports Pro
November 5, 2021
Have had Tri-Tronics products in the past and this product maintains the high standards that I have had with the past products
ProsSimplicity of use, features of the product
ConsCharging cables could be made more user friendly and simplistic
By Linda
Shrewsbury, PA
Great collar
November 4, 2021
I got this collar on the recommendation of a Pro that I’ve been working with. What I like best is that it actually takes a little use of your finger to raise the level so it won’t accidentally move if you stick it in your pocket. It’s easy to switch between multiple dogs and the anti-bark feature is nice. Definitely a great collar in my opinion.
ProsEasy set up Easy to switch between dogs Hard to accidentally raise shock level
By Scott F.
NJ
Great training tool
November 2, 2021
This training collar has made training our 11 month old rescued German Shepard alot easier... I also recommend getting the training dvd. He is responding to just the tone now, highly recommended!
ProsEasy to set up and use and the training DVD us very helpful
ConsI bought the pocket clip for my handheld, and it has to be removed to charge the unit. It's not hard to take on and off, but I wonder how long before it's broken from taking it off
By Cindy
Boerne Tx
Great training collar
November 2, 2021
We bought the Garmin Sport Pro because we had a dog that was a challenge to train when off the leash, incessant barking. I liked the Barklimiter feature of this product because it gradually increases intensity as the dog barks. However, our dog "talks" a lot so we have disabled the barklimiter but the normal mode with a vibration and manually controlled shock has worked exceptionally. Love this product
ProsEasy to use Great features Battery seems to last a long time
ConsA DVD with the collar.....who has a DVD player these days!! I found the video online, but why send the DVD, just give people the online location
By Mike
Cedarburg, WI
Great E-collar for my Lab
November 1, 2021
Just ordered and received my Sport Pro to replace a previous Tri-Tronics collar that finally died. Delivery date was earlier than promised (Thanks!!) Controls were very similar (and simple to use) when compared to my previous collar. Receiver seems to be a couple ounces lighter and smaller that my prior collar. Really like the lighted collar feature when letting her out at night. One more safety feature to help keep our wonder dog safe. Would highly recommend for simplicity and ease of use. The charging system is more simplified than my old collar as well. Battery life looks to be much improved as well.
ProsEase of use, charging system, reduced size and weight of receiver.
ConsThe receiver now uses a 3/4 inch collar v. the previous 1". Can't use my existing day-go pink collar that I had. (My brother has two labs and uses orange and chartreuse to tell his apart in the field.) Not that big of a deal....
By Dale
Martinsville, IN
Great Collar for Versatile Labs
October 30, 2021
Great collar and simple to use transmitter. Works for training, upland hunting, and in the water. Our dogs are trained to ‘come’ to the collar’s tone, cutting down on noise like shouted commands at a distance or whistles. Reliable, great battery life, and simple selection among multiple collars. Bonus: Gun Dog Supply had a great price, and shipped it immediately. Thanks!
By Brent
Minnesota
Great Product
October 28, 2021
Works as described. High quality.
ConsThe mess of charging cables is quite strange. I'm not sure why it is designed this way. There are 5 different cables to piece together.
By Randy
Jacksonville, FL
Garmin Sport Pro Two Dog Combo
October 27, 2021
My wife and I have two Brittany puppies with oldest being 6 months old. We were looking for the right tools to help us with training. Since we are new to Brittanys we did our research for the best methods to train. The e collar was one of the tools we wanted to add to our toolbox. Steve Snell’s product review online was invaluable to help us decide which system to purchase. The Garmin Sport Dog Pro is the right unit for us. The unit was easy to set up and learn to use. The training CD that came with the unit from GDS is also very practical and easy to follow. We are excited about reaching the end goal of well trained pups. Thanks Gun Dog Supply for your help.
ProsEasy to set up and use.
By Colby J.
South Texas
Very happy & satisfied with product!
October 26, 2021
I was a little bit skeptical at first because of the price. I was previously using a SportDog collar that I used on my black lab before I got the GSP I have now. It was OK for what I was using it for at the time, but I always knew it was lacking certain features to really maximize the dog's potential. That collar up and broke one Friday right before a weekend bird hunting trip in south TX, so I order this Garmin collar off of a friend's recommendation. Boy was he right. This collar has an extremely long battery life for only taking 2 hours to fully charge. I can use the collar for an entire weekend on my GSP (taking it off at night) and still have battery left over. This collar has more stimulation levels then the SportDog, which comes in handy when you need fine tuning while working the dog. I also enjoy the LED beacon feature on the collar, due to the fact we hunt up until dark and having a dark brown dog, it becomes hard to keep track of him at dusk. All in all, I see myself getting a few years of consistent usage out of this collar due to how durable the collar and remote are and how easy it is to operate.
Pros-long battery life -effective at great distances -no "weak points" in the collar for water to leak in during duck season like charging ports -lots of loops on the collar allowing for more adjustability and comfort for dog - has tone, vibe, and stim levels for any situation
Cons- the remote is a little bit bulky and doesn't come with a lanyard which would be nice if it was included - price is a little high, but justified after using the collar
By ken B.
SW Luoisiana
So far so good
October 20, 2021
Great product!
ProsNo touch screen, easy to use.
ConsNon
By Whitney
NMB, SC
Great product
October 19, 2021
Highly recommend
By Denise
Washington
Awesome training collar
October 16, 2021
I am using the collar on my 6 month old Golden Retriever. I use all of the different settings based upon what we’re doing at the time. I especially like the Bark Limiter and so do my neighbors.
ProsEasy to set up, charge and use. Well made and durable.
By Tom M.
Utah
Great E-Collar but strap needs improvement
October 13, 2021
E-Collar works great, but the 3/4" strap is terrible. If you're working your dog in brush or if they shake after getting out of the water the strap will roll over so the probes are facing out. It needs to be wider to prevent it from rolling. The problem persists regardless of how tight the collar is around the dog's neck. If the strap issue is corrected I would absolutely recommend this E-Collar!
By S
Maryland
Works great
October 13, 2021
New to e-collars, had been working with the pup for 7 months, she had the basics down but was rough at execution. One week of working with the e- collar and she polished her act!
ProsLove all the features, easy to use
ConsCharger wires are messy
By Jon
Lost Rabbit, Mississippi
First eCollar - works as advertised
October 6, 2021
I bought this for a 5 month old Wired Hair Pointing Griffon for obedience training. Watched Steve’s videos and started to purchase a larger Garmin unit with a tracking feature. Reconsidered mostly based on the practical issues of this size of the handheld device and the low likelihood that I would let this dog out of my sight for the immediate future. After two weeks of use, I am very happy with the device. It was easy to learn to operate and I am glad that I went with the smaller remote. The video was very helpful. The bark features work well. The dog does not seem to mind wearing the collar, although he figured out the connection to the remote very quickly. The controls on the unit are easy to use without looking at them. I like the tone feature and use it to verify that the unit is working. I sometimes forget to turn the collar on before putting it on the dog.
ProsEasy to use controls, no need to see them. Remote fits my hand easily. Good features, like the tone option. Helpful video included.
ConsI have not figured out how to keep the remote handy around the house. I tried both the lanyard and the clip. Neither have proven to be good solutions.
By Christine
Southern Indiana
Superb product
September 30, 2021
I had a different set of training collars but the remote to use them was complex and too difficult to operate with 2 dogs. My son had this one and it's super simple and works fantastic. The collars on his are a few years old and have held up perfectly. Mine is still new but I expect they will hold up like his did. The shipping from this seller was fast and they had the best price that I could find for the 2 collar set.
ProsEase of use. Waterproof.
ConsNone. I love it.
By Benji
South Carolina
Great!
September 25, 2021
Only had it a couple weeks. Seems to work great
ProsSmaller and lighter than the older ones I have had
ConsCouple use more levels of stimulation. But is still nice
By JustinR
NJ
Perfect for me
September 24, 2021
This is the perfect product for our needs. Have been using for a few weeks now. The handheld size is just right. Range is perfect. Operationally the buttons and controls are simple and very easy to use which lets me spend more time focusing on our dog. The collar fits great and i like the easy on / off button on it. Great product.
By JOHN T.
PENNSYLVANIA
Best collar system for multiple dogs hands down
September 15, 2021
Excellent collars . I work alot so the light features are great for early morning walks & evening!! Easy to use & simple to set up
ProsLight feature Holds charge for days
ConsNone so far
By Karlton
Texas
Garmin Sport Pro Collar
September 13, 2021
So far so good. This is the same collar that our dog trainer used on our started Lab pup. Easy to charge, sent up and our pup has responded well with very few corrections. Can't wait to watch the free DVD. Wanted to buy this at the local Cabela's, store Inventory said in stock... none on shelf... was told oh... it's on the truck.... it should be on the shelf within the next few days.... The store employee said I should just order it on line.... poor customer service. I went online all right! I did an internet search and I found Gun Dog Supply which advertised "We have in stock what we sell". Ordered online from them. Not only did the get my collar on time, they threw in a training DVD and a check cord. Now that is customer service.... Gun Dog will get my business from now on!!!
ProsWorks exactly as advertised.
ConsWished to collar was in orange and not black.... Easier to find if some how it came undone and was to fall to the ground. ( I'm just being real here!) other than that no other cons...
By Brian
Ohio
Excellent training tools
September 10, 2021
My GSP was very wild. Recent adoption and had no discipline. Within days he is much better on his leash and learning commands. CD is excellent. Great learning tools for me and my GSP
By Derek
Grand Rapids, Mi
Learning as we go
September 7, 2021
Using an e-collar for the first time on 2 dogs - a 2yr old Gordon Setter and a 6mo old Springer Spaniel. We purchased the DVD as well, so we can also learn as we go. Our 6mo old is fiesty and very bullheaded. Even after being "shocked" she would still go back to the trouble. The 2yr old is more timid and she already knows her basic commands, but has regressed some with the pup.
ProsEase of use. Single hand use.
ConsWould be nice if the selection dial was backlit or settings were glow in the dark.
By SDOT
South Texas
This one has everything at the right price.
September 7, 2021
The collar works great. Put it on our 9 month old black lab Toby. He took to learning with it instantly. It’s has helped me to take his obedience to the next level. I can’t be happier with how it has worked for us. The remote fits in my hand perfectly and is light weight. The 10 correction settings is plenty. I’ve never had to use it over number 4. The Light on the Collar is wonderful having a black lab so we can keep a eye on him in the dark. Unless you let your dog run far off into the brush. Or they chase down animals at long distance. I don’t see needing more than this unit.
ProsEasy to use. Easy to charge Long charge life Simple operation Led light on collar unit let?s You know it on Night light
ConsThe control for the setting of the collar turns up or down very easily, a couple of times while working in the field it has gotten turned up or down by bumping against my arm or body.
By Ralph B.
Oxford Pa
Ok system
September 7, 2021
Know customer service. I had to get help from somebody I knew.
ProsIt works well after you get it figured out.
ConsDidn?t hold a long enough charge and know customer service if you have questions.
By Donald W.
2173 RICHMOND Chapel Road Victor WV
A great e collar
August 30, 2021
Well satisfied with collar works exceptionally well
ProsControls well set up
By CD
South Carolina
Great two dog non-hunting collar system
August 27, 2021
Very easy to use and intuitive when dealing with two dogs simultaneously. Cannot speak to the ruggedness as it’s only been a few weeks. I have no reason to think it’ll be any less than previous Tri-Tronics collars I’ve had. 4-stars because only been using a short time. Otherwise 5-star.
By David
Omaha, Arkansas
Great e-collar.
August 27, 2021
I have had a few different collars through the years but this collar has it all. I was really amazed how they packed all of those features in a collar that small. The led light is amazing to be able to control from the remote. I love it. Great product.
ProsAmazing collar with a lot of tech. packed into it.
ConsNone
By Jeff
East Montpelier, VT.
Garmin Tri-Tronics Sport Pro
August 25, 2021
Appears to be high quality components, very good feel in your hand. I think a low, medium, high on each level would be better for me. Level three on this unit is more than i can take on continuous, i will say my dog learned very fast to be able to take him on hikes through the woods. i have yet to run into any distractions like animals or other people. I don't have to press the button at all anymore. It did what i wanted now i am going to work on making him heel beside me when i am in public areas. Oh i didn't tell you what kind of dog he is. He came to us as a rescue dog from Connecticut at 9 months old and we thought he was a black lab but turned out to be part hound also so he really liked to run with his nose on the ground oblivious to every thing around him.
Prosvery well built works well
ConsI think all 5 videos for training should come for the price of the unit.
By Kristin R.
MI
Review
August 24, 2021
Wish the collar was a clipped together rather than a buckle. With the buckle it is hard to know if you are putting it in the exact whole as you did the time before.
ConsWish the collar was a clipped together rather than a buckle. With the buckle it is hard to know if you are putting it in the exact whole as you did the time before.
By Greg
Oregon
Thrilled
August 21, 2021
The Garmin training collar is fabulous! Results achieved in 30 minutes. Smart dog and an easy to use product made my life easier. Getting a collar for the second pup as well. No need to shock, he obeys now with only the warning beep. We received it within 6 days! Thanks Gun Dog!
ProsEasy to use Durable Rechargeable Effective

Page 2 of 10
2





privacy policy | terms & conditions


1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions