Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


Review Summary
4.9
477 Reviews
5
88% (420)
4
10% (48)
3
2% (8)
2
0% (1)
1
0% (0)
99% Recommend this product (473 of 477 responses)
By Sandy
New York
Great for running multiple dogs!
April 30, 2022
I love this unit - so easy to switch back and forth between dogs, and buttons/toggles that you can feel easily underneath gloves. The handheld controller is conveniently small, unlike some of the other multi-dog units.
ProsSmall size Easy to toggle between dogs Buttons that can be felt even with gloves
ConsHave not found any yet!
By Donna R.
Houston Te as
Better than the rest
April 28, 2022
This is my third purchase of E collars and by far this is beyond the best! Worth the money
By Steven M.
Cantonment, Fl
Great Product
April 24, 2022
This is a great product so far. I have a 6 month old male lab that I'm working with and the collar works great. The DVD helped me get an idea on how to get started. Great remote functions and level 1 is all it takes to get his attention
ProsStrength, easy to use, multiple functions, distance, quality
ConsNon yet
By Candice
California
Great Product and Customer Service!
April 11, 2022
So far, this product has been an amazing training tool for our pups! At first, I was unable to pair the second collar with the remote, but once I received other instructions from Drew (who called and emailed - great service by the way!) I was able to pair the second device. Thank you @GunDogSupply for the great product and amazing customer service!
By BOB
ERIE PA
HAPPY
April 10, 2022
Great customer service took the time to answer all my questions.
By Tom
Indiana
Garmin Tri-Tronics Sport Pro is a great collar
April 8, 2022
I have been buying products from Gun Dog Supply for years. Everything that I have purchased has met or exceeded my expectations. I have had several training collars over the years. But, I like this one the best. It is much easier to use. I run my dogs several time daily. I have deer, turkeys, geese, squirrels, and pet ducks on the property. My wife frowns upon the dogs chasing her pet ducks. This collar has been an effective tool in training my dogs.
ProsVery easy to set up and use. Steve has several videos online that explain how to use the various features. Since this collar performs a lare number of tasks the videos were very helpful even to an experienced person who has used them for decades. The best thing is the new user interface. You can use most ot the common functions without taking your eyes off of your dog. This is much better than the last one I had. Also, there are separate buttons for tone and vibrate. The last one I had only allowed you to use one or the other a time. You had to look at the device to change from one to the other. I prefer using the tone as a first option. Then I use vibrate if the dog does not respond. Neither of these hurts the dog. As a last resort I use momentary or continuous shock.
ConsI have not encountered any yet.
By Anne H.
Holmen, Wisconsin
Excellent Product
April 2, 2022
It has really helped with the training of our new puppy!!
ProsThe vibrate and tone option are awesome!!
By daniel b.
Milwaukee. wi
I like it
April 1, 2022
No lanyard with this one . You can skip the training leash , it is too light . The control dial is poorly marked , try fumbling around with it in the dark !
ProsIt works so far. Very lightweight .
ConsOperating in the dark is a pain . Dial should be redesigned
By Paxton
Louisiana
Easy to use
March 26, 2022
Used it a few times , easy to use, simple instructions. Effective in training with options.
ProsHandy , easy to hold one handed and operate one handed .
ConsNone yet
By Bob R.
Roche Harbor,WA
Great Tool
March 26, 2022
I really like the sport pro, It is a big improvement over my last one.
Prossmall, easy to use, has vibrate and even a light.
ConsNo drawbacks
By Danita
PA
Awesome Ecollar that gets the job done.
March 26, 2022
The only reason I did not give this product a 5 out of 5 is that it does not come with at least a basic clip to clip the remote to yourself in some manner. And to purchase this "accessory" seems excessive. Other than that, its battery seems to last forever and it is responsive. It also covers the distance it claims to cover. The training video and lead line that it comes with are fantastic and very helpful in getting started. I would recommend this to anyone. It has gotten wet and continued to function correctly! Basically, I love this product.
ProsThis product can be used like a portable fence at over half the cost! It has a predictive response in regards to time and distance. The battery lasts forever.
ConsThe remote does not come with a way to clip it to your body. However, easily fixed with a ribbon and a D ring.
By BZ
Wisconsin
Works Well for that Gentle but sometimes Stubborn Dog
March 25, 2022
Living near a marsh, a puppy/dog has a lot of distractions, and a lot of opportunity to get lost in the marsh. The Garmin is waterproof has a large range of settings for the times your dog listens and when not so much. It also has a tone button and a vibrate button when training and the puppy is listening. The video gives great tips in how to use the product correctly
By Bob
Lakeside, MT
Worth the higher price
March 17, 2022
We have been pleased with this training collar. We had a cheaper one previously and the response time was too long and the battery life too short. It has been very effective in training our golden doodle in the basics. Just a quick, low level pulse is adequate and it is certainly not cruel at all ā€”just an attention getter.
By Dave G.
Bokeelia, FL
Like multiple features....but
March 9, 2022
I've used Tritronics collars on my last 4 labs with great results and they have lasted for years. This collar has multiple features and they are useful. However, the collar strap itself is very narrow and the receiver "flips" over, often making it useless, particularly when using the extended points. The wider strap used on previous collars never did this. Also, the transmitter seems to run down pretty fast. I think it may have something to do with the "bark limiter" mode, but nonetheless, it becomes a problem.
Prosmultiple features easy to use
Conscollar flips over because of narrow strap transmitter seems to run down fast
By Ron
Minnesota
Works great
February 26, 2022
I am so glad I got this. It is a big help reinforcing obedience training and specifically in recall. I am training my third retriever but since my last one lived 11 years itā€™s been a while working with a puppy. I had never used an e-collar before, but the folks I got the dog from recommended this one. It came w a DVD, and I did some further reading to make sure I didnā€™t set the dog back by using it poorly.
ProsEasy to set up and use. Adjusting correction levels is super easy. Great range of corrections. (Hard to imagine anyone ever needs the upper ranges but I guess they are there for a reason). Control seems well designed overall and is comfortable to hold (see con note).
ConsThe collar device is heavy and tends to flip over when I am putting the collar on so the prongs are pointed away from the neck. A better strap, maybe wider, would help this. Not thrilled overall with the narrow strap. I set the toggle to pair my control with toggle in down position. Sometimes inputting control in my vest the toggle gets bumped up and then of course no control. An issue until I discovered what was wrong but now just something to be aware to check. Maybe I will re-pair using a side setting.
By Lance
Utah
Garmin Sport Pro
February 22, 2022
So far this has been a great collar for my Brittany. We switched to this one from the base model with our lab. I love the light feature for when we are our before or after sunrise. Just wish it was a little smaller in size.
ProsHeadlight Ease of use with button placement Multi level stimulation Range of use
ConsTransceiver and receiver is a little bulky for what I am used to.
By Cathy
Sperryville, VA
Easy To Use & It Works!
February 15, 2022
I've used an Alpha 100 for years when I was hunting my Beagles and loved the features, however both of my darling girls have passed away. I have a young Doberman now and since she is not a hunting breed and stays much closer to me when we hike out, I decided I wanted an e-collar that was easy and simple to use. After some research and watching a few of Steve's video reviews, I felt that the Sport Pro was exactly what I needed. I am not disappointed in this product.
ProsNo touch screen More compact and less complicated Does not need to be recharged frequently
ConsNone
By Chris
Spanish Fort, AL
Outstanding product!
February 8, 2022
This is the same product my trainer used and it works amazing. Long battery life and my dog responds to much lower settings than the old training collar I was using. Shipping was fast and customer service was outstanding! Thank you all for the great product!!
By Kurt
Minnesota
Really like this Sport Pro
February 6, 2022
Iā€™ve owned several e-collars over the years, and all but one were Tritronics or Garmin. This Sport Pro is by far the best! Very well designed.
ProsTransmitter and Collar: 1) 4 button control 2) Use of tone and vibration without turning another dial 3) Lightweight and durable case 4) Positive thumbwheel control 5) Use as a bark collar 6) Turns on LED night light on collar 7) Replaceable batteries 8) Long battery life after charge 9) Collar has a lot of adjustment holes 10) Can't go wrong with the price
ConsNothing yet.
By Marsha
PA
Gave us a well behaved dog!
February 5, 2022
I first tried to skimp with a no-name brand with just 4 settings and got horrible results - it was so inhumane. After watching Steve's video I ordered the Garmin Sport Pro and I'm so glad I did. The results have been fast and noteworthy! First, the collar is incredibly humane - inching the level up a notch at a time enables you to fine-tune just where your dog will respond without terrorizing them (no yelps or cries necessary). The controller is easy to learn - easy to use wearing gloves, true one-handed operation. The video series is well worth your time to watch, even if your dog isn't a puppy anymore or already has some basic training. After allowing some of his training to slide, I've now got my beautiful, intelligent sport dog back and he and I had so much fun while leveraging the collar as a tool together with positive encouragement and attention. I highly recommend this product.
ProsIt's got lights! Controller is one-hand operation and easy to learn Can operate with gloves on Collar is humane to the animal (true stimulation without frying them) Easy to avoid yelps and cries Fine tune the stimulation level to match the circumstances Collar is well made with micro-adjustments for perfect fit Video series makes training easy Bark suppressor looks promising (haven't used it, but based on other operation of the collar it should put the decision whether or not to bark firmly back on your dog) Controller has rubber around parts of it - will survive being dropped
ConsDoes not come with a wrist strip - for the price seems like Garmin could have chipped in 10" worth of paracord.
By BOBBY F.
Idaho
Sport Pro
February 3, 2022
easy to work, made a big difference with my catahoula, 90% of the time just have to hit vibrate button
By Hunter B.
Mississippi
Everything I needed.
February 3, 2022
Great product, great service, fast delivery.
By Steve
Lake Orion MI
Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
February 3, 2022
Item was backorder from impacts w/COVID. GUN DOG SUPPLY notified me that orders would be in by mid-January. Item shipped and received per their timing. Great training collar have used it several times now. Watched video first so that I had a basic understanding of how to use an e-collar and it couldn't have been any easier. Great product, directions and service from GUN DOG SUPPLY!!
ProsEasy to use Easy set-up Well made
By Mary C.
Thompson CT.
Garmin sport pro
February 2, 2022
I'm very pleased with my new Garmin Sport pro collar and receiver, I can safely run two dogs on their daily run, with complete control from other walkers. The additional Sport XC allowed me to pair the two collars, to be able to run two dogs. I can also confidently use the Pro for Field training my Boy for Master. Customer Service is also great, for any advice on the correct equipment, or use of their product.
By Jeff
Wisconsin
Simple, reliable and quality
February 2, 2022
Perfect for any dog owner.
ProsQuality unit and collar.
ConsNone
By John
South Carolina
Lab training
February 2, 2022
I purchased this for my year old lab for some fine tuning in her training. I wish I would have purchased before. She is sensitive but now goes out 100 yards and obeying on command with now only a beep. The sensitivity control is the best in providing a gentle reminder. Now she walks beside me without a leash.
ProsEasy control dial and set up. Holds charge for a week.
ConsNone other than the plastic collar you have to be sure is warm so it fits correctly and snug.
By Mike D.
West Bend, WI
Why no lanyard?
February 2, 2022
Overall a great product. Far better than my old Garmin. I was surprised to find that they do not include a lanyard for the hand controller.
ProsDial settings allowing quicker and easier setting changes, light on the collar, louder tone, and longer prongs all make this a better product. Garmin combined easy-to-use features with their field design and durability making this a very sound and useful product.
ConsNo lanyard for hand controller.
By Kenneth K.
Bozeman Montana
Game Changer
February 1, 2022
I have a 4 month old Wirehaired Pointing Griffon that has a mind of his own but just a reminder on level 2 brings his attention right back to the task at hand. The lighted collar is super useful at night when we're out by the camp fire or on a n evening walk. 5 STARS on the Garmin Sport Pro and 5 STARS for the customer service at Gun Dog Supply!
ProsA must have for training a young bird dog. 3/4 mile range 10 level of corrective power Tone Vibrate Bark inhibiter Lights for night use Expands to use with 3 dogs ease of use is outstanding
ConsDoes not come with a lanyard for hand held controller
By JOHN
PALM COAST, FL
SIMPLE, TOUGH, EASY TO USE
February 1, 2022
NOTHING COMPLICATED. WELL-MADE, RUGGED, WATER-RESISTANT, EASY TO USE AND EFFECTIVE. WORTH THE MONEY.
By MTC
Alabama
Lots of Features
February 1, 2022
This unit is compact & fairly simple to operate.I would purchase again. Some improvements would be some way to attach a lanyard & the instructions included could be clearer. However, there are good videos on YouTube that clarify usage. The Bark Control feature is excellent & the lights on the collar are an interesting feature.
By Patrick
Buffalo
Dog collar
February 1, 2022
Only complaint is nowhere to connect collar to a lanyard.
By Bill S.
Central California
Garmin sport pro
February 1, 2022
I preordered.. was well worth the wait.. simple to use and feature packed. My go to collar for at home training and while hunting.. very useful for my younger lab..
ProsSimple to use.. many features..
ConsI have not experienced any cons
By Bonnie L.
West Branch
Great Product
January 21, 2022
We recently purchased a Garmin unit for our six-month-old Lab. He was very smart but had a mind of his own. Help was needed! With just the aid of the alarm buzzer, he is a new pup and a joy to be around.
By Valerie
Michigan
Very durable.
January 15, 2022
I bought the Garmin Tritronics Pro collar for my GSP in 2016. Just now itā€™s starting to lose its charge quickly after almost 6 years of daily use. I just bought another one today to replace it. Iā€™d highly recommend this collar!
By Lucia S.
Redwood City, CA
This has boosted recall training to a new level of success!
December 19, 2021
Love the way it fits in my hand and the night light to see my dog wherever she runs in the dark. Would LOVE if the scale instead of 0-10 was 0-100 for finer tuning of stimulus but overall, no complaints!
ProsLightweight, waterproof, ergonomic, good stim/vibration/audio control, uncomplicated
ConsScale could be improved if 0-100 vs 0-10 for finer control of stimulus; this is just a friendly suggestion
By Kirby
Medina, TN
It works
December 14, 2021
Purchased this training collar for my young Aussiedoodle. He’s about as hard headed as they come. Will not listen if he’s got his mind on something else. After getting the right prones on the collar, he decided that I was the boss and not him. Very satisfied.
ProsIt works great.
ConsNone
By Nick
O'Fallon, MO
Performs as advertised
December 11, 2021
The collar is smaller than some of the others I have owned and does not seem to bother my dog from day one. The remote fits nicely in the hand and buttons are easy to find. I would give 5 stars if it was not for the charging system on the collar. Has three cords you connect and then clips on the collar rather than one cord that plugs into a water tight charging port.
ProsSmall size. Has lights on collar to see dog at night if you let him roam around a bit. Affordable for all its functions.
ConsThe collar charging system has way to many connection cords.
By Tom
PNW
Perfect tool to make our dog even a better pet
December 10, 2021
I purchased the Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO by Garmin based on the excellent information available on Gun Dog Supply's website. I have used all of the features of the Garmin except bark control. The night lights are great for keeping track of dog in the dark while she explores our 2 acre property. The included instructional DVD deserves a 5star rating as well! Our dog wags her tail when I take out the collar as she knows it is time to play!
By Mitch
Leedey, OK
Best of the Best
December 9, 2021
After doing quite a bit of research and watching too many review videos to count, I decided that THIS was the perfect collar for me. Good price, fast delivery. The multi collar function was very important to me, and this controller can operate up to 3 collars at once, which is perfect for me. I will, and have already, suggest this collar to anyone who is looking for an outstanding e-collar.
ProsUp to 3 collars on one controller Range Simplicity Multiple settings Beeper Vibrate
ConsSecond collar on backorder
By Jan P.
Camas WA
BEST VALUE ON THE MARKET
December 6, 2021
The Sport Pro by Garmin is the best dog training collar value out there. As an outfitter for a nationwide retailer I sold all the major brands of collars to a diverse group of clients. I never once got negative feedback regarding the Sport Pro. As a consumer I have bred hunting dogs and had dogs as house pets and I choose sport pro because it works. Total range has never been an issue. Ten control settings is all anyone really needs, I started with 3, ended with 3. The bark limiter is a handy tool, I used it to train my dogs not to bark when someone comes to the door. The light is a great safety tool and good visual locator for low light conditions. My collars have proven themselves with years of dependable use. This Tri Tronic original, Garmin picked up and kept has been around a long time. There are other good products out there but this one is without question the best value. It only lacks the GPS tracking ability but since I don't hunt cats or coons and I know where my dogs are (most of the time) I don't need the expense of GPS. My hard-headed Griffon responds better to just the tone alone with no need for stimulation correction. This device just works.
ProsDurable. Waterproof. Shock resistant. More than adequate range. plenty of correction setting lights for location and safety right size to slip into a pocket or hang off a belt loop up to 3 dogs for one hand held Bark limiter and counter Tone and Vibe control without need for correction
ConsNo GPS (If needed)
By Scott
CA
Great little device!
December 6, 2021
Simple to understand operation. Handheld device feels natural in hand. Allowed me to integrate into puppy's continued upland bird training on his first day in the field. Have not needed to setup the bark collar function, (Luckily). Ability to turn on a bright light on collar could be real useful at some point, maybe while camping? No complaints at all!
ProsEasy to understand functions. Great controls for one hand, 'no-look' operation.
ConsDoes not come with a belt clip or lanyard. That would be useful in the field.
By Bill H.
Katy, Texas
Rebel Control
December 4, 2021
The Garmin Sport Pro is compact and powerful. The tone and vibrate features offer an alternative to the electric stimulation. The dog pays attention when they know that the tone and vibrate is a precursor to the electric stimulation. Recommend this fully. Easy to charge and can supplement the collers with different colors.
ProsCompact and powerful Easy to use Has the tone and vibrate feature Includes a light on the collar.
By Hugo
Turlock, California
Strong and Easy to Use
November 23, 2021
Both the collar and the controller are very well made. The controller fits well in your hand and is easy to use.
ProsWell Made Easy to Use
ConsNone
By Robert L.
Williston, FL
The Tri-Tronics Sport Pro works great!
November 22, 2021
I am in the process of training my lab puppy for basic obedience and retrieving. I’ve owned and used Tri-Tronics in the past and loved it. This Sport Pro is the quality that I expect from Tri-Tronics but at a more affordable price.
Pros- Quality and predictable transmissions. - High quality and worth the cost over so many cheaper units on the market.
By Scott
Wisconsin
Great Product
November 20, 2021
Very easy to use. Range of collar is great.
ConsOnly 1 level of vibration.
By Lauren
Andalusia, Alabama
Seems perfect
November 18, 2021
Everything seems perfect! Haven't had a chance to use it yet due to our dog being in training at the moment, but we received it a lot faster than expected, and was packaged very well. Overall we are very pleased with the product.
By Joe
Kodiak
Great collar
November 17, 2021
This collar has a ton of features, one of my favorite is the light you can turn on when it’s dark. The rest of the tone, vibrate, and tone functions work as expected. I think it is one of the best values in terms of features and price.
By Clay
Louisiana
A lanyard would have earned 5 stars
November 17, 2021
The collar works great and is simple to use however itā€™s I didnā€™t realize Garmin doesnā€™t include a lanyard for the remote. Thatā€™s a slap in the face when spending over $200 on a product and having to buy a lanyard separately.
ProsEasy to set up and use
ConsDoes not include remote lanyard, and momentary and continuous shock buttons feel the same. Would be nice if Garmin had a bump on one of the buttons so you can know what button you're pressing without having to look.
By Raya
Minnesota
My Favorite E-Collar
November 15, 2021
For my first hunting dog, I bought the basic Garmin Delta collar. It worked great, but when I got my second hunting dog I knew I wanted this collar to handle both dogs. The Garmin Sport Pro is everything and then some. I love the ease of it for both dogs and the beacon lights are a bonus as my black lab mixes are hard to see at night. Great product and from my experience with my previous collar it will last a long time.
ProsTone Vibrate 3/4 mile Range Easy to use and control levels of stimulation Beacon Lights
By Dick
Schellsburg, PA
Tri-Tronics Sports Pro
November 5, 2021
Have had Tri-Tronics products in the past and this product maintains the high standards that I have had with the past products
ProsSimplicity of use, features of the product
ConsCharging cables could be made more user friendly and simplistic

Page 1 of 10
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number: