Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


Review Summary
4.9
234 Reviews
5
89% (209)
4
9% (20)
3
2% (5)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (234 of 234 responses)
By Drew S.
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 16, 2018
No Joke. This thing has been a complete game changer in terms of enjoying time with our boy! I belabored spending more than $100 for something I wasn't sure we'd get value from but am glad I followed the solid advice on Gundog Supply and went with Steve's Pick. When we first got it, the dog was oblivious, so I called gun dog and Steve suggested snugging it up and making sure it rides high on his neck. Did that and BINGO... the dog responded instantly to the vibrate and quickly got the hang of it. Of course, he also started to figure out the vibrate isn't much but adjusting the correction level to even 3 would instantly get his attention. He's since gotten a bit more bold and will sometimes take a 6 if he's really wanting something, but without fail comes running back. I've shocked myself with it to see how bad it is and it's just like a good static pop from an old television set..but plenty to get his attention and we haven't had to go beyond 6 Furthermore, the boy HATES wearing a leash and loves putting this thing on because he knows he's going to have freedom. We live in the burbs and I don't hunt but we take him to woods, etc and he cuts loose swimming etc and loves it. This has changed my relationship with our dog and both of us enjoy not being tethered to a leash. Few Things on the device - waterproof and battery life/charge have been great. I just get in habit of putting on the charger once a day at some point - range is awesome. He's been almost mile away in woods and comes running - at first I thought the material on the collar was a bit strange but it had held up awesome in mud, river water, you name it! - the old school analog dial and simple buttons €”LOVE IT. Can be -10 and I don't have to take it out of pocket and I know exactly where it's tuned. If I forget, I back the dial without looking to the stop and then count the clicks up. Simple and works great without having to pull it out of pocket and look. - we haven't used the two dog feature but it's great to have even with one dog because you can toggle the switch down and not worry about your dog getting zapped if you sit on it with it in your pocket. Bottom line - Would highly recommend you stop the search and worry about if it's inhumane to use something like this on your pup. YOU have all the control you need and it's about getting the dogs attention, NOT €œshockingly them. I'm a firm believer that if you use this properly it'll be a game changer for you and your dog. I know Willy would give two paws up as well. I can't recommend this thing enough to anyone and Gun Dog support was fantastic. Their price was excellent too but II'd personally pay More here for their support than some bozo that doesn't know anything about it on amaz on or elsewhere. Stop thinking about it and GET IN THERE!! Drew S. St Charles IL
By Timothy D.
MI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 1, 2018
I love the range. Never have to worry about the dog getting too far away.
By Stephen D.
CA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 22, 2018
Very easy to use, long lasting charges on batteries, very durable, a good E-collar, you can't go wrong with this collar.
By Richard A.
NY
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 21, 2018
Great range and holds a charge for weeks. The vibrate mode is what I use the most. the audible could be a little louder and the collar could be improved by adding a snap together type clip (quicker on/off). All in all a great training tool, it's like a very long leash.
By John G.
FL
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 19, 2018
The Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO is a great training collar. The only issue I had was with the power supply for charging the collar and had unit. It is somewhat disjointed with a few cables that must be plugged together, and the charging unit that came with the system was intermittent. That was solved since Steve and Gun Dog Supply replaced it right away. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE.
By Charles A.
FL
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 19, 2018
working with 1 year old male Lab puppy. I purchased my pup when he was 16 weeks old with some bad habits he acquired from his home life. He is some what difficult walking at heal and trying to control hand held leash. " Chester" has a strong desire to be our pack leader. The E collar does help in control situation. It fits easily into the hand and shirt pocket. I have difficulty determining the charge I need to set for control.
By Cynthia B.
IN
Review for Garmin Sport PRO 2-dog Combo
October 18, 2018
By Jonathan C.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
Really happy with this unit, ability to turn bark control and lights on and off from the remote is awesome. So far battery life has been great and have been using the just about every day.
By WILLIAM Z.
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
Meets standards.
By Marjorie S.
PA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
Works well; has a decent range. Easy to use.
By Curt G.
OR
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
Really like this collar because it's easy to use and has just enough settings!!!
By Joe
CA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
This is a great product. We use the tone for recall and vib for direction change. That fact it can double as a bark collar is just a bonus. Also can't beat the price or service from GDS.
By Elizabeth E.
WA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
First time using an e collar. Using it for recall on a KBD and it seems to work very well . I really like all the setting options.
By Kyle
PA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
I like it. It does everything I need and keeps my beagle in check.
By George M.
PA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
I love the simplicity of it after using it a short while I hardly have to look at it ! I can actually hear the tone when I check it , it is a perfect unit for my beagles I recommend it highly , my last collar was good but not the collar this is and harder to use ! I wouldn't change a thing !
By David S.
WI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 18, 2018
Works great.
By Betsy S.
MA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 12, 2018
Our Garmin Sport Pro is key in our training! Buttons and options and easy to use especially in quick corrections. Love the recharging set up so we don't lose power or have to deal with batteries. Only question is can you use tone during bark mode?
By Karen F.
IL
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 12, 2018
Having a 70 pound 8 month puppy can be challenging . He can be stubborn and sometimes needs a little push.
By Allen R.
PA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 12, 2018
Really easy to use, Great product. Built-in lights are awesome and everything it seems built to last.
By Joseph D.
WI
Review for Garmin Sport PRO 2-dog Combo
October 11, 2018
Easy to use controls I use two collars never mess up what dog I am correcting I love the lights on the collars makes it very easy to keep track of the dogs on night walks. An battery life seems great Would highly recommend to new buyer
By Jacqueline S.
NE
Review for Garmin Sport PRO 2-dog Combo
October 11, 2018
This collar is everything Steve said it was. Excellent and easy to use. Love it.
By Mark M.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
This dog hunts. What do I like: Service from GunDogSupply is always awesome. This was not my first purchase from them, they always process and ship my orders quickly. The dial is easy to manipulate, low settings for low distraction situations, easy to dial in higher pulse when distractions are most challenging. Almost everything you need is included. The dials are easy to use without looking at them. Water-resistance has worked flawlessly. Used it for over a month, everything is working perfectly. What could be improved: Collar width is narrower than I'd like, would prefer the 1" wide collar. The collar seems to rotate around on my dog's neck, doesn't stay in front where its supposed to be, easy to move, but I have to keep watching it. Even with long probes my Yellow lab with a thin flat coat is very rare but often enough to make me write about it, losing connection so pulses do not transmit to the dog (turning it up does not elicit a response while tone, lights, and vibe are all working). Making the collar tighter will help, but then she can't breathe....wider collar could help.
By Erik H.
ID
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
I have a Garmin Alpha for use in the woods and fields but I got this collar as a second collar to use for exercising our dog in the foothills around our city. I am particularly happy that the controls are a bit more accessible for my wife to use than the controls on the Alpha, particularly adjusting the stim level up or down depending on distractions (e.g., other dogs, rattle snakes, coyotes, etc.). It is also great that it has stim, tone and vibrate as we use all three for various training purposes. It does not have a tracking function so it does not take the place of my Garmin Alpha for hunting in the mountains but I think it could easily be my primary hunting collar for open fields.
By Art K.
WI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
Very good product. Battery life is excellent. Most like the vibrate, tones, and stimulation modes. Many options to work with.
By Arthur W.
AL
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
Easy to use. Nice features. The training video was a fantastic addition!
By MaryAnn G.
MN
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
So easy to use - much less pressure needed with the new fresh collar! My results are immediate with just one intermittent correction! Great tool!
By Scott J.
WI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
Sucks that I lost the collar after a week or two. Pissed me off.
By Jeff
MI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
This e-collar is a strong performer. Battery life is great and it holds up to all weather conditions. Not my first e-collar but definitely my favorite. Well worth trying.
By Mark R.
CA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
I love everything about this product.
By Martin R.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
Love this product, very glad I was turned on to gundog supply.
By Fred N.
CO
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 11, 2018
Easy to use has a nice light for the early mornings so yo can see your dog
By Knighton S.
LA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 10, 2018
Simple to use.
By Gary N.
SC
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 10, 2018
Simple, charges both TX and collar simultaneously, controls are simple. Works as well as I could have hoped. Use it in saltwater, then rinse and no issues yet... I am pleased.
By TOM B.
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
January 10, 2018
The biggest complaint is that the "60" hour run time is nowhere near what I get, which is around 32 to max 34. Second, the plastic collar is very narrow and thinner compared to my Tritronics Sport 50. It is showing a crack on the edge and some rough spots, indicating it will tear in the semi-near future. I also have to keep it up high or it will not stop my alpha dog from "aggressive behavior." He is in attack mode, but is nowhere near strong enough, after the start of aggression. Granted, this is an ALPHA, ALPHA, male from East German other border protection lines, so it is very hard. When in drive, he is something else. But, I had hoped this would provide the needed stim and durability. So, I know that my use is probably harder on the device since it's on 16 hours a day, but rarely is it used to stim since the verbal command is usually good to this well-trained dog - unless it is - not! Then it's not hot enough. Should work well for about any other dog though! So my grade is for me, not necessarily what it would be for you.
By Rick K.
KY
Review for Garmin Sport PRO 2-dog Combo
January 24, 2017
There are several positives about this system: - range is more than adequate for my purposes - the lighted collar makes finding a dog at night simple - I really appreciate this feature - the control is pretty intuitive, I don't even look at the buttons anymore - I have not had any issue with water. We live on the water and the dogs are in the water every day. The collars have had no issue yet. (this was the apparent failure mode of the 2 other brands of collars I used before buying the Garmin) I have also found some concerns for this system: - On multiple occasions a button on the controller has stuck resulting in continuous toning and in one case continuous shocking. I could not turn the shocking off and had to remove the collar from the dog. This issue worries me every time I use the controller - The dual charger that came with the base system does not consistently charge both the collar and the controller simultaneously. I often have to charge each collar on the dedicated collar charger received with the second collar. This requires longer charge times and longer times the dogs go without the collars. -
By Chris B.
MS
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 21, 2016
My Boykin Spaniel retriever chases deer and I bought the collar to stop him. It says the range is 3/4 mile but in the woods it does not have much range. I haven't measured the range but my feeling is maybe 200 yards, then it has no effect.
By Robin W.
NC
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 18, 2016
My husband and I love rescuing failed hunting hounds (gun shy, retired, etc). However, in order to keep our most recent addition safe from having her nose take her away, it became obvious we needed something to 'turn' her when she found a scent. I trained her that the beep function is a treat/positive clicker sound and it has worked perfectly. I love all the functions on this collar and especially that I've never needed to actually use any other function on it! Also excited about the LED function with a mostly black dog.
By Michael J.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 18, 2016
Had this unit for two weeks. The response is very good so far.Much better than the 325 unit I bought first.Great customer support from Gun Dog Supply.Took the first unit back and applied purchase toward new unit without any questions or delay.Thanks everyone! Mike Jackson
By Kelly J.
NJ
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 17, 2016
Use responsibly! And have fun!
By Lara B.
AR
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 16, 2016
This product is sweet. Very effective in aiding the process of basic training.
By Robert P.
TN
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 10, 2016
The Garmin Pro is very easy to use. The only thing that I have to play with is making the contacts connect through the dog's hair. I have changed to the longer contacts and it helps, but still either I have to tighten collar more or turn up the dial on the transmitter at times. He usually reacts to a dial between 2-4 depending on skin contact.
By Gary G.
IN
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 9, 2016
My dog was very responsive to this training device on a low setting. The quality is good and it is extremely easy to use and change settings.
By Bertram B.
KY
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 8, 2016
Works great! The light feature is a plus, also!
By Bob F.
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
November 5, 2016
I have only been using it for a week or so. I watched the Robin MacFarlane video. My dogs seems to respond well with very low stimuli, 1-2 range as a reminder rather than a punishment.
By Meredith P.
NJ
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 31, 2016
We are working with a rescue boxer who is dog aggressive on leash. After learning how to use this collar properly by a professional trainer the dog is doing great within three weeks of training.
By Jim J.
Ca
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 28, 2016
This is my first ecollar. I've never used one before. The video that came with it on how to use it was a big plus. One short training session and my dog understood the here command!
By PA
UT
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 16, 2016
By Casey L.
TN
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 15, 2016
Great product !
By Brittany B.
CO
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 14, 2016
Great collar. The tone is much louder than the previous collar I owned. I haven't experienced any issues with this collar.
By Craig B.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics SPORT PRO
October 14, 2016
Works as advertised with a few extra features.

Page 1 of 5
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2020, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.