Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


Review Summary
4.9
361 Reviews
5
90% (324)
4
9% (32)
3
1% (5)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (360 of 361 responses)
By Jacob
Massachusetts
Great product and customer service
April 13, 2021
The collar is very responsive and intuitive. It has some nice safety features, for example when it is locked it must cycle through 2 clicks before it gets to the lowest level of stimulation, and then it has a length limit-- no accidental queueing to worry about. The buttons are intuitive and and the auxiliary functions for lights and "barklimiter" is a nice bonus. As always Gun Dog Supply has great service, the folks are kind and helpful and it arrived very promptly, even in this era of delayed covid shipping.
By Noah
North Carolina
Well built, easy to use
April 13, 2021
The collar and dog device are very sturdy and waterproof as advertised. They are fully charged in 2hrs and I’m going on two weeks without charging but I don’t use the bark limiter function.
ProsQuality, easy to use
ConsCharger is multiple pieces
By Nick
South Jersey
Great Product Great Company
April 10, 2021
Collars came quickly and in nice packaging. All the info to set them up and charge them was there.
Pros3/4 mile range Works well in wooded area(live in woods) Flashlight on collars is a great bonus Easy to swap from collar to collar Battery life is long, I've gotten 5 days before it flashes yellow
ConsDidn't buy these collars earlier
By MjHeydel
Michigan
Nice unit
April 9, 2021
Very easy to use! Big buttons that make since. Well built and water proof. Its great for my field dogs and they respond well. It has a bit more juice then my old one which my dog learned to ignore. I would never sagest putting this one on #10 power. I tried #10 while holding it in my hand. Lets just say I'm glad I don't have a pacemaker. Because it put me (6'2" 340lbs Man) on my knees!! Unlike my old brand the buttons don't get stuck and there are four different buttons for 4 different transmissions. Plus a clear power wheel. So you can see easily which power setting you are on. The only draw back I found is the it did not come with a lanyard. So be careful not to loose it in the field.
ProsLarge easy to read and use buttons. Water proof. 10 power settings. and 10 means STOP!!! Well built. well worth the money. I think this one will last a long time.
ConsNo lanyard.
By Jeb
Alabama
A great product
April 9, 2021
This product has great features for training your dog. I bought the collar for a barking dog. My wife said curb the bark or lose the dog. It worked perfectly. Highly recommend.
ProsCompact. Powerful. Differing levels of stimulation.
ConsNone
By BRENDA
Northern MI
Best collar out there
April 8, 2021
I have had many collars and this one is the best . I have 2 Brittany's and I like the tone button and the ease of use to click the lever up and down to switch dogs and no led screen. We have only had to use the tone button and the dogs come back immediately. My dog was at a fast and determined run and I hit the tone , he stopped and came right to me. Best collar ever worth the money!!
ProsOne thumb click to use between two dogs I like having a tone and vibrate I like the light so at night I can see my dogs Easy to use not complicated
ConsNone yet
By Justin L.
Gray, Georgia
Garmin sport pro
April 6, 2021
As a dog trainer I recommend this system to each client. It’s an easy to use system and doesn’t break the bank.
ProsEasy to use and garmin provides a great product.
ConsDoesn't provide the low, medium, and high nick options as the more complex models.
By Kristine
Oregon
Garmin sport pro
April 6, 2021
Love it!
By Peter
New Hampshire
Excellent Collar, Excellent Company
April 1, 2021
We've had a series of training collars for our various dogs and all have been found wanting, for reasons varying from reliability to effectiveness. After a good deal of research, we settled on the Garmin SPORT PRO offered by Gun Dog Supply. GDS is a first class company and has a very helpful and easy to navigate website. Ordering was quick and easy; delivery was prompt. The SPORT PRO is perfect for our high drive German Shepherd. All in all, oustanding service and product.
ProsHigh quality Intuitive layout and controls Rugged Good battery life Works!
ConsNone identified thus far
By CT
Howell, MI
It's great so far
April 1, 2021
I recently purchased the Sport Pro for my large sporting dog. I have been greatly impressed with the function and ease. I was debating between this and the SportDog, and I am happy I chose this one. Our trainer is a big SportDog fan, but she really liked the updated version of the Sport Pro. She said it was a great collar. My dog doesn't seem to mind wearing the collar and has responded well to training. I haven't watched the dvd yet (since our trainer uses e-collars), but I plan to.
ProsEase of use. The buttons and functions are easy to figure out. It has an LED light than can be turned on, so I can see where he is at night...also if I happen to misplace the collar or if the collar comes off, I hopefully will be able to spot it with this feature. It has a bark feature. I haven't needed it, not sure if I will use it, but I like that I have the option. I haven't been able to try out the range, since I just began using the collar, but I like that it has a large range for the price. Good battery life. With training it has remained well-charged for several days.
ConsThe only con so far is that the collar has a light that occasionally flashes to let you know if you need to charge it (green if it has a good charge, yellow if it has less than 50%, red--need to charge). The light is bright enough to be a little distracting for me (the dog doesn't care), but I'm sure I will get used to it. I wish it only flashed when a charge is needed, but maybe there is a reason for it working the way it does.
By Duke
Cedar Park, TX
Garmin Sport Pro
March 30, 2021
We needed a collar to train our young Irish Setter for Dove hunting. This product is perfect for obedience training and hunting training purposes. The LED light allows us to see our dog as the sun is setting and amongst tall grasses. It also contains enough features to allow us to choose how to train our dog! Would recommend this product for anyone with an energetic breed.
ProsContains many features and an LED light for nighttime.
ConsTraining CD that comes with it was scratched.
By Ed
Alexandria VA
Great Improvements
March 30, 2021
Traded up for latest model of sport pro. Very happy with ease of use and added features.
ProsIntegrated light Less buttons to change options
ConsReceiver larger
By Tony
Middleburg, FL
Sport Pro
March 29, 2021
We have never used e-collars previously. Purchased this product after explaining my dogs issues and goals with a Gun Dog Team Member who recommended the Sport Pro. He was very helpful in explaining all the features as well as making sure I did not over purchase for something I didn't need. The quality is top notch as you would expect from Garmin. My dog has responded well and is already doing much better with the off leash issues we where targeting. After minimal training time in the first week, we are already confortable with walking off leash while maintaining control. To our surprise, we only have to use a small level (2 & 3) of stimulations for positive results / response. Have used the Tone option in conjunction / simutaneously with stimulations and he is already starting to respond positively to tone only. The lighted collar is great as we live in country where its very dark at night and when we let him out at night, I can visually keep track of him. Very happy with the product and the free video that comes with it is very good in getting you started with e-collar basics.
ProsFits in hand well with easy one handed operation of all controls. Great long distance signal for recall. Lighted collar is great at night for knowing exactly where the dog is in dark.
ConsNone
By Leon R.
McLeod, Montana
It worked on a terrorizing terrier
March 27, 2021
We adopted a 30 pound young terrier from a shelter. The first couple of weeks we kept him on a leash when he went out but then tried him without the leash. 45 minutes later we were able to round him up - this happened twice. Since we live in an area that has, as our vet said "The real deal" for predators (mountain lions, grizzly and black bears and coyotes) we decided that we could not take the risk of having him blast off into the unknown on the trail of something that could easily result in him becoming dinner. We put the collar on him and went for a walk. He was fine for about 50 yards then off he went. I tried the tone - he kept running. I tried the vibration - he kept running. I then went to the single shock - he kept running (and yelped). I then went to continuous shock at maximum intensity and, since he was well out of sight, I could him him yelping continuously. When I got back to the house, he was under a brush. I took him in and removed the collar. He was uninjured by the collar but the point had been made. Now he goes out with the collar and all it takes is the tone to get his attention.
ProsEase of use - one hand. Three attention getting levels - tone, vibration and shock. Excellent range.
ConsNone that I have discovered.
By Scott
Atlanta
Lot of features in a solid E-collar
March 27, 2021
I've owned one for years and purchased a 2nd one for a younger dog. I prefer it over others for the tactile controls vs digital. Easy to operate, very durable and has a decent range. Read the instructions or watch Steve's video to understand how to properly operate the bark feature. I have 2 Brittany's so would like to see a smaller/lighter collar at some point.
ConsLittle heavy/large for smaller, medium size dogs
By Judith
Ohio
Cure for the easily distracted dog!
March 26, 2021
Best training tool,ever. I was reluctant to take the plunge into electronic collars but my english setter 1 year-old is as stubborn as I am and just too darn inquisitive sometimes. After one day of training with the collar, he listens better and responds every time to “come,” which was my biggest concern!
ProsSee above
ConsNone. Easy to use but instructions could be better Garmin!
By kevin
Jersey City, New Jersey
Happy Hunter
March 26, 2021
Collar was as advertised. Like the collar with the light set up. Good when you may have to walk your dog when the area is not well lit. Controls are nice size and fit in your hands nicely. Easy to charge. Very satisfied with this purchase. Did not receive the training cd. Would recommend this product to a friend. Very satisfied with the merchandise that I have purchased from this company.
ProsNice size controls. Lights on collar for dark areas. Timely shipping. Item as advertised.
ConsNo CD.
By Joan
Minnesota
Great Product and Great Service
March 25, 2021
I purchased the Sports Pro for my 4 1/2 month old German shorthair pointer who has boundless energy. After watching the video I was able to put the Sports Pro to use immediately. I live on three acres with close neighbors so it was essential that she be trained immediately and correctly to remain on my property. Thus far the Sports Pro has kept her where she needs to be. She had already learned to sit, lay down , come and stay so the Sports Pro was very effective in reinforcing the commands in the event she failed to heed my direction.
ProsThe video directions are excellent and informative. The first video I received was defective and I called Gun Dog Supply. The gentlemen I spoke with was most responsive and put one in the mail that day. Great service.
ConsThe various parts were in separate plastic bags. It would have been helpful had they been labeled. It took me a while to figure out what each piece was.
By Ak
Rocky Mountain region
Great Product
March 24, 2021
Very satisfied with the E-Collar, very intuitive user controls and simple.
ProsEasy of use Range Battery charging Customer Service is great
ConsInstructional CD malfunctioned
By Brian
Steerling, PA
works great
March 20, 2021
Bought this for my two labs. We recently moved and dont have a fenced in yard anymore. With a few acres the dogs like to run into the woods and sometimes dont listen. I only used the beep and vibrate so far and they both listen real well to that. Range seems pretty good. It didnt come with a lanyard for the remote, not a big deal but i ended up getting one later down the road.
Merchant Response:Brian, I apologize, we like to include a lanyard but were out of stock for several months. I'll get one headed your way. Thanks, Ben
Proseasy to use easy to setup has sound and vibrate options can connect up to 3 collars water resistant small, light remote
Consno lanyard included
By Vincent
Alexandria, MN
Great
March 20, 2021
I bought this Garmin Tri-Tronic for my dog and it works exactly as Steve demonstrated in his video.
ProsEasy connection between hand held device and collar.
ConsNone
By Becky Q.
Lindstrom MN
Garmin Sport Pro
March 19, 2021
Recently purchased a Garmin Sport Pro E collar from Gun Dog Supply. Along with the collar I received Robin MacFarlane Basic Obedience E collar Training DVD and a long lead. The extra penny was well worth it. Being new to using an e collar, the DVD was an excellent resource. I watched it a number of times so that I could use the same techniques demonstrated in the DVD. My dog has done amazingly well after only one week of training with the collar. The collar also has a vibrate button and a tone button which I have used frequently and my dog responds very well. I use the tone button when he was 100 yards away and he heard the tone from the collar, turned around and came when called.
ProsWorks amazingly well to get my dogs attention. The collar has a momentary stimulation button along with a continuous stimulation button. I have the collar set at a very low detection and my dog responds well. The collar also has a tone button and a vibrate button which I have used which my dog also responds to very well. This product is great. It gives you four options to get your dogs attention.
ConsNone
By Pryde
Hammond,Indiana
Helped me with the extra I needed
March 19, 2021
Love this set up. Had one with my other chessie and you could not adjust the setting enough. Also this unit has vibration and beeps, that help, if you use the vib before, zapping works great. Only had to hit her with the shock once. She learn no to ignore the vibs
ProsGreat price and versatility Tones and vibs
ConsHaven't found any
By Vic
Somerset, NJ
Germain Tri-Tronic Sports Pro
March 19, 2021
The training system actually helped us with our golden doodle. He is 14 months old and was extremely playful, stubborn and get distracted easily. We saw major improvement after 5 training sessions. He is our first dog, so we don't have a great deal of experience with dogs. Our success was attributed to the educational training DVD that was included.
ProsEffective. Solid built quality. Battery life
ConsNone
By Cathy
MN
Communication is the key
March 19, 2021
I adopted a 4 year old, 80# lab that had not been leashed trained. After working with her for 2 months I felt I needed a better way to get her attention when highly distracted outside and pulling. This collar is filling that void. I have been using it about 2 weeks and see improvement each day. I wanted vibrate, tone and stimulation. Currently using tone and low level stim. Worked well with leave it command for squirrel and passing car! It also has an anti barking feature I have not tried yet. Charging is easy. The receiver fits nicely in my hand and is easy to operate. The DVD taught me the basics and they replaced it when it would not play. Thanks.
By Denise
Carmel, MY
Great training device
March 19, 2021
We just got a new puppy- German Shorthair Pointer, and this device is so great in assisting with her training. We’ve used them before on 2 hounds, but this is our first Garmin and we really like it. Holds a charge well and we love the video instructions. Have recommended it to several friends already.
By Joe
Ohio
Good solid product
March 19, 2021
This is the third set of these I’ve purchased. I am happy with the quality, we use them daily on our mountain Curs. The only issue we had this time is there was no lanyard included like the other sets. Since the controller has no belt clip the best way to carry is a lanyard. At this price it would be nice to include it...If you don’t have one order it separately. Overall it is a good unit for us.
By SJ
KY
easy to use
March 19, 2021
I was hesitant to order an e collar but so far the conditioning has been going well and my dog isn't scared of it. The handler really needs to condition the dog to understand the e collar and not just use it as a punishment. My dog and I are still learning with it but it has already greatly improved his recall in just a few days. FYI, my dog DOES hate the vibration mode so I don't use that. Some dogs are more sensitive to that. The Garmin Sport Pro is very easy to set up and understand. It has some flexibility in different settings but it's not overwhelming trying to figure the settings out (no barking, vibration, lights, etc.) Gun Dog Supply has been really responsive with customer service when I had questions and needed to exchange an order. I wish they had a bigger selection of pet dog stuff because I would definitely order everything from them instead of big box stores.
Proseasy set up
By Andrew
OKC, OK
Perfect Multi-Functional Collar - Tone, Vibe, Adjustable level w/ Cont. & Momentary
March 19, 2021
I am very happy with the collar because it allows me to apply pressure when my adolescent lab tests me. I have already seen increased attention and compliance when he is off-leash. The multi-functionality of the collar is helpful because I can use vibrate most of the time and low stim when needed. The light is an added bonus. It makes spotting a black lab at night in the backyard much easier. I was on the fence of buying this collar vs. one of the alpha series collars. However, my lab doesn't range more than 50-60 yards and checks back in with me frequently. In addition, I only have one dog and my friends do not have hunting dogs, so the additional features on the alpha series felt unnecessary (albeit super cool).
ProsEverything a dog owner running 3 or fewer dogs needs (except GPS) Light is helpful Easy and intuitive to use with actual push buttons
ConsNone for my intended use
By Chad
California
Thanks Gun Dog Supply!
March 18, 2021
I couldn't have asked for a better online shopping experience.
By Melissa P.
Edison, NJ
Success
March 18, 2021
It’s only week 1 but so far we are having success with our training. I just wish it came with a lanyard.
By Jen
south Carolina
Nice Product
March 18, 2021
The Garmin Sport Pro is a great device for training your dogs to not be on leashes. There are extra functions that have not been offered before, like pulsing the sound, lights on the collar, etc. It is very powerful and once you have your dogs trained, you will only need to use the beep commands moving forward.
By Customer
Shoreline wa
Nice set of shockers!
March 17, 2021
We just got a new pup and needed to replace an older colar. These are working great and it is nice to control both from one device
ProsEasy to use
ConsCost
By G B.
Central coastal California
Great and friendly advice! fine product
March 17, 2021
Nice conversation and advice as to which collar to select. Went out of his way to try to find parts for old collar, no luck, New collar is great! I recommend this place.
ProsGreat service
ConsNone
By Karri R.
Northern California
Our first E collar
March 17, 2021
We purchased the Garmin trite on if collar on the recommendation of my daughter. We watched the training videos before putting it on our 7 month old lab. She is a very excitable puppy and the collar took some time for both of us to figure out what works. She is now doing great and we are working off leash at local parks. The e collar gives us both the confidence to train in public and soon we will be heading out to the trails. Strongly recommend the training videos before first timers use the collar!
ProsGreat range, waterproof
ConsA little bulky Short prongs are a little too short but the long one seem to be too long. Once she grows into her skin we should be fine!
By Charles
Virginia
Garmin & Gun Dog Supply Great Service
March 11, 2021
First we are very pleased with the collar. 2nd we had a minor problem and the Staff at Gun Dog Supply immediately took action without question great customer service. thanks!
By Andee B.
Central, Michigan
IN USE 6 YRS ON COON HOUNDS
February 28, 2021
Great Long Lasting E-collars. Great customer service. Get the DVD! Trained 2 hounds, female was trained in 20 mins. Male still in training..lol....
ProsLong lasting and water proof. DVD is worth watching on training you dawgs.
ConsNone
By Javier
PUERTO RICO
The best collar
February 9, 2021
The best collar I used with the training of mu dog
By Susan
Amarillo, Texas
Garmin Sport Pro
February 6, 2021
I have 2 border collies who are loyal, sweet, intelligent, and love to learn and work. However, they both would completely lose their mind (and hearing) anytime they stirred up a jackrabbit while out in the pasture. They chased until they completely lost the rabbit - often after a quarter mile or more - and then would come running back. It was their only fault, but it was a big one, and a safety issue. I ordered the Garmin E collar pretty much out of desperation. After watching the training video that came with the collars, I started with my dogs, using it only to call them to come back. They are otherwise well trained. They learned in a few sessions that the collar signal meant they must come back when called, no matter what they were doing. A light touch with the collars was all that was necessary. Then I put it to the test in the pasture. In less than 2 weeks, I could call them off of a rabbit without even touching the E collar remote. I'm a believer. What a difference.
ProsTransmitter controls multiple collars. Easy to toggle back and forth between dogs. Remote is simple to work.
By Tom
Duluth, Minnesota
Great Product!
February 5, 2021
First time with an e-collar to train for hunting. Easy to use one handed. “Pistol grip” love the Ability to have tone/vibrate then stimulated. Added benefit is being able to extend it up to three collars.
ProsEasy to use, Durable
ConsCharging system cumbersome.
By Jason
Alaska
Great training/hunting/safety tool.
February 5, 2021
I’ve been a big fan of training collars for many years. This one is great not only for training, but for hunting and safety as well. I live in Alaska and there are plenty of moose and bear around. You never know how your dog will react when there is an encounter. This has happened to me more than once with different dogs, and sometimes with multiple dogs at once. You have total control with these collars. This collar has saved my dogs life from wild animals and vehicles. Learn to use it properly and you and the your dogs will both love it.
ProsWorks great, easy to use, added bark feature if needed.
ConsDid not come with a lanyard or clip for the remote.
By Sam
Indiana
Best E-Collar for your dollar
February 2, 2021
Sure it isn’t the GPS tracking, digital map displayed unit... but it’s got good range, it’s reliable, it durable, and it just plain works. I’ve got 2 and the first one is 5+ years old and still works perfectly.
ProsFair priced Durable Waterproof Reliable Good range
ConsNA
By Mike
Southern Indiana
Great training collar.
February 2, 2021
Very simple to setup and use.
By Kayla
Gardiner, MT
Best collar ever
February 2, 2021
We have two large breed dogs! Having these collars easily programmed by one remote is amazing!! No more scrambling to remember what collar goes with what remote and they are very good quality!
Pros1 remote for two colors Amazing quality Fairly easy to program
ConsWhich the instruction book explained a little more about the functions of the remote, took a bit to figure out what the shock setting was.
By Dc
Louisiana
Great setup.
January 28, 2021
The collars are very user friendly and straightforward. Easy operation and room for expansion.
ProsEasy to use. Good range and easily programmable settings.
By Steve
Granby, CT
Outstanding Unit
January 27, 2021
It’s nice to have the bark collar built in with the ecollar. This has made a “world of difference” with my dogs barking. It’s pretty much zero now and I haven’t had it more than 2 weeks. Highly, highly recommend this unit if you have a stubborn barker.....
ProsAll in one unit. Holds a good charge so far.
ConsNone right now...
By Butch S.
Edwardsville IL
Garmin Tri-Tronics sport pro
January 27, 2021
Ordering this device from Gun Dog Supply was recommended by our trainer. Haven’t used yet as our pup will be going to obedience training next month.
ProsHighly recommended by trainer.
ConsNone
By JD
Montana
Garmin Sport Pro
January 23, 2021
Replaced a Sport Dog 1825. Chose this for added feature of bark collar. Overall good collar. Sport Dog has larger range of stimulation settings. Both have shock, vibe, and tone. Don’t think you could go wrong with either system. Garmin has more features. Garmin does not come with lanyard. Kinda disappointing to spend $400 and have to spend more to keep track of the remote. Charger system has more connections than necessary, lots of pieces to loose. Somewhat over come by long battery life.
ProsFeature rich Long battery life Multi dog
ConsNo lanyard included Charger system
By Pete M.
NYS
Training collar
January 21, 2021
Awesome
ProsVery easy to use
By RWH
Mission Viejo, CA
Sport Pro
January 20, 2021
My previous collars (from 1992) were TriTronics 300 models. This new TriTronics Sport Pro model has new features: A tone & a vibrator. My one dog is somewhat oblivious to shock, but hates tones, so all I have to do is press the Tone button & she responds. I'm working to see each dog's response to the various buttons. Operation is very intuitive, which is important since you don't have time to pause & think before pressing a button. Also, I really like the other improvements over my old 300 collars: 1) Battery level indicators for both the remote & the collar, and 2) Turning the collar off with a simple button (vs. removing a stubborn plug). By the way, the fact that my TriTronics 300's lasted 28+ years, albeit with sporadic use, says a lot about the TriTronics brand!!
ProsVery intuitive controls. Tone, vibration & shock options. Battery level indicators. Compact.
ConsNone

Page 1 of 8
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2021, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.