Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


Review Summary
4.9
402 Reviews
5
89% (358)
4
10% (39)
3
1% (5)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (401 of 402 responses)
By JOHN T.
PENNSYLVANIA
Best collar system for multiple dogs hands down
September 15, 2021
Excellent collars . I work alot so the light features are great for early morning walks & evening!! Easy to use & simple to set up
ProsLight feature Holds charge for days
ConsNone so far
By Karlton
Texas
Garmin Sport Pro Collar
September 13, 2021
So far so good. This is the same collar that our dog trainer used on our started Lab pup. Easy to charge, sent up and our pup has responded well with very few corrections. Can't wait to watch the free DVD. Wanted to buy this at the local Cabela's, store Inventory said in stock... none on shelf... was told oh... it's on the truck.... it should be on the shelf within the next few days.... The store employee said I should just order it on line.... poor customer service. I went online all right! I did an internet search and I found Gun Dog Supply which advertised "We have in stock what we sell". Ordered online from them. Not only did the get my collar on time, they threw in a training DVD and a check cord. Now that is customer service.... Gun Dog will get my business from now on!!!
ProsWorks exactly as advertised.
ConsWished to collar was in orange and not black.... Easier to find if some how it came undone and was to fall to the ground. ( I'm just being real here!) other than that no other cons...
By Brian
Ohio
Excellent training tools
September 10, 2021
My GSP was very wild. Recent adoption and had no discipline. Within days he is much better on his leash and learning commands. CD is excellent. Great learning tools for me and my GSP
By Donald W.
2173 RICHMOND Chapel Road Victor WV
A great e collar
August 30, 2021
Well satisfied with collar works exceptionally well
ProsControls well set up
By Jeff
East Montpelier, VT.
Garmin Tri-Tronics Sport Pro
August 25, 2021
Appears to be high quality components, very good feel in your hand. I think a low, medium, high on each level would be better for me. Level three on this unit is more than i can take on continuous, i will say my dog learned very fast to be able to take him on hikes through the woods. i have yet to run into any distractions like animals or other people. I don't have to press the button at all anymore. It did what i wanted now i am going to work on making him heel beside me when i am in public areas. Oh i didn't tell you what kind of dog he is. He came to us as a rescue dog from Connecticut at 9 months old and we thought he was a black lab but turned out to be part hound also so he really liked to run with his nose on the ground oblivious to every thing around him.
Prosvery well built works well
ConsI think all 5 videos for training should come for the price of the unit.
By Kristin R.
MI
Review
August 24, 2021
Wish the collar was a clipped together rather than a buckle. With the buckle it is hard to know if you are putting it in the exact whole as you did the time before.
ConsWish the collar was a clipped together rather than a buckle. With the buckle it is hard to know if you are putting it in the exact whole as you did the time before.
By Greg
Oregon
Thrilled
August 21, 2021
The Garmin training collar is fabulous! Results achieved in 30 minutes. Smart dog and an easy to use product made my life easier. Getting a collar for the second pup as well. No need to shock, he obeys now with only the warning beep. We received it within 6 days! Thanks Gun Dog!
ProsEasy to use Durable Rechargeable Effective
By John
Illinois
One of the best
August 4, 2021
When I first picked up the Garmin Sport PRO I was skeptical. I had ordered it for one of my dogs whose old Dogtra ARC unit had broken. Coming from electronic collars that have 100 levels or more I was concerned that I had chosen a collar that was way too hot for most purposes. However, I still purchased it, set it up, and began to use it with my dog. I could not have been more wrong. The consistency of stim, the ease of use, and the superior design of this collar has made operating it and communicating with my dog a breeze. Before I would struggle to keep the level of the remote collar at a level that my dog could feel it—especially while she was in drive. This is not an issue with the PRO. She normally works on a 1 and only has ever went up to a 3 whilst in drive. I couldn’t be happier with this collar and will probably only order it from now on. Thanks Gun Dog Supply for allowing me to make an informed and quality purchase.
ProsGreat design Consistency stim Great battery
ConsCould've been a brighter color. The dark green makes it easy to misplace
By Sheri
Western NC
Quality Products & Great Customer Service
August 3, 2021
Garmin has a reputation for making quality products that are widely available so the decision to purchase from Gun Dog Supply is more about ease of ordering, return policy, quick shipping and price. GDS delivers on all those marks. There order confirmation process and shipping notifications truly feel like they are a small business that customer service is an important part of their business model.
ProsQuality Products Price Competitive In-Stock Quick Shipping Order Tracking/Notification
ConsNone
By Alex P.
mi
Nice features and works well in the field
July 29, 2021
Good system simple but effective
Proseasy to use good instructions on how to use Lots of great features Multiple dog capability good range in the field
ConsLack GPS but that would cost much more
By Del
Bossier City Louisiana
Best Ecollar
July 23, 2021
My Brittany responds very quickly, setting is at 3 only, he mostly responds to tone or vibrate. It lasts for at least days (8 hours) in between charges… I’ve owned several others, but this Garmin Sport Pro is the best at the price. Gun dog supply is the best and fastest delivery of products.
By Scott
North Carolina
Fantastic
July 8, 2021
I am extremely happy with my purchase. Super easy operation and absolutely no confusion with the toggle selector switch when working with my two dogs. I only with I hadn't waisted my time and money (a lot of) on other controllers.
ProsWorks better than described
ConsStill looking
By Jack C.
Eagle River, WI
OK
July 8, 2021
Would have liked a little more info on how to use...toggle switch, collar/leash configuration, vibrate, tone, shock differences, tips, etc. Otherwise, figured most out with trial and error.
ProsWell built
ConsSee above
By Dominique K.
Channahon, Illinois
BEST ECOLLAR ON THE MARKET!!!
July 8, 2021
I train dogs and this is my favorite ecollar to use and to recommend. It has the state of the art built in barklimiter, a super bright night light and the easiest remote to operate. I work with aggressive dogs, dogs with high anxiety, dogs that don’t come when called and dogs that run. THIS is the BEST collar for the families I help. It’s RELIABLE AND EASY! Don’t worry about the price- this collar is 3 in 1!
ProsEasy to operate Waterproof Built in barklimiter Works 5 football fields away
By Charles
TX
Good dog training aid
July 7, 2021
This product functions as advertised. It is a valuable tool for training your dog.
By Mike
Virginia
GDS and the Garmin Tri Tronics Sport Pro
July 7, 2021
Not being known as one for many words this will be a short review. The Garmin Sport Pro is as advertised. It is an excellent collar when used properly. I have personally trained my own retrieving dogs for water-fowling since the mid-90s and didn’t start to use an e-collar until 2010. I’m certainly not a professional trainer and use the collar only as needed, but I will say it works exactly for it’s intended purpose when needed. I bought this collar after watching the product video Steve so kindly took the time to make. Which brings me to purpose for this review. Gun Dog Supply, in my opinion is a first class store with first a class product line for near any type of dog training or dog care. There is a wealth of information on this website that will help novice and pro trainers alike make informed decisions on products they wish to purchase. I highly recommend this establishment to anyone who needs training supplies over other well known e-commerce sites. Steve, is clearly I pro and I personally appreciate his no BS product overviews. Oh and one last thing…. I have a runner who likes to visit the neighbors. At night he’ll take off through the woods hit the road and you’d never know he’s gone. The lights on this collar lets me see him making off through the woods. A simple tap of the vibe button on this collar turned him around so I didn’t have to spend half the night looking for him. That means extra sleep and thats priceless.
ProsCollar lights, multi collar ability.
ConsNot sure I care much for the tandem rig used for charging the transmitter and collar. It works just seems a bit messy.
By JEFF B.
CA
QUALITY PRODUCT
July 7, 2021
I have tried the cheap brands thinking there all about the same, do the same thing, I was wrong and that is not easy to say (lol). The quality build, robust design, ease of charging and above all, the results. Game changer for me . My only regret is My wife will only let me have one dog. Get this product you will be glad you did.
By Tom
Cedar City, UT
Easy to use and it works
June 28, 2021
Bought this one for my headstrong Lab puppy after talking to a friend with a similar situation. The instructions are clear and the individual buttons for types of stimulation are easy to manipulate even without looking. The rotary dial for stimulation level works well and changes smoothly. Maybe too smooth and easy? I'm finding that it the level changes sometimes when carry it in my pants pocket. Surprised the pup once but now know to check the setting. when it comes out of the pocket. It doesn't happen on a lanyard. It worked like I hoped it would and after a few weeks the pup responds well to the Tone and Vibrate keys for basic commands. Highly recommend this unit.
ProsSimple user interface It works
ConsAlmost too easy to change the level. Maybe a little more friction on the level wheel?
By Phillip
Rock Hill, SC
Game Changer
June 23, 2021
As a first time owner of a German Shorthaired Pointer, I was struggling to know how to get to the next level of training. With this collar, we have made tremendous progress with not only off the leash obedience, but general listening and awareness.
By Erica
Fort Worth, Texas
Safe, effective and easy to use!
June 11, 2021
This system came highly recommended by our dog trainer. It is very easy to use and our dog has become so much more well-behaved.
By Mike
Pittsburgh, PA
Great Product
June 9, 2021
Great product, like the fact it has 3 options, tone , vibrate and stimulation. In training my new puppy, vibration is as far as I need to go.
Pros3 options, excellent DVD, complimentary 15 foot leash
By Linsey
Massachusetts
It works amazing!
June 2, 2021
My dog is a hound/terrier mix (I know help me). I wanted to be able to let him run free in fields but learn to stay in eye sight. He would just shake off standard shock collars on tone, vibration and shock! I looked into hunting collars as he could be used for hunting and wow I saw such a huge difference. Even on vibe, he coming back when called. I highly recommend getting the DVD as well as it has influenced the way I train with the collar so much, in a good way of course! My boy can sometimes have the deep hound howl or the high pitch cry of a terrier. The bark limiter on the collar works to help keep the noise to minimum because I do allow my dogs to bark and cry a little bit as they are dogs and that is how they can communicate with us.
By Jamzm
Western PA
Works great
June 1, 2021
This unit is easy to learn and operate. Many times, you can skip the electrical zap and using the tone or vibration features. Made a big difference in the way our possessed aussiedoodle behaves during a walk. At times, the devil dog ignores the tone and/or vibration and does his own thing. That's when you try the zapper. Luckily, the amplitude of the signals can be adjusted. And there is always some level of amplitude that gets his/her attention. You just need to be sure and put the collar unit on snugly. There are many devices like this on the market, but the ones I've seen just don't have all the features or don't work as well. The quality and durable appearance gives you confidence that if you follow use and care of the device, you really can't go wrong.
ProsVery effective Quality construction Easy to get familiar with the operation Available one cent video to learn the basics
ConsSome getting used to is expected Not sure about the effects of water on the collar or control unit You would think that the collar needs to be water tight Don't let the attached image fool you. He's a wild animal who is now mostly controllable.
By Anne
Pendleton,Oregon
Excellent training tool
May 29, 2021
Our dog was a runner and wouldn’t listen outside of our yard. This collar has been awesome. In 2 days our dog was behaving! We only need to use the vibrate button now. The Garmin Sport Pro is easy to use and we are very happy that our dog obeys. We can now travel with him and feel confident that he won’t run away.
ProsEasy to use!
By Adam
Cedarville, Ohio
Great product and price.
May 26, 2021
This is my first training collar. After a much research I decided to purchase this one and was not disappointed.
ProsTone and vibrate buttons
ConsNone yet
By Lea A.
Webbers Falls, Oklahoma
Great, easy to use e-collar
May 22, 2021
This e-collar is easy to use and I love the fact that I don’t have to choose tone OR vibration like lots of other models. Both are accessible from the remote. The remote is the perfect size, not too bulky or too heavy.
ProsVibration and tone both accessible Long range Perfectly sized remote Light on collar so easy to see my dog at night Long battery life....used for 2 weeks, everyday training sessions for one dog and haven't charged it yet.
By Craig
Platte City, MO
Works perfectly for my two dogs.
May 22, 2021
Good range, audible beep can be heard easily, if you can't see your dog. Headlights on the collar is very nice to have at night. Especially when you live in the country!
By Sheila H.
Meeteetse, WY
Works as it should
May 20, 2021
I've not used it a lot yet as the weather has been very wet and thunder-y, but when I did, it worked better than any other I have purchased and my 100 pound not-a-year-old-yet Mastweiller responded well to it.
ProsDoesn't take much to get results.
ConsDon't have any yet.
By John
Cheney, WA
Garmin Tri-Tronics Sport Pro E-Collar
May 20, 2021
I have had it a couple of weeks and haven't used it much. I'm going slow in training my black Lab puppy. I have had the exact same device for our 11 year old black Lab, and it has worked great!
By Brenda G.
7266 Goodwood Ave Baton Rouge La 70806
Excellent collar
May 16, 2021
The Garmin is excellent. Only issue is an explanation on the toggle switch positions and more details in the instructions manual on the different options. Discussed the operations with a technician it was very positive.
ProsVarious options are nice
ConsMore detailed instructions with accompanying photos
By Tim
Coeur D Alene, ID
The perfect training collar system for the techno challenged.
May 8, 2021
I wanted a training collar without all the bells and whistles that I could control without constantly having to fumble for multiple controls and look at a screen. The Pro Sport hits the mark. I have no problem controlling the unit with one hand while maintaining visual contact with my dog. I was initially concerned that ten levels of stimulation may not provide an acceptable level of gradation. That has not been an issue for my dog. The tone feature has worked great for controlling how far my dog ranges out from me. I can't speak to long term durability but my initial impression is quite favorable.
ProsLight weight, compact and easy to use. The running lights are a nice touch.
ConsNone so far.
By GLEN C.
NOWTHEN MN
GARMIN SPORT PRO
May 3, 2021
WORKS GREAT. KINDA WISH IT HAD A LED ON THE REMOTE TO TELL WHEN ITS ON OR OFF. THE LED LIGHTS NEED TO BE ON THE BACK SIDE OF THE COLLAR RECIEVER FACING FORWARD. MY DOGS FUR IS TO LONG AND IF THEY ARE UP OR DOWN THEY DON'T SHINE ON THE GROUND. BUT AT LEAST I CAN SEE WHERE HE IS AT IN THE DARK.
By Amy G.
Lakeside in Colorado
Such a great feeling
April 25, 2021
Well i got another gundog, not to hunt but because I love the personality and intelligence of these dogs. Jasper is 8 months old and knows most commands and is training well but as the spring comes and the ducks and geese on our lake show up we have been having a issue with running away. I understand his drive, but I am nervous about not having him in eyeshot. The Garmin collar has been a great addition to training and he seems to understand what i want from him. Our walk by the lake on Saturday was amazing. He stopped when he got on point and felt my gentle zap and command “come.” I really had a hard time going to a training collar but it was a great decision. The ease of use with the buttons and quick change in levels in one hand was very well designed. I would recommend this to anyone, it is not a punishment collar, it is a training tool. Thank you Garmin, you made a winner. Steve made it a good price, great video and website info.
ProsEase of use, waterproof and floats
ConsNone yet.
By Sam
Kansas
Excellent Product
April 24, 2021
This is a great training tool for dogs. My dog is very responsive to it. Only have to beep her now and she lays down.
By Mike
Fruita Colorado
2 dog garmin collar
April 21, 2021
Both collars are light weight and we'll made. Easy to select the different collar to activate and the options of sound and shock levels are more than enough to be effective . Great training tool
ProsMany intensity levels, easy to handle, easy to read
ConsToo soon to say- will have to see how long the batteries stay charged
By Andy
North Dakota
Garmin Pro Sport
April 20, 2021
Bought this unit to replace an older version of the Tri-tronics. Gun Dog Supply has great information for anyone looking for a training collar from many of the major companies. They so have great pricing and speedy delivery. I would and have recommended Gun Dog Supply and the Sport Pro to several people since my purchase.
By Steve
Pittsburgh
Good product
April 17, 2021
Love the 3 dog capabilities, The shock and tone work well. The vibration alert is on weak side. Most of the dogs do not even notice. Older Dogtra collar was much better. Rarely had to shock ,only vibrate with Dogtra. This coller is good but not great. A good concept but Might be better suited for smaller dogs.
Pros3 dog capability, size and one hand operation
ConsWeak overall on power and vibration. Charging cords need simplified.
By DR
Omaha, Nebraska
Just Right
April 15, 2021
Used for Springer in training. Easy to set up and easy to use. I just ordered additional collars so I can use same control on several dogs...perfect.
By Mike
WV
Works great
April 14, 2021
Before the e-collar our puppy was training well and then at 9 months he developed his own will :-) We had to stop our off leash walks through the woods and letting him run free on the farm. Deer carcasses and other distractions were more commanding of his attention than our calls. The collar training has gone well and given him the ability to run free off leash. The included training video is very good.
Prosreliable, great range, versatile strength of correction, several correction options with tones/vibration/shock
Consremote is just-a-touch large for pockets and small hands. If I didn't need the range I would have considered one with a smaller remote
By Allan
ga
great and easy to use training tool
April 14, 2021
Even better than promised. Easy to use and very effective. The folks at gun dog supply are super to work with.
Proscompact size and design of handheld. light weight units and secure collars for the dogs.
Consnone
By Karem
Richmond, VA
Great training tool
April 14, 2021
Extremely pleased with this purchase!! Item was delivered very fast! Highly recommend!
ProsIf following the technique it is a very clear training device.
ConsCould be used recklessly so proper training for handler is highly recommended
By Jacob
Massachusetts
Great product and customer service
April 13, 2021
The collar is very responsive and intuitive. It has some nice safety features, for example when it is locked it must cycle through 2 clicks before it gets to the lowest level of stimulation, and then it has a length limit-- no accidental queueing to worry about. The buttons are intuitive and and the auxiliary functions for lights and "barklimiter" is a nice bonus. As always Gun Dog Supply has great service, the folks are kind and helpful and it arrived very promptly, even in this era of delayed covid shipping.
By Noah
North Carolina
Well built, easy to use
April 13, 2021
The collar and dog device are very sturdy and waterproof as advertised. They are fully charged in 2hrs and I’m going on two weeks without charging but I don’t use the bark limiter function.
ProsQuality, easy to use
ConsCharger is multiple pieces
By Nick
South Jersey
Great Product Great Company
April 10, 2021
Collars came quickly and in nice packaging. All the info to set them up and charge them was there.
Pros3/4 mile range Works well in wooded area(live in woods) Flashlight on collars is a great bonus Easy to swap from collar to collar Battery life is long, I've gotten 5 days before it flashes yellow
ConsDidn't buy these collars earlier
By MjHeydel
Michigan
Nice unit
April 9, 2021
Very easy to use! Big buttons that make since. Well built and water proof. Its great for my field dogs and they respond well. It has a bit more juice then my old one which my dog learned to ignore. I would never sagest putting this one on #10 power. I tried #10 while holding it in my hand. Lets just say I'm glad I don't have a pacemaker. Because it put me (6'2" 340lbs Man) on my knees!! Unlike my old brand the buttons don't get stuck and there are four different buttons for 4 different transmissions. Plus a clear power wheel. So you can see easily which power setting you are on. The only draw back I found is the it did not come with a lanyard. So be careful not to loose it in the field.
ProsLarge easy to read and use buttons. Water proof. 10 power settings. and 10 means STOP!!! Well built. well worth the money. I think this one will last a long time.
ConsNo lanyard.
By Jeb
Alabama
A great product
April 9, 2021
This product has great features for training your dog. I bought the collar for a barking dog. My wife said curb the bark or lose the dog. It worked perfectly. Highly recommend.
ProsCompact. Powerful. Differing levels of stimulation.
ConsNone
By BRENDA
Northern MI
Best collar out there
April 8, 2021
I have had many collars and this one is the best . I have 2 Brittany's and I like the tone button and the ease of use to click the lever up and down to switch dogs and no led screen. We have only had to use the tone button and the dogs come back immediately. My dog was at a fast and determined run and I hit the tone , he stopped and came right to me. Best collar ever worth the money!!
ProsOne thumb click to use between two dogs I like having a tone and vibrate I like the light so at night I can see my dogs Easy to use not complicated
ConsNone yet
By Justin L.
Gray, Georgia
Garmin sport pro
April 6, 2021
As a dog trainer I recommend this system to each client. It’s an easy to use system and doesn’t break the bank.
ProsEasy to use and garmin provides a great product.
ConsDoesn't provide the low, medium, and high nick options as the more complex models.
By Kristine
Oregon
Garmin sport pro
April 6, 2021
Love it!
By Peter
New Hampshire
Excellent Collar, Excellent Company
April 1, 2021
We've had a series of training collars for our various dogs and all have been found wanting, for reasons varying from reliability to effectiveness. After a good deal of research, we settled on the Garmin SPORT PRO offered by Gun Dog Supply. GDS is a first class company and has a very helpful and easy to navigate website. Ordering was quick and easy; delivery was prompt. The SPORT PRO is perfect for our high drive German Shepherd. All in all, oustanding service and product.
ProsHigh quality Intuitive layout and controls Rugged Good battery life Works!
ConsNone identified thus far

Page 1 of 9
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2021, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number: