Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+

You are here:  > 

Review Summary
4.7
121 Reviews
5
80% (97)
4
15% (18)
3
4% (5)
2
1% (1)
1
0% (0)
98% Recommend this product (119 of 121 responses)
By Kirstie
Oregon
Love it!
June 28, 2023
We owned a similar version to this many years ago and are thrilled that it now includes bark control. That feature works great. We also own the Garmin Alpha 100 for when we are out in the field but needed something better suited for just at home. THRILLED with the Garmin products
Pros
  • Includes bark control and is easy to use
Cons
  • So far, there are no cons that we have found
By Greg
Canton OH USA
Tri-tronics Pro 70
February 23, 2023
Been using Gun Dog Supply for years and always get the same results, Great service, Quality products and good advice. My old Tri-tronics 90 needed a new battery and since Garmin bought out Tri-tronics they are no longer available. So far, this unit works just as well as the old one and the collar is smaller. Happy and will continue shopping with them.
By Jim
Canton, Ohio
Happy now!
February 22, 2023
I purchased the less expensive collar and was not happy with it. The quality was not there. After talking to these guys for a while, they recommended the better unit and it is night and day difference.Much better quality, distance, reliability, and now a controllable dog. The exchange was easy with Gundog Supply. Quick and simple. I will never buy another unit from anyone else!!
Pros
  • Excellent quality, a feature I never thought I would use, a light for nighttime, tone only for corrective action, much better quality charging ports, easy to use. It fits your hands perfectly and is easy to use from the box.
Cons
  • I haven
By Wendy C.
Gardnerville NV
Garmin 6 dog
February 22, 2023
Excellent product!
Pros
  • Easy to use
Cons
  • Wish it had vibration too
By Cindy G.
Aurora Oregon
Great Collars
January 24, 2023
I have an older version of this collar but bought a new one because the older one quit working. The new one marries quicker and is more consistent with correction. The charging clip is better designed. I like the light option. I can see the dogs at night and what they are doing. I really like that I can check the collar is receiving and operating, visually. Older versions worked about 50% of the time and had. inconsistent charging. These new collars work beautifully, designed great, electronics work excellent
By Andrew L.
California
Best E-Collar
January 23, 2023
Battery last longer, love the bark limiting feature and the lights!
Pros
  • Controller is more comfortable in the hand.
  • Led lights
  • bark limiter
  • Battery last longer the other brands.
Cons
  • none
By Jack
Central California
Same good old reliable collar
January 20, 2023
Has the reliability and dependability of the old tritronics but with more features and a much better price.
By Travis W.
Tennessee
Best shock collar set I ever had
January 7, 2023
Never knew how good this collar set was my only regret is that I should have bought sooner!
Pros
  • Works very well
Cons
  • Wish I could charge all 3 collars and remote from one power cord!
By Debbie
Northern New Hampshire
3 border collies can run free again!
October 20, 2022
We have 46 acres full of bear, coyotes and porcupines. After a vet visit to remove quills because my dogs would not recall off of a porcupine, they are now running free again on their daily walks with me!
Pros
  • Easy to use for multiple dogs
Cons
  • Collar batteries don't last long if they are left in the on mode.
By Mays R.
Richmond,Virginia
Wish I had purchased earlier
June 29, 2022
This is the best training device on the market. I had purchased others and returned all of them due to be ineffective. Thank you for this creation.
By richard l.
giles county va.
pro 70
March 4, 2022
Got it in alot quicker than I imagined
By Sam
San Antonio
Works much better than I had expected.
February 24, 2022
I now have much better control of both my dogs at a greater distance than I did with my older system, and I love the light on the collars.
By DNA D.
Riverside,Ca
Absolutely love it!
February 10, 2022
This collars system is easy to work with and you don’t have to switch to all the different modes that the other collars have. I use this on a daily basis when working with my training dogs. I originally only got 3 collars but now I’m waiting for the the 3 colors to come in. So I will have a ll 6 collars for this hand held devise.
Pros
  • Great stimulation variations
  • Bark settings
  • Night light
  • Tone
Cons
  • None
By DONNA
Mineral Wells
Great product!
February 3, 2022
I’m so glad we ordered the Pro 70 collar for Charlie. A neighbor of ours had it and really liked it. Charlie responded to it immediately. When I call him to get it on in the morning he try runs with his tail wagging! Great product and it arrived right on time!
Pros
  • Easy to use.
  • Strong, durable materials.
  • Does exactly what they advertise.
  • Quality product!
Cons
  • Haven't found any yet.
By John
Duluth, mn
Garmin Pro 70 Review
January 14, 2022
I bought my first “Garmin” e-collar, a Pro 70 about 2 years ago from Gun Dog Supply! My Tri Tronics collars were becoming unreliable. (I believe Garmin made sure there was no service available for them.) My biggest complaint with the “new” Pro 70 is the width of the collar itself!!! It is not sufficient to keep the collar from moving excessively and coming off the dog! So, there, if the collar comes off the dog in the field, good luck finding it! This is what these large corporations depend on, you can now buy another collar for $150…. Well, kiss my buttocks, after loosing the collars several times, I bought some 1” collars, cut the smaller collars off and had the 1” collars stitched onto the Garmin collar. This has solved the problem but why? Hasn’t Garmin solved it??? Engineered obsolescence? Or on in my case engineered loss??? The new features I do appreciate; the light & the tone are welcome additions!!! But, if you loose the collar in the field, what the hell good is it… Garmin, if ur reading? Go back to the reinforced 1” collar on the Pro series. Not sure I will buy another one of urs when this one is done. This review is by no means a negative review of GDS. They have always performed above and beyond their call of service. That’s why I’ve come back for prolly 40 years, the days of paper catalogs! Was all we had back then! Keep up the good service Gun Dog Supply!!!
Pros
  • Features; light, tone are welcome and fine additions to this e-collar. Love it at night when I need to air the dogs! Otherwise, the collar works as the old Tri Tronics comparable.
Cons
  • The width of the actual collar is insufficient to support the weight of the receiver. I've lost it in the field several times. The tried and true 1" Tri Tronics collars I have never lost. If you buy this collar, do yourself a favor and buy a reinforced 1" collar and have it stitched to the cheap collar that Garmin provides and engineered it for loss by a cobbler. Garmin's collar moves around too much and comes off in certain conditions. Go back to the 1" reinforced collar Garmin!
By Eric
Alabama
Great product....
November 29, 2021
Great product and service from gundog supply. Fast shipping even with the out of stock issues everybody been having.
By Eric
Central Wisconsin
Bark limiter
July 9, 2021
We live in a rural area with lots of wildlife roaming about. They usually set the dogs off at night which is what there supposed to do. However this keeps my wife up at night. Now she can sleep Thanks
Pros
  • Works like advertised
Cons
  • None
By William C.
New Jersey
Excellent
April 13, 2021
Appreciate the thoughtfulness of the design. Easy to switch modes. Elimination of momentary stim option streamlines the transmitter. Lights are an excellent feature. Four stars because of the larger size of this receiver - perhaps due to the bark eliminator and lights.
By Michelle
Wisconsin
Exactly what I was looking for
March 24, 2021
This product was what I was looking for to help train my 2 dogs. Easy to use.
By Sherrie A.
Kingdom City, MO
Garmin Pro 70 collar
March 20, 2021
I like the light you put on the collar. I do not like the thinner collar. I liked my old collar on my first Pro 70 collar. this one seems so small for my Doberman. The box (shocker) seems big on the small collar. It flopps around when I am trying to put the collar on my dog. I perfer the larger strap.
Pros
  • The addition of the light is nice, not as bright as the lights on the human head bands straps I was putting on her at night. But, nice there is some light output.
  • I do recommend your product every chance I get talking to dog owners.
By SANDRA C.
TN
great training equipment
February 17, 2021
my husband is a hunter and he loves having this system for training his dogs works great!
Cons
  • no issues
By Dan
Kansas
Use of Tone mode difficult
January 20, 2021
I use the Tone mode to get my dog's attention, correcting a behavior without shocking. This system requires you to turn a knob, which also controls the stimulation levels, to select Tone mode. It seems a small thing but I use Tone more than shock mode. For the dog's safety, I feel you should always have it on shock mode to stop dangerous behavior, like running across a road or going after a porcupine. This requires you to constantly twist the control knob, which takes your eyes off of the dog and requires two hands to make the change while juggling your shotgun. Thanks to Steve's 30 day no questions asked return policy, I am sending this system back.
Pros
  • The collars are light weight and straps narrow enough to prevent crowding with a regular collar on the dogs neck. The system works well and range is as advertised
Cons
  • The free holster for the control unit has a strap over the top that covers the tone and stimulation level dial making it difficult to select "T" . As noted in my review, use of the T mode is difficult, requiring two hands.
By Lori R.
PA
Great System!
December 21, 2020
This collar is great! Reached out a mile. Very good quality and stops bad habits
By Rlabs
Princeton, wisconsin
Garmin pro 70 5 dog wow!!!!
November 9, 2020
I have used the 2 and 3 dog pro 70 tritronics for over 20 years and have been extremely satisfied. I wanted 1 unit for all our dogs and purchased the garmin 5 dog unit. I am not disappointed. The unit is easy to set up and very compact. Dont let the size fool you it is full alot of great features.
Pros
  • The night light feature works great and allows you to see your dog from a good distance. The tone and stimulus helps make corrections and with our dogs only on the 1 or 2 settings. The transmitter is compact and easy to operate.
Cons
  • The holster top strap is to wide and interfers with the visability of the settings.
By Cathi M.
Warwick NY
Perfect recall every time.
September 23, 2020
This is my second Pro-70 system from Gun Dog Supply and I can’t say enough about their customer service! As a professional dog walker that does off leash hikes with large packs of dogs, these collars are essential in keeping my clients safe! Steve and the crew at Gun Dog Supply helped me select my first Garmin system 6 years ago and as my business has grown I’ve relied on them to help me expand. I’m currently at 8 collars and I’m planning on buying 2 more this month. Their training tools and speedy response to any questions has made it easy for me to focus on what’s important, the dogs! I recommend these collars to all my clients and I always tell them to go to the professionals at Gun Dog Supply to make their purchase.
Pros
  • Easy to use. Simple remote. Both collars and remote are waterproof. Fits a wide range of dogs.
Cons
  • Need to order color coded collars separately.
By Tim D.
Minnesota
updated collar
September 20, 2020
I have purchased many different training collars over the years but since I tried Garmin Tri-tronics collars this is the one I get. Purchased this one to replace an older Tri- tronics Classic Pro 70 just because, there was nothing wrong with the old one just new dog new collar. Will keep the old one for a spare as it still works fine.
Pros
  • Familiar with the buttons very easy to use. Can run multiple dogs off one controller if needed.
By David K.
Hardin, MO
Straight forward design
September 1, 2020
The design of this electronic collar allows you to react quickly in training and hunting situations without searching for buttons. Smaller, lighter collars are eaofor the dogs to carry over a long day or several long days.
Pros
  • Solid, reliable collar without unwanted extras.
Cons
  • I do like more stimulation settings.
By Terry H.
WA
Review for Garmin Tri-tronics PRO 70
October 18, 2018
Great product, never sorry when you buy the best. Just works and works.
By Rider P.
TX
Review for Garmin PRO 70 3-dog Combo
October 12, 2018
I really like the convenience of being able to carry the system on my horse and correct my dogs and never have to get down.
By Andy
Review for Garmin PRO 70 2-dog Combo
October 11, 2018
works like the claims & reaches out over 1/2 mile in Michigan swamp hunting snowshoes.
By Archie H.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-tronics PRO 70
October 11, 2018
It is what Steve say's it is in his video.
By Sean A.
CA
Review for Garmin PRO 70 3-dog Combo
October 10, 2018
By Ron
Review for Garmin Tri-tronics PRO 70
October 10, 2018
I like everything except the width of the collar.
By Sheila R.
MS
Review for Garmin PRO 70 4-dog Combo
October 20, 2016
PURCHASED FOR MY SON WHO DOES EVERY KIND OF HUNTING YOU CAN THINK OF IT SEEMS. HE HAS BEEN VERY HAPPY WITH HIS GARMIN PRO 70 COMBO. HAS EVEN MENTIONED PURCHASING A COUPLE MORE OF THE COLLARS. GREAT MERCHANDISE AT GREAT PRICE.
By DAVID R.
NY
Review for Garmin Tri-tronics PRO 70
September 24, 2016
I am still getting used to working with it and the dog. The charging cable with numerous hook ups is bizarre. I have yet to be convinced of it's effectiveness. Time will tell.
By Gregory M.
SD
Review for Garmin Tri-tronics PRO 70
September 12, 2016
Great product!
By Nathan B.
UT
Review for Garmin PRO 70 2-dog Combo
August 20, 2016
I love these collars! They are just what I have been looking for. Something that they should have is a button on the remote to activate the collars. Also it is a little bit overpriced.
By Shelia D.
NC
Review for Garmin PRO 70 3-dog Combo
August 12, 2016
I was afraid at first that the collars would not work like the old ones I have, but I was wrong. They work just as good. Thank you!
By Zachary W.
VA
Review for Garmin PRO 70 2-dog Combo
August 2, 2016
The tone button is loud and clear, and the light built in helps me be able to run my rabbit dogs after dark.
By Jen P.
Review for Garmin Tri-tronics PRO 70
June 10, 2016
I really love the light feature for when he is out at night, very bright! I haven't had to use the shock feature yet. The tone reminds him just fine to behave.
By William T.
RI
Review for Garmin Tri-tronics PRO 70
June 9, 2016
The collar works great but the bark collar doesn't seem to work at all. It says it is turned from the factory but the dog doesn't seemed affected by it. So unless I am doing something wrong that part of the collar is disappointing.
By Larry F.
CA
Review for Garmin PRO 70 3-dog Combo
May 19, 2016
This unit is just what I wanted. It allows me to get the dog's attention when a command is given. The number 1 setting is plenty of stimulation so far. For convenience of use, I would like to have a button above the dog collar selector toggle for the TONE mode.
By Chelsea C.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-tronics PRO 70
April 6, 2016
We have 7 dogs and have sent most of them to training. We were suggested this product due to its quality. I was hesitant at first due to the price, but you get what you pay for. Excellent quality. We own the Pro 70 and Pro 550. Liked it enough to buy another. With training and this collar system we can now allow them to run freely on our land without any problems.
By Phil M.
MT
Review for Garmin Tri-tronics PRO 70
April 3, 2016
Sweet tool for working your pup!
By Paul P.
MI
Review for Garmin PRO 70 3-dog Combo
March 23, 2016
Works much better than the little Garmin Delta, which was pretty much worthless. The Pro 70 has plenty of variation in levels of stimulation for my dogs, and is very effective with tone/shock both. It is very easy to use, and quite sturdy
By Bill D.
NH
Review for Garmin PRO 70 2-dog Combo
March 19, 2016
2 dog combo works as advertised, breaking in 6 month old presently with it. Older dog's collar trained.
By Gregory T.
AR
Review for Garmin Tri-tronics PRO 70
February 28, 2016
Good product! It works as it should.
By Kenneth H.
Review for Garmin PRO 70 2-dog Combo
February 17, 2016
The Pro-70 has been a success. It has helped correct bad habits and dogs hunting abilities.
By Daniel W.
MS
Review for Garmin Tri-tronics PRO 70
February 4, 2016
I love my garmin 70 and the collars.
By James B.
TN
Review for Garmin PRO 70 3-dog Combo
January 12, 2016
The 1 mile range is more like a 600 yard range in the hills and hollers of TN. Other than that, just as advertised and works great.

Page 1 of 3
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2024, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions