Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


Review Summary
4.8
234 Reviews
5
0% (0)
4
0% (0)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
99% Recommend this product (232 of 234 responses)
By Christopher
Watertown NY
Overall great product but could use a few tweaks
December 2, 2022
So far very happy and overall easy to use. Product registration on garmin express was difficult to do but since this isn’t a GPS device it is not necessary. The only major gripe I have is the small metal toggle switches. I live in a cold climate and have to wear heavy gloves while using this controller. The placement and design of the toggles get caught on my gloves and moved to different settings. This seems like a minor thing but it does have an impact upon cold weather use. This does not prevent me from using this and I would purchase again.
By Kathy
Central Wisconsin
Best training collar
November 28, 2022
This E collar is the best I have tried. My dog trainer recommends it for all the clinics. It has been both easy to use and very effective. There are many levels to choose from as well as the beep and the vibrate. The quality is far better than others!
ProsEase of use, quality
ConsWith smaller hands, i cannot use all the controls with one hand but that is not a major concern.
By Doc
Rural northwest Kansas
Excellent training tool
November 22, 2022
Really like this set-up for training our 6mo-old female Draaht. I know the "expert opinions" are mixed on using an e-collar for a dog her age, but she is a very smart and driven pup... and a family, indoor dog first day-in-day-out. With a 2yo toddler, having a good household canine "citizen" is a must. Tried to avoid a collar as long as possible with Tippet, but wish I would've listened to my inner-voice and got this on her sooner. Have used an older sportdog trainer on our 12yo wirehair for years, but the transmitter finally gave up the ghost this year. Had already made the investment into a tt15x / 200i system earlier this summer for hunting/camping with the two dogs (because anyone who's ever had a beloved family member and hunter wander off for a few hours knows how gut-wrenching it is), but using a tt15x in the house is OVERKILL. The 550 pro is perfect for daily use. Charge lasts a long time, light led function is surprisingly useful for morning/evening exercise as the days have gotten shorter, and the ergonomics of the remote are simple and highly functional - particularly for a two dog set-up . The bark-limiter functionality has also cut down on excessive crate-bark tremendously. I actually like the layout of the 550 pro so much that I'm considering phasing out the alpha 200i and picking up a 550 plus for primary use in the field with the tt15x. I would NEVER got back to my old sportdog now. Oh, and for what it's worth, the pup's house manners have improved tremendously. Saved a lot of spousal tension and my sanity.
By Michael
kansas
ALL THE FEATURES I WAS INTERESTED IN
October 6, 2022
Please use the training video that accompanies this product - you will be doing your puppy / companion a great service. this product has all the features i was looking for in an ecollar, the decision maker for me was the auto bark feature. the ability to have that reinforcement for the puppy while i am away or at work has made a great difference. my puppy has responded positively because i was able to correct my training behavior through the video training guide, a very useful product.
By Cindy E.
Mississippi
Garmin Pro 550
September 13, 2022
Love it, easy set-up and easy to understand the use. Love the holster
By Steve
Scottsdale, AZ
Perfect Training Tool
August 17, 2022
This is our second collar. We wore the old one out with two hunting dogs. We now have a Spinone Italiano hunting dog and we are using the new Garmin 550.
ProsEasy to use and the "beep" capability eventually becomes the signal. No shocking necessary. OK, sometimes.
ConsHmm. None
By MBJ
Excelsior, MN
The Best Could Use Some Improvement
July 5, 2022
Garmin got this one mostly right. They missed the mark on a few things, but for me, this is the best solution available. The things that should be changed, in order of priority. 1. The collar selection toggle needs to be a different switch type. It is currently exactly the same switch as the mode selector. EASILY confused. 2. Correction level increments are much too great from 2(barely perceivable) to 4(too hot to hold on to). 3. The charging port on the transmitter, with the rubber cover, needs to be redesigned. The charging connectors for the collars is excellent. Why not use the same style? The charging cable daisy-chain is a poor excuse for a proper system. Obviously done to control costs. 4. The antenna needs to be replaceable. 5. The Bark Limiter progressive correction algorithm needs to be the same as in the Sport Pro. I had to replace my Tri-Tronics Pro-100 2 dog system after 22 years because the Transmitter stopped working. It was a much higher quality unit(for its time) 6. The tone button's rubber boot is cheesy and I feel will fail in short order. This unit, like most other things designed today, has a much shorter expected service life than its pre-Garmin Tri-Tronics predecessor. They got most of it right and still the best unit available for the money.
ProsLong battery life Light-weight transmitter and collars Long range 2 button system for instant access to 3 stimulation levels. Reasonable price for the features
Cons6 listed in the review and comments.
By Sean R.
Montana
Garmin PRO 550 2-dog Combo
June 15, 2022
Excellent Product and the free video is extremely helpful for training too!
ProsGreat product, affordable, easy to use, has many options and has a more extended range than most e-collars.
ConsThe beep tone is a lower pitch and only a single beep instead of a higher pitch and two beeps like our old Tri Tronics G-2 Sport model we had with our last two French Brittany's.
By Hendrick E.
Monticello, Arkansas
Service
June 14, 2022
Thank you for the prompt delivery -I will do all of my business with you. Ed Hendrick
By Jonathan
Milwaukee WI
Control the uncontrollable!
May 17, 2022
I’ll start by saying that we don’t have hunting dogs, however we have a pair of high strung Dalmatians! We also have a yard full of rabbits. The dogs go nuts every time they eye up a rabbit and the collar helps us make corrections in an instant and from a distance. So fat ese have only needed to use the tone and buzz for 90% of corrections and handful of electric corrections. A note about Gun Dog Supply: I was impressed with the original order but what blew my socks off was when we needed a replacement part. One of the chargers stopped working for whatever reason one week after we got it. Without question we were sent a new charger and we are back in business. That’s level of service is so rare these days! So refreshing! Even if you don’t buy this exact collar, be sure to buy here. If you’re on the fence about what to buy, give them a call and someone will help you with a selection!
By Steve
Texas
great product I own 3
April 23, 2022
I recommend this System because of the versatility , when traveling for Field trials i usually feed and air early AM and use the light option, the finger tip controls and levels are great. If you have working dogs and need a long range , good in the water training system.....look at this one!
ProsVersatile
Consnone that i know of
By Greg
Tennessee
Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550 E Collar
April 8, 2022
For me its the best training collar hands down because you can immediately change the intensity from the transmitter without needing to look down, move your hand, and turn a dial. Instead you just use the two buttons at your finger tips. I also like the bark collar mode and the light you can turn in the collar. I live on 20 acres in the country and with the light on you can easily see where your dog is in the dark.
ProsReliability and ease of use. i've used this unit for years trouble free and just bought a new unit for my son who is now training his own dog.
Consnone
By Tim
Ohio
AWESOME SERVICE FROM GUN DOG SUPPLY AND AWESOME PRODUCT FROM GARMIN
March 22, 2022
My GARMIN Pro 550 arrived very quickly and it is an AWESOME training collar. I will definitely order from Gun Dog Supply again. Great service.
By Duff
Birmingham Alabama
Amateur trainer using Pro 550
March 11, 2022
Very effective training collar. I rarely need to go above 3 to get focus.
ProsPlenty of power and battery life. Buttons are easy to use.
ConsThe audible volume is for dog only, I was hoping it would be loud enough to locate dog in heavy cover. The power/vibrate controls are not convenient for switching during training.
By Susan
ND
Perfect
February 3, 2022
For training the dog, the 550 pro is perfect. It is direct, and easy to go up and down on the stim dial as needed. No need to wait for a gps signal, we love the bark limiter option, and when out hunting, this model accepts a beeper.
ProsVery user friendly
ConsNone
By Thomas
Beach City, tx
So far so good
February 2, 2022
Haven’t had this system for long but so far I like it for training. I don’t use it when I’m guiding hunts because the controller is too big. I use the Pro Sport for that. I have trained several dogs with the pro sport but this one seems to have much more and better stimulation. Again I haven’t had it very long so don’t know how it will hold up for the long term but if it’s anything like the Pro Sport then it will be good for years.
ProsMany levels of stimulation
ConsController is too big to use while hunting, for me
By Eric S.
Oakdale, MN
Great training collar
February 2, 2022
I love the Garmin Pro 550. All the options I need. I like that I can simply use the audible beep to get my dog’s attention without shocking or buzzing him. I don’t use the bark limiter feature. Tried it once and it ramped up too fast and gave my dog way too much stimulation and scared him more than made him stop barking. I only replaced my last 550 because we lost the handheld. Now I have two collars which I can use simultaneously with a single handset. I also love the running light
ProsAudible beep option Running light
ConsHard to find in stock
By Todd O.
Buffalo Minnesota
Garmin Pro 550
February 2, 2022
Very nice unit. Easy to use. Battery life is very good.
ProsBattery life User friendly
Cons3/4? collar, you have to have it pretty tight. Switches are hard to flip with gloves on.
By Pup m.
Ohio
Helps our boys listen
February 2, 2022
We have used these collars on all our pups. The beep reminds them of what they are supposed to be doing Very good product. It is really nice because you can beep and not punish the behavior unless more re-enforcement is needed . Charges quick and batteries lasts a could days.
ProsCan use on low shock or vibrate Works on up to three dogs Light on collar helps to see where the dogs are in the dark
By Dustin D.
MN
Best ecollar around!
December 12, 2021
I use this ecollar every day. And I can’t say enough positive things about this ecollar. Very simple to use. The ecollar is also very sturdy, tough, and dependable!
ProsVery simple to use! Very sturdy! Built tough! Very dependable! Charges quick!
ConsNone!
By James T.
Winnemucca Nevada
Great Update from my field 90
October 5, 2021
The new collar and receiver smaller sizes are better than my old field 90. The transmitter with the 3 levels per no. setting is so convenient when running two dogs just change the toggle for the collar same as my old field 90. Was easy to adapt to the new features on the pro 550.
Proseasy operation
Consnone
By Richard
Vernal, Utah
Very happy with the Pro 550
September 28, 2021
I have had several weeks to evaluate this training collar. It has many options and allows me to quickly adjust to what is needed for my dog. I can control my dog from extended distances which I am very happy about. One thing to be aware of. We were sorting cows and my dog was tied up about 50 yards away and was barking. I went and switched it to the shock collar and I heard him Yelp a few times which indicated to me that the collar was working. Every now and again I would hear him yelp and assumed he tried to bark. After we finished and we were sitting and resting next to the dog and he yelped and had not barked. I realized at that moment that every time someone slammed one of the metal gates shut the collar interpreted it as a dog bark and delivered a shock. I quickly turned the collar off to prevent him from additional unwarranted shocks. The collar and the controller hold a good charge for extended use. Yes I am very happy.
ProsControl options Extended battery life Distance of use
ConsShock collar misinterprets loud background noises as a bark.
By S G.
New kent va
Quick shipping and good customer service
September 25, 2021
Very pleased with my product but the most important thing that stood out to me was the customer service I had a question about putting the colar together And I called and got to talk to a real person answered my question right away I will definitely be doing business again thanks for having such a nice company
By Wayne
Ft Worth, TX
Garmin Pro 550
September 22, 2021
I am very pleased with the Pro 550. It has performed flawlessly. I was apprehensive about thee 3/4 wide collar strap but after a few days use I have decided I like it. A great ecollar system.
By Newby
Jamaica, Va.
An improved version of my old Tri Tronics collar
September 15, 2021
My old collar quit working after about 15 + Years so I bought this one. Very similar in the old collar i found it extremely easy to learn. Would definitely recommend it if you’re a serious dog trainer.
ProsCharging is much easier. Good long range. Ruggedly built and doesn't look or feel like a toy.
ConsGreen light on the collar is a little bright.
By Theresa
East Tennessee
Great product
July 13, 2021
Bought this for our two German Shorthaired Pointers. The controller is very easy to use, collars work well even after the dogs playing in the mud. Customer service before the sale was awesome! Will be using Gun Dog Supply again.
By Greg
Beaver Dam, WI
Garmin 550 strap
June 4, 2021
The only problem I have with the Garmin is the strap that it comes with. It is only a single buckle and roller. I have actually had the collar come open and fall off. I did order a new strap with a double buckle but I would like to see this standard with the original strap instead of paying extra. Customer service was very helpful.
ProsNice equipment
ConsStrap
By Mary
Phoenix, AZ
Garmin Tri-Tronics Pro 550 works as advertised
June 2, 2021
I worked with my dog trainer on the set-up and use of this product - it works and is simple to operate. I have 8 month old Weimaraner, who is a big strong girl and plan on using her later this year for bird hunting in AZ. This product assists me in keeping communication with her. I recommend this product.
ProsEasy to use Simple to set up Enjoyed the DVD
ConsDon't have any at this time
By Randall N.
Suburb Chicago
Ease of use
May 19, 2021
I was looking for an e-collar that that would be easy to use and help with multiple situation. This collar works as a hard core training tool but, has two nice features of being a bark collar and beacon light when I take dog out in early morning or late evening walks. Totally happy with it and the 400 dollar investment was worth it since these units are built like a tank.
ProsWaterproof Bark collar Beacon light Able to add on beeper collar
ConsCost
By Mary
RI
Not happy with this Tritonics/Garmin 550
April 8, 2021
So I had the old Tritonics that I bought a good 10 years ago. Still works but thought with a new pup I should invest in a new one. Tritonics was bought out by Garmin I believe as this was probably 2yrs ago. I could barely feel anything until I got to a 3. Didn’t think this would be a problem but this new dog needs a higher level than my less “drivey ” dog did. So I am already using a 5 medium at times so don’t have much farther to go. Today I found that for some reason on a 4 low she yelped, which she never does. I always check it on me before placing it on her and it had been ok. A friend told me that she and many in her training group have complained of inconsistencies with the stimulation levels but this is a first for me. So this is why I do not recommend this e-collar.
ConsInconsistent stimulation level. No real stimulation until I get to a 3 and that is barely perceptible.
By Monica M.
Renton, Washington
Garmin tri-tropics pro 550
April 1, 2021
I like it but i wish they had better instruction about all the buttons and how to use them and i wish the collar was a little better made and not so thin
Merchant Response:Monica, Just give us a call at 1-800-624-6378 and one of our Product Specialists will be happy to answer any questions you have about operating the Pro 550. Thanks, Ben
By Steve
Williamsburg, VA
Great for our Hound Siblings
March 18, 2021
This has proven an indispensable item for the shaping and training of our two sibling Redbones. The primary reason for purchasing this was the additional bark collar function. The male had real separation/jealousy/control issues whenever his sister went somewhere and he was left in the crate. The bark control feature of this collar pretty much put a stop to that in less than 2-3 minutes. My son and I were astonished. This was a dog that muscled through 4 straight hours of barking without missing a beat. He still challenges the collar sometimes but not with any vigor. The training mode is just as great. Both of my dogs are "soft" and respond 90% of the time on the "2" dial setting (either low, medium, or high). I love turning on the headlights when we take them for a walk at night - great added safety feature to help vehicles see the dogs.
Prosup to 3 dogs bark control function long battery use range lighting function
Constoggling between dogs is not as "easy" as other systems No way to clip transmitter to belt/waist even with holster, you have to carry it or sling transmitter around your shoulders or neck transmitter is a bit cumbersome but you get used to it over time
By Steve
Washington
Great collar
March 17, 2021
So much better than my old one love this thing
ProsLight weight Head light Good range
ConsLittle higher price
By Barry
Salt Lake City, UT
A Great Easy To Use System
January 10, 2021
This is a upgrade from a 20 year old system and I could’t be more pleased. Very easy to use and versatile. I’m using it in conjunction with my whistle for reinforcement.
ProsEasy to use and carry. Fits my dog perfectly. Long battery life.
ConsNot any I have found.
By Curt H.
CA
Could Not Be More Please With The Garmin Tri-Tronics Pro 550 & Gun Dog Supply & Steve Snell
January 8, 2021
I've owned Tri-Tronics e-collars starting back in 2006 training English Pointers. I found the Tri-Tronics e-collars to be reliable and easy to use. Since I have a new pup Pointer that is at the right age to introduce the e-collar, it was time to upgrade my equipment and I reached out to Gun Dog Supply and Steve Snell. We had a nice conversation about the dog breed and my personal experiences with prior Tri-Tronics e-collars and their evolution. Steve made a couple of recommendations with my needs in mind. I selected the Garmin Tri-Tronics Pro 550 which I've found to be a truely new and improved model from my first Tri-Tronics e-collars. The Pro 550 has a number of features that are game changers in functionality. The Pro 550 continues to be very easy to control in a field environment. I have been using the Pro 550 now with the new pup for 3 weeks and have been making great progress. I could not be more pleased. Thank You Gun Dog Supply & Thank You Steve Snell
By Robert
Kalamazoo,Michigan
Pro 550
November 14, 2020
Replaced and older Tri tropics unit love the unit and the light feature is great let the dogs out in the dark and you know where they are
By Alex S.
RI
Great training collar
October 12, 2020
We have two 6 month old english setters and a 3 year old lab/grehound mix. All are very active and the collar has been working out great! I little hard to set up but once we got the hang of it, it was fine. Not we do not have to shock only beep and they are listening very well!
By Joe
Midlothian, Va
Garmin Tri-Tronics Pro 550 Review
October 1, 2020
It is a pleasure to write a review for Gun Dog Supply. I have bought several items from Gun Dog Supply. I have found their company and personnel very helpful when I have called them to help make a purchasing decision or to change a purchase. I have had several tri-tronic collars over the years. We got our new pup Kota, back in March. He was a planned purchase not a Covid dog to replace another Labrador that had passed earlier in the year. Years ago, I was an avid waterfowl hunter and had always relied on Tri-Tronics. For me and my family a finished dog in the house is a trained dog. My old Tri-Tronic collar unit had a closed battery which is no longer replaceable. I talked to a friend who runs trials and hunt tests and he suggested I talk with Gun Dog and to look at the 550. So far we have not been disappointed. Kota had come to the point of challenging me and the family, by looking at us when given a command. So a collar was the next step in training. Funny how a dog responds with a sound or a nudge. We have had the collar for several weeks and train everyday in the house and outside for a well mannered dog and for hunting. With the new pup, and now a new e collar I have a renewed interest in training for trials and waterfowl hunting.
ProsVery easy to use and dial in to the correct baseline. Long battery life. Ability to control the dog while he is off leash in the yard. The video is pretty comprehensive for basic e collar training. Ability to train for correction at a distance.
ConsIt is a more expensive unit, however you may not need the distance of this unit.
By Chet F.
Argenta, IL
Great Company!
September 5, 2020
Great company with great products.
By Doreen
Wisconsin
Harmon pro 550
September 1, 2020
Definitely disappointed in the new charging system. The old Tri-Tronics carriage was much simpler design. No longer probes for the receiver was included. Found I needed to increase the intensity to get a reaction from my retrievers. I talk to other trainers at my club and they also agreed with this. I did like the lighter transmitter and the capability of hanging it off my belt without fear of losing it in the field.
ProsTransmitter is Lighter weight. Easy to attach to a belt without fear of it falling out of your pocket.
ConsLonger probes for the receiver not included. Charging system Set up is very disappointing. Garmin made very little effect to improve this unit for retrievers and trainers.
Expert Review
Paul Graham
Sales / Product Specialist Supervisor
Mathiston, MS
Great For Retriever Training
July 31, 2020
I've been using the Pro 550 since it came out and have very pleased with it. It's a great system for retriever training, Easy to use and very dependable. Includes nice features such as the Bark Limiter option and Beacon Lights
ProsEase of use and 21 levels of continuous and momentary stimulation, vibration, and tone.
By Robert H.
TX
Review for Garmin PRO 550 2-dog Combo
October 19, 2018
So far, so good. The REAL test will come when I start using the system for salt water duck hunting in a few weeks. If something changes, I'll update the post. So far, though, this system has performed flawlessly with my two Chesapeakes.
By Dale M.
Review for Garmin PRO 550 2-dog Combo
October 18, 2018
Works as well or better than our previous Garmin Pro training collar. No issues with both dogs swimming multiple times a day in the pool or pond. The charge is long lasting and the charging connectors are better than the previous generation. The buzz, tone and light features are handy compared to the previous generation tone only option.
By Mark T.
MN
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
October 18, 2018
By Paul L.
WI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
October 12, 2018
This e-collar has all the features one could want in a top level collar. The only reason I didn't give it a higher rating is a design flaw I believe it has and that is the antenna on the transmitter. Unlike the old Tri-tronics Flyway Special that this e-collar replaced, the Pro 550, has a hard antenna on the transmitter. On the very first use of this e-collar I dropped the transmitter and broke the antenna off and as it is molded directly into the transmitter the whole thing had to be replaced. I will give kudos to Garmin, after taking almost 2 weeks to respond to my e-mail requesting service, Garmin did replace the transmitter for free. With 21 levels of stimulation( momentary and continuous), tone, vibration, and a built in bark collar, all though you can't turn on the bark collar from the transmitter, there isn't much else you could want or need in an e-collar. I definitely recommend it, just be careful not to drop it.
By Jordan L.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
October 12, 2018
By Cheryl B.
CA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
October 11, 2018
Being a professional gun dog trainer I have used collar on physically soft to physical tough dogs. The variable levels of intensity and continuos vs nick are extremely important to my training and correcting fairly and effectively. Using the Tri Tronics Pro 100 for years It finally gave up the ghost! So I wanted some of those same options as I had before. I like and prefer the hand held controller to anything hanging around my neck as the timing and intensity on any correction is paramount to success. I have found this collar to be very handy with the bark collar option built in. Saves me the expense of purchasing separately and is effective.
By Curtis J.
NE
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
October 11, 2018
By Franky
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
October 10, 2018
Have had it for about a month and so far we love it. It's very rugged and along with the added holster, it makes it very impact resistant, I've lost count of how many times I've dropped the remote and nothing has happened to it. The collar has definitely taken a beating by our GSP and so far its held up really well. Considering buying another collar for our German Shepard now. All in all, it has been a very good product.
By Jeff
PA
Review for Garmin PRO 550 2-dog Combo
October 10, 2018
Great product, I have two young Labs and it is really speeding up the learning process for them.

Page 1 of 5
1





privacy policy | terms & conditions


1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions