Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


Review Summary
4.8
198 Reviews
5
85% (169)
4
10% (20)
3
5% (9)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
99% Recommend this product (197 of 198 responses)
By Alex S.
RI
Great training collar
October 12, 2020
We have two 6 month old english setters and a 3 year old lab/grehound mix. All are very active and the collar has been working out great! I little hard to set up but once we got the hang of it, it was fine. Not we do not have to shock only beep and they are listening very well!
By Joe
Midlothian, Va
Garmin Tri-Tronics Pro 550 Review
October 1, 2020
It is a pleasure to write a review for Gun Dog Supply. I have bought several items from Gun Dog Supply. I have found their company and personnel very helpful when I have called them to help make a purchasing decision or to change a purchase. I have had several tri-tronic collars over the years. We got our new pup Kota, back in March. He was a planned purchase not a Covid dog to replace another Labrador that had passed earlier in the year. Years ago, I was an avid waterfowl hunter and had always relied on Tri-Tronics. For me and my family a finished dog in the house is a trained dog. My old Tri-Tronic collar unit had a closed battery which is no longer replaceable. I talked to a friend who runs trials and hunt tests and he suggested I talk with Gun Dog and to look at the 550. So far we have not been disappointed. Kota had come to the point of challenging me and the family, by looking at us when given a command. So a collar was the next step in training. Funny how a dog responds with a sound or a nudge. We have had the collar for several weeks and train everyday in the house and outside for a well mannered dog and for hunting. With the new pup, and now a new e collar I have a renewed interest in training for trials and waterfowl hunting.
ProsVery easy to use and dial in to the correct baseline. Long battery life. Ability to control the dog while he is off leash in the yard. The video is pretty comprehensive for basic e collar training. Ability to train for correction at a distance.
ConsIt is a more expensive unit, however you may not need the distance of this unit.
By Chet F.
Argenta, IL
Great Company!
September 5, 2020
Great company with great products.
By Doreen
Wisconsin
Harmon pro 550
September 1, 2020
Definitely disappointed in the new charging system. The old Tri-Tronics carriage was much simpler design. No longer probes for the receiver was included. Found I needed to increase the intensity to get a reaction from my retrievers. I talk to other trainers at my club and they also agreed with this. I did like the lighter transmitter and the capability of hanging it off my belt without fear of losing it in the field.
ProsTransmitter is Lighter weight. Easy to attach to a belt without fear of it falling out of your pocket.
ConsLonger probes for the receiver not included. Charging system Set up is very disappointing. Garmin made very little effect to improve this unit for retrievers and trainers.
Expert Review
Paul Graham
Sales / Product Specialist Supervisor
Mathiston, MS
Great For Retriever Training
July 31, 2020
I've been using the Pro 550 since it came out and have very pleased with it. It's a great system for retriever training, Easy to use and very dependable. Includes nice features such as the Bark Limiter option and Beacon Lights
ProsEase of use and 21 levels of continuous and momentary stimulation, vibration, and tone.
By Robert H.
TX
Review for Garmin PRO 550 2-dog Combo
October 19, 2018
So far, so good. The REAL test will come when I start using the system for salt water duck hunting in a few weeks. If something changes, I'll update the post. So far, though, this system has performed flawlessly with my two Chesapeakes.
By Dale M.
Review for Garmin PRO 550 2-dog Combo
October 18, 2018
Works as well or better than our previous Garmin Pro training collar. No issues with both dogs swimming multiple times a day in the pool or pond. The charge is long lasting and the charging connectors are better than the previous generation. The buzz, tone and light features are handy compared to the previous generation tone only option.
By Jordan L.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
October 12, 2018
By Paul L.
WI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
October 12, 2018
This e-collar has all the features one could want in a top level collar. The only reason I didn't give it a higher rating is a design flaw I believe it has and that is the antenna on the transmitter. Unlike the old Tri-tronics Flyway Special that this e-collar replaced, the Pro 550, has a hard antenna on the transmitter. On the very first use of this e-collar I dropped the transmitter and broke the antenna off and as it is molded directly into the transmitter the whole thing had to be replaced. I will give kudos to Garmin, after taking almost 2 weeks to respond to my e-mail requesting service, Garmin did replace the transmitter for free. With 21 levels of stimulation( momentary and continuous), tone, vibration, and a built in bark collar, all though you can't turn on the bark collar from the transmitter, there isn't much else you could want or need in an e-collar. I definitely recommend it, just be careful not to drop it.
By Curtis J.
NE
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
October 11, 2018
By Cheryl B.
CA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
October 11, 2018
Being a professional gun dog trainer I have used collar on physically soft to physical tough dogs. The variable levels of intensity and continuos vs nick are extremely important to my training and correcting fairly and effectively. Using the Tri Tronics Pro 100 for years It finally gave up the ghost! So I wanted some of those same options as I had before. I like and prefer the hand held controller to anything hanging around my neck as the timing and intensity on any correction is paramount to success. I have found this collar to be very handy with the bark collar option built in. Saves me the expense of purchasing separately and is effective.
By Jeff
PA
Review for Garmin PRO 550 2-dog Combo
October 10, 2018
Great product, I have two young Labs and it is really speeding up the learning process for them.
By Franky
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
October 10, 2018
Have had it for about a month and so far we love it. It's very rugged and along with the added holster, it makes it very impact resistant, I've lost count of how many times I've dropped the remote and nothing has happened to it. The collar has definitely taken a beating by our GSP and so far its held up really well. Considering buying another collar for our German Shepard now. All in all, it has been a very good product.
By Debra Z.
NY
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
December 10, 2016
I love my collar. It works better than my old tritronic collar! It has both bark collar and lights. It's very easy to use and is always consistent. My only complaint is that I have had it for a month and still have not received my 50.00 rebate from Garmin.
By Lynn
BC
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
October 30, 2016
Great package! It looks like Garmin has taken the tried-and-true Tritronics Pro 500 and made it even better. Simple things like adding a an attachment for a lanyard are great. Everyone knows someone who lost their transmitter out in the field! I also like the new accessory feature of having a light on the receiver that will also stay on while you use the stimulation setting.
By John
NJ
Review for Garmin PRO 550 2-dog Combo
October 24, 2016
Works great!
By Deloris W.
Review for Garmin PRO 550 3-dog Combo
October 9, 2016
The Garmin PRO 550 3-dog Combo works well. I'm mostly happy with it, but there a number of improvements that could/should be made on this product. 1) Who ever designed the collars must of been not only left handed, but had absolutely well trained dogs BEFORE they ever tried to use it. The collars buckle on the wrong side (I COULD remove the electronic part and re-string it, I guess, maybe). The buckles are a PAIN IN THE BUTT to get buckled (and in the same hole each time!) and to get the end of the collar thru the keeper. This is ridiculous!! IF My dogs were well trained enough to SIT STILL and hold their NOSES POINTED IN THE AIR for MINUTES at a time while I fumbled with this stupid collar -- then I would never of needed this product to begin with. My dogs are NOT that well trained. I'm out there, chasing them around, while they flop upside down, etc., wondering why I'm strangling them. THESE COLLARS NEED to have the quick snap buckles on them!! Then it would take ONE time, to get the right fit on each dog, and after that, just SNAP IT ON! WHO DESIGNED THESE COLLARS?????? The collar design is my BIGGEST COMPLAINT and I can't believe this design EVER passed and was put into production. My other complaints are just minor. 2) The red/black/blue dots are HARD TO SEE (on the handheld remote) for OLD eyes, like mine. 3) WHY didn't they design the remote with a Memory -- when it's on RED, it's AUTOMATICALLY set on #3. If I switch to BLUE, it AUTOMATICALLY sets itself on #2, etc., etc. If I am walking all 3 dogs in the pasture and they all 3 take off after a sheep, and don't come back when I call, by the time I SWITCH to black then to #1, for the first dog, then have to switch not only to another color - red for the 2nd dog, but I have to fumble around trying to change the setting to #3, and so on. By the time I do all that (AND AGAIN -- it's VERY HARD to see/read those numbers out in the field!) the dogs have already gotten away with biting and chasing that sheep for quite awhile! This thing is NOT very intuitive for more than one dog. I have some other minor complaints, but I won't go in to them here. Some of them are simply because I can't SEE and I can't remember-- I have to physically LOOK (and TRY to SEE) each number, color, etc., EACH time I use it. After all that griping, tho, I'm pretty happy with this product. It's what I was needing for my dogs. I have 3 large dogs that I walk in the pastures with me every day, and up my driveway (I live on a highway) and I NEED them to MIND me. They are all really good at coming when called (that's mandatory when they are loose in the drive with me) UNLESS they are hot on a rabbit, or a sheep, etc. THAT'S when I need this trainer and it DOES WORK -- assuming I can fumble around and get the right setting for each dog in time. I don't want to fry my soft dog, while letting the hard dog keep on running because he can't FEEL the lower numbers. I can now, fairly confidently walk all 3 dogs in the pasture with me, around the sheep, and not have to run my self to death to chase them down and correct them for biting sheep. NOW it's a simple matter of Hollering at them, and if they don't mind, then (finding!!! and) pushing a button. They nearly always quit immediately. Sometimes I have to push the button again, and OCCASIONALLY, if they are really in the killing/wolf mode, I will have to turn up another number. All in all, I RECOMMEND this product, IF you are smart enough to use it HUMANELY. This can/will hurt and terrorize a dog. You have to use common sense and TRAIN your dog, not just punish it. I'm glad I got this, because as I said, it's made my life MUCH easier. No more running around in circles trying to catch and punish a dog for biting sheep.
By JoLynn R.
IN
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
October 5, 2016
Allows me to narrow in on stimulus for different distractions. I love the no-look layout of the remote, allowing me to keep eyes on my livestock and dog.
By Lucy B.
KY
Review for Garmin PRO 550 3-dog Combo
September 30, 2016
I purchased this product as a gift for my husband for his birthday. He loves it and that is what he had been wanting!
By David M.
MI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
September 18, 2016
Easy to use. Cool features.
By Joy A.
NY
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
August 27, 2016
Easy to use and it always has the level I need, especially when energy and distractions are high!
By John W.
La
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
August 27, 2016
Everything was good . I don't care for the thin collar. The strap causes the collar to role and loose contact. Other than that a nice product!
By Greg
CO
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
August 16, 2016
Very well build/designed. No complaints.
By Stacy H.
Review for Garmin PRO 550 2-dog Combo
August 13, 2016
We love it. Our dogs work very well with it. Being able to turn the light on and off makes it easy to find them in the dark.
By Jenifer P.
Review for Garmin PRO 550 2-dog Combo
August 2, 2016
I love all of the different settings, and it's easy to work with both dogs on one remote.
By VINCENT M.
IL
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
July 25, 2016
Works like a charm! My dog was e-collar trained by her former owner and this does just the trick!
By Scott R.
MN
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
July 25, 2016
It is easy to charge and has a reliable connection. Much better than the smaller and cheaper collars. I can see that this is going to last as long as my dog. The $200 collars do not. The features are very easy to figure out in a moment. Watching Steve's video review of this collar was all I needed for using it and all its features. I charged it and put it on the dog, and it was good to go! I would recommend it and buy it again. It's more than twice the collar when compared to the $200-300 units and it has a very low intensity for my timid short-haired dog and is high enough to get my own attention!
By Linda W.
NY
Review for Garmin PRO 550 2-dog Combo
July 25, 2016
I liked the Tritronics version better because I did not have to move a switch from momentary to continuous.
By Clara M.
CO
Review for Garmin PRO 550 2-dog Combo
July 23, 2016
I immediately noticed (within 30 min) my dogs positive response to commands using this device. Excellent -- I highly recommend this product.
By Cesar A.
TX
Review for Garmin PRO 550 3-dog Combo
July 16, 2016
I previously had a Dogtra system for a single dog. This system is simple to use and intuitive. Works on all 3 dogs despite their size difference. Never moved beyond level 1. I love the headlight feature when working the dogs at dawn and dusk.
By GREGORY W.
CO
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
July 5, 2016
Easy adjustments on levels and switching between dogs. Has good range even in mountain terrain.
By Randy J.
NE
Review for Garmin PRO 550 2-dog Combo
July 5, 2016
Great service from GDS. Only had the PRO 550 two weeks. No complaints, easy to use for two dogs, and really like the tone and vibrate features.
By Anonymous
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
July 1, 2016
Definitely does everything I need it to do. What I like about this model over older models is that the beep function (green button) works every time you hit it, regardless of what setting you have it on. On my older Tri-Tronics, you had to turn the dial to T (Test) for the beep to work and then back to stimulate. Now I can easily direct my dog to return with the beep function, and if she doesn't listen I just have to move my thumb down to stimulate. My dog has a VERY high hunt drive, so the vibration does not work on her. Just isn't enough to get her attention. Stimulation on this device is a little more mild than my older one, but now I just leave it at 5 instead of 3. The low stimulation for the bottom button, increasing on the top button, and even higher by hitting both at the same time is a nice option. You simply move your thumb instead of having to mess with the dial. The remote does not have an off setting. It is on all the time, which concerned me at first, but it seems to stay charged for weeks at a time. I have yet to have the device die on me. Yes the Pro 550 is a little pricey, but I need the long range in addition to a beep/stimulate combo. I am definitely happy with the device and the customer service of Gun Dog Supply.
By Robert B.
WI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
June 21, 2016
I am new to the ins and outs of using an E-collar. I asked a lot of questions and am very happy with my pro 550. I like the options, and it is easy to use.
By Glen M.
LA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
June 17, 2016
The many levels of correction are great. With one hand I can operate it. So glad I got the 550.
By Catherine M.
ME
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
June 13, 2016
The progressive stimulation works great
By Jesse
ID
Review for Garmin PRO 550 2-dog Combo
June 9, 2016
Works great. Havent had them long but so far great.
By Robert D.
MT
Review for Garmin PRO 550 2-dog Combo
May 15, 2016
It is much improved. I have a tri-tronics pro 500 dual and classic 70 dual. The features are great and the Garmin 550 is much better. Gun Dog is fast and very good for customer service. Great doing business.
By Craig B.
Review for Garmin PRO 550 2-dog Combo
May 6, 2016
So far so good. I have really enjoyed seeing the dogs come around during their training with the Garmin.
By Dustin W.
MO
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
April 28, 2016
I've been using my collar now for a couple weeks. It works very well, and I enjoy being able to turn the light function on at night to keep track of the dogs! When I make a correction, just the vibrate function seems to work very well. Remember folks, if you're going to turn the collar up put it on yourself first so you know what the animal is feeling! Be safe and responsible with these. They are not to cause pain and the dog must know the command before using the collar to make corrections! Train smart and everyone be safe hunting.
By BRYAN M.
MO
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
April 26, 2016
Love it.
By Scott R.
AZ
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
April 25, 2016
Have always used Tri-Tronic products, simply put, they're the best! Controls are well thought out on the units and well protected from accidentally being bumped and having a command (tone, vibration, and shock) being instituted. Great range and it's real nice to have all three options present (tone, vibration, and shock) as well as a good variability on the power/shock option for instituting commands while in the field with multiple dogs. Really like the light option on the collar/receiver and having it turned on/off from the controller as well. Great product.
By Patti M.
TX
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
April 24, 2016
Not happy with plastic material on collar. Seems very cheap. Last one was rubber, lasted 4 duck seasons.
By Paul L.
NV
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
April 23, 2016
I love it. Especially the light, I can see my dog at night now.
By Brett
MN
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
April 20, 2016
Compared to my old Upland G2 EXP this has a better range, louder tone, vibrate, user replaceable batteries on both the transmitter and receivers, and is a lighter weight unit. The headlight on the receiver is a nice feature for locating the dog in low light. Great buy!
By Robert K.
VT
Review for Garmin PRO 550 3-dog Combo
April 18, 2016
Parts of the chargers are cheaply made and I don't like their system at all. The buckle on one of the collar straps isn't the same as the other two. It is cheaper made.
By Todd A.
CA
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
April 15, 2016
After a week or so of internet research and recommendation by the kennel I bought my dog from, I decided to replace my 15 year old DT systems collar with this one. I have been using it for a couple of weeks now with my new dog. I love how easy it was to become familiar with and to use without looking at the controls. I have no complaints or regrets buying this collar and would definitely recommend it.
By Ray
RI
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
April 14, 2016
Fantastic and excellent quality, worth the money. I definitely would recommend this product.
By Gregory C.
NY
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
April 13, 2016
Garmin makes a quality product, very well made, and easy to operate. This unit was recommended to me by a very experienced hunting guide and dog trainer. I am pleased with his suggestion.
By C W.
Review for Garmin Tri-Tronics PRO 550
April 12, 2016
So far so good.... Wish they were still using heavier duty 1in collar strap instead of 3/4in. Also, would be nice if the beacon light had a flashing (strobe) function instead of just staying on solid or off. Just got into using it good in the field and hope that it gives me the same level of service that I got from my older TT Pro 500 G2.

Page 1 of 4
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2020, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.