Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


4.8
158 Reviews
5
87% (137)
4
11% (17)
3
2% (3)
2
1% (1)
1
0% (0)
99% Recommend this product (156 of 158 responses)
By Todd
Cody, Wyoming
Great product and great seller
February 13, 2021
We received the product in a timely manner. We will continue to purchase products through Gun Dog Supply in the future. The product works as advertised and we are enjoying it. We have used it for pheasant hunting as well as hikes in off-leash areas. We love it.
By Chet
Toledo, OH
Great Collar
February 3, 2021
Great tracking and training collar, very easy to get started on. I still am trying figure everything out with it mostly how to download the map so I can see ground my dog has covered.
Merchant Response:Chet, Just give us a call at 1-800-624-6378 or email us at sales@gundogsupply.com with any questions and one of our Product Specialists will be happy to help. Thanks, Ben
ProsVery easy and simple to use and get started
ConsComputer directions and downloading data is a little vague
By Matt
Michigan
Its awesome!
January 15, 2021
Zero complaints with this system. I upgraded from a 220/DC30 system and haven’t regretted it. The biggest flaw with the system for me is it has made me a lazy hunter per say lol. I definitely don’t like hunting without it.
By Kent B.
UT
Great Tracking and Training Collar
January 11, 2021
Very happy with my new Alpha 100 and tt15 combo. responds quickly to the dogs movements, easy to determine where he is, even in heavy cover.
ProsTracking responsive
ConsPrice Bulky Collar battery needs more charging with the GPS in it
By Gary
Eagle, Idaho
Set-Up Difficult
December 26, 2020
I think I will ultimately be happy with the Garmin Alpha 100/TT15, but not without a lot of initial grief. I've spent a couple of long evenings preparing the physical and electronic component features of the collar and transmitter, and two days in the field and 3-4 hours on YouTube trying to figure out the system. The instruction booklet is extremely difficult to read and is incomplete. The diagrams and print are very small and the labeling is imprecise. The booklet should have larger diagrams and detailed step-by-step instructions. The first day in the field, three of us struggled for an hour to get the transmitter to follow the dog collar. Then someone mistakenly entered a way point that linked to the transmitter. The transmitter was no longer following the dog. After hunting a corn field and risking losing my dog, I had to clear everything out and start all over. The second time hunting, the GPS linkage finally worked OK. I rigged up a lanyard to carry the transmitter around my neck. (The instructions said there is a lanyard connection, but no instructions. My previous e-collars contained a lanyard attached to the transmitter, the Garmin did not). Every time I let the transmitter hang on my neck, the touchscreen would inadvertently contact my call-whistle, or a button, or my shirt, or chest, and open another function. Sometimes it would open an entry screen and each touch would enter a different letter or character. Then, every time I tried to located the dog, I had to undo the inadvertent touchscreen entries. After returning home, and watching a YouTube troubleshooting video, I discovered how to lock the screen. Even after locking the screen, when there is an inadvertent touch, I still have to back out of the entry denial screen to locate the dog. These are significant distractions from hunting. It would be nice if the transmitter would just stay on the GPS compass locator when selected. As stated in the beginning, maybe when I get past the learning curve, I will be satisfied. Too early to tell.
Merchant Response:Gary, If you have any questions about the set up or operation of your Garmin Alpha 100 w TT15 we have several product specialists who can help. Just give us a call at 1-800-624-6378. Thanks, Ben
By Rick
South Dakota
Garmin Alpha 100 w/TT15
December 24, 2020
Great combination. I’m new to owning a hunting dog and first one I’ve ever trained. I’ve used the ecollar portion very little this far, but love looking at the tracks my dog takes and how he ends up hunting depending upon conditions. Waterproofness has been as advertised.
ProsQuality Ease of use Durability Garmin name
ConsNone
By Chris
Kansas
Garmin
December 19, 2020
I am very happy with this purchase. I don't know if I really need this nice of a unit but I rather have and not need than need and not have. Have been on a few hints so far where my pup was on birds but I couldn't see him so the GPS which was my main reason for the purchase really came in handy. I have a pro 550 also which is also a good unit and also gets used mostly in places I'm really familiar with.
ProsGPS, expandability
ConsWish it came with a lanyard. Not that big of a deal but when bust through brush I constantly check to make sure the handheld unit is still on my side.
By Greg
Seattle Washington
Great when it works
October 29, 2020
I have used this system for the last five years hunting chukar with my GSP. I have exchanged the handheld unit once during this period when it broke and am now on my third collar for the dog after the two previous collars ceased functioning. Durable it is not. Reliability is also less than great- can’t count the times the handheld sounded the on point alert and indicated the dog was somewhere other than where I could see her. However like many other Garmin products I have purchased over the years when this system works as promised it is great and really indispensable for finding an on point dog in the sagebrush
ProsProbably the best product available for what I need and Garmin is very responsive although the quality of the responses can vary depending on who you talk/type with
ConsCollars prone to breakage and indicated direction to dog on point can be incorrect
By tim
NJ
Really great tool for tracking and training
October 1, 2020
Have not had the Garmin a super long time yet, but I am finding it to be a super tool for bird hunting in both conifers, aspen, and beach with Grouse and in lower growth for Pheasant. I would not use it as a daily training collar that you want to use on a regular daily basis.
ProsFor hunting, always know where your dog is, where he is heading, the speed he is going, the area he is tracking. Can do this with multiple dogs as well
ConsExpensive, The normal collar is just livable for my 50 pound setter. It will fit smaller dogs, but I think the mini might be a better fit.
By Jody W.
Michigan
Garmin Alpha 100 wTT15
September 24, 2020
I purchase my Alpha 100 with TT 15 and was pleased with the ease of initial set up and use. I will be using it this fall on my started pup this fall. I look forward to the peace of mind it will give me when I’m out in the woods, I will be able to know where my pup is at all times, and make minor corrections when necessary.
By Don M.
Minnesota
second unit
September 17, 2020
Over the years I have had numerous hunting dogs, all German Shorthairs. During that time I have also used different products to help in keeping track of the dogs in field, most were some kind of beeper collar. About three or four years back I decided to try the GPS style unit and glad I did. Although they're not perfect they sure make things a lot easier. Wish I had bought this back when I had three dogs in the field almost all the time. I'm not into all the high tech stuff available with the unit but it does what I need it for, keeping track of my pointer.
By Kyle
Washington
so far so good
September 10, 2020
nice unit, relatively easy to operate. Don't be too intimidated by the interface, it isn't that hard. I haven't used it for training yet but it will probably be adequate for a casual, every day handler.
ProsLot of nice features and it is awesome to be able to monitor where your dog is by using the GPS.
ConsA lot of nice features! So that means there is a little bit of learning to do when using the unit.
By Keith
Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Great Tracking Collar!
September 3, 2020
This a great tool for training and keeping track of your dog in the field. In my case, the north woods. Gun Dog Supply's typical great price and service sealed the deal.
ProsIt works great! The basic functions are easy to figure out and use. I sync'd it with my hunting buddy's Alpha 100. Should he or I ever lose a control unit, the other unit can help find it. Best of all we can keep track of each other if we're hunting in different parts of the woods.
ConsThere's so many features that it'll take some time to figure them all out. Some I probably won't use.
By Larry
Michigan
Track and train
September 3, 2020
So far this unit is packed with great features not as intimidating as when first out of the box. Became easier to use as I played with it.
ProsPlenty of informational videos explaining what I didn?t understand to help get me through some operations
ConsNo real good way to secure carrying the unit would prefer a metal belt clip than the back bone they have, a bit expensive to chance loosing it. I believe I solved the problem for my self.
By Ham S.
Burt Lake, MI
Works as promised
September 2, 2020
This was my third Astro, the first one with the training feature in it. As always Garman products it was easy to set up, and works exactly as you expected to. A great product well serviced through Gun Dog Supply who were great to do business with.
ProsEverything
ConsNone
By Luke
Iowa
Great product
September 2, 2020
This unit works great. Helps me keep my dogs away from the highway. Also dont have to worry about my coonhound coming back when hunting......always know where he is. Gundogsupply is a great company to work with.....fast shipping!!!
By Steven
Arizona
Impressed with the gps quality
September 1, 2020
Collar picks up quickly and updates often as dog is traveling. Great options for correction too with tone, vibrate, and stimulation.
ProsVery responsive and great tracking. Like the screen lock function.
ConsClip on remote is tough to use. Would like the option to lock the correction function.
Expert Review
Dwayne White
Product Specialist
Mathiston, MS
Garmin Alpha 100 tracking and training
July 22, 2020
I have used the Alpha 100 since it originally came out with the TT10 collar. This has been a top of the line GPS for myself and tracking my dogs. The built in ecollar has reduced the number of collars you have to put on your dog's neck and the number of handheld devices you must carry in the field. This is best best for trashbreaking and recall. I also use the handheld for every other type of hunting or outdoor adventure I may have.
Proslarge screen with multiple purpose functionality
Consnot practical for every day obedience training.
By Samuel B.
MN
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 + TT15 COMBO 2-dog (GPS + E-Collar)
October 19, 2018
Works good
By Steve H.
NC
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
October 19, 2018
I have had this system for about three months. Have used it in the field for training while trying to learn the various features before hunting season. I like the tracking feature using the compass. It has many bells and whistles that I doubt I will ever use, like finding nearby restaurants. I plan on downloading better maps before going to KS. It takes a bit of getting used to, especially changing the level of correction. The only negative I have experienced is the amount of time it takes to get the collar and handheld communicating with each other. I live around a lot of trees and it doesn't seem to work too well in the trees. But my hunting will be on the plains so expect it will do fine. I would recommend it for the tracking.
By Lawrence R.
VT
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
October 18, 2018
I don't care for the long antennae. It seems like to takes a very long time to charge the transmitter. It came with a black collar instead of the orange collar I had to buy extra.
By John S.
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
October 18, 2018
Instant notification when my dog is out of site. I know immediately what the dog is up to. It eliminates the need to call the dog back because you don't know where or what is going on. My biggest fear is to lose my dog while hunting. This unit eliminates that fear. There are features in this collar I will probably never need to use. The screen is very easy to view even in bad light. I like the vibrate mode on the collar as my dog responds very well to it when activated. I have not and to not intend to use the stimulation mode and have removed the prongs and placed the plastic cover in their place. Very pleased with the collar and the fine people at Gun Dog Supply.
By Gordon W.
MN
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
October 18, 2018
By Tom N.
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
October 18, 2018
The screen changes randomly. The e collar buttons change the screen when activated/ pushed.
By Cassidy K.
OR
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
October 12, 2018
By Randy F.
AZ
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
October 12, 2018
It works well very easy to work with.
By Brett B.
TN
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 + TT15 COMBO 2-dog (GPS + E-Collar)
October 11, 2018
Works great especially while training puppies.
By David S.
SC
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 + TT15 COMBO 7-dog (GPS + E-Collar)
November 28, 2016
Only problem I have with the system is I think we have to many Garmin collars in our area. We have up to two hundred or more in 10 to 15 mile radius. At times we have trouble with collar linking up with alpha and having problems during the hunt tracking dog. Have any suggestions?
By Dennis B.
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
November 11, 2016
I live in mountainous terrain, and keeping line-of-sight is not possible; however the Garmin TT15 maintained contact with my dog. I was able to track my dog over hills, and deep into ravines. I was quite surprised at how well this GPS performed.
By Tom B.
WI
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
November 10, 2016
Works as advertised. Nice to track dog when hunting grouse woods.
By Elizabeth
GA
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 + TT15 COMBO 2-dog (GPS + E-Collar)
November 9, 2016
My husband has trouble reading the screen and wishes it were larger. He is slightly vision-impaired.
By Rodney D.
ND
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
November 7, 2016
Very impressed with the product!
By Rondal A.
TX
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 + TT15 COMBO 3-dog (GPS + E-Collar)
October 30, 2016
Great product with too many features for just a hunting dog in my opinion.
By Ryan B.
MI
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 + TT15 COMBO 2-dog (GPS + E-Collar)
October 29, 2016
It needs a little bit of work with the interface and usability. It's great for tracking but the handling end leaves a bit to be desired. All in all it's a very nice product so far. But it could use some improvement.
By Arthur K.
AZ
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 + TT15 COMBO 2-dog (GPS + E-Collar)
October 24, 2016
I was against shock collars for years but I have changed my tune. It shorten the training time greatly and does not harm the dog. I use a tone for the come command when the dog is out of sight. I use vibrate to get his attention for hand commands and I use the shock for sit and to get his attention for commands. The tracking is a great feature. It was the best training tool I have come across in 30+ years.
By Giovanni S.
Az
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 + TT15 COMBO 3-dog (GPS + E-Collar)
October 11, 2016
This product is very nice for tracking multiple dogs and making corrections in the field. I would have rated it 5 stars, but I think the feature for handeling multiple pointing dogs could be improved. Too much time is wasted if needing to increase stimulation levels. Vs the traditional dogtra or Tri tronics products, regardless of how you have the handheld setup. But if wanting to consolidate tracking and training collars into 1 this is the best on the market!
By Tom F.
KS
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
September 25, 2016
You guys run a first class operation. The alpha 100 is best of all dog GPS gadgets.
By Connor
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 + TT15 COMBO 5-dog (GPS + E-Collar)
September 12, 2016
This is the best thing I have ever bought. Gun Dog Supply are helpful and good people to work with. They ship fast and you get everything on time. Couldn't ask for a better company. In love with my new Garmin. It might be a lot of money but by far worth it. I recommend this to any hunter that hunt with dogs.
By Joseph S.
Pa
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
August 29, 2016
I have not really had a chance to use it yet
By Deloris B.
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
August 28, 2016
Ordered for my husband. It was a great price and I received it two days after ordering. The device was pre-registered, which saved time in downloading maps. We are very satisfied with device. We have ordered other products from this seller, and will continue to. I recommend this device and company to others.
By Deborah J.
GA
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
August 23, 2016
I just love the Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 combo! It does all it says it will do. Thank you! -Deborah
By DAVE D.
WI
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
August 22, 2016
The Garmin Alpha 100 is exactly as advertised. It sure beats wondering where my Beagles are, especially with the wolf overpopulation out there. You can't let those dogs get too far from you these days.
By Dave S.
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
August 7, 2016
Unit works good. Have not used it in the woods yet.
By Rick C.
MT
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 + TT15 COMBO 3-dog (GPS + E-Collar)
July 14, 2016
Great product. It provides me with the dog's location and gives me the ability to bring them back if they go too far. The multiple levels of stimulation allows for great training and better response during hunting or everyday activities.
By Dale H.
OR
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
July 9, 2016
Garmin has put it all together with the Alpha 100 and the TT15.
By Russel R.
CA
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
June 8, 2016
This setup has already saved one wild animal and a bad habit for the rest of his life. 6 stars!
By Michael M.
MN
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
June 5, 2016
I love this unit but didn't realize that there are different size collars. The full size was too big for my dog so I'm trading in for the mini. Gun Dog Supply has been very accommodating in letting me do this.
By JAD
PA
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 + TT15 COMBO 2-dog (GPS + E-Collar)
April 26, 2016
This is his second one. He just outgrew his first 3/4 inch. The old one still looks like new! Thank y'all.
By Douglas M.
Mi
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 with TT15 COMBO (1-dog GPS System)
April 24, 2016
Works great. I can find my dog easily with the gps and know when she's on point.
By Scott J.
WI
Review for Garmin Alpha 100 + TT15 COMBO 3-dog (GPS + E-Collar)
March 19, 2016
Steve, I took the dogs out on the first run with the new Alpha Collars today. My dogs run big and hard. I have one that scouts at long distance. I was impressed on the accuracy of the tracking, the tone volume, and the correction intensity.It seems to be a good solid unit. I have had Tritronics for ten plus years and they still are as reliable as when I took them out of the box. The reason I bought these GPS collars is because in late grouse season I lost one of my dogs in wolf country for 24 hours. It was a horrible feeling not coming home with one of your best friends. I am convinced it will never happen again with these new collars. I am glad I bought them early as it will take a while to get used to them.If anyone has dogs like mine that run big and point solid the Gamin Alpha is the best way to go. When your dogs are excited to have you put on their collars they cannot be anything but top quality. Thank You for the most accurate and truthful review I have ever seen. It was the reason I invested in the Alpha collars. Best Regards, Scott Jacobson

Page 1 of 4
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2021, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.