Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.5
32 Reviews
5
69% (22)
4
22% (7)
3
3% (1)
2
3% (1)
1
3% (1)
94% Recommend this product (30 of 32 responses)
By Betsy C.
Virginia
Perfect accessory
January 25, 2022
Great way to NOT lose our Garmin Sport Pro. Comes on and off easily from a belt loop or on our carabiner on our jackets. Great product and the extra tie is appreciated as well.
By Al
Medina, Ohio
Thin loop broke when transmitter snagged on corn.
December 12, 2021
There was a hard tug on my vest when the handheld snagged a corn stalk. The thin loop was weak enough to snap and prevent damage to the transmitter. Thankfully it was strong enough to get my attention. Unexpectedly the connector was still firmly snapped together with no damage.
ProsBeats looking for a lost transmitter. Or worse yet...buying a replacement. Get 2 attachment loops...one for your training transmitter and one for a hunting (GPS) transmitter. Works well for bird release transmitters also.
ConsRecoil tension is slightly weak for heavier transmitters like a PRO 500 Plus. Did not see replacement loops sold separately. I'll check with Gun Dog Supply for my options.
By Morrie
Washington
Faulty design
November 26, 2021
Not secure. If you want to protect your $650 handheld with 6 pound test this is for you. 15 minutes into my first hunt with my Garmin Alpha 200i this tether snagged and broke free in medium cover. Didn’t realize it for a couple of minutes but once the panic subsided and I figured out how to locate using the app I was able to locate the handheld. Thought it was a fluke but two weeks later the same thing happened again only this time I felt the tug and stopped but it still broke free and released the handheld. Garmin should be ashamed to sell this product.
ProsGarmin name
ConsEverything else
By Mark
Minnesota
Retractable tether lanyard works well
November 10, 2021
The lanyard needs to clip onto a d-ring or belt loop etc. Once there the retraction keeps the lanyard out of your way. I wear it on my field vest and leave it there when removed and wanting the handheld with me. The quick disconnect makes this process easy.
ProsThe retraction keeps the lanyard with drawn and out of your way.
Consthe quick disconnect isn't the same as the other Garmin lanyards.
By Chip V.
Richmond, VA
Great secondary attachment for Garmin Alpha collars
October 16, 2021
I have used one of these as part of my 2 part carriers for Alpha 100 and now 200i for over 10 years. Great retractable. I have broken one after years of use in thick woods chasing woodcock and ruffed grouse. Highly recommend.
ProsWorks as it should and tuff.
ConsThin cord can wear over time and break. I walked 60 Miles in the UP this week hunting thick cover and held up great.
By Dean
Montana
Good backup mounting
August 31, 2021
The loop on this is pretty thin, so I'm not sure I'd use this as the only connection in the field. But if you have something like the snap-on belt mount as the primary, and are worried that might fail and you'd loose the unit, this is a great secondary/backup mount point.
By Matt W.
Fayetteville GA
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
October 12, 2018
I was expecting a wider tape instead of the thin string that loops through the tether. Other than that, the unit functions as described.
By John S.
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
October 11, 2018
It is very easy to use with or without a game vest.
By Robert W.
TN
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
October 31, 2016
Works as intended.
By Richard B.
Ok
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
October 30, 2016
Too long and bulky to use much.
By Kirk
KY
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
September 10, 2016
I have not used it in the field yet, but I believe it will work well.
By Ken M.
NH
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
April 25, 2016
Nice item.
By Gloria P.
OR
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
March 14, 2016
I was skeptical about this product in the beginning. But now that I have it. I think it's fabulous. I have now bought a second one for my other hunting vest. I highly recommend it, I use it for my Garmin Alpha.
By Lee C.
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
February 18, 2016
The tether gives me peace of mind while hunting, knowing that my remote is secured.
By Randy S.
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
February 15, 2016
If you have one of the E-collars that this retractable lanyard is compatible with, it's a must have, works excellent!!!
By Steve
WI
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
December 6, 2015
I wish the hang length was easier to adjust. And the clip can be difficult to remove from small belt loops.
By Todd S.
WA
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
August 24, 2015
Garmin has done a great job with their accessories.
By Kenneth B.
MA
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
February 19, 2015
Works well.
By DS
OH
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
January 31, 2015
Definitely something you need to have with the Garmin Alpha. The brush has pulled the handheld unit off of my coat many times. The lanyard has prevented an expensive loss.
By Thomas K.
PA
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
January 21, 2015
Love this product.
By Charles R.
MS
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
December 29, 2014
Very handy, but only recieved 1 lanyard with my order. I was under the impression there should be two.
By Eric M.
ND
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
November 25, 2014
I keep my Astro in my front pocket of my vest. It's a nice safety feature to keep the controller from ever falling out and getting lost. Very happy with the product with the 8x I've used it.
By Kendal D.
MO
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
November 14, 2014
Works great along with the OEM clip that comes with the Garmin Alpha 100. Like how you can unhook the lanyard and controller from the retractable tether.
By Rikki
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
October 11, 2014
Gives me the extra security for my Alpha I was looking for.
By Geoff O.
SD
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
October 1, 2014
I bought this as a back up attachment for my Garmin alpha, and it works ok. I would not use it by itself as it doesn't seem sturdy enough. It doesn't retract with enough force to pull the alpha all the way up, and the line seems thin considering the price of what it's hooked to.
By Sherrie R.
MA
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
March 3, 2014
I've only had it for a few weeks. Retractable lanyard is strong enough to hold the entire weight of handheld, which is fairly heavy. Came with extra tether. Easy to use. Clips seem sturdy.
By Larry H.
TX
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
February 24, 2014
Great product. A little pricey, but well worth it.
By GORDON S.
IN
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
January 4, 2014
Works great.
By Zachary M.
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
November 26, 2013
Great security for my Garmin Alpha 100. Easy to hook up and use. Worth every cent.
By Thomas H.
CO
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
November 20, 2013
Very secure, yet easy to use.
By Hugh G.
MS
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
October 24, 2013
Works great with my Garmin Alpha!
By Jared F.
SC
Review for Garmin Retractable Tether / Lanyard
October 21, 2013
The lanyard is the best part of this product. The belt clip has a small tab that keeps getting knocked out of position if I don't press the false button fully. I figured out how to put it back in position so it isn't too much of a big deal. I have come out of the woods in the dark many times with my Astro 320 hanging by the lanyard. The fact that the lanyard can be disconnected without having to take the retracting device off is convenient also. I highly recommend this product to who likes to keep track of their equipment in the field.

Page 1 of 1





privacy policy | terms & conditions


1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions