Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.9
51 Reviews
5
90% (46)
4
10% (5)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
98% Recommend this product (50 of 51 responses)
By Bland
Aspen, Colorado
Garmin Astro 430 system with handheld and collars
February 10, 2022
I have been using the Garmin Astro systems for over 15 years for my non-hunting, family, rescue dogs. I tried other systems years ago but none compare to the reliability of the Garmin Astros. I currently use the Astro 430 which lets me keep a good eye on where my dogs are on our hikes in the mountains. The handheld tells me how far away they are and the compass in the handheld shows me in what direction. The staff at Steve's Gun Dogs are very knowledgeable about this system and are happy to help with any questions you might have.
ProsThe Astro 430 is very reliable. The instructions provided make it easy to set up for one or multiple dogs. You can use regular or rechargeable AA batteries in the handheld. You charge the collars by plugging them into a socket or with a USB connection to your computer. I charge mine about every 5-7 days but it depends on your personal usage. The internal batteries in the collars last many years and are also replaceable. The collars are waterproof which is great for when my dogs want to swim. The whole system is easy to use and provides you with a lot of information about your dogs--distance travelled, maps of where your dog has hiked and much more. .
ConsI really can't think of any.
By Dan
MO
Garmin T5 GPS collar
November 9, 2021
This is a great product. It requires the handheld device in order to be tracked. It has worked reliably 96.3% of the time for me. This is a great replacement for a beeper or bell especially if a person is on the old side and hard of hearing. You only have to find a lost dog once with it and it will have paid for itself.
ProsReliable. Quiet. Durable. Good technical service from Gundog Supply and Garmin.
ConsBulky. Expensive.
By Jay W.
Donnellson Il.
Does the job.
January 14, 2021
The T5 is as good of a GPS as they come.
ConsThe actual nylon collar is junk. they separate from the inside out in time. I use the old collars I have saved from years ago.
By jeff b.
where ruffed grouse were
Kudos all 'round
October 7, 2020
It became a wise move to purchase an extra T5......I knew it would be wise to purchase the collar from GunDogSupply, as past experience most often predicts future satisfaction. The collar arrived quickly, performed as expected and GDS was an enabler par accellant, as Bob Fluharty used to say. When needing birddog 'stuff'.......there is no better closet door to open.
By Boss G.
Fla.
Great
September 9, 2020
Easy ordering great web. site & great collars.
By Charles C.
IL
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
October 18, 2018
Works well and durable.
By Scott K.
ID
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
October 18, 2018
This is my third T5 tracking collar and have not had a chance to run the young pup with the collar yet since we are in middle of hunting season. Presuming it works like the other 2 its top notch for keeping up with the pack.
By Leon B.
AR
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
October 18, 2018
This is a must have product. Whether you hunt or just let your dogs run off the leash, the peace of mind of knowing where your dogs are at all times is well worth the money.
By Bonnie C.
MS
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
October 12, 2018
It's awesome to help keep up with our dogs ! Where we hunt there are like big blocks of woods our dogs get in some time and with the old trackers we used you had to go over here, then over there and just see where the dog might be this closest, these trackers let us know just about exactly were they are so we can get them back quicker!
By FL
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
October 11, 2018
Collar works perfectly!
By Tracy F.
Fl
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
November 9, 2016
Collar works great!
By Greg M.
TN
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
August 11, 2016
Seems to work as well as or better than my DC50's and 40's.
By Sonya C.
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
March 20, 2016
None.
By William C.
TX
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
March 14, 2016
I have only used it one time. For now it is doing great.
By Bobby P.
VI
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
March 13, 2016
Very good collar and very easy to use.
By Matthew B.
NC Mountains
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
March 1, 2016
More than meets my expectations for a GPS tracking system. I also use telemetry as a backup due to the mountainous terrain I hunt.
By Thomas B.
WV
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
February 28, 2016
It was very simple to add to the hand-held and has worked perfectly.
By Adam W.
VA
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
February 25, 2016
Love the light feature when trying to get up with the dogs at night.
By Josh D.
TN
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
January 26, 2016
I live in the mountains of east TN, and the collar picks up excellent.
By John J.
LA
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
January 17, 2016
Love this collar. So much better than the DC 40 I have. Makes tracking my hound much easier and is much more dependable than the DC's too.
By Pam H.
MO
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
January 5, 2016
Thank you for your speedy delivery.
By Zachary B.
FL
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
December 19, 2015
Bought this collar to add with my others for my Astro 320. Thinking about upgrading to the Alpha next year, and even though the T5 doesn't have the shock capability, I can at least track with it until I can buy all new collars for the Alpha.
By Randy S.
NC
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
December 15, 2015
I like it. Tracks good so far.
By Forest M.
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
November 17, 2015
I have not hunted with the T5 yet, but if they are as good as DC50, I will be pleased.
By Jeffrey H.
MI
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
November 10, 2015
I've been using Garmin Astro system for 10 years and have used everything from the DC10 through the new T5. The great thing about the T5 is significantly better range performance than prior models. In the Michigan woods, I was getting 400-700 yard performance out of my DC 40's. The T5 goes out past 850 yards no problem. Don't know the limits as my dogs have not gone that far yet. Lots of nice new features on the T5 compared to the DC's. It is however bulkier than I expected. Much more clunky than the DC 40. Much longer antenna. For my Ridgebacks, the extra bulkiness is not a problem, but overall the product is less slick and sleek than I would have expected from a 5th generation offering. Function is great. Garmin, you need to step up the form. Ten plus years into this and the latest iteration is clunkier than the first.
By Kathy B.
MT
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
November 8, 2015
It is so much more relaxing knowing exactly where my dogs are when we are walking in the thick woods! It takes a lot of worry out of me when all 5 of my dogs are out there together.
By Richard B.
GA
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
September 30, 2015
Great service from collars and Gun Dog Supply.
By William A.
NC
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
September 30, 2015
I love the collars. The only problem I had was getting them to pair up with the box. All the t5 collars kept trying to use the same ID number, but I changed that myself, so it was no biggie. Thanks for fast shipping and great service.
By William A.
NC
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
September 28, 2015
The only problem I've had with it was getting it to pair up to my box. Other than that, they work good.
By Howard V.
VA
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
September 21, 2015
Great tracking collars!
By Brandon
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
August 25, 2015
Good collars. Tends to go in and out of communication around 3/4 mile. Fantastic customer service and fast shipping.
By Phyllis F.
SC
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
August 10, 2015
Hunting season opens on the 15th, so we have 5 days left. We are excited to use our newest collar to go with our Garmin system and other collars.
By Daniel S.
MO
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
August 3, 2015
After updating the Astro 320 it hasn't lost the DC40, DC50, or the T5. Steve, would you mind telling Garmin that their tracking device is great, but most hunters probably don't need all the battery eating functions. Producing a more compact bare-bones longer battery life model as an alternative to the bulky all-the-bells-and-whistles model might go over pretty good. Thanks
By Martha S.
AR
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
July 12, 2015
Best money I ever invested, when I bought my tracking collar.
By Jorden S.
UT
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
May 28, 2015
Battery life is shorter. I changed my update rate, so maybe it will improve battery life?
By BRYAN L.
VA
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
May 10, 2015
Does a great job.
By BRYAN L.
VA
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
May 10, 2015
Love my garmin system.
By Dave D.
MD
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
May 4, 2015
So far I am completely satisfied with it. My DC40's only worked properly for about 1.5 years, so I'm hoping this one does better.
By John M.
IL
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
April 30, 2015
Great product!!! I have used it several times already and not had any problems,very easy to link up to hand-held device.Garmin tracking systems are Awesome!!
By Jeffery D.
GA
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
April 18, 2015
Best investment I've made.
By Eric
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
April 14, 2015
I bought this collar for competition hunting, and I like it so far. I bought the Garmin Alpha before this was on the market. And I'm glad garmin came out with this collar. That way you don't need 2 different systems.
By Emma S.
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
March 8, 2015
The Garmin T5 is a HUGE improvement on the old collars. I have not lost contact with any of the dogs at all in the time I switched over to these, even in heavy brush and hilly country and at a good distance away. I use them every day. Originally I bought them to replace one or two of the old Garmin collars, but after finding them so much better I replaced all my collars and chucked the old ones away. Highly recommend these amazing collars especially on long runnier hounds.
By Martha S.
AR
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
March 5, 2015
I absolutely love these collars!!!! The GPS System is AWESOME!!!
By Michael B.
TX
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
February 23, 2015
I have used the T5 collar twenty plus times, and so far so good. The T5 picks up and maintains communication with my Astro unit slightly faster than the DC50 collar. Waiting to see how durable the collar is as time passes before I can give an excellent rating.
By Brandon S.
IL
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
February 21, 2015
Works great!
By Brian M.
WY
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
February 14, 2015
Originally used transmitters, Garmin is so much better. Can just take a quick glance at the receiver screen and know exactly where they are and what they are doing. Probably saved ones life. Emmy became caught in a coyote neck snare while running for sage grouse. System of course thought she was on point. Got to her quick enough to remove the snare. Very scary, very close call.
By Jon W.
MO
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
January 22, 2015
They're great for staying in the race and when you get ready to pick your dogs up after the hunt.
By Sharon K.
SC
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
December 6, 2014
This is a Christmas gift for my husband. Can't wait till he opens gift.
By Anthony H.
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
November 21, 2014
So far so good. Only a couple hunts with these collars, and they do not drop signal like the DC40-DC50 Collars(Which I sold to purchase these). Would recommend if you were unsatisfied with 40s or 50s while using astro 320.
By Marsal's P.
Review for Garmin T5 Additional GPS Dog Tracking Collar
October 19, 2014
Awesome collar. Great people to deal with.

Page 1 of 2
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number: