Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


4.7
231 Reviews
5
80% (185)
4
15% (35)
3
4% (9)
2
0% (1)
1
0% (1)
99% Recommend this product (229 of 231 responses)
By Tyler
Jackson Michigan
Great product!
September 24, 2020
Great product. Use it on my Hunting retrievers. Always enjoy buying from gundog supply
ProsEverything
ConsNothing
By Hank
Sisters, OR
Great product, great service!
September 19, 2020
We’ve been using Garmin Tri Tronic collars for many years with our field dogs. This was an upgrade purchase, and we’re pleased with the new system. I’m also pleased and grateful with the service and the focus on customers with Gun Dog Supply. It’s a real family business, and Steve and the staff extend that feeling to everyone. Great product, great service.
By laura e.
Boynton Beach, FL
High quality product
September 10, 2020
I made the mistake of purchasing an inexpensive $45 training collar on the internet. It was not well made and was unreliable in the stimulations it delivered. This made me lose my confidence as a dog owner/trainer. Do yourself a favor and purchase a well made on like this Garmin Delta XC. It feels good in my hands, works consistently, and gives me the confidence I need to train my dog correctly. The directions could have been a little better but all in all it's an A+ product. Gun Dog Supply provided a great DVD on training your dog to the eCollar with this purchase. This was super helpful too.
By Joe
vermont
Great collar
September 4, 2020
purchased this collar for our 10 month old rescue 2 weeks after he joined our family. He was not interested in treats and has a very high prey drive. Off leash walks were impossible as he would take off at the first fresh scent. Since we have been training with the garmin delta he is a different dog and works with us on our homestead. The remote and collar are both well built and fully waterproof(we live on a river and he swims daily, i have been swimming with the remote in my pocket), intuitive to use, and long lasting battery life, I have charged the remote twice since I started using it and charge the collar every other night or so even though it could probably last longer. (Led makes it easy to tell when it is getting low) The options on the remote change the function of each button allowing you to access any three functions(tone, vibrate, momentary stim, continuous stim) at a time. Adjusting the intensity is easy with separate up and down buttons on the side. This makes it easy to step up a level if the dog is so focused he doesn't respond to your normal baseline. My only minor gripes are that there is no way to access all 4 functions in one training mode, and that i wish I could turn the LED on the collar on from the remote to make keeping track of the dog easier in darkness but these are things I knew when I purchased so I'm just looking for things to put as a con. If i was buying again I might step up to the sport for bark limiter and the additional quarter mile range I have not used the multi collar functions.
ProsMultiple training modes and stim levels Fully waterproof collar and remote Long lasting batteries intuitive to use Raised center button-easy to find the right function without looking at your hand when you need to pay attention to the dog.
ConsCannot access all 4 stim options(tone, vibrate, momentary, continuous) without swapping between training modes because only 3 of the 4 are available in a training mode.
By Gene
Wyoming
Great product and service
September 2, 2020
The Garmin is my third remote trainer and by far the best. My questions were answered by a live person answering the phone, and shipping was very fast. Definitely reccomend
By Fred
Kennett Square, PA
Great Choice
September 2, 2020
Delivered on time and complete. Working well with 6 month old Brittany pup. DVD is very helpful.
By Pathfinder
Orlando,Fl
good basic collar
September 2, 2020
great tool for training and control.
Prosease of use
By Rhonda
Lashmeet, WV
A1 COLLAR - works for my 'stubborn" Texas Heeler.
September 1, 2020
A friend loaned me one of these collars. It worked so well in getting my dog to quit chasing cars, I knew I had to have one, I am well pleased, and I would definitely recommend them to anyone who asks.
ProsEasy to set up, use and understand. 3 different methods to 'control' with.
Expert Review
Drew Blackwell
Product Specialist
Mathiston, MS
Great for Basic Training!
July 22, 2020
This is a very versatile e-collar. Great for basic training. It's really nice that you can change the button settings to different commands to suit your needs. Also with two or three dogs on the transmitter you can save the stim levels for each dog so you don't have to adjust the level when you toggle between dogs. Also great range. 1/2 mile.
ProsVery affordable. Able to save stim levels between dogs
ConsIf you are use to a traditional transmitter set up, it might take a little getting use to.
By Stacey
Kenai, AK
Changed and saved my girl’s life!
July 15, 2020
At 8 weeks, our girl was extremely owner aggressive. We would go many rounds a day with her snarling, lunging, and viscously biting me. I would grab her by the back of the neck, take her down on the floor, hold her down until she would submit, and as soon as she would get up, she would attack again. Vet told me if we cannot get a trainer for aggressive dogs, she would have to be euthanized. There were none for hours around our area. I had put up with the daily attacks for a month. A friend suggested the collar, felt she was worth it to try. When the collar came in, I read up on it and watched videos while it was charging. When it was ready, I put it on her and sure enough, did not take long before I had to use it (I already found the level she needed). She attempted 2 attacks that night. We woke up the next morning to a new girl. A very happy, calm, zero-stressed girl! She has not tried to attack since the first night of the collar, and that was 5 months ago! She has become the perfect girl, very well behaved. At our vets recommendation, we just got the girl a friend, A boy larger than her. We were delighted to learn he was trained with the exact collar we used. He is another very well behaved dog! I Have never had a problem training dogs before, never needed the collar, but this literally saved the life of my girl and possibly saved my life from a mauling.
ProsSafe Effective
ConsHas been turned off during their play a couple of times
By Andrew W.
TX
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
November 2, 2018
Great e-collar, Distance is great and the ability for tone or vibration a plus in certain training scenarios.
By James M.
GA
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
October 18, 2018
Works very well for me and my Bulldog (rescue dog). The online videos really helped with choosing this model. Will do business with Gun Dog Supply in future.
By Alan S.
CO
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
October 14, 2018
My wife and I were very hesitant to go this route, but I actually tested the collar on my own skin (and neck at low levels!) and it really isn't the scary thing that the term "shock collar" tends to conjure up. We've have some major breakthroughs in a VERY short time using this collar. Our pup is 8 months old, Saint Pyrenees (Saint Bernard/Great Pyrenees hybrid). She's already a big girl with a mind of her own. This was definitely the way to go. Highly recommend, with proper use (we have a trainer working with us that recommended this and is very familiar with its use... the video is great as well).
By Anna C.
MI
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
October 12, 2018
I love that there are so many correction levels with this system. Just the beep is usually enough to deter my dog from whatever he is doing that he shouldn't be. The collar itself is very long but I don't want to cut it in case I need to use it on another dog at some point. An additional keeper would be great for the excess. I took one off another collar and put it on.
By Ruth L.
ME
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
October 11, 2018
We like it for the price we paid. It lacks some things the more expensive collars have. It does the job we need it for. Mostly to keep our pup near us in our yard and for training purposes.
By Holland H.
TX
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
October 11, 2018
Collar works great no issues.
By Gary H.
MI
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
October 11, 2018
The Garmin Delta XC is easy to use and was very quick to set-up. The stimulation settings are easy to adjust and do drive a positive behavior response from my dog. One challenge is my dog is a german shepherd and at times the collar doesn't always make a consistent contact and requires adjustment as he gets more active.
By John H.
VA
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
October 11, 2018
By JAMES H.
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar 2-dog
October 11, 2018
I dont have any experience with other collars to compare them.
By Rachel D.
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
December 14, 2016
This and training has changed how we work with our dog. It is easy and clear to use.
By Ellis S.
SC
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
October 31, 2016
I am very pleased with this purchase. My dog is well trained, but recently began ignoring commands. I was skeptical at first, due to the size of my dog (135lbs), but on just level 2 he quickly obeys our commands even when running the fence line playing with the neighbor dog. Before we would have to drag him by his collar back into the house.
By David S.
WI
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
October 22, 2016
Great service!
By Pat T.
Ca
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
October 22, 2016
Great choice of product, great service, and fast shipping!
By Peter R.
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
September 20, 2016
Love the service, but the collar doesn't meet expectations. Even with the longer contacts, and a collar tightened to the point of choking, it still slips around the throat, meaning at times no contact when it's needed most, and a training moment is not only lost, but because of lack of consistency, may also have negative implications. It did not take long for mt dog to recognize if I didn't have the remote in my hand, nothing adverse was going to happen. Otherwise, a pretty good product, but because of lack of reliability, can't tell if it works at distance or not.
By Megan M.
AL
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
September 19, 2016
Really easy to use. Just what I was looking for.
By Cody J.
NC
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
September 15, 2016
Really great product. If you got a stubborn dog that you can't get to listen, you need this product. Made a world of difference!
By Charly T.
WA
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
September 6, 2016
Very easy to set up and use.
By Kathleen S.
MO
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
September 2, 2016
The only thing about training a pet is that you have to be present at all times in order to be consistent in reminding the dog of bad behavior. :-) Otherwise, the collar works. I have to be more consistent and present while training him to stop running the fence line after cars and trucks.
By STEVEN B.
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
September 1, 2016
The perfect problem solver...
By Brennan S.
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
August 5, 2016
Momentary shock doesn't work. The only function to shock that does work is continuous, but only in direct line of sight.
By Judith I.
CA
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
August 1, 2016
I've never used an E-Collar before, but it has been great so far. Very easy to use. I like the size of the transmitter also...not too big. I took advantage of the Robin MacFarlane DVD offer, and I'm so glad I did! I feel like Steve's reviews of the E-Collars helped me pick the correct one to meet my needs. Thank you!
By Josh C.
CA
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
August 1, 2016
We had a trainer come give us a demo with the collar his company uses, which happens to be the Garmin XC. They wanted about a thousand dollars to train our dog. We decided to purchase the same collar and give it a go ourselves. Three days after we received the collar our dog was not pulling us around. She was heeling and sitting. Still a long way to go. It just takes persistence and time. Very happy with the results.
By Andrea B.
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
July 23, 2016
The Garmin Delta XC is our second electronic collar. Previously, we owned a PetSafe. Really love the Garmin because you have three options beep, vibrate and shock. Usually no need to shock if the beep doesn't work promptly. The vibrate only is enough to get him back. We have an interior lot, and he likes to explore the woods. Can't see where he is, so this gets him back to our view. It also worked great camping. He wore the collar when we were just relaxing on the site, and he didn't wonder. There was no need to have him tied up. What is different about the Garmin is that you cannot hear the beep, whereas the PetSafe I could, so I would have an idea where he was even if I couldn't see him. But the three options outweigh that. You won't regret this purchase and Gun Dog Supply got the order to us promptly. Great doing business with them also.
By Gerald P.
LA
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
July 16, 2016
Works great!!! Hadn't bought one in 30 years. A lot of improvements!!!
By Ty B.
KY
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
July 16, 2016
Charge doesn't last as long as advertised, but everything else is flawless.
By Scott N.
TN
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
June 30, 2016
I like the unit. I haven't tried the range on it. I have been just doing some training around the house to teach some young dogs to lead and come. It's working out great for me.
By Andrew J.
PA
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
June 27, 2016
Can't complain.
By JOHN C.
FL
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
June 4, 2016
Impressive. Works well right out of the box. I like that the receiver is small and basically unnoticeable on my long haired dog. The video was very helpful(except for the music). Follow-up questions were answered promptly.
By Douglass B.
TX
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
June 1, 2016
Great product and great service from Gun Dog Supply. Had an issue with the transmitter upon delivery and Gun Dog Supply had a replacement at my door in a few days. Great service!
By J D.
Va
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
May 15, 2016
Vibrate setting works very well on its' own. Will see how it holds up in salt water.
By TIMOTHY H.
PA
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
May 14, 2016
Still very impressed with how well they preform.had to give my old one to my in-laws and they really liked the way it works for their retreiver
By Ashley C.
KY
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
May 7, 2016
The training collar works great and it's nice to have options for tone, vibration, and stimulation modes. We are just still getting used to the actual training itself. It's a work in progress!!
By Christopher D.
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
May 7, 2016
Best thing we've purchased. Only have to use the vibration and tone to get the correct response!! Very easy training tool.
By Robert H.
GA
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
May 6, 2016
I was skeptical at first. I honestly didn't think there was much hope for my dog Buck. Boy was I wrong! After about 5 times of him getting a quick zap he was trained. Now he stays in the yard and doesn't run away anymore. He listens on command and has turned out to be the best dog. It took about 4 days. I definitely recommend this product!
By Lewis P.
MS
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
April 25, 2016
Works like it should and easy to use. My dog responds great, it's a good product and was delivered fast.
By Audrey B.
CO
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
April 24, 2016
Raven was introduced to the collar by a trainer at 7 mos., which really helped. Now I'm doing the training and I truly believe I made the right decision in choosing the Garmin. I live in a remote area in the Colorado mountains and the COME command is the most important to me because of the wildlife diversity where I live, day-to-day hazards (fast-moving water, vehicles, etc.), and managing his enthusiastic behavior around tiny children.
By Linda M.
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
April 21, 2016
This foster dog now has a 100 yard reliable recall.
By Amy Y.
PA
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
April 20, 2016
It really is as easy as it looks in the video. My dog has stopped pulling on the leash and doesn't run away when off leash. We are only using minimal strength and the beeps usually work. Very proud of the progress in just one week.
By Bret J.
OR
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
April 19, 2016
I love working with this collar! I have used it with my own dogs and with my client's dog's. It is pretty easy to operate and versatile in a way that will allow me to use this collar in a variety of ways! Thanks Gun Dog Supply and Garmin for creating a collar that can be used in a safe and positive way!
By Paula A.
WA
Review for Garmin Delta XC Remote Training Collar
April 18, 2016
Really like the way the collar goes over the unit. Ensures a better fit. Wish the handheld part had a way to hang on something, but it's pretty durable when dropped! Also, the charge lasts forever; 3 days for us with it constantly on. The training DVD that came with was helpful, and the link to the further training is great too. Thanks!

Page 1 of 5
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2020, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.