Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+

You are here:  > 

4.7
55 Reviews
5
80% (44)
4
11% (6)
3
7% (4)
2
2% (1)
1
0% (0)
96% Recommend this product (53 of 55 responses)
By Donna R.
Moundville, AL
Great whistle
November 8, 2023
This is the best whistle for bird dog hunting and training. The 2 holes seem to make a more wide range sound for the dogs to hear. Lasts a really long time too.
By lorideedee
North Georgia Mountains
Very nice whistle
June 8, 2023
Like to run my Lab off lead, & like for him to respond quickly. This whistle does the trick. Easy to use, & easy to adjust volume & length of whistled commands. Very bright neon yellow, matches lanyard & dog collar- my dog gets very happy when he sees me grab it.
Pros
  • Easy to use , haven
Cons
  • none
By Andrew
CALIFORNIA
Meh, Good Whistles Are Hard To Find!
February 22, 2023
This whistle isn't great. It takes a lot of air to get it to whistle which means it has to be loud. I like whistles I really control the volume on.
Pros
  • loud
Cons
  • cant use a low volume
By Shawn
Vancouver, Wa.
Good whistle
January 17, 2023
This this really cranks. The pealess design is great in freezing weather.
By V K.
Gary, IN
The dogs come running when I blow the whistle.
September 25, 2022
My dogs respond to the high pitched whistle tone. I prefer a louder regular whistle tone, but it is not about me, it is what gets my dogs moving.
Pros
  • Dogs respond to the whistle.
Cons
  • I don't think it is loud enough.
By Pete
Oregon
The "Failsafe" whistle.
April 13, 2022
This is my "go to" whistle, they don't clog, freeze up or stop working. They are loud and the tone carries well for the dogs to hear. I can't recommend these enough.
Pros
  • No Clogging with spittle.
  • No waterlogged "pea"
  • Won't freeze up.
  • Nice loud tone.
Cons
  • A bit bigger form factor than other whistles.
By Barkley
Pahrump, NV
loud
October 9, 2021
Use in training pups and the different pitch works out for me
Pros
  • pitch difference
Cons
  • learning curve on how to blow whistle
By Mike
New Jersey
Attention Getting
October 6, 2021
I received the whistles I ordered. They make a loud and shrill sound. I use them in lieu of an electronic collar to get my dog's attention and take his mind off of distractions. They work well for me in this regard.
Pros
  • Make a loud shrill sound that can be heard over ocean surf and vehicular traffic
Cons
  • Can take a lot of forced air to get the desired sound (not a big issue)
By Josh
Evansville, IN 47714, USA
Works great/super Loud
April 8, 2021
Much louder than my other whistle. Really gets my dogs attention when doing casting drills
Pros
  • Loud
Cons
  • Wish it came with a lanyard!
By Annette
California
Fox 40 Classic Whistle
October 7, 2020
A good quality whistle at an affordable price, consistent tone, loud and clear over distance. Love the different color choices.
By JIM B.
OR
Review for
October 10, 2018
Great range. Cuts Thru wind really well.
By Travis N.
OK
Review for
October 12, 2016
The Fox 40 has a great sound and quality feel to it.
By Eric R.
AR
Review for
October 11, 2016
Very loud, and easy to use. Great buy.
By Michael B.
MA
Review for
August 26, 2016
works great, very loud. whistle training is going great. thanks again!
By Brian A.
IL
Review for
June 27, 2016
Loud and easy to blow. My dog responds to it immediately.
By Mike W.
KY
Review for
April 17, 2016
A great whistle!
By Ann S.
MI
Review for
April 4, 2016
I love the Fox. It's loud and clear.
By Kirk
MN
Review for
March 3, 2016
This whistle has good volume and a deep tone. It works well for the one blast to get the dog to sit. It is hard to tweet with it so it doesn't work the best for recalls.The more shrill whistle I have works better for that application.
By Todd H.
UT
Review for
February 27, 2016
I've tried a couple different whistles and the fox 40 has been the best by far.
By Jess L.
TX
Review for
February 4, 2016
I use this whistle more than any other whistle while duck and goose hunting. Its load, it's small and its pea less design make it a perfect fit for my lanyard in the field.
By Ricky B.
La
Review for
January 18, 2016
Very powerful whistle. Gets my dog's attention in very strong winds at long distances. As a teacher, my wife used it to get students attention. If it works on today's teenagers!?!?!
By Jim P.
CA
Review for
December 5, 2015
They have excellent tone for intermediate, as well as long range. I guess I must love the 40, since I have 6 just to make sure they are in every place I might need one. They're the only whistle we use.
By Roger K.
CT
Review for
October 17, 2015
Best whistle I have used.
By Mike W.
Review for
October 5, 2015
I preferred the Acme Tornado Whistle #623.
By Megan M.
WI
Review for
July 10, 2015
Love it!!! Works great, better than any other whistle.
By Philip J.
WI
Review for
March 6, 2015
Good whistle for quite right next to you, and great at 400 yds.
By Muriel N.
WI
Review for
February 10, 2015
Warning: You need ear protection! How loud it is surprised me.
By Thom L.
NC
Review for
January 26, 2015
The sound carries well. The trill is a bit much. Perhaps this is due to using a whistle without the pea for so many years.
By William S.
AR
Review for
January 24, 2015
At 76, the last addition to my lower dentures did in my ability to let loose my lifelong signature (two-finger) whistle, which has always signaled to my dogs--and my kids--that I was issuing an order, not asking a favor. And whistling the way one would to whistle a melody didn't even get my dog Shine to lift an ear. Obvious solution? Buy a whistle that would allow me to duplicate the sound of my two-fingered command. Secondary problem? You can't know the sound of a whistle by looking at it, and the folks in stores are not at all understanding when you ask to test their stock. Final solution? Gun Dog Supply. Your descriptions of your various whistles allowed me to pick out a whistle that produces a sound so like my own that Shine, a good two-hundred yards away from me and busy with his sniffing, immediately straightened up and came to me at a dead run. Boy, did that feel good!
By Michael B.
IL
Review for
January 20, 2015
Not loud enough.
By Gerald T.
IL
Review for
January 5, 2015
Couldn't believe how fast this came.
By Ernie B.
NY
Review for
December 31, 2014
Millie is as deaf as a post to voice commands, but this whistle gets her attention. 'nuff said.
By Joe D.
WARSAW
Review for
December 28, 2014
Tried 6 other whistles without success. Fox 40 classic and mini are what my dog responds to the best.Won't be without one.
By Jennifer S.
GA
Review for
December 19, 2014
This has a great sound and is pealess, so works when it is cold and wet. Very effective, but I preferred the smaller Fox 40.
By Dale R.
MO
Review for
November 13, 2014
Great whistle! Dogs have no trouble hearing it even in high wind days.
By Scfrank
Review for
November 6, 2014
Can't find a better call. This is the one to use for working, hunting dogs.
By Clayton M.
Review for
October 30, 2014
I've only ever used Fox whistles. Can be heard for miles.
By Vern M.
CA
Review for
October 13, 2014
Good loud whistle. High pitch carries long distance.
By Ann S.
MI
Review for
September 11, 2014
Whistle works great. I love it.
By Donna S.
TX
Review for
September 5, 2014
Love that it is loud enough for my dog to hear in the field.
By Jonathan R.
AL
Review for
August 27, 2014
Great whistle. No pea to freeze... Very loud.
By Scott W.
PA
Review for
August 21, 2014
Good service.
By Annie-Pier B.
QC
Review for
August 18, 2014
Good product. I'm very happy!
By Chris
Review for
July 11, 2014
This is the whistle my trainer recommended. I like the whistle overall. It is loud and seems to work well at various volumes. I'm confident it will last because there is really nothing to break or degrade.
By Shelley
NJ
Review for
April 12, 2014
So far it makes noise like it's supposed to!
By Ed R.
CO
Review for
March 14, 2014
Excellent in quality, and an effective tool for training and hunting.
By Jason F.
SD
Review for
February 9, 2014
Very easy to blow. Produces right volume for training and hunting. A lot of whistles seem like work to blow. Not so with the fox.
By Marte C.
ID
Review for
February 6, 2014
My husband thinks it's fine. I'm apparently not a big enough blowhard - I have trouble making it sound loud enough to carry past the door.
By Denis C.
NJ
Review for
November 25, 2013
Probably the best whistle out there when you need to get your dog's attention under abnormal conditions, such as high wind or near highways, etc.
By Thomas S.
WA
Review for
November 16, 2013
Still prefer the old style cork pea type whistle. Fox40 is ok but not as loud or shrill.

Page 1 of 2
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2024, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions