Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.8
91 Reviews
5
82% (75)
4
13% (12)
3
3% (3)
2
0% (0)
1
1% (1)
98% Recommend this product (89 of 91 responses)
By GreggCT
CT
Fairly realistic but much firmer than a real bird
March 28, 2022
The dummy is so realistic that the feet were actually sticking through the packaging. I haven't had a chance to start real training with it but due to its firmness it seems larger than a real bird in the dog's mouth. It also seems like it will be durable. I was trying to decide between 3 stars and 4 and went with 3 because, while it's realistic, I probably wouldn't buy it again. Same thing with recommending to a friend. I might recommend it with an explanation.
ProsVery realistic right down to the sharp toes
ConsBecause of its firmness, larger than a real bird.
By Davis
San Diego, CA
Solid dummy for training
January 4, 2022
I have a Nova Scotia Duck Toller, which is a smaller dog, smaller mouth. This dummy really taught him how to carry a real bird compared to a white training dummy. He loves this dummy and training has been much more fun.
ProsRealistic body shape and weight to teach your dog to hold a real bird. Coloring, head, and tail give a realistic feel to help your dog prepare for working in the field. Dog is more excited to train with this dummy than white rod shape dummy. Combining with scent makes tracking and blind retrieves way easier to train. Tough enough to hold up to many throws.
By J C.
North Dakota
My Lab's favorite Dummy
August 26, 2021
Good way to teach the proper hold and my dog loves it
ProsGood texture and feel for my dog. Worth the extra money and durable.
Consnone
By Zach
Oregon
Good training bjrd
August 24, 2021
I got this to train my GSP as a versatile dog. She retrieves toys but she was not sure about this trainer tool at first. I taped two parts of a pheasant wing to it to transition her from retrieving wings only. After swinging it around to get her excited about it and playing around with it she is retrieving it properly. The pheasant is a realistic size and shape, and is very durable. I can swing it as hard as I can throw and it just bounces off the ground and does not show more sign of wear than grass smudges. Now she is has little interest in her old toys and just wants this one.
ProsDurable Good weight Encourages proper bite / carry
ConsNone
By Brett
Missouri
Great for training
August 14, 2021
My dog is great a bringing back bumpers to hand all day. But when it comes to real birds she has a habit of dropping them a few feet short. I heard about this on a podcast and figured I’d give it a try. At first it was more of a challenge for my dog but after a few sessions she’s getting the hang of it. It teaches her to not pick the bird up by the tail and get a good grip on the body.
ProsHard tail so the dog doesn't want to pick it up by the tail feather.
ConsNone
By David
Connecticut
My pup loved it.
May 30, 2021
Good toy for training hide and retrieve.
By Jt
KY
Great products
April 22, 2021
Like always. Dokken has the best dummies available, in my opinion.
By J
WY
Quality Product
April 10, 2021
I bought this for a puppy that I do not yet have. However you can see and feel that this is constructed to last. The shipping from Mississippi to Wyoming was fast as well.
ProsTough, size of actual pheasant.
ConsNone that I can see
By Michael R.
Pennsylvania
Great training bird
March 18, 2021
My dog loves training with it.
ProsLooks real in my dogs mouth
ConsDurable
By MICHAEL L.
45660
dont like
March 4, 2021
dont like
By Steve
Missouri
Awesome Product!
January 22, 2021
I run my dog around the neighborhood almost daily. This thing has bounced off streets, sidewalks and god only knows what else else and keeps working. Definitely worth the money!
By Gary B.
arvada CO
works
January 12, 2021
used it and it does as advertised. my griffon picks up by the body. it will be helpful in reminding her where to grab.
By Stewart T.
Hanover, Virginia
Helped bring out my retrievers natural instincts!
January 1, 2021
Great training tool. As realistic as possible without having live birds. Helped bring out my 6 month old retrievers natural instincts! In which I was actually worried with this boy, lol! He actually picked up speed going after it and was pumped up. The pheasant scent helped as well. I had the Dokken Mallard years ago when they first came out, but I actually like this pheasant because the tail hit my pup in the face while attempting to shake. Once! Never did it again.
ProsRealistic Natural softness that helped with properly holding onto the bird. My pup really had no other choice but to hold this training pheasant correctly. My 8 year old daughter training partner could swing this pheasant around and throw at different angles fairly easily! Nice for dragging along the ground with the scent on the neck rope for blinds. Crippled training.
ConsNone
By Mike
California
Life like
December 26, 2020
Great product. My dog loves it. He was hesitant to pick up birds in the field. After working with the Deadfowl Dummy he is awesome finding and retrieving birds.
ProsLife like
By Nora
Bailey CO
Puppy loves them!!
December 24, 2020
They like the feel and weight.
ProsEasy to scent
Consstains easily
By Bill
Liberty, MO
Good product
December 20, 2020
Dog lives it. Is holding up very well
ProsSo far is holding up very well. My dog loves to retrieve it
By Jerod
Topeka, KS
Quality Gear for dog training
December 19, 2020
Second one of these training dummies I have owned. They are durable and easy to use. Holds up to hundreds if not a few thousand retrieves.
ProsWeight, quality, ease of use
By Eric
Millis
Great Decoy
September 4, 2020
This is a high quality decoy which is the perfect size for my young golden to retrieve. I may end up removing the tail as it tends to scare the dog in certain circumstances but otherwise great product. Also received this decoy in record time and the ordering was seamless. Thanks
By Jack M.
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
October 18, 2018
Training 1 yr old Vizsla, this thing is indestructible.
By Steven P.
MN
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
October 18, 2018
By Greg S.
CA
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
October 18, 2018
By Bret T.
MT
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
October 18, 2018
By Guy M.
MI
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
October 16, 2018
My Spinone puppy loves it.
By Michael R.
MD
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
October 31, 2016
No complaints! Good product and excellent service!
By Christine S.
Or
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
September 15, 2016
9 month old loves retrieving this. Excellent training tool.
By Charles I.
PA
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
August 30, 2016
Shortly after receiving it, the paint or topcoat started to come off in the tail area.
By Doug M.
OH
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
July 7, 2016
The size and weight of this dummy is a good resemblance of a live bird. The movement in the head and tail help to discourage the dog from shaking the bird on retrieve. Helps for a soft mouth. This dummy would have been a five star if they were to add a ball or handle to the rope to make it easier to throw.
By Mike K.
OK
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
June 28, 2016
Great product!!!! Highly recommend it for training your dog to retrieve.
By Wayne J.
NY
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
April 19, 2016
So far it's holding up well, but the head and tail connection to the body seems weak. Only time will tell if it is. Hopefully I am wrong, but I am reluctant to use exclusively for fetching. I will use the bumpers for the majority of training, and then use the Dokken as hunting season gets near.
By Kelly C.
MN
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
March 10, 2016
Very realistic in size and weight. Inject with scent and it makes a killer training combo.
By Stephen S.
NE
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
February 12, 2016
My German Short Hair does not like the dummy but my Blood Hound does. This dummy has been very effective in teaching him to retrieve, especially when used with the Pheasant scent.
By Rob G.
VA
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
December 28, 2015
Great training tool. Very realistic and well made.
By Rachal S.
VI
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
December 13, 2015
Excellent for illustrating size to a room full of judges at the AKC/DJAA Sporting Dog Institute that need to understand how critical correct under jaw and muzzle length are in my breed.
By RICHARD N.
AL
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
December 11, 2015
Works good. Helping me train a young hunting dog.
By Rosanne T.
IL
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
December 3, 2015
Puppy coming soon. My daughter amd son-in-law are getting back into pheasent hunting and wanted this for training.
By Joseph M.
AK
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
November 13, 2015
My dog would not touch it until I injected it with the pheasant scent.
By Brandon B.
VA
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
October 12, 2015
Works well for retrieving training.
By Justin A.
UT
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
September 17, 2015
Awesome. My dog loves it, and acts like it's the real thing!
By Michael
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
September 4, 2015
Our pup loves this dummy!!! This is our third Dokken. We have a mallard for water work, Quail for upland and this pheasant for field. I would recommend the ball attachment and pheasant scent. I was concerned with the tail. It's thin, flexible and durable. Adds realism to training.
By Bruce G.
PA
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
August 16, 2015
Haven't had opportunity to use it yet, but think it's well made and will work well with training my lab.
By Nick O.
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
August 4, 2015
Great dummy and teaches the dog exactly were to pick up the bird
By Scott B.
OH
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
August 1, 2015
Works great. The soft body teaches my spaniel where to hold the bird while the hard feet and head keeps her from shaking the bird while retrieving it.
By Jake C.
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
July 24, 2015
My 7 month old Lab absolutely loves this. Best buy I have made for her yet.
By Ed R.
IN
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
June 4, 2015
The best training tool ever used. My GSP LOVES this!
By Edward C.
WA
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
June 3, 2015
Work good for either field or water retrieves.
By Bruce S.
MT
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
April 17, 2015
Great product!
By Don F.
IL
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
April 6, 2015
This Dokken is great for a larger breed or a dog who naturally retrieves. It is not a good size to start your puppy with since the size may not fit in the mouth.
By Michael S.
OK
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
March 20, 2015
Haven't used it enough to form a solid opinion. Dogs do seem to want to pick it up by the plastic head or feet.
By Edward H.
NY
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
March 2, 2015
Works great.
By Rich A.
CT
Review for Pheasant F-100 Dokken Deadfowl Dummy
January 23, 2015
What's to say. Dokken has the best trainers, and Gun Dog Supply has them at a great price. Thanks!

Page 1 of 2
1





privacy policy | terms & conditions


1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions