Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


5.0
45 Reviews
5
98% (44)
4
2% (1)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (45 of 45 responses)
By Victoria C.
Vienna, Va
The tools I need to train my retriever
October 26, 2022
This book was recommended to me by my retriever club and is just what I was looking for. Contains lots of training drills with detailed explanations. Highly recommend !
By Paul
North Carolina
Have a plan
October 19, 2022
I had a judge recommend this book of drills after chatting with him after an HRC test. It is gold. Great drills for all levels and ways to build on each skill. Helps to have a solid plan before your training sessions. This book is a must have.
ProsSimple and drills that can be built on as skills progress. Drills for specific areas to work on
By Zach
St Charles, Missouri
Absolute requirement for advanced retriever training
July 30, 2022
This book give you lots of practical drills to advance your retreiver at home. Every drill has diagrams and is well detailed.
ProsSimplifies training plans
By Shawn
North Carolina
Available and in stock.
January 19, 2022
Gun Dog Supply was the only place I was able to find it in stock and available.
ProsIn stock and fast delivery.
ConsNone.
By Leslie S.
SC
Wonderful resource
December 7, 2021
This was recommended to me by a friend. I'm new to field and I have enjoyed reading this very informative book. I would recommend it to anyone.
ProsVery easy to follow
By Scott
Indiana
Drills for Dummies, a Step by Step guide to training your retriever
August 12, 2021
This has to be one of the most in depth, descriptive training manual on the market. The manual is full of drills and how-too’s. You will not be disappointed.
ProsNumerous, descriptive, step by step drills
ConsI wish Carol would write a book specifically on pressure conditioning. When to use and how to use the eCollar effectively and Humanly. Most books on the market shy away from this.
By Biff E.
Butte Montana
great drill book
August 10, 2021
This is my retriever training Bible. Very detailed drills and how to run them.most of the drills have 3 levels of difficulty which allows you to tailor your training session to your pups level.
By Deb
PA
Recommended by many as the must-have training book
July 5, 2021
The drills in particular have been cited by many in the Toller community and beyond. We look forward to using these for our amazing bird dog :-)
By Customer
seattle
book
June 26, 2021
very good book i didn't know you needed a second person to throw birds have not got poppers
By Wendy
NJ
Great layout
April 27, 2021
This book has so many great drills. I love how it is laid out with a purpose of the drill, drawings, what to do if it's not working, etc. Every waterfowl handler should get this, especially dogs that do hunt tests!
By John
Virginia
Great Book
January 29, 2021
I was looking for new things to teach my dog and this book had wonderful new things I could work on with him, we both are learning!
By Glen
Arkansas
Awesome training tool
January 29, 2021
Very detailed instructions covering pretty much every aspect of training a hunting dog! Easy to follow with pictures, and diagrams in abundance.
By Pat
Michigan
Building a Retriever - Drills by Carol F. Cassity
September 6, 2020
Love this book! Has so much information and easy to use. I spiral bound mine to make it easier to fold open. This is my third book for this 3rd edition.
ProsLove the book.
By Ian N.
Charleston, SC
Great!!!!!
September 3, 2020
Very easy to follow along!! Some training books that I have purchased in the past have left me more confused than prior to buying the training books!! This particular book is perfect in regards to being informative, fun and easy to follow along. Regardless of how far along your dog is there is something for him/her in this book.
By Cindy O.
WA
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
October 25, 2018
As a novice retriever trainer it give many good suggestions for drills.
By Patricia R.
OH
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
October 18, 2018
Haven't read it all yet but looks good. Good pairing with her Master seminar that I attended this summer.
By Ron K.
MI
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
October 11, 2018
Great help in training a retriever. Lots of drills and info.
By Jimmy
IA
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
October 28, 2016
Good read!
By Bennett E.
CA
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
August 2, 2016
A great source to set up training drills.
By Douglas C.
CA
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
June 21, 2016
Great book for beginning and experienced dog handlers. The book is full of excellent advice and drills.
By Don G.
NJ
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
June 17, 2016
Building a Retriever is an excellent source for expanding traning drills while providing a cLear explanation. I train weekly with several friends and their gun dogs of various breeds. All enthusiastic waterfowl hunters and several of us handle our dogs guiding hunts during the upland season. Thanks for an excellent training resource. Building a Retriever - Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity is a valuable source of information to us help train and continue to improve our gun dogs.
By Matthew S.
IL
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
June 17, 2016
Well organized book with easily understood descriptions/diagrams of the drills.
By Larry H.
ID
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
April 21, 2016
Great book.
By Rick S.
PA
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
April 20, 2016
Great book with lots of useful drills. Author explains some dog behavior in a different way. Interesting read.
By Phil S.
MI
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
March 22, 2016
There are a lot of great drills to keep your dog sharp, and also to keep dog training fresh.
By Odette F.
NY
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
February 17, 2016
I love how the drills are ranked beginning, moderate, and advanced. And also ranked by how many helpers you need to do the drill. I'm a rookie retriever trainer, many times working by myself; so I can focus on the drills that are for my level and I can do by myself. Also the explanations of the early drills are understandable.
By Laura V.
CA
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
February 8, 2016
Awesome book. Really like the exercises. Very informative!
By Ron S.
TX
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
January 25, 2016
Great drills including common problems and solutions. Easy to understand.
By Alfred B.
NJ
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
January 10, 2016
Very good book. I would highly recommend it.
By Tasia T.
TX
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
December 27, 2015
I bought this book as a gift for my nephew. He specifically requested it for Christmas.
By Beth H.
AR
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
December 24, 2015
I love the drills. They are divided into beginner, intermediate, and advanced. The only thing I would change is I wish they were sequenced to #1, #2, etc. You can sort of figure that out, but you have to really dig all the way through the book.
By John B.
MS
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
August 30, 2015
Good, practical information. Drills for one or several people. Also has some useful insights on dog psychology, with a touch of humor thrown in.
By Sharon O.
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
July 10, 2015
Good explanation of drills that teach various concepts. Drills are fun!
By Francis C.
TX
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
July 6, 2015
Very happy with it. Have already used it to help teach myself and my dogs.
By Robert K.
MI
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
April 23, 2015
This book does an excellent job of helping trainer run the right drill the right way. Great book!
By W T.
BC
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
February 9, 2015
Great book full of effective drills! A wonderful book for people who train on their own or in small groups. Easy to read and follow.
By Bonnie S.
PA
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
December 22, 2014
This book came highly recommended from the breeder that we purchased our newest lab from. The drills are fun and easy to understand. Great for the trainer and the pup.
By Pat C.
MN
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
October 11, 2014
This book is excellent.
By Brandon S.
KY
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
August 17, 2014
I've used this many times already, and had it less than a month.
By Steven W.
Ut
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
July 28, 2014
Best book I have found for the training of a retriever to advanced skills. Well written and easy to understand.
By Keith S.
NE
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
July 27, 2014
This is a good book with lots of drills. If your dog is having problems they give you some potential solutions. Overall great book.
By Theresa M.
MO
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
May 25, 2014
Working with a retriever and needed/wanted a guide for retrieving drills. Love this book. Drill directions are easy to follow and in a sensible order. The book has helped me a lot. Kind of my drill bible..Terri
By Aaron S.
KS
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
March 31, 2014
Good book. "Dummied" down, so anyone could understand the drills of this book.
By Fred B.
NJ
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
January 25, 2014
No matter how many years you have been training dogs, there is something in this book for you.
By Glenda M.
TX
Review for Building a Retriever -- Drills and More by Carol F. Cassity Book
November 1, 2013
We have had this book for years - we use all of Carols' drills and find they improve our dogs' performances tremendously. We recommend it to all our clients. . Glenda & Julianne Mitchell - Kanati Kennels, Brownwood, TX

Page 1 of 1





privacy policy | terms & conditions


1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions