Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.7
333 Reviews
5
0% (0)
4
0% (0)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
98% Recommend this product (325 of 333 responses)
By David D.
SC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 8, 2014
Lightweight but tough. Did not bother dog at all. And cut down on briars and burrs. Very happy with the product.
By Denise S.
GA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 8, 2014
Love it, and the customer service was outstanding.
By Edward H.
ND
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 4, 2014
Construction design makes a lot more sense. It covers the full under belly and chest. The material is much heavier than some of the inexpensive vests. I haven't gotten a chance to try it out in the field yet, but I'm convinced that it will be excellent.
By Edward C.
WA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 27, 2013
My 7 month old German Shorthair tore a 4 inch gash in her chest while hunting in the brush. I bought the Sylmar body guard vest to protect her underside. It has worked great. Plus the orange color makes her much more visible. The straps on the back make good handles for lifting her over a fence. The only problem I've had is the straps on the back getting hooked on barbed wire.
By Allan W.
NY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 24, 2013
Made well and in the USA...XL fits the chest ...but too long .
By Christine P.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 17, 2013
Quality is good. Full chest protection is good. Durable material. Fits way better than the neoprene, but still needed lots of alteration to fit. The armholes are too small, but at least it is shaped generally like a dog. Since I can't buy a insulated vest for a really big outdoors dog, I lined this one with insulated fleece. Was pretty conducive to that.
By Steve
IA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 14, 2013
I've only had the vests for 2 weeks so I can't say how they hold up on the long run. The straps and buckles make the vests very adjustable. They protect the dog's throat and chest, as well as the upper portions of the front legs. They are also very visible. They are a little noisy in below freezing conditions but the dogs adjusted to them in just a few minutes.
By Juliana V.
CA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 13, 2013
This vest is very noisy when the dog moves, and it rubs her elbows. It scared her so much to wear it that she was trembling. After about 5 minutes of wearing it, I took it off. I need something that won't rub her elbows, is quiet, and perhaps somewhat stretchy so it fits better.
By Douglas H.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 9, 2013
Great vest! Very durable materials with large, sturdy buckles. Holds up to the elements. The vest is a little tight in the chest but my lab is heavily built in the front. The buckles just needed to be loosened a little. Over all I well made product
By Kelli Y.
IA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 2, 2013
Works great! It was hard for us to find a vest small enough for our dog, and this fit him perfect! We have had no problems in the field with the vest whatsoever, and our dog doesn't mind having it on one bit. It definitely gives us peace of mind since he has cut his chest open on barbed wire previously. Thanks for making a great product available for the smaller dogs!
By Ronald K.
CO
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 27, 2013
Just field tested on my black lab on a 3 day pheasant hunt in South Dakota. It did rub his front legs pretty good. It may be that I need to adjust the straps better. Overall it is a really good product and protects well. Just need to figure out why it is rubbing his legs.
By Jim J.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 26, 2013
Great product. I have 2 EP, and hunt some really thick brush early in the year. Kept their belly from getting raw and scratched up by running through the tall weeds. I also have a GWP. Bought one for him and really helped out with the cockle-burs from sticking to him. And great for visibility. Great buy for the money.
By Mark B.
OH
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 26, 2013
Excellent product. Fits and protects my Brittany well. Does not pull up or bunch when used in heavy cover. Beats pulling burs and stickers for hours after the hunt.
By William S.
OH
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 26, 2013
After two hunts with this vest I do believe it is indestructible. The length and fit around the chest are the best of any vest i have seen. But I should have gone with my first thoughts and bought the vest with the sleeves. The leg openings are so big that after a days hunt my dog has no hair left on his chest where exposed. I have ordered the Cordura material and found myself trying to sew a pair of sleeves for the remainder of our Pheasant season.
By Gene H.
KS
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 25, 2013
This vest did the two things I was hoping for. It protected the dog's underside and made him highlly visible in the field. Thanks for sending this item so quickly. Gene
By William K.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 22, 2013
Very well made and adjustable fit. This vest would have prevented the significant injury to my GSP had he'd been wearing one. A Must have. I have used other types of vests, and this is the best for protection and fit. No risk of it coming off of a short tailed dog, like other designs I have used.
By JOHN C.
NY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 21, 2013
Very happy with this vest. Once Gaby got use to it, she was able to move just as freely as before. The double lining on the chest is a great idea. Well designed product.
By Walt B.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 21, 2013
Very good. Tough. I have to modify it a bit so it doesn't chafe my dog's shoulders.
By Cody P.
KS
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 20, 2013
This thing works great. It will not fold down in the middle like other vests.
By Tom I.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 18, 2013
Vest works great. Doesn't irritate the dog or make her too hot. And beside protection from sharp objects, the blaze orange helps everyone to be able to locate the dog.
By Nick C.
KS
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 17, 2013
Great product! Fit great. Was just what was advertised!
By Scott J.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 15, 2013
Got the vest in mail. SUPER FAST shipping. Great heavy duty protective vest, and nice and bright. The staff were great to work with, and seemed to go out of their way to ensure I got what I needed. Thanks
By Tony C.
MT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 13, 2013
Works great. Love it.
By JIM Z.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 5, 2013
Made in USA. Top quality. Watched a cheaper import tear apart on the first snag. Mine still look like new.
By Jeff G.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 3, 2013
I love the vest! And I'm sure my dog would tell you the same when he gets into all the green briars and thickets. I like the bright orange. It's real easy to pick him out when hunting the taller fields of grass or off at a distance in the grouse woods. <p> The only thing that was off was the size measurements. I measured my dog and bought the correct match for his size, but it was too tight across the chest. I went to the next size up, and it was almost perfect -- no rubbing on the legs, shoulders, or belly. If I had to say one thing I don't like about it, it's across the front of his chest. It acts as a scoop for debris to collect in there. So what I will do is pinch it a little to take the belly of material out across the chest and have it sewn there for a custom fit. But I can't blame the manufacturer for that, since like people, dogs are not all the same size and build. <p> BUT the one thing that I will give a 110% satisfaction on is the customer service! When I received this item it did not fit. I made a call and sent it back. In no time I had a new one at my front door, the day before I needed it to go hunt him. I told them on the phone that I would really like to have it before the opening day of pheasant (it was 3 days away), and they did it with no extra charges!!! AWESOME. You got yourself a new customer for all my dog hunting needs for sure. <p> Thanks again Steve. You're a good man!
By Stephen V.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 29, 2013
I had to hoist all 56 pounds of her over a barbed wire fence and used the front and rear straps to do so. It worked perfectly. Both my friend and I have this vest on our dogs and we are both happy with them. PS We got our limit of pheasants in SD.
By Kurtis F.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 25, 2013
Worked great on my thin-skinned GSH pointer in rugged South Dakota brush hunting pheasant!
By Christopher A.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 25, 2013
Used for squirrel hunting. Also bought a smaller one for my Boston Terrier. Fits well. Does not seem to limit mobility. Highly visible.
By David E.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 22, 2013
Just returned from bird hunting trip in the Mid West and the vest fit was excellent for my dog and provided great protection from the brush. I have purchased this brand in the past for my dogs. This vest is very durable.
By Tyler S.
ND
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 21, 2013
Works as advertised. I have a 3-year-old and 1-year-old. Ordered mediums for both. Perfect on the old dog with only a slight adjustment. Young dog is still growing, so I bought a size larger than suggested and it still fit him fairly well. Nice, bright orange made both far-ranging dogs easy to spot, plus even after a full day of hunting: NO chaffing! Mighty impressed.
By Brian T.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 18, 2013
Finally a vest for a small dog! Works Great!!
By Julia F.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 18, 2013
My dog at 123 lbs. needed an XXL. It works great. No burrs in his fur, and when he goes through thick brush, no injuries to his skin. He is a large game retrieval and tracking dog.
By David M.
OR
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 18, 2013
Fits well, and my dog moves easily in it.
By Jodie F.
NL
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 18, 2013
Would recommend it to anyone.

Page 7 of 7
7





privacy policy | terms & conditions


1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions