Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.7
333 Reviews
5
0% (0)
4
0% (0)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
98% Recommend this product (325 of 333 responses)
By David S.
VT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 11, 2015
Great. I feel more comfortable watching him run thru the woods. The only modification I will make is adding Velcro at the top of the front chest. It looks like a scoop and could cause trouble. The Velcro should work, but it cannot be the glue on type need to sew on. Other than that it is great and love the service. My dog is a field type and has large chest small waist; used a medium.
By Jeffrey S.
IL
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 4, 2015
Helps protect my dog, and it never slowed him down. It is very durable.
By William G.
TX
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 3, 2015
Fits good and protects from thorns and briars. Best vest I have found.
By Rifle M.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 3, 2015
Works well, but taking a while to break in. You can't hunt in it very long yet.
By Anthony G.
NY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 2, 2015
Ok, this rating is rated on the use of the vest on my dog. I have a beagle we run rabbits with, was tired of picking thorns so I tried this vest. The material holds up to the briars and thorns, however, being that my beagle is running in and under bushes she seemed to get hung up a lot on the straps and buckles at the top, in doing so she would pull to get out and on 2 occasions pulled her leg inside the vest and had to limp back to me on 3 legs. Also she had a lot of chaffing in the pits of her arms and front of legs. It's like wearing a wool sweater on a run with no undershirt. I will probably cut the material up and make my own vest for her.
By Danielle C.
CA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 30, 2014
I purchased this for high-visibility in the field. Good fit for my little Brittany. She is 25 lbs and fits the X-Small.
By Ron C.
TX
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 30, 2014
I thought it would pick up light and glow in the dark. Like safety vests.
By Joe D.
WARSAW
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 28, 2014
Perfect fit, lightweight, and built well. Dog didn't like it at first, but is great with it now.
By Adrian G.
NJ
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 21, 2014
This vest has good adjustability and is sized as stated. While it did reduced the number of large scrapes and cuts on my dogs underside, it does chafe my dogs underside and armpits pretty badly. The material is very strong and rip proof, but I think it would chaff less if it was a softer material. At least in the inside and armpits.
By Bruce W.
MO
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 16, 2014
Sadie took only a few minutes to adjust to wearing it. She's only 9 months old. It does a terrific job of enhancing her visibility and shedding the briars and old fences that she encounters. Too bad there's not one for her tail feathers! At least her front and sides are protected, which is about as good as can be and still have the mobility needed to be a field dog. She's had no rashes even though she is lightly haired around the leg openings.
By Laura
NY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 14, 2014
My dog loves to run through brambles and briars, and her chest and belly were all scratched to pieces. One day she ran into a sharp stick and impaled herself, needing a trip to the emergency clinic to get stitched up. This never would have happened if she were wearing this vest. The material is tough, and the buckles stay closed, so she can't lose the vest in the woods. It fits great, and she doesn't seem to mind having it on. Plus the blaze orange is visible from a long way off. It couldn't be better.
By David
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 6, 2014
Great Quality, Held up well in the thick thorny hedges we have here in this part of PA. It could use a little trim from his leg holes up to the first strap and he is a larger "American" not "English" lab about 88 muscular lbs. I got the XL and I think the L would be to small because it fits perfect in other areas. the only complaint the dog has is he said it makes him look fat ;)
By STEVE
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 5, 2014
Perfect fit and protection.
By Dennis B.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 4, 2014
Excellent product for protection in the field and apparently as well as in the lake, as he jumped in! Extremely well made and made in the USA.
By Kevin B.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 1, 2014
Good material, fits well.
By Cory F.
KS
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 28, 2014
Prefect for hunting brush , milo and corn stalks .
By Ray F.
WY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 28, 2014
Works good. Had a smaller size from another dog and bought a larger size to better fit the present dog. Great for visibility and protects the dogs chest and belly from stubble and cockle burrs.
By Larry P.
Pa
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 25, 2014
Too noisy!!!! My dog's not used to the noise that vest makes. Maybe she'll get used to it?
By Douglas R.
NH
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 21, 2014
My setter is a highly motivated hunting dog who covers a lot of territory, regardless of cover conditions. I worry that he'll run into a sharp object. The Weims operate more methodically until a bird is shot, a which time they'll charge through rough cover to make the retrieve- thus for peace of mind and my dogs' protection I ordered these protective vests. During my career a kevlar vest deflected a bullet to my chest so I know the value of protection - my loyal dogs deserve the same protection and I'm very satisfied with these vests - they do not interfere with the dogs' running and the dogs are easy to spot in cover- particularly when they are on point. Also, I bird hunt during deer season and the Weims in particular benefit from the hunter orange.
By Bob R.
KS
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 21, 2014
Exceptional customer service!
By Adam W.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 13, 2014
A little tight around the front shoulders and elbows of my dog, but once she got used to it she does alright. I think it limits her top speed though, which is actually a good thing for me.
By FromAnna J.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 10, 2014
This is a quality vest. Definitely worth the money. Your service was excellent also. We received the vest in two days.
By Erich H.
OR
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 6, 2014
The vest is great. It's not too hot for my dog, and she hunted all day in it in moderate temps. She was much more visible in the thick stuff, and it really protected her belly. The top latches are good, but they do catch on fences when she scurries under. I am having to train her to wait at fences for help getting through.
By Anthony H.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 6, 2014
My dog is extra small, 22 lbs., and this is the first and only hunting vest that caters to her size.
By Laura T.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 6, 2014
I didn't break it in enough before he wore it all day. He rubbed some sores in his armpits a bit. That said, it fit great. He didn't notice it, and the number and severity of scrapes and burns was way down. The XS fit great. It is nice to find a protective garment that will fit a 30lb hunting dog.
By Derick W.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 3, 2014
Great vest and protects my dog well. It's a bit stiff when you first get it, but softens up over time.
By Scott V.
VT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 1, 2014
Fits my dogs very well and is well made. It's nice that it's made in the U.S. too. I have a C*****'s one for my other dog, but this one is better by far. I will probably get another for her.
By Mike C.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 30, 2014
Great vest! Fits our dog perfectly! Very pleased with Gun Dog Supply. Excellent company! Would recommend the vest and Gun Dog Supply to anyone!
By Ryan M.
NC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 25, 2014
The Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest works great. It was a perfect fit. Thank you.
By Chuck J.
CO
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 24, 2014
The Body Guard Vest worked great while pheasant hunting in Montana. We have a fancy show dog, and my wife was concerned that our fancy boy might come back scratched up after hunting. The Sylmar Body Guard Vest worked great. Our Weimaraner is ~70lbs (big chest, skinny waist), and the size large vest fit perfectly. -Chuck
By Michael G.
CO
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 14, 2014
I have one of the Sylmar vest that I purchased at least 12 years ago and it is still in use. I really like the new colors.
By Steve C.
NY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 12, 2014
An excellent vest. After a week hunting grouse in Maine, it still looks brand new. My setter is 75 pounds, and I picked him up with the straps on more than one occasion without ripping them off. Very well built.
By Bird H.
TX
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 4, 2014
Works great in briars and brush. I used one of mine to protect a chest wound to keep bandages in tact.
By J O.
UT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 3, 2014
Durable. Perfect fit. Will buy again if this one ever wears out.
By Chris D.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
September 28, 2014
Thanks for the question. I didn't know how it would fit since of the unique deep chested body of my dog. But it does fit and makes my invisible dog visible (grey ghost). Cookie just has to get used to wearing the vest. If you want, I can send a picture of her in it. Cheers
By Josh
ND
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
September 25, 2014
Fits the dog and seems very durable.
By Matt S.
MT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
September 8, 2014
I hunt areas with a lot of barb wire fence. This keeps his belly safe when he runs through a fence after a bird. It has also been effective in keeping off cockleburs and needle and thread grass.
By Charles S.
NE
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
September 6, 2014
Great vest, but it could be better by back protection. We hunt a lot of fence lines since the farmers take out all the shelter belts these days. The dogs jump through the fence a lot.
By Pam P.
BC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 29, 2014
His chest is deep, so had to get a large. Had to cut back the material (and re-trim it with soft material) in front of his sheath to prevent rubbing and irritation. Other than that, seems great. Will be using it soon for grouse season.
By Jason F.
WI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 18, 2014
I bought a vest in size large for my 2 year, 62 lb lab. The vest fits and looks great, but the leg opening are way too small. The dog trots when she wears it because the leg opening are too restrictive. If you want your dog to run while wearing this vest you'll need to cut the leg openings so the dogs legs can have full movement. You would think the manufacturer could figure this out??
By Steven G.
NJ
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
June 13, 2014
Not purchased for hunting... We needed something bright and light for the summer months. Our pet is grey, and we cannot see him when he ventures out into the back yard. This jacket is perfect for our needs.
By Christine L.
WA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 7, 2014
I bought the vest for my young, rambunctious GWP to wear when he accompanies me mountain biking here in the woods of the Pacific Northwest. My vet and I were both worried he would impale himself on a branch or stick as he tears wildly through the brush. This vest is perfect, fits well, and he doesn't seem to mind it. It gives me peace of mind knowing he is wearing himself out in a fairly safe manner. Thanks!
By Matt K.
OH
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 5, 2014
Heavy duty. Fits well (purchased a medium for my 50 lbs Vizsla), and cleans up nicely. The material is quite stiff when new, but loosens up a bit after washing a few times. I'd like an even lighter version when the temperatures get warmer. This one is a bit too heavy for summer time.
By Mark C.
NY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 2, 2014
This is an excellent vest to protect your dog in the brush. It covers neck, chest, and sides. The fabric is tough, and the vest is well made.
By Julie R.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 1, 2014
Prior to purchasing the Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest, our GSP acquired a nasty laceration on her chest while out in the field. We used the Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest to protect her injury while it healed, prevent her from licking or scratching it, and look forward to continued use out in the field to prevent any other injuries. It is very easy to put on and take off, especially with a high-energy, excitable dog and breathable for warmer temperatures. Very pleased with this product.
By Kathy P.
IL
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 19, 2014
We have purchased a variety of hunting vests in the past. They didn't last long and didn't protect the way the Body Guard Dog Vest does. This is the end of pheasant season here, and the vests look like new. For the first time the Setters and Wirehaired actually still have hair on there chests and aren't torn up. Highly recommend this vest.
By Lynne W.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 15, 2014
The vest provides great protection to the dog when he is in the thick cover, and also allows me to keep track of him. Material is easy to keep clean.
By Gerald W.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 14, 2014
My dog loves it. He thinks he is one of the hunting guys when he wears florescent orange. :)
By Colin M.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 13, 2014
My dog gets cut up on a regular basis in the heavy brush of upland hunting. The vest I had on her this season was a "hand-me-down" from a previous, but much heavier Irish Setter. This vest worked for him and now is working for her in reducing the seriousness of these cuts and scratches. The vest I purchased this Christmas fits my new young lady perfectly. On top of all this it makes her "visible" to other hunters. For safety, health and peace of mind I'd recommend this tough little vest.
By Mike
VA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 10, 2014
Bought for 10 month old GSP. First 10 minutes, she tried to figure out how to get it off. After that she layed around in it and wore it for about an hour. Fits great and really helps to see her in heavy cover and protect her chest and underbelly from briers.

Page 6 of 7
6





privacy policy | terms & conditions


1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions