Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.7
333 Reviews
5
0% (0)
4
0% (0)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
98% Recommend this product (325 of 333 responses)
By Allan L.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
March 3, 2016
This vest is easy to put on and take off the dog. Very durable compared to others we have tried. Our dog had an injury to her chest and this vest does a great job of protecting that area from further injury.
By Patricia B.
MO
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
March 3, 2016
The vest is sturdy and easy to put on. I would definitely buy another one.
By Paul E.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
February 29, 2016
The chest portion is too wide at the top. It does not breath so he sweats a lot on his lower chest area. It does provide good protection. No cuts from barbed wire.
By Stephen L.
OH
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
February 16, 2016
A small vest is hard to find. The fit was just right, it stays on her very well when she is hunting. Good stuff!!
By Kevin J.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Vest -- Yellow
February 15, 2016
The vest fits perfectly with plenty of space on the front latch in order to mount a Gopro camera, good construction to protect his chest while flushing Pheasant and Chucker in heavy cover. I got the Yellow/ Tan due to the other Cockers having the orange/ black, now I can tell who's pup is doing all the work.
By Larry W.
SC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
February 12, 2016
Great service by Gun Dog Supply.
By Edward A.
TX
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
February 11, 2016
Ordered size small for my 34lb boykin and it fit great. Easy to locate her running in the field and through the brush. Does a good job of protecting her from thorns. Would purchase again! I have ordered numerous items from Gun Dog Supply and have always been impressed with their products/selection/service.
By Bruce D.
VI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
February 4, 2016
A great vest! Good materials and good fit. I can pick my dog up with it! I use it around floribunda and briars so she doesn't get shy of going in hard. The sizing chart is a little tricky to use. My dog is 22 inches around the chest. I went for Extra Small because of that measurement and had to exchange it for a Small to get good body coverage. That size was correct on the chart according to her weight. Spaniels are on the small end of sporting dog world and their proportions are different from the larger dogs, so take care.
By Mike Y.
GA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
February 3, 2016
The buckles should be like a collar instead of plastic, and should also have velcro along the seam.
By Jesse B.
TN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 27, 2016
Great product. Fits my dog perfectly. Gives great protection and does not conflict with my dog. He likes to wear it, gets excited.
By Dustin L.
TX
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 7, 2016
The vest has been fantastic in protecting my dog in the Cactus and briars found all over Texas. The service from gun dog has been exceptional as well!
By Arion V.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 7, 2016
This is a great dog vest and has saved my LM from multiple barbed wire incidents. I would highly recommend this to others. It is easy to put on her and the orange sides are great to help see her in tall North Dakota prairie grasses.
By Steve S.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 4, 2016
The order was shipped quickly, and I received the vest very fast. I will order dog supplies in the future because it was fast and easy.
By Jeff S.
UT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 1, 2016
It's good. I do like it, but the reason it is not excellent is the buckle gets snagged on branches in the thick stuff.
By VICKY M.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 27, 2015
It would be nice if it was all orange.
By Brian M.
MT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 27, 2015
I have a lot of fences that I have to cross, and the buckles catch when she goes under the fence sometimes. Other than that I like the vest a lot.
By Robert N.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 22, 2015
Just received the vest. I needed to return the small in exchange for a medium, but the new one fits great.
By Michael M.
NC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 21, 2015
Fits great, and now my dog gets excited when he sees it because he knows he is going hunting.
By John W.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 18, 2015
The Sylmar body guard dog vest is by far the best vest I've had. The protection it provides for my dogs and high visibility surpasses any of those I had before. Very durable and cleans up easily. Easy to put on and very easy to take off with clips. I highly recommend it.
By Angela Z.
OR
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 17, 2015
Fits my dogs perfectly, and they both love the vest!
By Neil K.
ND
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 17, 2015
Got it to protect my dog after he got stitches on the side of his brisket. Fits and works great and will prevent further injuries for sure.
By Harley
KS
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
December 11, 2015
Fits great.
By JOSEPH W.
AK
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 27, 2015
High visibility. Protected Molly's core from burs and seed pods. Will check it out on cactus in a week.
By Myron S.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 10, 2015
However, I need to send it back and get a bigger size.
By Mary W.
NE
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 9, 2015
Ordered a large which fits perfectly right now, as our dog is only 10 mos old and still filling out. There is some room to grow into. I read some reviews where the complaint was front drooped open a bit and scooped up dirt and brush. We did not have that issue. I'm thrilled that we now can see him through the tall grass.
By Bruce W.
MO
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 9, 2015
It fits and works reasonably well. It would work better on my dog particularly if she had heavier coat. She is thinly haired and the vest will chafe her some on hunts more than a couple of hours long, but that is her, not the vest.
By Don L.
NE
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 8, 2015
It had a large tear within the first hour on a barbed wire fence. But it fits good. I got it patched up, and we are good to go. There is no tougher test than a good hunting dog on opening weekend!
By James S.
NC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 2, 2015
Steve, My male wirehaired had an encounter with a nutria, the nutria ultimately lost, but not before leaving 14 stitches in our males front shoulder. The vest worked great for keeping the wound protected, and I will continue letting both of my dogs wear this vest throughout the hunting season. Great fit and apparently comfortable to the dogs as neither seem to even notice it. Eddie Stocks, Madoc Farms, Tarboro, NC
By Tim C.
WI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 1, 2015
LOVE IT!!!!!! Very durable.
By William K.
OH
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 25, 2015
Just got back from hunting Grouse and Woodcock in Michigan for a week. Vest did it's job protecting my dog, plus great visibility.
By Scott G.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 23, 2015
I really like these vests. We have been hunting the thick brush with a lot of thorns and thickets. The vest are sturdy and have great visibility. They are easy to put on and adjustable.
By Rebecca J.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 22, 2015
Stood up well to fences, brush and wetlands (gumbo mud) in SD. Tossed into washer on gentle cycle with Tide and look new. Fit well, and dogs weren't restricted by them. Excellent product!
By Stephen G.
IL
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 19, 2015
These vests are by far the best for protecting a dog while hunting, and they can handle years of use without tearing to pieces. The different colors available allow me to easily identify the dogs in the field.
By Steve
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 15, 2015
Took my German Shorthaired Pointer about 2 minutes to get used to. It fit perfect. Easy to see in the field.
By Laura T.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 14, 2015
Fits great. It's hard to find things for a hard running 28lb dog. He doesn't even notice it is on really. We did start with it in the mowed back yard playing fetch and doing agility exercises before we went in the field. Lots fewer scrapes and burrs. It does need a bit of breaking in as the instructions state.
By Heidi S.
NJ
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 12, 2015
My Vizsla female runs hard in the field, and this vest protects her chest and undercarriage from scrapes and scratches. Love it.
By Mark K.
IA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 11, 2015
Best vest on the market.
By Dean W.
VT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 30, 2015
Fits great.
By David C.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 22, 2015
Good protection, easy to apply, good visibility, lightweight and allows dog to be cool.
By Jeff E.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 19, 2015
Sizing was easy. Vest good construction. Gets softer with use. Use it with the dog early, so it gets used to it. Very good product. Thanks Steve.
By Robert K.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 6, 2015
I can't comment on the Sylmar vest without commenting on its predecessor, the Skid Plate. I bought the SkidPlate a year ago for my young dog and in one of her first hunts she was badly injured. She impaled herself on a fallen branch and severed a pectoral muscle. She was laid up for part of September and all of October. I believe that the scoop neck of the vest guided the branch into the dog and prevented it from slipping off the dog. I modified the vest by sewing a piece of canvas across the front and had no problems for the remainder of the season. The Skid Plate's coverage was also a little sparse across the chest and belly. The Sylmar has better coverage in those areas but also has a scoop in the neckline that could cause the same problem I had with the Skid Plate. I sewed a tuck in the upper front to lessen it. It is also slightly harder to put on the dog.because of the leg holes. I think both products need to be improved before I would feel comfortable using them.
By Peggy P.
CA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 13, 2015
Love the vest, and it fits great.
By PAUL L.
NY
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 7, 2015
After other Chinese vests, this is superior.
By Bill Y.
WI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
March 30, 2015
After losing 10 days of shed hunting due to a barb wire injury, and $350 due to surgical stitching, vast is perfect. Easy to put on, durable, and exceptionally visible. I should have spent the money on the front end! Shipping was fast, inexpensive, and the customer service was fantastic.
By Cathy C.
AZ
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
March 17, 2015
This is one of few dog vests that protects the upper chest area of our dog. Great product!
By Grigor F.
HI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
March 16, 2015
Fits well, and looks sturdy and comfortable (he hasn't complained). It seems that it will keep him from getting hurt most of the time from a boar, and that's all I can hope for.
By Thomas M.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 28, 2015
Fits great and durable.
By James V.
TX
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 27, 2015
Best place to buy for products, price and superior shipping.
By Joshua L.
WA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 21, 2015
Vest doesn't seem to slow him down one bit. The fit is great, and the material seems to be tough.
By JWG
CT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
January 17, 2015
Order a size larger than the chart indicates. It would be nice if it were a bit longer to protect more of the back end of the dog.

Page 5 of 7
5





privacy policy | terms & conditions


1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions