Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.7
333 Reviews
5
0% (0)
4
0% (0)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
98% Recommend this product (325 of 333 responses)
By Nate
Edwardsville, KS
Great product and great service
November 13, 2020
I've only used it once so far, but this is a great product. It is well made. I ordered the wrong size initially, but Gun Dog Supply swapped it out for the correct size with no issues. I would caution you to measure carefully. I didn't get a great measurement on my Shorthair's chest, but he weighs 60 pounds so I ordered the large. It turns out that he needed a medium. My one critique would be to suggest that the belly strap be attached lower on the vest. My GSP is skinny in this area and the strap is still a touch loose when fully tightened.
ProsWell built Heavy duty straps and buckles
Consbelly strap location
By John F.
Bay City Michigan
Built For The Uplands
November 12, 2020
This is my 2nd Sylmar vest. My first one was 20 years old and still had the original straps and buckles! It had some tears in it from years of hard use and was faded. This new vest seems every bit as good and should last just as long. Plus, it is bright and I can see it in the thick brush.
ProsGood material, easy to put on and take off.
ConsI really don't have any cons. I wash them by hand with a small amount of laundry detergent when they are new to soften the material and get some of the fresh coloring out.
By Mike
North Carolina.
Vest
November 11, 2020
Very pleased.
ProsGood quality
ConsNone
By Gary H.
Kansas
Great vest, great quality
November 11, 2020
ordered this vest years ago for my upland lab. She has since died and it now belongs to my new upland lab. Not a single rip or tear anywhere, i was a little skeptical about the plastic buckles holding up in harsh Kansas conditions, but they're good thick plastic and have held up for years now with no problems. A few frayed edges and stuff on the vest here and there but that's it!! Its nice cordura material so it keeps the burs, thorns, and sharp grasses from hurting my dog. Will never use a different vest, if anything ever happens to this one, i'll immediately purchase another just like it.
ProsGreat quality and longevity
ConsFront leg holes sometimes rub on the dogs legs and give them raw spots after long days in the field.
By Craig
Wisconsin
Rubs legs raw
October 20, 2020
Vest seemed to fit fairly well and was fine for a couple runs but when I went and hunted the dogs, the vest rubbed the fur off the front of the front legs. Bit disappointed since the vest doesn't pick up stickers, they just brush off.
ProsHeavy duty material
ConsPoor fit Rubs fur off fronts of legs.
By Ron
Montana
Well Made
October 17, 2020
The vest is well made. Our dog, however, was right on the boundary between the medium and large size. We ordered the large and and it was a bit big for him. We used it for a recent pheasant hunt in very brushy habitat and it did a great job of keeping the burrs off the dog and with the exception of one seam that started to pull loose it held up well. Since the vest was a bit too big, it did cause some significant rubbing and irritation with hair loss on both the front legs. My wife had ordered the medium size before we left on the hunting trip to see if it would fit better, but it did not arrive before we left (it was ordered late, so it wasn't a surprise). We tried it on the dog when we got home and it was actually too small and would likely cause rubbing as well. I don't think the problem is with the vest, it is the fact that our dog is right on the bubble between the sizes. We sent the medium vest back and will try to adapt the large one to make it fit better.
ProsWell made and tough. It provides good visibility in heavy cover. Made in the USA.
ConsDoesn't quite fit a dog that's in between sizes.
By Charles H.
PA
Meets or exceeds my needs/expectations
October 16, 2020
Very good quality and easy to adjust. My Lab got used to wearing it very quickly! I would buy it again and recommend it to others.
By Billy
Washington
Fits nicely on my brittney!
October 7, 2020
Ginger put it right on and had no problem wearing it. Didn’t hinder her in anyway. All she needs now is pheasant season to start!
By Grant
Northern MN
Amazing
October 4, 2020
This is by far one of the best vests I have found for my dogs. Big box companies charge double the price for a lower quality vest. I highly recommend this to anyone wanting to protect your dogs underside and keep them visable.
ProsVery Durable
By MN H.
Minnesota
Great vest for protection in warmer weather
October 1, 2020
Fits my Lab well. Great protection that won't overheat my dog. Both my dad & I use these on our dogs while pheasant, grouse & rabbit hunting
ProsLightweight
ConsNone
By Randy
West Central Illinois
Fits like a glove
September 28, 2020
I got the small & it fits my 5 month old 30 lbs GSP pup perfectly, with plenty of strap left to grow into it.
ProsFits well and looks good. Seems like durable fabric. And best of all, it is made in America.
ConsN/A
By John E.
Massachusetts
Highly visible and protective-good value
September 25, 2020
I bought this vest for my Drahthaar. I wanted a light weight, highly visible vest that would also protect her from the the large variety of thorny flora where we train daily. We hunt in the fall in New England's thick backcountry where bird hunting season overlaps with big game seasons and coyote hunting. I looked at a number of vests from various suppliers. I called Gun Dog Supply support and we discussed requirements. This USA-made vest best fit my requirements at a reasonable price. It's very well made, bright orange up the sides and has a double "skid" plate for extra protection at chest and underside. Easy on and easy off. It broke in quickly without chaffing and my Drahthaar doesn't know its there. I bought based on chest measurement and not weight and it fits perfectly with room to grow. For me it is a great value. Highly recommend.
ProsHighly visible with bright blaze up dog's sides. Great visibility at dawn and dusk. Double layer skid plate at vulnerable chest and underside. Sheds thorns with ease. Easy on, easy off Plenty of adjustment with strap configuration. Broke in quickly without chaffing or discomfort.
ConsIn high heat, the coverage could be a concern.
By John
Vermont
Quality product
September 24, 2020
Nice fit and finish. Size large fit my 62 pound GSP well.
ProsFit, visibility and coverage.
By Neal S.
Caribou, Maine
Great so far!
September 23, 2020
Been using for over a week on our 5 month, went with a size small based on the chart and is spot on. I actually upsized it slightly in anticipation of her growing and still works great. She doesn’t mind wearing it, not nearly as stiff as other reviewers indicated, completely satisfied.
ProsQuality
ConsNone
By Jay
Brockway, PA
Best vest out there!
September 23, 2020
I have owned 3 of these vests. They work great protecting my dogs' chests and keeping them visible in the brush. I've never had any issues with it chafing my dogs' skin and it stays put once on! Highly recommend!
By Customer
Lake geneva wi
good
September 15, 2020
Great protection and visibility with this vest !
By Pete
Tri-Cities, TN
serves the purpose of higher viz and chest protection
September 14, 2020
I bought this vest for my 2 year old 58 lb female Golden in preparation for taking her quail and pheasant hunting this fall. Per the advice in other comments, I vigorously hand-washed the vest four times in Sport Wash and liquid fabric softener which did result in making it softer and bleeding out quite a bit of orange dye. My Golden didn't like wearing the vest the first time but has gotten used to it after several training sessions. The front leg holes do seem to hinder her movement a little but she can run OK while wearing the vest. Perhaps enlarging or elongating the leg openings a bit would help.
Pros* provides chest protection * increases visibility which should make it safer for the dog while afield * easy to put on the dog and adjust fit * quick release buckles * lightweight
Cons* leg openings are a little restrictive (but the dog has adjusted to them) * the vest design is a little long for my dog but softening the vest has allowed it to fold forward for a more comfortable fit
By Douglas P.
KS
Seems durable
September 4, 2020
I havent had a chance to use it in the field yet, but it fits well and looks like it will take some tough use.
By Zeket
Pa.
Pretty good vest for the money.
September 2, 2020
I have had one of these on my beagle for a couple years and it seems to hold up well to thorns, etc. It doesn't seem to rub the dogs legs (if you choose the right size for your dog.)
ProsDurable Great Visibility Easy on and off
ConsGets dirty easy and needs cleaned often. I have tried scotch guard but dirt still sticks to it.
By Matt
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 19, 2018
Sizing chart is accurate, very durable and works great protecting the dog in the woods or in the field
By John H.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 15, 2018
Great fit, easy to get on/off, wears nicely in tough conditions to prevent injury and wear on the dog. Only downside is that it isn't all orange and the chest/belly of the vest is black and dog isn't as visible when bouncing through thick cover. Great product.
By Howard W.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 12, 2018
Great vest, fits my Springer Lab nicely. This vest is well built & rugged. Protects these two rascals through brush, briars & thick underbrush, when flushing pheasants. Well Worth the money, will last for many hunting seasons. Order the vest, you won't be disappointed.
By JOHN K.
IN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 12, 2018
By Dale P.
OR
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 11, 2018
Love these for my Irish Setters. The size Large fit them well, with plenty of strap to make adjustments. Both dogs took to them quickly.
By Phil W.
KS
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 11, 2018
By Ralph S.
NJ
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 11, 2018
Works as advertised seems to be built strong and tough I think it will last throughout the long bird season at the club! 6 months of hunting 1-2 times per week.
By Stephen
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 11, 2018
Actually the Dog liked it from the start. No issues wearing it.
By Chris
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 1, 2017
The vest fits perfectly on my springer (55lbs), and he didn't mind it a bit. Shipping was lightning fast so I am very happy all the way around.
By Anthony S.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 20, 2016
Fits like a glove, with no chafing.
By Arnold O.
WI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Vest -- Yellow
November 20, 2016
Size recommended by weight was accurate.
By David B.
WI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 18, 2016
Fits great and great protection on long hunts.
By JAMES C.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 12, 2016
My black lab is small for the breed at 50 lbs. Pheasant hunting in cover presents issues with visibility to other hunters and this vest is wonderful. Not only is it visible to hunters it also protects her stomach and chest from getting raw hunting in heavy cover. If you love your dog this is highly recommended.
By Alvin B.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 12, 2016
Fit great, allows dog to slip through cover easier, gives me a little more peace of mind for dogs safety.
By Rick H.
PA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 9, 2016
The vest is great its hard to found a vest for a pointer that doesn't rub or pinch them. I recommend the product and I highly recommend Gun Dog Supply.
By Diana B.
CT
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 6, 2016
This was the third vest we bought and this one was the keeper!
By Mark C.
ID
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
November 4, 2016
She really didn't like it at first when I put it on her, but she's gotten used to it, and it really does help protect her. And the bright orange color does help me keep track of her. I may have to get the one with legs though, because she still gets pretty scratched up on the fronts of her legs.
By James G.
CA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 31, 2016
These vests are a great weight and breathable. My dogs were getting overheated when they worked in their old vests that did not allow air flow.
By Jamie K.
WI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Vest -- Yellow
October 31, 2016
Got here quick. Very durable product that held up well in the grouse woods.
By Hiker 9.
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 17, 2016
The vest is lightweight and my dog wears it well. I ordered a medium and the straps were too long so I cut them off and taped the new ends. The medium covers farther up on his sides. A small would not have worked as well. It's easy to put on. With all our stickers here in North TX this year, it has really cut down on my time to remove them. Works good.
By Ann F.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 17, 2016
I have just started to use the vest and it has protected their coat from collecting twigs ferns.
By Patrick C.
QC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 15, 2016
Good quality, the vest fit perfectly!
By Johan B.
NH
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 14, 2016
The vest is very durable. Which shows the quality of the workmanship put into it. The only problem I see with it is the buckles. My dogs work some really thick stuff to get at the birds. I have noticed them get hung up in the brush. Causing them to have to back up to unhook themselves. They are adjusting their hunting style to compensate for the vest. All in all the dogs end the day with a lot less cuts and scrapes. So it's worth the trade off.
By Craig W.
IL
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 12, 2016
This is my third one of these vests. I bought the first one 15 years ago for my first dog. I go on two weekend grouse hunting trips per year and the vest lasted the dog's whole life. I had to purchase a second one for my second dog 12 years ago because she was bigger. And this one is for my third dog because she was bigger still. I should try to get the right sized dog, because the original vest is a little ragged but still in good shape and would still protect the dog. I also like the vest because it is light weight and provides high visibility in the woods, protection from sticks and branches, and doesn't overheat the dog. Even when we go in January, this is the vest I use. The dog never seems cold while running through the woods all day. I recommend the vest.
By Phill M.
MI
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 12, 2016
Awesome, it keeps her from getting cut up! The best thing is, she loves wearing it!!!
By Scot S.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
October 4, 2016
Excellent product! It fits well and protects my dog from the under brush.
By Tim R.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
September 27, 2016
So far so good! No complaints.
By Karen R.
NV
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
August 13, 2016
Best vest I've owned for our dogs. It is sturdy, easy to put on and to adjust. The lesser quality ones in the past tend to rip on barbed wire. I like the chest and under belly protection. What I like best is the quality material used in this vest. Our dogs like to crawl under barbed wire fences and often the lesser vests rip/tear, but not this one. It is well worth the money to buy a quality vest like this!
By Lisa D.
MA
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
June 26, 2016
All I hoped for and more!!
By Alain P.
QC
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
May 12, 2016
Good protection in dense field. Dog moves easily with it.
By Tyler F.
MN
Review for Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest -- Orange
March 28, 2016
Great quality and easy to fit.

Page 4 of 7
4





privacy policy | terms & conditions


1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions