Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.7
333 Reviews
5
0% (0)
4
0% (0)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
98% Recommend this product (325 of 333 responses)
By Mark
Danville
Okie
February 16, 2022
The vest worked out great. The adjustability is key. I had a cheap vest with Velcro and always had problems. When you get in the bush after ruffed grouse it’s cheap insurance to prevent injury.
By Mark
New jersey
Multi faceted protection
February 8, 2022
Great product for increasing your dog’s visibility. Noticed less burrs in my sprocker spaniel. Less imbedded thorns after a day of hunting too. Highly recommend this product. Good fit.
By Steve
Gary, South Dakota
Must have
February 4, 2022
My dogs are constantly getting cut from barbwire fencing and cattails, this vest is the best I have found to protect them.
By K C.
Eastern Oregon
Sylmar body guard dog vest
February 3, 2022
This is the best vest I have found and my English setter seems to agree. It’s easy to get on her and fits well. She covers the field with ease with no hindrence of movement.
ProsGreat fit
ConsNone
By Owen S.
NC North Carolina
Fantastic Product, Fantastic Service
January 18, 2022
Fantastic product and delivered early with a personal note from the owner of the company.
By Klaus H.
Ellensburg, Washington
Works for me
January 15, 2022
We have two large Anatolian/Akbash guardian dogs that watch the livestock. They have free run of the farm and sometimes get out in the road. I tried the vest on the young one. It’s plenty tough and the visibility is excellent. He took to wearing it in a few days. I’m buying a second vest for my big guy. As always, a good value and quality product. Keep it up.
By Joshua G.
Smith Mountain Lake Virginia
Good addition to field gear
January 13, 2022
I purchased a Vest for each of my two bird dogs after a trip to Maine. We had a great time but both of my boys got several cuts and minor injuries. I have been very pleased with the vest's protection from injuries, quality, and durability. I like that they are made in the USA. They also make it easier to see my dogs working the cover. Steve -- thanks for the great product. You will not be disappointed if you add this Vest to your field gear lineup.
Pros-Protection from injuries, quality, and durability. -Made in USA. -Easier to see my dogs working the cover.
ConsHaven't found any - honest.
By Karl
SW Oregon
Size chart did not work well for my dog
January 3, 2022
I really can't rate this product yet because I am in the process of exchanging it for a smaller size. My dog is a slender but muscular lab, 68 lbs. I ordered a large based on the sizing chart. My dog's girth is right between the medium and large recommendation but his weight was well into the large so that is what I ordered. A large is way too large, too much floppy fabric to catch on things. I hope a medium fits much better.
ProsThe vest looks well made with tough fabric but I have not field tested it because I'm in the process of exchanging it.
ConsSize chart mislead me into ordering too large of a vest that I had to return for exchange.
By Hiker 9.
Denton, TX
Saves dog from burrs
January 1, 2022
This is my second Sylmar vest. The old one lasted many years. My dog is used to having it on when in the field, whether hunting or just getting some field exercise. Once you get the size correct, you need to cut off the excess strap. I will burn the end to keep it from unraveling. The color is bright and it's easy to pick out the dog in all types of terrain. We train and play in the lake with it on and it stands up to all kinds of abuse. Over time, the old one faded. Now we have a nice bright new one. I don't know how many hours I've saved in picking out cockle burrs and other stuff after our fieldwork is finished. Of course, the vest only protects the chest and underside of the dog, so I still have to clean off the rest of the dog. I like that it saves me time.
ProsWell built and bright colored. Can be adjusted to fit the dog. Saves time with dog clean-up after fieldwork. Keeps some of the burrs and stuff from sticking to the fur. Durable.
ConsI can't think of any.
By Ed S.
Jamesville, NY
Solid affordable field protection
December 18, 2021
Having tried nearly every available chest protector for my GSP a friend loaned me an old Sylmar. I knew right away this was going to work. The loaner was a bit snug, but when we got home I measured her and ordered a vest. With the season behind us, I can tell you this is the best upland vest you can buy. No hot spots and simply great protection, my GSP is super prone to scratches and really getting roughed up, no more. Thanks to Gun Dog Supply!
ProsGreat value for the money Adjustability
ConsFades a smidge on washing - doesn't change how great this is
By Shelley
Canada
Body Guard Vest
December 13, 2021
I purchased this product for my 10 year old guardian dog that prefers to sleep outside with the livestock. It completely protects underneath the dog, which is great because we have freezing temperatures where we live.
By Mark
Pennsylvania
Great Protection for High-Impact Dogs
December 13, 2021
The Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest is the best I have found so far. It provides chest and side protection from brush, thorns, and alike. In addition, the blaze orange/red makes sure he is seen and not mistook for prey. I’ve seen no restriction of movement or agility. The straps and quick release buckles are heavy duty and I often use the middle strap as a handhold to control movement when necessary. Good quality construction - you get what you pay for. My German Pinscher weighs 45-pounds with a broad chest/thin wast, size medium fits well with room to spare.
ProsBody Protection High Visibility Quality Construction
ConsNone
By John
Strongsville, Ohio
Great vest
December 7, 2021
I purchased this vest for my Vizsla to protect her chest and belly area since her hair is thin and she tends to take a beating there.
ProsThis vest is heavy duty and easily adjustable. Visibility is great too.
ConsI had to sew the front of the chest together a little so it would clear her front legs. Not a big problem, since no product is going to fit every dog out there.
By Jerry L.
California
Good product, needs adjustment
November 30, 2021
Seems to be well made and durable and lightweight too
ProsLightweight and durable
ConsNeed to do some adjusting as holes for front legs rubbed the hair off my dog. Guess I need to tighten it up some without restricting movement
By Bessie
Clifton Township, Pa.
Nice piece, Dog vest.
November 30, 2021
Feels sturdy, nice color, fits great. All OK.
ProsI like it.
By Allen
PA
Works as advertised.
November 30, 2021
Overall, pleased with the vest. They may be sized a bit on the big side in my experience. And the service at Gun Dog Supply is top notch. I'll be ordering again.
By Thor's d.
Central WI
Made in USA!
November 26, 2021
The quality of this vest is excellent. Originally, I ordered a Large, but it was too long for my smallish Lab; it covered a critical area of his anatomy! I replaced it with a Medium, which fits fine. The heavy-duty fabric is very protective. It was stiff at first, but tumbling it in the dryer with wet clothes helped soften it. The folks at Gun Dog Supply are so friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful! I will always check with them first for dog needs.
By John
Evansville Indiana
Awesome
November 24, 2021
Works great. Able to see my Boykin in tall cover
By Thomas Y.
New Jersey
Well made vest
November 24, 2021
First off, I purchase all my gundog needs from this company. The service and pricing is fair and the products are good. I’ve purchased two of these body guard vests over the last 10 years. The vest are very well made and can handle the many hours in the field. My 50 pound Brittany wears a medium..
ProsWell made
ConsSometimes tricky finding the correct size
By Eric
Iowa
The second try on size works...
November 19, 2021
Based on sizing info and a recommendation from customer support I originally ordered a large for my 75 lb male GSP with a 31" measured chest and it was way to big, with excess material around the neck and rear two straps needing to be cinched completely tight to even get close. Ordered a medium and it seems to fit pretty well. Look forward to seeing how it performs over time.
ProsConstruction and materials seem good - overall pleased
ConsWas disappointed in sizing recommendation being off...
By RAD
Wisconsin
Quality and correct size
November 17, 2021
I have a big Laborador. Sizing was as described. Vest worked well on a 5 day upland hunting trip. No cuts or scratches in the areas covered and no abrasions or rubbing from the vest itself. Hi-vis yellow set him apart from other dogs.
ProsFit, sizing, protection, visibility. When the material runs against heavy brush it can sound like a bird getting up! Adds to the excitement of the hunt. :) Seems to be a good product.
ConsNone yet.
By Mike
Gloucester, MA, United States
Liked at first
November 17, 2021
we have used this vest a few times. It seems to fit well on my 50lb Vizsla and seemed like a good product. When I used this the other day - I noticed that there is quite a rub on his right front shoulder. the material is meant to be brush resistant so it is somewhat hard material. I am a bit torn if I am going to just stop using it or try to add some fleece to the front shoulder holes. I realize a Vizsla has a thin coat of fur, but its quite a bad rub. if you have a lab or spaniel I am sure it would be fine but for us, the product is not great as is.
Prosfits well very visible jacket
Consvery bad rub on one shoulder from ruff material
By Larry S.
Eloy Arizona
Great, durable product with fast shipping
November 16, 2021
I have only used the vest once but was more than satisfied. Just in the short time we used it, she tore through some heavy brush without any issues. The material is thick and all of the stitching seems heavy duty. I was skeptical about the sizing but I measured twice and ordered once and the vest fit perfectly. Best part was the incredibly fast shipping, faster than Amazon.
ProsHeavy duty Fast shipping Good visibly
ConsI wish there was a flap that covered the back.
By Mike
Maryland
Sylmar Vests did the job on my cocker and brittany
November 15, 2021
The two Sylmar medium vests fit the dogs well and made them easy to see. I did trim the excess off the ends of the adjustable straps, but had no problems. Easy to put on and take off.
By Troy F.
Illinois
Jagd terrier
November 14, 2021
No more scratches all over my Jagd terriers belly. She's 14lbs and she's a Freakshow in the wood and the vest holds up excellent.
By Jeremy
East Tennessee
Just as described! A+ (Size Med.)
November 3, 2021
This body guard dog vest was just as described. It fit my Brittany wonderfully and has lasted through some really tough stuff! Briar thickets, saplings, ect. I would recommend this product. Warning go by the weight chart when picking out size.
ProsTough, well built and easy on/off
By gator
spokane
better than most ive tried, still rubs dog's armpits.
November 2, 2021
I'm going to cut the arm holes bigger to see if that works. Tried that on other vests and no good. Looks like this one may have a chance
By Tom
Iowa
Great dog vest
November 2, 2021
I’ve had 3 of these. They are very good vests. They are easy to put on, have high visibility in the field good chest protection. The only problem I’ve had was a plastic snap breaking on the first vest. I have 2 GSHs that weigh 70-80 pounds and the large adjusted well. Highly recommend. T
ConsOne plastic buckle broke
By Brian
MA
Great vest, but product runs big
October 26, 2021
This vest is very well constructed and excited about using it to protech my GSPs. Both my dogs are 48-55# and 22 and 23 inch tall. I ordered the Medium but feel its too large for both the dogs, so returned and ordered a Small. Haven't received the Small yet, but expect it should fit very well.
Proshighly constructed product.
Conssizes seem to run too big for accurate desrcription.
By Wes
Midwest
Great dog vest..!
October 23, 2021
I measured my dog and this is bigger than I thought it would be. I had to pull all the straps all the way up. I probably could have used the next size smaller instead? But, it should work OK.
ProsPlenty large enough! Good material which should last several years in the field.
ConsIF you need a MED, best order a SMALL... This runs big in size.
By John
Utah
Very good vest
October 23, 2021
I have used these vests for several years. They protect very well and I have never had a problem with them.
ProsVery durable and easy to put on.
ConsI have seen no cons.
By Hen
Massachusetts
Perfect protection in the woods
October 23, 2021
I have 2 pointers that love hiking in the woods, and running through everything. This body guard is perfect to protect them from getting hurt and to be seen during hunting season. There was a getting use to period but after one hike they didn’t seem to mind wearing it at all (and it didn’t slow them down).
ProsGood protection Color Easy to put on
ConsN/A
By Cat
Wisconsin
Great product.
October 20, 2021
Well made product. Covers chest well and offers three way adjustment so that it can grow with my puppy.
By MJH
Oklahoma
Bright & Breathable
October 20, 2021
Purchased this vest for my Lab for our pheasant hunt in South Dakota. It was lightweight and breathable which came in handy for the abnormally warm temperatures of 80*+. The adjustable straps allow for a wide range of body sizes. My lab's size was right in between the large and medium. To be safe, I purchased the L which was WAY too big and I returned it for the M. If you are on the fence about size I would go with the size smaller because the straps allow for a lot of room. I also took other reviewer's advice and washed it multiple times on delicate to soften it up. After 2.5 days of her wearing it I did not see any rubbing around the legs or chest.
Pros-Bright -Breathable -Adjustable Straps -Durable
Cons-Very stiff out of the box
By Renee
Georgia
Body Guard dog vest
October 13, 2021
Great quality and fit. I'm anxious to use it in the field. It will make visibility so much easier and protect my most valuable "hunting component". It goes on very easily.
By Jeff L.
Brookfield, WI
Loved this vest for my dogs first time in the woods
October 13, 2021
I was taking my dog up to the Wisconsin north woods for the first time for him to tag along with us for some upland bird hunting. He is a smaller dog (38 pounds) and was not bread for hunting. He has a lot of energy and a strong scent drive. I wanted to keep him safe and visible. Also hoping that he would be able to be out there with us the whole time keeping him protected was important as well. Fit and function were also a key for my. I like to be able to get it on an not have to worry about it flopping around or coming loose. It performed very well and I can't wait for him to get out there more with us.
ProsI measured my dogs girth before ordering and it fit perfect. Easy to adjust and it stayed in place well while out in the woods.
Consnothing really
By Anonymous
Wisco
Solid upland vest
October 6, 2021
Great fit, and very adjustable. My Brittany loves it!
By John
WI
Dog Vest
October 1, 2021
Nice vest. Easy on and off. Confident it will protect my shorthair from hidden obstacles. Easy to keep track of my solid liver dog.
By Lance
Bryan, Texas
Vest
September 28, 2021
It was exactly what we were looking for. Fits great and is durable.
By Chris
IL
Nice Vest
September 24, 2021
Very nice product.
ConsDidn't fit my dog's body conformation
By Steve
Oak Island, NC
Tough Vest
September 24, 2021
Sylmar vests hold up for years, nothing better!
ProsVery visible Tough material Easy to clean
ConsNone
By Micromiem
Oregon
Super dog!
September 17, 2021
I bought this vest for my 2 y.o. pudelpointer for upland hunting, hoping to get her more protection on her chest and belly since she doesn't have much hair there. She has wore it a couple times now. Before this vest she has always been timid to go deeper into brushy spaces. After her first venture into the bushes with this vest she's become much more brazen and gleefully charges through tall grass, corn, trailing blackberry/elderberry brambles. She had a couple rub wounds on her chest, but I'm not 100% sure they were from the vest. This is also the first vest she's had that sits properly on her, and I think this is due to it clipping on top and the wider coverage. She is 42-45lbs and the medium barely fit her (it was too big).
ProsDurability when going through pokey vegetation.
ConsDidn't quite align with the size range. Arm holes might be a bit snug for a larger weight/size dog.
By Ron E.
Arlington WA
Really good quality vest
September 9, 2021
Bought this vest for Penny our 80lb yellow lab. Fits very well and offers much needed protection for a dog with no fear. Really like this vest
ProsHeavy duty fabric High visibility Secure fasteners
ConsNone
By David
Nevada
Pop
September 1, 2021
Looking for a code pops on the mountain side other than blaze orange
By Bering
Alaska
Sturdy, yet comfortable vest
August 27, 2021
I have all sizes of this vest, to have the one the fits best available at any given time. Currently, the size M just took over from the size S on my 5 month old Deutsch Drahthaar.
By Jeff P.
Pelican Rapids, Minnesota
Excellent Dog Vest
August 24, 2021
I ordered the Sylmar Dog Vest and am very happy with the style, fit and functionality of it. My dog doesn't mind wearing it at all. His first experience with it was a 4 mile training walk with multiple retrieves in varying tough cover. He had no issues at all where the vest was concerned. I was pleasantly surprised to hear on KFAN Outdoors that both radio hosts will not go afield without first putting the SYLMAR Dog Vest on all of their dogs.
ProsFast turn around time for ordering from Gun Dog Supply. Excellent quality dog vest. Appears tough enough to prevent puncture and abrasion wounds.
ConsNothing so far.
By Josh
Mora mn
Best vest for the money
July 8, 2021
I wouldn't drop my tailgate in the fall without strapping these on! Lightweight east to use and great protection. Too many close calls with sharp sticks. Also excellent when in the raspberry bushes or burrs.
ProsSolid!
ConsA bit stiff when new but typically breaks in after a few wears and washes.
By Don
Minnesota
All-around great vest
July 6, 2021
The Sylmar Body Guard vest is: 1) bright and easy to see, 2) uses a durable fabric and protects dog, 3) cut for athletic dogs, 4) it’s easy on/off, and 5) this vest allows me to use the flag harness on dog ( the flag can go out the top of the vest). Hunting in the northwoods near the Canada border-- this vest is a must have for our dog. Visibility of dog through the timber is great!
ProsUses buckles vs zipper or velcro
By Don
Cadillac, MI
Good quality
June 29, 2021
Well made product!! I’ve used for years so I knew what I was getting!!
By MontanomanEugene
Eugene, Oregon
Cure for Chest/Belly Irritation
June 27, 2021
I started using this vest when my GSP/Labrador cross started having skin irritation from our daily retrieving drills in heavy cover. It took a minimal amount of time for her to get used to it and adjusted well to accommodate her unique frame.

Page 2 of 7
2





privacy policy | terms & conditions


1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions