Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.7
313 Reviews
5
79% (246)
4
16% (50)
3
3% (10)
2
2% (6)
1
0% (1)
97% Recommend this product (305 of 313 responses)
By Jo
Illinois
Jacket for protection
October 4, 2022
It's a nice jacket but meant for sporting dogs. I have an American Staffordshire. The jacket I bought should have fit him but is meant more for a sporting dog not a Staffordshire. I am returning it.
ProsMeant for hunting dog body styles
ConsNot meant for thick bull dog breed styles American Staffordshire
By Bruce H.
Dennysville, ME
Sylmar Body Dog Guard Vest
October 1, 2022
Very satisfied with the product and Gun Dog Supply who obviously care about their customers.
By Richard C.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Dog vest
September 29, 2022
Outstanding vest. It doesn't chaff my dog as did another vest. The bright orange sides make it easier to see my chocolate lab in heavy cover. Above all, it provides the protection she needs when she is slamming through heavy cover.
ProsLight and visible.
ConsNeed to put both legs through the holes. However with a dog under control, this isn't a problem.
By Dave
West Virginia
Initial response
September 27, 2022
I have two Britanys that I use to hunt pheasant, grouse, and woodcock. The product fits well and looks substantial. Season starts in October and will use the product then for the first time. I used another brand last year and was not satisfied. These vest look made much better. I like the material.
ProsFit well Hardy material
By Henry
Minnesota
Dog hunting vest
September 17, 2022
Very solid product. Medium fits my 62 pound Wirehaired Vizsla. Minor chafing on our first 2-day hunt on the ND prairie. Very pleased.
ProsDurable Hi-viz
ConsSome chafing on outside of shoulder
By Amy
Wisconsin
Saving my dog
September 14, 2022
I love this vest. It’s easy to put on my dog and it’s very durable. I believe this will help keep her safe outside while she runs around. Ordering and shipping was fast and easy.
ProsDurable and lightweight
ConsSize chart is a little off. Measurements called for a large and had to return it (which was easy) and order a medium.
By Robert
Massachusetts
Good quality protective vest
September 14, 2022
Bought this best for my dog to wear while Upland hunting, seems to be high quality material and lightweight so dog doesn’t get overheated
By John
New England
Best overall protection vest
September 9, 2022
A great choice for overall protection of your hunting companion. Works well on cool mornings and mid day in 30-60 degree temps. Keeps their chest underside safe from burrs, thorns, branches, or most any other potentially irritating or dangerous objects. Light weight and visible. Well worth the price.
ProsLight weight, non insulated, easy to pack, not restricting of movement, sheds most birds to keep them off fur.
ConsAfter a season or two the orange does fade quickly but a minor trade off for the price and protection of your hunting or hiking partner. This will be the second vest purchased in 4 seasons. Only reason I replaced it was color faded and became dull but otherwise it's in good shape.
By Lindsey
Northern MN
Adjustable straps are key
September 8, 2022
This is a heavy duty vest with full coverage for my female setter’s under carriage. The adjustable straps are great for her bigger chest and skinny waist. The bright yellow is super easy to see in the thick woods.
ProsAdjustable straps and high visibility
ConsFabric on front of chest is bigger than I'd like. Can act like a scoop in thick brush
By Dee
Chicago, Ill
Best hunting vest
August 31, 2022
This is a priority piece of equipment for my hunting dogs. This vest not only is it great protection from the brush and other unseen objects in the field it also allows my dogs to be seen and not mistaken for pray.
ProsEasy to put on and wash.
By Brad W.
Vermont
Tried a few, like this one.
August 31, 2022
Fits great, stays in place well, stays connected well, and doesn't chafe.
By Lori K.
Spokane, WA
Safety 1st
August 23, 2022
Had narrow vests for my gsps to wear while in the woods. My gsp had a run in with a branch, which his original vest did not protect him. I bought these to help prevent injuries, and so far I think they will be very beneficial. Bought size medium, dogs do not seem to mind them.
By robin B.
robin
Great vest
August 19, 2022
These are the best vests. They don't wear out and their quick connectors are so much better than velcro. Only reason I got another vest is because I got another dog. My 9 year old is still wearing hers.
By Don
Reese MI
Great protection!
August 17, 2022
The vest offers great protection for my dog from stick punctures while grouse hunting and from barbed wire while pheasant hunting.
ProsOffers great protection.
ConsIt is very stiff when new and needs a break in period so it doesn't chaff. I washed it numerous times before use to soften it to help.
By Scott
Minnesota
Hard driving hunting dogs need all of the protection you can give them.
August 10, 2022
I just purchased my third Sylmar dog vest for my seven month-old puppy. My first one was purchased a long time ago and was worn by my dog for 11 years. It held up well, did not fray or wear through in any way and the dog was able to wear it until the end. My second vest is being worn by my 7 year-old dog. Again no problems whatsoever. I had such good luck we these vests protecting my dogs over the years as we hunted Pheasants through some pretty thick terrain including a lot of farms with barbed wire fences that I had to get another one to protect my new pup. These vests I'm sure prevented many injuries to my dogs. They did have some cuts and lacerations on their upper legs or under their front armpits that the vest doesn't cover and I could only imagine what would have happened to their chests if they hadn't been wearing these vests. Another reason I choose these vests is the high visibility orange color. It helps me visually keep track of the dogs in tall vegetation.
ProsHighly Visible. Tough material protects the dogs vital areas. Adjustable straps allows you to adjust the size of the vest as your dog grows.
By KS
Texas
Dog Vest
April 25, 2022
So far so good Have only had my dog wear this for short periods of time for break in periods
ProsQuality material and craftsman ship . Seems to be thicker and heaver material than other vest.
ConsNone at this time
By Ruby
New Hamoshire
Effective protection for your dog.
March 10, 2022
Easy to adjust and provides good protection.
ProsMy dog seems to adapt to it very readily. Good protection against thorns and brush.
ConsDoes not provide much warmth.
By Pam
Lincoln, Nebraska
Great vest
March 9, 2022
Very well made vest. Great protection in the field. Fits great!
ProsQuality product.
By Linda
Pittsburgh pa
Best vest ever
February 24, 2022
I walk my dogs everyday at a local land trust. They run loose and thru bushes and brush. Any other vest I got would be torn in no time. I got this vest and it is fantastic. Shows no wear and tear and also keeps his belly and chest clean when it’s muddy. I liked it so much I got one for my neighbor’s dog who frequently comes with us. Love it! Also easy to put on and clean up.
ProsEasy to put on cleans up nicely durable
ConsCan't think of any
By Mark
Danville
Okie
February 16, 2022
The vest worked out great. The adjustability is key. I had a cheap vest with Velcro and always had problems. When you get in the bush after ruffed grouse it’s cheap insurance to prevent injury.
By Mark
New jersey
Multi faceted protection
February 8, 2022
Great product for increasing your dog’s visibility. Noticed less burrs in my sprocker spaniel. Less imbedded thorns after a day of hunting too. Highly recommend this product. Good fit.
By Steve
Gary, South Dakota
Must have
February 4, 2022
My dogs are constantly getting cut from barbwire fencing and cattails, this vest is the best I have found to protect them.
By K C.
Eastern Oregon
Sylmar body guard dog vest
February 3, 2022
This is the best vest I have found and my English setter seems to agree. It’s easy to get on her and fits well. She covers the field with ease with no hindrence of movement.
ProsGreat fit
ConsNone
By Owen S.
NC North Carolina
Fantastic Product, Fantastic Service
January 18, 2022
Fantastic product and delivered early with a personal note from the owner of the company.
By Klaus H.
Ellensburg, Washington
Works for me
January 15, 2022
We have two large Anatolian/Akbash guardian dogs that watch the livestock. They have free run of the farm and sometimes get out in the road. I tried the vest on the young one. It’s plenty tough and the visibility is excellent. He took to wearing it in a few days. I’m buying a second vest for my big guy. As always, a good value and quality product. Keep it up.
By Joshua G.
Smith Mountain Lake Virginia
Good addition to field gear
January 13, 2022
I purchased a Vest for each of my two bird dogs after a trip to Maine. We had a great time but both of my boys got several cuts and minor injuries. I have been very pleased with the vest's protection from injuries, quality, and durability. I like that they are made in the USA. They also make it easier to see my dogs working the cover. Steve -- thanks for the great product. You will not be disappointed if you add this Vest to your field gear lineup.
Pros-Protection from injuries, quality, and durability. -Made in USA. -Easier to see my dogs working the cover.
ConsHaven't found any - honest.
By Karl
SW Oregon
Size chart did not work well for my dog
January 3, 2022
I really can't rate this product yet because I am in the process of exchanging it for a smaller size. My dog is a slender but muscular lab, 68 lbs. I ordered a large based on the sizing chart. My dog's girth is right between the medium and large recommendation but his weight was well into the large so that is what I ordered. A large is way too large, too much floppy fabric to catch on things. I hope a medium fits much better.
ProsThe vest looks well made with tough fabric but I have not field tested it because I'm in the process of exchanging it.
ConsSize chart mislead me into ordering too large of a vest that I had to return for exchange.
By Hiker 9.
Denton, TX
Saves dog from burrs
January 1, 2022
This is my second Sylmar vest. The old one lasted many years. My dog is used to having it on when in the field, whether hunting or just getting some field exercise. Once you get the size correct, you need to cut off the excess strap. I will burn the end to keep it from unraveling. The color is bright and it's easy to pick out the dog in all types of terrain. We train and play in the lake with it on and it stands up to all kinds of abuse. Over time, the old one faded. Now we have a nice bright new one. I don't know how many hours I've saved in picking out cockle burrs and other stuff after our fieldwork is finished. Of course, the vest only protects the chest and underside of the dog, so I still have to clean off the rest of the dog. I like that it saves me time.
ProsWell built and bright colored. Can be adjusted to fit the dog. Saves time with dog clean-up after fieldwork. Keeps some of the burrs and stuff from sticking to the fur. Durable.
ConsI can't think of any.
By Ed S.
Jamesville, NY
Solid affordable field protection
December 18, 2021
Having tried nearly every available chest protector for my GSP a friend loaned me an old Sylmar. I knew right away this was going to work. The loaner was a bit snug, but when we got home I measured her and ordered a vest. With the season behind us, I can tell you this is the best upland vest you can buy. No hot spots and simply great protection, my GSP is super prone to scratches and really getting roughed up, no more. Thanks to Gun Dog Supply!
ProsGreat value for the money Adjustability
ConsFades a smidge on washing - doesn't change how great this is
By Shelley
Canada
Body Guard Vest
December 13, 2021
I purchased this product for my 10 year old guardian dog that prefers to sleep outside with the livestock. It completely protects underneath the dog, which is great because we have freezing temperatures where we live.
By Mark
Pennsylvania
Great Protection for High-Impact Dogs
December 13, 2021
The Sylmar Body Guard Dog Vest is the best I have found so far. It provides chest and side protection from brush, thorns, and alike. In addition, the blaze orange/red makes sure he is seen and not mistook for prey. I’ve seen no restriction of movement or agility. The straps and quick release buckles are heavy duty and I often use the middle strap as a handhold to control movement when necessary. Good quality construction - you get what you pay for. My German Pinscher weighs 45-pounds with a broad chest/thin wast, size medium fits well with room to spare.
ProsBody Protection High Visibility Quality Construction
ConsNone
By Michael
Johnson City, TN
Great product
December 10, 2021
This vest was a perfect fit for our Cur dog. Steve always makes sure to get orders out fast and complete. Only place we get our dog supplies from.
By John
Strongsville, Ohio
Great vest
December 7, 2021
I purchased this vest for my Vizsla to protect her chest and belly area since her hair is thin and she tends to take a beating there.
ProsThis vest is heavy duty and easily adjustable. Visibility is great too.
ConsI had to sew the front of the chest together a little so it would clear her front legs. Not a big problem, since no product is going to fit every dog out there.
By Jerry L.
California
Good product, needs adjustment
November 30, 2021
Seems to be well made and durable and lightweight too
ProsLightweight and durable
ConsNeed to do some adjusting as holes for front legs rubbed the hair off my dog. Guess I need to tighten it up some without restricting movement
By Bessie
Clifton Township, Pa.
Nice piece, Dog vest.
November 30, 2021
Feels sturdy, nice color, fits great. All OK.
ProsI like it.
By Allen
PA
Works as advertised.
November 30, 2021
Overall, pleased with the vest. They may be sized a bit on the big side in my experience. And the service at Gun Dog Supply is top notch. I'll be ordering again.
By Thor's d.
Central WI
Made in USA!
November 26, 2021
The quality of this vest is excellent. Originally, I ordered a Large, but it was too long for my smallish Lab; it covered a critical area of his anatomy! I replaced it with a Medium, which fits fine. The heavy-duty fabric is very protective. It was stiff at first, but tumbling it in the dryer with wet clothes helped soften it. The folks at Gun Dog Supply are so friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful! I will always check with them first for dog needs.
By John
Evansville Indiana
Awesome
November 24, 2021
Works great. Able to see my Boykin in tall cover
By Thomas Y.
New Jersey
Well made vest
November 24, 2021
First off, I purchase all my gundog needs from this company. The service and pricing is fair and the products are good. I’ve purchased two of these body guard vests over the last 10 years. The vest are very well made and can handle the many hours in the field. My 50 pound Brittany wears a medium..
ProsWell made
ConsSometimes tricky finding the correct size
By Eric
Iowa
The second try on size works...
November 19, 2021
Based on sizing info and a recommendation from customer support I originally ordered a large for my 75 lb male GSP with a 31" measured chest and it was way to big, with excess material around the neck and rear two straps needing to be cinched completely tight to even get close. Ordered a medium and it seems to fit pretty well. Look forward to seeing how it performs over time.
ProsConstruction and materials seem good - overall pleased
ConsWas disappointed in sizing recommendation being off...
By RAD
Wisconsin
Quality and correct size
November 17, 2021
I have a big Laborador. Sizing was as described. Vest worked well on a 5 day upland hunting trip. No cuts or scratches in the areas covered and no abrasions or rubbing from the vest itself. Hi-vis yellow set him apart from other dogs.
ProsFit, sizing, protection, visibility. When the material runs against heavy brush it can sound like a bird getting up! Adds to the excitement of the hunt. :) Seems to be a good product.
ConsNone yet.
By Mike
Gloucester, MA, United States
Liked at first
November 17, 2021
we have used this vest a few times. It seems to fit well on my 50lb Vizsla and seemed like a good product. When I used this the other day - I noticed that there is quite a rub on his right front shoulder. the material is meant to be brush resistant so it is somewhat hard material. I am a bit torn if I am going to just stop using it or try to add some fleece to the front shoulder holes. I realize a Vizsla has a thin coat of fur, but its quite a bad rub. if you have a lab or spaniel I am sure it would be fine but for us, the product is not great as is.
Prosfits well very visible jacket
Consvery bad rub on one shoulder from ruff material
By Larry S.
Eloy Arizona
Great, durable product with fast shipping
November 16, 2021
I have only used the vest once but was more than satisfied. Just in the short time we used it, she tore through some heavy brush without any issues. The material is thick and all of the stitching seems heavy duty. I was skeptical about the sizing but I measured twice and ordered once and the vest fit perfectly. Best part was the incredibly fast shipping, faster than Amazon.
ProsHeavy duty Fast shipping Good visibly
ConsI wish there was a flap that covered the back.
By Mike
Maryland
Sylmar Vests did the job on my cocker and brittany
November 15, 2021
The two Sylmar medium vests fit the dogs well and made them easy to see. I did trim the excess off the ends of the adjustable straps, but had no problems. Easy to put on and take off.
By Troy F.
Illinois
Jagd terrier
November 14, 2021
No more scratches all over my Jagd terriers belly. She's 14lbs and she's a Freakshow in the wood and the vest holds up excellent.
By Jeremy
East Tennessee
Just as described! A+ (Size Med.)
November 3, 2021
This body guard dog vest was just as described. It fit my Brittany wonderfully and has lasted through some really tough stuff! Briar thickets, saplings, ect. I would recommend this product. Warning go by the weight chart when picking out size.
ProsTough, well built and easy on/off
By gator
spokane
better than most ive tried, still rubs dog's armpits.
November 2, 2021
I'm going to cut the arm holes bigger to see if that works. Tried that on other vests and no good. Looks like this one may have a chance
By Tom
Iowa
Great dog vest
November 2, 2021
I’ve had 3 of these. They are very good vests. They are easy to put on, have high visibility in the field good chest protection. The only problem I’ve had was a plastic snap breaking on the first vest. I have 2 GSHs that weigh 70-80 pounds and the large adjusted well. Highly recommend. T
ConsOne plastic buckle broke
By Brian
MA
Great vest, but product runs big
October 26, 2021
This vest is very well constructed and excited about using it to protech my GSPs. Both my dogs are 48-55# and 22 and 23 inch tall. I ordered the Medium but feel its too large for both the dogs, so returned and ordered a Small. Haven't received the Small yet, but expect it should fit very well.
Proshighly constructed product.
Conssizes seem to run too big for accurate desrcription.
By Todd
Iron River Michigan
Symlar dog vest
October 25, 2021
Awesome fit no wear marks on my dogs. Great protection

Page 1 of 7
1





privacy policy | terms & conditions


1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions