Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


4.7
262 Reviews
5
79% (206)
4
17% (45)
3
2% (6)
2
2% (5)
1
0% (0)
98% Recommend this product (257 of 262 responses)
By John
Evansville Indiana
Awesome
November 24, 2021
Works great. Able to see my Boykin in tall cover
By Thomas Y.
New Jersey
Well made vest
November 24, 2021
First off, I purchase all my gundog needs from this company. The service and pricing is fair and the products are good. I’ve purchased two of these body guard vests over the last 10 years. The vest are very well made and can handle the many hours in the field. My 50 pound Brittany wears a medium..
ProsWell made
ConsSometimes tricky finding the correct size
By RAD
Wisconsin
Quality and correct size
November 17, 2021
I have a big Laborador. Sizing was as described. Vest worked well on a 5 day upland hunting trip. No cuts or scratches in the areas covered and no abrasions or rubbing from the vest itself. Hi-vis yellow set him apart from other dogs.
ProsFit, sizing, protection, visibility. When the material runs against heavy brush it can sound like a bird getting up! Adds to the excitement of the hunt. :) Seems to be a good product.
ConsNone yet.
By Larry S.
Eloy Arizona
Great, durable product with fast shipping
November 16, 2021
I have only used the vest once but was more than satisfied. Just in the short time we used it, she tore through some heavy brush without any issues. The material is thick and all of the stitching seems heavy duty. I was skeptical about the sizing but I measured twice and ordered once and the vest fit perfectly. Best part was the incredibly fast shipping, faster than Amazon.
ProsHeavy duty Fast shipping Good visibly
ConsI wish there was a flap that covered the back.
By Mike
Maryland
Sylmar Vests did the job on my cocker and brittany
November 15, 2021
The two Sylmar medium vests fit the dogs well and made them easy to see. I did trim the excess off the ends of the adjustable straps, but had no problems. Easy to put on and take off.
By Troy F.
Illinois
Jagd terrier
November 14, 2021
No more scratches all over my Jagd terriers belly. She's 14lbs and she's a Freakshow in the wood and the vest holds up excellent.
By Jeremy
East Tennessee
Just as described! A+ (Size Med.)
November 3, 2021
This body guard dog vest was just as described. It fit my Brittany wonderfully and has lasted through some really tough stuff! Briar thickets, saplings, ect. I would recommend this product. Warning go by the weight chart when picking out size.
ProsTough, well built and easy on/off
By gator
spokane
better than most ive tried, still rubs dog's armpits.
November 2, 2021
I'm going to cut the arm holes bigger to see if that works. Tried that on other vests and no good. Looks like this one may have a chance
By Tom
Iowa
Great dog vest
November 2, 2021
I’ve had 3 of these. They are very good vests. They are easy to put on, have high visibility in the field good chest protection. The only problem I’ve had was a plastic snap breaking on the first vest. I have 2 GSHs that weigh 70-80 pounds and the large adjusted well. Highly recommend. T
ConsOne plastic buckle broke
By Brian
MA
Great vest, but product runs big
October 26, 2021
This vest is very well constructed and excited about using it to protech my GSPs. Both my dogs are 48-55# and 22 and 23 inch tall. I ordered the Medium but feel its too large for both the dogs, so returned and ordered a Small. Haven't received the Small yet, but expect it should fit very well.
Proshighly constructed product.
Conssizes seem to run too big for accurate desrcription.
By Wes
Midwest
Great dog vest..!
October 23, 2021
I measured my dog and this is bigger than I thought it would be. I had to pull all the straps all the way up. I probably could have used the next size smaller instead? But, it should work OK.
ProsPlenty large enough! Good material which should last several years in the field.
ConsIF you need a MED, best order a SMALL... This runs big in size.
By John
Utah
Very good vest
October 23, 2021
I have used these vests for several years. They protect very well and I have never had a problem with them.
ProsVery durable and easy to put on.
ConsI have seen no cons.
By Hen
Massachusetts
Perfect protection in the woods
October 23, 2021
I have 2 pointers that love hiking in the woods, and running through everything. This body guard is perfect to protect them from getting hurt and to be seen during hunting season. There was a getting use to period but after one hike they didn’t seem to mind wearing it at all (and it didn’t slow them down).
ProsGood protection Color Easy to put on
ConsN/A
By Cat
Wisconsin
Great product.
October 20, 2021
Well made product. Covers chest well and offers three way adjustment so that it can grow with my puppy.
By MJH
Oklahoma
Bright & Breathable
October 20, 2021
Purchased this vest for my Lab for our pheasant hunt in South Dakota. It was lightweight and breathable which came in handy for the abnormally warm temperatures of 80*+. The adjustable straps allow for a wide range of body sizes. My lab's size was right in between the large and medium. To be safe, I purchased the L which was WAY too big and I returned it for the M. If you are on the fence about size I would go with the size smaller because the straps allow for a lot of room. I also took other reviewer's advice and washed it multiple times on delicate to soften it up. After 2.5 days of her wearing it I did not see any rubbing around the legs or chest.
Pros-Bright -Breathable -Adjustable Straps -Durable
Cons-Very stiff out of the box
By Renee
Georgia
Body Guard dog vest
October 13, 2021
Great quality and fit. I'm anxious to use it in the field. It will make visibility so much easier and protect my most valuable "hunting component". It goes on very easily.
By Jeff L.
Brookfield, WI
Loved this vest for my dogs first time in the woods
October 13, 2021
I was taking my dog up to the Wisconsin north woods for the first time for him to tag along with us for some upland bird hunting. He is a smaller dog (38 pounds) and was not bread for hunting. He has a lot of energy and a strong scent drive. I wanted to keep him safe and visible. Also hoping that he would be able to be out there with us the whole time keeping him protected was important as well. Fit and function were also a key for my. I like to be able to get it on an not have to worry about it flopping around or coming loose. It performed very well and I can't wait for him to get out there more with us.
ProsI measured my dogs girth before ordering and it fit perfect. Easy to adjust and it stayed in place well while out in the woods.
Consnothing really
By updateCategoryParent
Wisco
Solid upland vest
October 6, 2021
Great fit, and very adjustable. My Brittany loves it!
By John
WI
Dog Vest
October 1, 2021
Nice vest. Easy on and off. Confident it will protect my shorthair from hidden obstacles. Easy to keep track of my solid liver dog.
By Lance
Bryan, Texas
Vest
September 28, 2021
It was exactly what we were looking for. Fits great and is durable.
By Chris
IL
Nice Vest
September 24, 2021
Very nice product.
ConsDidn't fit my dog's body conformation
By Steve
Oak Island, NC
Tough Vest
September 24, 2021
Sylmar vests hold up for years, nothing better!
ProsVery visible Tough material Easy to clean
ConsNone
By Micromiem
Oregon
Super dog!
September 17, 2021
I bought this vest for my 2 y.o. pudelpointer for upland hunting, hoping to get her more protection on her chest and belly since she doesn't have much hair there. She has wore it a couple times now. Before this vest she has always been timid to go deeper into brushy spaces. After her first venture into the bushes with this vest she's become much more brazen and gleefully charges through tall grass, corn, trailing blackberry/elderberry brambles. She had a couple rub wounds on her chest, but I'm not 100% sure they were from the vest. This is also the first vest she's had that sits properly on her, and I think this is due to it clipping on top and the wider coverage. She is 42-45lbs and the medium barely fit her (it was too big).
ProsDurability when going through pokey vegetation.
ConsDidn't quite align with the size range. Arm holes might be a bit snug for a larger weight/size dog.
By Ron E.
Arlington WA
Really good quality vest
September 9, 2021
Bought this vest for Penny our 80lb yellow lab. Fits very well and offers much needed protection for a dog with no fear. Really like this vest
ProsHeavy duty fabric High visibility Secure fasteners
ConsNone
By David
Nevada
Pop
September 1, 2021
Looking for a code pops on the mountain side other than blaze orange
By Bering
Alaska
Sturdy, yet comfortable vest
August 27, 2021
I have all sizes of this vest, to have the one the fits best available at any given time. Currently, the size M just took over from the size S on my 5 month old Deutsch Drahthaar.
By Jeff P.
Pelican Rapids, Minnesota
Excellent Dog Vest
August 24, 2021
I ordered the Sylmar Dog Vest and am very happy with the style, fit and functionality of it. My dog doesn't mind wearing it at all. His first experience with it was a 4 mile training walk with multiple retrieves in varying tough cover. He had no issues at all where the vest was concerned. I was pleasantly surprised to hear on KFAN Outdoors that both radio hosts will not go afield without first putting the SYLMAR Dog Vest on all of their dogs.
ProsFast turn around time for ordering from Gun Dog Supply. Excellent quality dog vest. Appears tough enough to prevent puncture and abrasion wounds.
ConsNothing so far.
By Josh
Mora mn
Best vest for the money
July 8, 2021
I wouldn't drop my tailgate in the fall without strapping these on! Lightweight east to use and great protection. Too many close calls with sharp sticks. Also excellent when in the raspberry bushes or burrs.
ProsSolid!
ConsA bit stiff when new but typically breaks in after a few wears and washes.
By Don
Minnesota
All-around great vest
July 6, 2021
The Sylmar Body Guard vest is: 1) bright and easy to see, 2) uses a durable fabric and protects dog, 3) cut for athletic dogs, 4) it’s easy on/off, and 5) this vest allows me to use the flag harness on dog ( the flag can go out the top of the vest). Hunting in the northwoods near the Canada border-- this vest is a must have for our dog. Visibility of dog through the timber is great!
ProsUses buckles vs zipper or velcro
By Don
Cadillac, MI
Good quality
June 29, 2021
Well made product!! I’ve used for years so I knew what I was getting!!
By MontanomanEugene
Eugene, Oregon
Cure for Chest/Belly Irritation
June 27, 2021
I started using this vest when my GSP/Labrador cross started having skin irritation from our daily retrieving drills in heavy cover. It took a minimal amount of time for her to get used to it and adjusted well to accommodate her unique frame.
By Jerry H.
Wisconsin
Body Guard Dog Vest
June 18, 2021
Seems to be a quality product. I like the way it fits and looks. Have not had the opportunity to use it hunting yet. Will update survey after the fall Bird hunting season.
By Customer
Northeast Colorado
Maggie tested Maggie approved
May 19, 2021
Good stuff!!
ProsGreat color, fits well and the print is very Legible
ConsNone
By Kevin
Michigan
Great protection
April 25, 2021
This vest is well built and provides great protection around the chest and belly area. The orange is very bright and helps me keep an eye on my shed hunting dog who is brindle and blends into the woods very well. It’s a little stiff and noisy at first but softens up a little as you break it in.
ProsBright orange Sturdy Fits well Provides chest and stomach protection.
ConsStiff Noisy
By Robin N.
Burnsville, MN
Great protective vest for hard-charging dogs
April 23, 2021
This protective vest has been very helpful for our springer spaniel, Obi. Obi has injured himself multiple times in the woods and fields near our cabin in Northern Minnesota. He would catch his skin on a tree branch or another object and tear his skin, requiring stitches. Since he has been wearing this vest, he has not injured himself. We love the color, also, as it is easier to see him in the woods.
ProsEasy on/off
ConsNone
By SteveM
WMass
Great Fit and Function
April 22, 2021
Bought the yellow one to rotate with my orange Sylmar Vest depending upon field conditions. The orange vest has held up well for three hunting seasons and I feel the dog is pretty well protected when hunting thick cover up in New England, plus I can find him on point when the bell stops!!
ProsQuality of construction and fit.
ConsDoes become less bright with hard use even when washed.
By Howard
Sutton, Massachusetts
Great Vest
April 10, 2021
Great vest. Made in America. Made of rugged material, very good stitching, looks & feels great on the dogs,(Ben Lab & Gracie Springer). Keeps both dogs protected both for visibility & underbelly cuts & scraps. I have used these vests for multiple seasons. The springer is going on the 4th season. The Lab's is new because of growth. We hunt upland, with briers, brush, thick under growth, both dogs & vests hold up well. You won't be disappointed with the Sylmar Vest or Gun Dog Supply if return is needed.
ProsMade in America, sturdy, looks & feels great on to dogs. Multiple seasons of wear with the Sylmar, highly recommended
ConsNone
By BK
Sergeant Bluff, IA
Best I have found.
April 9, 2021
These Sylmar vests cover more area than any of the others I have found. My springers run hard, and these vests definitely cut down on the number of cuts and pokes at the end of the day.
ProsCoverage area, durability.
By HeBeGeeBee
Genoa, Ohio
BestVest
March 24, 2021
Excellent quality and coverage. Had one previously for an older dog, bought another for a new pup. Always interesting to see a dog react to new vests or boots.
By Anton
New Jersey
Nice vest
March 18, 2021
Only had a chance to use this product once this season, seems to fit well .like the fact it has several straps for adjusting for different size dogs.Most likely a good idea to run your dog with it before your season starts to have time to adjust it properly .
By LMB
Northern MN
Visible Dog vest
March 18, 2021
Easy on/off, great visibility when off in woods or ahead on trail. Great purchase!
By Matt
MI
Small fits 38lb French Brittany well
February 3, 2021
I ordered a small and medium for my 10 month old French brittany thinking he may need a medium as he fills out. The small fits him well now, and there is adjustment room available as he fills out. So returning the medium.
ProsOverall quality is good, sturdy material, seems like it will last awhile.
By Robert
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Dog Vest
January 29, 2021
Excellent dog vest! Very well built and adjusts to fit the dog perfectly. Paw openings are just the right size for the dog to wear comfortably for hours at a time. Highly recommend this dog vest.
ProsGreat price, very tough material, comfortable for the dog to wear all day long, easy to adjust.
ConsNone. Works great!
By PAUL N.
New Mexico
Sylmar Vest
January 28, 2021
Fits well, softens with a wash on gentle cycle. Covers chest and belly. Dog gets excited when I take it out.
ProsFits well.
ConsA bit stiff when new, but washing on gentle cycle softens it up.
By Stewy
Pa
As described
January 26, 2021
All in all I am happy with this vest I have not used it yet but it is of much better quality than other vest I’ve bought for the same price. I expect this to perform wonderfully. It seems extremely durable. Last but not least it fits our male gsp perfectly. The size guide on the web site is 100% on.
ProsFit Perceived durability (haven't used yet) Price Sizing guide
ConsTook a little while to get Is a bit stiff but I have no doubt it will break in with use
By Dennis M.
Beecher, Illinois
Fits great
January 22, 2021
Seems well made, fits her great.
By Barry D.
South Carolina
Great protection!
January 16, 2021
Just returned home from five day hunting trip to Kansas and Sylmar Body Guard vest worked great, protecting my shorthairs belly. Quality and fit also great no problems with staying in place through out the day.
By Boyd G.
Nebraska
Best vest on market
January 13, 2021
There are other chest protectors and I have tried most of them. Others have to much room around front leg opening and will rub the front 2 tits on a female. Always come back to sylmar body guard.
ProsProtects tits, light weight and seems to mold to dog with the 3 straps
By Jason P.
Butlerville, Arkansas
Great fit and good chest protection from barbwire and thorns.
January 6, 2021
My Boykin Spaniel was getting beat up by barbwire fences and thorns/briars. She normally wears an orange vest that covers her shoulders and back. It provides good visibility, but little protection underneath where most cuts occur. This new vest provides protection and visibility.
ProsGood fit, protection, and visibility.
By Stephen
Arkansas
Quality Vest
December 31, 2020
This item is well made! It is little big for my 30 lb. Brittany and I ordered size small. I had to adjust the straps all the way in so it fit. I had to cut the excess off the straps I do recommend this American made vest Thanks Gun Dog Supply!
ProsSturdy material (Orange)
ConsJust a little big for my Brit. But works.

Page 1 of 6
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2021, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number: