Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+


4.7
350 Reviews
5
79% (276)
4
17% (58)
3
3% (9)
2
2% (6)
1
0% (1)
97% Recommend this product (341 of 350 responses)
By Paul
Lansing, MI
Sylmar Dog Vest
January 17, 2023
These are great vests. I have more than one so I can rotate and wash if needed. They offer great protection and visibility. My setter runs through the brush and I have not ever had any durability issues. Another plus is they are Made In USA. My dog is about 54 pounds and wears a size medium.
ProsProtection and Visibility.
By Donnie
Va
Awesome
January 14, 2023
Great product great price and customer service
By Greg
Detroit
Protective reflective vests
January 6, 2023
Perfect fit , well constructed. Great ordering instructions, fast shipping, very well built!
By Tim
Minnesota
Excellent customer service
January 5, 2023
We had ordered a orange vest from you.. when we received it, looked good, fit good and easy to put on.
ProsEasy to put on, easy to adjust,doesn
ConsWhen we received the vest, after only a couple of times wearing it. , the stitching had come out in one area. When we called about it , they were very helpful and got us a replacement immediately. We were very, very happy with the customer service!
By DJ
California
Worth it
January 5, 2023
On the first day out, my dog ran chest first into some barbed wire. Not a scratch on the dog because the vest protected him. Not even a scratch on the vest. Combined with the easier visibility in the brush, this vest has already been worth its cost. Dog didn't mind it at all either.
Proscost, visibility, protection, doesn't cause overheating, ease of use, fit
By Jerry K.
East Hartford CT
5 stars
January 5, 2023
This is a top quality vest worth every dollar to protect my GSP. We put a lot of time and effort in training our dogs and need to do all we can.to protect them. Thanks for carrying a great product
ProsGreat durable product
ConsNone. Not cheap but you get what you pay for
By Bob G.
Montana
Works fine
January 5, 2023
My dog does not like to wear a vest of any kind. That being said, this vest is less binding than the others I have, and thus she doesn’t fight it quite so much. I like the fit and the vest is well made and durable. The only complaint I might have is that the fabric is noisy. That might be a benefit to me as I can hear where she is, but a detriment also as the birds hear her too! Noisy is the only reason I gave this vest 4 stars instead of 5 stars.
ProsGood fit. Easy to put on. Durable.
ConsNoisy.
By Dennis
Lawrence, Kansas
Finally fit our French Brittanys
January 5, 2023
Finding a good vest for their body farm has bred difficult. These vests after the first two days of hunting are doing great. I’m still examining of the piping around the front legs will run too much due to their Comparatively small chests but so far so good!
By JP
Wisconsin
Symar Body Guard Dog Vest
January 5, 2023
Attaches great and is very adjustable for a comfortable fit. Doesn't interfere with our dogs movement.
Prosgood adjustability
By Sue
NC
Easy to see on dogs
December 26, 2022
Took my dogs hunting and they each wore one of these vests. They were easy to spot in the woods, the dogs had no trouble moving in them, and they stayed well protected. Definitely recommend.
ProsBright color for ease of spotting hunting dogs Doesn't impede movement
ConsA little tricky to get on a wiggly dog
By Rick M.
North Vancouver, B.C.
Great best!
December 22, 2022
Great quality, well made, and bulletproof. We hunt a lot around 7 foot blackberry bushes, they can rip up our dog. This vest protects perfectly!
ProsQuality, construction, easy to adjust.
ConsNone, so far.
By Greg T.
California
Protected him from druse and cactus
December 17, 2022
This was the first time I purchased one of these it protected my boy well. But the it rubbed him raw under the front legs I may have got the wrong size. But according to the video on sizing it was the right size. I adjusted it according to the video so it would not rub him raw but it still did. I don’t know if they will let me return it to try the next size down. It seamed like it was a little to long in the length. So not sure if that is why it rubbed him raw.
By Maureen S.
New Jersey
Sylmar Vest
December 15, 2022
I love this vest for my dog! I just went ‘live’ with it at a recent pheasant hunt. She moved easily as she ran the fields retrieving over 65 bird’s, remained protected in the heavy cover and under brush. It was easy for me to spot her while she worked (orange vest). She has tried a couple other vests and I could not get the fit I wanted for her. This one was different! Thanks for a great product!
ProsVisibility, not bulky, fits well, easy to step into and out of, washed up well after
ConsThe strap material, nylon, frayed a bit from the thorns/briars. I want to see if I can find a confirm sleeve to help protect that (we have a ;leash sleeve; we use for our pet therapy group ID, so something smaller may work!)
By Brian M.
Montana
second one
December 10, 2022
This is the second vest I've gotten, first one lasted 8 years and is really still usable just a little stiff since I probably didn't take good care of it.
Prosstrong, light and easy to put on the dog
ConsI don't use in warm weather as it doesn't breathe well
By S H.
Hebbronville, TX
Did not work for sticker burrs
December 10, 2022
We had a big crop of sticker (sand) burrs in S Texas this year and we tried the vests on cockers. Without the vest extending down the legs, it pushed the burrs into the dog's arm pits and actually within the front section, then pressing into the body as the dog ran forward. Please get a manufacturer to extend down the legs and over the shoulders.
By Karen
Silver City, NM
Fits well and look great!
December 6, 2022
I've only had this on my dog a couple of times - she's not a fan of wearing clothes but she tolerates it. I wish it extended a little further back to protect her whole belly. She loves to run through the brush, and climb rocks. I am always fearful that she will injure herself - this helps alleviate my fears. The next time she crashes over a fallen tree she might be glad she's wearing this too. I also like the fact that it's a bright colour. There are hunters where we hike and this will let them know she's not a game animal.
ProsLightweight Easy to put on Bright colour to alert hunters The material seems sturdy
ConsI understand that you can't have more belly coverage for male dogs but it would be nice for females.
By Hi F.
Missouri
Shows up!
December 5, 2022
Should protect my beagles funally
ProsTough fabric
ConsNone
By Adam M.
Petoskey, Michigan
Best Vest Out There
December 1, 2022
I purchased this because my first vest from Dan's Briarproof bit the dust after one season of hunting every weekend in the Ruffed Grouse woods of Northern Michigan. That vest was alright, but where that vest lacked, this vest certainly makes up for it. This vest covers more of the side of the dog, making the dog more visible. Additionally, the third buckle is extremely useful and seems well stitched together (this is where Dan's skid plate was seriously lacking). The third buckle helps fit around the dog's chest, allowing our Brittany to fit into this vest perfectly, with a small space between the front of the vest and her neck. Finally, the material seems pretty comparable to Dan's, except on the underside of the dog where there is much more protection and thicker material. I wish I could give this 4.5 stars if possible, as I think there is a little bit lacking in design. It would be fantastic to see elastic around the neck area so it hugs the dog's body better. While hunting in Michigan, you run into snow more often than you would like, and with the decent size opening between the neck and the vest, a good amount of snow finds its way into the vest, which we found made the dog cold more quickly.
ProsHigh-quality stitching Great visibility Thick skid plate for superior protection
ConsPoor fit around dogs neck for hunting in deep snow, not that big of a deal really, but thought I'd mention it.
By Mark
Mammoth Az
Great product
November 30, 2022
This protective vest works great. Fits great. And looks great.
By DB
Florida
Good vest
November 27, 2022
I run these vests on both of my Field Bred English Cockers. One vest is 5 years old and still in use. ( I attach a bell to the most rear - ward strap to keep the bell further from their ears )
ProsDurable Hi viz Plenty of adjustments help avoid chafing
By Marie T.
SARVER pa
NOT TRUE TO SIZE
November 18, 2022
The vest was nice. I used and measurements that were listed and they were too large. Style color was nice. Hooks to put them on were are bit of a challenge. From this site I had to pay for return shipping. That cost me $15.00. So for me a complete loss.
Proscolor
Conssize, return cost.
By Kenny M.
Iowa
Excellent vest
November 17, 2022
This vest is well made and is great for our dog. She has thinner hair on her chest area and this keeps her from getting all cut up pheasant hunting. It is also very lightweight but durable and doesn't cause any chaffing issues in the armpits (legpits) of our dog.
ProsEasy to put on and very durable
ConsNone other than you should do the straps in blaze orange instead of black.
By Rod
Powell wy
It will work
November 11, 2022
it will work i know its hard to get a custom fit to fit all dogs but it will work fine.
Proswill work to protect his chest
By Tony
Wolcott Ct
Good Quality
November 9, 2022
Received order on time. It fits good and it looks like it will hold up better than the ones that I had before
ProsGood Quality
By Rick R.
Michigan
Size is critical
November 5, 2022
According to the sizing chart if you are between sizes use the smaller version. Well my 41 pound English Setter was in between so I originally ordered the XS. It was too tight in the arm pits. Super easy to exchange and now have the small. Much better fit. Has enough room where it won’t bother her armpits. Chest covering sits a little too open and will probably catch a lot of seeds and junk. I may it tailored just to take up the slack. In my opinion the are mandatory for English setter’s and GSPs where they are hard charging through all the brush and downed timber looking for grouse. A puncture to the chest or abdomen would certainly wreck you day.
ProsProtection, tough material, softens up with wear, much needed high visibility orange really helps to see your dog in thick cover, fast shipping.
ConsFit is critical. My 41 pound English Setter female wears a small. The xs body and chest fitter better, but the armpit holes were too small. On the small the chest plate sits open like a scoop, might need to add some corner gussets and close it up so it doesn
By Carrie
Chetek, WI
Great vest
November 4, 2022
This vest works great, our brit adjusted quickly and its helped to reduce cuts and scrapes.
ProsEasy to fit and to get on/off in the field.
ConsNone so far.
By Bob
Upper Michigan
Great product!
November 3, 2022
I had used a similar vest, but it became tattered in just a few hunts. This fabric is thicker on the orange body and chest protector. It is completely without frays after nearly 6 hours in the field.
ProsPliable, cool fabric. Tough chest protection. No tight spots in arm pits. Strong buckles and straps. This is the perfect vest to protect the dog and make her more visible in heavy cover. Runs true to size. Measure your dog
ConsNone.
By Rusty
WIsconsin
quality vest
November 3, 2022
This vest is well made and easy to put on. The size chart is accurate.
ProsMaterial is high quality for the price.
ConsA lot of cover though for warm days of hunting
By John
Vermont
Works well
November 2, 2022
Second one of these I’ve purchased, durable and great visibility. Medium size fits my female GSP’s well.
ProsFit Durability Visibility Easy on and off
By Carol F.
Iowa
Great Protection!
November 1, 2022
I love how this vest protects my English Springer Spaniel's (60lbs, 31"girth = medium) chest and "undercarriage"! She wore it for the first time during a weekend adventure in the Loess Hills of Iowa. We took 2-3 hikes each day in varying terrain. She adjusted immediately and never showed any signs of discomfort. When I did her daily grooming, I appreciated that I only needed to pay close attention to her ears, feathers, and paws. The blaze orange color is a must if you venture into any public hunting areas. Our late Cocker Spaniel (25lbs = small) wore his Sylmar Body Guard vest on many hikes during his years with us. We knew this item was a must for our new canine companion.
By Jay
Kansas
Great vest
October 30, 2022
After 2 cut chests and a thorn embedded in the rib cage started having my dogs wear this vest. No chest injuries since( 12 years). Plus helps to see my dog in heavy cover at a distance.
ProsGood fit, visibility.
By Paul
Minnesota
Love the Sylmar Dog Vest!
October 28, 2022
In our last year's pheasant hunt out west three of our dogs got ripped up by barbed wire. So before our second trip out west we ordered two Sylmar vests. They were awesome. If you measure your dog and order the correct size there is minimal adjusts to make them fit nicely. A bonus is that the straps make for easy lifting when helping a dog into the truck. We liked the vest so much that I ordered three more for my other dogs. So now my whole pack has one. Can't go wrong with this vest.
ProsFits well .... Easy to put on .... Very visible in the field .... Straps help to lift dogs into a truck that is difficult to get into.
ConsThere are no cons as of this point. Have used them for most of one season.
By Jim
Mid Michigan
Fits very well
October 28, 2022
I had a different brand vest that I used for another Brittany that we had but never really liked the fit. Following the sizing guidance when I ordered the Sylmar I originally bought an extra small and it was very tight on our new Britt who is a couple of weeks from being 1 year old. I sent that back and got a small which fits very well. I like the fit of the Sylmar better than the one I already had because it is shaped more to the dog's body and really seems to allow her to run and jump obstacles without any issues. The only issue was having to return the first one and the additional postage.
ProsFit
By Caleb
PA
Good vest
October 28, 2022
I’ve been hunting for pheasants in North Dakota for two weeks now and in heavy cover, because all the crp grass has been cut because of emergency haying. It’s been very tough hunting, but the vest has kept my dog Jack safe.
ProsOpen top so the dog doesn't get as warm while hunting
ConsNone
By Keith
Michigan
Great Upland Vest
October 27, 2022
One of the few quality vests that have a size small enough to fit my Boykin. Keeps her protected from the thorns and burrs. I did have a local seamstress add a nylon strap and d-ring so I could attach her ID tag and bell. Also a good thing to have in case I need to use a leash without having another collar around her neck with the e-collar.
ProsDurability
By Marty
Loganton, PA
Orange Dog Vest
October 26, 2022
This is a very well-made vest. I bought size medium for my two female American Labs. One weighs 65 lbs and the other 58 lbs. The adjustment straps are easy to use. I previously owned vests made by Browning and Cabela's. The buckles tore off the Cabela's vest. The material used for the Sylmar vest seems heavier. This vest still needs to stand the test of time and use, but I am pleased with the fit, material, and construction. Watch the company video on fitting the vest to the dog. Nicely done.
ProsMaterial, design, and fit.
By Frank
Massachusetts
Size is true product is well made.
October 24, 2022
I have a smaller Brittany and the XSSHORT fits her perfect it is well made and it doesn't bother her to wear it at all.
ProsGreat fit and durable.
Consnon yet.
By Jeff
Greensburg, PA
Great Vest
October 23, 2022
This vest is an excellent purchase for your bird dog. It fits great and really holds up,to the abuse that only a bird dog can put it through. I highly recommend it.
ProsFits great and is highly durable.
ConsJust make sure you follow the instructions for measuring
By Jody
Big Lake Mn
Vest
October 20, 2022
Just received the vest and it seems to be well made. Will look forward to trying it out soon.
By Jeff
Regent, North Dakota
Happy dog
October 17, 2022
Sam’s chest was becoming scratched and raw after just two days of pheasant hunting in North Dakota. Put her Sylmar vest on and should could keep hunting comfortably. She hasn’t been bothered at all by wearing the vest, still running like a crazy Brittany.
By Bryce
Montana
Great Product for the Job!
October 12, 2022
The Medium size fit my 50 lb Golden Retriever as expected. It made my dog a lot easier to see running around in the brush with the bright orange. The lower, black material is very hardy and will do a great job at protecting my dog's chest and belly! Thanks Gun Dog Supply for the good product and your sizing recommendations/information!
By Dwayne B.
Traverse City
Grouse Hunting
October 12, 2022
Could have a place to put name and number on your
ProsHeavy duty
ConsSticks get caught on straps
By Cal
St. Croix County, Wisconsin
Fits great on my Weimaraner
October 12, 2022
Great fit, seems pretty durable. Used on 3 grouse hunts through thick brush and timber.
By Angie
Colorado
Dog Vest
October 12, 2022
Excellent dog vest! Highly visible and made with a very durable material. Worth the money!
ProsHeavy duty material, very easy to put on! Protects the body very well from cockleburrows and torns. Appears to be made of a military grade material.
ConsWish it was longer and covered the entire belly area.
By Scott S.
Savanna, Illinois
Dog Vest
October 12, 2022
Helps protect my dog, seems to help with ticks, and stickers, burrs, etc. Size seems to run big.
ProsSo far, it seems durable, snaps have stayed attached. Water doesn't seems to bother it. Great for the grouse woods!
ConsNone.
By James
Out West
Just what I wanted
October 11, 2022
With a Small Munsterlander and tall sagebrush, this gives me a great visual to help track my dog. A little noisy, but it's still brand new. The fit was perfect using the video, and she doesn't mind it at all.
ProsWell made, excellent fit
By Chris
Horace, ND
Quality product
October 11, 2022
The vest showed up ahead of schedule and looks exactly like the picture. Great quality and a durable but light weight material. It took a few minutes for our dog to get used to wearing the vest, but he became accustomed to it. It does a good job deflecting cockle burs and other 'stickies'.
By Greg
S.C
Sylmar vest
October 10, 2022
Much better quality than other rip stop type material.
ProsHigh neck protection. Covers all of stomach but still enough room for males.
ConsMay be little tight around legs.l have not used it enough to know if its an issue. A little chapping is a minor issue if it saves a dog from stitches.
By Jeff B.
Redmond, Oregon
Great Protection
October 7, 2022
Bought this vest for my two upland dogs. Took them hunting and everything went perfect. Great protection for the dogs and the visibility is amazing. We won’t be in the field without theses vests on. Thanks for carrying such a great product.
ProsProtection Visibility
ConsCorrect sizing. The videos help but the sizing is still tough.
By Bruce H.
Dennysville, ME
Sylmar Body Dog Guard Vest
October 1, 2022
Very satisfied with the product and Gun Dog Supply who obviously care about their customers.

Page 1 of 7
1





privacy policy | terms & conditions


1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2022, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions