Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


4.7
252 Reviews
5
81% (204)
4
14% (35)
3
2% (6)
2
3% (7)
1
0% (0)
97% Recommend this product (244 of 252 responses)
By Vin
Taxachusetts
Great Product Just One Slight Criticism
November 23, 2021
I upgraded to these throwing dummies from the softer type with the valves. I love the feel and the weight of these and my dog has no problem fetching them. I purchased the black and white striped color for better winter visibility as my other set were only white. I don't use these to train for hunting my dog is a pet who loves to play fetch. My one and only criticism of these is that, in my opinion, the rope is about 4 inches too short. My other dummies had rope about 12 inches long and these are about 8 which, for me, makes a huge difference in how far you can throw them. Thankfully I purchased extra ropes when I bought my other set so I switched them out and all is well.
ProsGood construction, easy grip for the dog. Good coloring.
ConsRope is too short for good throwing.
By Greg C.
Saint Louis
Great Bumpers
November 2, 2021
After using several different brands of bumpers I have found that these Avery bumpers are the most versatile bumper. They are weighted correctly to allow for longer and more accurate throws. The rope is of good quality and the size of the bumper is perfect. This is the only bumper I will use moving forward.
By Cameron G.
Dublin,VA
My Labrador loves this thing!
October 23, 2021
Money well spent! Keep up the good work fam! Awesome products and service. Couldn’t be happier!
By matias
mexico
Nice product
October 14, 2021
Very nice product
By Martha
CA
bright orange
August 26, 2021
can't loose these! Chessie loves them so much I have to get them away from her after sessions!
By Gwen D.
MI
Remi loves 'em!
August 25, 2021
Quality and shipping were right on target.
By Rescue w.
St. Louis, MO
Whee Doggie!
August 18, 2021
These are perfect! I bought them by the six pack becaseu they are for rescued dogs in shelters ath need some kind of boredom relief and are heavy chewers.
Pros1.TOUGH! Hold up to a lot of heavy chewing for our shelter dogs. 2.Durable 3.Easy to clean before giving it to another dog.
ConsHaven't found any yet
By Tommy M.
Magnolia, Arkansas
My favorite size bumper
August 3, 2021
These bumpers are tough, but not too hard, and the perfect size for summer workouts.
Prossize and durability and comes with string already installed. But not too hard.
ConsThe string that comes with it is a little too short...needs 2 more inches. But I'm not complaining too much here...not many bumpers come with string at all.
By Krystle
North Carolina
Perfect Bumper
June 10, 2021
Love the orange color. This is my retrievers favorite bumper.
Proscolor rope strength pets pick!
By Suzie F.
Ellijay, GA
My English Mastiff;s all time favorite toy
June 9, 2021
I bought this for my Mastiff puppy who destroys most toys within minutes. Her mother has one and will retrieve it in the water and bring it back. She also finds frozen ducks that are hidden and literally points with her tail when she findis it, then another goes and retrieves it. Esther, at a year old, learned to sit, stay, retrieve, bring it and drop it the first time I did it with her.She sits and stares at me until I throw it again. I'll be taking her to a nearby lake to teach her there soom. We lovingly call them Mastireivers now. She did get the rope off it within minutes but I switched it for a longer dog show lead with a slip know which works much better and she can't get it off but Lord knows she tries. None of our other Mastiffs are allowed to play with it. She guards it all the time. Here she is guarding her dummy. The other is her Mother Theia bringing hers back in Tampa Bay.
ProsMy dog LOVES this toy and it's basically indestructible. I've been to dog shows that vendors say a ball or toy is indestructible and over the years will give them to one of the Mastiffs to prove it. They destroy them within minutes. Our dummy is the first one I've had that is truly indestructible and we go through A LOT of toys. I can't wait to get her in the water with it!
ConsShe did get the rope off within minutes but it's not the fault of the dummy. She's a 180-pound dog (still growing) and likes to figure things out that puzzle her.
By Customer
los angeles
Great Tool
June 8, 2021
Been using it for weeks...it's a great product
By Dana
Pittsburgh
Best value anywhere
May 26, 2021
I get all my bumpers at GunDog because they have a great selection and the best price. As always the customer service can’t be beat. The Avery bumpers hold up well and offer a few sizes and colors.
ProsVariety of product, great price and service.
By Sarah
Florida
Perfect for Dock Diving
May 21, 2021
Got this for my dog since we started dock diving. Easy to throw, floats with no issue, and perfect size for him to retrieve. Highly recommend for any sort of field, sport, and/or retrieval training.
ProsSize Ease of throwing Easy for dog to retrieve/carry Floats
By Randall
Idaho
Works great
April 17, 2021
Loved that they come with the rope. Seem to be good quality and user freindly.
ProsComes with rope. Seems durable.
By Tom F.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Great bumper
April 7, 2021
I always have used Avery bumpers. They last, don't get hard, and are just a great training product
ProsLast Don't get hard Love the texture
ConsNone
By Janet D.
Bucks County PA
My dogs Love Avery Bumpers
April 2, 2021
I don't have hunting dogs, but that is not the only type of dog that can benefit from this great product. Bogie is the #1 Dock Diving Doberman in NADD for 3 years running, He only jumps for his Avery black and white bumpers. They hold up well to his constant "chomping" and the weight is perfect. My other Dobe does not dock dive but also loves the bumpers. There are many Dock Divers who use these bumpers on the dock.
By Craig
Saratoga Springs, NY
Awesome field and training bumper
March 31, 2021
I love this bumper. Training puppy at young age no air valve for them to get distracted with. As growing continues to be a valuable tool for training Lab retriever. Northeast ice have not run in water yet, but I do not expect any problems. My dog loves these so much that I will be using this bumper in stead of others for his initial water training.
ProsNo air valve, durable, awesome grips, love it!!
ConsNo air value for changing water conditions but that's what I like about this one.
By Larry K.
WI
works great
March 20, 2021
good size and weight. two tone color
Prosgood size for young dogs.
Consthrowing rope could be longer.
By Gary G.
SC
Dog bumper
March 19, 2021
It is really good quality. Very durable. The only downside is I wish the throw rope was longer.
ProsGood quality. Right size for small or large dogs. Very durable.
ConsShort throw rope
By Lori
Eastern shore md
Less quality than airflow
March 19, 2021
Purchased in place of airflow which is out of stock still. Dog chewed end off immediately thinner material than airflow. Will wait for airflows return.
By Cliff
Pittsurgh
The bumper to have!
March 17, 2021
This is my third time buying these bumpers. Why have I had to repurchase? Well, my dog loves them and when I see folks training retrievers, i give them a few bumpers I have on hand and send them to Gun Dog Supply.
ProsDurable, soft and offered at a reasonable price.
By Edward S.
MT
Grate Bumper in warm weather. They do not like cold weather.
February 10, 2021
They brake when they land on the cold ground.
Consnot good in cold weather.
By Ram B.
Driftwood, Tx
Made durable
January 22, 2021
A little smaller than I was expecting, but A very well made heavy duty bumper.
ProsDurable and easy to see in the field
ConsN/A
By Eddie
Carpinteria, CA
A Favorite Dummy
January 22, 2021
The Avery dummies are durable, nicely weighted and the dogs love them. I think the Avery dummies are their favorite because of how they feel in the mouth. The rubber has some grip and is perfectly squishy (not too soft or hard). I like the Black and white versions because they are easy to see in all settings and have a cool look when spinning. For larger dogs go with the Jumbo version. My pup is nearly 7 months and the 2" dummy is a perfect size doing retrieving drills, though the 90 lb full grown lab loves it as well.
By Beth
SC
Christmas presents
December 21, 2020
These are Christmas presents for my grand dogs and great-grand dogs. 3 of them use this bumper and like and the others are new dogs but I'm sure they will like them !
By Phil
Texas
Excellent product, excellent customer service fulfilling the order!
December 21, 2020
Excellent product, excellent customer service fulfilling the order! Will continue to order from this company.
By Mac
Pueblo, CO
Small
November 29, 2020
A little small...otherwise great bumpers!
By Joey
Mississippi
Good bumper
November 7, 2020
This is a good bumper. I have a 5 month old lab who is just starting to retrieve, this is one of the few things he will actually bring back to me.
By L D.
Dickinson, Tx
Avery bumper
October 2, 2020
Great product
By Rebecca
Pacifica, CA
My dog loves playing fetch with this toy!
September 4, 2020
My 16 week old GSP Agnes just LOVES this toy. She can play fetch with it until she just plops down exhausted! It is great, easy to see and lightweight to throw numerous times. Will get a larger one when she is fully grown.
ProsLightweight and easy to see and gives my dog options of picking up by the rope or bumper.
ConsMy dog has already undone one of the knots that keeps the rope attached.
By Matt
Colorado
Smooth Bumper
September 4, 2020
I bought several black and white combo bumpers. Dog seems to like them. They are smaller than my other ones which tend to make them sink even in short grass and become invisible. Because they are smaller, you can fit a bunch in your bag or bucket. There are no sharp spots on them that can cause the dog's mouth to bleed. I can huck them quite a distance.
Pros-smooth -seems durable
Cons-sinks even in short grass
By April C.
Shelton, WA
Love the Hexabumper
September 3, 2020
It’s great for training and playing with your dogs. It’s small enough to fit comfortably in the waistband of your shorts to be brought out as a reward. The white color is easily seen on creeks and on the Sound.
By John
Hale, MI
Great for all dogs!
September 2, 2020
Our neighbors had this for their hunting dog; we bought some just for our puppy to have as toys, and water training tools. Works great.
ProsQuality material
ConsNone
By Raylene K.
Review for Avery Regular HexaBumper Retriever Dummy
October 27, 2018
Great training aid.
By Patrick
WI
Review for Avery Regular HexaBumper Retriever Dummy
October 23, 2018
The product is what it says. Good bumper no holes. Dog loves both B&W and orange.
By Tal G.
Tx
Review for Avery Regular HexaBumper Retriever Dummy
October 19, 2018
Has enough weight to be able to throw well and the dog seems to like it better
By Janet S.
PA
Review for Avery Regular HexaBumper Retriever Dummy
October 18, 2018
My dogs love them, but they are Dobermans who use them for retrieval play and so they DO NOT have a soft mouth on them and destroy them really quickly. But I'd say if used by a dog the way they are intended they would get a 5.0 easily!
By Chance C.
ME
Review for Avery Regular HexaBumper Retriever Dummy
October 18, 2018
Solid quality bumper.
By Larry E.
NC
Review for Avery Regular HexaBumper Retriever Dummy
October 14, 2018
By Anthony B.
TN
Review for Avery Regular HexaBumper Retriever Dummy
October 12, 2018
By Celia Q.
PR
Review for Avery Regular HexaBumper Retriever Dummy
October 11, 2018
My lab loves the bumpers.
By Jay L.
NY
Review for Avery Regular HexaBumper Retriever Dummy
October 10, 2018
The product is great but the rope that comes with It was way too short and came off after a few days. Easy enough to replace but then again why should I have to?
By Joanne H.
TX
Review for Avery Regular HexaBumper Retriever Dummy
October 22, 2016
These are the only bumpers we buy - durable! The only ones they can't destroy!
By Chuck U.
TX
Review for Avery Regular HexaBumper Retriever Dummy
September 26, 2016
Durable training tool.
By Jeff P.
NC
Review for Avery Regular HexaBumper Retriever Dummy
September 18, 2016
They are too soft.
By Cade A.
TX
Review for Avery Regular HexaBumper Retriever Dummy
September 15, 2016
Durability is lacking. Lasted less than a week before it was punctured and the rope came out. It's a lot softer than the other bumpers I ordered. Could be good for a teething pup.
By Polka A.
Review for Avery Regular HexaBumper Retriever Dummy
September 4, 2016
I am using this with my 4 month old Lab pup. It is a nice size for him.
By Kevin M.
TX
Review for Avery Regular HexaBumper Retriever Dummy
August 29, 2016
Very good and durable bumper, I highly recommend these.The black and white are great for hand thrown marks. They are very visible in the air, but not so obvious on the ground, which is preferred.
By Justin B.
IA
Review for Avery Regular HexaBumper Retriever Dummy
August 22, 2016
Best bumper for the money.
By John B.
SC
Review for Avery Regular HexaBumper Retriever Dummy
August 8, 2016
Awesome product and super fast on receiving your order.

Page 1 of 6
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2021, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number: