Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+

You are here:  > 

4.5
42 Reviews
5
69% (29)
4
12% (5)
3
14% (6)
2
5% (2)
1
0% (0)
93% Recommend this product (39 of 42 responses)
By ARMANDO D.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Dog Parka
June 10, 2023
Fit my Boxer perfectly and will keep him warm in winter cold days. Parka is heavy duty and a great buy on closeout...TY
Pros
  • You guys have great stuff and will not hesitate to buy again.
Cons
  • NONE
By Jeff
Louisiana
Nice vest, but the measurements weren't as described
April 26, 2023
Purchase this vest because my dog had the exact measurements, 17" neck and 26" chest. The chest fit perfectly, but the neck was huge! It also would've needed some trimming around the shoulders. Just didn't fit my dog at all so I had to return it and went with the Versa Vest. Gun Dog Supply is amazing and quick! No complaints with their service. Hopefully the new vest will fit better when I get it.
Pros
  • Seemed like good quality, but only tried it on.
Cons
  • Didn't fit according to the measurements and the zipper could be bigger for them cold days.
By Dean
Georgia
fits my Lab
February 17, 2023
Fast shipping and I finally found a vest that fits my 90 pound lab, had to order a 3XL. Required a little trimming around the front legs to prevent rubbing and I think it is going to be a good vest.
By Gabe
Texas
Helped Duck Hunt
January 18, 2023
Parka works great! My cocker wasn’t committing to going for long retrieves in cold water till I put this parka on her. It’s fits a little funny even though I measured her. It’s very tight/snug around the abdomen, but then gappy around the front legs and shoulders. Helped her keep her core temp up though for sure!
By Kenneth K.
Marinette Wisconsin
Camo Boaters Dog Parka
December 1, 2022
Heavy Duty Parka. Size chart fit my GSP. Has added hand slots for pulling the dog into the boat as well as 2 D Rings for a lead. Good quality product.
Pros
  • Fit my male gsp.
Cons
  • The neck opening is a bit larger, more suited for a Labrador.
By Eric
Pasco, WA
Great Product
November 22, 2022
Bought this vest for my duck dog and he doesn’t mind wearing it. It’s well constructed, easy to fit and made with quality. It seems to keep him warm which keeps his energy level high. I’ve bought multiple items from the good folks at Gun Dog Supply and I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for supplies for man best hunting buddy.
Pros
  • Great, timely service.
Cons
  • Zero
By Brian
WI
Nice Vest
November 16, 2022
Vest is well built. I had to get a XXL to fit my 95 lb Lab/coon hound mix. The main issue with this vest is the leg holes are so far apart after trimming to fit my dog the leg holes are way bigger then needed on the top.
Pros
  • Well built.
Cons
  • Leg holes are to far apart and it takes a lot of trimming to make fit correctly.
By Al S.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
A good quality dog vest!
November 4, 2022
Our dog is hard to shop for due to his size (3XL). I tried a vest from another place, and it held up poorly! The vest I purchased from Gun Dog Supply has a heavy-duty reinforced zipper, the stitching is made with a top-quality thread along with areas reinforced with additional stitching so you trim that vest to fit. It fits him quite well and I know it will last a while! I recommend the vest to anyone!
By Steve N.
New York
Great dog vest
September 25, 2022
Great vest! Sizing is accurate. Large fits my 65lb lab.
By Linker
Minnesota
great hunting vest for my lab
June 4, 2022
Great price for this hunting vest. After many, many, many years and numerous labs, the last one needed replacing. Found this one. It is heavier than the last one and was a great deal.
Pros
  • sturdy
By Tanner
Vermont
Good - Overall
March 28, 2022
Good vest, like that it is customizable (able to cut and fit to the dog). Chest size fits very well, neck is a bit big but was able to sew up the neck so it fits better. Overall good product at a solid price.
By david b.
Gordo Alabama
Avery Boaters vest
January 28, 2022
I ordered 2 of them the first was an xl it was to big the second one I ordered a large and it was to small. No fault of yours I guess I got the measurements wrong
Pros
  • None
Cons
  • None
By David
CT
Good, but it's meant for a lab type not for versatile type dog.
January 21, 2022
I had to return it. It did look good and simple, but it has been designed for a lab not for GWP or other pointing dogs. Their anatomy body ratio and anatomy are different.
Pros
  • Good quality.
  • Simple.
  • Customizable.
Cons
  • Designed for only Labs and that type of build.
By E L.
California
Not a good fit for my dog !
January 12, 2022
This Avery product appears to be well made, however it was not a good fit for my dog (Pudelpointer) The medium would fit around her neck but not her chest and the large would fit around her chest but the neck opening was way to large . I was afraid the neck opening would be like a scoop and create resistance while swimming or get caught on some object .
Pros
  • Well made
Cons
  • Poor fit for my dog breed .
By Melissa
VA
not a good fit for deep chested dog.
January 12, 2022
Nice quality product but unfortunately it just was not a good fit for my GSP. It gapped dramatically at the neck with no way to adjust without major altering by seamstress, I tried few sizes. I have a large male GSP with deeper chest. I assume they are more suited for labs that is more tubular in shape but as always Gun Dog Supply customer service was great.
By Carol
Olympia, Washington
Warm and comfortable neoprene works great!
December 20, 2021
Our dog is loving her new neoprene vest; it fits great and allows good range of motion. Very pleased with this purchase!
By George
Trussville
Great vest
December 7, 2021
After using the sizing chart I was able to purchase the correct size the first time. After a little trimming in the arm pits the vest fits great. The heavy duty construction seems that it will last several seasons. I’m pleased with the recommendation by Gun Dog and the quality of my vest.
Pros
  • Heavy duty material and construction. Cut to fit the sizing chart.
Cons
  • None that I have experienced yet.
By Larry
Oklahoma
Great Fit
December 1, 2021
Loved that I could trim it to make it fit better. My dog seems very comfortable in it.
By Rich
Central IL
Avery max 5 vest
December 1, 2021
Best dog vest I’ve ever had for my retrievers!
Pros
  • Heavy duty well made! Over 2 years of service with 90 day season use!
Cons
  • None
By Walt
Texas
My dog must not be normal
November 30, 2021
I was able to cut the leg holes and adjust the fit on the chest, but the neck is way too loose and the stomach is too tight. My dog won't run full speed or pant while wearing the vest even after multiple training sessions.
Pros
  • Solid material
Cons
  • Not adjustable specifically around the neck and behind the rib cage.
By Goose
NJ
Avery vest
November 24, 2021
Got this for my 55 lb Chessie. Easy to customize for great fit!
By GM
Michigan
Works good dog likes it!
November 16, 2021
He knows its time to go have fun when we put it on him. Had to cut the arm holes out as suggested to make more room. 100lb lab got the XL, snug to zip for sure he's a big boy. Front up near his neck and top of chest seems a little loose, not sure how snug its supposed to be towards the top.
By John A.
CA
Great vest
November 11, 2021
Great vest. Fastest shipping From Gun Dog Supply. Also Great customer service
Pros
  • Fastest shipping
  • Great customer service
Cons
  • no
By Zach
NC
Great product
November 2, 2021
Bought for my year old lab. Fit great. Did have to trim about a half inch on the arm holes just to keep her comfortable. Been on multiple hunts with it now.
Cons
  • Maybe some beefier D rings. No issues yet they just look like over time they may cause an issue
By David S.
Central Square NY
Dog Parka Vest
October 19, 2021
Fit's my lab, easy to use, Cleaning is also easy to perform on the vest. protects my lab belly as he is retrieving down birds in the swamp.
By Brian
OR
Nice vest - easy to tailor
October 18, 2021
The leg holes were a little too far apart on this vest for my dog, which restricted his movement. However, the vest is designed to be modified, and after a few cuts with the scissors, it fit him perfectly. The vest has held up well so far, and it seems to keep him warm, as it stops his shivering. The handle in the back is convenient when I need to pull him into the boat.
Pros
  • Warm, durable, easy to tailor.
By Bruce
Green bay
Fits great
September 4, 2021
Haven’t tested it in water yet but it fits Carson great and seems to be very well made
By HB
Missouri
Warm vest for cold fishing and canoeing
May 26, 2021
I have a heeler/border collie/lab mix just over 50lb. Measured as/ordered a M, but had to return for a L. Easy return/refund process. Got vest for early spring fishing trip in Idaho (dry) and cold spring fed river swimming in Missouri (lots of in and out of canoe). Pup seems happy wearing for both and feels warm when you stick a hand under the neoprene. Friend I fished with saw it and decided to get one for his lab too for ice fishing and cold Idaho activities. Seems well built and reinforced. Like that you can adjust/cut to fit.
Pros
  • Great customer service. Fast shipping. Well stitched/reinforced. Zipper seems tough. Like grab handles.
Cons
  • Difficult to decide size if your dog is on border between sizes. Seems a little tighter than may be ideal in abdomen/belly area of a more barrel shaped dog.
By Randy
Frankenmuth MI
Size
April 14, 2021
I purchased the product for a small English Cocker. The vest is larger than I imagined, but I'm hoping she will "grow into it" as she is still a pup. I didn't find any damage on your scratch and dent, price was great, shipped without a problem in a timely manor.
Pros
  • Great product, timely shipping.
Cons
  • Size to big.
By Andy
OBX, NC
Dog parks vest
January 19, 2021
Very happy with vest.
By Jerry D.
Atlanta, Ga.
Love it!
January 13, 2021
Fits well and I'm looking forward in using it this weekend.
By Corey S.
Foxworth, Mississippi
Great product just didn't fit my dog properly
December 23, 2020
The Avery boaters vest was very nicely made and I loved the features it came with. It just didn’t fit my lab very well. I tried the large and it was to small (couldn’t zip it up) and the extra large was way to big in the neck and chest.
Pros
  • Liked the hand holes in the vest and the D-rings for a leash if need be.
Cons
  • Sizing just wasn't right for my boy.
By FM
Delaware
Hunting vest
December 22, 2020
Neoprene vest fits well. I measured as the (helpful) video suggested. Vest fits perfect around the chest and torso but a little loose around the neck. Can't fault the vest for that and I'm sure the dog will grow into it soon. Hair was underneath the vest when he got out of the water. Did not present any issues for the dog.
By Gavin
Tennessee
Perfect Vest
December 22, 2020
I wanted a vest that would keep my lab warm and protected from anything that could potentially cause him harm and this vest is just that. 10/10 would recommend
Pros
  • I bought the XL because he's around 90-100 pounds and it fits him in the chest perfectly nice and snug. He's happy with it so I'm happy with it.
Cons
  • Not a single con
By Tom
Oregon
My dog likes it!
December 20, 2020
Fit was a little tight around the front legs but easily remedied with some trimming. Neck was a little loose. I really like the solid zipper and velcro flap to cover the zipper. Using the measurements, it was easy to get the right size. I had him wearing it around the house before his first ever hunt to get him use to it. He was shivering until I put his vest on the first day he hunted. The vest is very well made and worked great.
Pros
  • -Good fit around the chest and waist.
  • -Well made
  • -Easy to adjust around the front legs by trimming neoprene
  • -Easy to put on the dog
  • -Main thing is the Dog likes it
  • -Very noticeable that it kept him warmer
Cons
  • -a bit loose around the neck
By Robert
South Dakota
Good Vest -- sizing inaccurate.
November 30, 2020
Avery "MAX-5" Boater 5mm Neoprene Dog Vest We have a Borador with 28" chest. The Large is too small; it measures 25" (not 28") from zipper to zipper (when laid flat). The 28" from the chart is measured from fabric edge to edge. Our dog was very uncomfortable with the fit -- she is used to vests & harnesses. Large -- 18" neck, 28" chest X-Large -- 19" neck, 31" chest The fabric itself seems of good material and should insulate & protect well. Really like the stitching & trimmability. Being only half Lab, she got cold when hunting in December for pheasants. This hopefully, will keep her warm on those below freezing days. Exchanging for XLarge.
Pros
  • Fabric & Construction.
Cons
  • Sizing Chart.
By Doug
Las Vegas
Avery Boater's Dog Parka
October 15, 2020
I have the same vest for both of my dogs. They are the best vests I have ever had for my dogs and exceed all of my expectations.
By Brand
Michigan
Good quality
October 7, 2020
My lab isn't tall but has a deep chest. He's about 95 lbs. The 3xl fit with trimming around the legs. Zipper and velcro both seam to be sturdy.
By Heyward
Low country SC
Fit as expected
September 25, 2020
Fit just as expected, great service, fast shipping!
By Chesapeakebill
Pasadena, MD
Great vest
September 4, 2020
This is my second vest of this type. Dog out grew the first one. It is still like brand new. very durable, quality vest. I only have one issue with it and that might just be the way my dog is built. It hangs open a little at her neck. Doesn't seem to matter but it would be nice to fit a little tighter in that area. Males might fill out the chest a little more. I have a female chocolate lab. 52# Her first vest was a large and it got too hard to zipper. She has a 19" neck and 31" chest. X Large fits her good. I would say they are very true to their size chart.
Pros
  • Durabilty
  • Quality
  • Price
  • Ease of use
By Dan
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Thicc
September 3, 2020
It fits my 34 pound Boykin Spaniel very well. Its slightly snug through the chest but it doesn't hinder mobility at all. Its thick enough to be a really great insulator
By Tom O.
Review for Avery Bottomland Boaters Dog Parka Vest
October 12, 2018
Bought this Vest to replace one that was Medium and pup still growing. Based on Steve's recommendation, got Extra Large and its fits her back great, no more at risk of busting out of it in deep cover, and leaving it in the bushes! Might still put a caribinier thru the 2 D rings just in case the zipper and velcro get pulled loose if pup gets front of vest stuck in woody stuff while swimming etc. Thanks for the advice Steve, like you guys a lot!

Page 1 of 1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2024, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions