Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


4.7
71 Reviews
5
79% (56)
4
17% (12)
3
3% (2)
2
0% (0)
1
1% (1)
99% Recommend this product (70 of 71 responses)
By Matthew V.
Eugene, Oregon
Alpha .22
August 19, 2021
Excellent quality-always great service. Sturdy and well built, should last for years.
By Larry S.
Cedar Grove wis.
Great Product
August 18, 2021
Very well built and easy to use and clean. Plan on getting more.
ProsComes with a nice carrying case to it doesn't get banged up riding in my truck.
ConsExpensive, but beats the cheap ones that fall apart after only a few months.
By steve c.
washington
Works well
April 1, 2021
Own the same model in 209. Could not find 209 primers due to ammo shortage. 209 version has worked flawless for over 5 years. 22 version fires ramset shot without any problems.
Pros22 cal ramset shot readily available
By David H.
Mercer Island, WA
Dog Training 22 cal blank pistol
March 24, 2021
This pistol is quality, quality, quality!!! Some time ago, I purchased another brand (foreign manufacture) 22 cal dog training pistol and had continuous difficulty with miss fire, problems with rotation of cylinder, on and on. I managed to get thru initial stages of exposing my pup to gun fire but was thoroughly disgusted with the pistol. I tried to contact the company > no response. I have a new pup coming and need a reliable training pistol. The Alfa handles, literally, the same as a regular revolver, weight, function, etc. It is expensive but well worth the price.
ProsPlease read above, All "Pros".
ConsNone
By Jim N.
boise, Id.
Well built, cycles great
March 20, 2021
Everything I hoped it would be. No it's not a colt python action, but it works well. The leather holster is in the same vein. Solid and well built for the money. Weighs like a real gun, which I personally don't mind.
ProsBuilt solid, cycles well.
ConsHeavyish, and wouldn't mind 8 round capacity vs 6.
By Tim G.
Colorado
Solidly built
March 19, 2021
I bought the Alfa .22 caliber starter pistol and I am impressed with the overall quality of the pistol. I needed a reliable starter pistol, because when training dogs timing is everything, and cheaper pistols will let you down and you'll miss the precise training moment with cheaper equipment. The Alfa works very well, and in all conditions. The extra cost is money well spent.
ProsSafety Orange color Nice storage case Secure lanyard attachment
By Greg P.
Vacaville, CA
Great product
March 17, 2021
Purchased this as a replacement to my first blank gun. This one is smooth, easy to handle and do the job.
By Judy
Huntley, Illinois
Exactly what I was looking for to replace my old training pistol.
February 12, 2021
Love the orange handle and the tie ring on the bottom - although none of us ever drop and lose our training pistols, right. The gentleman I spoke with was very knowledgeable and the ordering was straightforward and easy. I had the gun in a couple of days. Thanks.
By Gil C.
Bellmore, NY
Fast
December 19, 2020
Fast service and a quality product
ProsQuality product
By Thomas
MN.
Well made blank gun
October 21, 2020
The Alfa .22 caliber blank gun, It is well made, feels like it has quality through and through! has not missed a beat since I have started using it, both in single and double action. love the orange handle just in case you drop it in the heat of training action.
ProsHeavy duty, orange handle, quality!
ConsNone
By Aaron A.
Brooks CA
Works Great
October 9, 2020
No complaints and easy to use.
By Juan
El Paso, Texas
Feels great in the hand
September 23, 2020
Great solid product. With good upkeep it should last a good while or lifetime.
By Thomas
MN
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
October 19, 2018
High quality pistol. Easy to use and travels well.
By Ryan M.
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
October 18, 2018
By Luke N.
WI
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
October 18, 2018
By Tom B.
CA
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
October 11, 2018
By David C.
OR
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
August 3, 2016
Very loud. Best to use ear muffs. No problems ejecting empties. I tried a load meant for the dummy launcher. Won't do that again.
By Charles M.
TX
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
July 19, 2016
I'm a Starter for Track and Field races, and that's the primary use of my Alfa .22 caliber blank starter. I just put 150 blanks through it, July 16, 2016, and it worked flawlessly. I used BOTH, crimped and blank cartridges, and both worked great. One note, if you use 'crimps' you'll need to point the barrel down, or horizontal to the ground to prevent the crimps from moving. I gave it '4-Stars' because I've only used it once. However, after cleaning it, I don't expect any problems and look forward to using in the upcoming track seasons.
By Carol M.
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
June 17, 2016
Arrived ready to go. I took it out of the box, read the instructions, loaded it and began using it with ducks to work with my dog. Easy to load/unload. Came with a box of blanks and a cleaning brush.
By Stephanie D.
PA
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
May 22, 2016
I am glad I spoke to a representative as he steered me in the right direction. The gun is awesome.
By George C.
OH
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
May 17, 2016
It has worked with all the FAT that I have worked with. I would and have recommended it to all young track starters.
By Jeff S.
OH
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
April 30, 2016
Very nice quality. GunDog Supply is an excellent company, fast shipment too! Highly recommend!
By Keith W.
GA
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
April 2, 2016
Very good quality. Exactly what is needed for training.
By Aline P.
CA
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
March 11, 2016
Heavier than my other one.
By Peter M.
FL
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
March 11, 2016
This has to be the best in quality blank starter pistols for track and field. The .22 pistols using #3 Ramsets is louder than the .32 gun. I will order the Alpha .32 within the next 4 weeks.
By John B.
OH
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
February 25, 2016
The gun is very stiff, probably because it is new. Two of the chambers were very tight loading blanks and real hard to eject. I cleaned, brushed, and oiled moving parts thoroughly and am expecting better results next time out. It's too popular of a gun to be bad.
By Duke Y.
TX
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
February 23, 2016
The starter gun is really easy to load and use just like a real revolver. I like the color of the handle because it makes it easy to find in my bag or in the field.
By Dennis T.
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
February 4, 2016
I am a high school track and field official, I bought the Alpha because I heard one fired at a meet recently and most starters use a 22 caliber pistol from H and R which is no longer in business. The Alpha is much louder than the H and R. I'm extremely pleased with the gun. Thank you, Dennis Thibeault.
By Colorado B.
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
January 3, 2016
I work for one of the largest firearms manufacturers in the U.S. and I have to tell you I'm impressed. The fit and finish on this revolver are very nice. In fact the fit is so good on mine that the cylinder stop doesnt even leave a trace line on the cylinder. The gun has a nice heft to it and not only does it look like the real thing but it feels like the real thing. I especially like the both the lanyard ring and the bright orange grip, two very useful features. The grip is ergonomic, fills my hand and is very comfortable. The bright orange color is a huge plus in todays world by giving a visual indication that this 'may not' be the real deal. This is the new gold standard in blank firing revolvers and frankly leaves the very highly sought after H and R and NEF blank firing revolvers in the dust. The $200 price tag may seem a little pricey to some but this is one of those instances where you get what you pay for. In fact if you can even find a NEF or a HR in decent enough shape that you would want to own, try getting one for $200. To say that I'm pleased with this purchase would be an understatement!
By Elaine S.
NJ
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
December 16, 2015
Superior quality. Easy to load and unload and clean. Goes bang reliably!!
By John P.
PA
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
November 6, 2015
I have only used this one time, but it performed well. Had some trouble finding a holster. Trigger guard is oversized. It's a good thing for a glove hand but not a major problem either way. Ended up using a Judge holster. Report was much better than previous pistol. Outlet on top of the barrel works great, just need to be careful as flames do show.
By TOM L.
OH
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
June 28, 2015
As advertised. Very good.
By Ellen P.
NY
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
May 26, 2015
Use this as a starter pistol for Special Olympics. Great overall. Far better than the Viper.22. Easier to clean.
By Lawrence G.
NE
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
May 22, 2015
Dogs love it too.
By Susan M.
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
May 22, 2015
Gun is fine, but I have 1 dog, and it keeps changing to 11.
By MARGARET O.
NC
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
April 23, 2015
It is a little heavier than my old one, but works well.
By CHARLIE B.
AZ
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
April 7, 2015
Costs a little more than some other brands, which I do own some, but well worth it. Should have went with it first.
By Fred K.
IN
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
November 12, 2014
Have not used the pistol yet, but, if it is anything like my Alpha .32 cal it will be great.
By Michael H.
MS
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
November 3, 2014
The Alfa is awesome for training dogs. My older dog is a 3 year old female. She kept wanting to break on the shot last year. This will allow me to pop off several rounds, so I can simulate a hunting situation and stop her from breaking. I will also use it to train two of her pups when I start introducing them to the gun.
By Leray
TX
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
October 17, 2014
Great gun for training dogs to get over the sound of gunfire.
By Tim K.
PA
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
September 30, 2014
Love this pistol. Very high quality. Glad I bought and will probably buy another.
By Leray
TX
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
September 27, 2014
No problems working with pistol since it arrived. Have put over 200 shots through it and haven't had a single problem with it. Highly recommend this model.
By Charles B.
La
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
September 11, 2014
Very high quality. Works perfectly. I would buy this again.
By Henry G.
LA
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
June 26, 2014
Love it.
By David M.
IN
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
April 29, 2014
All/Most of the Starters who have purchased a New or Replacement Pistol more recently have nothing else but. And if they need anything, Ammo, etc that is available at least within the same price range. They would rather pay a little extra than settle or hope for good and timely service. Some have rarely had a problem issue with others. But nobody feels they are JUST OK with your service level. It's not expected as much as assumed.
By Randy B.
IN
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
April 26, 2014
The ejector sometimes leaves one shell when ejecting. I've used this gun to start several track meets some 350 shots. This gun is by far the best on the market.
By Annette C.
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
March 18, 2014
The crimped 22 acorn blanks are perfect for this weapon. Pistol fits well in my hand and is loud enough for the training we do at 200+ yds from the line. Thank you!
By Daniel A.
ME
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
February 23, 2014
I just started using it today. Up here in Maine we have 3 ft of standing snow on the ground. Little hard to train. So far the pistol is great. Will let you know as the season goes on. Dan
By SHELLEY G.
IL
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
February 15, 2014
I use this gun for starting track meets, and it is great. Had a different one, and this is much better.
By Murray M.
CA
Review for Alfa .22 Caliber Double Action Blank Starter / Training Pistol
December 29, 2013
I use it every day.

Page 1 of 2
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2021, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number: