Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $48+


4.9
37 Reviews
5
86% (32)
4
14% (5)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (37 of 37 responses)
By Tom F.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Looks very well made
May 19, 2021
Pistol looks very well made, however, I returned it because I found the pistol I thought I lost before it came it.
By Nial
Michigan
Solid starter pistol kit
May 5, 2021
Sturdy construction, perhaps more than needed for a starter pistol. Large grips make it easy to handle. Kit is a good buy as it includes a well-made holster.
ProsSolid construction Good rubber grips
ConsA bit heavy and bulky Given the size, should be an 8-shot cylinder
By Joe
America?s, Georgia
Fantastic service!
December 22, 2020
I recently ordered a blank practice pistol and ammo. The service was great and I received the product in just two days!! I received a follow-up call in twenty four hours which impressed me. Thanks Gun Dog Supply for your expedient attention! Joe Torvund
By Carlos I.
FL
Can be easily identified as a blank gun and is well made.
December 21, 2020
Well made blank gun.
ProsEasily identified as a blank gun.
By GreggCT
CT
Well made but a bit heavy
December 20, 2020
This pistol is very well made and will probably last forever, but I wish it was a little lighter.
ProsWell made, handles well
ConsHeavy
By steve
hudson wi
starter kit
October 6, 2020
SEEMS TO BE WELL MADE AND WORKS WELL.
ProsVERY STURDED
Consa little spendy for someone not training all the time
By Brian T.
NJ
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
September 29, 2016
The starter pistol itself is great. You can tell it's a quality pistol that will last a lifetime the second you first hold it. But the holster that came with the kit is garbage. The snap on the inside of the holster is in a place that scratches the side of the gun, then the first time I was able to force the gun all the way into the holster to be able to snap the strap closed securing the gun, the snap broke. I had to order the nylon holster Gun Dog Supply offers as a suitable replacement.
By June S.
CO
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
August 29, 2016
Really is a very nice well built gun
By Tim A.
OK
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
August 23, 2016
I love it!
By John D.
MI
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
July 13, 2016
The gun works great. It is hard to find the quality of a blank gun like this in today's market. Thank you Steve
By Jason T.
OH
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
May 15, 2016
Best gun I've used. Tried two or three others before a friend let me use theirs and knew then I had to have one.
By Robert B.
OR
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
April 18, 2016
Don't make a mistake. Buy this one. You get what you pay for and this is a very nice blank pistol in 22 caliber. I would recommend it to my best friend.
By William
PA
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
April 4, 2016
This is by far the nicest blank pistol I have found on the market. It is heavy, well built and excellent quality. The package with holster is a MUST and a great value! I am beyond happy with this purchase. Gun Dog Supply is the BEST!
By Karrie G.
PA
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
March 13, 2016
This is very true to life as far as blank guns go. I love it and it's loud. It comes with a holster and case!!! Hopefully only going to use it a few times for a JH test, but definitely recommend!
By Merle H.
AZ
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
March 11, 2016
Great deal on the whole package including holster. I would recommend this to friends. I especially like the orange grip as a safety feature. A big plus for me is it can fire full-size blanks which I can pick up very inexpensively at Home Depot or Lowe's.
By DCRDVM
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
February 11, 2016
Product was as described. Appears to be very well made using good materials resulting in a relatively heavy, but nicely balanced/easy to handle pistol. Easy to load and unload. Trigger pull is very good...similar to my Ruger .22 revolver when cocking/firing single action, and a pound or so more when pulling trigger for double action firing. No misfires, handles the short acorn blanks and longer .22 blanks with no problem. It is suggested to point the pistol down when firing the acorn blanks as they may displace out of the cylinder ...that is what I have done with no misfires...haven't tried firing in any other position. Holster is well made of thick leather (stiff but is breaking in OK with leather conditioner and use). There is an extra snap on the back of the belt loop side of the holster that I haven't figured out its use, but otherwise a very solid and useful holster. It was also nice that everything arrived sooner than expected. Gun Dog Supply is very easy to do business with, they follow up to insure all is OK and they have good price/value compared to other product sources.
By Richard N.
PA
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
October 12, 2015
The quality of design, material, and workmanship of both the holster and the pistol are as expected. Excellent.
By William B.
WA
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
September 17, 2015
Nice gun.
By Tim N.
MD
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
August 27, 2015
Heavier than what I'm used to, but well built.
By EGR V.
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
August 14, 2015
Top notch blank kit. The Alfa pistol has both the weight and feel of a real weapon. Makes use and cleaning easy. Self-ejects to reload. Kit includes holster, case and cleaning brush that saves $. Perfect for gun dog training.
By Robert
WI
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
July 24, 2015
Very well made piece of training equipment. Works great so far!
By Josh M.
WI
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
June 14, 2015
It feels great in my hand, works as it should and I can always find it in my training vest.
By Vic
WA
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
June 3, 2015
First rate pistol, no different than a fine revolver. Ejector is a nice addition. Much louder than old pistol with same loads. Double action works smoothly. Lanyard ring is very handy. I lose pistols regularly even with the holster.
By Doug B.
ID
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
April 30, 2015
Works like a champ! Many of my compadres are having trouble finding crimps to use. Someone told me about some 22 cal. blanks you can get at the big box stores that are used for nail guns. Those work slick as can be. Great service from you folks! Thanks for everything you do! Doug
By Charles S.
CA
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
April 16, 2015
I'm a starter at Track and Field meets. This is the pistol a person should have for that job.
By Joann
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
January 26, 2015
Shipped within a few hours and received in just a couple days. Can't beat the order fulfillment and speed! Still haven't tried it out yet, but it's sure to be an excellent pistol.
By Rob M.
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
November 4, 2014
I'm a cross country and track coach. I needed a higher-quality starter pistol for use in practice and meets. GunDogSupply.com offered the Alfa .22 for about $50 less than most of my regular equipment suppliers - and offered faster shipping - so you won my business. I'm entirely satisfied with the pistol. Thank you!
By Mark R.
ME
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
June 17, 2014
Have no complaints. I start high school track meets. It works perfectly.
By Brian K.
PA
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
June 5, 2014
Awesome training tool. Should have had one of these sooner.
By Maria
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
September 3, 2011
Works great, probably should have ordered another box of blanks at the time of purchase though.
By Angela
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
September 1, 2011
Love it!
By Cesar T.
FL
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
September 1, 2011
Excellent service very fast shipping and excellent product.
By Charles B.
FL
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
August 31, 2011
I am a track & field official. This is an excellent gun for starting track meets. The hole in the top of the barrel allows some of the noise and flash to blow away from ones head. I have probably gone through several thousand blanks thus far, and the gun has not failed to fire or missed on rotating to a second fire for a false start. The only problem that I have encountered with the gun is that it is hard to clean. The exit holes in the cylinder are smaller than the shell size and the paper wads from the blanks tend to clog the openings.
By Ernie L.
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
August 31, 2011
Pistol is great, very well made and rugged. If I could change one thing it would be to put in a better, padded case. The case it comes with offers no real protection.
By Hugh N.
IN
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
August 30, 2011
The Alfa blank pistol is very well made. It's heavy duty construction is very similar to a normal pistol, and the action is quite smooth. Occassionally the shells will back out of the cylinder slightly & cause the cylinder rotation to hang up, especially during or after holding the gun overhead. This, however could be caused by the blank shell. Also, I thought the holster was pretty flimsy & should be heavier duty to handle the fairly heavy Alfa pistol. I've had two other blank pistols, & they're like toys compared to the Alfa. Even with the relatively minor drawbacks I've mentioned, I'm well satified with the pistol & would feel comfortable recommending it.
By George A.
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
August 30, 2011
Gun works well with various 22 blanks, Rugged, fires without a skip- if you use acorn blanks, do as book says and point down when you fire to be sure of detonation. Training with friends, cheaper light training pistols go click a lot when this ALPHA FIRES EVERY TIME and no problem with ejecting spent casings as is common in cheaper pistols. Gets a little heavy on hip holster after a few hours. Had to force pistol hard into holster to get flap buttoned over the pistol. I would buy it again and recommend it as a good tool.
By Michael W.
WA
Review for Alfa .22 Blank Pistol Starter Kit
August 30, 2011
The only negative thing I can say, and really it's not a negative it's more information those who purchase this kit in the future, is if you need it right away that the blanks can't be sent by air. Other than that I love the gun and the way it feels.

Page 1 of 1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2021, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.