Read Steve Snell's dog training collar reviews & more See Steve's Hunting Dogs
Gun Dog Supply's Hunting Dog Store
 
Shopper Award 
FREE SHIPPING on Orders $89+

You are here:  > 

4.7
73 Reviews
5
78% (57)
4
14% (10)
3
5% (4)
2
3% (2)
1
0% (0)
97% Recommend this product (71 of 73 responses)
By Eddie
New york
Great customer service
July 5, 2023
Great product of quality. My Labrador loved it as sone as I opened the package. Customer service was great ordered an orange and swapped it for a white with no problem.
By adam b.
Indiana
White Medium Weighted Canvas Throw Dummy with Feather Strap by RRT
April 20, 2023
well built and quick shipping works great
Cons
  • none found
By adam b.
Indiana
White Medium Weighted Canvas Throw Dummy with Feather Strap by RRT
March 31, 2023
works and feels great the strap holds the feathers and its rugged i use it around a old quarry a lot and it holds up good to the rocks and deprie on the ground
By Tmat
Louisiana
Solid performer
February 22, 2023
Very nice, solid performer
By Ethan P.
Montgomery County, New York
Awesome
January 6, 2023
Perfect for running marks!
By Ethan P.
Montgomery County, New York
Awesome
January 6, 2023
Perfect for running marks!
By Gerry A.
Grass Valley, CA.
My Golden loves it
January 5, 2023
We had purchased a Cordura throw for our Golden 3 years ago from Gun Dog, and he loved it. In fact he loved it to death! This Camo dummy is a replacement for his original, and as soon as I took it out of the box he was thrilled. It is one of his favorite items to retrieve, and brings it to us constantly. Thanks Gun Dog for giving us a quality item that will hold up for several years.
Pros
  • Reasonably priced.
  • Great quality.
  • Long lasting.
By KELLY B.
1300 3 14th yankton sd
Canvas Dummy
October 11, 2022
Very durable, the weight of this product makes it very easy to throw with some distance. My dog loves it!!
Pros
  • Very well made
Cons
  • The knots on the rope came loose had to replace with another rope.
By Robert B.
Harleysville Pa.
Canvas dummy
September 6, 2022
Easy to throw and last a long time. Price good and shipping on time.
By Jimmy
New Portland Maine
A well made great product!
August 10, 2022
I've had it four a few weeks and use it almost everyday, still looks like new.
Cons
  • None
By Richard R.
Chapman, NE
My thoughts:
July 5, 2022
I ordered some training dummy's and I got exactly what I wanted. However, I know if it wasn't, or something was wrong it would be taken care of. Buying on internet can be risky in this day, and I can do business here with full confidence, good service, and safe.
Pros
  • Good service and confidence.
  • These dummies are tough and are sized and weighted to fit the training.
  • Have a nice selection of products and of good quality.
By Logan
Eastern Montana
Tie an Extra Knot in the Rope
June 14, 2022
Great dummies. Had a few ropes fly off after the factory knots tightened up and slipped through the hole. Otherwise great dummies.
Pros
  • Great quality
Cons
  • Knots shrink after a dozen throws, allows rope to slip through hole. Easy fix.
By Steve
New Mexico
Worked well initially
March 21, 2022
The product worked as needed initially… until my dog tore the material in two days and the internal sand fell out. Without the weight of the sand, the product could no longer be tossed away at any real distance. I won’t be buying again due to the lack of durability.
Pros
  • Good looking, does it?s job when not broken.
Cons
  • Broke within two days of use.
By Heath
Tennessee
Very nice bumpers
March 8, 2022
I’ve always used white rubber bumpers. I didn’t realize how different size/color bumpers would impact my dog. I’m glad I purchased these because it allows me to throw different size, weight and color to keep retrieving interesting.
By Marc B.
Rapid City South Dakota
A good dummy.
February 1, 2022
Good dummy! Well made, holds scent well, and best of all, it's made in America not china! I've decided I will not buy anything further that is made in china!
By Sue
Durham NC
Good product
August 18, 2021
Love this dummy. Blends into the terrain so my dog has to really seek it out.
Pros
  • Good size, weight, and color.
Cons
  • Not good if you need the dummy to stand out to your dog visually.
By Sue
Durham, NC
excellent quality
August 18, 2021
I have bought several of these dummies for work with my gundog. He loves the feel of canvas and the size prevents him from picking up 2 or 3 at once (which he can do with plastic dummies).
Pros
  • Sturdy, good rope for throwing, nice size and weight
Cons
  • None
By Adam
Bay City, MI
Great Product
July 30, 2021
I have several dozen of these. They’re very durable and have a nice weight to them. I use these a lot for anything from pile work, casting drills, marking concepts, blind retrieves and more. So they get a lot of use around here. Excellent product.
Pros
  • Durable, great size, can add scent easily, very versatile, natural feel.
Cons
  • They're canvas style dummy. So they do require minor care. If they're wet you need to store them in a dry environment so they don't rot or mildew.
By Dave
Florida
The Very Best
June 2, 2021
I have tried many different brands over the years and this is by far the best throwing dummy I have ever used.
Pros
  • Throwing distance, bounce and overall quality of the product.
Cons
  • None
By Texas B.
Central Texas
Two thumbs up
April 14, 2021
Works as intended. Expect good wear looks well made. I used a flame to melt the knots on the rope so they stay knotted. Thanks
By Denny
Omaha, NE
Great dummy
February 5, 2021
Have never used canvas before and needed one with a substantial core. This is it.
By Matt B.
Colorado
Nice weight
February 3, 2021
I recently purchased 6 of these training dummies to work with my Lab. I was having some issues with delivery of the rubber bumpers. She has been holding these bumpers much better and delivering to hand. I chose these bumpers based on cost and added weight. They throw well and seem to be holding up well.
Pros
  • Cost per unit.
  • Durable
  • Weight
  • Comes with throw rope
Cons
  • None yet
By steve d.
California
These bumpers are great !!
January 29, 2021
I use these to work with my dog everyday. They hold up great. Highly recommend.
By Tom K.
Minnesota
Great bumper
January 24, 2021
I use these for winter training and they are the beat I have found.
By Leonard G.
Burlington, WI
3" Black/ white weighted condura bumper
January 22, 2021
During the winter I switch to canvas bumper. I like the black/ white bumpers to show contrast.
Pros
  • They throw a long distance. The black/white stand out on the cloudy days with snow on the ground.
  • The price is reasonable for the great bumper you receive.
Cons
  • I need to buy more.
By Jude
LA
great product
October 14, 2020
Love the product
Pros
  • Love the product, They always have the best, and you cant beat the prices and i dont like to deal with big box stores.
Cons
  • N/A
By Jude
LA
great product
October 14, 2020
great throw dummy
Pros
  • You cant get a better product for the price.
Cons
  • N/A
By Natalie
KY
Quality product
September 24, 2020
Good quality canvas bumper
By Karen
MARYLAND
Perfect Fit!
September 23, 2020
Bought the 2" and 3" orange bumper; my boy prefers the 3". We use it for therapy swimming and general exercise. Well made and dries quickly.
Pros
  • Perfect size for my CBR
  • Dries quickly
  • Toss rope included with the bumper
  • Seems to be well made which should lead to a long life (if we don't lose it)
  • Orange color is for me - my favorite!
Cons
  • None
By Bobby
Pearl, MS
Good quality dummy
September 5, 2020
Good quality dummy for training. Maybe a little big and heavy for my 6month old lab, but she can grow into it. I will definitely pick up more if needed.
By Maple's t.
Connecticut
Best training dummy I've found
September 2, 2020
Well made, sized right, and heavy enough to throw, and to give the dog a good feel
Pros
  • Good materials, quality construction, good weight
Cons
  • Not a one
By Jason
MD
Review for
October 18, 2018
By Chris V.
IL
Review for 3" White Weighted Canvas Throw Dummy with Feather Strap by RRT
October 12, 2018
Usable plug for training puppies. Great durability, Long lasting.
By Jay P.
NY
Review for 3" White Weighted Canvas Throw Dummy with Feather Strap by RRT
September 26, 2016
Chessies are notoriously tough dogs and are very rough on equipment and handlers. This works so much better than just strapping a wing to the typical dummy. It gives the dog the feel and taste of real feathers, and they learn to hold on to the bird and not crush it. I have two and they are the only ones I use. I wish I thought of this design.
By James L.
NY
Review for 3" Black/White Weighted Cordura Throw Dummy by RRT
August 26, 2016
I use canvas bumpers primarily for cold weather training when plastic bumpers become too hard and uncomfortable. Sure, a decent retriever will still fetch a rock hard bumper, but I like to enhance the experience by changing to canvas for working in sub-freezing temperatures. These bumpers are a great size, shape and weight, and seem very well made. I haven't used them yet because of the above mentioned intended purpose.
By Clint D.
CA
Review for
August 25, 2016
I am not a trainer but this is what I was looking for as far as durability, texture, and pliability. My dog is five and is incredibly intelligent and she gets very excited when I take it out to work with her. I wish I had seen the dove trainer and would have got that first, had I seen it. She is doing fine with this. It's what I was looking for when I bought it. Price is fair, shipping quick. Good deal.
By Roger C.
AL
Review for
August 19, 2016
Good training dummy.
By Terry E.
WI
Review for
August 1, 2016
These are very high end canvas dummies . Tks, Terry
By Thomas Y.
NJ
Review for
July 19, 2016
This is the perfect dummy for my 1 year old Britt. The overall quality is excellent. You can tell it was made in the USA.
By Barbara M.
WA
Review for
July 18, 2016
She loves the canvas dummy. It's a great training aid. Just the right weight and size for her to confidently retrieve!
By Neil L.
CA
Review for
July 16, 2016
Just like the rest of the products I have purchased from Gun Dog, it's excellent.
By Jonathan D.
VA
Review for
June 20, 2016
Dog loves it.
By Tom L.
GA
Review for
June 14, 2016
I have used Hallmark (excellent) and Remington (not so good). The RRT dummies are as good as the Hallmark. As all of our retrieves are water based, they float well and throw well.
By Daniel W.
CA
Review for
May 27, 2016
Durable.
By Andy J.
WI
Review for
April 15, 2016
Very sturdy. Excellent product!
By Collin G.
MI
Review for 3" Camo Weighted Cordura Throw Dummy by RRT
February 5, 2016
It works really well in the snow. The snow doesn't stick to it and it doesn't get hard or cold like the rubber dummies. My favorite so far.
By Eric B.
Review for
November 25, 2015
This dummy is durable and a great weight for the young dog.
By CW
Review for 3" Orange Weighted Cordura Throw Dummy by RRT
November 13, 2015
The dummy is great. Her adult teeth have just come in, so this was a good 'teething' gum toy for the last few weeks. Lightweight, durable fabric, and endurable fabric! Good mouthing toy as well. Excellent replacement for tennis balls and other toys not good for teeth. Best thing is it is so safe for her to chew, nothing breaks off. Excellent!
By Ben O.
DE
Review for
November 10, 2015
It could be a little heavier for further throwing distance. The rope is too small diameter. It's so small even with the knots in it, will pull through the eyelet. I ended up making my own rope which was larger diameter.
By Ben O.
DE
Review for 3" Orange Weighted Cordura Throw Dummy by RRT
November 10, 2015
It could be a little heavier for further throwing distance, and the throw rope is too small diameter. The rope is so small even with the knots in it. Will pull through the eyelet. I ended up making my own rope which is larger diameter.

Page 1 of 2
1





1-800-624-6378 shipping-map free-shipping
GUN DOG SUPPLY - "Serving Hunting & Field Dog Owners Nationally Since 1972."
Order online via Secure Server or call 1-800-624-6378 to order! GDS Warehouse, 17645 U.S. Highway 82, Mathiston, Mississippi, 39752 USA.

gundogsupply

Gun Dog Supply's Facebook | Gun Dog Supply on LinkedIn | Gun Dog Supply on YouTube
Gun Dog Forum sponsored by GD Supply | Reseller Ratings: GunDogSupply.com | Gun Dog Supply on SHOPPER APPROVED

All words & pictures are copyright © 1997-2024, Gun Dog Supply or their respective owners. All rights reserved. Buy online with confidence when you order discount retriever hunting dog supplies, canine training equipment, k-9 accessories, and training products for your gun dog, bird dog, or working retriever. Your on-line purchase is protected through secure server ordering. Review our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Shop our canine closeout items, best bargains, k9 discount prices, good deals, cheap stuff and other values for sale. Compare our products in reviews, reports, comparisons, and buyers guides.


Customer Priority Number:




privacy policy | terms & conditions